Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 179 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

179 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

179 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

81%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
95
4 stars
48
3 stars
7
2 stars
15
1 stars
14
1-20 of 170 total reviews
81%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 170 total reviews
1-20 of 170 reviews
Pump is easy to use and comfortable, I would recommend it, but it can be leaky.
6/17/2012

Customer review by chrisserz

4.0 stars 6/17/2012 by chrisserz
by chrisserz

It is easy and comfy to use. I have read other reviews that there are a lot of parts, but I don't find this to be a problem. The closed system means milk only goes into the pump parts; I would much rather clean extra parts than worry about milk in the tubing etc. The memory function is nice for easier pumping. I like that the pump parts and bottles can be closed off for easy quick storage in between pumping sessions at work. It can be leaky. The tops sometimes unscrew easily (not all the way off, but loosened) causing milk to leak around the adapters. The silicone breast flange pieces can also become loose and allow milk to leak. The bottles are top heavy and can tip easily while set up for pumping, even when using the caps as a support. When they fall, the tops often unscrew enough to let milk leak out. Sometimes, the pumping mechanism is hard to get attached to the silicon diaphragm.

chrisserz
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
An excellent essential for working mothers
6/18/2012

Customer review by Nolanewbie2011

5.0 stars 6/18/2012 by Nolanewbie2011
by Nolanewbie2011

This pump has been an excellent product for mine and my daughter's needs. It performs well, is easy to maintain and simple to use. It's features, including the memory function, make it comfortable and user friendly. I have not tried any other pumps, but cannot imagine what more a pump could offer. Pumping between 5 - 9 oz in less than 15 minutes was perfect for me and I used the pump twice a day at work. Whilst there are lots of pieces to clean, they are easy to take apart and fully sterilise, as well as easy to replace, if they are damaged or lost (I did not need to replace any in 5 months of use). Getting the pump sterilised and ready for the next day, including cleaning and sterilising four Avent bottle in an Avent Microwave Steriliser, took about 40 minutes. This is a labor intensive affair, definitely a labor of love, but well worth it to meet your baby's needs, and probably the time it would take with any twin pump. Overall, I would recommend this above any other pump and I would just add that pumping should be done in a quiet, relaxed environment in order for your milk to come down and flow easily.

Nolanewbie2011
Slidell, LA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Not Recommended
6/20/2012

Customer review by KC12345

1.0 stars 6/20/2012 by KC12345
by KC12345

This pump is not a good design. The bottle does not tighten and can be shaken loose from the pump body; pumped milk would leak out or at time the whole bottle comes apart and of course all the milk that were extracted gets spilled everywhere. I did call in for a replacement unit, the level of customer service is 50/50; I called in 4 times, of the 2x I called in, the customer service representative was very nice and understanding; where during the other times, the representative has neither the knowledge nor the patients to understand my questions and concerns. They rather that you just return the goods or buy other branded pump. The replacement unit was a little better but not by much. The unit was exchanged out for 2 reasons: 1)Pump motor was making very loud noise and the suction would not release which cause great pain. I had to turn off the power to loosen the suction. 2) Pump body and bottle does not have a tight fitted seal that caused constant leak or at time complete detachment. With the replacement, the pump motor worked fine but the leak between the pump body and bottle still exist. I tried use another seal ring but no luck, they still leaks.

KC12345
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
The Best Pump Ever
8/8/2013

Customer review by JulieStone

5.0 stars 8/8/2013 by JulieStone
by JulieStone

As a mother of 4,this was the first time that I followed through with nursing my son. After attempting use of the Medela pump, I was considering giving up nursing. I then decided to purchase the Avent manual pump, which worked wonders. If the manual pump was that comfortable and easy to use, I could just imagine how the dual electric pump would be. I then purchased the electric pump and put it to use immediately. Can you say LOVE AT FIRST PUMP? This pump does not make you sore after usage and does not lose any power when using both pumps at the same time. It has 4 different speeds which are all are effective. Thank you Avent for having the best product on the market! I did forget to mention that this is light weight and not cumbersome like some other pumps.

