Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 159 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

159 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

159 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

80%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
76
4 stars
39
3 stars
17
2 stars
10
1 stars
17
1-20 of 147 total reviews
80%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 147 total reviews
1-20 of 147 reviews
Worth every penny
2/19/2011

Customer review by LoyalShopper28

5.0 stars 2/19/2011 by LoyalShopper28
by LoyalShopper28

I first bought this gate 8years ago for my first baby! We have used it with every baby since... I have four children and it suffered no damage. We are buying a new one because dad stepped on it and snapped the plastic. But other than that I have no complaints. Easy to use in multiple areas. Great product!

Was this review helpful? (58) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LoyalShopper28
Garden Grove, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Wonderful
4/30/2011

Customer review by PMLmommy

5.0 stars 4/30/2011 by PMLmommy
by PMLmommy

This gate has been used everyday since we got it. I have not had the opportunity to hang it up, but as a free standing gate it works perfectly. It does what it needs to and is very sturdy.

Was this review helpful? (29) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PMLmommy
Springfield, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
I have 2 of these & LOVE them!
10/19/2011

Customer review by 1stAmericanRose

5.0 stars 10/19/2011 by 1stAmericanRose
by 1stAmericanRose

I use them for my Weimaraners... LOVE these GATES! You can install them in different ways. I use them without installing any screws and they keep tight against the door opening... Will buy more too. They are much STURDIER than the wood ones. FYI: Weimaraners are tall dogs & they do not attempt to go over. I have had one for many years and just bought another to replace a 'falling apart' wooden gate!

Was this review helpful? (42) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
1stAmericanRose
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
they are great!!!!!!
5/17/2011

Customer review by mememay

5.0 stars 5/17/2011 by mememay
by mememay

i have used these gates for kids and dogs they are the best i have used them a very long time i bet 15 years or longer. i have never had one break just replaced them being white they tend to get dirty easy but are easy to clean will not stop buying them the last ones i had were well over 10 years old before i replaced then and put1 out by the trash and some took it, it was not broken just dirty. i kept the other 2 for out side use it is really hard to break them. i ordered 2 might get another if i need it.

Was this review helpful? (24) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mememay
KANSAS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great for my Silky Terrier
7/8/2012

Customer review by Glasslady2

5.0 stars 7/8/2012 by Glasslady2
by Glasslady2

I bought this gate to keep my dog in the kitchen at night. He weighs 25 - 30 pounds. It works very well for this purpose and he doesn't seem to mind it. My door opening is 41 inches wide which is wider than normal, and it fits fine. It will also fit smaller doorways. It has a very easy to use locking or unlocking handle on it. You pull the handle out towards you and then pull up to unlock or pull handle down and push inward to lock it into 1 of the 3 locking holes. It couldn't be easier to use. It's made of a sturdy plastic material that should last for years. You can use it with or without the metal mounting device that comes with it. I did not use the mounting device, but if you will be using it for a child, then I think you should. Great Product!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Glasslady2
Bedford, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
North States - Supergate III Gate
5/3/2012

Customer review by mynewgarden

5.0 stars 5/3/2012 by mynewgarden
by mynewgarden

•Baby gate can be used as a swing gate (hardware included for easy hinge mounting)

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mynewgarden
Northumberland, N.H.
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
awesome gate, extremely safe and durable
6/14/2012

Customer review by mom2bunches

5.0 stars 6/14/2012 by mom2bunches
by mom2bunches

I bought my first Supergate 21 years ago. It has been the only gate I have used for 18 kids. I have at times had it attached to a door frame, but mostly I have used it as a portable gate. It still works just as well as the day I bought it. Another really great aspect is that you can buy replacement parts from North States for very little money. I have replaced 2 of the rubber bumpers on the sides of the gates over the years, and today I ordered another one for $1.25. I am buying a new gate today as we are expecting a new baby, and I will need more than one gate in our new house. I think you will be very satisfied with this gate.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mom2bunches
Southern CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Sturdy
2/12/2014

Customer review by 123456rh

5.0 stars 2/12/2014 by 123456rh
by 123456rh

It was easy to install and it's sturdy when it's locked. I have it blocking the top of my steps. My son stands near it and pushes it and it doesn't budge. I have also tried to move it when it's locked and it stay in place. The lock is a little strange to get use to because you pull it up and fit it in a slot to lock. It wasn't expensive so I wasn't expecting it to be great to look at but it's really not bad. I've had several people ask me where I got it. It serves it's purpose and keeps my son safe.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
123456rh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awful gate
12/25/2012

Customer review by MaMaBoom

1.0 stars 12/25/2012 by MaMaBoom
by MaMaBoom

So I bought this gate because my son cracked my wooden one, which by the way was an amazing gate. After having the gate for a month it won't lock onto the walls. Specifically the top portion of the gate.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MaMaBoom
Newark, OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
6/19/2012

