Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 20 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

20 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

20 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

55%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
8
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 stars
4
1-18 of 18 total reviews
55%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Amazing
5/1/2011

Customer review by HomeShopper1

5.0 stars 5/1/2011 by HomeShopper1
by HomeShopper1

I shopped around to find a reel mower and came accross this model. It seemed the design was well thought out. This is like no mower I have used. It is as easy to push as a lawn feeder and leaves the best cut I have seen. My neighbors at first kidded me about it, didn't have a motor, hard to push, etc. Well, after they tried it, four additional purchases were made. It is easier than my old self propelled mower, faster to get around the yard and the lawn is actually "cut" like a scissors and looks great. Get this, you will be happy, if not you are doing something wrong. Read the instructions and follow them. Simple. I am not what you would call a hard core "green" person but it does not use fuel and is good exercise.

Was this review helpful? (54) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HomeShopper1
League City, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
So far, so good
6/13/2011

Customer review by Pinkaminks

4.0 stars 6/13/2011 by Pinkaminks
by Pinkaminks

Our gas mower died, after already spending nearly $100 in repairs for it this year. So, I did some internet searching on manual reel mowers and decided to purchase the Fiskars Momentum. I was worried it would be too heavy for me and that it would not cut well. It arrived at WalMart sooner than predicted, just in time to cut the grass before it got too long. We had to wait a day due to rain. I wanted to watch my husband make the first pass, but he snuck out and I caught him as he noiselessly went past the kitchen window. It is more of a workout than the gas mower, so he mows the front yard and I mow the back. Good exercise. We don't know how well it would mow if we had a thicker stand of grass. Our grass is fine-bladed and not as dense as we'd like, so it mows through it quite well. I want to mention that we live in central Indiana, as most of the reviews I read online were from those with thicker, southern grass. Pros: My husband and I put it together with no problems and made the adjustments per the manual in less than an hour. It's a dream to get the job done without air or noise pollution. My husband can listen to his walkman as he mows - couldn't do that before. Grass clippings are very fine, don't accumulate on your shoes or pants, and don't end up as "clumps" throughout the yard as they did with the gas mower. Cons: I read other reviews that the wheels push the grass down, and that is one drawback of the mower. I find I have to overlap more than I'd expected. I'm not complaining a lot. The only energy wasted is my own, and I do need that workout.

Was this review helpful? (21) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Pinkaminks
West Lafayette, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Fantastc!!!!!!!
4/29/2011

Customer review by joedit

5.0 stars 4/29/2011 by joedit
by joedit

I tried the Scotts at home Depot. This beat them all. Get It!!!!

Was this review helpful? (21) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
joedit
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great mower! Great exercise!
5/27/2011

Customer review by textom

5.0 stars 5/27/2011 by textom
by textom

I have owned my Fiskars Momentum reel mower for about a month now and each time I mow my lawn I'm amazed at the engineering involved and the great design of this mower. I live in Montana and my lawn is not what you would call manicured. I have quack grass and other kinds of weeds in it, but this mower works amazingly well. Follow the directions in the well written booklet included, don't let the grass get too long, but if it does just make two passes. It seriously is not much harder to push than my old push gas powered mower. And by the time you take into account the gassing up, the starting up ect., it actually takes less time to use. It cuts the grass very finely for mulching and now has a grass catcher available that also works great!! A seriously innovative piece of equipment that is a joy to use, And it's a great workout!! !!!

Was this review helpful? (18) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
textom
Missoula, Mt.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Worth the money
5/4/2012

Customer review by lsvbg2

5.0 stars 5/4/2012 by lsvbg2
by lsvbg2

Cutting the grass used to be a real torture for me, with all the wire extensions, mess created by the flying around grass and big noise. Now it is like a walk in the park. The machine cuts everything without an effort, just don't forget to adjust the blades as described in the manual and you will see the difference. It is VERY important to have the edges perfectly aligned for the proper operation of the mower, since they might have come out of place during shipping or assembling. Actually I cannot wait until the next time the grass grows, so I can use this amazing device again.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lsvbg2
Pittsburgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
superior product!
7/7/2011

