Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 127 reviews | 3 out of 5

3.0 stars

127 reviews | 3 out of 5

3.0 stars

127 reviews | 3 out of 5

54%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
50
4 stars
11
3 stars
5
2 stars
8
1 stars
53
1-20 of 125 total reviews
54%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 125 total reviews
1-20 of 125 reviews
Bad experience
1/19/2016

Customer review by Mimi7777

1.0 stars 1/19/2016 by Mimi7777
by Mimi7777

The mouse didn't go inside to eat the peanut butter. It chewed off the trap door and ate it from behind.

Comment from Amanda - 1/22/2016

We'd like to apologize for the lack of rodent control you experienced with our Kill and Contain Mouse Trap. This is certainly not the result we want you to have with our product. We aren't sure why the mouse didn't enter the trap in the conventional way. Sometimes, mice are smarter than we give them credit for. We do offer a product guarantee for our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what we can do for you. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n

Mimi7777
Kansas City, MO, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Expertise:Intermediate
snack shack
4/3/2015

Customer review by Skotoma

1.0 stars 4/3/2015 by Skotoma
by Skotoma

Got the two pack mouse traps out of dismal selection of mouse traps from WalMart. After two days of no results I check them to assess the situation. The bait was eaten an the mice were liking the new snack shacks. After realizing the trap needed a certain weight to set them off, I began to do some research on the traps an reading the reviews. Realizing this to be a common issue, I was having buyers remorse. Is this something that will be fixed or research done to improve the current model? If not I would strongly suggest going back to the drawing board an inventing something that is reliable. The amount of consumers actually taking the time to leave a review is only half of actual people getting motivated enough to leave a review. Hoping for new/more selections of mice traps in the future. Also I'm not looking to get a refund, just trying to leave some more feedback about the product so it can either be improved apon or consumers will know to avoid this like the plague.

Comment from Lee Ann - 4/6/2015

We are sorry to hear about your experience and we appreciate your feedback. If we can provide any additional assistance, please don't hesitate to contact us. http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n

Skotoma
Martinez CA.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Expertise:Intermediate
Every so often they don't work
1/9/2016

Customer review by Kuj123

1.0 stars 1/9/2016 by Kuj123
by Kuj123

Been using these for years with success. Last batch I purchased (6) would not snap shut no matter what I tried. This is the second batch in as many years that wouldn't work. You need to review the manufacture of the "hook" on the bottom. It grabs the platform and won't let go. So in addition to a refund, I could use some money for the peanut butter I've fed the little varmints.

Kuj123
Illinois, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Expertise:Intermediate
DISAPPOINTED13
12/19/2015

Customer review by DISAPPOINTED13

1.0 stars 12/19/2015 by DISAPPOINTED13
by DISAPPOINTED13

We have always purchased these traps to put in the basement. Have always worked well....until the last 2 sets we purchased. Looks like they have changed the production of these traps. Used to be a red handle to set the trap..........now it is black and a little different. Also the "spring" part itself does no move as free. Just put 2 of these out last night..........mice were able to eat all of the peanut butter out of the trap, and the "spring" never released, so never caught the mice. This has happened with the last 4 we have used. It's much harder to set them and get them to "click" than the previous version. I will be looking for another type at this point rather than wasting my money. :(

Comment from Amanda - 12/22/2015

We would like to offer our apologies for the trouble you've been having with our Kill and Contain Mouse Traps. This is certainly not what we want you to expect fromour products and we have forwarded your review to our quality assurance team for further research. It is very difficult for us to know why the trap is not being triggered. Sometimes mice are smarter than we give them credit for. As always, make sure you're using a sticky bait such as peanut butter, Nutella, or cheese spread. We do offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience, please reach out to us. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n

DISAPPOINTED13
Walton Hills, OH, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Expertise:Intermediate
Activated once and couldn't get to set ever again.
1/10/2016

Customer review by kingkong84

1.0 stars 1/10/2016 by kingkong84
by kingkong84

I had high expectations for these and I got them all four out carefully and set them. I moved my arm and my sleeve rubbed against one of the traps, activating all four. I saw on the instructions to just reset them but none of them reset after multiple attempts. I will be sending to get a refund.

Comment from Amanda - 1/15/2016

We're so sorry to hear about this! This is certainly not what we want you to expect from our traps. I've sent your review along to our Quality Assurance Team We'd be happy to discuss our product guarantee with you. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what we can do for you. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n - please reference the email you used to write this review.

kingkong84
Knoxville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Expertise:Intermediate
this product looks good but it didn't catch the mouse in my apartment.#:
1/5/2016

Customer review by gene34

1.0 stars 1/5/2016 by gene34
by gene34

This product stinks I doesn't even work. Also it had complicated directions.

