Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 215 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

215 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

215 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

93%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
144
4 stars
55
3 stars
5
2 stars
7
1 stars
4
1-20 of 166 total reviews
93%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 166 total reviews
1-20 of 166 reviews
items included but not listed
2/23/2011

Customer review by mobybike

4.0 stars 2/23/2011 by mobybike
by mobybike

Had this only a day, and am still running diagnostics, updates, repairs and software installation. There are several Windows updates that have failed to install, and there are several errors reported including memory leaks in the Event Viewer->Custom Views->Administrative Events. There are 4 USB ports. 1 one on each side, and 2 in the back. The USB port on the right side next to the DVD drive, includes an E-SATA port. The Ethernet port is 10/100 and is located on the right side next to the USB/E-SATA port. The power plugs into the back of the machine not the side. The finish is glossy metallic Blue looking the keyboard area is glossy metallic silver looking. The screen is probably one of the nicest looking I have seen at this price, compared to the 17" Toshiba at the same spec, and nicer than all the Acer's and HP's I shopped. Built in Dell diagnostic, failed to update, crashed, and will no longer work. Touchpad is multi-touch, you have to configure it to use "momentum" and the other multi-touch features. The pad is slightly recessed, the 2 buttons are about level with the top, and hard for me to "hit". Full size keyboard with number keypad. This keyboard is NOT back lit. Blue-tooth is present. Wifi antenna is weaker than any other machine I have tried and has less range. It loses 1 bar signal at 11 feet from the router straight line no walls. The Wifi N signal will NOT quite reach 150 mbps, and the fastest I have obtained with it is 130 mbps. Intellipoint drivers for my Microsoft wireless keyboard and mouse fail to install. (laser desktop) but the devices work anyway. This is the only Windows 7 machine I have any issue with this on. (tried 10 others with no problem) Fan noise is noise, runs semi-frequently. Has a low pitched hum that hits me wrong but others may not hear it. Speakers are actually pretty good for a laptop, and are placed in front sort of underneath and sort of face forward. Nice touch Dell! Power usage is pretty decent. Idles as low as 11-12 watts with the screen turned down. Other machines in a similar class 14-16 watts. This Dell does seem to hover about 16-20 watts for use on audio playback with scrolling screen text. This power use is about what a similar Toshiba with special Eco Utility turned on would use. It's great. I do see spikes into the 30 watt range using my kill-a-watt during start up and other tasks. Charging does peak it over 65 watts, which is about what our 21" iMac uses all the time. Our use is text reading, and spoken audio, as well as basic office and web. It does show 4 processors cores because of the hyper-threading on each of the dual core i3.

Was this review helpful? (27) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mobybike
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Dell Premium Peacock Laptop
5/2/2011

Customer review by ShopAroundShopper

4.0 stars 5/2/2011 by ShopAroundShopper
by ShopAroundShopper

Thus far after about 1-2 weeks using the NEW Dell Premium laptop hubby & I are pretty pleased. The size, the graphics, the software, lightweight, color are all to our liking. someone had wrote about finger prints on the inside & outside, would have to agree, not so pretty, but cleanable. I ordered this particular computer because I wanted to use it for the Internet, emails, Facebook and FB games, thus far all is working well for us. I would have liked to have had a "nonglare" screen but will live with this one. Others have talked about it not having a lighted keyboard, that doesn't bother us. I like the fact that it set up really easy, my friend & I did it in about 4hours, because I also had just bought a NEW Cisco wireless unit. Pretty incredible how easy connections are made, our last new computer was 8 years ago & this one was a breeze to setup & use. I am planning on buying another one similar to this one, but I will probably go to the next upgraded model, unless something else is new with Dell that has these features. All in all we are very pleased with our very first laptop computer. I gave 4 stars above because I always feel their is room for improvements. I found the price to be very reasonable, I had a set amount in my head & this one worked fine in my price range.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ShopAroundShopper
Truth or Consequences, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Dell 17r computer
4/1/2011

Customer review by delila1

5.0 stars 4/1/2011 by delila1
by delila1

I got a dell 17.3'' i3 laptop with 640 mb hard drive . Bought from wal-mart .com . It came fast , ordered on thursday, got on tuesday, i paid for 1 day shipping well worth 20.00.WAL-MART dont show you but it has great stainless around keys,with black non -lit keys . Sound is loudest i ever heard on laptop, i keep at only 30% volume for movies. Iam very happy and have a dell desktop , that is 11 years old, never touched.Igot peacock blue and its stunning , like stainless wrapped with blue celephane. You have keys for up/down volume on keyboard , and can check on 4 hour batterywith one button. I must warn you ,this thing likes fingerprints . but if thats my only problem to worry about ,i got rags for that. In closing i would like to say great job Dell, and windows 7 works great. I only had 2 days but,better than my old laptop, i use it at leasty 10-12 hours a day ,everyday.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
delila1
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
EXCELENT
5/22/2011

Customer review by FATBOY7

5.0 stars 5/22/2011 by FATBOY7
by FATBOY7

MET ALL MY EXPECTATIONS, AND MORE.VERY RESONABLE PRICE AND I CHECKED. ONLY PROBLEM WAS FINDING A CASE.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FATBOY7
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A very usefull product
3/26/2011

Customer review by Louisianashoppeer

5.0 stars 3/26/2011 by Louisianashoppeer
by Louisianashoppeer

I simply love my new laptop. Its fast and easy to use and you can see the words on the screen.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Louisianashoppeer
Leesville La
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great laptop for the price
6/17/2011

