Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 254 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

254 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

254 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
137
4 stars
84
3 stars
19
2 stars
9
1 stars
5
1-20 of 231 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 231 total reviews
1-20 of 231 reviews
I am in love with this laptop!
7/29/2011

Customer review by paigeeliz96

5.0 stars 7/29/2011 by paigeeliz96
by paigeeliz96

I got this for my birthday today and I LOVE it! I have used many laptops before and they all frusterate me but this one runs so great, its quiet, smooth, sleek, light, think, PINK and it loads so fast!!! There are no cons with this laptop! I ave downloaded itunes, opened many webpages at once, played games, and put in CDs and it still runs just as fast. its amazing. if you are looking for a smaller PINK fast light AWESOME laptop, definatley get this one. you wont regret it.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
paigeeliz96
Valparaiso IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very Pleased
2/14/2010

Customer review by Fire14

5.0 stars 2/14/2010 by Fire14
by Fire14

Bought a dell studio for daughter to enter college. Had a hard drive problem, replaced it works great ever since. Wife went back to school, bought her a dell studio only problem is after receiving the windows 7 upgrade her mouse disapears after hibernation or sleep mode and needs to be restarted before mouse works. Pros I ordered my dell 14 inspiron with a 9 cell battery so that I was not married to the charger, a nice surprise was that due to the extra 3 batteries the unit tips up in the back and creates the perfect angle of the key board, love it. Screne clarity great. Dell 14 inspiron a perfect size for me and the weight is minimual. Con The smooth glossy black finish shows everything. Texured surface would be nice and incorprate a protective, color matched, thin rubber strip completly around exterior edge. This would aid in protection of incidental bumps and would aid in opening. Hey, Back-lit key board with quick on/off would be nice. Review A great computer for the cost. Would do it all again.

Fire14
Belvidere, Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I'm Happy with this computer
8/2/2011

Customer review by tpee

5.0 stars 8/2/2011 by tpee
by tpee

I am very happy with this computer. I think the sound is good. I like the screen better than my old Dell. I like the keyboard. I did alot of research and I choose this computer because of the size, it's light and easy to carry around. The price is good. I use this computer to watch movies and go on the internet. I have no complaints.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tpee
Mays Landing, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
I am loving this laptop
3/11/2011

Customer review by MediaDiva

5.0 stars 3/11/2011 by MediaDiva
by MediaDiva

It is very nice to look at and it runs very well. It is everything that I expected.

Was this review helpful? (33) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MediaDiva
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Performance Great but Falling apart!
7/29/2010

Customer review by NicoleJean

3.0 stars 7/29/2010 by NicoleJean
by NicoleJean

This is a great buy for the price. And compared to other brands and other laptops in this price range this computer performance is exceptional. But.... I have had my laptop for only 5 months now and have already had 2 things break. And yes I am careful with my equipment. First the left mouse clicker went out and I have been having to use a usb mouse for a few months now... very annoying. Now just a few days ago a 2" wide streak that goes from the top to bottom of my screen has developed that makes that section of the screen blury and distorts the colors. Ok now I am going to have to call Dell service and hope I wont have to pay anything to fix this or ship my computer out. If I get a repair in home at no charge I will atleast be satisfied with the service to overlook these problems. Also the glossy finish of the back of the screen and around the keypad easy gets scratches but doesnt show that well because of the shiny finish.

NicoleJean
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great - Just two things
10/21/2009

Customer review by Tanya500

4.0 stars 10/21/2009 by Tanya500
by Tanya500

I've had this laptop for a couple months now and it is working really well. Still need to upload everything from my old laptop (~5 year old Dell Inspirion), I'll eventually do that. My old laptop was a Dell and I decided on getting another Dell for my new laptop. They are reliable computers and you get a lot for your money. I decided on this one over the 14z because the $150 price increase (when having equivalent specs) wasn't worth the size difference, for me. Here are the two things I have issues with, both minor. One, the mouse sometimes jumps around the screen or freezes up slightly when I'm running a bunch of stuff. Doesn't happen a lot and has never frozen up completely. The other thing I have issues with is the Facial Recognition software. It's only works approximately 1/5 of the time, so I don't understand having it if it doesn't work well. This is also minor. Overall a great machine for the money, so happy with it.

