Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 63 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

63 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

63 reviews | 4 out of 5

87%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
26
4 stars
25
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 stars
6
1-20 of 57 total reviews
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 57 total reviews
1-20 of 57 reviews
Smartest yard tool I ever purchased
6/2/2012

Customer review by TheOlderOne

5.0 stars 6/2/2012 by TheOlderOne
by TheOlderOne

Bought this in April 2012. No more struggling with gas and pulling to start. No more dragging 75 ft of extension cord out and rolling it up again. I have discarded those now. This thing works flawlessly. It's perfectly balanced for me and is a pleasure to use when the mood strikes. I don't have a lot to trim but I use it all over my 1/2 acre lot. I do not use it for more than 10-20 minutes at a time and only had to switch to the second battery after three days of use. Although I think trying to cut a whole field of grass with this would not be a good idea, it's perfect for trimming along the side of my house, garage, and trees and is perfect for a steep hill near the street. It comes with two lithium batteries, which is another big plus. Having used others over the years, this is by far the best yard tool I've ever bought. I don't often write reviews but I had to chime in on this one. Obviously I can't say anything about durability yet but I have already used it a lot.

Was this review helpful? (22) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheOlderOne
Massachusetts
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
So far, so good
6/8/2013

Customer review by askandyoushalreceive

4.0 stars 6/8/2013 by askandyoushalreceive
by askandyoushalreceive

I bought it to tackle the Jungle (that's what I call my back yard)... This thing eats threw grass even 4ft tall grass. It did jam a few times on thinker 1/2in thick weeds. The thing people need to remember is this product is designed for "normal" use and it performs great at that. I see a lot of complaints on here about things that really should have been expected. It's a battery... they do die, don't expect it to last forever. I got about 20min out of each of them and that was 100% full on never letting off the trigger. With the job I was asking it to do I expected about 15min out of each so I was more than happy getting 20min. I think the main reason you get 2 batteries with this product is so you can use 1 to trim and 1 to edge. If your edging has not been done in a while and is harder work re-use the trimming battery. If you have always kept your yard edged/trimmed then this will be a great product for you. If you have not, then at least wait till "over working" the product is complete before judging it.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
askandyoushalreceive
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Off the Chain (A BEAST)...Brilliant
3/14/2011

Customer review by Rod4God

5.0 stars 3/14/2011 by Rod4God
by Rod4God

I've had it for 1 week now. I'm very impressed. It came with 2 lithium ion batteries (small batteries with a strong punch) (i needed them both). Takes about 6-7 hours to charge. Line feeds automatically no tapping. No problems yet...So far I love it. Remember to fully charge after every use. This way you wont diminish the power of your batteries. Enjoy yours.

Was this review helpful? (52) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rod4God
Goose Creek, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Trimmer!!!
4/12/2011

Customer review by dabeef

4.0 stars 4/12/2011 by dabeef
by dabeef

I was a bit skeptical about purchasing a battery powered trimmer. I have been using a gas trimmer for years and I didn't think a battery powered trimmer would really be able to hold it's own against a gas unit. After buying this battery powered unit and testing it out for about a month here is what I've found...... It is very light weight compared to a gas unit (less than half the weight). I could almost operate it one handed. The plastic parts feel a bit cheap but they seem to hold up well. I am very rough with my tools and it hasn't broken yet. The replacement spools are very easy to install and upgrade. I love the auto-feed feature (this way I'm not wasting time adjusting the line length or re-feeding new line when it goes bad). It eats weeds and grass with ease. Just as good as my gas unit but it takes a few more passes and it's not as fast. (wouldn't be practical for commercial use). I like that the unit comes with two batteries....however the batteries last about 12 minutes each (if you are running it full throttle non stop). It doesn't sound like a lot of time but for a small to medium yard with light weed eating needs it works like a champ. Batteries take forever to recharge all the way. About 6 hours. I would highly recommend picking up at least one more battery to be used as a backup. All in all this is a great product for the money. I don't have to worry about gas and oil. I pull the trigger and this unit starts every time without having to struggle with a pull cord. It's light weight so my arms don't feel like jello after using it. It's small and adjustable so it doesn't take up a lot of space in my shed. The lithium ion batteries hold their charge for a really long time when not in use and you don't have to worry about over charging them (also they are better for the environment).

