Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 59 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

59 reviews | 4 out of 5

5 stars
25
4 stars
22
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 stars
6
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 53 total reviews
Great Trimmer!!!
4/12/2011

Customer review by dabeef

4.0 stars by dabeef

I was a bit skeptical about purchasing a battery powered trimmer. I have been using a gas trimmer for years and I didn't think a battery powered trimmer would really be able to hold it's own against a gas unit. After buying this battery powered unit and testing it out for about a month here is what I've found...... It is very light weight compared to a gas unit (less than half the weight). I could almost operate it one handed. The plastic parts feel a bit cheap but they seem to hold up well. I am very rough with my tools and it hasn't broken yet. The replacement spools are very easy to install and upgrade. I love the auto-feed feature (this way I'm not wasting time adjusting the line length or re-feeding new line when it goes bad). It eats weeds and grass with ease. Just as good as my gas unit but it takes a few more passes and it's not as fast. (wouldn't be practical for commercial use). I like that the unit comes with two batteries....however the batteries last about 12 minutes each (if you are running it full throttle non stop). It doesn't sound like a lot of time but for a small to medium yard with light weed eating needs it works like a champ. Batteries take forever to recharge all the way. About 6 hours. I would highly recommend picking up at least one more battery to be used as a backup. All in all this is a great product for the money. I don't have to worry about gas and oil. I pull the trigger and this unit starts every time without having to struggle with a pull cord. It's light weight so my arms don't feel like jello after using it. It's small and adjustable so it doesn't take up a lot of space in my shed. The lithium ion batteries hold their charge for a really long time when not in use and you don't have to worry about over charging them (also they are better for the environment).

Was this review helpful? (88) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
dabeef
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Off the Chain (A BEAST)...Brilliant
3/14/2011

Customer review by Rod4God

5.0 stars by Rod4God

I've had it for 1 week now. I'm very impressed. It came with 2 lithium ion batteries (small batteries with a strong punch) (i needed them both). Takes about 6-7 hours to charge. Line feeds automatically no tapping. No problems yet...So far I love it. Remember to fully charge after every use. This way you wont diminish the power of your batteries. Enjoy yours.

Was this review helpful? (45) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Rod4God
Goose Creek, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great product!
3/23/2011

Customer review by Lifeisgood222222

5.0 stars by Lifeisgood222222

I have always used a gas powered trimmer and when it came time to purchase a new one I was unsure about a battery powered trimmer but read some reviews and decided to try it out. I absolutely love it! No fumes and odor to deal with when trimming and edging. The two batteries are great! The trimmer/edger has exceeded my expectations and I would highly recommend!

Was this review helpful? (55) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Lifeisgood222222
KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Meets value expectations
5/3/2011

Customer review by Applepollen

5.0 stars by Applepollen

Is everything as advertised. We have quite a large yard and the edging is almost accomplished with one battery. However, no complaints!

Was this review helpful? (29) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Applepollen
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very lightweight, however....
7/27/2011

Customer review by Anonymous026

2.0 stars by Anonymous026

Am I the only person having an issue with this particular product? Personally, I think it does it's job very well, except for the fact that the batteries do not keep their charge. We charge them over night, for a minimum of 6 hours each, yet they both last only 15 minutes. The batteries that came with the product are the Black and Decker 20V Lithium Batteries. I was surprised to read all the great reviews as I have not been completely impressed with this product; due to the fact that I can only get 1/4 of our yard edged before it's completely dead. It's quite frustrating to be honest.

Was this review helpful? (25) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Anonymous026
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Smartest yard tool I ever purchased
6/2/2012

Customer review by TheOlderOne

5.0 stars by TheOlderOne

Bought this in April 2012. No more struggling with gas and pulling to start. No more dragging 75 ft of extension cord out and rolling it up again. I have discarded those now. This thing works flawlessly. It's perfectly balanced for me and is a pleasure to use when the mood strikes. I don't have a lot to trim but I use it all over my 1/2 acre lot. I do not use it for more than 10-20 minutes at a time and only had to switch to the second battery after three days of use. Although I think trying to cut a whole field of grass with this would not be a good idea, it's perfect for trimming along the side of my house, garage, and trees and is perfect for a steep hill near the street. It comes with two lithium batteries, which is another big plus. Having used others over the years, this is by far the best yard tool I've ever bought. I don't often write reviews but I had to chime in on this one. Obviously I can't say anything about durability yet but I have already used it a lot.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
TheOlderOne
Massachusetts
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
A very good edger and trimmer
5/31/2011

Customer review by nowdoit

5.0 stars by nowdoit

This is my first edger and trimmer, I decided to get the better instead of just good trimmer. It has all the features I wanted and it was at a reduced price, so I went for it. I have used the trimmer feature and it is very good, I assume the edger part will be as well. When I talk to people they always ask if I got the automatic spool release feature and I tell them yes, it is part of reason I got it.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
nowdoit
Nevada, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great for smaller yard
2/18/2012

Customer review by RGVBaptist

5.0 stars by RGVBaptist

I purchased the smaller B&D string trimmer (w/o the removeable battery) and was extremely disappointed. But, I gave them a second chance by returning that product and getting this version and it is wonderful. I have a quarter acre property and between the two batteries I can trim everything that needs trimming (plus some). Not intended for LARGE yards (acres), but will work well for most residential lots. After over a year of use it's still going strong!