JulieStone
MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
This product is execellent at expressing breastmilk. There are a few flaws.
10/9/2011

Customer review by aznmonkee1126

4.0 stars 10/9/2011 by aznmonkee1126
by aznmonkee1126

I like the double electric pump. For me, I get twice as much milk when I use the electric as opposed to the manual. Unfortunately my original pump died after a month of use. I called customer service and they were great! They sent me a new pump immediately, although it took a few days to get there. My complaint is that there are too many parts to the pump itself. I used a competitors in the hospital and there aren't near as many parts so I think the hospital pump is more convenient. I've already lost my valves and had to replace them. I also wish that the flanges were removable. I have a handsfree bra that I would like to use but it has stretched the fabric so I cant use it. Other than those two design flaws, I like the pump for the price and purpose.

aznmonkee1126
Gulf Coast, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Stopped working after 2 1/2 months
10/9/2011

Customer review by FirstTimeMommy

2.0 stars 10/9/2011 by FirstTimeMommy
by FirstTimeMommy

My breast pump was working fine and I had great milk output from it, but after 2 1/2 months of use it just stopped working one day. There was a high pitched noise and it wouldn't pump. When I called the lady I spoke to was great and they immediately sent a new one out (which I got two days later), but she said they would also send a manual in case this happened again. It sounded like it was a common problem with the product. My second pump did not work as well as the first. In the middle of pumping the suction would greatly decrease. Sometimes I would have to stop and wait and then start again. Not convenient when you only have a limited amount of time to get the pumping done. Overall I would not recommend this product nor would I buy it again.

FirstTimeMommy
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
I have tried lots and lots of pumps, this one is the best!!
6/18/2012

Customer review by VeryHappilyPumping

4.0 stars 6/18/2012 by VeryHappilyPumping
by VeryHappilyPumping

I have tried many types of pumps from competing vendors (Ameda, Medela, Simplesse, Limerick, Hygeia, etc... hospital grade and personal use pumps, manual and electric pumps...) and the Isis Duo IQ is, by far, my top pick. My Isis lasted LOTS of use (power pumping at least 3 times a day for 18 months with 1st baby). I'm currently pumping for my 2nd child. Pump still works great, has not lost suction. Other pumps do not compare to the comfort and smart design. Be warned though, this pump only comes in standard flange size. If your nipples are larger/smaller, you will need an insert - any brand insert will work. I wish Phillips took pre-owned pumps back for proper disposal at the end of use - these pumps do not belong in the trash.

VeryHappilyPumping
Austin, TX, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Had to Return to Phillips
9/4/2012

Customer review by MamaBird2012

2.0 stars 9/4/2012 by MamaBird2012
by MamaBird2012

I bought this pump to use once I went back to work after my daughter was born. Unfortunately, pumping three times a day started to become very painful and a lactation consultant suggested that I should try a larger breast shield. I searched online and could not find any larger flanges for the Avent pump, so I called Phillips and they informed me that they do not make any larger flanges. I was a little surprised since about 30% of women need larger breast shields to pump comfortably. I ended up having to return the pump to Phillips (they refunded my entire purchase price and were very nice about it) and I purchased a Medela pump with the large-sized flanges, which was much more comfortable.

MamaBird2012
Kansas City, MO, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Really like it.
10/11/2011

Customer review by Susiegohog

5.0 stars 10/11/2011 by Susiegohog
by Susiegohog

I have really liked the avent isis breast pump. I think the massage petals help the let down and comfort while pumping. I also like that the same parts can be used as a manual pump, so I didn't have to buy a seperate backup. I have used it that way several times when I was unable to have electricity, or wanted to carry a smaller bag. The memory pump setting is genious for when you need less or more suction. The only thing I would improve on is the bag design for the pump. I wish it had compartments to hold the parts so they are not loose in the bag, and a specific bottle pocket would be nice too for after pumping. But the pump has been very easy and nice, I have loved it.