Was this review helpful? (95) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dabeef
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Meets value expectations
5/3/2011

Customer review by Applepollen

5.0 stars 5/3/2011 by Applepollen
by Applepollen

Is everything as advertised. We have quite a large yard and the edging is almost accomplished with one battery. However, no complaints!

Was this review helpful? (31) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Applepollen
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Black & Decker 12" Trimmer/edger
7/2/2016

Customer review by Sadinkansas

4.0 stars 7/2/2016 by Sadinkansas
by Sadinkansas
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Unfortunately, the screw holding on the shield at the base of my new trimmer fell out the first time using it. If I were to do this over again, I would find a way to secure the screw (super glue? Loctite?)

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sadinkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A very good edger and trimmer
5/31/2011

Customer review by nowdoit

5.0 stars 5/31/2011 by nowdoit
by nowdoit

This is my first edger and trimmer, I decided to get the better instead of just good trimmer. It has all the features I wanted and it was at a reduced price, so I went for it. I have used the trimmer feature and it is very good, I assume the edger part will be as well. When I talk to people they always ask if I got the automatic spool release feature and I tell them yes, it is part of reason I got it.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nowdoit
Nevada, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great product!
3/23/2011

Customer review by Lifeisgood222222

5.0 stars 3/23/2011 by Lifeisgood222222
by Lifeisgood222222

I have always used a gas powered trimmer and when it came time to purchase a new one I was unsure about a battery powered trimmer but read some reviews and decided to try it out. I absolutely love it! No fumes and odor to deal with when trimming and edging. The two batteries are great! The trimmer/edger has exceeded my expectations and I would highly recommend!

Was this review helpful? (58) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lifeisgood222222
KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Very lightweight, however....
7/27/2011

Customer review by Anonymous026

2.0 stars 7/27/2011 by Anonymous026
by Anonymous026

Am I the only person having an issue with this particular product? Personally, I think it does it's job very well, except for the fact that the batteries do not keep their charge. We charge them over night, for a minimum of 6 hours each, yet they both last only 15 minutes. The batteries that came with the product are the Black and Decker 20V Lithium Batteries. I was surprised to read all the great reviews as I have not been completely impressed with this product; due to the fact that I can only get 1/4 of our yard edged before it's completely dead. It's quite frustrating to be honest.

Was this review helpful? (27) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Anonymous026
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Well Balanced Review
7/13/2011

Customer review by Jinnspeed

3.0 stars 7/13/2011 by Jinnspeed
by Jinnspeed

The B&D trimmer has worked well for light trimming of grass and weeds around my house. It is lightweight and it is easy to replace the string. The unit is a little awkward to use in edge mode, particularly when you need to bump the unit to feed more string. Overall it has been reliable. I my opinion the length of the trimmer rod is short. Battery will work for 20 mins. Charging will take 8 hours.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jinnspeed
Ann Arbor, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good Product
9/22/2012

Customer review by NJJOE

5.0 stars 9/22/2012 by NJJOE
by NJJOE

Bought this because my old trimmer is heavy and the line changing is a pain. This trimmer is very light and easy to use. The line is very simple to change and takes just a few minutes. The battery life is about 20 minutes but it comes with two batteries. Yes, I agree with everyone else, the battery takes forever to charge. However, I bought the Quick Charger and it was totally worth it. I charge a battery in about 15-20 minutes. I also have the sweeper and drill so having the Quick Charger is worth the money. Would recommend the trimmer to everyone.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NJJOE
Runnemede, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
B&D Cordless Trimmer Rocks!
5/28/2012