Tanya500
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not up to expectations. Poor ergnomics
1/28/2010

Customer review by appusajeev

1.0 stars 1/28/2010 by appusajeev
by appusajeev

I recently purchased an inspiron 1440 and i was really disappointed with certain features. First of all,there is no dedicated switch for wireless/bluetooth.Its controlled using Fn keys Second,there are no LEDS to indicate the status of Wireless/Bluetooth. Hence it becomes really hard to figure whether the wifi/bt is on There is not even an LED to indicate AC power.The laptop has only a single LED which is on irrespective of whether the laptop is running on AC power or battery Then the build quality is poor.Its made of low quality plastic. The battery bay will slightly disengage if we apply a small pressure. Even worse,the lid will disengage in its plane just with the application of finger nails Also ,the touchpad can be unresponsive and unpredictable certain times esp if there is some wind blowing(a fan in the room is enough) I counclude by saying that my dell inspiron does not live up to its expectations. It lacks features present even in the most basic laptops I hope dell will seriosly consider overhauling the current desgin for inspiron 14

appusajeev
Kerala
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great machine for the price.
10/6/2010

Customer review by pastoryusuk

4.0 stars 10/6/2010 by pastoryusuk
by pastoryusuk

I managed to get a great deal on my 1440. It's pretty standard aside from the 1600x900 screen, which is almost unheard of on laptops in this price range. I don't even know if the 900p screen is an option anymore. Too bad if it's not, because this 900p screen (I'm writing this review on the Dell) is amazing! So much room compared to a 1366x768. The keyboard is great, much better than my old Acer. The only issue that I've had with this laptop so far is that the webcam does not work. The webcam software can't find it, and it does not show up in the device manager (there is however, an unknown USB device, for which I can't update the drivers). If the webcam worked properly I would give this Dell a 5/5 rating. Performance wise, it's great. The dual core (newer core 2 duo arch) is very quick and is not power hungry, as a result, the battery life is fairly good for a laptop this size. All in all, it's a great deal for the price. This is my 2nd Dell laptop. The first one (a 710m Inspiron) served me well for almost 3 years (which in my opinion is a long time for a laptop).

pastoryusuk
Vancouver, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love My Inspiron 14
7/8/2010

Customer review by DinArizona

5.0 stars 7/8/2010 by DinArizona
by DinArizona

I absolutely love my Inspiron 14. I always research products before I purchase them. This product had very high ratings, loved the look and positive comments. I purchased it with some reccommended upgrades and I couldn't be happier. I recently took it on a trip to San Francisco, it was so versatile and easy to tranport. Just the right size and it worked perfect in the hotel. We also have a cabin in the middle of nowhere with satelite internet and even with that connection it works great! The cool style and ease of use is perfectly suited for transporting. I love it! It's my first notebook/laptop and it's the second computer I've purchased from Dell. I purchased a desktop 7 years ago and it still works wonderfully, the only thing I have needed to do with the desktop was have your wonderful tech make some updates and I purchased additional memory. I praise your techs and customer service as well.

DinArizona
Glendale, Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Still good but not great
1/15/2010

Customer review by Coach24

4.0 stars 1/15/2010 by Coach24
by Coach24

I've been configuring and helping people purchase dell desktops and laptops for years. While this particular laptop is good, its not as good as it could be. I purchased an Inspiron 1420 for myself in October of 2008 and helped someone purchase this Inspiron 14 in December of 2009. The 2008 model came with dell media direct which allows you to play movies and music without fully booting windows. It also came with media control buttons. The 14 does not. No media buttons whatsoever on the laptop. Here's the real stunner to me (although I don't know if it matters to most people): no hard drive activity light. Really? As far as the options for the inspiron 14, I was pleased with the choices except for the lack of a 7200 rpm hard drive. Hard drive speed makes a lot of difference to the average user - much more so than processor speed. I would recommend this laptop to friends provided their primary purpose was email/word processing/internet/entertainment, so if that's what you're looking for, don't let this review scare you off. Dell's are solidly built and provide a lot of bang for the buck.

