Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 398 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

398 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

398 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

74%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
171
4 stars
94
3 stars
31
2 stars
23
1 stars
79
1-20 of 378 total reviews
74%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 378 total reviews
1-20 of 378 reviews
Great product, horrible shipper
8/20/2014

Customer review by MsTrixie29

3.0 stars 8/20/2014 by MsTrixie29
by MsTrixie29

I have had several Littermaids and I can only assume this one will be as great as the old ones. I cannot tell you if it is though because the one they sent me had been completely crushed to the point the plastic broke, rails bent, and rake dislodged. I knew when I saw the product box with tape holding it together that I would probably find a mess inside. This is a huge box and the unit is heavy. Now I have to figure out how I am supposed to carry this thing to a postal place to send it back. I will be ordering from somewhere else because I do not trust their shipping now.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MsTrixie29
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
BIG little product
5/24/2011

Customer review by Akio

5.0 stars 5/24/2011 by Akio
by Akio

I love my Littermaid 980 Multi-Cat Self Cleaning Litterbox. I have 2 cats - 13 to 14 pounds each - and this works well for them. It is my second Littermaid Self Cleaning Litterbox but this one is a slight upgrade. It is deeper and quieter. My first one lasted about two years and that was two years I did not have to scoop. i use my Walmart carry-out plastic grocery bags to line the inside of the catch bin and catch the poo which made each bin last about three months or more and saved me money. I just pulled the full bags out, tied the tops up and discarded them which left my bin clean as a whistle for the next time. Littermaid makes it easier for me to love my cats!!!

Was this review helpful? (276) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Akio
New Caney, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Better than the Elite
10/23/2014

Customer review by Ragslee

4.0 stars 10/23/2014 by Ragslee
by Ragslee
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

After pitching the Littermaid Elite in the trash I searched for a new or used original Littermaid on line. I did find one but it finally died. I then discovered the return of the Classic. So far it performs as well as the original Littermaid.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ragslee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Disappointed in this purchase
2/25/2013

Customer review by RAGDOLLS2OWNER

1.0 stars 2/25/2013 by RAGDOLLS2OWNER
by RAGDOLLS2OWNER
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

If I had saved the box it came in I would return it. It was advertised for multi-cats but I found there is much lacking. I HAVE 2 RAGDOLL CATS. 1. The box needs to be emptied twice a day and usually the filter portion falls off becomes feces sticks to it; 2. Urine seeps out between the litter box and litter holder and that requires clean up; 3. it is not easy to empty even with a paper towel in the holder; 4. Litter is everywhere outside the box and only the minimum amount of the recommended litter is used; 5. Rake tends to hold what should be put in the litter container; and 6. The entire box must be taken apart and scrubbed every week. Before this I had an automatic Scoop litter box that broke after 3 years. It was easy to clean and I only had to empty it once a day, never any urine seepage, rake did the job, and scrubbing only had to be done about every two months. l AM ANGRY ABOUT THE CHOICE I MADE WITH THIS PURCHASE. I AM SAVING UP TO GO BACK TO A SCOOP BOX and sell this box on e-bay!

Was this review helpful? (33) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RAGDOLLS2OWNER
Bear, DE
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
a back saver
12/20/2015

Customer review by TerrieK

3.0 stars 12/20/2015 by TerrieK
by TerrieK

I am very pleased with this product. It saves me a lot of time bending over to scoop. I have a back problem so anything that helps me spend less time bending over is appreciated. I would have given it 4 stars if the tray where the litter is scooped was non disposal. I am able to reuse the flimsy plastic liner by using a small plastic bag as a liner. In fact i wouldnt recommend using it without a liner since it has openings all around and loose litter would fall onthe floor beneath it. The liner is very flimsy and cracks easily so I can't see being able to use it more than a few times. I am ecology minded and don't like throwing away plastic unnecessarily. Because the plastic is so flimsy when the tray is removed to empty it spills the loose litter . A mat underneath is a good idea to keep the mess limited.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TerrieK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Cleaner
11/22/2015

Customer review by Jabraze

5.0 stars 11/22/2015 by Jabraze
by Jabraze

Litter Maid has the best cleaning litter box I have found. Both of my cats seem to really like it. When they hear the cleaning cycle begin they run to watch. It has a charcoal filter for the waste receptacle. The waste is dumped in to the receptacle. Helps with odor problems. This is a great product. So much better than needing to scoop daily!!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jabraze
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good product but had some down falls to it.
12/26/2015

