Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 40 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

40 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

5 stars
27
4 stars
10
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 stars
0
98%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 36 total reviews
4/18/2012

Customer review by Scooter6804

5.0 stars by Scooter6804

This cargo box is a great value and worked extremely well. I used it with after market luggage racks and put it on my Kia Soul. Traveled from NY to Disney World and back (2850 miles) and had no problems. Drove between 80-85 and was so quiet that you didn't even know it was on top of the car. Would highly reccommend for any vehicle.

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Scooter6804
upstate NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Great product
1/3/2012

Customer review by JGM9395

5.0 stars by JGM9395

After checking out numerous brands of cargo boxes and reading the reviews we decided to go with the Aero brand. We were very impressed with the cargo box. It was extremely easy to install and take off and we were very surprised at the amount that we could store in the box. We drove through heavy rain and the interior of the box stayed dry. The lock is a little flimsy so I would suggest an alternative method of securing the contents if you are going to leave anything inside overnight. Our gas mileage was hardly affected. We would highly recommend this cargo box over the others that are twice the price..

Was this review helpful? (19) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
JGM9395
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Excellent
8/8/2011

Customer review by Bigspender007

5.0 stars by Bigspender007

Used ship to store and saved over $300 compared to buying it anywhere locally. I have just arrived home from the family camping trip where we used the roof box and it saved us loads of room inside the car. The construction of the Aero XL is top notch and I was very confident driving with it on the roof.

Was this review helpful? (15) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Bigspender007
Ontario, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great product works as advertised
7/18/2012

Customer review by TallguyIniowa

5.0 stars by TallguyIniowa

This was a great investment. Installed quickly, kept everything dry, was stable at highway speeds, and held a weeks worth of family (of 5) luggage and supplies. Made the trip more comfortable for all the passengers.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
TallguyIniowa
Bettendorf, Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Very good purchase.
5/19/2012

Customer review by Texomabound

4.0 stars by Texomabound

I am pleased with the item and my purchase. The "only" issue is that (2) of the (8) securing bolts did not properly fit the threads of the mounting bracket. I was able to located a couple of other nuts to secure the bracket. Made a trip from Texas through Tennessee, Georgia, Alabama, Mississippi, and Louisiana with the SportRack carring (3) bags of golf clubs, shoes, pillows and all made the trip in great shape. Totally recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Texomabound
Plano, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
SportRack Aero XL Roof Box
7/5/2012

Customer review by ScubaDiveChick

5.0 stars by ScubaDiveChick

Easy to install. No problems with hinges or lock. Holds a lot more than I expected. Bolts never loosened, even driving across country through mountains and valleys, hot or cold weather. Never leaked, even without the vinyl hole coverings provided. I love it! I especially like the fact that it opens from the rear, so as you drive or the presence of high winds, don't stress the hinges.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
ScubaDiveChick
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Cargo Carrier
8/3/2012

Customer review by Goodbadnugly

5.0 stars by Goodbadnugly

I was worried that this would be too big for our Subaru Forrester... it was not. Put it through the trials driving over 1500 miles. No rain leakage, no significant noise, no significant decrease in MPG, held up to heat and seems very sturdy. I attached this to 58" Thule crossbars. For the money, I don't think you can get much better. I actually picked this up at Wal-Mart for less than on Amazon. Ordered online and picked up in the store... it was a breeze. One of the side benefits of doing this was that if it didn't work for some reason, I could return it locally. Didn't have to, but had it been necessary, it's much better than trying to ship this giant thing back to Amazon.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Goodbadnugly
Denver, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
7/8/2012

Customer review by Baymom1

5.0 stars by Baymom1

Large and strong. Has double supports inside and out where it attaches to the roof rails of your car. Thule does not have this. I would prefer metal hinges in the box instead of plastic.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Baymom1
Bayonne, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Very happy with this!
8/21/2012

Customer review by Stiffel

5.0 stars by Stiffel

Took this to Arizona from Indiana. Held up great even at 80+mph. Very quiet and didn't kill my gas mileage. Went through some rain and everything was dry. Even accidentally ran it under a low bridge at the resort we stayed at and it took the beating without much more than a scratch.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Stiffel
Valparaiso, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Did its job, but flimsy
7/18/2012

Customer review by ttlove

3.0 stars by ttlove

We purchased this for a trip to AL. It was water proof, didn't affect our MPG to much. However, it was very flimsy, created alot of wind noise in the car and I could cut the lock out with a pair of scissors. Security.. not so great. Served its purpose but for the price, I expected better quality than the flimsy plastic we received. Also, don't forget to purchase crossbars for the factory rails. We waited until a week before we were leaving and had to have some overnighted to us to be able to use this product.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
ttlove
Southern Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Exactly the space we needed!
7/2/2012

Customer review by Honu3Mom

5.0 stars by Honu3Mom

Fit well on top of our Honda Pilot (measured about 7.5 feet from ground to top). Great value and Site to Store delivery saved us a bunch of money. This product allowed us the extra luggage space needed for our family vacation. Love it!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Honu3Mom
Burlington, VT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
7/29/2012

Customer review by DP69

5.0 stars by DP69

I bought this to use on my 2004 Pontiac Vibe GT. I was able to load a large suitcase, a carry-on suitcase, my golf clubs, a medium sized cooler (about 50 quarts) and a few miscellaneous bags. There was room for another set of golf clubs easily. It didn't create any noticeable wind noise and just barely affected my gas mileage. I would prefer that it had locks on both sides in addition to the one on the rear to add to the security. Other than the hinged front and the rear lock there is no where that the box lid attaches to the base once closed. This is more of a personal preference than a design flaw. It works great just as it is.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
DP69
Sanford, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Great carrier
4/29/2013

