Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 209 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

209 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

209 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

94%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
152
4 stars
40
3 stars
11
2 stars
2
1 stars
4
1-20 of 190 total reviews
94%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 190 total reviews
1-20 of 190 reviews
Great For Puppies!
8/15/2011

Customer review by cherkel

5.0 stars 8/15/2011 by cherkel
by cherkel

I purchased the 8 panel pet pen for my 8 week old golden retriever puppy. Since he is into everything and cannot be left alone for a minute I needed something other than his crate to contain him - like a play pen for dogs. That's exactly what it is. I put a blanket and toys in there and he can play by himself or sleep when I need to get something done and can't watch him every second. I would never leave him completely unattended however - realize that puppy can still chew carpet or do other damage to the floor area and once they get bigger they might even be able to jump and tip it over. He is now 11 weeks old and about 13 pounds. He occasionally jumps on it and it doesn't move so I would imagine for a small adult dog, they would probably not be able to tip it. It has rubber feet which is great for a hardwood floor like I have. It comes in panels that are held together by giant plastic "pins". If he has an accident in there, I don't need to crawl through the door, I can just pull one of the pins and open up the pen to get in there and clean. I wouldn't consider this something that you would move around daily in your house from one room to the next. Once put together it would take 2 people to move it because it's awkward to move. You can take it apart but that's kind of a hassle. I just keep it in the same place all the time. It appears to be well made. The gated door is held closed by 2 little levers - once they are in place there are screws to tighten the lever so that the door is quite secure. It's plenty big and if it's too big you can always pull one of the panels out and not use it. This would be great in a house, in a yard, camping etc. Just a great, safe way to contain a smaller size pet and especially a puppy. I ordered this on a Sunday night and it was delivered to my house Wednesday - free shipping! So don't fret if you need something in a hurry, it comes quickly! Lastly, I shopped around at my local stores (I live in a city) and could not find anything this height in a store. After shopping online, Walmart had the best price of anyone so save your time and just buy it here.

Was this review helpful? (111) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cherkel
Portland, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very good product
6/8/2011

Customer review by hopjop

5.0 stars 6/8/2011 by hopjop
by hopjop

We have 40lb beagle who suffered a torn ACL injury. He has to be contained most of the day for 8 weeks. A typical kennel was just too small for him to remail happy contained. This pen is perfect! Large and roomy, easy to assemble and most importantly easy to disassemble so that if you need to move it from room to room or take it on vacation, camping etc., you can do it with ease.

Was this review helpful? (63) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hopjop
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very helpful product
4/30/2011

Customer review by aggravating

5.0 stars 4/30/2011 by aggravating
by aggravating

Excellent in varying size for play yard Easy move and easy to put up panels Excellent for freedom of puppy and yet keep area limited Much better than any dog carrier Durable easy to clean better directions on mounting door bar fantastic for severely crippled arthritic hands in setting up panels doesn't scratch my slate floor

Was this review helpful? (71) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
aggravating
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
dog pen
5/2/2011

Customer review by gizzyandpressleysmom

5.0 stars 5/2/2011 by gizzyandpressleysmom
by gizzyandpressleysmom

the pen is a great and very large pet pen it gives your pet plenty of room without feeling confined to a small area. Will definately recommend to other walmart shoppers.

Was this review helpful? (49) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gizzyandpressleysmom
Maynardville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
works as planned
1/2/2012

Customer review by EnjoyingLifeInSD

4.0 stars 1/2/2012 by EnjoyingLifeInSD
by EnjoyingLifeInSD

We purchased this pen because we wanted something that was portable, could be used as a gate or pen, and could be adjusted in size. We use it as a pen when not home and as a gate to keep our 8 week Papillon off the carpet and in the rest of the house. We did not expect to come home the second day a find that she had climbed over the pen! She hasn't done it since. We took 4 panels last week on vacation with us and used it in the motel and the sister-in-law's place. I love the fact that one can just pull a hinge pin out and connect the other panels together. From as small as 4 panels to as large as all 8 ( or buy another set and make it 16 panels large) The small rubber feet on the bottom help it to not slide around on the floor. I am 6'2" and have long legs, but find it easier to pull a pin and open it rather than trying to step over to get things in and out. We kept the box because it will be so easy to take apart and put back into storage when not needed.