Coach24
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Inspiron 14R
4/16/2011

Customer review by FFtaz71

5.0 stars 4/16/2011 by FFtaz71
by FFtaz71

Ive only had mine 2 days, but my experiences so far tell me I absolutely made the right decision. Im still exploring all the features so this may/may not be a complete review...its just based on my experiences so far. Pros: Lightning fast, light weight, set up was extremely user friendly and done in like 20 minutes or less. Start up is fast. I like Windows 7...I had Vista on my old laptop and my Dell Desktop has XP. This is a product that I believe will be reliable for some time to come. The keyboard is quiet...some folks have said they werent impressed with their keyboard, but I like it. Ive also seen that the sound was not great, but for a laptop computer, I think it is fairly decent. The webcam wasnt bad either..the quality is decent too-you just have to play with the settings on it. The pic on my review was actually taken on the webcam. There are only 3 USB ports...but they are all toward the back of the computer. In all reality, I havent really found anything else so far that I didnt like yet. Cons: I have found that outside, in the sun, the screen is hard to see. Its doable, but the light tends to reflect off the screen making a glare.

FFtaz71
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good product
2/11/2010

Customer review by LKDC

5.0 stars 2/11/2010 by LKDC
by LKDC

I was looking for a generic laptop and this seems to have fit the bill. I replaced a Compaq Presario laptop I had had for five years, and I wanted a standard, easy-to-use, "typical" laptop. I like that it's compact, I'm getting used to the flat keyboard (which was broken when I got it due to a depressed R but a Dell technician fixed immediately), and I got a T processor so that the battery doesn't get too warm and that's great. I do find, though, that it feels slightly flimsier than my old one, that is, it feels more plastic (flip top feels less hefty). But I think that's the way our throw-away electronics society is going (I also still have a stereo from the 70s so I notice these things.) Getting used to wide screen, Windows 7, and different placement of Pg Up/Dn keys etc. Solid purchase and would definitely recommend.

LKDC
Washington, DC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not quite what I expected, but good
9/23/2010

Customer review by dellBugg95

3.0 stars 9/23/2010 by dellBugg95
by dellBugg95

Pros: It's quieter, lighter, and much much faster than my old Dell laptop, and has more USB ports and a lot more memory. It also runs a lot cooler and has a more stable wireless connection. This is my second Dell and I'm sure I'll stick with Dell next time around. Cons: The first thing I noticed was that the screen was shorter than I expected, which is irritating -- I find a taller screen easier to work with. And having all the ports on the sides is really annoying -- the cords for power and accessories get in the way when you work in a small space. Also, moving Delete next to Print Screen was a bad idea -- I frequently hit the wrong button. It was much more convenient on the bottom row. I upgraded from XP, and that hasn't been entirely wonderful either. Having the manual solely on the computer really irritated me with my old laptop, and having most of the help/support online is even worse because I don't want to be online all the time. A lot of changes in terminolgy and procedures were made in Windows 7, which makes finding and using things rather confusing. Plus, some of my important programs won't work with Windows 7 so I'll have to find new ones.

dellBugg95
Dallas Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Better than anything
5/29/2010

Customer review by Stella86

5.0 stars 5/29/2010 by Stella86
by Stella86

okay so i love little laptops and i was going to get a mini, but then i looked at it and didnt want, and started hunting for another one. This computer seemed to have good reviews so i decided to check it out, the size was okay, like i said before i like small computers, but after buying this one, the size seemed perfect. it fits comfortably in my lap, very light weight, and the one thing i have with most laptops, doesnt seem to happen at all- that is the whole mouse pad touch thing. You know, when your typing and somehow your thumb hits the pad, and it either erases everything you are typing or clicks somewhere, and you dont notice, until you realize that its not typing... well that doesnt happen on the dell insprion 14! im proud of this computer!! everything is flawless, with windows 7 everything is better.

Stella86
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very Pleased!
8/5/2010

Customer review by teadam

5.0 stars 8/5/2010 by teadam
by teadam

Very nice middle-of-the-road notebook. Have a larger & heavier notebook (Vostro 1500) and a mini-Dell. The mini was just too small for my liking. The Inspiron 14 is just the right combination of size, weight and hardware features for the money. I would highly recommend this notebook. The only issue I had was getting use to Windows-7 and its security issues. Never had to deal before with having admin rights to my PC and getting access denied msgs accessing certain folders or running some programs. All of my other PCs' run XP. But I am happy with the 64-bit version of Win-7 and the running speed of all my apps. Overall, I am very happy with my purchase. The only little knock I have with the Inspiron model (same with the mini) is the lack of a light indicator when the hard drive is running.

