Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 506 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

506 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

506 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

75%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
229
4 stars
119
3 stars
35
2 stars
28
1 stars
95
1-20 of 486 total reviews
75%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 486 total reviews
1-20 of 486 reviews
Great product, horrible shipper
8/20/2014

Customer review by MsTrixie29

3.0 stars 8/20/2014 by MsTrixie29
by MsTrixie29

I have had several Littermaids and I can only assume this one will be as great as the old ones. I cannot tell you if it is though because the one they sent me had been completely crushed to the point the plastic broke, rails bent, and rake dislodged. I knew when I saw the product box with tape holding it together that I would probably find a mess inside. This is a huge box and the unit is heavy. Now I have to figure out how I am supposed to carry this thing to a postal place to send it back. I will be ordering from somewhere else because I do not trust their shipping now.

Was this review helpful? (58) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MsTrixie29
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
BIG little product
5/24/2011

Customer review by Akio

5.0 stars 5/24/2011 by Akio
by Akio

I love my Littermaid 980 Multi-Cat Self Cleaning Litterbox. I have 2 cats - 13 to 14 pounds each - and this works well for them. It is my second Littermaid Self Cleaning Litterbox but this one is a slight upgrade. It is deeper and quieter. My first one lasted about two years and that was two years I did not have to scoop. i use my Walmart carry-out plastic grocery bags to line the inside of the catch bin and catch the poo which made each bin last about three months or more and saved me money. I just pulled the full bags out, tied the tops up and discarded them which left my bin clean as a whistle for the next time. Littermaid makes it easier for me to love my cats!!!

Was this review helpful? (416) (35)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Akio
New Caney, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Doesn't clean thoroughly
9/25/2016

Customer review by LittermaidHater

1.0 stars 9/25/2016 by LittermaidHater
by LittermaidHater
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have purchased the Littermaid system since it was introduced online in the mid 90's and have always LOVED this system, that is until today. This system is horrible! It doesn't scoop up all the urine balls. It leaves them behind. I do not recommend this product. We have only one cat and this Littermaid is supposed to handle multiple cats. Yes- We use "premium" clumping litter ( Tidy Cat scoopable). This product is not like previous models.

Was this review helpful? (29) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LittermaidHater
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
LitterMade 980
9/11/2016

Customer review by Margaret

5.0 stars 9/11/2016 by Margaret
by Margaret
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My last LitterMade last for 10 year's and after my kitty was gone I give it away because was still working. That was the best purchase I ever made. This one is little bigger so my new kitten have more room in it. I love it. Don't make a lot of noise and my kitten love to watch the mechanism go to work. Very well made. I recommend to everyone who want smell free and worry free litter. I didn't attached the ramp because I have no room for it,but come with it. Love love love my litter box !!!

Was this review helpful? (25) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Margaret
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
My automatic cat littler box
8/17/2016

Customer review by John

5.0 stars 8/17/2016 by John
by John
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This box works really good. When it runs, it is pretty loud & I have to empty the dump tray every 3 days and I only have 1 cat. The cat box stays clean all the time. U have to add just a little bit of litter when you change the dump tray.

Was this review helpful? (29) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
John
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Better than the Elite
10/23/2014

Customer review by Ragslee

4.0 stars 10/23/2014 by Ragslee
by Ragslee
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

After pitching the Littermaid Elite in the trash I searched for a new or used original Littermaid on line. I did find one but it finally died. I then discovered the return of the Classic. So far it performs as well as the original Littermaid.

Was this review helpful? (24) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ragslee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works better then the previous model 680c
4/18/2016

Customer review by Grandmadeanna

4.0 stars 4/18/2016 by Grandmadeanna
by Grandmadeanna

I had the very original Littermaid over 15 years ago that worked the best Since then none of the littermaid self cleaning units have compared to the original model. I've tried them all. The last one I bought the 680 unit I only used for six months. It constantly would get stuck and the litter would get gummy. I went back to the traditional litter box after that. Since I've been spoiled with the self cleaners thought I would try it one more time. This one the 980 unit is doing pretty good. I'm also using the premium Littermaid litter which seems to help. One thing to keep in mind is only fill the litter to the bottom fill line. Otherwise it gets too heavy when the rake goes over it, and you hear the motor straining. Kitty loves it too, she gets very excited when it starts to self clean. I wish Littermaid would look at these reviews and see their original model gets the high marks, and go back to that design. They would see more positive reviews, and more returned customers.