Comment from Lee Ann - 1/5/2016

We're sorry to hear the mouse is still running around, gene34. If the mouse isn't going inside the trap change the bait. Try peanut butter, cheese, soft candy or marshmallow spread instead of what you've been using. If it's not the bait, change the direction of the trap and make sure there isn't another source of food that the mouse can easily get. We're sure with a change you'll be able to catch the mouse in your apartment. If not, at your earliest convenience, please contact us for help with our product guarantee. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link http://tinyurl.com/plm2a2n.

gene34
Des Moines County, IA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Expertise:Beginner
Has worked everytime I used it!
11/9/2012

Customer review by chi10pper

5.0 stars 11/9/2012 by chi10pper
by chi10pper

I have used this product more times than I can count and it has worked everytime. I literally live in the middle of a field in northern Indiana. I am surrounded by fields and so naturally we have a lot of field mice, especially this time of year then they begin to harvest and plow the fields. I always by 2 packs of these and get 4 mice within a week. I just saw a mouse in our living room this morning and am getting ready to bye more today and I guarantee if I get on here in a week, I will have 4 more mice, or at least the one I saw. This product is very effective.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
chi10pper
Pendleton, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Big waste of money
12/28/2015

Customer review by Rage666

1.0 stars 12/28/2015 by Rage666
by Rage666

This trap is a big joke I bought a two pack, when I got them home and set them they never went off every time I checked them the mice ate the bait, if you want a trap that's going to work every time I recommend getting the d-con mouse trap.

Comment from Amanda - 12/30/2015

We would like to apologize for the lack of rodant control you've had with our Kill and Contain Mouse Trap. This is certainly not the results we want you to have with our product, but unfortunately it is impossible for us to know why the trap is not being triggered. We will certainly send your review to our Quality Assurance Department for additional consideration. We want you to be confident in our products. At your earliest convenience, please reach out to us by visiting our contact page at the following link http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n

Rage666
North Carolina, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Expertise:Expert
Can be reused
10/3/2013

Customer review by RetiredSmoker

5.0 stars 10/3/2013 by RetiredSmoker
by RetiredSmoker

Makes this an excellent value. I caught 7 mice the first day I used these. I have a small dog who is sure she has to "investigate" my Victors snap trap, even when I set them in small paper bags, so they have to be set in out of way places and wait for the mouse to find them. The trails are along the kitchen wall, under the stove or fridge blah blah blah. I can set these in the open right along the trail, she can't trip them or get to the mouse, the opening is large enough for larger mice. I then take a plastic shopping bag, reset the trap, shake the mouse into the bag for disposal, check the bait at the rear of the trap, place back on the trail and wait a couple of hours for the next little varmints. I only bought 2, they seem to be pretty sturdy, have caught 4 in one trap, 3 in the other. Plan on buying 2 more and continue using the Victors. One warning; I do have very small baby mice running around, caught a couple still alive in the trap. Check first. The first one almost got out of the bag because I had it laying flat on the counter. Turned 'em loose in the back lot. Hawks, owls and cats need to eat too. ;-)

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RetiredSmoker
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Worked as promised
12/8/2015

Customer review by Jesse

5.0 stars 12/8/2015 by Jesse
by Jesse

Set two of these traps with peanut butter bait in an area that could be accessed by my three year old son. Both caught mice the first night. Will be purchasing more of these in the future.

Jesse
Washington, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Delicate Trap, sometimes works, sometimes doesn't.
12/6/2015

Customer review by Lucky

2.0 stars 12/6/2015 by Lucky
by Lucky

Bought 14 of these 2-3 years ago. Every one worked excellent. bought 6 more this year and the first 2 did not release to catch mouse. They got a free snack. Trying third one now. Went from great to dud.

Comment from Amanda - 12/9/2015

We would like to apologize for your experience with our Kill and Contain Mouse Traps. We have sent your comments to our Research and Development Team for further review. Unfortunately, it's very difficult for us to know precisely why the trap has not been triggered, although some rodents are smarter than we give them credit for. We would like to speak with you further to discuss your experience with our product. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link http://tinyurl.com/petzrfm

Lucky
New Hampshire, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Expertise:Intermediate
No i do not recommend this product.
11/21/2015

Customer review by MAO34

1.0 stars 11/21/2015 by MAO34
by MAO34

I think the mice are not big enough to set off the trap. The mice didn't set off the traps but I did when I barely touched it with a plastic knife.We stopped using the traps. Apparently,with these traps,we were just feeding them. We were so fed up that we just threw them away. Should have asked for money back.

Comment from Amanda - 11/23/2015

We would like to apologize for the lack of rodent control with our Kill and Contain Mouse Traps. Obviously this isn't the result we want you to expect from our traps, and have passed this along to our Quality Assurance Department for further review. We do have a product guarantee, and we would love the opportunity to speak with you further about the trouble you've had with this trap. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n

MAO34
Ogden, UT, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Expertise:Intermediate
Did not work
10/22/2012

Customer review by HDmC

1.0 stars 10/22/2012 by HDmC
by HDmC

For the first time in my life, we had a mouse in our house. This product was highly recommended by the store associate, and we had heard all of the radio ads as well. After trying one pack of them and then buying a second pack, thinking that we hadn't set it correctly the first time, we think that what these really are are mouse feeders. I didn't want to feed the thing, I wanted it out of my house! We baited them with peanut butter, then watched as the mouse went in, ate, and then left. None of the traps ever triggered. My husband finally got the thing when he saw it yet again go inside for a snack -- he quickly took a baseball bat at smacked the side of the trap with the mouse inside, THAT'S when it finally triggered and trapped the thing. I guess the moral of the story is as long as you have quick reflexes and a Louisville Slugger nearby, it will trap your mouse. And yes, we kept our receipts and will be sending for a full refund.

