Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 61 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

61 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

5 stars
27
4 stars
15
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 stars
13
71%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 53 total reviews
Gets the job done well
6/20/2011

Customer review by jswalmart

5.0 stars by jswalmart

I've heard a lot of bad reviews on this A/C but for the price I tried it out. This A/C keeps a room cold I didn't even install it in my window to where the outside heat can't come in and my room is always cold. Instillation your gonna need a power drill not a screw driver to install the curtain holder on top of the A/C though. Other than that this is a good unit it's very quiet no need to blast your TV due to a loud A/C and I don't even see much water drain out of the A/C from my window. Don't be scared to try the unit because of bad reviews if you don't like it just return it the A/C isn't as heavy or as big as it looks in the pictures. Also the remote has a magnetic feature so it does attach itself to some remotes or other items that you posses not a big deal since the remote is about the size of an IPod Nano.

Was this review helpful? (65) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
jswalmart
new york
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not Recommended! Go for the GE 6300 BTU instead!
6/17/2011

Customer review by Becomeanotherperson

1.0 stars by Becomeanotherperson

Our local WalMart carried both this Haier model and a General Electric 6,300 BTU unit for the same price. Having had great luck with a 5,000 BTU Haier I purchased from Ames over 10 years ago still working great, I figured I would give this new bigger model a try. HUGE MISTAKE! Although the unit feels sturdy and looks to be well constructed, there were two major flaws that ultimately resulted in me exchanging the unit for a GE 6,300 BTU which ended up being a FAR better unit. The first problem was the directional vent that folds in. The way its designed seems to actually impede the air flow through the unit. In fact, when the vent was opened to the most upright position, I could actually hear the air turbulence increase from the flow restriction, and feel there was a reduced volume of air. Keeping the vent pointed directly outward, one "click" below fully up seemed to help, but even then the outward air was directed almost completely towards the right and still seemed to be restricted. Why even use this goofy design in the first place? What is the point in being able to fold the vent closed? Who would operate their air conditioning with a closed vent? It does not pull air from outside so when the A/C is off there is still no point in closing the vent. Simply removing this ridiculous vent and leaving an open hole would be a huge improvement for this unit. The second problem was with vibration. On any speed the unit vibrated pretty severely, and on high it was so bad I could actually hear the A/C unit reverberating through the entire side wall of my house even when on a different floor. Shutting off the unit and watching the blower slow to a stop made it easy to see the "squirrel cage" was not centered on the shaft and there was actually over an 1/8 of an inch of runout; no doubt the cause of the horrible vibration. WalMart let me exchange it for the GE 6,300 BTU model mentioned above which is MILES ahead of the Haier in every way.

Was this review helpful? (37) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Becomeanotherperson
Boyertown, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
PLEASE READ!
6/10/2011

Customer review by Kgraphics

1.0 stars by Kgraphics

I bought this unit yesterday from our local Walmart. I was upset that they decided to carry more expensive units only, but had no choice but to buy it. The direction are HORRIBLE. I got the unit put together and set into the windoe. Turned it on and set it. It took FOREVER to blow cool air, much less cold. After it ran for about an hour the lights in the house started surging and the unit made a strange noice. I went outside to look at the electric meter and found the dial spinning SO incredibly fast that I couldn't even see the line markers. I quickly cut off the unit and the meter eventually slowed down. I had the power company come and check the meter and an electrician come check the house internally. There were NO problems with my electricity. I was asked to plug the unit inot a different room just to make sure and after 20 minutes the events started again and the meter went haywire. I returned the unit to Walmart (and we all know how convenient that is). The staff was very nice and quickly exchanged my unit, but when I brought the new one back to the service desk, the woman looked at me and said, "You're getting the SAME KIND?" umm, I have no choice sense I cannot afford the next unit up at 200 bucks! It's in the high 90's here and I have children!!! The new unit is installed and has been running for about two hours. So far no issue BUT, compared to the 6300BTU unit I have from GE in my livingroom, this 6000BTU unit is WEAK and NOT worth all that money. Why did I get the same kind? Because all the other stores were out and I'm on VERY limited money. If you can afford a better model, BUY IT and stay away from this one!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (30) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Kgraphics
Staunton. VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Love this A/C :)
8/1/2011

Customer review by ItalianSoxGirl77

5.0 stars by ItalianSoxGirl77

I have owned this ac now for several weeks and found it to be great! I have a rather large 1 bedroom second floor apartment and this ac does the entire house! Except an enclosed porch which I have closed off. It runs fairly quiet and I must say it can get chilly :) I love the Energy Star mode. When I'm at work and I need to leave this running all day for my cat at home and on hot days when I want to walk into my house with the humidity gone,I set it to Energy Star Mode;low setting and it does the job very well. I used to have an 8,000 btu ac and it didnt do half the job. I am actually very impressed with this ac and did not ecpect it to do the job it does for only 6,000 btu's. I have ran this ac for several days non stop during a month and my electric bill went up maybe $13.00. I couldnt believe how little it cost! Also, it is quiet. I don't find myself blasting the TV to hear it. It is not in the livingroom, It's in the next room several feet from the tv. I highly recommend this ac.