Customer review by Rachel76

4.0 stars 12/26/2015 by Rachel76
by Rachel76

Good product. I had an older model for years and liked it. So I decided to upgrade to the newer model. This model is alot quieter than the older one and a little bit longer. I also like that you can remove the rake to clean it. What I dislike about this is that the rake doesn't go all the way down into the bottom of the box to clean it. It doesn't completely remove all of the urine waste. So when it comes to cleaning the box, it takes longer than I think it should take. But all in all, this is a good product.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rachel76
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Works as promised
12/25/2015

Customer review by Carl

4.0 stars 12/25/2015 by Carl
by Carl

Took less than 15 minutes to assemble, the directions were a little vague, but simple enough. I have 5 cats so once the fear factor wore off....they now think it is the greatest thing! They act like they have never had a clean litter box before.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Carl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
No more odor
3/3/2014

Customer review by Clair123

5.0 stars 3/3/2014 by Clair123
by Clair123
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Works great so far, I've owned this now for about a month. Litter does spill out from the sides where the tray opens, and I just have it on a rug so it's no big deal, very small amount. The bottom detaches from the unit so you can easily clean it. I put a bag into the plastic container so that the plastic container will last longer. I also heard it helps if you spray the cleaning forks with Pam. The instructions also mention to spray the bottom of the unit with Pam as well. Great product, and I would recommend this to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (67) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Clair123
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
LitterMaid 980~ Best of the Best~
8/20/2011

Customer review by Missy2004

5.0 stars 8/20/2011 by Missy2004
by Missy2004

After hours of scrolling through reviews of the many available LitterMaid units, finally decided on this one based on all the great reviews. Ordered the first one and the plastic lid would not stay on and the litter lid would flip up and stay that way. Called Littermaid and told me to return to the store. Hassle cleaning and returning and wondering if second unit ordered would do the same. Nope! Works perfect. The first unit was defective and this one works perfect. The extra large size is wonderful. Now I have two units (older one around 2 years old and still works great, but too small for two cats). The trick to pass on is to use non-stick cooking spray (you know the one) on the thongs after changing the litter to new. Someone put on a site as a helpful hint and it truly helps with the poo not sticking to the thongs. Thanks for the hint. This unit is quiet and not as loud as my older one. Do yourself a favor , spend the extra money and order the larger one. With free shipping and delivered in days to my door from Walmart, can't go wrong. Very happy with Walmart return to store policy, no hassle at all.

Was this review helpful? (141) (55)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Missy2004
Valencia , CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great time saver
12/29/2015

Customer review by Enaud

5.0 stars 12/29/2015 by Enaud
by Enaud

Bought this for my daughter who has two large cats. She absolutely loves it. She told me to rate it 5 stars. She wish she would have gotten on years ago.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Enaud
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Stopped working after 4 days
9/2/2012

Customer review by DLF99

1.0 stars 9/2/2012 by DLF99
by DLF99

I bought this even after reading the negative reviews. I was hoping that those were isolated incidents because there were numerous positive reviews. Purchased this for my two cats because I was going on vacation and didn't want to make the person staying at our house have to clean the litter box. The package arrived about a week before we were to leave...perfect. Right out of the box I knew this wouldn't last. It's made of cheap plastic. When I set it up and put clean litter (one of the recommended) the cleaning bar seemed to struggle to rake the litter. I set it up and the cats started using it. When I arrived home from work after the 4th day of use, the cleaning bar was stuck about 2/3 of the way through the cleaning cycle. I followed the instructions in the manual to no avail. I took it apart and made sure nothing was stuck in the track. Nothing I did seem to work. It remained stuck in the same position making a slight slicking noise then the light would start blinking. I returned it to my local Walmart store and received a full refund. DON'T BUY THIS. IT'S A WASTE OF YOUR MONEY.