Customer review by 2011newenglandgardener

5.0 stars 7/7/2011 by 2011newenglandgardener
by 2011newenglandgardener

incredible mower! best investment we've made. easy online purchase. quick delivery. mower assembly and blade adjustments extremely straightforward. had mower unpacked and in use within 15 minutes. mower cuts grass and weeds so effortlessly. don't even break a sweat pushing this mower ... easier than any gasoline powered mower. best of all no engine noise, no gasoline, no oil, no fumes and a great looking backyard.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
2011newenglandgardener
new england
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
WARNING: Don't Purchase
6/11/2012

Customer review by SirBeef

1.0 stars 6/11/2012 by SirBeef
by SirBeef

I never write reviews for anything, but I feel others need to know about this "mower" before they make the same mistake I did. To be completely honesty in this review, I purchased this mower from Lowes; but that should have no bearing on the products performance. Shortly after buying the mower, I assembled (which took some time) and began cutting my grass. For the first few minutes I was in love. The mower breezed through the grass with little effort, and left me gas-smell and grass-clipping free. However, upon further inspection of the yard after cutting, I noticed that the mower won't cut a certain type of grass (not a grass expert so I can't tell you the type, but it has longer thicker stalks). So I basically had a short lawn with sporadic single high blades sprinkled throughout. I also noticed that it has a hard time cutting taller dandelion stalks. It will essentially just press them down onto the ground, but won't cut. Now if you're still reading this review I'll let you know that before cutting, I followed every instruction to the letter (adjusting the blade height, doing the paper test, etc.). This review will continue, and if it keeps you engaged then I'll lie and say there are dinosaurs and explosions later on in the story. To solve the issue with the tall strands it didn't cut, I had to hand pick every one of these out of the ground. Huge pain. I then moved into my backyard, which is located on a hill. This mower is great if you're going downhill permanently, but any attempt to go uphill is a ridiculous endeavor. If you haven't cut your grass within a week, you will need a full running head of steam to go uphill. Another issue with cutting on hills is that the mower can't handle bumps. If you have a lawn that has little recessed bumps here and there, the mower will go right overtop, leaving that area within the bump uncut. So after 2 months now of cutting, hand picking blades it didn't cut, running uphill, and using my WW to take care of the lower bumps; I then encounter the issue of the chain falling off. In case you didn't know, underneath the black plastic piece you see on the right side of the mower is a chain similar to a bicycle. If your chain pops off, you will need a socket set to unscrew the plastic piece and then use all your Hulk strength to get the chain back on. This issue happened four times, and with each resetting of the chain, it slowly started to damage a link in the chain which made it loose. Yesterday I was halfway through cutting my grass and the chain completely broke in half. The lawn mower is now completely dead without a functioning chain. I now have to go purchase another mower. This time it will be gas. If you buy this mower and your yard isn't completely flat, and made of only one type of grass; you're literally taking $200 and pulling a magic trick. Your money will disappear; while problems, headaches, anger, and regret will appear in its place. DON'T BUY!!!!

Was this review helpful? (12) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SirBeef
Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Does What You Expect
6/24/2011

Customer review by keifer1301

4.0 stars 6/24/2011 by keifer1301
by keifer1301

I read about this lawnmower in two different places before I purchased it. Both sources rated it highly. I was a little concerned about the cost, because it is twice as expensive as a typical reel mower, but I figured I'd be more upset if I bought a cheaper model which didn't perform as well. After my first month using it, I can say that the Momentum manages to chew through pretty thick grass without much of a problem. Of course, you ARE providing the power, which can be considerable in thick grass. The height adjustment is a snap to use, so that it is easy to mow long grass by going over it at a higher blade height setting, then mowing the same area again at a lower height setting. I understand that the only maintenance that a reel mower needs is for the blades to be sharpened. However, Fiskars claims that the Momentum may never need sharpening if the mower is calibrated before its first use. Whether that is true or not remains to be seen. The only complaint I have about the Momentum is that four wheels are harder to turn than two. When I get to the end of a pass, it is a bit of a struggle to do the U-turn for the next pass. That is enough for me to drop my overall rating from five to four stars.

