Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 348 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

348 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

348 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

72%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
145
4 stars
83
3 stars
27
2 stars
20
1 stars
73
1-20 of 328 total reviews
72%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 328 total reviews
1-20 of 328 reviews
BIG little product
5/24/2011

Customer review by Akio

5.0 stars 5/24/2011 by Akio
by Akio

I love my Littermaid 980 Multi-Cat Self Cleaning Litterbox. I have 2 cats - 13 to 14 pounds each - and this works well for them. It is my second Littermaid Self Cleaning Litterbox but this one is a slight upgrade. It is deeper and quieter. My first one lasted about two years and that was two years I did not have to scoop. i use my Walmart carry-out plastic grocery bags to line the inside of the catch bin and catch the poo which made each bin last about three months or more and saved me money. I just pulled the full bags out, tied the tops up and discarded them which left my bin clean as a whistle for the next time. Littermaid makes it easier for me to love my cats!!!

Was this review helpful? (200) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Akio
New Caney, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
I Really Love this Litterbox!
5/6/2011

Customer review by filmbuffinTX

5.0 stars 5/6/2011 by filmbuffinTX
by filmbuffinTX

I had owned a LitterMaid Litterbox for many years in the past. Since it worked consistently every day for more than 6 years, day in and day out. and gave me "yeoman's duty," to use a Navy expression, I knew that when the motor finally gave out, that I would purchase a newer, improved model of this product. There was never any question about it. I was so tempted to buy one of the Elite series of this product but after reading other customer reviews on this website and others, I decided against it, and boy, am I thankful that I did. I (and my kitties) are so very pleased with this product since it has four great new features: (1) The sides of the litter box are higher so I don't have to constantly sweep out the litter that falls over the side. (2) Also, I noticed that the litter box motor on this model is so much quieter than the previous model which is a blessing since I placed it in the master bathroom. (3) I am able to put 50% more kitty litter into the litter box. (4) It has the dual power option. It can run on regular household current or 8, D batteries (not included) if the power fails in an emergency. This particular model, the 980, is specifically designed for use by Multi-Cat households with cats over 15 pounds like my "Big Boy" Tomcat! Just have to caution you that since it is a new item, the kitties may take a few days to become comfortable with it. The old litter box had such a familiar odor. Even though it has a one year Limited Warranty, you should have many years of satisfied use out of this product! If you purchase this litter box, I don't think that you will ever regret it! A very good value for the money!

Was this review helpful? (220) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
filmbuffinTX
Texarkana, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Far more durable than the "new improved" models.
6/8/2011

Customer review by olds97lss

4.0 stars 6/8/2011 by olds97lss
by olds97lss

We have had 2 cats for 12 years. We have used littermaid automatic boxes for 11 of them. Our first two lasted about 5 years each. Over the past 1.5 years, we have had 4 of the "new improved" elite mega models and now have the 980. Neither the LME9250 and LME9000 worked as well as the old non-wire rake models. As noted, we had 4 of them break over the past 1.5 years. The last one only lasted 2 weeks before it started endless cycling and eventually would just error out with the rake in teh home position. It would run 5 times like it would if it was getting stuck, but even without any litter in it, it would fully cycle 5 times and then go to home position and the light would blink, until the cats used it again, then it would cycle 5 times and the light would blink... It did this for a week and started skipping teeth (grinding sound during the cycles). So, in an effort to find reliability, I started searching the net for anything but the littermaid LME9250 and LME9000. We require the larger box due to one of our cats being a 20lb moose of a cat that barely fits in it. I luckily found this model. I did not realize at the time that it wasn't exactly like our original 2, but when I opened it, I realized it was a little different (detachable rake, 2 colors). When it ran, it was a lot different, way more quiet than any of the box's we had. Especially the first two. They were pretty noisy when running, whereas the later "elite" models were much quieter. It seems to do a better job removing the refuse, gets stuck almost never and is really quiet. I'm actually contemplating buying another and storing it for when this one dies in case they quit making it... but I lack the storage to do so. Been working great for the past 3 weeks. Here's to hoping I got another 5 year box!

