Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 21 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

21 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

21 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

71%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
6
4 stars
6
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 stars
3
1-17 of 17 total reviews
71%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Made in U.S.A. You will not be disappointed.
12/15/2011

Customer review by tnystewartfan

5.0 stars 12/15/2011 by tnystewartfan
by tnystewartfan

I purchased this after lots of research, it is well constructed and is very easy to assemble it took me about forty five minutes to complete and will require two people. As far as the other review I have no idea what their problem was. it mounts right to my factory roof rack and all the mounting hardware was there....if you do NOT have a factory roof rack with cross bars you will need to order the optional mounting hardware,which is clearly mentioned when you purchase this product. I love the design and it is made in the U.S.A. !!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (53) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tnystewartfan
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Very Happy
4/29/2012

Customer review by BubbaMan1

4.0 stars 4/29/2012 by BubbaMan1
by BubbaMan1

I recently bought this item for a vacation for my family. It was not too difficult to assemble. It does take a little help to get it mounted on the roof rack. I was worried about it keeping water out. My whole drive from Virginia to N.Y. it rained and at the end trip I found just a tiny bit of water and all my luggage was dry (I did install the weather proof strip incorrectly though). Overall very happy with this product.

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BubbaMan1
New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Walmart associate
Did the Job
6/30/2012

Customer review by outdoornutc

4.0 stars 6/30/2012 by outdoornutc
by outdoornutc

Bought this to go on vacation. Read all the reviews, and researched all the competitors, ie thule, honda, etc. This looked to be the best value for the money. I was very aprehensive due to reviews of flimsy when in heat. We went to Las Vegas, Grand Canyon, Sedona, Lake Powell, etc. in late June. It held up just fine, is on flimsy side, so when its opened in heat, but never buckled or sagged. We could not have gone on vacation without it. It did the job, even better than expected. A little side note, it did make us too tall to enter 50% of parking structures in Las Vegas, therfore, had to park with oversized trucks and trailors, but was not a big deal, and sometimes got closer parking because of it.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
outdoornutc
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Could be sturdier
5/27/2012

Customer review by Wolfm

3.0 stars 5/27/2012 by Wolfm
by Wolfm

Assembly went just as described--good instructions. You'll need a helper for a couple of steps of the assembly to hold the top. The plastic used for the box is softer than I expected--it doesn't like the warm sun. Despite the hinge locks, the top sags and droops while open, making it difficult to load. Once closed and latched, the box seems to hold its shape okay. Mounting to my vehicle's roof rack was straight-forward, though the u-bolts near the hinges were tough to get to and tighten down, expecially with the top sagging. Recommend you use a ladder to reach into the back of the box to tighten those u-bolts down. Give yourself a good 30-45 minutes to assemble the box and install on your vehicle. Probably 15 min to install or remove from your vehicle once you've assembled it. The box is less expensive than a Thule or Yakima, and rightly so.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Wolfm
UT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
8/28/2012

Customer review by Tdbear45

4.0 stars 8/28/2012 by Tdbear45
by Tdbear45

Made it in one piece and everything stayed dry all the way from Oregon to Virginia!!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tdbear45
Salem Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
6/12/2012

Customer review by HappycamperKey54

4.0 stars 6/12/2012 by HappycamperKey54
by HappycamperKey54

It took 45min-1 hour to properly build and about 10 min to set up on the top my car. I have used it twice for a few music festivals and it literally is like having an extra trunk. I also looked at this exact brand on REI as well as a few camping stores and Walmart had the best deal.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HappycamperKey54
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Nice Product
6/25/2012

Customer review by WVDOG

5.0 stars 6/25/2012 by WVDOG
by WVDOG

I have a 08 toyota 4 runner and it fit great! I used it on 10hr trip one way and it was great. No problems. Has a lot of storage space. If I had to say anything bad about the sport rack is it takes some time to put togather when you get it. Nice product for the money!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WVDOG
Charleston WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Good deal at $129.00 but...
11/24/2012

Customer review by Docmex

3.0 stars 11/24/2012 by Docmex
by Docmex

I paid $189.00 for it just last month (Oct '12). With tax $198.00! Grab it at $129.00! It is "o.k." for the purpose intended. Very lightweight materials, as in "flimsy", but will hold if handled gently. NOT easy to put together. I feel I overpaid by $60.00 but at the current $129.00 it's a good value.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Docmex
Lynchburg, Va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
DO NOT ORDER
9/16/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 9/16/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This item does NOT come with all moutning hardware as indicated. When you contact the dealer directly they know NOTHING of this porduct or can tell you how to get the parts! This item is very difficult to assemble and not worth it. Nothing Wal-Mart is at fault for, its the product itself!

Was this review helpful? (14) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Need two people to assemble but happy!
11/13/2012

Customer review by CKCSMom

4.0 stars 11/13/2012 by CKCSMom
by CKCSMom

Good size. Fairly easy to assemble (with 2 people). Have not used it on trip yet but installed on roof and appears to be a great match for our needs. Great price! Quality seems to be great too. Would recommend.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CKCSMom
Cincinnati
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
You get what you pay for
9/1/2012

Customer review by Tahoeskibum

3.0 stars 9/1/2012 by Tahoeskibum
by Tahoeskibum

Pretty flimsy construction, but it works.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tahoeskibum
lake tahoe, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Terrible Design!
12/19/2012

Customer review by LCbailey81

1.0 stars 12/19/2012 by LCbailey81
by LCbailey81

I would not recommend this carrier! It has a nice look. So far it seems durable but the design is an absolute nightmare. The way you connect it to your roof is next to impossible. You will need two people in order to do connect it to your roof. The clamps on the front and back to keep it closed are also difficult to clamp down.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LCbailey81
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
8/16/2012

Customer review by Bstgrrl

1.0 stars 8/16/2012 by Bstgrrl
by Bstgrrl

You get what you pay for. It's a cheap box it didn't open and close well. I returned it within hours of assembling it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bstgrrl
Ca
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Great Light wight Roof Carrier,Great Price.
1/28/2013

Customer review by DJshesails

5.0 stars 1/28/2013 by DJshesails
by DJshesails

This is a Great carrier for the price. We have a Toyota Sienna That has no place for a Spare Tire. So this was the best salutation for us.,Plus We can lock it to make sure it is secure. There is still room inside for a few things as well. I like that this is not skinny like most of the carriers out there, But is still compact & light weight enough for ease of installation on top of the Van.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DJshesails
Fremont, CA.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good for the price.
2/9/2013

Customer review by mazais

4.0 stars 2/9/2013 by mazais
by mazais

Good for now and then, to flimsey for every day use .

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mazais
kalamazoo MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
not bad for the price
12/24/2012

Customer review by cardslayer

3.0 stars 12/24/2012 by cardslayer
by cardslayer

Item was slightly damaged during shipping. Box was smashed up. The lid was dented in and when I pushed it back out it left a crease. But I needed it for planned vacation . No time to return. Other than that it is a good product. Fairly easy to assemble light weight and overall a good value.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cardslayer
Holly
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1/31/2013

Customer review by Roadtripwithkids

2.0 stars 1/31/2013 by Roadtripwithkids
by Roadtripwithkids

This roof box is hard to put together. The included hardware did not have a proper fit. The side supports/ opening springs are hard to open and close. The front and rear latches are hard to open and clothes and fall apart every time you do get them open.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Roadtripwithkids
Columbus ms
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.