Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 257 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

257 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

257 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

67%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
122
4 stars
42
3 stars
8
2 stars
15
1 stars
70
1-20 of 255 total reviews
67%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 255 total reviews
1-20 of 255 reviews
New redesign does not work
2/19/2017

Customer review by Bob1960

1.0 stars 2/19/2017 by Bob1960
by Bob1960

I have been using tomcat kill and contain for many years and they have always worked great. Now they have redesigned them and they don't work at all . The mice have to go in and climb up over a ramp and it just doesn't work .I had a couple of old ones and they caught a mice the very first night , the new ones still haven't caught even one and it's been 2 or 3 weeks.

Bob1960
Cleveland, OH, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Expertise:Intermediate
The new version of the traps are useless
2/11/2017

Customer review by Mike123456789

1.0 stars 2/11/2017 by Mike123456789
by Mike123456789

The older model of these traps was fantastic and I would catch a mouse within a few hours of setting the traps. The new versions are useless and do not catch anything. I have set 6 traps around the refrigerator and nothing has been caught. I have also found mouse pellets inside of the trap so the mice are going in but not triggering the device. Again, the old model was great but this new one is terrible and I would not at all recommend purchasing it.

Comment from - 2/21/2017

We are troubled to hear of the issues you encountered while using our Tomcat Kill & Contain Mouse Trap. This is not a normal occurrence and we will make sure that this problem is thoroughly investigated. We offer a product guarantee to assist our consumers when they experience difficulties. If you are interested in discussing this, contact us here: http://tinyurl.com/gn22bh6

Mike123456789
Neptune Township, NJ, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Expertise:Intermediate
New redesigned traps do not work!
2/13/2017

Customer review by James12345

1.0 stars 2/13/2017 by James12345
by James12345

New redesigned traps do not work. The original design worked. New redesign, the mice has to go all the way up a ramp, all the way back, to reach the trigger plate, alas the bait is enclosed in a seperate compartment below the trigger plate, mice cannot see bait, mice turns around and exits before reaching trigger plate! Original design, trap was triggered as soon as mice entered.

Comment from - 2/21/2017

We are very sorry that you were not happy with our Tomcat Kill & Contain Mouse Trap. We always welcome any feedback, as it helps us to improve and maintain the quality of our products. We want you to be confident in our products; this is why we offer a product guarantee. If you would like to further discuss this, please contact us here: http://tinyurl.com/gn22bh6

James12345
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Expertise:Expert
Not as effective as the old trap was ( the one before this new one)
2/13/2017

Customer review by rafe

2.0 stars 2/13/2017 by rafe
by rafe

I am finding out that the old one ( the one before this new and improved one) is not working nearly as good as the old one. I wish you would go back to the last design.

Comment from - 2/21/2017

We are sorry that you feel that way but we thank you for sharing your experience with us. We will be sure to forward this to the appropriate department so that they can take it into consideration. At your earliest convenience, we ask that you contact us. We can be reached here: http://tinyurl.com/gn22bh6

rafe
ledyard, CT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Expertise:Intermediate
One of the best traps
2/8/2017

Customer review by Jerry74

4.0 stars 2/8/2017 by Jerry74
by Jerry74

Does not harm mouse and it does the job. will buy this again. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Jerry74
Rochester, IN 46975, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Expertise:Intermediate
Even my wife would use
1/28/2017

Customer review by Luvthebucks

5.0 stars 1/28/2017 by Luvthebucks
by Luvthebucks

Very easy to use and you don't have to see the mouse when it's been taken care of. Nothing to gross anyone out! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Luvthebucks
Powell, OH, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Expertise:Beginner
Didnt work for me.
1/28/2017

Customer review by David67

1.0 stars 1/28/2017 by David67
by David67

I used this product where mice were present and had not success with it at all. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Comment from - 2/21/2017

We apologize that the Tomcat Kill & Contain Mouse Trap did not meet expectations. We thoroughly test our products before making them available to our consumers. This worked well for us but we understand that your results may differ from our own. We have a product guarantee on all of our products. If you would like to further discuss this, please contact us. We can be reached here: http://tinyurl.com/gn22bh6

David67
Mason Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
snack shack
4/3/2015

Customer review by Skotoma

1.0 stars 4/3/2015 by Skotoma
by Skotoma

Got the two pack mouse traps out of dismal selection of mouse traps from WalMart. After two days of no results I check them to assess the situation. The bait was eaten an the mice were liking the new snack shacks. After realizing the trap needed a certain weight to set them off, I began to do some research on the traps an reading the reviews. Realizing this to be a common issue, I was having buyers remorse. Is this something that will be fixed or research done to improve the current model? If not I would strongly suggest going back to the drawing board an inventing something that is reliable. The amount of consumers actually taking the time to leave a review is only half of actual people getting motivated enough to leave a review. Hoping for new/more selections of mice traps in the future. Also I'm not looking to get a refund, just trying to leave some more feedback about the product so it can either be improved apon or consumers will know to avoid this like the plague.

