Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 503 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

503 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

503 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

87%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
289
4 stars
119
3 stars
35
2 stars
27
1 stars
33
1-20 of 425 total reviews
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 425 total reviews
1-20 of 425 reviews
Disappointed by color and room darkening ability
11/25/2013

Customer review by sherriefl

3.0 stars 11/25/2013 by sherriefl
by sherriefl

I bought these blinds to replace the Mainstays alabaster light-filtering blinds on two east-facing windows in my living room that let in too much bright morning sun. I wanted blinds of a similar color that would match the light-filtering blinds on an adjacent (northern) wall's windows but block out more of the light. Unfortunately, these room-darkening blinds don't appear to keep the sunlight out any better than the light-filtering type. And the off-white color of the blinds looks a mottled pinkish beige when the sun is shining on them. The pictures I'm including with this review were taken around 7am. Both sets of blinds are installed in the same room on side by side east-facing windows.

Was this review helpful? (94) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sherriefl
Panama City, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Does the job - inexpensive and instant solution
9/6/2011

Customer review by craftroomdesigner

4.0 stars 9/6/2011 by craftroomdesigner
by craftroomdesigner

I have been using some temporary coated paper blinds with adhesive at the top to replace some existing metal mini blinds that I could not manage cleaning. These fit pefectly in the existing hardware. Bonus since the window casements are plaster, cement or the like. I got the 46" size light filtering first for $9 but too short even though I followed the box measurements and no problem with returning them. The 47" room darkening fit just right, my window opening measured 46 5/8. They seem and feel cheap... some sort of vinyl plastic not sure how long they will actually last in the California sun, room faces the east, but for under $20 they meet the need. I was replacing some sort of coated paper temporary ones from target that fall apart in the sun. The valance single slat to cover up the hardware came broken -- slit about 1" from end. I did not have to use hardware so no comment on installation from starting from the beginning. They do seem to darken the room but not like blackout curtains -- not sure what is difference between light filtering and darkening except price. I picked them up at the store, I didn't prepay and order on line. Looking at the instructions, pictures and words -- good to have both.

Was this review helpful? (21) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
craftroomdesigner
Chula Vista, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great blinds, horrible packaging!
1/1/2014

Customer review by Dajamogu

5.0 stars 1/1/2014 by Dajamogu
by Dajamogu
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I do like the mini-blinds I ordered but will NEVER order from Walmart again. I ordered 5 mini-blinds. The actual package is about 5" wide x 24" long x 2" deep. Imagine my surprise when there was knock on my door from the delivery man saying I had 5 BIG boxes. Big doesn't even begin to describe it. Each box was about 18" side x 26" long x 24" high. Inside each box was a long, crumpled strip of brown packaging paper--long meaning extended through my dining room and living room and then some. Inside, at the very bottom of the big box, was a little box with the mini-blinds. What a waste! Not only did you waste the big box (not needed--my other set of wider mini-blinds came in their own box and were just fine), you wasted all that paper and I'm sure it cost more to ship the big box. I was left with lots of material to unpack and recycle. Very disappointed!!! Like I said--no more Walmart ordering for me.

Was this review helpful? (40) (31)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dajamogu
TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Worst. Blinds. Ever.
12/17/2011

Customer review by ThatsNotMyName29072

1.0 stars 12/17/2011 by ThatsNotMyName29072
by ThatsNotMyName29072

We purchased these blinds so that we could darken our room because of a 3rd shift worker. First of all, they don't darken the room. If you can get them installed without them breaking, that is. We had to also get room darkening curtains because of the light that was let through. After only a month or so, the blinds are warped! One set has melted so badly that part of the ends are folded completely downward. The other set is melted and saggy. They are placed on the side of the house that faces the sun all day, so I'm not sure how they'd be on the shaded side. So after wasting money on these, we'll be purchasing wooden blinds instead. Don't waste your money on these cheap things...

Was this review helpful? (50) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ThatsNotMyName29072
Lexington, SC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
These Blinds are Just Right
10/16/2013

Customer review by GinnyCT

5.0 stars 10/16/2013 by GinnyCT
by GinnyCT
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I wanted an easy way to allow light in during the day and to provide privacy at night. These blinds perform these functions nicely. I can even provide light through the top half of the windows during the day while still ensuring some privacy on the lower half of my first floor windows by lightly “brushing down” the slats on the bottom half to close them– perfect!