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
ItalianSoxGirl77
Boston, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
DONT BUY IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
7/24/2011

Customer review by Speedysal

1.0 stars by Speedysal

The A/C does blow cold but the 3 speeds dont work, it will only work on low. The unit has no drain holes in the bottom so it fills up with water in the tray which it eventually fills the fan with water and you can hear the water gurgleing inside the fan. I have to take the unit out every other day and drain out the fan even after drilling 2 drain holes in the bottom of the unit myself

Was this review helpful? (14) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Speedysal
Coventry R.I.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
good ac
6/30/2011

Customer review by kristin73

4.0 stars by kristin73

I love this ac,my only problems are the top vent only blows one direction at mytv. It cools off my 15 by 15 livingroom plus dining room and hall.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
kristin73
slc,utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
not a bad unit
8/21/2011

Customer review by rthurman39

4.0 stars by rthurman39

although i was not overly impressed with this unit, it does cools my bedroom [14 x 14 with 10 ft ceilings] . on a mid 90,s day it kept my room at 73/74 degrees on high cool and surprizingly it does work better on low cool, 70 to 71 degrees. i have had no problems with the remote or control settings, it was easy to assemble, but make sure you tilt it when installing because it does not have a drain hole in bottom pan. overall if the durabilty holds up, it was worth the price .

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
rthurman39
chattanooga, tn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
cools great keeps my room at 61 degrees
5/21/2012

Customer review by aradam2978

5.0 stars by aradam2978

I have had Kenmore, Whirlpool, and GE all ok but this one cools the best wasn't expecting the best but got it on clearance 4 yrs ago for $50 and has been the best i did drill a drain hole in bottom of outside, the water splashing got annoying, has performed very well i keep my room between 61 to 65 in summer at night and it allows me to shut off my central air at night i have a 1200 sq ft house when i get up in morning my house most times has stayed around 69 degrees as i keep my bedroom door open, i cant complain at all for $50, but my others didn't even make more than 3 years each My Haier is on year number 4, built cheaply but its outlasted the name brands i use to trust

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
aradam2978
rock island IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very Good Value
6/6/2012

Customer review by cp46

5.0 stars by cp46

Can't beat this unit for the price paid. One of the quietest window air conditioners I've ever purchased. Overall, performs to expectations, however, the fan unit seems to have some inconsistencies in terms of noise. I purchased one unit for one bedroom. The fan even on low speed seemed to "howl", and was much louder than expected. I purchased a second unit for a different bedroom, and the second unit was extremely quiet, with no fan issue. I returned the first unit and purchased the same model as a replacement. The 3rd unit was significant quiter, but a slight rubbing noise was heard as the fan rotated. Still - very quiet, and for the most part, hardly noticible. This A/C unit cools very well, is very quiet, and performs as advertised.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
cp46
Buffalo, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Excellent, Quiet Room Air Conditioner
6/24/2012

Customer review by YetAnotherOldMan

5.0 stars by YetAnotherOldMan

I bought a Haier 6,000-BTU ESA406K-L air conditioner 14 months ago. It has proven to be an adequate performer. We especially like it because it is so quiet. At the same time, I bought an 8,000-BTU of another "better" brand. It is so noisy that we can't watch TV in the room with it running. The Haier is much quieter. I like the Haier so much, that I bought another one like it this morning that I will install in a different room. I like it because it is Energy Star rated and it also has an energy saving setting that turns off the fan when the unit isn't cooling. This adds to its quiet profile. The only thing some people might not like is that its fan doesn't put out much air, even at high speed. This hasn't proven to be a problem and is one reason it is so quiet.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
YetAnotherOldMan
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 500 contributor
great unit
7/25/2011

Customer review by boots1999

4.0 stars by boots1999

I was skeptical in buying this unit after the bad reviews but i am very impressed with this unit.Very easy to install and cooled my bedroom down to a nice cool temp. in about a hour.Unit runs very quiet.I dont see any problems as the other reviews and seems to be well built.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
boots1999
ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Horrible do NOT waste your time!!
6/7/2011

Customer review by Irked1990

1.0 stars by Irked1990

This product is such a waste! 2 Summers ago my father purchased a GE 5000 btu for my attic room that is 7 by 10 and It worked excellent for 2 summers. So this year he picked a new one up Just my luck it's even worse than my old one that hardly works anymore. The unit is loud, and only pushes the air around. I had success the first night with it but since then it's awful. Since my dad purchased this he refuses to return it claiming that my room is just too big for it and since the unit reads 15 degrees lower than outside it's working...NOT! The unit only blows air out of the top panel, and then it's not even the top (It's the top of the top....see pictures below!) And I've also recently found out that the whole thing ices over, (Which is probably why it says its 62 in my room when it's more of 85) I made this discovery after trying to clean the filter but my parents insist that it's nothing to be concerned about. I have to wait 2 hours to defrost the ice before the unit spits out cold air, then it only blows cold for 2-3 hours before having to defrost it again PLEASE! Do NOT buy!!!