Customer review by HBOMB18

5.0 stars by HBOMB18

We have a 2007 CRV. We are a family of 4 with a new puppy and need more space for weekend trips. Instead of purchasing a bigger vehicle, we decided to get a roof top carrier first to see if that met our needs. This is a great carrier. My husband installed it easily and quickly. He drilled an extra set of holes so the carrier would line up more to our liking (front to back alignment). We attached this to after market crossbars that my husband installed. We plan on leaving this on the vehicle until the fall. We take a lot of day and weekend trips so it just makes sense to leave it on full time for now. We are able to just toss our stuff in the carrier and get in the car and go. I have driven at multiple speeds and do not even realize it is on the vehicle and I can't really say that I have noticed a negative impact on gas mileage. We researched several carriers all over the Internet; including many of the well known brands. We ultimately went with this one because it is made in the USA, it is really made by a more well known carrier company (I learned SportRack is made by Thule); it could easily be returned if for some reason we did not like it or it didn't work for our vehicle; and the shipping was free with site to store. It arrived within several days. I rarely leave reviews but felt compelled this time as the other reviews really helped us make our decision and this really is a great product for the price. Others have commented on the plastic hinges. Yes, they are plastic but they seem sturdy and it's not like the carrier is going to be opened and closed everyday several times a day.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
HBOMB18
Rochester, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
9/28/2011

Customer review by sassaroo

5.0 stars by sassaroo

I researched these carriers and this one seemed to offer the most value. I did have to drill two holes in the carrier to make the hold down brackets fit my Honda Odyssey rack. Doesn't seem to increase any wind noise. Have not driven with it in the rain to see how watertight it is. Hinges seems a little flimsy, but that was what I had read in other reviews. There were large holes and bashed in places in the cardboard box it came in, but it did not cause any damage to the unit. Research the other expensive carriers to see what fits your needs and budget. The rear opening is an inconvenience, but works for us since it will only be opened and closed for a long trip coming and going.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
sassaroo
Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Good product, did the job and was easy to mount
6/29/2012

Customer review by ValueHunterJC

5.0 stars by ValueHunterJC

Very easy to lift into place and attach to the aftermarket cross bars (Honda Pilot). Setup and take down took about 20 minutes combined. Family of five, held all our stuff for a week’s vacation plus souvenirs coming home. We actually got better gas mileage, with the same vehicle, this year than last using an older model, boxy styled carrier. Locks securely, and is very easy access with the hinged lid. We are looking forward to many more trips to come. Wal-Mart had the best price on the internet, and in-store delivery made for easy pickup during our regular grocery run.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
ValueHunterJC
Jefferson City
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Good Value for a Hard to Find Product
4/3/2013

Customer review by abunton

5.0 stars by abunton

We had found this product on other sites but it was sold out and it was hard to find anywhere. It was great to not only find it on Wal-Mart but also with a better price point. Great value and it is a great deal. Looking forward to vacation.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
abunton
Vineland, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great item....why spend more?
12/19/2012

Customer review by Gallowayguy

5.0 stars by Gallowayguy

Item arrived on time, in great condition. Was easy to install. Took only 10 mins by myself. Construction is strong. Only concerns will be the life of the hinges, they are plastic, and the rear loading of the unit. Overall very happy with the purchase.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Gallowayguy
Galloway, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Turning nut should fit better w screws
5/16/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars by An anonymous customer

Thread on screws don't fit properly w nut.. Had to use pliers to tighten the screws

Was this review helpful? (3) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
An anonymous customer
Washington
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
8/15/2012

Customer review by Softballmom07

4.0 stars by Softballmom07

Excellent product and fits a lot of larger items. The only problem is that it did not fit our 2012 CRV cross rails so we had to drill extra holes. No big deal though, fit fine after that. Very durable and did great on our trip, allowing us to fit everything including the family dog in the car!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Softballmom07
Schertz, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Exceeded expectations
12/29/2012

Customer review by OrangeInHB

4.0 stars by OrangeInHB

We purchased this carrier for our 2012 Subaru Outback for a holiday road trip. We were bringing our dog, so we didn't have any room in the rear cargo area. This carrier is large enough to hold bags for a family of four (with winter clothes) and various Christmas presents. It's big! It did a pretty good job of keeping the water out. We did drive through a heavy rainstorm with approx 25mph winds and some water did seep in around the edges, but it was minimal. With the strength of the storm and highway conditions that we drove through, it did better than I thought it would. The Roof Box mounted very securely and I had no problems with it loosening or shifting on the trip. It took about 15 minutes to mount and about 10 to remove. It's light enough that one person can carry it. Our mileage was minimally affected by the carrier. We do this trip a few times a year (visiting the in-laws) and normally get about 30mpg. With the carrier, we got 28.8mpg. Not bad. For safety's sake, we limited our top speed to about 73mph. The roof box ads considerable height to the car's profile, so we didn't want to be surprised by any high crosswinds. This roof box was a great value and I'm glad we purchased it. Walmart had it for $179 + tax with free ship-to-store. Competing sites were in the neighborhood of $300-$350 plus shipping for the exact same product. Subaru's model (more sleek, but smaller capacity) is in the neighborhood of $480 and higher end boxes from Thule were more than that. Considering we'll use this about 4x/year and with it's larger capacity, this roof box was a no-brainer.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
OrangeInHB
Huntington Beach, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
1-20 of 36 total reviews