Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 215 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

215 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

215 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

93%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
144
4 stars
55
3 stars
5
2 stars
7
1 stars
4
1-20 of 166 total reviews
93%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 166 total reviews
1-20 of 166 reviews
Dell 17r computer
4/1/2011

Customer review by delila1

5.0 stars 4/1/2011 by delila1
by delila1

I got a dell 17.3'' i3 laptop with 640 mb hard drive . Bought from wal-mart .com . It came fast , ordered on thursday, got on tuesday, i paid for 1 day shipping well worth 20.00.WAL-MART dont show you but it has great stainless around keys,with black non -lit keys . Sound is loudest i ever heard on laptop, i keep at only 30% volume for movies. Iam very happy and have a dell desktop , that is 11 years old, never touched.Igot peacock blue and its stunning , like stainless wrapped with blue celephane. You have keys for up/down volume on keyboard , and can check on 4 hour batterywith one button. I must warn you ,this thing likes fingerprints . but if thats my only problem to worry about ,i got rags for that. In closing i would like to say great job Dell, and windows 7 works great. I only had 2 days but,better than my old laptop, i use it at leasty 10-12 hours a day ,everyday.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
delila1
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Dell Premium Peacock Laptop
5/2/2011

Customer review by ShopAroundShopper

4.0 stars 5/2/2011 by ShopAroundShopper
by ShopAroundShopper

Thus far after about 1-2 weeks using the NEW Dell Premium laptop hubby & I are pretty pleased. The size, the graphics, the software, lightweight, color are all to our liking. someone had wrote about finger prints on the inside & outside, would have to agree, not so pretty, but cleanable. I ordered this particular computer because I wanted to use it for the Internet, emails, Facebook and FB games, thus far all is working well for us. I would have liked to have had a "nonglare" screen but will live with this one. Others have talked about it not having a lighted keyboard, that doesn't bother us. I like the fact that it set up really easy, my friend & I did it in about 4hours, because I also had just bought a NEW Cisco wireless unit. Pretty incredible how easy connections are made, our last new computer was 8 years ago & this one was a breeze to setup & use. I am planning on buying another one similar to this one, but I will probably go to the next upgraded model, unless something else is new with Dell that has these features. All in all we are very pleased with our very first laptop computer. I gave 4 stars above because I always feel their is room for improvements. I found the price to be very reasonable, I had a set amount in my head & this one worked fine in my price range.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ShopAroundShopper
Truth or Consequences, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
items included but not listed
2/23/2011

Customer review by mobybike

4.0 stars 2/23/2011 by mobybike
by mobybike

Had this only a day, and am still running diagnostics, updates, repairs and software installation. There are several Windows updates that have failed to install, and there are several errors reported including memory leaks in the Event Viewer->Custom Views->Administrative Events. There are 4 USB ports. 1 one on each side, and 2 in the back. The USB port on the right side next to the DVD drive, includes an E-SATA port. The Ethernet port is 10/100 and is located on the right side next to the USB/E-SATA port. The power plugs into the back of the machine not the side. The finish is glossy metallic Blue looking the keyboard area is glossy metallic silver looking. The screen is probably one of the nicest looking I have seen at this price, compared to the 17" Toshiba at the same spec, and nicer than all the Acer's and HP's I shopped. Built in Dell diagnostic, failed to update, crashed, and will no longer work. Touchpad is multi-touch, you have to configure it to use "momentum" and the other multi-touch features. The pad is slightly recessed, the 2 buttons are about level with the top, and hard for me to "hit". Full size keyboard with number keypad. This keyboard is NOT back lit. Blue-tooth is present. Wifi antenna is weaker than any other machine I have tried and has less range. It loses 1 bar signal at 11 feet from the router straight line no walls. The Wifi N signal will NOT quite reach 150 mbps, and the fastest I have obtained with it is 130 mbps. Intellipoint drivers for my Microsoft wireless keyboard and mouse fail to install. (laser desktop) but the devices work anyway. This is the only Windows 7 machine I have any issue with this on. (tried 10 others with no problem) Fan noise is noise, runs semi-frequently. Has a low pitched hum that hits me wrong but others may not hear it. Speakers are actually pretty good for a laptop, and are placed in front sort of underneath and sort of face forward. Nice touch Dell! Power usage is pretty decent. Idles as low as 11-12 watts with the screen turned down. Other machines in a similar class 14-16 watts. This Dell does seem to hover about 16-20 watts for use on audio playback with scrolling screen text. This power use is about what a similar Toshiba with special Eco Utility turned on would use. It's great. I do see spikes into the 30 watt range using my kill-a-watt during start up and other tasks. Charging does peak it over 65 watts, which is about what our 21" iMac uses all the time. Our use is text reading, and spoken audio, as well as basic office and web. It does show 4 processors cores because of the hyper-threading on each of the dual core i3.