Customer review by mepacho

5.0 stars 6/17/2011 by mepacho
by mepacho

I am not a gamer, a twitterer, a blogger or such. I use my laptop for searching the web, streaming videos, and email. I feel that for the price that I have paid for this computer, I have gotten a grat deal. My job uses Dell computers, I also use a Dell laptop at work, and they could not have gotten such a good price. It is not loaded with a bunch of cheesy programs and advertisements like a lot of companies out there do.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mepacho
Jacksonville, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Wonderful!!
3/30/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 3/30/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This laptop has been great!! Very easy to setup, and use!! LOVE IT!! Great price for a Dell, and for all the space it offers to!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Annapolis
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
5/28/2011

Customer review by mackdog57

5.0 stars 5/28/2011 by mackdog57
by mackdog57

I just got the computer a week ago and have not had much time to use it, but so far I am very happy with it. I think it is the best deal for the money and features.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mackdog57
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Dynamic Dell
7/8/2011

Customer review by Justfinance

5.0 stars 7/8/2011 by Justfinance
by Justfinance

This 17.3" 640g Dell computer was a great deal. My wife has started PHd course work, and needed a new computer. I was looking online and found this deal. Hugh screen, keyboard includes 10 key pad, Webcam, 4g memory. Absolutely great value for the money.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Justfinance
Charlotte, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
2/3/2011

Customer review by RockinRaymos

5.0 stars 2/3/2011 by RockinRaymos
by RockinRaymos

I have been a certifide Dell tech and always have purchased Dell products. They are number one in my books. Servers, desktops, laptops...products period. Enjoy!

RockinRaymos
Calgary Alberta Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Computer @ Great Price
2/5/2011

Customer review by rushlovr67

5.0 stars 2/5/2011 by rushlovr67
by rushlovr67

I bought this computer less than a month ago. I got different opinions on what to get, but since I am a faithful Dell User, I got me another. I use at work, and my last one was also a Dell - that I had for 8 years. Never did it give me an issue, and I have all confidence in the world this one will be the same way. I love it!!! Company I bought from said this was the best computer out there and I believe them!! Thanks Dell for coming thru for me again!!

rushlovr67
Houston, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Dell's Inspiron 17R with Intel®Core™ i3-370M
6/22/2011

Customer review by BlueVoltage

5.0 stars 6/22/2011 by BlueVoltage
by BlueVoltage

Upon using the Dell Inspiron With Intel®Core™ i3-370M, a few words come to mind, "WOW, this laptop is awesome!" I am so pleased with the user friendly nature this laptop offers as well as the speed. This computer is lightning fast and easy to use. It defiantly will not take a rocket scientist to use this laptop, it helps you through the learning process, great for Young and Old, new users or tec's. I must say the graphics are top notch as well, and the 640GB hard drive has plenty of room for all your storage needs! I am very pleased with my investment in buying this product and I am sure you would be also!

BlueVoltage
Excelsior, Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great buy!!
6/23/2011

Customer review by candycutdog

5.0 stars 6/23/2011 by candycutdog
by candycutdog

Great computer, great service, and fast shipping!! couldn't ask for anymore

candycutdog
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
GREAT LITTLE MACHINE FOR THE $$$
6/24/2011

Customer review by Karisa

5.0 stars 6/24/2011 by Karisa
by Karisa

VERY NICE LITTLE LAPTOP FOR THE MONEY

Karisa
Ocala, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Well Done
6/22/2011

Customer review by Steven527

5.0 stars 6/22/2011 by Steven527
by Steven527

Great monitor Very Fast Nice Keyboard Intuitive very pleased

Steven527
Seattle
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Computer - does it all
6/22/2011

Customer review by Steelers204

5.0 stars 6/22/2011 by Steelers204
by Steelers204

This is a super nice computer, i got the 6GB upgrade, and it is lightning fast. Beautiful picture and easy to use... Thanks Dell

Steelers204
Georgetown, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love it
7/8/2011

Customer review by mamajonathan

5.0 stars 7/8/2011 by mamajonathan
by mamajonathan

I bought my computer based on others reviews. I love my computer it is fast. The screen is excellent for watching movies and the speakers are adequate for our needs. The kids can play games on it too. I liked it so much I bought one for my son for school.

mamajonathan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
9/7/2011

Customer review by stiggers

5.0 stars 9/7/2011 by stiggers
by stiggers

Fast delivery, great price, and awesome product.

stiggers
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I LOVE this baby!
7/31/2011

Customer review by Kymned

5.0 stars 7/31/2011 by Kymned
by Kymned

This laptop has been great to me so far. No problems of any sort, though it's only been about three months. The sound is great as are the graphics, though the screen is highly reflective which can be annoying when watching videos. It picks up fingerprints easily, but I figure if that's my biggest problem, I'm in luck. It runs my games and the internet super quickly, even when I'm on the go and using my 3G (we don't have 4G here yet) mobile broadband. All in all I love this laptop and highly recommend it.

Kymned
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Laptop
7/31/2011

Customer review by NfNC

5.0 stars 7/31/2011 by NfNC
by NfNC

I've had this laptop for about a month and I'm really pleased.I had a little problem with the touchpad the 2nd day I had it but the ghost is gone. I've been a Gateway person since my first computer in 1998. This is my first Dell and I'm glad I bought it. I would recommend this laptop because it's a great value.

NfNC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 166 total reviews
1-20 of 166 reviews