Was this review helpful? (109) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
olds97lss
Dekalb, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good replacement
5/21/2011

Customer review by Tmfo

4.0 stars 5/21/2011 by Tmfo
by Tmfo

After reading reviews on other automatic litter boxes, I am glad we found this one. We had another littermaid for almost 8 years and the motor finally died. It does seem that the newer models are just not as good but so far the 980 has lived up to expectations. We have a good sized adult cat and a 2 month kitty and I only have a few cons: the rake does not get close to the edges so some stuff can be constantly left behind, and the rake does not do the best job getting stuff off the bottom. But, nothing a little maintenance won't be able to fix. Overall, I would recommend this product as compared to other ones that I have read awful reviews about.

Was this review helpful? (43) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tmfo
Littleton, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
No more odor
3/3/2014

Customer review by Clair123

5.0 stars 3/3/2014 by Clair123
by Clair123

Works great so far, I've owned this now for about a month. Litter does spill out from the sides where the tray opens, and I just have it on a rug so it's no big deal, very small amount. The bottom detaches from the unit so you can easily clean it. I put a bag into the plastic container so that the plastic container will last longer. I also heard it helps if you spray the cleaning forks with Pam. The instructions also mention to spray the bottom of the unit with Pam as well. Great product, and I would recommend this to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (34) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Clair123
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
LitterMaid 980~ Best of the Best~
8/20/2011

Customer review by Missy2004

5.0 stars 8/20/2011 by Missy2004
by Missy2004

After hours of scrolling through reviews of the many available LitterMaid units, finally decided on this one based on all the great reviews. Ordered the first one and the plastic lid would not stay on and the litter lid would flip up and stay that way. Called Littermaid and told me to return to the store. Hassle cleaning and returning and wondering if second unit ordered would do the same. Nope! Works perfect. The first unit was defective and this one works perfect. The extra large size is wonderful. Now I have two units (older one around 2 years old and still works great, but too small for two cats). The trick to pass on is to use non-stick cooking spray (you know the one) on the thongs after changing the litter to new. Someone put on a site as a helpful hint and it truly helps with the poo not sticking to the thongs. Thanks for the hint. This unit is quiet and not as loud as my older one. Do yourself a favor , spend the extra money and order the larger one. With free shipping and delivered in days to my door from Walmart, can't go wrong. Very happy with Walmart return to store policy, no hassle at all.

Was this review helpful? (133) (49)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Missy2004
Valencia , CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Do you know how much I HATE cleaning a catbox?!
6/12/2011

Customer review by nancysj

5.0 stars 6/12/2011 by nancysj
by nancysj

I have this 'old' cat that won't use a dirty box. I have this younger cat that will use it no matter what. In the two days it took me to get this new box, my CAT pooped behind a chair... I searched and searched for a PLASTIC rake litter box like my older two. I once got a metal rake one and it very nicely sliced the clumps... The difference in sound is amazing, so quiet. It actually 'scared' the cats the first time it ran, the cat was the last to use it, so she she snuck up on it to see what was making the sound, the American Bull dog followed, which caused the shepherd type dog to follow, which caused the 'kitten' (15 lbs) to go see what all the excited was! I think I'm on my third in 12-15 years. One Sunday I went to change the old one and it just stopped. So I panicked and order it Sunday night. It was here by Tuesday. I am not complaining at all. I also line the pan with a plastic bag, remove it and replace twice I week, I might need to do it three times a week, I think the clumps are larger either due to the hot weather, more kitty litter it holds or both cats insisting on using the same side... My original one, the cat (who is only about 7 lb) as a kitten used to ride the bar... I actually had more trouble with my dogs adapting to it. That bar just started moving all by itself, but it was short lived. It was in my living room with the new kitten, and slowly made it's way into the bathroom. I loved the old one, this one is just the same but two-toned in color instead of a tannish, so it's prettier, not that that really matters, but it is definitely quieter which I really like. I did place it inside of a large unused dog cage to protect it from the dogs and fixed the door so it was partially open. I so hate the idea of having to check a cat box several times a day and clean it as often that this is definitely for me. I do a once a week clean where I scrap the bottom for any residual missed mess, but I haven't found any. I am just so happy that I found it, it works just like the old one and I got it so quickly.