Was this review helpful? (27) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mobybike
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Amazing Computer!
1/20/2011

Customer review by emilywright

5.0 stars 1/20/2011 by emilywright
by emilywright

This Dell 17R laptop is fantastic! As a fulltime student, I need a reliable laptop. The size of the screen on this laptop is amazing, it allows me to focus better while completing homework because my eyes do not get distracted with what is going on around me. I use this computer as my desktop at home, and it is so reliable, I have not had one problem with it since I bought it. The processing speed and capacity to download are so fast compared to my older Dell laptop. Watching a movie on HD makes a huge difference, in fact watching movies on my computer is BETTER than my HD flatscreen television. Another fantastic feature is that the volume turns up really loudly, so you do not even need to attach speakers in order to watch a movie. (Amazing right??))) The charger for this computer lights up in blue, so you know that the computer is plugged in and charging. I would recommend this computer to anyone and everyone!

emilywright
Toronto, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love it!!!
1/21/2011

Customer review by HaBa

5.0 stars 1/21/2011 by HaBa
by HaBa

I bought this laptop, ultimately to replace my 10 year old desktop that was on its last leg. I got it with the upgraded processor and video card. The HD screen is beautiful and crisp. The number keypad was a great surprise that I didn't realize I was getting, especially since I do accounting work from home and now don't have to use my USB keypad. Although it's HUGE (I was used to my husband's 15-inch Dell) it's relatively lightweight - lighter than my husband's, and quite thin. My only complaint, if there is one, is that the lid doesn't latch. Not a real biggie for me, but it could be a concern for someone else. Just a note on the speakers - I did read some reviews about them being "on the bottom." They aren't exactly on the bottom - they're underneath the front lip. So, even sitting flat on a desk or table, they are not covered up. I have had no issues with them, even cranking up the volume on a song a couple days ago, and the sound was great. If you're looking for some amazing surround sound, etc., then I would guess you would be buying a gaming computer anyway.

HaBa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Refurbished but Good!
6/8/2011

Customer review by Eric1973

4.0 stars 6/8/2011 by Eric1973
by Eric1973

I needed a new laptop as the video card on my old Inspiron died. I decided to go with Dell again and again went with a refurbished laptop instead of new as I was able to get more hardware for less money. PROS The Inspiron 17R Laptop came in a timely manner and it has been awesome since I turned it on. It has a great amount of memory and a great processor to really give me the speed I desire. With The VGA output I can hook it up to my flat screen and enjoy online videos on my big screen TV. CONS I knew getting a refurbished Laptop meant there might be some form of "Cosmetic" damage, and, Yes, on the right side corner it is cracked from where it had obviously been dropped, This was not mentioned in the description when I purchased it and at first I was kinda leery about it, but in the last few months I have had it, I hardly notice it now. Review I am really pleased with this purchase and at how much better Windows 7 is than Vista. It is definitely worth looking into a refurbished model if you are on a budget but want to get something with some power under the hood.

Eric1973
Columbia,TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A few little problems
2/20/2011

Customer review by Tester2111

4.0 stars 2/20/2011 by Tester2111
by Tester2111

I recieved this laptop as a Christmas gift. It worked very well, but after a few days, it started to freeze. It does this randomly, but if i close it and wait about 5 minutes, it will go into sleep and I just sign back in. The strange thing I thought is that normally, if i close the laptop, it will turn the screen off and go directly to sleep normally, but when the screen freezes, it will not turn off the display. The other problem is the location of the speakers on the bottom of the computer facing down. Now, i can a large area to the right of my right hand that only has stickers. Why there couldn't be a speaker there is completely beyond me. The third thing is the keyboard. F1-12 Keys seem to only be intended for secondary use compared to the volume, skip, play brightness, battery, wireless and screen usage functions. Now I am a teenager that is not a hardcore gamer, but i imagine that their use should be more of a priority. The bottom two grievences seem to be concerns that cannot be fixed because of bad designwork. But the freezing is probably something software related that i am working on fixing.