Was this review helpful? (24) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
EnjoyingLifeInSD
Sioux Falls, SD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Not just an outside pen for a puppy!
12/22/2011

Customer review by 1jmomma4

5.0 stars 12/22/2011 by 1jmomma4
by 1jmomma4

We have a puppy this year for the first time in a long time, and she is a hoot! She is in the nibbling stage--wants to chew everything. Plus, she picks up everything and carries it around in her mouth. It is almost Christmas, right? And we decided we absolutely must put the tree up on a table--have not done that in many years--so it would be out of her reach. And then we thought about the gifts that would be under the tree on the table--and when the space gets full, the rest will have to go on the floor under the table. So--brilliant idea. We have sections of the Pet Pen, fastened together but not in a circle. It covers the sides and front of the table against the wall. It works great, and the pen is so pretty that everyone who has seen it has said it is a wonderful idea. Problem solved! The pen is attractive, sturdy enough to do this and we are so glad we found it at Walmart.com. We will definitely use it outside when it gets warmer. We are very pleased with the Pet Pen--it is a very versatile product!

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
1jmomma4
Morganton NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
8/2/2011

Customer review by Ravensheart

5.0 stars 8/2/2011 by Ravensheart
by Ravensheart

I bought the pen to corral three rambunctious Siberian Husky pups... These puppies have pushed , pulled and chewed on the pen and it is holding up extremely well. I would recommend it to anyone needing a place where pups can be safe from harm.

Was this review helpful? (19) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ravensheart
Oldtown ID
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
great kennel to use for while away at work.
11/23/2013

Customer review by ceccek

4.0 stars 11/23/2013 by ceccek
by ceccek

I only purchased this because of WM's return policy. With so many reviews saying it's flimsy and can tip I was a bit concerned. I have a 30pd whippet terrier. He is trained but gets very excited & likes to jump etc, especially when he knows someone has now come home. Very simply put, stabilize the kennel between a wall and a table or curio cabinet, fridge, etc. Get creative- this thing is awesome. My dog is 23" high and can't jump out of this. He now will walk in his "crate" when I leave instead of me taking him in. This kennel creates such a more open feel and allows room for movement. An added bonus, because I preferred it a bit downsized but with some height I only use 6 panels so the remaining 2 I can use to section off areas of the house I don't want him wandering into. Definitely worth the buy! My only reason for the 4 stars, is if you are planning to use this in a large open space and have active dogs they could PERHAPS tip it. Not sure though since I haven't tested it.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ceccek
utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Item is great..but....missing parts, open box...
4/12/2013

Customer review by Rjes

3.0 stars 4/12/2013 by Rjes
by Rjes

I like the item a lot... but it was received with the open box and missing important parts. I did not return it to the store because on Puerto Rico the item was unavailable. Walmart sent me a partial credit to find the missing part. Item is big, has 8 panel, super easy to assemble, good material, very high and super convenience with the door. I am using only 6 panels because is really big. Sometimes I use the 8 panels (large space). I would recommend the item but if you can purchase it in the store; you for it! If not, do not request it to ship. Enjoy the pics! I hope the comment can help you!

Was this review helpful? (17) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rjes
PR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
My pup stopped being depressed about being crated
4/30/2012

Customer review by reinesoleil

5.0 stars 4/30/2012 by reinesoleil
by reinesoleil

I had to leave my 4 month old lab mix puppy in the laundry room because he was chewing everything he could get his paws on indoors and outdoors. I tried leaving him in the yard but found him eating all sorts of things he digged up (I just moved onto the property). I came home and found a depressed dog and getting him into the laundry room was a nightmare. After the first use of this "park" I had a different dog, left him in the living room with his toys, came home several days in a row to find him happy. He's close to 30 lbs and medium sized right now and there is plenty of room for his bed, water bowl and toys. No issue getting him in there if I'm busy and can't have him following me around or can't keep my eyes on him, he is 6 months now but still requires supervision. Well worth the money for me. I really felt awful about seeing him sad, this park doesn't feel like punishment, it's just his "spot" for play time, sleep and when I'm not home.