Was this review helpful? (23) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nancysj
Philadelphia, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Disappointed in this purchase
2/25/2013

Customer review by RAGDOLLS2OWNER

1.0 stars 2/25/2013 by RAGDOLLS2OWNER
by RAGDOLLS2OWNER

If I had saved the box it came in I would return it. It was advertised for multi-cats but I found there is much lacking. I HAVE 2 RAGDOLL CATS. 1. The box needs to be emptied twice a day and usually the filter portion falls off becomes feces sticks to it; 2. Urine seeps out between the litter box and litter holder and that requires clean up; 3. it is not easy to empty even with a paper towel in the holder; 4. Litter is everywhere outside the box and only the minimum amount of the recommended litter is used; 5. Rake tends to hold what should be put in the litter container; and 6. The entire box must be taken apart and scrubbed every week. Before this I had an automatic Scoop litter box that broke after 3 years. It was easy to clean and I only had to empty it once a day, never any urine seepage, rake did the job, and scrubbing only had to be done about every two months. l AM ANGRY ABOUT THE CHOICE I MADE WITH THIS PURCHASE. I AM SAVING UP TO GO BACK TO A SCOOP BOX and sell this box on e-bay!

Was this review helpful? (21) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RAGDOLLS2OWNER
Bear, DE
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not what they used to be.
8/21/2012

Customer review by mrgilberguy

1.0 stars 8/21/2012 by mrgilberguy
by mrgilberguy

Piece of Junk.... I owned the original model of this unit for 6 years with no problems. It was build solid and just worked. It still works but the base warped so I thought I would buy a new one. Had the new one a week and the rake stuck in the forward positions. Called support and it turns out the power cable to the rake motor came undone. After only one week of use. They are sending a new one. The material is cheaper than the original and at this point I'm looking for a way to just replace the base on my old one because it works like a champ. Good thing I didn't throw it out.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mrgilberguy
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Product Just Like The Older Litter Boxes
4/10/2014

Customer review by 010848

5.0 stars 4/10/2014 by 010848
by 010848

After several years using Litter Maid we are so happy to have found the model that like in the past is exceptional and this model is somewhat larger for our long cat Sarah. We had recently bought the elite and it was the worst. There was nothing about it that was good. We decided to try the 980. It is built much the same way as the older models just larger. My cat was very upset during the time we tried the elite. I will probably order another 980 shortly just to have a backup for the next time we need to order a new one years down the road. I feel the company needs to stick with what works.

Was this review helpful? (22) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
010848
St. Petersburg, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works better than the Elite in five cat household
8/19/2011

Customer review by Star13

4.0 stars 8/19/2011 by Star13
by Star13

I have four automatic litterboxes now in a five cat household. This one falls somewhere in the middle ranking for funtionality. It certainly works better than the more expensive Elite version, which I am sorry that I purchased! It still doesn't work quite as well as my original older model. I definitely recommend the Mega versions for multiple cat households though. We had a fifth automatic non-mega box awhile back and it couldn't even keep up with one to three cats. As with any auto litterbox though, you must still clean it out periodically as the bar sometimes gets stuck and after so many tries, quits trying.

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Star13
Marietta, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Finally quiet...
4/27/2014

Customer review by KimD50

4.0 stars 4/27/2014 by KimD50
by KimD50

This is about the 9th LitterMaid box I've had. In my multicat household I can't do without an automatic box. I've tried pretty much all of LitterMaid's boxes, last one was the 9000 Elite. I went with this 980 model box because the Elite was too pricy. This box is an excellent price, especially since they only tend to last a couple years. I was thrilled at how much quieter this box is. My box is in my office & I can actually work & talk on the phone while this box is raking. It's the first box I've had that allowed this. The only draw back to this multicat box compared to the Elite is the length of the box, this one is short like the single cat boxes. I have some big kitties & did like the longer box, but I'll settle for short to gain quiet. These are good boxes despite their short lifespan.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KimD50
Presque Isle, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good product but has room for improvment
5/18/2011

Customer review by littlebear1

3.0 stars 5/18/2011 by littlebear1
by littlebear1

I really like this product but there is room for improvement with the rake. It doesn't get all the way down to the bottom of the littler tray leaving some waste behind every time and that builds up. Also, it would be nice if you could change the delay time before it starts raking to a shorter period of time.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
littlebear1
Madison, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Stopped working after 4 days
9/2/2012

Customer review by DLF99

1.0 stars 9/2/2012 by DLF99
by DLF99

I bought this even after reading the negative reviews. I was hoping that those were isolated incidents because there were numerous positive reviews. Purchased this for my two cats because I was going on vacation and didn't want to make the person staying at our house have to clean the litter box. The package arrived about a week before we were to leave...perfect. Right out of the box I knew this wouldn't last. It's made of cheap plastic. When I set it up and put clean litter (one of the recommended) the cleaning bar seemed to struggle to rake the litter. I set it up and the cats started using it. When I arrived home from work after the 4th day of use, the cleaning bar was stuck about 2/3 of the way through the cleaning cycle. I followed the instructions in the manual to no avail. I took it apart and made sure nothing was stuck in the track. Nothing I did seem to work. It remained stuck in the same position making a slight slicking noise then the light would start blinking. I returned it to my local Walmart store and received a full refund. DON'T BUY THIS. IT'S A WASTE OF YOUR MONEY.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DLF99
Massachusetts
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Indoor cats
8/7/2011