Tester2111
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not Blown Away
1/7/2011

Customer review by GothicHippy

4.0 stars 1/7/2011 by GothicHippy
by GothicHippy

Ive had my laptop 3 days now. First of all the speakers are nothing to brag about they are on the bottom of the laptop and adequate but nothing I would gloat over. The CD drive when you shut it likes to just open right back up on its own. The webcam is not that great and it likes to add a bunch of weird noises at the beginning when you make a video. The 6 cell battery lasted aprox 2 hours before being depleted so I have no idea where the 6 hour reference came from? Other then that its adequate. I got the I3 and its fast alright, I love the chrome cover around the keyboard which is a man sized keyboard. The gloss outside is not a pure black it has like grey lines running though it. The screen is amazingly clear, however the colors seem not at vivid as I would like. It is heavy too, and pretty big so keep that in mind.

GothicHippy
CNY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Wireless card is slow, screen is shiny, etc.
2/4/2011

Customer review by LisafromSeattle

2.0 stars 2/4/2011 by LisafromSeattle
by LisafromSeattle

* The wireless card is painful. I might as well work off of my iPhone since it downloads webpages faster and doesn't cut out. If you close the lid the wireless automatically shuts down and I have to use the "troublshoot wireless" EVERY time I open up the lid again. This means an extra two minutes every time I want to do anything online. * The screen is shiny so there is a glare. What happened to the flat screens? * The function keys are difficult to use. They're half-sized keys. F1...F12 are in tiny, dark blue type on black keys, so I have to raise the laptop and squint to read which key I want. If you want to use a function key you also have to press a function key. * Windows 7. Ugh. My old Inspiron has XP. * With all the issues, I'm tempted to set my new Inspiron aside and go back to my 6 year old Inspiron.

LisafromSeattle
Seattle
Would recommend to a friend? No
Awesome System for the Price
1/26/2011

Customer review by NoHabloEnglas

4.0 stars 1/26/2011 by NoHabloEnglas
by NoHabloEnglas

I bought this not looking for, or expecting, a powerhouse. I am far from disapointed in it, it's a great laptop for what I'm going to use it for. Pros: Keyboard is really nice, feels solid, looks really good, was surprisingly thin and light, track pad is nice but could be bigger, web cam, price, speakers, over-all quality and performance Cons: the intel graphics are weak but do the trick for watching movies etc., the screen is a good size and resolution I just wish it had better colour depth but it is very bright and the right shift key is small (takes some getting used to) Summary: For most people this laptop will do great, if you need more graphics power the ATI card should do fine for casual gaming. Specs: Intel Core i3 370m 4GB DDR3 RAM 500GB SATA drive Intel HD intergrated graphics

NoHabloEnglas
Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
EXCELENT
5/22/2011

Customer review by FATBOY7

5.0 stars 5/22/2011 by FATBOY7
by FATBOY7

MET ALL MY EXPECTATIONS, AND MORE.VERY RESONABLE PRICE AND I CHECKED. ONLY PROBLEM WAS FINDING A CASE.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FATBOY7
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1st Laptop ever
1/1/2011

Customer review by CarlVH

5.0 stars 1/1/2011 by CarlVH
by CarlVH

I can used the Internet and other Software on my own time. I love Dell company for its great knowledge in the Laptop field. After a great deal of researching a Laptop, We decide to get the Dell Inspiron 17.3" Laptop. I love the big screen, my favorite color (Peacock Blue), plenty of software to learn, Great Big Hard Drive (500 GB), Great fast Processor Intel Core- ie-370, Great big RAM (4G), great Webcam built-in, good speakers, love the great keyboard and love the new Windows 7 as my Operating System. Now in 2011, I can teach my Mother of how to used this great & powerful Dell Laptop. This Laptop is great in price and value!!!! Con: I had to get a matching blue wireless mouse with this Laptop, because I didn't like using the touch pad.

CarlVH
Petersburg, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Just what I wanted
10/26/2011

Customer review by sandypooh71

5.0 stars 10/26/2011 by sandypooh71
by sandypooh71

I have a few medical issues that keeps me from being as mobile as I use to be. I been looking for a nice laptop that I could use for school that was lite and easy to set up instead of the big desktop my sister has to put up and take down everytime i used it. And at a good price. I got it. The laptop is lite, easy to handle. not alot of cords to plug in. The right size everything I needed. There is the problem wiith the battery life. Battery does not stay charge very long. I had to get a mouse becasue I just could not use the touchpad. Over all , it is a great investment. My sister was so jealous, she got herself one too. We now set up laptop to laptop and do our school work, play games and check emails together.

sandypooh71
Morth Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
My Only Computer
9/22/2011

