Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 260 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

260 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

260 reviews | 4 out of 5

80%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
134
4 stars
55
3 stars
26
2 stars
19
1 stars
26
1-20 of 248 total reviews
80%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 248 total reviews
1-20 of 248 reviews
Perfect for my dogs.
2/10/2017

Customer review by AnaBackwards

5.0 stars 2/10/2017 by AnaBackwards
by AnaBackwards

I don't know about kids, but this gate keeps my two dogs contained. I bought it for Halloween so I could keep the door open for the trick-or-treaters but not let my dogs out (they still had to show of their costumes too!). It's the perfect height and it adjusts snugly to many size doors.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AnaBackwards
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Worst baby gate ever
5/12/2017

Customer review by Kbattles

1.0 stars 5/12/2017 by Kbattles
by Kbattles

I bought this to keep our puppy and new baby out of our kitchen. Returning it tomorrow. We can't lock it with pressure, the only way it'll lock with pressure makes it too small for our door frame or too big. We've tried messing with it to get it to lock WITH PRESSURE for hours now and it'll lock but as soon as you touch it it falls over because there's no pressure keeping it secure. Defeats the purpose of a baby gate. Our doorway is 33 inches wide and this says it fits up to 42 inches so I'm not sure what the problem is. We can't use screws in the door frame where we live (we rent) so now we either have to find a new decent pressure mount gate or come up with a different solution. It's like it only locks with enough pressure to keep it secure at certain lengths which shouldn't be the case, it should be able to lock with pressure to keep it secure at any length. Don't waste your money on this.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kbattles
Would recommend to a friend? No
Overall great value but with some limitations
5/24/2013

Customer review by paulk98

3.0 stars 5/24/2013 by paulk98
by paulk98
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This gate is a great value at this price but I had to go through some alterations as to how I installed on the top of the stairway. I wanted to install this gate as a 'swing gate' with some type of locking system so that my baby cannot open it by herself. I tried installing with the hardware they provided but they are lacking some sturdiness and functionality. so, I went on my own and designed this gate myself. First of all I had to use 2x1 wood to secure the wall mount as direct mount was not sturdy enough on the drywall to withstand everyday swings. So I used the wood to place them between the wall and the bracket. On the other side, I also used the wood to work as a gate swing stopper. I screwed the wood on the wall frame and this acts as a stoppage of gate. this worked out well as the end but if you're not a handy person, this gate may have some limitations of functionality as you would have to open and close the gate with level to lock with pressure everytime which can be a lot of hassle.

Was this review helpful? (24) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
paulk98
diamond bar, ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:35 - 44
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for my Silky Terrier
7/8/2012

Customer review by Glasslady2

5.0 stars 7/8/2012 by Glasslady2
by Glasslady2

I bought this gate to keep my dog in the kitchen at night. He weighs 25 - 30 pounds. It works very well for this purpose and he doesn't seem to mind it. My door opening is 41 inches wide which is wider than normal, and it fits fine. It will also fit smaller doorways. It has a very easy to use locking or unlocking handle on it. You pull the handle out towards you and then pull up to unlock or pull handle down and push inward to lock it into 1 of the 3 locking holes. It couldn't be easier to use. It's made of a sturdy plastic material that should last for years. You can use it with or without the metal mounting device that comes with it. I did not use the mounting device, but if you will be using it for a child, then I think you should. Great Product!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (42) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Glasslady2
Bedford, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:55 - 64
Worth every penny
2/19/2011

Customer review by LoyalShopper28

5.0 stars 2/19/2011 by LoyalShopper28
by LoyalShopper28

I first bought this gate 8years ago for my first baby! We have used it with every baby since... I have four children and it suffered no damage. We are buying a new one because dad stepped on it and snapped the plastic. But other than that I have no complaints. Easy to use in multiple areas. Great product!

Was this review helpful? (82) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LoyalShopper28
Garden Grove, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
Fairly sturdy baby gate with a couple of issues
12/28/2016

Customer review by DJS1

3.0 stars 12/28/2016 by DJS1
by DJS1
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This baby gate was purchased for a dog. I did not attach it using the hardware as this was not required. It is a fairly sturdy baby gate and works well in a fixed position. However, opening and closing it is crude. It does not slide without some fiddling. Also, the locking arm is clunky to latch and unlatch. You need to anticipate a position shy of the desired fully closed position to latch it if you are trying to pressure mount it between a door frame without the hardware. Otherwise the arm won't lock into position. I believe this gate is really designed to be mounted in a doorway with the hardware where the full locked position leaves a little bit of clearance on both sides of the door frame so it can be easily swung open and closed.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DJS1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome Baby/Dog Gate
7/22/2016

Customer review by Melinda

5.0 stars 7/22/2016 by Melinda
by Melinda
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Love these gates. I use them to block my 140 lb dog from certain areas. They are SUPER easy to use and VERY sturdy. It is also super easy to undo the latch and remove the gate when needed. Very happy with these gates.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Melinda
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awful!!
5/20/2016

Customer review by Eggbutt1

1.0 stars 5/20/2016 by Eggbutt1
by Eggbutt1
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased two of these gates to keep puppies contained. The adjustment and locking mechanism does not work or hold which makes the gate useless. If a small puppy can push it down, imagine what a toddler could do. These will be returned!!

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Eggbutt1
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great product for the price!
1/7/2016

Customer review by KinFLA

4.0 stars 1/7/2016 by KinFLA
by KinFLA

Very happy with the purchase. Using is as a gate to confine the dogs to the tiled area of our home. Not very decorative, but totally funtional and easy to install, move to other areas of the home, or carry on trips.

