Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 72 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

72 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

72 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

75%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
34
4 stars
19
3 stars
2
2 stars
5
1 stars
12
1-20 of 68 total reviews
75%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 68 total reviews
1-20 of 68 reviews
Great Dorm Buy
8/30/2011

Customer review by Bizzney

5.0 stars 8/30/2011 by Bizzney
by Bizzney

I got this because I needed somewhere to keep my social security card and insurance card in my dorm room. I have heard so much about identity theft happening in college so I decided to protect myself. This safe is awesome. It comes with a cord that will wrap around any heavy object therefore fastening itself in place. The inside compartment is HUGE for this small of safe. I fit my Zune mp3 player, ss card, insurance card, checks, and camera all in this box. I love it and I am so glad I bought it.

Was this review helpful? (61) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bizzney
Brodhead, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
will fit a glock 19 if you adjust it.
8/17/2011

Customer review by calguns

4.0 stars 8/17/2011 by calguns
by calguns

So I bought this to keep my glock 19 in a locked container, for in the car, or at home or where ever. There is a plastic sort of fuzzy soft tray on the inside of the metal container, somewhat like what they have at jewelry stores. This is removable. The glock 19 fits inside the metal container, plus two magazines (you have to stand them on their smaller side). However this will not fit into the plastic tray, unless you make small adjustments. I used scissors and cut some flaps on the thickest part of the tray where the lock is, to make room for the glock 19. It's cheap and works well. It would have been better if I didn't have to cut the flaps, but overall still a good value.

Was this review helpful? (50) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
calguns
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Perfect size
5/31/2011

Customer review by Alicia2345

5.0 stars 5/31/2011 by Alicia2345
by Alicia2345

I bought this for my son as he is going to College. It's the perfect size and lightweight. Also, love the fact that you can select your own password. Great product for the price.

Was this review helpful? (36) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Alicia2345
Inglewood, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
NO BOX included!!!!!
6/25/2012

Customer review by alfiebalfie

2.0 stars 6/25/2012 by alfiebalfie
by alfiebalfie

The safe itself is great.....the perfect gift for high school graduate heading off to college! That is why I bought a bunch of them to give as gifts to some of my son's friends. I had bought a couple in the store, but when they couldn't get any more in, I decided to purchase the rest from Walmart.com even though they were more expensive than in the store! To my surprise....I paid MORE, and got LESS!!! Each safe was shipped separately in an ugly brown beat up shipping box. And when I opened the boxes, I found only the safe (with no product box) inside! How can I give this as a gift? The ones from the store (which are the exact same product!) cost less and come in a box! So this is fine if you are ordering for your own use. But if you want to give as a gift, find a store that has them in stock and buy there.

Was this review helpful? (21) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
alfiebalfie
Chippewa Falls, wi
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Much bigger than you'd expect.
4/8/2012

Customer review by grexican

5.0 stars 4/8/2012 by grexican
by grexican

It's a much larger box than the image and description lets on. Passports, digital cameras, cell phones -- all sorts can fit into this thing. The combination is easy to program and re-program, and beats having to keep a key.

Was this review helpful? (15) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
grexican
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
small safe
8/23/2012

Customer review by cybermen

4.0 stars 8/23/2012 by cybermen
by cybermen

this was for my son who is going to college,good for a wallet and a few small things.HERE IS A TIP""""" by it in the store, the online price is a few dollars more for the same thing..what is walmart thinking??????

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cybermen
stony brook ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Awful!
8/21/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 8/21/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This "safe" is practically worthless. It literately took me less than a minute to pry it open with a butter knife. I didn't expect a bank vault for fifteen bucks, but this is useless. When you lock the safe the lid rocks back and forth and the front corners open at least a half an inch. It is a waste of money.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
North Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Works but bigger versions would be better
6/30/2013

Customer review by GreatDanes4U

4.0 stars 6/30/2013 by GreatDanes4U
by GreatDanes4U

Holds Glock 27 (40 S&W) with additional extended Glock 22 mag & med LED light. Probably would hold Glock 23 but forget the Glock 22. The cable allows quick attachment and keeps items out of the wrong hands as long as those are not determined hands or hands with tools! If you CCW, times when you should not carry requires for simple safety that the weapon's owner should use minimal safety measures. Depending on your State laws, this item may permit you to carry weapon in vehicle. *Check the states you are traveling through - like IL or CA or NY or...

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GreatDanes4U
Springfield, MO.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great for College Dorm
11/14/2013

Customer review by HollyO20

4.0 stars 11/14/2013 by HollyO20
by HollyO20

I bought this for my son to take to college to secure his medicine, ID's, debit card and cash. It has a metal cord that he secures around the desk support making it easy to maneuver under his bed. It is small enough to bring home on weekends, but big enough to hold what he needs secured. If someone is determined to get into it, they can, but it will deter anyone who is just curious (nosy). It sure beats just having the items laying around the room. It does the job adequately. He's happy with it.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HollyO20
Cincinnati, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nice for the money. Don't use for firearms UNLESS:
3/17/2013

