Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 10 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

10 reviews | 4 out of 5

5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
2
80%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Yardman Select Series
3/20/2011

Customer review by cardinalsfan47

5.0 stars by cardinalsfan47

I bought this lawnmower for $1200 at my local Walmart it feels like it has plenty of power and it looks great. You can adjust the seat by removing one bolt and i like the gas pedal it will take a little bit to get use to. I looked at many different Lawn Tractors at Sears,lowes and Tractor Supply. For the price i went with the Yardman over the Sears 46 inch 21hp mower it just looked and felt like a better quality mower and i wanted a deck wheels b/c my yard isnt even. I plan on keeping this mower a long time.

Was this review helpful? (173) (32)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
cardinalsfan47
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
6/1/2011

Customer review by aussiedog

5.0 stars by aussiedog

No site to store on this item so had to rely on CEVA Freight. Tracking was ok, but would have helped had I been given a local phone for CEVA to follow up since they failed to notify me of arrival at local terminal. This seems to be a great lawn tractor for the money, and mush less than comparable machines, and is well made. "Saftey interlock" system is a bit "overboard" as it appears one must disengage mower before moving slector into reverse. Have not yet used for mowing, but did choose this model as the deck has "guide wheels" which less expensive units don't have. Has some good options for accessories. MTD (Yardman) were very helpful answering questions. The biggest job was unpacking unit from shipping crate. Lots of "dunnage" to take to the dump. Only assembly was installing steering wheel, seat, and hooking up battery. Great spring loaded seat, and foot speed control - no gears to shift. Heavy machine, and started on first crank of engine. Steers easily, and is big and strong enough to tow cart or other tow behind needs. Much larger than I expected, and will meet all my needs for the foreseeable future. Also purchased Delux tractor cover from Walmart, and it fits completely this size machine. Also, freight delivery was easy as driver lowered unit to ground with gate lift for me exactly where I wished for unpacking. Tip - remove all sides of shipping crate, remove any plastic shipping cover from under wheels and unit can be driven off base of crate if palet is slightly off center so it tips as tractor moves forward allowing front wheels to oass over crate braces and onto ground.

Was this review helpful? (65) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
aussiedog
Central VA - Rural
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
DO NOT BUY this lawnmower!
7/28/2011

Customer review by kimmoye777

1.0 stars by kimmoye777

This is the worst lawn mower ever! Had it a month and have had it worked on 2 times already. It won't start more than once. When it heats up it won't start back up. 2 flat tires, bad battery...the list goes on. Wish I would of never bought it!!!!

Was this review helpful? (89) (27)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
kimmoye777
El Dorado AR
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Good looking junk.
6/3/2011

Customer review by Voytek

1.0 stars by Voytek

Product received in non operating condition. Very poor factory support. My estimate to fix the problem is $25.00 part and 20 min. labor. But authorized service did not want to do it. I start thinking to return product to walmart. I will never buy any MTD product again.

Was this review helpful? (87) (37)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Voytek
Warren MI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Great decision!
9/16/2012

Customer review by Tracyntia

5.0 stars by Tracyntia

I did my homework. I reviewed the mowers in the class and size we wanted. i compared options and specs. I chose this mower for the options, the price, and the earlier reviews. The only thing I was disappointed in was the shipping options. The system would not allow me to have the mower shipped to the nearest store and allow me to pick it up. Regardless of what I chose, the website always referred me back to shipping to my home. That cost me an additional $97. Regardless, the mower arrived well packed. After putting it together (simple), it started up and drove off the pallet. We have used the mower three times since. After leveling the anti-scalping wheels, the cut is perfect, the mower runs smoothly, and we are most pleased. Excellent quality. Great price. Plenty of power. And it looks great. We could not be more pleased (after getting over the extra $97).

Was this review helpful? (23) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Tracyntia
Waxhaw, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
1/3/2012

Customer review by tapdub

4.0 stars by tapdub

With my 11-year-old mower showing signs of weakening I decided this year to get a new one. While surfing the internet this month (Dec.) I ran across this good buy (Special price) from Walmart. It was delivered on the 8th and so far is running good. After 2 weeks of use the battery went dead, which I know sometimes happens. My local Walmart store exchanged it for a new one. I have been looking for a 46" cut model and because of the winter have not cut any grass here on the NY/PA border. I do use a mower the year round however on my property with a tow cart, mostly hauling firewood. I expect this unit to be about average since most riding mowers anymore are made by MTD. I watched my local Lowes's store for a good buy since April and observed many mowers returned with defects. The most I saw returned all summer were the Toro with John Deere ranking second. The price of this unit sealed the deal for me, and since has been raised to $1200, still not bad.

Was this review helpful? (26) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
tapdub
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great tractor
8/27/2011

Customer review by pofpar

5.0 stars by pofpar

My husband loves the tractor but the delivery people are not dependable! They said they were going to call the night before the scheduled delivery time and give us a 4 hour window...they never called. I tried to call that night before but they were closed and called first thing in the morning and good thing too as we were not home and were out camping and found it was going to be that morning. We had already driven back home and arrived at 9:00 to be sure and it arrived at 10:20am. So just plan on being home the entire day they say they will deliver cuz chances are you won't get a call like they say! Other than that the tractor itself works great and my husband now LOVES to mow the lawn :D LOL

Was this review helpful? (28) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
pofpar
Flint, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Best ever owned
3/14/2013

Customer review by GeneBP

5.0 stars by GeneBP

Zero problems in 3 years. One belt replaced. Love it and actually look forward to mowing, now.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
GeneBP
Albion, Idaho
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great buy for the money!
6/4/2012

Customer review by Doxie59

5.0 stars by Doxie59

Used on 2 acres of level to slight slope land. This mower is exactly the same as the Murray 46", only the color is different and they are now all made by MTD. Our last Murray 42" lasted 12 years before the transmission finally gave out - the engine still cranked right up! Very happy with power and ease of use. Does not mow in reverse, but that's a safety feature. Foot pedal is definitely a plus with relatively quiet engine. No headlight switch, so they stay on all the time. We compared lots of mowers and have no regrets on this one!

Was this review helpful? (16) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Doxie59
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Too many safety features for me!
4/15/2014

Customer review by Texasbigfoot

4.0 stars by Texasbigfoot

Once the dead, 13 month old battery (on a supposedly newmower) was addressed at the store, we took the mower home. Then I discovered that it in no way resembled the 2 previous Murray riders I've owned. Have to disengage blades to shift from forward to reverse, verus single pedal hydrostatic drives I was used to. IMO, this is a bad deal, but may not be a big deal to some users. Also, it has a governor that only allows it to barely outrun a snail. I give myself credit to decide how fast is safe to operate a lawn tractor, as opposed to some safety engineer at the factory. I expect it's longevity to be great as I've come to expect from Murray and Briggs-Straton when teamed up. We've only used the mower one time, so I may have to revise my 4 star rating by end of Summer.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Texasbigfoot
North Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.