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KinFLA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I have 2 of these & LOVE them!
10/19/2011

Customer review by 1stAmericanRose

5.0 stars 10/19/2011 by 1stAmericanRose
by 1stAmericanRose

I use them for my Weimaraners... LOVE these GATES! You can install them in different ways. I use them without installing any screws and they keep tight against the door opening... Will buy more too. They are much STURDIER than the wood ones. FYI: Weimaraners are tall dogs & they do not attempt to go over. I have had one for many years and just bought another to replace a 'falling apart' wooden gate!

Was this review helpful? (57) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
1stAmericanRose
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Age:55 - 64
great gate
1/6/2016

Customer review by Paytience

5.0 stars 1/6/2016 by Paytience
by Paytience

Very durable! Great buy!

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Paytience
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
they are great!!!!!!
5/17/2011

Customer review by mememay

5.0 stars 5/17/2011 by mememay
by mememay

i have used these gates for kids and dogs they are the best i have used them a very long time i bet 15 years or longer. i have never had one break just replaced them being white they tend to get dirty easy but are easy to clean will not stop buying them the last ones i had were well over 10 years old before i replaced then and put1 out by the trash and some took it, it was not broken just dirty. i kept the other 2 for out side use it is really hard to break them. i ordered 2 might get another if i need it.

Was this review helpful? (32) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mememay
KANSAS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:55 - 64
Wonderful
4/30/2011

Customer review by PMLmommy

5.0 stars 4/30/2011 by PMLmommy
by PMLmommy

This gate has been used everyday since we got it. I have not had the opportunity to hang it up, but as a free standing gate it works perfectly. It does what it needs to and is very sturdy.

Was this review helpful? (32) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PMLmommy
Springfield, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
awesome gate, extremely safe and durable
6/14/2012

Customer review by mom2bunches

5.0 stars 6/14/2012 by mom2bunches
by mom2bunches

I bought my first Supergate 21 years ago. It has been the only gate I have used for 18 kids. I have at times had it attached to a door frame, but mostly I have used it as a portable gate. It still works just as well as the day I bought it. Another really great aspect is that you can buy replacement parts from North States for very little money. I have replaced 2 of the rubber bumpers on the sides of the gates over the years, and today I ordered another one for $1.25. I am buying a new gate today as we are expecting a new baby, and I will need more than one gate in our new house. I think you will be very satisfied with this gate.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mom2bunches
Southern CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Age:35 - 44
Worthless purchase
3/31/2016

Customer review by Rosieposiemotherof3

1.0 stars 3/31/2016 by Rosieposiemotherof3
by Rosieposiemotherof3

I purchased this gate for 2 purposes. (1) to keep the dogs from roaming the house when we are not home, and (2) to put at the top of the stairs during home group so small kids stay safe. This gate does NOT fit on a standard door, so there went keeping the the dogs in/out of bedrooms. As far as putting the gate at the top of the stairs once a week. Forget it! The gate does not slide open easily, so trying to get it to the right length so you can secure it is a challenge all in itself. When you do have it expanded and against the walls, Dont count on it staying! The latch is cheap plastic (like the rest of the gate) and the gate will probably shift before you can secure it. Taking the gate down is a pain to. There is no such thing as gently lift and pull to unlatch. I'll obviously be returning the gate today. Not sure how this would work for people who are using hardware to secure it, but I purchased this to be able to use for multiple purposes and in diffrent places throughout my house. NOT worth the purchase if you don't plan on using hardware. I can't give a review for the gate if hardware is in place, but it still won't fit any door in my house, so I'd be returning it anyway.

Was this review helpful? (8) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rosieposiemotherof3
Would recommend to a friend? No
Sturdy
2/12/2014

Customer review by 123456rh

5.0 stars 2/12/2014 by 123456rh
by 123456rh
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It was easy to install and it's sturdy when it's locked. I have it blocking the top of my steps. My son stands near it and pushes it and it doesn't budge. I have also tried to move it when it's locked and it stay in place. The lock is a little strange to get use to because you pull it up and fit it in a slot to lock. It wasn't expensive so I wasn't expecting it to be great to look at but it's really not bad. I've had several people ask me where I got it. It serves it's purpose and keeps my son safe.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
123456rh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
6/19/2012

Customer review by Charlie4469

5.0 stars 6/19/2012 by Charlie4469
by Charlie4469

At the price I expected to find gate to be on the fairly weak side, but I was pleasantly surprised to find them to be rugged and just what I needed to keep my pets inside the house when the door is opened. They are easy to install and take down to store. Will definitely reccommend them to any one that needs to block off a door or hallway from children and pets.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Charlie4469
Branson, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:55 - 64
North States - Supergate III Gate
5/3/2012

Customer review by mynewgarden

5.0 stars 5/3/2012 by mynewgarden
by mynewgarden

•Baby gate can be used as a swing gate (hardware included for easy hinge mounting)

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mynewgarden
Northumberland, N.H.
Usage:Every day
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:55 - 64
Gate
1/17/2017

Customer review by BlueHummer

1.0 stars 1/17/2017 by BlueHummer
by BlueHummer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This gate is nice and works great, the reason why I gave it a low mark is it claims it is a swing gate. Well to me thats not really true, it does come woth part to help attached it the wall but you still have to spread the gate to the size ans still have to lock it in place, because there is no other way to lock the gate closed.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BlueHummer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Door Gate
3/16/2017

Customer review by JFreeman

5.0 stars 3/16/2017 by JFreeman
by JFreeman
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I am fully satisfied with my purchase of 2 North States Supergates. They are attractive and function exactly as advertised, easy to set up and to store when not in use.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JFreeman
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 248 total reviews
1-20 of 248 reviews