Customer review by mizcattitude

5.0 stars 9/22/2011 by mizcattitude
by mizcattitude

I bought this computer to replace my desktop, and I haven't been disappointed. I particularly wanted to try the new i5 Core Processor, and as I'd hoped it runs fast and trouble-free. Never a problem with overheating, mine is on 10-12 hours a day. I use it for surfing, social networking, research, listening to music, and streaming video. The screen is bright and beautiful, the keyboard is comfortable and efficient with the separate numeric keypad, and I love the brushed styling. My only complaint has been that the case doesn't feel quite solid. Neither does the CD/DVD burner when it opens and closes. Battery life is excellent. All in all, this is my fourth laptop, and I couldn't be happier.

mizcattitude
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Inspiron N7010, N5010, N4010
3/13/2013

Customer review by TheFoodTrust

5.0 stars 3/13/2013 by TheFoodTrust
by TheFoodTrust

I have the N7010 and it is great! These are great systems. Meant primarily for home usage. I purchased a couple for a company that I was working for, one for the executive director, and another for general usage. And they work well. I even installed Windows 7 Enterprise on one and it functions just as smooth. This is my go to system for when I have projects where the only software for it is Windows and have never had an issue with it. Far better than a cheap Acer or E Machine computer. But if you need a computer that is seriously business geared, I suggest that you purchase from the latitude line of Dell computers. They have the additional slots to add cards and other peripherals.

TheFoodTrust
Philadelphia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
11/25/2011

Customer review by hust

5.0 stars 11/25/2011 by hust
by hust

This laptop is a great and easy to use laptop, the screen size huge, I love it, there aren't any cons to the laptop as far as I'm concerned, and the colored tops are a really neat and thoughtful idea, as I like red , but later if I want to give it to the wife or kid and they want a different color these lids pop off and they can put there favrite color lid on or get a custom one, before you could buy a laptop of a certain color but were stuck with that color , well not anymore that is another great thing i love about Dell and the goal to provide the customer with products they want and how they want them , thanks Dell, I ,love my Inspiron 17R laptop best one I've ever had!!

hust
Norman,OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great laptop
2/21/2011

Customer review by Fitzy

4.0 stars 2/21/2011 by Fitzy
by Fitzy

Love our new laptop...the only complaint I have is the keyboard. There is a new key beside the left shift key which is another [|\] key. Not sure it's really necessay. It throws me off as I'm always hitting this key instead of the shift key first. On all the keyboards I've previously worked with, the letter Z is always beside the left hand shift key. On this one it's a duplicate of the [\|] key located at the end of the 2nd row plus it has a couple new characters which I'm not familiar with yet..still working out the newness. Other than that, very satisfied. Love the ability to use skype with the built in camera to keep in touch with friends and family.

Fitzy
Port Hope Ontario Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
All around awesome 17R
8/17/2010

Customer review by jcrew25

5.0 stars 8/17/2010 by jcrew25
by jcrew25

I bought this 17R a few weeks ago and I have to say it is great. Probably one of the best ones I've gotten to use. This is my first bought and owned laptop from dell and I can't wait to see what they will create with future inspirons, it can only get better. The screen is awesome and the video quality is great. Word processing is a thing a beauty with this Inspiron. This laptop is great for home use, as a student, or on the go. My only regret is that i didn't get the inspiron with the optional blue ray disc drive I would highly recommend that even for the price. Windows 7 is simply amazing its a "cake walk" compared to Vista. Thanks dell -Jim

jcrew25
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
My Little Baby
5/10/2011

Customer review by Jusfoolin

5.0 stars 5/10/2011 by Jusfoolin
by Jusfoolin

Simply put I love my pink Dell Laptop. Along with my SD card I have tons of space and I partitioned my hard drive and now have multiple drives. You should never keep anything you care about on the root anyway, hackers have a chance of getting it and the other drives are a better way to keep my files organized. It works great for my online college classes. Simply put I just love it! Oh not to mention it has awesome sound a bunch of cool port that I have yet to even use but I will get around to that later. Cmon get you a Dell and refurbished don't even worry about it Dell will take good care of it just like a new one but without the huge price.

Jusfoolin
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Does the Job at an affordable price.
7/6/2011

Customer review by Poeju84

4.0 stars 7/6/2011 by Poeju84
by Poeju84

Great machine for the right price. Formerly I was a fan of the Studio series as it has more bells and whistles than the standard Inspiron models. But the computing power and beautiful screen are just fine on this machine. I needed speed and portability and that's what this machine comes up with. If you don't need a thousand different outputs, expansion bays and all that stuff than this is probably your best option. I had a little trouble with some of the touch pad controls. Advanced features didn't seem to work and got stuck, shutting them off took care of this. I don't need the two finger swipes and resizing like an smartphone anyway.

Poeju84
Plymouth, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 166 total reviews
1-20 of 166 reviews