Was this review helpful? (32) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Grandmadeanna
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not what I hoped it would be
11/22/2014

Customer review by 1TabbyOwner

3.0 stars 11/22/2014 by 1TabbyOwner
by 1TabbyOwner

I've used the LitterMaid 980 for about two weeks now with the expensive blue crystal litter. I found that its best to leave the power button off, without supervision after the 10 minute delay the rake just spreads the sticky wet poo and pee clumps all over the litter box making a mess. What i do is just wait to see if the the cat left anything in the box and just turn it on and watch the rake pick stuff up into the receptacle and tap the rake with the scoop that came with the LitterMaid to knock the stuff off into the receptacle. Even than the rake still drags some stuff back across the litter, so I turn it off and on again for a second raking that usually gets most of it. It's not exactly what I expected but it's better than the all manual way of cleaning the litter box. I would suggest to the maker of LitterMaid to add a time delay adjustment setting to allow longer than just 10 minutes for the stuff to dry up a little bit more but I'm not sure that would even solve the problem.

Was this review helpful? (22) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
1TabbyOwner
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Disappointed in this purchase
2/25/2013

Customer review by RAGDOLLS2OWNER

1.0 stars 2/25/2013 by RAGDOLLS2OWNER
by RAGDOLLS2OWNER
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

If I had saved the box it came in I would return it. It was advertised for multi-cats but I found there is much lacking. I HAVE 2 RAGDOLL CATS. 1. The box needs to be emptied twice a day and usually the filter portion falls off becomes feces sticks to it; 2. Urine seeps out between the litter box and litter holder and that requires clean up; 3. it is not easy to empty even with a paper towel in the holder; 4. Litter is everywhere outside the box and only the minimum amount of the recommended litter is used; 5. Rake tends to hold what should be put in the litter container; and 6. The entire box must be taken apart and scrubbed every week. Before this I had an automatic Scoop litter box that broke after 3 years. It was easy to clean and I only had to empty it once a day, never any urine seepage, rake did the job, and scrubbing only had to be done about every two months. l AM ANGRY ABOUT THE CHOICE I MADE WITH THIS PURCHASE. I AM SAVING UP TO GO BACK TO A SCOOP BOX and sell this box on e-bay!

Was this review helpful? (68) (27)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RAGDOLLS2OWNER
Bear, DE
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I like it but power switch is impractical
12/6/2016

Customer review by TryinMyBest

4.0 stars 12/6/2016 by TryinMyBest
by TryinMyBest

I've owned Littermaid litter boxes for years. Why an engineer thought it was a good idea to put the push button power switch on top of the back panel is beyond me. Cats walk across that and turn it off. You may have to configure something to keep it on, such as taping a bottle cap over the switch so that it stays on. Another recommendation to new owners is that you should put the date that you bought it on a piece of making tape inside the battery cover. That way, when the unit dies and you call customer service, you'll have the date. Littermaid is very good at sending a new unit within the warranty period. The multi-cat model seems to last longer than the single cat model.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TryinMyBest
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Peace of mind
6/22/2016

Customer review by Christina

5.0 stars 6/22/2016 by Christina
by Christina
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

With 7 cats and as many litterboxes, I found myself needing a break. I first purchased the single-cat version, deeply discounted, to make sure the cats and I could live with this product. Although at first the cats were a little freaked out by the noises and movements the machine made 9 minutes after a cat had left the litterbox, they grew acclimated to it enough that I purchased a second, single-cat box. As I watched 6 out of the 7 cats regularly use the Littermaid, including the cat who used to enjoy attacking it when it raked, I decided to splurge for the multi-cat model, which is considerably larger and has an exit mat. I love this product and eventually want to replace the rest of my litterboxes with the Littermaid, as my budget allows. Simple to put together, simple to clean, even for someone with a fine-motor deficit like me.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Christina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
not worth it, i really tried to like it.
12/28/2016

Customer review by lillies11

2.0 stars 12/28/2016 by lillies11
by lillies11

I searched high and low, determined to find a reasonably priced automatic litter box for my cats. I was sure that amazon reviewers were being critical (because sometimes people can be harsh on amazon)...if you're thinking the same thing, don't talk yourself into buying this. I bought it from a brick and mortar store. below are my findings after using it for a week: pros: -you can scoop less than before (note i didn't say you wouldn't scoop) -you can travel or leave the litterbox for a few days -the litter ramp is nice, although i still got tracking cons: -the rake doesn't go deep enough in the litter so you end up with sizable clumps to scoop out from the bottom -the lid over the waste area decides to fall off randomly (it's flimsy disposable plastic and barely hooks on)...this means the machine dumps clumps on top of the cover & you pick them up...i was lucky i caught this before a dump was made -the lid sometimes stays open, the machine does this if there are larger clumps, this =stink. -the rake ends up dipped in poop and is no fun to clean, this happened 4 times in a week -you get small clumps to scoop that dont really come out of the litter, they're smaller than ones in a regular box. Stay away, honestly.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lillies11
Would recommend to a friend? No
Self cleaning helps so much
11/13/2016

Customer review by Cats

5.0 stars 11/13/2016 by Cats
by Cats
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Self cleaning reduces clean up. Note that we bought several of these in the past decade. They start to not work as well after 1-2 years of use, especially with 2 cats.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cats
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Came with one plastic part warped
8/9/2013