Was this review helpful? (28) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GinnyCT
CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
excellent blinds for the price
5/26/2014

Customer review by gmttampa

5.0 stars 5/26/2014 by gmttampa
by gmttampa

You can't beat the price for these nice blinds. They are not the most impressive or fancy. They don't completely blacken the room. But they install easy and look neat and clean, and can be dressed up with sheers or valances. The one I bought today is my third, having bought a pair (at a higher price elsewhere). I like the vinyl, which looks a lot more upscale than shiny aluminum blinds (eek). Ivory and white are nice neutral colors, but I'll bet they would sell more if one could get these in other shades like forest green, dove gray, oak brown, and other neutral colors. Installation is very easy and user friendly. I was replacing the same blind, so I just had to slide one out and put the other in. But I put in the brackets when I first installed them. The instructions are clear, they have photos, and a drill and screw driver and you are good to go. Most come in common sizes. These blinds also are great if you want more privacy at night but don't want anything to overpower nice sheers that are the main window treatment.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gmttampa
Tampa, Fla.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Room darkening blinds
5/10/2011

Customer review by JByers

3.0 stars 5/10/2011 by JByers
by JByers

I'm not sure why these are advertised as "room darkening" blinds. They are not. We purchased 2 of these for the glass doors on our master bedroom. When anyone walks down the hallway at night the light would shine thru the drapes and wake us up. The light still shines through-but doesn't wake us as often. They are flimsy and don't close tight enough to be darkening and the light even comes thru the area where the cables to control the blinds are. They are inexpensive standard mini blinds. We will never open them, so I expect them to hold up for years. If you put them in a room where you would actually open or close them, I think they would break easily. They were so inexpensive that they were worth every penny to us for covering the glass in the doors. But, I would not reccommend them as room darkening blinds.

Was this review helpful? (91) (30)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JByers
Bakersfield, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Looks great!
5/25/2011

Customer review by Pirate56

5.0 stars 5/25/2011 by Pirate56
by Pirate56

You pay for what you get? Well I think that isn't the case here. These window blinds look great and are not expensive at all! You would think that if they weren't expensive you wouldn't be satisfied with the item, well I really like how they look & would purchase them again for the rest of my house.

Was this review helpful? (83) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Pirate56
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
No frills, performs it's function
7/4/2011

Customer review by ChitownLarry

4.0 stars 7/4/2011 by ChitownLarry
by ChitownLarry

Just moved to an apartment. Needed inexpensive blinds for privacy and blocking afternoon sun. These did the trick.

Was this review helpful? (72) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ChitownLarry
Oak Park, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great
6/27/2016

Customer review by Charlie2249

5.0 stars 6/27/2016 by Charlie2249
by Charlie2249
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

These blinds have done the trick! Helps block out the sun nicely!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Charlie2249
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good Functional Blinds, Low Cost
1/26/2016

Customer review by MizM

5.0 stars 1/26/2016 by MizM
by MizM

These room darkening, off-white mini blinds were better quality than I expected for the cost. We moved into a manufactured home in Florida, and had windows to cover, especially in our office where it was important to control the huge amount of sunlight we were getting from 9 large windows and 3 celestory windows, around three walls of our office space. We couldn't see our computer screens from all the sunlight. We first experimented with the white Mainstays room darkening mini blinds, buying three at the local Walmart brick and mortar store to make sure they were at least functional and put them on the upper celestory windows. They worked well, so we took the plunge and bought the 9 off white blinds (I didn't realize until after purchasing the store bought blinds that online blinds are off-white, they don't sell simply white online, and there weren't enough white blinds in the store to cover all our windows.) The difference between off-white and white is minimal, can hardly tell. The off-white does have a limited soft and subdued pinkish, peachy glow when sunlight is coming directly through them that I actually like. As far as room darkening capabilities, our office is not dark in the daytime with them all closed, the light was cut by half I would say, but it did filter out that direct piercing glare on our computer screens so we were happy. From reading the reviews I learned that more light can be cut by turning the slat controlling rod in the other direction, with slats turned all the way upward and closed, less light peeps in through the slats. A minimal amount of light does come through between the slats when the blind is closed with slats facing downward. Our main concern was being able to control the sunlight coming through, and we are able to do that to a pretty good degree. The office by day has a friendly look now when all the blinds are closed tight, there is still light in here, no need to turn on a lamp. But I doubt seriously that even expensive room darkening blinds would cut any more light because of the number and size of our windows. Probably black out curtains would be the only thing that would make it any darker in here which we chose not to do because there are times we like to see our view of trees and water, and the mini blinds allow for that without much difficulty, just turning the rod. As for how long they will last, we've only had them up a week so can't say. We don't raise and lower them a lot on purpose, just use the slat turning rod, as we want to keep their wear and tear to a minimum as, after all, they were the most inexpensive blinds on the market. Delivery was no problem, the boxes they were boxed in were almost the exact same size as the blinds them selves, no excess packaging. My husband had no problem putting them all up by himself, did so over a three day period, four each day. The first blind he said was the most difficult to install, but once he learned how, it was easy for the remaining blinds. So far no problems with any of the blinds. We do recommend them. And for us, they are a darn sight better than the alternative we were using, which was cardboard!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MizM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Blinds
5/12/2012