Comment from Lee Ann - 4/6/2015

We are sorry to hear about your experience and we appreciate your feedback. If we can provide any additional assistance, please don't hesitate to contact us. http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n

Skotoma
Martinez CA.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Expertise:Intermediate
Not an improvement over previous design
1/20/2017

Customer review by Jackson59

1.0 stars 1/20/2017 by Jackson59
by Jackson59

The previous design of this trap worked just fine for me, but on this one the trigger is not sensitive enough so the mouse got inside of it (it left a few droppings) and was able to exit. Disappointment.

Comment from - 2/21/2017

We are sorry to hear that the Tomcat Kill & Contain Mouse Trap did not kill the mice as expected. We are not sure why the trap is not being triggered, although some mice are smarter than we give them credit for. We appreciate you letting us know about your issues with this product as it helps us continue to improve. We want you to be confident in our products, this is why we offer a product guarantee. If you would like to further discuss this, please contact us here: http://tinyurl.com/gn22bh6

Jackson59
Portland, OR, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Expertise:Intermediate
Trap would not set
1/21/2017

Customer review by Vector23

1.0 stars 1/21/2017 by Vector23
by Vector23

Very poor quality and apparently not tested prio to packaging. Trap lever would not stay set, so it was completely unusable.

Comment from Da'Shonna - 1/26/2017

We are sorry to hear of this situation. We do test our products, including our Tomcat Kill & Contain Mouse Trap before making them available to the public. We will make sure that the correct department is alerted of this situation. We offer a product guarantee that allows us to assist you with issues. If you have an interest in further discussing this, contact us. We can be reached here: http://tinyurl.com/gn22bh6

Vector23
Vermont
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Expertise:Intermediate
Still See Mouse Tail
1/18/2017

Customer review by Phoenix16

4.0 stars 1/18/2017 by Phoenix16
by Phoenix16

Purchased this for my garage. Trapped a mouse over night. Could still see its tail coming out of the trap.

Phoenix16
Clinton, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Expertise:Beginner
Not totally excited about the traps
1/10/2017

Customer review by Tomcat

2.0 stars 1/10/2017 by Tomcat
by Tomcat

actually love the ease of use and the fact the wife doesn't have to see the culprit, however on 6 out of 10 traps purchased, the little catch that holds the platform down is actually too secure and I end up feeding the mice and discarding the traps.

Comment from - 2/21/2017

We are sorry that you were not completely satisfied with your Tomcat Kill & Contain Mouse Traps. There seemed to be a mishap with some of the traps that you purchased and we would be more than happy to assist you with this situation. Please contact us at your earliest convenience. We can be reached here: http://tinyurl.com/gn22bh6

Tomcat
Spring Grove, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Expertise:Intermediate
bad for the mouse --good for wife
1/2/2017

Customer review by Jackie

4.0 stars 1/2/2017 by Jackie
by Jackie

My wife saw a mouse one night and drove me crazy, searching was top priority. Get that mouse or else! I set the trap following instructions, which couldn't have been easier, a little dab of peanut butter and find a spot to place it. I don't know how but after two days I checked the trap and the peanut butter was gone and no mouse. I reloaded the trap and got the mouse the next day. Threw the trap with the mouse away. Bad for mouse but a happy wife. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Jackie
Fond du Lac, WI, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Expertise:Intermediate
Bait dissapearing
11/22/2016

Customer review by daboyisin

2.0 stars 11/22/2016 by daboyisin
by daboyisin

I recently spotted a mouse in the garage outside my home. Having pets I decided to use this trap instead of the traditional wooden type to keep the cat and dogs feet and noses from keeping caught. After 3 weeks of baiting the trap several times still NO MOUSE. I am not sure if the mouse is eating the bait or the water bugs. All I can say is I still have a mouse out there. I tried both cheese and peanut butter. Still No mouse and the bait is gone. I like the idea but this trap needs improvement. I guess I am going to have to use poison bait cubes,or try the old wooden traps because this mouse has to go. He has been chewing in to my stored water bottles. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Comment from Amanda - 11/23/2016

We are sorry the Tomcat Kill N' Contain Mouse Trap did not control the mice as expected. We are not sure why the trap is not being triggered. Have you successfully caught a mouse with this same trap before? The Kill N' Contain Mouse Trap was designed for a single use. If used multiple times, the spring will wear out and cause the trap to not operate properly. We thank you for taking the time to share your experience and will share your comments with our Quality Control.

daboyisin
Dallas, TX, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Expertise:Beginner
Mice had a nice snack!
12/16/2016

Customer review by PJMousecatcher

1.0 stars 12/16/2016 by PJMousecatcher
by PJMousecatcher

I had not one but two in my attic and over the summer caught about 6 mice. Now that it's cold, I went back up and reset the traps with peanut butter. When I went up there just now, the peanut butter was all gone, so evidently they must need to get the mice fat in order to trigger the traps? Not happy!

