Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 593 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

593 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

593 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

85%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
389
4 stars
103
3 stars
22
2 stars
22
1 stars
57
1-20 of 541 total reviews
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 541 total reviews
1-20 of 541 reviews
Good Modem but Walmart sold me a used piece twice.
10/10/2014

Customer review by saig82

2.0 stars 10/10/2014 by saig82
by saig82

For twice Walmart sold me a used piece. First time modem was broken. Wifi was working but the Ethernet port was not. Called Arris support and they mentioned that they already received a complaint for the same modem (using Serial number) from another customer which confirmed that Walmart sold me a used piece for regular price. Since Ethernet port was not working I couldn't use my Internet Phone so returned it. But walmart customer service member never asked why I am returning, so I believe they will just sell the modem again to someone. Bought another one from same store and when opened after coming home, I see that seal is already opened but the modem is working fine. I think its not good idea to buy electric items from walmart. Will buy another online and return this as well.

Was this review helpful? (79) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
saig82
Would recommend to a friend? No
No more leasing fees.
12/13/2016

Customer review by Noneofyours

5.0 stars 12/13/2016 by Noneofyours
by Noneofyours

I bought this modem/router so I could turn in the leased modem I was paying $10 extra a month for from my ISP. It will pay for itself in no time. Plus I like the fact that it's a modem/router both in one, and alleviates having two separate modules to do the same thing. It also cuts down on the clutter I had on the shelf it was mounted on. So it's a win, win for me.

Was this review helpful? (14) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Noneofyours
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome modem
5/1/2016

Customer review by Riddeli

5.0 stars 5/1/2016 by Riddeli
by Riddeli

Great modem and router combo. Super fast and great signal coverage in the whole house.

Was this review helpful? (19) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Riddeli
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I finally got it right
12/7/2014

Customer review by Southwind09

5.0 stars 12/7/2014 by Southwind09
by Southwind09

I have been using the Modem, router combination for the longest time with Time Warner Cable. I have been happy but the system has been haphazard and twerky at times. I am always trying to get the best router to cover my 3000 sq. home. At the furthest point the signal is always weak, so I put in place two extenders. I had 5 bars coming out all over and then the problem began, a power struggle with in the system. Signal no signal, boot reboot. Final I realize I had to much STUFF Linksys router 300, e1200, Motorola surfboard modem. and two Belkin extenders. I went against my own judgment and purchased the ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router. First of all the clutter on my desk was cleared. Second, I have the cleanest and strongest signal I have ever had without the extenders. Third, everything works. My recommendation. If you are going to purchase your own modem for your time warner system ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 is the way to go. Clear, Clear and Concise.

Was this review helpful? (105) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Southwind09
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good as a modem, but router not too good
3/3/2017

Customer review by Donna

3.0 stars 3/3/2017 by Donna
by Donna
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this combo modem & router to replace my Comcast modem (to avoid the $10 monthly rental fee). After I hooked it up (which involved a 1+ hour call with Comcast since they had to disconnect my Comcast modem first and it took a while for them to figure that out), it seemed to work well, but after a couple hours, my wireless connection kept dropping occasionally and the wireless range wasn't good in my 2,000 square foot house. I almost returned it, but instead I decided to bridge the router so that it would connect to my previous router (since I already owned one). It was kinda tricky to figure out how to do the bridging (I'm not very tech savvy) but I followed the instructions in www.techwalla.com\articles\how-to-bridge-a-motorola-sbg6580 and I finally got it to work with my old router. It was tricky because some of the phrases/options on the motorola interface website had changed compared to the instructions on the techwalla website, but it wasn't too hard to figure out. It's been a week since I successfully bridged the router, and since then, everything has been working fine.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Donna
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
WiFi is sporradic
11/20/2016