Customer review by tah1960

5.0 stars 5/12/2012 by tah1960
by tah1960

Great mini blinds for the money. They do what I need them to do. The only thing is I ordered a 30 wide and they came in a 29 1/2 wide, just take that in to concideration when ordering.

Was this review helpful? (25) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tah1960
Clemmons, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Darkens room somewhat
3/4/2011

Customer review by MrsCheddar

3.0 stars 3/4/2011 by MrsCheddar
by MrsCheddar

This blind works somewhat, if you're needing it to say, darken a room to sleep, it will work fine but if you're buying it to block light from a window that shines on your TV . . . don't bother, get some insulated curtains instead.

Was this review helpful? (53) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MrsCheddar
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
They do what they say.
6/28/2014

Customer review by swil

5.0 stars 6/28/2014 by swil
by swil
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

These blinds are billed as "room-darkening" and they do an excellent job of blocking most of outside light. Great for the bedroom.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
swil
Clayton, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Don't darken the room
7/30/2013

Customer review by Coyte22

1.0 stars 7/30/2013 by Coyte22
by Coyte22
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

There was no difference with the amount of light that was let in with the light filtering blinds than there was with the room darkening blinds. Save yourself the trouble and money and just buy the light filtering ones instead. I ended up buying spray paint for plastic and painting mine...now they're room darkening!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Coyte22
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great product but skip the instructions
10/27/2013

Customer review by PITN

4.0 stars 10/27/2013 by PITN
by PITN
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great product with excellent style, size, and color options at excellent price. Brackets and supports have been improved since my first purchasing over 5 years ago. They're a snap to put up as long as you don't try to understand and follow the instructions --- after time consuming struggle to understand and follow instructions first time, subsequent installations were super easy. Installation instructions definitely need to be rewritten!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PITN
ME
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Missing pieces
5/14/2016

Customer review by nikki

1.0 stars 5/14/2016 by nikki
by nikki

Got the blinds today and will have to jerry rig the install as it was missing 1 mounting bracket with slide and the cord safety stops. I know this is inexpensive but one should at least GET what they pay for.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nikki
Would recommend to a friend? No
Super easy
5/13/2016

Customer review by Terri

5.0 stars 5/13/2016 by Terri
by Terri

I bought these to replace some I already had. Just wanted to change the color. I had to order online because the size I needed was not in the store. Picked up in store. They came in quickly and pick up was a breeze. They are super easy to install and look great.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Terri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awfull Product
7/25/2011

Customer review by jimbo351

1.0 stars 7/25/2011 by jimbo351
by jimbo351

I bought this blind to replace one that broke. After measuring I bought the one that said 58x64. I got it home and it was too short. When I measured it the width was 57 not 58 inches wide.The corners were also warped so it didnt lay flushed. I will now have to go and pick out a different blind. That one fit perfectly and it was actually 58 inches wide like the package said. This was only 20 dollars but it was money wasted

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jimbo351
santa fe, nm
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
5/15/2011

Customer review by MrsReviewing

5.0 stars 5/15/2011 by MrsReviewing
by MrsReviewing

I like this product because they do not offer it at the local Walmart . I ordered this for the apartment we were moving out of we had to replace some things that we all got at Walmart that were in-expensive . My husband put the blind up and was pleased with the the blind .

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MrsReviewing
JUNCTION CITY KANSAS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
1-20 of 425 total reviews
1-20 of 425 reviews