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
RGVBaptist
Rio Grande City, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Well Balanced Review
7/13/2011

Customer review by Jinnspeed

3.0 stars by Jinnspeed

The B&D trimmer has worked well for light trimming of grass and weeds around my house. It is lightweight and it is easy to replace the string. The unit is a little awkward to use in edge mode, particularly when you need to bump the unit to feed more string. Overall it has been reliable. I my opinion the length of the trimmer rod is short. Battery will work for 20 mins. Charging will take 8 hours.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Jinnspeed
Ann Arbor, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Trimmer/Edger if you have health issues.
7/15/2011

Customer review by 333668

5.0 stars by 333668

Wonderful Trimmer/Edger if you have a small yard. Do not recommend buying this for a large yard.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
333668
Cocoa, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
B&D Cordless Trimmer Rocks!
5/28/2012

Customer review by Madcow57

5.0 stars by Madcow57

The Trimmer arrived in a very timely manner to my local store. It was easy to do the final assembly out of the box. It is not a weak trimmer, it plows right through grass and light weeds. It can really trim away like an edger on driveway and sidewalk trimming. The only downside is the length of time for batteries to charge up. The unit comes with two batteries and both of them will take care of the trimming around my 1.5 acre yard. The trimmer line is pretty strong an does not require a tap to lengthen it back out very often.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Madcow57
Central Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Good Product
9/22/2012

Customer review by NJJOE

5.0 stars by NJJOE

Bought this because my old trimmer is heavy and the line changing is a pain. This trimmer is very light and easy to use. The line is very simple to change and takes just a few minutes. The battery life is about 20 minutes but it comes with two batteries. Yes, I agree with everyone else, the battery takes forever to charge. However, I bought the Quick Charger and it was totally worth it. I charge a battery in about 15-20 minutes. I also have the sweeper and drill so having the Quick Charger is worth the money. Would recommend the trimmer to everyone.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
NJJOE
Runnemede, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
8/15/2011

Customer review by big777

5.0 stars by big777

two batterys are more than enought for my yard.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
big777
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Does a Great Job on a small place
4/2/2012

Customer review by hangdogdaddy38

5.0 stars by hangdogdaddy38

Reading the other reviews and on another site it may be that Black & Decker got a hold of a bad batch of batteries. I only have a Double wide mobile home but around the home, decking, trees, and ditches the trimmer did an excellent job and one battery did one and a half jobs. I only had to change batteries half way through the second time I did the yard. I was going to purchase the fast charger at Wal-Mart for 40 bucks but I don't think I'm going to need it. One note that may help others is I charged each battery just until the green light went solid and then removed them. I didn't leave them on for eight hours like the instructions say to do. I'm happy with mine. No more gas/oil mixing and no more pulling a string to try to get it started.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
hangdogdaddy38
Randleman, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
worth it!
5/2/2011

Customer review by GoGreener

4.0 stars by GoGreener

Works well. Be sure to charge one of the two batteries at all times. The battery takes a while to recharge.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
GoGreener
los angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
7/10/2011

Customer review by billdez

4.0 stars by billdez

The battery life is not as long as advertised and I'm having difficulty purchasing line refills.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
billdez
Orlando, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
8/1/2011

Customer review by meme147

4.0 stars by meme147

lightweight...does the job well..very happy with my purchase...

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
meme147
hudson nh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
So far, so good
6/8/2013

Customer review by askandyoushalreceive

4.0 stars by askandyoushalreceive

I bought it to tackle the Jungle (that's what I call my back yard)... This thing eats threw grass even 4ft tall grass. It did jam a few times on thinker 1/2in thick weeds. The thing people need to remember is this product is designed for "normal" use and it performs great at that. I see a lot of complaints on here about things that really should have been expected. It's a battery... they do die, don't expect it to last forever. I got about 20min out of each of them and that was 100% full on never letting off the trigger. With the job I was asking it to do I expected about 15min out of each so I was more than happy getting 20min. I think the main reason you get 2 batteries with this product is so you can use 1 to trim and 1 to edge. If your edging has not been done in a while and is harder work re-use the trimming battery. If you have always kept your yard edged/trimmed then this will be a great product for you. If you have not, then at least wait till "over working" the product is complete before judging it.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
askandyoushalreceive
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Gets the job done with ease!!
4/13/2012

Customer review by originaldiva9

5.0 stars by originaldiva9

I grew up using gas powered everything. I was unsure if this would work out but decided to test it out. It was easy to assemble. Charged batteries overnight and was good to go. Its's easy to use and female friendly as I do all my own yard work and don't want those heavy bulky products.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
originaldiva9
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Does a great job.
5/1/2012

Customer review by citygirlinfl

5.0 stars by citygirlinfl

I had a gas trimmer previously and got where I was not able to pull the cord to start it. I love how easy this starts and it does an excellent job. When I first got this and my new B&D mower out to use, every boy in the neighborhood wanted to help .

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
citygirlinfl
Baker Co., Fl.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
1-20 of 53 total reviews