Customer review by Ycuzican

2.0 stars 11/20/2016 by Ycuzican
by Ycuzican

I initially had this rated at 5 stars but have started having major issues with the wifi, as in it's not actually sending out any signal. Even though the wifi indicator is lit on the box, nothing is able to pick it up including my phone, laptop and TV. The only way to fix is either unplugging and wasting 5-10 minutes while it resets, potentially interrupting service to anything connected via ethernet or by logging into the website and disabling then re-enabling to reset just the wifi signal. I usually choose the latter but I can always count on repeating this procedure 2-4 times per week. Bad news for data usage on my phone if I don't catch it soon enough. Also, the range is horrible compared to my neighbors' routers where I get there signal just fine inside my own home where my router peters out, about 40 feet max. The only reason I'm giving 2-stars is that the ethernet service is extremely reliable compare to the Comcast equipment and that is a plus for my home business.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ycuzican
Would recommend to a friend? No
Still working good after almost a year!
10/17/2016

Customer review by Grandma

5.0 stars 10/17/2016 by Grandma
by Grandma

What more can I say? DOCSIS 3.0, fully compatible with Comcast/Xfinity. Really no more expensive compared to other modems when you consider that you don't need to buy a separate wi-fi router. Still working great after nearly a year, no connection issues or problems accessing with my other networked devices (fingers crossed). Be aware that the two middle lights on the front (upstream and downstream channels) need to be blue, not green, or you're not benefiting from Comcast's multiple channel streams. Self set-up was slightly tricky, even going through Comcast's website. If set-up doesn't work the first time, try again - took me two tries to get it set up. No problems since, even after turning the power off for a month being away from home. I've read that you should turn this SBG6580 modem/router off and then back on every few months anyway to allow it to reset and download any updates from Comcast. They recommend the same thing for their DVR/cable boxes, so it makes sense. I would recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (7) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Grandma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best one I've had
6/17/2012

Customer review by arctic6000

4.0 stars 6/17/2012 by arctic6000
by arctic6000

I had a vizio router with a motorola docsis 2 modem, the router completely quit. Well this had been my fourth set up so I had my cable company put in theirs the guy assured me it was the latest and greatest wireless N but it was only a docsis 2 which he said would make no differance with my speed 15 D 3 U. after he left I checked the modem/router out online it was a netgear wireless g model so he lied to me. I was getting the speed I was supposed to get with wired hook up and one wireless unit. As soon as I tried to turn on a second wireless unit, it quit so I brought it down to my local cable company and got a install refund and bought this Motorola gateway. My speeds are averaging 13mbps down and 2.6 up and I have all four LAN used and three ps3's and some phones running off wireless with no problems, once in a great while I'll be dropped from a game but not very often. I have it centered in the house and get about 50 to 100% signal. Glad I didn't get another replacement from the cable company! I've had it now for about a month or more.

Was this review helpful? (21) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
arctic6000
michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Age:35 - 44
absolutely excellent unit and great price
11/12/2013

Customer review by BlueIllusion

5.0 stars 11/12/2013 by BlueIllusion
by BlueIllusion
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

works beyond expectations increased my connection thru the roof.I have my pc hooked up thru built in router, as well as my xbox 360, and i have my nephews pc hooked up thru the built in wifi, and i have not had one problem with connections. Such as restarting modem or connectivity issues between devices. Plus when i went to install i thought i would have to call comcast my internet provider and nope, to my suprise after following the install disk instructions for hookup and installation, I was automatically taken to a setup and install website for device it took me 3 clicks of a button and waiting 5 mins maximum plus no phone calls to ip. i recommend this to anyone and everyone looking for faster internet speeds plus a modem/router/wifi 3 in 1 combo for a much better price then buying 3 units seperately saving space and tons of money, plus no modem rentals from internet provider pays for its self after 1 year!!!