Customer review by bsoslander

4.0 stars 8/9/2013 by bsoslander
by bsoslander
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I've had several LitterMaid boxes, they usually last about 18 months so I bought a 2 year warranty. Time will tell. Came with the litter tray warped so that the receptacles don't fit well. I taped them together, and I'll see tomorrow when I change the receptacle for the first time if this worked, in fact I wish I'd figured this out with our earlier models. All of our cats, one of whom is 16 lbs, seem to have adapted well and used it immediately. This one doesn't have a "sleep" mode so it's possible you'll hear it in the middle of the night. There's a bit of cleanup of missed clumps and clumps that get pushed back behind the rake, but that's kind of SOP. So far I'm pretty happy since I haven't had to scoop too much. We have 3 cats and 3 litter boxes, am looking forward to maybe being able to eliminate one of the boxes. Could also see this being a boon if you want to go out of town for the weekend and leave the guys unattended.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bsoslander
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
LitterMaid 980~ Best of the Best~
8/20/2011

Customer review by Missy2004

5.0 stars 8/20/2011 by Missy2004
by Missy2004

After hours of scrolling through reviews of the many available LitterMaid units, finally decided on this one based on all the great reviews. Ordered the first one and the plastic lid would not stay on and the litter lid would flip up and stay that way. Called Littermaid and told me to return to the store. Hassle cleaning and returning and wondering if second unit ordered would do the same. Nope! Works perfect. The first unit was defective and this one works perfect. The extra large size is wonderful. Now I have two units (older one around 2 years old and still works great, but too small for two cats). The trick to pass on is to use non-stick cooking spray (you know the one) on the thongs after changing the litter to new. Someone put on a site as a helpful hint and it truly helps with the poo not sticking to the thongs. Thanks for the hint. This unit is quiet and not as loud as my older one. Do yourself a favor , spend the extra money and order the larger one. With free shipping and delivered in days to my door from Walmart, can't go wrong. Very happy with Walmart return to store policy, no hassle at all.

Was this review helpful? (160) (57)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Missy2004
Valencia , CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
No more odor
3/3/2014

Customer review by Clair123

5.0 stars 3/3/2014 by Clair123
by Clair123
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Works great so far, I've owned this now for about a month. Litter does spill out from the sides where the tray opens, and I just have it on a rug so it's no big deal, very small amount. The bottom detaches from the unit so you can easily clean it. I put a bag into the plastic container so that the plastic container will last longer. I also heard it helps if you spray the cleaning forks with Pam. The instructions also mention to spray the bottom of the unit with Pam as well. Great product, and I would recommend this to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (82) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Clair123
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love it!
2/14/2017

Customer review by Amandacrksd

5.0 stars 2/14/2017 by Amandacrksd
by Amandacrksd

This is a replacement for my self cleaning litter box that I purchased many years ago that finally died, when they first came out with them, I will never use any other type I love it and so do my cats.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Amandacrksd
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Litter box
2/14/2017

Customer review by Roger

4.0 stars 2/14/2017 by Roger
by Roger
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Fast shipping. Easy to set up. Automatic cleaning wasn't working, so I called the trouble line. A couple minutes on the phone and they shipped me a new machine! Great customer service!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Roger
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Stopped working after 4 days
9/2/2012

Customer review by DLF99

1.0 stars 9/2/2012 by DLF99
by DLF99

I bought this even after reading the negative reviews. I was hoping that those were isolated incidents because there were numerous positive reviews. Purchased this for my two cats because I was going on vacation and didn't want to make the person staying at our house have to clean the litter box. The package arrived about a week before we were to leave...perfect. Right out of the box I knew this wouldn't last. It's made of cheap plastic. When I set it up and put clean litter (one of the recommended) the cleaning bar seemed to struggle to rake the litter. I set it up and the cats started using it. When I arrived home from work after the 4th day of use, the cleaning bar was stuck about 2/3 of the way through the cleaning cycle. I followed the instructions in the manual to no avail. I took it apart and made sure nothing was stuck in the track. Nothing I did seem to work. It remained stuck in the same position making a slight slicking noise then the light would start blinking. I returned it to my local Walmart store and received a full refund. DON'T BUY THIS. IT'S A WASTE OF YOUR MONEY.

Was this review helpful? (17) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DLF99
Massachusetts
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
litter maid
4/28/2016

Customer review by finickycatowner

5.0 stars 4/28/2016 by finickycatowner
by finickycatowner

i have 2 cats, one of whom is very picky about litter. after several surprises in various places in the house, the litter maid was my last resource. it works great. no "accidents"' ever since, because the litter is always clean. better than other products i researched, in that there's no "litter trays" to buy and if one uses grocery store bags, one can use them as liners in the receptacle to make clean up super easy, with nothing more to buy. i think it's great.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
finickycatowner
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 486 total reviews
1-20 of 486 reviews