Was this review helpful? (8) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
keifer1301
Philadelphia Suburbs
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Very nice
4/9/2012

Customer review by MTBRider

5.0 stars 4/9/2012 by MTBRider
by MTBRider

I do like the way this mower works and it has cut down every thing and most of the dandelion shoots. It was easy to assemble and to push around the yard, but I bought mine at Lowe’s for $199 and had it mowing the lawn that afternoon not 10 days later.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MTBRider
Mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Easier than a push power motor!
7/5/2012

Customer review by oldredeye

5.0 stars 7/5/2012 by oldredeye
by oldredeye

Only one (as noted by another customer). One handle adjustment clip pin was missing. 19 cents at your local hardware store. Positive, my 12 year old son loves it!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
oldredeye
Clovis, Ca.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Was not good on an uneven yard.
4/24/2012

Customer review by nextdoorjoe

2.0 stars 4/24/2012 by nextdoorjoe
by nextdoorjoe

I researched the Fiskars Reel mower and was excited about the product and using it. My yard is about a 5 year old yard and has many uneven contours to it that made mowing with this product difficult. I do, however, think it would be much easier to use on a flat yard that doesn't require going up and down hill as much. I rated the value as fair, because I believe that it should have included a grass catcher with it instead of that being separately and unable to be purchased through Wal-Mart either online or in the store. It was very easy to put together.

Was this review helpful? (4) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nextdoorjoe
Fort Worth, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Don't Buy this mower
6/28/2012

Customer review by IdahoMtnGal

1.0 stars 6/28/2012 by IdahoMtnGal
by IdahoMtnGal

We watched the video..it looked great, made it look like it would really cut the grass. If you have a lawn that is perfectly smooth and cut daily..it might work. As you push the mower, it is easy to push, however it BENDS the grass you are trying to cut, over and does not cut it. My husband and I both tried it and I know I went over one section about five times to get it to cut. I don't have time to do that. I thought with it being the brand it is and the price it is, it would work..I was very wrong. We are sending the mower back.

Was this review helpful? (3) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
IdahoMtnGal
Idaho Falls, Id
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
5/28/2012

Customer review by shepchap

2.0 stars 5/28/2012 by shepchap
by shepchap

This lawn mower cuts grass great but does not cut any weeds or dandelions.

Was this review helpful? (2) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shepchap
Would recommend to a friend? No
Didn't work for me...
3/22/2012

Customer review by B2thaJ

1.0 stars 3/22/2012 by B2thaJ
by B2thaJ

I bought this mower trying to be a little more environmentally aware...and also to not have to buy gasoline to cut the yard (especially since the price of fuel has gone up). When it arrived at the store for me to pick up I was anxious to try it out. I bought it home and put it together and tried to put it to use. It didn't cut any grass so I lowered the blade. Then it kept getting stuck. I took it back to the store the very next day and got my money back. I grew up using the old one's and they worked well...they were just heavy...guess that's one reason why I'm no weakling. Anyhoo to each his own. Didn't work for me at all.

Was this review helpful? (5) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
B2thaJ
Shreveport
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Disappointment
8/8/2011

Customer review by AJ0890

1.0 stars 8/8/2011 by AJ0890
by AJ0890

I purchased this mower with high hopes, but it failed in every aspect of a mower. Factory right out of the box it failed to even accomplish the basic requirements of a "mower." I found myself having to run over a patch multiple times due to the mower simply not cutting blades of grass. Returned it and purchased a Brute from Wal-Mart for $20 more. It worked splendidly right out of the box.

Was this review helpful? (2) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AJ0890
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
great push mower
1/17/2015

Customer review by John1011

5.0 stars 1/17/2015 by John1011
by John1011

Great mower should get basket to make it even better.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
John1011
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great cut
6/26/2015

Customer review by DREP

4.0 stars 6/26/2015 by DREP
by DREP

Works best on a managed lawn.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DREP
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Requires some strength to use it
6/9/2015

Customer review by TrendyTail

3.0 stars 6/9/2015 by TrendyTail
by TrendyTail

This is a good mechanical machine, but I have to push it pretty hard and I get quite tired, even though it is a flat small front yard. Will not be using it on the back yard - too hard. I was expecting it to be easier to push. ( I am a 38 -year-old female).

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TrendyTail
Would recommend to a friend? No