Customer review by Charlie4469

5.0 stars 6/19/2012 by Charlie4469
by Charlie4469

At the price I expected to find gate to be on the fairly weak side, but I was pleasantly surprised to find them to be rugged and just what I needed to keep my pets inside the house when the door is opened. They are easy to install and take down to store. Will definitely reccommend them to any one that needs to block off a door or hallway from children and pets.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Charlie4469
Branson, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Works on any entry way.
7/18/2012

Customer review by klarson1956

5.0 stars 7/18/2012 by klarson1956
by klarson1956

I was hesitant when it did not lock in evenly but then realized it was the house that was uneven not the gate. It has worked great. I have three dogs and lock them in or out of areas. It is so nice and easy to carry. Works on all my entry ways and doors. The locking system is great.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
klarson1956
South Range WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Overall great value but with some limitations
5/24/2013

Customer review by paulk98

3.0 stars 5/24/2013 by paulk98
by paulk98

This gate is a great value at this price but I had to go through some alterations as to how I installed on the top of the stairway. I wanted to install this gate as a 'swing gate' with some type of locking system so that my baby cannot open it by herself. I tried installing with the hardware they provided but they are lacking some sturdiness and functionality. so, I went on my own and designed this gate myself. First of all I had to use 2x1 wood to secure the wall mount as direct mount was not sturdy enough on the drywall to withstand everyday swings. So I used the wood to place them between the wall and the bracket. On the other side, I also used the wood to work as a gate swing stopper. I screwed the wood on the wall frame and this acts as a stoppage of gate. this worked out well as the end but if you're not a handy person, this gate may have some limitations of functionality as you would have to open and close the gate with level to lock with pressure everytime which can be a lot of hassle.

Was this review helpful? (6) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
paulk98
diamond bar, ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good deal
2/24/2014

Customer review by TerraC

5.0 stars 2/24/2014 by TerraC
by TerraC

It seems to be a sturdy plastic simple gate. I like how it locks into place. Easy to use and figure out. If you are buying this for the stairs or bedroom doorway, I suggest using the wall mounted guard accessories it comes with. This can EASILY be pushed down even at it's tightest setting. But put in the guards and that gate isn't budging. For the price you pay, it's a great deal.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TerraC
Scott AFB, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
3/9/2013

Customer review by WonderMom247365

4.0 stars 3/9/2013 by WonderMom247365
by WonderMom247365

It is sturdy and it is keeping my two year old from entering the kitchen. I had a wood one and she could shake it and open the lever, with this one she can't shake it as it is very tight in the walkway and there is no way she can open it, because I can barely open it myself.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WonderMom247365
Chino Valley, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
5/20/2013

Customer review by keisha01

3.0 stars 5/20/2013 by keisha01
by keisha01

I thought the product info stated that the gate can either be nailed to wall or pressure mounted. So this is why I purchased it because I didnt want to drill any holes into wall. You can use at top or bottom of steps. But once I opened it on gate it states that for top of steps hardware is to be used. Now I have to drill into my wall. I wish that info stated this before I ordered and waited almost 2 weeks for shipping.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
keisha01
yeadon pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
sufficient for my use.
4/21/2014

Customer review by stumpcajun

3.0 stars 4/21/2014 by stumpcajun
by stumpcajun

Works but a bit hard to open for us elderly...

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
stumpcajun
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
10/26/2012

Customer review by Moonlynx

5.0 stars 10/26/2012 by Moonlynx
by Moonlynx

I had to return this product because it was a little too high for me climb over so many times a day. I bought it to keep puppy from bedrooms and bathroom (cat littler box). But it is a very sturdy gate. Does what it is supposed to do and great price.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Moonlynx
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
8/30/2013

Customer review by mad4sid

5.0 stars 8/30/2013 by mad4sid
by mad4sid

This gate was purchased to keep my new puppy in a confined area until she is trained. It seems to be working just fine.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mad4sid
Queens, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Little Gate
6/29/2014

Customer review by SatisfiedCustomer777

5.0 stars 6/29/2014 by SatisfiedCustomer777
by SatisfiedCustomer777

Great for why purchased ~ to keep small dogs and small child on deck. Easy to set up, looks great, and works fine.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SatisfiedCustomer777
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great gate for toddlers
7/31/2014

Customer review by sapphire2

5.0 stars 7/31/2014 by sapphire2
by sapphire2

I really like this gate .It works very well and last a long time. I had one before that I used outside on my porch so as my pets and children did not get out. It lasted me for 5 years. And I'm sure I will get the same from this one.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sapphire2
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 147 total reviews
1-20 of 147 reviews