Customer review by Madcow57

5.0 stars 5/28/2012 by Madcow57
by Madcow57

The Trimmer arrived in a very timely manner to my local store. It was easy to do the final assembly out of the box. It is not a weak trimmer, it plows right through grass and light weeds. It can really trim away like an edger on driveway and sidewalk trimming. The only downside is the length of time for batteries to charge up. The unit comes with two batteries and both of them will take care of the trimming around my 1.5 acre yard. The trimmer line is pretty strong an does not require a tap to lengthen it back out very often.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Madcow57
Central Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great for smaller yard
2/18/2012

Customer review by RGVBaptist

5.0 stars 2/18/2012 by RGVBaptist
by RGVBaptist

I purchased the smaller B&D string trimmer (w/o the removeable battery) and was extremely disappointed. But, I gave them a second chance by returning that product and getting this version and it is wonderful. I have a quarter acre property and between the two batteries I can trim everything that needs trimming (plus some). Not intended for LARGE yards (acres), but will work well for most residential lots. After over a year of use it's still going strong!

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RGVBaptist
Rio Grande City, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Does a Great Job on a small place
4/2/2012

Customer review by hangdogdaddy38

5.0 stars 4/2/2012 by hangdogdaddy38
by hangdogdaddy38

Reading the other reviews and on another site it may be that Black & Decker got a hold of a bad batch of batteries. I only have a Double wide mobile home but around the home, decking, trees, and ditches the trimmer did an excellent job and one battery did one and a half jobs. I only had to change batteries half way through the second time I did the yard. I was going to purchase the fast charger at Wal-Mart for 40 bucks but I don't think I'm going to need it. One note that may help others is I charged each battery just until the green light went solid and then removed them. I didn't leave them on for eight hours like the instructions say to do. I'm happy with mine. No more gas/oil mixing and no more pulling a string to try to get it started.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hangdogdaddy38
Randleman, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
8/15/2011

Customer review by big777

5.0 stars 8/15/2011 by big777
by big777

two batterys are more than enought for my yard.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
big777
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Nice For Small Weed Eating
4/24/2012

Customer review by ProjectDangerous

4.0 stars 4/24/2012 by ProjectDangerous
by ProjectDangerous

This weed eater is meant for basic and small weed eating needs. It comes with 2x lithium batteries that have a strong charge (90-100%) that last for around 10 mins each. Beyond that time, the power noticably drops off. Very light weight and easy to carry around as well. The auto string feeder seems to work fine. The feeder tub seems a little light weight and one might take care to not use this for heavier jobs. Don't expect this weed eater to power through large weeds. It's not designed for that at all. For trimming lawn edges, light duty fence line clearing and yard borders, this thing works fine.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ProjectDangerous
Springdale, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Trimmer/Edger if you have health issues.
7/15/2011

Customer review by 333668

5.0 stars 7/15/2011 by 333668
by 333668

Wonderful Trimmer/Edger if you have a small yard. Do not recommend buying this for a large yard.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
333668
Cocoa, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Just didn't "cut" it.
6/18/2012

Customer review by Magnetann

1.0 stars 6/18/2012 by Magnetann
by Magnetann

Purchased because I thought it would be easier on my shoulder vs. a gas trimmer. The first time I used it I tried trimming around our 60' dia. pond. One battery did about 1/4 of the distance. After doing 1/2 of the pond, I had to wait about an hour for the first battery to re-charge. It was taking so long I decided to go ahead and trim around the driveway. It wouldn't even cut through a San Augustine runner. And the re-charged battery kept going in and out. Also, the ergonomics are off. The way you have to hold your right arm back to squeeze the trigger, really leaves your arm in discomfort. I had to keep switching arms. Maybe for a small garden home lot with Bermuda grass perhaps.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Magnetann
Southeast Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
worth it!
5/2/2011

Customer review by GoGreener

4.0 stars 5/2/2011 by GoGreener
by GoGreener

Works well. Be sure to charge one of the two batteries at all times. The battery takes a while to recharge.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GoGreener
los angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
7/10/2011

Customer review by billdez

4.0 stars 7/10/2011 by billdez
by billdez

The battery life is not as long as advertised and I'm having difficulty purchasing line refills.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
billdez
Orlando, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
1-20 of 57 total reviews
1-20 of 57 reviews