Comment from Da'Shonna - 12/21/2016

We are sorry that the Tomcat Kill N' Contain Mouse Trap did not control the mice as you expected. The Kill N' Contain Mouse Trap is designed for a single use and should be discarded after it has caught a mouse. If the product is used multiple times, the spring will wear out and cause the trap to not operate properly. This product is manufactured in this manner for sanitary reasons. Mice can carry disease so to limit contact with them we advise that the entire trap including the mouse to be disposed of. If you have any further questions or concerns, contact us here: http://tinyurl.com/gn22bh6

PJMousecatcher
Rochester, NY, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Expertise:Intermediate
Had High Hopes for This, It Didn't follow Through !!
8/20/2016

Customer review by Lakesgal

1.0 stars 8/20/2016 by Lakesgal
by Lakesgal

I definitely had high hopes that this product would work but unfortunately it didn't. To start off, the package came with two traps in it but only one set properly. It took about 5 tries before I could get the latch to lock down on the second one. I set it with peanut butter and waited and waited and waited for the little critter to be caught. When I noticed finally that the mechanism had tripped , much to my dismay the bait was gone but so was the critter. Set them again and the same thing happened. I would not purchase these traps. I don't think the quality is good, they don't work properly and they are not worth the money. You also have to dispose of the entire trap after the critter is caught making them expensive to purchase if you have a lot of mice to catch. They are fairly easy to use and the directions are good but that's the only pluses I could give them. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Comment from Erin - 8/23/2016

We are sorry the Tomcat Kill N' Contain Mouse Trap did not control the mice as expected. Our Kill N' Contain Mouse Trap was rigorously tested prior to placing it on store shelves. We are unsure why this product did not kill the mice after they ate the bait, although some mice are more clever than we give them credit for. We want you to be confident in our products, this is why we offer a product guarantee. If you would like to further discuss this, please contact us here: http://tinyurl.com/gn22bh6

Lakesgal
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Don't look like a mouse trap but it works great!!
12/2/2016

Customer review by Shecky

4.0 stars 12/2/2016 by Shecky
by Shecky

If you buy one for looks you would probably not think this works. But it is a safe trap for pets and people to. Just not for rodents. Whenever it's set off you don't see what in the trap due to it traps it inside. There's a trap door in the back for baiting and pulls the lever down to set the trap. easy and works great you can use any kind of baits for attractive for mice. I use pecan or peanut butter works great. Smells a lot and works great [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Shecky
Lafayette, LA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Expertise:Intermediate
Did not work
10/22/2012

Customer review by HDmC

1.0 stars 10/22/2012 by HDmC
by HDmC

For the first time in my life, we had a mouse in our house. This product was highly recommended by the store associate, and we had heard all of the radio ads as well. After trying one pack of them and then buying a second pack, thinking that we hadn't set it correctly the first time, we think that what these really are are mouse feeders. I didn't want to feed the thing, I wanted it out of my house! We baited them with peanut butter, then watched as the mouse went in, ate, and then left. None of the traps ever triggered. My husband finally got the thing when he saw it yet again go inside for a snack -- he quickly took a baseball bat at smacked the side of the trap with the mouse inside, THAT'S when it finally triggered and trapped the thing. I guess the moral of the story is as long as you have quick reflexes and a Louisville Slugger nearby, it will trap your mouse. And yes, we kept our receipts and will be sending for a full refund.

Comment from Lee Ann - 10/23/2012

We're sorry to hear about the frustration you experienced with the Ortho Home Defense Max Killer & Contain Mouse Traps. Contact us at the following link for information about our product guarantee. http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n

HDmC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Neither worked
12/4/2016

Customer review by BMLK

1.0 stars 12/4/2016 by BMLK
by BMLK

I bought two traps. I can't do the metal ones without getting snapped myself and seeing a massacred mouse the next day. I don't like the food because they go and die in my walls. Thought this would work great. WRONG! I see the p o o p in and out of the trap and food is gone and no mouse. Tried different foods thinking they had to be in longer, NOPE.

Comment from Da'Shonna - 12/7/2016

We are sorry to hear that the Tomcat Kill N' Contain Mouse Trap did not kill the mice as expected. We are not sure why the trap is not being triggered, although some mice are smarter than we give them credit for. We appreciate you letting us know about the problems that occurred during your use, this will helps us continue to improve. We want you to be confident in our products, this is why we offer a product guarantee. If you would like to further discuss this, please contact us here: http://tinyurl.com/gn22bh6

BMLK
Towanda, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Expertise:Expert
Good trap
12/1/2016

Customer review by kathleen378

5.0 stars 12/1/2016 by kathleen378
by kathleen378

I actually took this trap to work because we had a mouse in the office. After putting some peanut butter in it, we caught the mouse the first night. I was happy I didn't have to look at the dead thing because it is enclosed. Like this trap a lot. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

kathleen378
Gainesville, ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Expertise:Intermediate
1-20 of 255 total reviews
1-20 of 255 reviews