teadam
St. Louis
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Perfect for my needs
3/25/2010

Customer review by nasuter

4.0 stars 3/25/2010 by nasuter
by nasuter

I bought this laptop for my dissertation. I needed to switch from another OS for certain software that is only available on the Windows platform. I also needed a laptop with an affordable and good 2 year warranty (it needs to last me through my PhD!). So far, so good! I have no problems with overheating, the keyboard has a nice weight to it, the computer is light, the screen is amazing(!), and the battery seems to hold its charge just fine for word processing/data analysis/reading articles (~4-6 hours). My only complaint is with the roxio software burn. It fires up continuously whenever I put a cd in (even if its just a data cd). I cannot seem to shut it down. And the one time I tried to burn a cd it did not seem to work properly. I do wish I had splurged on a fun color for my cover!

nasuter
Los Angeles
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I love my new laptop!
10/7/2009

Customer review by KaylaW

5.0 stars 10/7/2009 by KaylaW
by KaylaW

I have always owned HP laptops and have had lots of problems with them. In fact, my last HP laptop's hard drive was fried because of my faulty battery. I did not know it was recalled until after the battery ruined my computer, at which point they said they could not do anything for me. I now own a Dell and have had nothing but good things to say. Between great customer service and a reliable product, I can't complain! My battery lasts twice as long at my HP battery ever lasted. It is fast at start up and shutting down, and have not had a problem with running programs and games on it. My one complaint is that the speakers don't handle high volumes well. They tend to muffle. However, I decided to get the most basic type of speakers. Otherwise, no complaints! I love my new Dell laptop!

KaylaW
Corvallis, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great performance and mobility
3/17/2011

Customer review by daviddocub

5.0 stars 3/17/2011 by daviddocub
by daviddocub

I bought this laptop one month ago. I have to say that it is beautiful; my hardware includes i3-380m processor, 4 Mb memory ram, 500 HDD, intel HD graphics. The performance does very well with multitasking. The battery lasts for about 3 hours 40 minutes with one task (for example, working with word). You can listen music (by the way, the quality sound is amazing!), work with several open internet explorer sessions, word, ppoint, skype at the same time and you will not feel anything wrong. If you like games, I am playing brothers in arms: hell´s highway and the laptop deal with it without any trouble. The only bad thing is that this laptop has 3 USB ports, but one of them is located on the back and I found this very uncomfortable. Nevertheless, I give 14R laptop five stars.

daviddocub
Costa Rica
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best Laptop EVER!
11/20/2009

Customer review by nicoleh95

5.0 stars 11/20/2009 by nicoleh95
by nicoleh95

A couple of months ago my laptop, a Dell Latitude D810, finally stopped working on me. I've always liked Dell computers, so I decided to get another one. I wanted a thin, sturdy, cool laptop. After several days of research, I went with a Inspiron 14, in Digital Argyle. (Magenta/green)I ordered it on the 11/3, and it was supposed to come on 11/23, but it came early. (11/18) I was amazed to find out that it truly did fit all my qualifications, and more. A lot of reviews said it overheats, but so far I haven't noticed. The reviews also said the mouse jumps around some, but I haven't noticed that either. This is the best computer I've ever used, and I'm a tough critic. I definately recommend it to everyone! Thanks again Dell for another great product.

nicoleh95
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Basic Laptop
8/30/2010

Customer review by Tyron

4.0 stars 8/30/2010 by Tyron
by Tyron

The Good: Loud Speakers, Good screen brightness and battery. Nice price for specs. The Bad: Touchpad is sometimes clunky but I could still live with it. Doesn't really bother me much but would be great if improved. The glossy design of the case and palm rest attracts dirt and fingerprints. I bought this laptop at best buy and and it's been great for the past 4 months I have been using it. Audio output of speakers is loud and clear but lacks base. Great keyboard design which I find really easy to type. Laptop doesn't get hot easily. Screen brightness is good. Battery life is about 3-4 1/2 hours depending on usage. Over-all this is a great laptop if you just do light gaming, surfing the web and typing documents packaged at a affordable price.

Tyron
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 231 total reviews
1-20 of 231 reviews