Was this review helpful? (8) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Irked1990
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Best Haier A/C ever!
5/4/2012

Customer review by sherini

5.0 stars by sherini

I can't imagine why there are so many negative reviews on this air conditioner! I purchased this model yesterday, May 3, 2012 from our local Walmart Superstore in St. Clairsville, Ohio. This was a replacement for my living room a/c which died recently. I've had a 5,000 btu Haier in my kitchen window for approx. six years now and it performs great! I have had other Haier products and trust in the name. I love every feature especially the Energy Star and the remote. It was very easy to install by my daughter and by the short time that I arrived back home from the grocery store I couldn't believe how cool the house felt. Bottom line, I wouldn't have any other make and model except this one!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
sherini
Yorkville, OH
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Great A/C
7/4/2012

Customer review by 20pace12

4.0 stars by 20pace12

Bought this and put in my bedroom and it cooled GREAT even tho it wasn't big enough for the room size. The only BAD thing about it was it let in the mosquitoes. But fixed that with a pair of pantyhose over the back.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
20pace12
DeWitt,AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Mine Works Fine.
7/6/2012

Customer review by Bobby2626

4.0 stars by Bobby2626

After buying this air conditioner, I read the reviews and noticed that some people were quite dissatisfied. I suppose people who wrote negative reviews purchased defective units. The one I bought works fine and meets my expectation. The reviewer who criticized the instructions is correct. The instructions are not clear. Nevertheless, the air conditioner is not hard to install, and I was able to install mine based on the instructions that were provided. I'm satisfied with the purchase.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Bobby2626
Phila., PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
nice
6/29/2012

Customer review by hismommy2010

4.0 stars by hismommy2010

this ac is nice and quiet. i only use it for my living room because i live in a trailer and i closed off the rest of the house to the living room. iv only had it about two or three days and its working great. im so use to my house being so hot and i cant afford much but it works great for me my husband and son! we love it. and it drains out the window not inside like our last one did! its a great a/c

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
hismommy2010
appalachia va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
My Second Season With It...
6/17/2011

Customer review by DontLikeNewStuff

3.0 stars by DontLikeNewStuff

Got a 1000 sq ft house laid out with a definite front and back. One unit of higher BTU won't work. Got an older Haier, 5200 BTU, in the front. It's awesome. So I thought I was upgrading on one for the back with a 6000 BTU. My problem? I forgot nothing new is as good as something old. This one is much noisier than my older unit. I can live with it in the back of the house where I don't care as much. But I wouldn't want this thing in my living room and certainly not my bedroom. At the unit it cools great and all functions work. The dehumidifier function is great for me because my house is very damp. I don't have to freeze to keep the humidity down. But the fan is really weak on it. If you were trying to cool a larger area I think sitting a fan in front of it would help tremendously. So I'd say, hey, for the value it was worth it to me. Just got to remember to keep those old things going as long as possible. ;-)

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
DontLikeNewStuff
Central IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Price
6/18/2012

Customer review by GNOMEME

5.0 stars by GNOMEME

Was easy to install, Cools rooms very well. Uses little energy. I bought it on line at the store. That way I knew It would be there when I went in. Another great idea Walmart has. Select it and then pick it up.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
GNOMEME
Central Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Definately does what is promisses
7/6/2012

Customer review by MaleHumanoid

5.0 stars by MaleHumanoid

Purchased it last summer for a 1998 Mobile Home. Durring a heat wave (106F) kept inside temps tolerable in my living room and kitchen (14x28 feet area) when assisted by an osolating fan. That's a lot to ask for from a 6000 BTU window unit! It's 94F outside and 81F inside. Put it in a smaller room and it will bring down temps further. A better insolated home would improve performance. Great purchase for the money. Plan on buying another one for bedroom (14x14 feet). Highly recommend it if you can't afford a higher BTU one. If you factor what you pay out, the size room it is designed for, your home's insulation rating and the outside temps it must operate in you will see it's a great purchase for the money spent. Keeping in mind that good aint cheap and cheap aint good, this unit breaks the mold.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
MaleHumanoid
Spring Lake NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent!
7/23/2012

Customer review by Rwichy

5.0 stars by Rwichy

I returned my GE A/C to Walmart since it did not work well, and then purchased this one. So far it works perfectly. I live in a 1-bedroom apartment with larger area than than A/C's capability, but the A/C still gives cool air quickly. It easily reaches ~65 F during night. I would highly recommend this A/C: although it has lower rates compared with GE on Walmart (based on my experience, weird), it is a powerful and reliable A/C with affordable price. Love it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Rwichy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 53 total reviews