Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 139 reviews | 3 out of 5

3.0 stars

139 reviews | 3 out of 5

3.0 stars

139 reviews | 3 out of 5

55%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
56
4 stars
12
3 stars
6
2 stars
8
1 stars
57
1-20 of 137 total reviews
55%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 137 total reviews
1-20 of 137 reviews
Followed instructions but trap did not activiate
7/18/2016

Customer review by Tango71

1.0 stars 7/18/2016 by Tango71
by Tango71

I just purchased a set of these traps. I set two traps with bait over the course of a few nights. When I checked the traps in the morning, the traps had not been activated however the bate was gone!

Comment from Michelle - 7/21/2016

We are sorry to hear of your disappointment with our product. We take pride in providing quality products to meet our consumers' needs. We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what we can do for you. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link http://tinyurl.com/plm2a2n

Tango71
Would recommend to a friend? No
Two thumbs up!!!!
7/11/2016

Customer review by CTMouseCatcher

5.0 stars 7/11/2016 by CTMouseCatcher
by CTMouseCatcher

Wife saw droppings in pantry/cabinet. Cleaned out & placed trap with peanut butter at 8p. By 9:25 heard a bang & mouse was dead in trap 5 mins later. Didn't even have to see it! These traps are great & would recommend to anyone that has mice. Just put trap #2 in its place, in case he has a brother here!

CTMouseCatcher
Connecticut, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Expertise:Beginner
excellent results
7/14/2016

Customer review by DRM1

5.0 stars 7/14/2016 by DRM1
by DRM1
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Worked the first time I used them

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DRM1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Set two traps. Caught two mice.
6/27/2016

Customer review by LJNC

5.0 stars 6/27/2016 by LJNC
by LJNC

Product works. A couple of "trap not set" indications. Reset. Misread the "Mouse caught" indicator though! (I was just looking at the black lever) I don't see very well. I had almost forgotten about the traps and an unexplained odor alerted me to check them. Going to get some more!

LJNC
Raleigh, NC, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Expertise:Intermediate
snack shack
4/3/2015

Customer review by Skotoma

1.0 stars 4/3/2015 by Skotoma
by Skotoma

Got the two pack mouse traps out of dismal selection of mouse traps from WalMart. After two days of no results I check them to assess the situation. The bait was eaten an the mice were liking the new snack shacks. After realizing the trap needed a certain weight to set them off, I began to do some research on the traps an reading the reviews. Realizing this to be a common issue, I was having buyers remorse. Is this something that will be fixed or research done to improve the current model? If not I would strongly suggest going back to the drawing board an inventing something that is reliable. The amount of consumers actually taking the time to leave a review is only half of actual people getting motivated enough to leave a review. Hoping for new/more selections of mice traps in the future. Also I'm not looking to get a refund, just trying to leave some more feedback about the product so it can either be improved apon or consumers will know to avoid this like the plague.

Comment from Lee Ann - 4/6/2015

We are sorry to hear about your experience and we appreciate your feedback. If we can provide any additional assistance, please don't hesitate to contact us. http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n

Skotoma
Martinez CA.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Expertise:Intermediate
Has worked everytime I used it!
11/9/2012

Customer review by chi10pper

5.0 stars 11/9/2012 by chi10pper
by chi10pper

I have used this product more times than I can count and it has worked everytime. I literally live in the middle of a field in northern Indiana. I am surrounded by fields and so naturally we have a lot of field mice, especially this time of year then they begin to harvest and plow the fields. I always by 2 packs of these and get 4 mice within a week. I just saw a mouse in our living room this morning and am getting ready to bye more today and I guarantee if I get on here in a week, I will have 4 more mice, or at least the one I saw. This product is very effective.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
chi10pper
Pendleton, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Can be reused
10/3/2013

Customer review by RetiredSmoker

5.0 stars 10/3/2013 by RetiredSmoker
by RetiredSmoker

Makes this an excellent value. I caught 7 mice the first day I used these. I have a small dog who is sure she has to "investigate" my Victors snap trap, even when I set them in small paper bags, so they have to be set in out of way places and wait for the mouse to find them. The trails are along the kitchen wall, under the stove or fridge blah blah blah. I can set these in the open right along the trail, she can't trip them or get to the mouse, the opening is large enough for larger mice. I then take a plastic shopping bag, reset the trap, shake the mouse into the bag for disposal, check the bait at the rear of the trap, place back on the trail and wait a couple of hours for the next little varmints. I only bought 2, they seem to be pretty sturdy, have caught 4 in one trap, 3 in the other. Plan on buying 2 more and continue using the Victors. One warning; I do have very small baby mice running around, caught a couple still alive in the trap. Check first. The first one almost got out of the bag because I had it laying flat on the counter. Turned 'em loose in the back lot. Hawks, owls and cats need to eat too. ;-)

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RetiredSmoker
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Set mid-afternoon, mouse caught by 9!
6/12/2016

Customer review by SeekandDestroy

5.0 stars 6/12/2016 by SeekandDestroy
by SeekandDestroy

I found evidence of a mouse in my pantry and bought these traps. Less than 8 hours later, I came home to a trap indicating mouse caught. No mess, fast, and effective.