Was this review helpful? (125) (44)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BlueIllusion
Tacoma, Washington
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Age:18 - 24
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Wifi can be finicky
7/19/2015

Customer review by Grapeguy

4.0 stars 7/19/2015 by Grapeguy
by Grapeguy

I had wifi connection/disconnection problems like some users. This was after 6 months of no issues. I was about to replace the modem when I found this writing in a review: "I had read several comments that the wireless had a poor reach and/or dropped the signal off and on, so I did a lot of research and made the following settings changes. Under Wireless>WMM I turned power save support off. Under Wireless>Basic>Scan Wireless APs I noticed that all of my neighbors were using channels 1, 6, or 11 so I used 4 or 8, either of which worked well. I set firewall to low, with nothing else checked under Firewall>Web Filter, because my email and MagicJack would not work when set to medium or high." This was exactly the case in my area. All my neighbors were on channel 1 (as I was).These recommendations worked for me, give it a try

Was this review helpful? (46) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Grapeguy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best one I've found out there!
2/14/2014

Customer review by Jimmie601

5.0 stars 2/14/2014 by Jimmie601
by Jimmie601
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have had several interent modems and this model is by far the best, with it's integrated router.At least with Charter I know, with the disk provided, it installs itself onto their system, no waiting for their techs to come on and try and tell you that you can't use your own modem, you just have to call the sales dept to get their overpriced cheap quality modem removed from your account and return it to them. NEVER had to reset this one like seemed to be a daily routine with the one from cable co. It "searches" for a signal about every 20 seconds and reestablishes connection on its own. No restarting/rebooting anything.This is my second one, I bought a second home and this is for there. The hard wired and Wi-Fi together in one unit eliminates the hassle of several pieces of equipment.

Was this review helpful? (19) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jimmie601
Au Gres, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Age:45 - 54
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Price, Easy Install, Great WiFi Range
12/14/2013

Customer review by StatisticallySignificant

5.0 stars 12/14/2013 by StatisticallySignificant
by StatisticallySignificant

I bought this at WalMart and took it home. After hooking it up and opening an internet browser tab it immediately redirected me to a page directing me to a number to call my ISP (Time Warner Cable) to provision the new modem. After calling, it took about 10 minutes for them to provision the new modem and everything was up and running. 10 minutes later I had set up the WiFi and connected all my devices including iPhones, iPad, Windows 7 Laptop and a Samsung SmartTV. I can't imagine an easier setup (unless TWC would allow automatic provision without calling in, though that is no fault of the product itself). The WiFi range is exceptional: I even tested it out by walking down the block and was still getting very fast connections 2 houses down from my house. I would highly recommend this to anyone considering a modem/wireles router combo.

Was this review helpful? (169) (61)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
StatisticallySignificant
Columbia, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Age:25 - 34
Very pleased
3/4/2017

Customer review by cmacg

5.0 stars 3/4/2017 by cmacg
by cmacg

I bought this modem/router almost 2 years ago when I switched from ATT to Comcast internet, but I did not want cable TV. Instead I subscribed to a streaming service. I needed a wifi router. I opted for the self install which was very simple, except the internet did not come up. The Comcast rep came and found problem with cable wiring from the pole to my house so there was no charge to me for the call. The modem has worked beautifully since then, Streaming to TVs, laptop, tablet, desktop computer, no problem. Every once in a while I check the strength of the wifi to TV (roku) it is always excellent. In fact I prefer to watch streamed channels more than local channels which require an unreliable antenna. Love this modem and very pleased I bought it. Highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cmacg
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Motorola/Arris SBG 6580
2/1/2016

Customer review by Krakus99

5.0 stars 2/1/2016 by Krakus99
by Krakus99

The Motorola/Arris SBG 6580 is an excellent small footprint product that has been around for quite a few years. Meets all the current standards for DOC 3.0 and speeds up to 300 MB. Installation guide should have been included and newer software to update settings was also not included. You can download installation guide from Motorola/Arris but not the newer software. Set-up is pretty much a breeze because none of the default setting really need to be changed. Most of the price savings were negated by TWC ‘s latest round of 2016 leased equipment price hikes but at least you can save 8-15 dollars a month with this. You gotta stay on TWC’s tail or they’ll try and get an hustle and extra month’s lease out of you. Newer products are SBG 6700 and 6900.