Susiegohog
Little Rock, AR, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Hands Down, Best Pump on the Market!
3/4/2012

Customer review by texasmommy

5.0 stars 3/4/2012 by texasmommy
by texasmommy

My son is exclusively breastfed, even at 8 months old. I work full time, so pump 2-3 times daily at work. I returned to work when my son was 8 weeks old and started out with a First Years pump. Big mistake - that item is not meant for daily pumping, it hurt like crazy. Next I bought a Ameda pump. It was way better than the First Years pump, had variable control settings for suction and cycles, but the motor was gone within 3 months. I really liked the fact that the Ameda was a "closed" system, meaning milk can't back up into the tubing, but I didn't want to go with Ameda again considering the motor went on me. I found a great deal on the Avent dual electric pump and it has a closed system too so I went ahead and bought it. I will never use another pump other than the Avent! I have been using it for 3 months now and it is a dream! I only thought my other pump had "variable" settings - this pump is truly customize-able. I am able to get a faster cycling speed than I ever could out of the old Ameda, and I can speed up and slow down at will. This pump actually increased my milk supply! Not very many people know or talk about this pump, but it is truly a player in the world of "big name" pumps. In my opinion, it is the best pump out there. I will never use another one, and I will recommend it to everyone I know!

texasmommy
Fort Worth, TX, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Best pump out there
9/29/2012

Customer review by Liddlebuddy

5.0 stars 9/29/2012 by Liddlebuddy
by Liddlebuddy

I used this pump for over four years. I had four children in that span, including a set of twins in the middle. I exclusively breastfed all of my children for four months each and they continued to receive breast milk until 12 months. I work full time and pumped twice a day, Monday-Friday. This pump stood the test of time beautifully. I love the functionality of the pump. It can be used as a double electric, single electric, and manual pump just by changing a few parts. Customer service was awesome. I needed new tubing and it was overnighted to me. The pump is easy to pack for a trip and isn't very big, but the bag is big enough to pack all of your supplies in.

Liddlebuddy
Napoleon, OH 43545, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Excellent pump, held up great!
6/17/2012

Customer review by Jrauzan

5.0 stars 6/17/2012 by Jrauzan
by Jrauzan

This was my second pump. I was an exclusive pumper, meaning I only pumped my milk, never nursed. With my child, I pumped at least 5 times a day. I finally got use to the whole pumping thing about 3 months into it right before I went back to work. When I returned to work, I was only pumping 3 times a day, but for 30 minutes or so at a time. I pumped for a total of 9 months. Then with my second child, I didn't need to replace the whole pump until my child was 4 months. Again, I was only in exclusive pumper, so I gave the pump a workout. I replaced it because it did loose power/suction. It is a great product and held up great!

Jrauzan
Waddell, AZ, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
This product is not designed for a working mom
8/17/2012

Customer review by Sunrise

2.0 stars 8/17/2012 by Sunrise
by Sunrise

I bought this product because I'm a big believer in Philips brand. At the hospital, I was told to return it by the lactation consultant, but I didn't listen to her. However, when I went back to work after ~3 months of giving birth, I realized that it took me about 30 min to pump while others were done in 15 min. Later on, the pumping time started increasing until it peaked to an hour long and that's when I contacted Philips and they've replaced my pump and I'm back to pumping b/t 30-40 mins. It's still a long time of pumping at work which I have to do couple of times so I don't know how long I could do this for.

Sunrise
San Jose, CA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Efficient and easy to use
6/18/2012

Customer review by Pixie

5.0 stars 6/18/2012 by Pixie
by Pixie

The Avent breast pump is a great device for pumping breast milk. It is more efficient than cheaper electric pumps and helped me to increase milk production. It pumps quickly- about 10 minutes per side for @ 5 ounces. I dropped my pump at work and broke the handle with the electronic pump. I called and had a replacement with in 12 hours! They were great and even though it was my fault, they replaced it for free. Great customer service! My one and only complaint is that there are many parts to take off and assemble. The bottle does not seal well (even has a ring adapter) and leaks when titled even slightly.