SeekandDestroy
Connecticut, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Expertise:Beginner
Don't waste your money
5/16/2016

Customer review by KS25

1.0 stars 5/16/2016 by KS25
by KS25

The first trap I set wouldn't stay set and the second one I thought did the same much to my surprise I went to reset the trap and the mouse was in it and very much alive kind of inhumane if you ask me nothing deserves to suffer!!!

Comment from DeMario - 6/3/2016

We apologize for the inconvenience. We appreciate you contacting us with this. Your review will be passed over to our Research and Development department where they will go over different ways to make the product more humane. Whilst no single product can simultaneously address every concern our intent is to offer a wide variety of solutions in addition to those already marketed by our competitors. Presented with options, we believe that homeowners will ultimately choose the product that is right for them. We hope this issue has not caused you to lose faith in our product, as we use reviews like yours to maintain and improve the quality product that you and other consumers have come to know and love.

KS25
Tucson az
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Expertise:Intermediate
On the fence
5/10/2016

Customer review by Rosy

3.0 stars 5/10/2016 by Rosy
by Rosy

Was very happy it caught the mouse, but it didn't kill him. He was in the trap chirping and moving around. I don't know which is scarier, a trapped mouse I think may get out on the way to taking him to the curb or a lose mouse in the house.

Rosy
Stroudsburg, PA 18360, USA
Gender:Female
Expertise:Beginner
Did not work
10/22/2012

Customer review by HDmC

1.0 stars 10/22/2012 by HDmC
by HDmC

For the first time in my life, we had a mouse in our house. This product was highly recommended by the store associate, and we had heard all of the radio ads as well. After trying one pack of them and then buying a second pack, thinking that we hadn't set it correctly the first time, we think that what these really are are mouse feeders. I didn't want to feed the thing, I wanted it out of my house! We baited them with peanut butter, then watched as the mouse went in, ate, and then left. None of the traps ever triggered. My husband finally got the thing when he saw it yet again go inside for a snack -- he quickly took a baseball bat at smacked the side of the trap with the mouse inside, THAT'S when it finally triggered and trapped the thing. I guess the moral of the story is as long as you have quick reflexes and a Louisville Slugger nearby, it will trap your mouse. And yes, we kept our receipts and will be sending for a full refund.

Comment from Lee Ann - 10/23/2012

We're sorry to hear about the frustration you experienced with the Ortho Home Defense Max Killer & Contain Mouse Traps. Contact us at the following link for information about our product guarantee. http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n

HDmC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great to use outside and around kids or pets.
4/20/2016

Customer review by Janice72

5.0 stars 4/20/2016 by Janice72
by Janice72

We live in the country and have mice both in the house and outside. I did not want to use poison around the grandkids and dogs. We use regular traps and glue traps in the house, which work well and are cheaper. Saw these and thought they would be perfect for outside around the dogs. First one would not set. Second one set and in a couple of days, caught one. As soon as we go back to the store, I will be buying more.

Janice72
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Expertise:Intermediate
Clean way to trap mice
10/31/2013

Customer review by bp717

5.0 stars 10/31/2013 by bp717
by bp717
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 1000 contributor

This worked great within the first hour of setting it we caught a mouse,and so much easier to set this those one you might snap your fingers off with and you never have to touch or see the mouse.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bp717
barnegat,nj
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 1000 contributor
Poorly made product
3/31/2016

Customer review by Deb71909

1.0 stars 3/31/2016 by Deb71909
by Deb71909

These traps would not set. Every try resulted in the "set arm" springing back to the "not set" position. I am returning them to the company for a refund. The catch arm is not long enough to catch and hold.

Comment from MIchelle - 4/15/2016

We are sorry that the Tomcat Kill & Contain Mouse Traps would not set. We are unsure why the traps won't set for you. We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience, please call 1-877-332-0755 for assistance.

Deb71909
Hot Springs Village, AR
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Expertise:Intermediate
Good trap
2/15/2016

Customer review by reggiesmom

4.0 stars 2/15/2016 by reggiesmom
by reggiesmom

I have had good luck with these. I use peanut butter. On rare occasion I have a little trouble getting the trap to latch at the bottom and would like to know how to do that better. Overall, however, I like the fact the mouse goes in and the trap lets me know he has been caught. I don't have to see him or hear him or deal with him in any way. Also there is a little handle so I can simply pick up the trap without touching anything and toss it into the trash at the curb.

reggiesmom
Indiana, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
DISAPPOINTED13
12/19/2015