Was this review helpful? (31) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Krakus99
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
OUTSTANDING!
12/26/2011

Customer review by Ranscott2011

5.0 stars 12/26/2011 by Ranscott2011
by Ranscott2011
Top 250 contributor

First off, and potential buyers need to know that this unit is both a modem AND a router in one unit, taking up a lot less space, and a lot fewer cables. For the price, it's a steal. I'm getting 75-104mbps on an 8 year old desktop with Windows XP3, wireless. On my newer Windows 7 machine with the same 4gb memory, I'm getting 150-170mbps, wireless. The pages just pop up, no loading. The downloads are so fast, I've actually looked to make sure I got it all. Imagine a 40mb file, in seconds, not minutes. On my old dial up a 40mb file would take at least 4 HOURS. This unit was purchased online from Walmart, with an extended 2 year service contract, installed by Cox cable guy, running on Cox Ultimate Internet service. Consider, you're buying the modem AND the router for this price, and at blazingly fast speeds. You can always revert to a slower and cheaper internet plan, and this unit will still work. With a slower unit, you can't bump up to a higher level of service without this or an equivalent modem/router. You'd have to buy a new one. Do the research. Once you do, you'll realize that the price is well worth it. I cruise the internet while at the same time streaming Netflix movies to the tv. I can't say enough good about this unit. It's only been one week, but I'm still amazed at the speed. Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? (278) (57)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ranscott2011
Wichita, Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Age:45 - 54
Top 250 contributor
i am a comcast customer
12/7/2015

Customer review by kimmidoll

5.0 stars 12/7/2015 by kimmidoll
by kimmidoll

This works great! Love having modem and router all in one device, Don't have the clutter of multiple devices..

Was this review helpful? (21) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kimmidoll
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good Choice
2/17/2017

Customer review by Nolimit006

5.0 stars 2/17/2017 by Nolimit006
by Nolimit006
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased this item at the request of my internet provider. I wasn't sure of the reliability of my new service but I have been pleasantly surprised at the performance and ease of connecting the device. Since the item has been installed, I have encountered no problems whatsoever.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nolimit006
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Walmart sold me the used one.
4/28/2017

Customer review by SDJ4

1.0 stars 4/28/2017 by SDJ4
by SDJ4

RETURNED IT. could not power on the modem/router only to find out, while packing it for it to be returned, that somebody/something had chewed the plastic cover of power cable(you could see the copper wire). Pretty sure walmart will put it back in the shelf and other will write similar review about it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SDJ4
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great value!
11/5/2013

Customer review by LarryB12

5.0 stars 11/5/2013 by LarryB12
by LarryB12
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

When I bought this the price was unbeatable. I was a bit skeptical if a combination of modem and router was a good idea. After reading a lot of very good reviews and talking with several people who are very familiar with these products, including one who works for a major cable company, I bought this unit, and very happy I did. I save the cost of the cable company's lease cost for the modem and it has a very good router. I have a lot of things that need a good, fast system, after 2 weeks I am well pleased and impressed with the performance, plus I now have a good spare router I can use to set my daughter up with a wireless system. The installation is not difficult if you take your time and follow very good instructions in the proper order. So far I'm very happy with this unit, I highly recommend the available extended warranty Walmart has available.

Was this review helpful? (22) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LarryB12
Lexington, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:65 or older
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Motorola SBG6580
2/1/2014

Customer review by italee

5.0 stars 2/1/2014 by italee
by italee

Motorola SBG6580 works great with Time Warner in New York City. I got it, connected it, called Time Warner with the MAC address and was connected in 5 minutes. Log in and change the default user name and password and you're done. Click connect and enter the security key from the modem. It has great connection speeds and picks up 5 unsecured connections in my neighborhood that the Time Warner modem never saw so I'll always have a connection. Great valve and super easy set-up. Highly recommended for Time Warner in NYC.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
italee
New York City
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Age:55 - 64
1-20 of 541 total reviews
1-20 of 541 reviews