Comment from Lee Ann - 10/23/2012

We're sorry to hear about the frustration you experienced with the Ortho Home Defense Max Killer & Contain Mouse Traps. Contact us at the following link for information about our product guarantee. http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n

HDmC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Worst trap ever
10/17/2015

Customer review by Bbjr

1.0 stars 10/17/2015 by Bbjr
by Bbjr

I have used the same style trap by Dcon which worked. The mice went into the trap,ate the peanut butter and left. We kept baiting the traps and in the morning the bait was gone. We caught 1 mouse, which I took out and released, and killed 1. We had removed any bagged or boxed food from counters etc. so there was no food except for the bait in the traps. This went on for over 3 weeks. The mice didn't set off the traps but I did when I barely touched it with a plastic knife.We stopped using the traps and the mice have gone. Apparently,with these traps,we were just feeding them. We were so fed up that we just threw them away. Should have asked for money back.

Comment from Nyffisa - 10/20/2015

We apologize that the Tomcat Kill N' Contain Mouse Trap did not control the mice as expected. You stated that you had success previously, unfortunately, the Tomcat Kill N' Contain Mouse Trap are not reusable. These products are manufactured in this manner for sanitary reasons and so should not be reused. We advocate for disposal of the trap with the mouse in it so that there is no need to touch the mouse which can carry disease. We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n

Bbjr
USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Did not work.
11/4/2015

Customer review by Zone

1.0 stars 11/4/2015 by Zone
by Zone

I baited four traps with peanut butter waited a couple of days check them all the peanut butter was gone and no mice were caught. I wished I would have never purchased them.

Zone
Billings mt.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Expertise:Expert
So easy!
10/21/2015

Customer review by ColoradoJim

5.0 stars 10/21/2015 by ColoradoJim
by ColoradoJim

I can't believe people have problems with this trap. So far I have used 8 of these over the last year or so, and have caught 8 mice. I will go out today and get more so I have them over the colder winter months when mice really want to come in out of the cold. My wife told me yesterday that she thought she saw a mouse near the pantry, we had 2 of these traps so I set them in the morning, by afternoon the mouse and his buddy we caught.

ColoradoJim
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Worked just as advertised.
10/29/2015

Customer review by Madmarc03

4.0 stars 10/29/2015 by Madmarc03
by Madmarc03
Spark Reviewer - received free product

I baited 2 of them with peanut butter. Within 1 hour, I had already caught one. The other trap the dog got a hold of and tore it up to get the peanut butter. I will be buying a couple more packs tomorrow. Just in case I have more mice.

Madmarc03
Youngsville, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Expertise:Intermediate
Spark Reviewer - received free product
Not worth the price!
10/28/2015

Customer review by baglady

1.0 stars 10/28/2015 by baglady
by baglady

I bought these because they were "guaranteed " to catch mice. The spring mechanism is too tight! I set the traps and check them an hour later and all the bait is gone and NO mouse!

Comment from Jeremy - 10/30/2015

We are sorry the Tomcat Kill N' Contain Mouse Trap did not control the mice as expected. We are not sure why the mouse has apparently not triggered the trap. We want you to be satisfied with our products and they carry a guarantee. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n

baglady
Racine,Wi
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Expertise:Intermediate
Wont stay open long enough to even place
10/24/2015

Customer review by Renowam

1.0 stars 10/24/2015 by Renowam
by Renowam

This is not a good product. Just bought a 2 pack, put peanut butter in it, set it to set and it immediately snaps shut as soon as I let go of the lever. On both, not just one. Neither work.

Comment from Amanda - 10/26/2015

We are troubled to hear of the problems that you have experienced with the Tomcat Kill N' Contain Mouse Trap. We certainly understand your frustration with this situation, and have reported this problem to our Quality Assurance Department. We certainly appreciate you taking the time to let us know of your experience. We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what we can do for you. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n

Renowam
Reno, NV
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Expertise:Intermediate
Useless
10/15/2015

Customer review by Heather27

1.0 stars 10/15/2015 by Heather27
by Heather27

I could not get either of the included traps to set. Therefore this was a total waste of money.

Comment from - 10/19/2015

We are sorry that you weren't able to get the Tomcat Kill N' Contain Mouse Trap to set. It could be that the lever inside the trap is damaged. We can certainly understand your frustration with this situation, and we have reported this problem to our Quality Assurance Department. We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n

Heather27
Columbus, OH, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
1-20 of 125 total reviews
1-20 of 125 reviews