Customer review by DISAPPOINTED13

1.0 stars 12/19/2015 by DISAPPOINTED13
by DISAPPOINTED13

We have always purchased these traps to put in the basement. Have always worked well....until the last 2 sets we purchased. Looks like they have changed the production of these traps. Used to be a red handle to set the trap..........now it is black and a little different. Also the "spring" part itself does no move as free. Just put 2 of these out last night..........mice were able to eat all of the peanut butter out of the trap, and the "spring" never released, so never caught the mice. This has happened with the last 4 we have used. It's much harder to set them and get them to "click" than the previous version. I will be looking for another type at this point rather than wasting my money. :(

Comment from Amanda - 12/22/2015

We would like to offer our apologies for the trouble you've been having with our Kill and Contain Mouse Traps. This is certainly not what we want you to expect fromour products and we have forwarded your review to our quality assurance team for further research. It is very difficult for us to know why the trap is not being triggered. Sometimes mice are smarter than we give them credit for. As always, make sure you're using a sticky bait such as peanut butter, Nutella, or cheese spread. We do offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience, please reach out to us. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n

DISAPPOINTED13
Walton Hills, OH, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Expertise:Intermediate
Non effective
7/9/2012

Customer review by NIch

1.0 stars 7/9/2012 by NIch
by NIch

I took the first trap out of the packaging and had a heck of a time getting the trap door to stay down. Often it would latch for a second or 2 and then spring shut again. After I finally got it to stay (which, by this point I was almost afraid to move with it), I went to place it on the ground and....you guessed it, it just sprung shut again. Needless to say, at this point I was very doubtful about the likelihood of this thing working. Several attempts later, I actually got the unit on the ground with the door set. I came back to check on the trap the next day and found the door sprung shut with no mouse (no surprise, I think a stiff breeze could have sprung it). I thought I may have just had a bad one, but the second trap I took out had the same problem, except that one broke after about the 4th attempt to set it. Very cheap, very flimsy product.

Comment from Lee Ann - 7/11/2012

We're sorry that you were not able to use the Kill & Contain Mouse Traps you purchased. We appreciate your taking the time to share you experience. Please contact us at the following link for information about our product guarantee. http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n

NIch
Cleveland, OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
not messy to use
4/23/2015

Customer review by Chippy

5.0 stars 4/23/2015 by Chippy
by Chippy

I used this in my garage and I know it works. I don't see anymore MICE. I have so many bait stations because I use this product and can't find the bags with only the bait. I get a lot of these little things that look like mini squirrels. I call them chippies, they don't look like mice, they run like mice and run into and up the drain pipes to the gutters looking for nuts that fall from the oak trees. I bought those screens that u pop in at the top hole in the gutters to keep these little whatever they are out. They don't work because leaves accumulate and clog the drains. SO NOW I bUY TOMCAT. This is the only thing that works to keep them out of the drain pipes and gutters. Two yrs ago a salesman from LOWE's told me this would work and it did. (This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry or is a review of free product.) [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Chippy
Pottsville, PA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Expertise:Intermediate
Good product WHEN it works
1/17/2013

Customer review by mrsbatch

2.0 stars 1/17/2013 by mrsbatch
by mrsbatch

I used these in the past and liked the fact they were effective, and I could dispose of the trap and mouse at one time. I was willing to pay the extra money over just a plain traditional or sticky trap. In the past couple of months I bought these traps again after seeing a couple mice after the weather turned cold. I finally caught a couple mice and left a couple more traps around in the area where I had caught the other mice. Upon seeing mouse droppings by the traps, I noticed the traps had not been sprung. I checked the traps and found the peanut butter bait had been eaten, but the trap failed to catch the mice. I now have four of these traps which have failed to operate. I've re-baited and left the traps out, but all I'm doing is feeding the mice. These are too expensive for them not to work. I can no longer recommend this product.

Comment from Wendy - 1/18/2013

We are sorry that you have had a disappointing experience with our mouse traps. Regardless of the price, we want every product we sell to work. In the unusual circumstance that a product does not work, we want to know so we can help. If you have a chance, get in touch with us: http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n

mrsbatch
Virginia, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Expertise:Intermediate
Mixed results - sometimes it kills the mice, sometimes not
5/28/2014

Customer review by rrimmert

3.0 stars 5/28/2014 by rrimmert
by rrimmert

I have used these traps various times over the past 7 years with mixed success. 3 of the 4 killed the mice, the last one caught the mouse, but when I opened the bait door to confirm there was a mouse in the trap and that it hadn't just sprung, I was surprised to see little beady eyes and twitching whiskers looking back at me. EWWW!!! I bought these traps so I wouldn't have to touch the nasty little beasts. I don't know if he will escape from the trap and the trash can before our trash pick up day, but I am not going to try and kill him with another method. I was very happy with the first three that worked exactly as advertised, no mess, no gross out factor to get rid of the mice and the traps are safe to use around pets and small children. I would like to see consistency with the product so I could rely on each one being effective.

rrimmert
Iowa, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Expertise:Intermediate
1-20 of 137 total reviews
1-20 of 137 reviews