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
reinesoleil
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Great pen for pups and small dogs
3/16/2012

Customer review by PuppyDad

5.0 stars 3/16/2012 by PuppyDad
by PuppyDad

We are first time pup owners. We use this pen in our living room. We and our pup love it very much. It offers large, flexible space (you can move the pen to form a variety of shapes), the top is open. It is light weight and you can move it from room to room easily. It is easy to assemble (but you need a small phillips head screw driver, which doesn't come with the product). If you want your puppy to run around for exercise, you need to buy one more set and join them together as the space created by one set is not big enough. One of our friends commented that she wished she knew about it when her dog was small (now 13 years old).

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PuppyDad
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Wonderful
5/18/2012

Customer review by NightShiftRN77

5.0 stars 5/18/2012 by NightShiftRN77
by NightShiftRN77

When I bought this pet pen, I was not sure if I would use it often. I am so glad I invested the money. I love it and use it all the time. Especially during the puppy potty training days. It was easy to take panels out and make smaller, easy to move around, door was no problem putting together. I would buy it again!

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NightShiftRN77
Seattle, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
The Pen Works great overall
8/27/2011

Customer review by creamrosey

4.0 stars 8/27/2011 by creamrosey
by creamrosey

The pen works good and the pins are easy to pull between each of the panels so it provides flexibility to open it up and run the ends to a wall to expand the area. It also makes it easy to open it up to get the puppy or clean or pick something up. The walls are a little tall so I can just barely reach over a wall to pick something off the floor but my wife can not. If height is a concern we could have picked the smaller pen but we would have had to buy two to cover the same area and at a 30% greater cost.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
creamrosey
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Perfect for my dogs!
9/30/2011

Customer review by OctoberKat

5.0 stars 9/30/2011 by OctoberKat
by OctoberKat

I bought this for my 5 small dogs so that we could bring them all camping with us and they would have a place to play. It worked perfectly for them and us! It's a great way to keep an eye on them and knowing they are safe.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OctoberKat
Englewood, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Very spacious and safe
1/28/2012

Customer review by missthrift

5.0 stars 1/28/2012 by missthrift
by missthrift

This is an amazing product for the money. The pen is very spacious for my two small dogs, I can even get in the pen with them and still have a great bit of room if you are choosing this pen for a larger breed. The pen is very sturdy and very safe and I also love the height : I have one dog that is a high jumper, which is not a problem with this pen. I would definetly reccomend this product to others, and would still buy again.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
missthrift
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
No hill for a climber
7/13/2011

Customer review by Dudesnutz

3.0 stars 7/13/2011 by Dudesnutz
by Dudesnutz

Did a ship-to-store on this item which saved me substantial shipping $$. The unit was pretty easy to assemble and was well built. The problem was that it was no match for my 30 lb Boston Terrier. Simply too light weight for a dog that strong. I guess this could be useful for training small puppies, but beyond that, not so much. I returned it to the store the next day for a cheerful refund.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dudesnutz
Ponca City, OK
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Nice pet pen, unfortunately my 3.5Lbs Chihuahua ju
10/19/2011

Customer review by digimediamax

1.0 stars 10/19/2011 by digimediamax
by digimediamax

Nice pet pen, unfortunately my 3.5Lbs Chihuahua jumps out of it, so I'll have to return it.

Was this review helpful? (10) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
digimediamax
Would recommend to a friend? No
Not for climbers
7/3/2012

Customer review by griffygal1

1.0 stars 7/3/2012 by griffygal1
by griffygal1

This pen is very flimsy for the money and not easy to access inside to pick up after your puppy. I purchased it because it is taller and thought that would be a deterrent for puppies that like to climb out of pens.Since I am a hobby toy dog breeder, I have lots of experience with puppies with a penchant for climbing Had it been constructed with only vertical rods in each panel, fairly close together 1 to 1.5 inches apart that would have done the trick because then there would be no purchase for climbers. A panel that swung open & closed with a secure latch would be handy as well and it needs some type of bracing system to keep it from toppling over. A much superior choice is the Indoor/Outdoor pet pen by Richell, though more expensive it is much more secure and my toy breed dogs can not climb out of it and has a lovely gate panel and is so easy to keep clean.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
griffygal1
Champlain NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Wonderful pen
2/3/2012