Pixie
Pierre, SD, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
very reliable
8/30/2015

Customer review by Melodysmommy

4.0 stars 8/30/2015 by Melodysmommy
by Melodysmommy

Im thankful enough that my husband choose this breast pump, though the price it self was a little frighting but the i couldnt have been happier with this particular product. It's been five months since i fist got this and its been working great ever since. Very powerful and since its a dual pump My baby can rely on milk quickly during the middle of the night. I do have to say that since ive been using this numerous times through out the day I have replaced some parts of it, but that is to be expected since it always on use.

Melodysmommy
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Best pump!
8/6/2015

Customer review by mamamilk

5.0 stars 8/6/2015 by mamamilk
by mamamilk

I love this pump! I've used it for nearly 3 years for 2 children. I love that it is a closed system. I love how you can customize the speed and suction like a manual pump, then automate it. The pump is incredibly comfortable and I am able to get a lot of milk in a short amount of time. I can often get several let-downs as well. As another poster said, the only downfall is that it does not have a car adapter. I bought a little converter thing that can plug into my car, then I can plug the pump into it to use it when in the vehicle.

mamamilk
South Carolina, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Really liked this pump
3/4/2015

Customer review by Heatherbmc

4.0 stars 3/4/2015 by Heatherbmc
by Heatherbmc

My husband purchased this for me when we were expecting our son. I had used the hospital provided pump and wasn't very thrilled. Let me tell you... I really liked this pump. It was comfortable and I enjoyed being able to set the suckling motion and the actual pressure to help with my let down. The only downside was that I couldn't set one bottle down with the attachments on without holding it and it would tip over (even with the lip attached on the bottom). I lost a few oz of mom milk this way. Overall, I liked this and we saved the pump for future use.

Heatherbmc
Allentown, PA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Best results for back at work Mom.... But design features SERIOUSLY out of touch with use
6/17/2012

Customer review by MoneyMom

4.0 stars 6/17/2012 by MoneyMom
by MoneyMom

Customer Service has been outstanding. However, I shouldn't have needed to call them 2 times in 3 months. Had entire pump assembly replaced after it stopped working. With first little one I've had a Medela, some other handheld, and this one. It's the best - but for the price, the amount of issues with the motor were too high. Significant use design flaws: feedback on these are everywhere on the Internet. Bottles attached to suction pieces are top heavy and tip easily. Bottles unscrew incredibly easily. The phrase about not crying over spilled milk never pumped.

MoneyMom
Tunkhannock, PA
Gender:Female
Fan of this product & amazing customer service btw!
6/21/2012

Customer review by sunnie11

4.0 stars 6/21/2012 by sunnie11
by sunnie11

Over all I like their pump however being a working mom it gets annoying packing it up and since it doesn't come with a back to keep everything together (and clean) I have to use a zip lock bag, i also wish it came with separate compartments and was able to keep milk cold while traveling. Avent has amazing customer service! I lost (not sure what the correct name is) one of the white things that the milk drips into before it goes in the bottle. I called Avent and they sent me a package of them free of charge and air flighted it so it came with in 48 hours.

sunnie11
Salt Lake City, Utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
This product is simply amazing!
10/4/2012

Customer review by Yasmin

5.0 stars 10/4/2012 by Yasmin
by Yasmin

Easy to assemble, light weight, neatly put together in the carry on bag, easy to sanitize, minimum noise while pumping (so when the baby is asleep it won't wake her up if you are pumping right next to her). I have the twin pump and the only thing I wish would be designed better is that second cord! when not in use it hits everywhere and I am always worried that it would break one of these days, alsthough it can get attached to the cord itslef but that really doesn't help much. Other than that I think: It's made to make moms life easy and happy pumping!!

Yasmin
Carol Stream, IL, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
1-20 of 170 total reviews
1-20 of 170 reviews