Customer review by 308GTBi

5.0 stars 3/17/2013 by 308GTBi
by 308GTBi

Pretty good deal for the money. I know one of the reviews below stated that they store their gun in it, but I don't know that I'd actually advise that. (In fact, if you remove the plastic tray from the bottom, the sticker inside clearly indicates not to store a firearm in it). It's pretty thin (but not too bad) metal and you could easily pry open the rear hinge or simply pry it open. That being said, when I saw that review, I was intending to do just that. I cross state lines a few times a week between PA and NJ and I can not conceal carry in NJ. It "technically" would meet the requirement for a lockable place to store a firearm "not in the passenger compartment" but it could EASILY be opened with a screwdriver OR.... someone could give a good yank on the safe and pull it right off the included cable, then take it with them and open it later. HOWEVER, what I did was: Mounted it to the trunk, after I installed/tack welded a "3/4" thick pin" from the bottom of the safe, right through and out the top, (right behind the combination lock). (I'll update the review with a pic if I can). The pin has a hole in it (Like a hitch pin with a larger hole) and I place an additional lock on it. This makes it very secure AND since it's mounted securely in the trunk, it would take a little bit of work to pry it open by someone, that would have to be bent over / half hanging out of the trunk - ... very awkward but not impossible. I also put in some 2" thick Egg Crate foam and installed it in both the bottom and the top portion of the safe. I can fit both my Ruger LC9 9mm AND my NAA .22 Magnum Mini Revolver (with holster grip folded) in the same safe which is awesome if I happen to have both with me). If I'm going to be away from the car for some time, I put the other lock on it (In addition to the combo lock on the safe). If I'm just driving place to place, I just use one lock or the other so I can get into it quickly if needed. For other applications, this modification would be overkill but if you intend to use it for firearm storage, you may need to "beef it up" or look for something heavier duty like a bulldog type of automotive safe - which I have in my other truck - they are great. I bought 3 of these for our 3 other cars and did the mod to each one and am very happy with them.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
308GTBi
Philadephia Suburbs
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
very basic safe
1/18/2013

Customer review by evlburn23

4.0 stars 1/18/2013 by evlburn23
by evlburn23

This safe is very low priced and the quality matches the price. I rate the product as good because it is exceptionally low priced, but the safe itself is not super stout. It will be good enough to keep prying young hands off of valuables, but to a moderately motivated thief it would be easily defeated. It would be good as a portable safe in situations like a hotel.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
evlburn23
el dorado ks
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very cheap
5/7/2014

Customer review by wmz67

1.0 stars 5/7/2014 by wmz67
by wmz67

This box is very cheap. Had it open in less 30 seconds with a screw driver. Buy bulldog or nano vault., they are a bit more money but a lot stronger. I have both and would recommend them to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wmz67
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Great Little Storage Lock Box
4/2/2013

Customer review by walmartmam

5.0 stars 4/2/2013 by walmartmam
by walmartmam

I purchased this to keep my medications in when we travel. Made well enought for that purpose and I love the 3 digit combination. Wouldn't be that hard to break it open, it will burn up in a fire, get wet in the rain (poor seal) but it keeps the honest people out, and keep my meds all in one place. Ended up buying a second one (at the local store for my husbands meds. He likes it as well for that purpose.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
walmartmam
Alma, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Keeps valuables safe from older brother
1/7/2012

Customer review by Betmarell

5.0 stars 1/7/2012 by Betmarell
by Betmarell

Gave this safe to my 9 year old grandson so he could keep his valuables out of his older brother's hands and it is working perfectly. It even has a removable tray over the storage compartment beneath, both of which are covered with a soft felt-like fuzzy material. My grandson loves the fact that he can easily change the combination for the 3 number lock. It comes with a cable that can anchor it to a heavy object like the foot of his bed frame. I can see where this small safe would work well in a number of other situations such as dorm rooms, a place to keep things away from children, etc. It is a really good product for such a small amount of money.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Betmarell
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Will keep honest people from your stuff.
10/25/2012

Customer review by easydusit

4.0 stars 10/25/2012 by easydusit
by easydusit

This safe (box) is a real value for tor those who need to keep prying eyes or fingers, away from Things that are valued or private. Is it a fire safe with maximum security? N0! But that's not what it is supposed to be. good size for the money for sure. and easy for the owner to change the combination, at any time it is opened. It's not too heavy or cumbersome to transport from place to place. It can be secured easily. Keeping in mind that no save is unbeatable. this one will perform well for the money. I plan buy a couple more next month.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
easydusit
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
ok - nothing great
6/14/2013

Customer review by WmsbMom

3.0 stars 6/14/2013 by WmsbMom
by WmsbMom

Brought this for my son for college. He felt that it wasn't very secure and could easily be popped open with a pocket knife or screw driver. Guess for the price it is what one could expect.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WmsbMom
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not exactly what i expected
7/7/2013

Customer review by 5wede

1.0 stars 7/7/2013 by 5wede
by 5wede

very flimsey event after it is locked you can rock the lid left to right could easily be pried open .

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
5wede
independence Mo.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice little safe.
9/22/2012

Customer review by OldFart89

4.0 stars 9/22/2012 by OldFart89
by OldFart89

This safe is perfect for small pistols. Has a removable plastic inserts. Lock is smooth and easy to set and use. The extra metal cable is included and is a nice feature for attaching the mini safe to an immovable object so it can not be easily stolen. Would recommend this to someone who want to safely store valuables when traveling or that has a small pistol etc. to secure.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OldFart89
People's Republic of CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Disappointed
12/28/2013

Customer review by DFootball

1.0 stars 12/28/2013 by DFootball
by DFootball

This safe did not seal properly and would be easy to break into. I was hoping I could secure a gun in my vehicle with this and there's no way a gun would be safe and secure in this safe.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DFootball
Martinsburg, WV
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
12/28/2011

Customer review by msjanine

5.0 stars 12/28/2011 by msjanine
by msjanine

My kids, ages 23 and 21, were thrilled with the safes! They love it! Thank You for such an easy first experience with Walmart.com.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
msjanine
Danbury, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 68 total reviews
1-20 of 68 reviews