Customer review by mamawolf544

5.0 stars 2/3/2012 by mamawolf544
by mamawolf544

This pet pen is great. I have 3 indoor dogs ranging from a 100 pound Pitbull to a 2 pound Chihuahua. The pen is for the chi Bella. She loves it, it gives her plenty of safe and secure room to play. It is lightweight and easy to move from room to room. It is very easy to take apart for storage or to wrangle the little darling out to put back in her bed.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mamawolf544
alvarado, tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Iris 8-Panel Dog Pen . . . FOR A BABY RAM
4/18/2013

Customer review by DeeGee2K

5.0 stars 4/18/2013 by DeeGee2K
by DeeGee2K

This is kinda unusual because I purchased this Iris 8-panel pet play-area (kennel) . . . FOR A BABY RAM. Timmy is 3 months old (on 4/19) and still being bottle-fed (for 2 more weeks). He does eat hay and grain, and is ready to be assimilated into his own "flock". Or so the "book" says. Timmy was born January 19th, the second born of twins, of a first-time mom. Mom rejected him and he nearly died of starvation and hypothermia. I brought him into the house when he was 3 days old. He couldn't even open his little eyes or hold his head up, he was so weak. I had to feed him with an eye dropper for the first couple of days. I housed him in a small crib---3' L x 2' W x 3' H. He has toys and snuggy animals. Normally, once a baby ram or goat gets past the original trauma; he or she starts healing and growing, you put him/her back with their flock. Usually, at about 2-3 weeks old, or so; but you continue the scheduled bottle feedings, weaning them as they grow older (up to 3 - 3 1/2 months). In the meantime, you're giving them hay and grain, just like the normal lambs being nursed by their moms. Not Timmy. This is NOT going to happen. He's having NONE of this! He HATES being with the other sheep. He loves being with the horses & donkeys; the goats; the chickens. He's crazy about the dogs and runs and plays with them. He wants NOTHING to do with the sheep. None of them; not ever. Even if I leave him in the sheep pen for just a couple of hours, he goes to the farthest end of the pen and stays to himself; or he'll stay by the gate and cry until I come get him. The other sheep target him and try to pen him against a wall or fence to just ram -- or "butt" him. They push him away when he tries to eat. The whole assimilation thing is not going well at all. So, Timmy has become a "house pet". This is decidedly NOT good. For one thing, you cannot housebreak sheep, especially not rams. You cannot use "doggy" diapers on male sheep because their anatomical structure prevents this. (Not so, with females). Even though Timmy has been neutered, he still "rams" things. Rams are called "rams" for a REASON. Allowing a male sheep to run amok in your house, like a dog or cat, is definitely not GOOD for china or curio cabinets. Or any furniture, pets or people. In Timmy's case, he's not being aggressive; he's just being playful. He's only 3 months old. He's already "ramming" the dogs, in play. He's also outgrowing his small crib. He's NOT going to assimilate with the other sheep. No way. So, what to do??? Inexpensively; but, effectively? Wood pens won't work because sheep chew on wood. Metal isn't any good because metal reflects cold and heat, excessively. Nonetheless, you need lots of room for a growing baby ram; and you need to be able to clean it easily; you need to be able to MOVE it from inside to outside and reverse; and you need something to be stable, for at least a year or two. Timmy's dad and granddad both weight 200 lbs, at least, EACH. His grandma weighs about 250; his mom about 150 lbs. Do you get where I'm going with this? He's gonna be a BIG boy! The Iris plastic/nylon 8-panel pen is perfect for him. At least for now, and until he's about 2 years old. He's been neutered; so he's not aggressive. Just rambunctious. This pen affords him enough room to play, sleep comfortably, and move around, when I want him contained. I can move him to outside easily; the pen is collapsible. Inside, I just place an easily-cleaned "floor" to protect my rug or tile, and include a big dog-pillow with a washable cover. Outside, he's in the immediate back yard or on the porch, with straw. He's happy; he's with his "flock" (ME, the chickens, and the dogs); and all is well. This pen is sturdy, made of durable plastic, and easily cleanable. It is compact and collapses for easy mobility. It was inexpensive ($80 or so, compared to $150 - $500). If this pen works for my baby ram, trust me; it'll work for dogs, cats, goats and even baby mini-horses. It even has a little door so that your pet can come and go as he/she pleases, at your control. It keeps your pet safe without unnecessary confinement. I would recommend this pen for any pet; even small children. I am more than pleased; I am SURPRISED and pleased.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DeeGee2K
Paulden, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 190 total reviews
1-20 of 190 reviews