Was this review helpful? (13) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DLF99
Massachusetts
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
works great - really keeps litter area clean
1/28/2016

Customer review by Thomas

5.0 stars 1/28/2016 by Thomas
by Thomas

My first one lasted 4 years. When I set up this one it did not work properly - called company customer service, explained problem which they could hear over the phone and they sent a replacement. The replacement is working just fine.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Thomas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Easy Peasy
1/24/2016

Customer review by laserman

5.0 stars 1/24/2016 by laserman
by laserman

Conceptually, it's a great product, but in reality, not perfect. I've owned these models for 15+ years, so not being perfect doesn't bother me. With 5 cats, I couldn't imagine living without multiple LitterMaid boxes. Some 3rd party items to save on replacing receptacles also helps. The new owners of LitterMaid seem more dedicated to a better product and customer satisfaction should the unit fail.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
laserman
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love it
1/28/2016

Customer review by Darcy

4.0 stars 1/28/2016 by Darcy
by Darcy

Love my litter box but only problem I have is I have to keep the top off the container because it won't lift up when it dumps so the feces goes everywhere but if I leave it off its fine.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Darcy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Cat litter box
1/30/2016

Customer review by Beadbabe

5.0 stars 1/30/2016 by Beadbabe
by Beadbabe

Deeper

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Beadbabe
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not what they used to be.
8/21/2012

Customer review by mrgilberguy

1.0 stars 8/21/2012 by mrgilberguy
by mrgilberguy

Piece of Junk.... I owned the original model of this unit for 6 years with no problems. It was build solid and just worked. It still works but the base warped so I thought I would buy a new one. Had the new one a week and the rake stuck in the forward positions. Called support and it turns out the power cable to the rake motor came undone. After only one week of use. They are sending a new one. The material is cheaper than the original and at this point I'm looking for a way to just replace the base on my old one because it works like a champ. Good thing I didn't throw it out.

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mrgilberguy
Would recommend to a friend? No
LitterMaid 980 Works as Advertised
9/26/2015

Customer review by SevenCatsThreeBoxes

3.0 stars 9/26/2015 by SevenCatsThreeBoxes
by SevenCatsThreeBoxes

This is the 3rd LitterMaid 980 I have purchased. Generally the product performs as advertised. The weak spot of this product is it's durability and quality control. The first two boxes failed within 3 months. The good news is that the company responded quickly and replaced the boxes under the 1 year warranty. I recommend that purchasers get the Walmart extended warranty for this box using the "small appliance" option.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SevenCatsThreeBoxes
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Died on 1 week.
1/26/2016

Customer review by Marc123456

1.0 stars 1/26/2016 by Marc123456
by Marc123456

Died in 1 week

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Marc123456
Would recommend to a friend? No
Do you know how much I HATE cleaning a catbox?!
6/12/2011

Customer review by nancysj

5.0 stars 6/12/2011 by nancysj
by nancysj

I have this 'old' cat that won't use a dirty box. I have this younger cat that will use it no matter what. In the two days it took me to get this new box, my CAT pooped behind a chair... I searched and searched for a PLASTIC rake litter box like my older two. I once got a metal rake one and it very nicely sliced the clumps... The difference in sound is amazing, so quiet. It actually 'scared' the cats the first time it ran, the cat was the last to use it, so she she snuck up on it to see what was making the sound, the American Bull dog followed, which caused the shepherd type dog to follow, which caused the 'kitten' (15 lbs) to go see what all the excited was! I think I'm on my third in 12-15 years. One Sunday I went to change the old one and it just stopped. So I panicked and order it Sunday night. It was here by Tuesday. I am not complaining at all. I also line the pan with a plastic bag, remove it and replace twice I week, I might need to do it three times a week, I think the clumps are larger either due to the hot weather, more kitty litter it holds or both cats insisting on using the same side... My original one, the cat (who is only about 7 lb) as a kitten used to ride the bar... I actually had more trouble with my dogs adapting to it. That bar just started moving all by itself, but it was short lived. It was in my living room with the new kitten, and slowly made it's way into the bathroom. I loved the old one, this one is just the same but two-toned in color instead of a tannish, so it's prettier, not that that really matters, but it is definitely quieter which I really like. I did place it inside of a large unused dog cage to protect it from the dogs and fixed the door so it was partially open. I so hate the idea of having to check a cat box several times a day and clean it as often that this is definitely for me. I do a once a week clean where I scrap the bottom for any residual missed mess, but I haven't found any. I am just so happy that I found it, it works just like the old one and I got it so quickly.

Was this review helpful? (38) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nancysj
Philadelphia, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 378 total reviews
1-20 of 378 reviews