Customer review by auntiebert

5.0 stars 8/7/2011 by auntiebert
by auntiebert

This is my 3rd purchase of the LITTER MAID, with 2 cats they last two years, this 3rd one is a little different than the other 2 but works approxmately the same way I purchased the first in 2007, the second in 2009, and now this one in 2011. I intend to use it as long as I have cats it is sanitary and easy to clean

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
auntiebert
Savannah GA>
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Modified Littermaid
8/29/2013

Customer review by ropefuzz

5.0 stars 8/29/2013 by ropefuzz
by ropefuzz

I have 3 indoor cats so the box is used a lot. I modified the LitterMaid to require less emptying. I changed the plastic container so it holds more soiled litter at one time. All I did was raise the box off the floor about 8 inches. You could make it higher or lower. I cut the bottom out of the plastic receptacle and then fit a double trash bag in it so the soiled litter falls through into the bag. Secure the bags by bringing the opening of the bag through the bottom of the now bottomless receptacle and fold the bag over the edge of it. This helps to keep the odors in when the lid is closed. This way you only have to change the bag once every few days. Just make sure the bags have no holes and double the bag for accident-free disposal. Used grocery bags work too. Before this modification I was emptying the soiled litter once or twice a day, now I only have to do it once or twice a week. I am very happy with the modification I made but perhaps someone else has a better idea. With fewer cats it is probably not necessary. As far as the product itself, I really like how easy it is to keep clean and my cats like using a mess free box. Occasionally I have to adjust the litter so it's not all on one side of the box but usually it works well. The larger size is better for my rather large cats. I thought the noise from the moving rake would deter them from using the box but it absolutely does not. They run over to watch the rake move!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ropefuzz
Carmichaels, Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
So far so good!
3/9/2014

Customer review by Carefulconsumer321

4.0 stars 3/9/2014 by Carefulconsumer321
by Carefulconsumer321

This is not my first automatic litter box but so far it looks like it will hold up much better than the brand I tried first with no success. I spent a bit of time researching this purchase. It sometimes leaves some clumps too small for the rake, but overall it is much better than my regular litter box!! Now I don't have to worry about being away at work all day. My cats use it with no problem. I would definitely recommend this litter box. I just wish they designed the waste receptacle to use a changeable bag rather than the box system they use. I feel like I am wasting landfill space.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Carefulconsumer321
New Windsor, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not as good as the original
3/16/2014

Customer review by ectisch

2.0 stars 3/16/2014 by ectisch
by ectisch

Having owned the original one for many (~10+) years, I can say that they really went backwards on the design of this one. While it is quite a bit quieter than the original design, it comes at the cost of a much weaker motor. Mine got stuck about 3 times in the first day, partly because it was full of litter and partly beccause the cats pushed litter againg the back of the tray which caused it to not be able to return to the home position (due to the weak motor). Aside from that major downgrade, the design where the hopper goes in has changed as well. Now in order to remoove it when full, you have to fight with it to get it out because the lid doesn't open far enough to lift the hopper straight out.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ectisch
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
11/11/2012

Customer review by idoitforthem

4.0 stars 11/11/2012 by idoitforthem
by idoitforthem

the cats step on the on/off button so i covered it now they cant turn it off. no problems other than that

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
idoitforthem
paulding Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great product, horrible shipper
8/20/2014

Customer review by MsTrixie29

3.0 stars 8/20/2014 by MsTrixie29
by MsTrixie29

I have had several Littermaids and I can only assume this one will be as great as the old ones. I cannot tell you if it is though because the one they sent me had been completely crushed to the point the plastic broke, rails bent, and rake dislodged. I knew when I saw the product box with tape holding it together that I would probably find a mess inside. This is a huge box and the unit is heavy. Now I have to figure out how I am supposed to carry this thing to a postal place to send it back. I will be ordering from somewhere else because I do not trust their shipping now.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MsTrixie29
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 328 total reviews
1-20 of 328 reviews