Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 464 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

464 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

464 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
311
4 stars
85
3 stars
17
2 stars
12
1 stars
39
1-20 of 412 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 412 total reviews
1-20 of 412 reviews
A MUST BUY!!
5/15/2011

Customer review by Mahalio

5.0 stars 5/15/2011 by Mahalio
by Mahalio

My modem I had been renting from comcast went dead, my options where to get a new leased one from comcast or buy one my self, I looked at all the options and this modem/router blew the rest away, the compcast staff had not even heard of this yet, its the newest and greatest. I have had it a few days and works GREAT!

Was this review helpful? (243) (41)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mahalio
Minneapolis, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
OUTSTANDING!
12/26/2011

Customer review by Ranscott2011

5.0 stars 12/26/2011 by Ranscott2011
by Ranscott2011

First off, and potential buyers need to know that this unit is both a modem AND a router in one unit, taking up a lot less space, and a lot fewer cables. For the price, it's a steal. I'm getting 75-104mbps on an 8 year old desktop with Windows XP3, wireless. On my newer Windows 7 machine with the same 4gb memory, I'm getting 150-170mbps, wireless. The pages just pop up, no loading. The downloads are so fast, I've actually looked to make sure I got it all. Imagine a 40mb file, in seconds, not minutes. On my old dial up a 40mb file would take at least 4 HOURS. This unit was purchased online from Walmart, with an extended 2 year service contract, installed by Cox cable guy, running on Cox Ultimate Internet service. Consider, you're buying the modem AND the router for this price, and at blazingly fast speeds. You can always revert to a slower and cheaper internet plan, and this unit will still work. With a slower unit, you can't bump up to a higher level of service without this or an equivalent modem/router. You'd have to buy a new one. Do the research. Once you do, you'll realize that the price is well worth it. I cruise the internet while at the same time streaming Netflix movies to the tv. I can't say enough good about this unit. It's only been one week, but I'm still amazed at the speed. Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? (217) (41)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ranscott2011
Wichita, Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 250 contributor
Great Price, Easy Install, Great WiFi Range
12/14/2013

Customer review by StatisticallySignificant

5.0 stars 12/14/2013 by StatisticallySignificant
by StatisticallySignificant

I bought this at WalMart and took it home. After hooking it up and opening an internet browser tab it immediately redirected me to a page directing me to a number to call my ISP (Time Warner Cable) to provision the new modem. After calling, it took about 10 minutes for them to provision the new modem and everything was up and running. 10 minutes later I had set up the WiFi and connected all my devices including iPhones, iPad, Windows 7 Laptop and a Samsung SmartTV. I can't imagine an easier setup (unless TWC would allow automatic provision without calling in, though that is no fault of the product itself). The WiFi range is exceptional: I even tested it out by walking down the block and was still getting very fast connections 2 houses down from my house. I would highly recommend this to anyone considering a modem/wireles router combo.

Was this review helpful? (129) (49)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
StatisticallySignificant
Columbia, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
absolutely excellent unit and great price
11/12/2013

Customer review by BlueIllusion

5.0 stars 11/12/2013 by BlueIllusion
by BlueIllusion

works beyond expectations increased my connection thru the roof.I have my pc hooked up thru built in router, as well as my xbox 360, and i have my nephews pc hooked up thru the built in wifi, and i have not had one problem with connections. Such as restarting modem or connectivity issues between devices. Plus when i went to install i thought i would have to call comcast my internet provider and nope, to my suprise after following the install disk instructions for hookup and installation, I was automatically taken to a setup and install website for device it took me 3 clicks of a button and waiting 5 mins maximum plus no phone calls to ip. i recommend this to anyone and everyone looking for faster internet speeds plus a modem/router/wifi 3 in 1 combo for a much better price then buying 3 units seperately saving space and tons of money, plus no modem rentals from internet provider pays for its self after 1 year!!!

Was this review helpful? (72) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BlueIllusion
Tacoma, Washington
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Internet Connection advantages
10/22/2011

Customer review by UltimateNumbersWisdom

5.0 stars 10/22/2011 by UltimateNumbersWisdom
by UltimateNumbersWisdom

I am able to run both my 64-bit and 34-bit computers at the same time watching a streaming movie from netflix and reading e-mail or doing research utilizing both computers at same time. I like tht this modem has two additional networking portals that the TVs in the house can stream the internet netflix movies!!!!!!! Love it!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (63) (29)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
UltimateNumbersWisdom
Fort Collins, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Highly Recommended
2/4/2012

Customer review by INMHO

5.0 stars 2/4/2012 by INMHO
by INMHO

I purchased the Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard Docsis 3.0 Wireless Gateway a few weeks ago. It replaced a ten year old Motorola Surfboard and a ten year old Microsoft router. I subscribe to Comcast Blast and my download speed went from an average 11Mbps to 35Mbps. I have seven WiFi devices and all were easy to set up. The modem/router combo is great. It makes for less clutter on my desk and fewer cables to mess with. It is very easy to set up and you can easily change settings. Only wish I had bought this sooner.

Was this review helpful? (48) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
INMHO
Muncie, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
The better your equipment, the better this works!
6/21/2011

Customer review by RSM1

5.0 stars 6/21/2011 by RSM1
by RSM1

This modem works great with my 32 bit computers.It is fast enough to support multiple computer down loads while two seperate TV's are streaming video from the internet. This was my primary reason for this purchase, I'm very satisfied. A 64 bit computer computer at standard "download speed test" sights is incredible! My ISP has an advertised speed of 10mb. I've been happy with 5mb on my 32bit machines. On a 64 bit lap top, I've seen 20mb of download speed.

Was this review helpful? (123) (69)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RSM1
Lincoln, NE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Just what I needed for Xfinity
5/26/2014

Customer review by Neuch28

4.0 stars 5/26/2014 by Neuch28
by Neuch28

Modem with wireless router is the way to go! Just plug in, call cable with s/n and they activated me. Simple.

Was this review helpful? (20) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Neuch28
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
MOTOROLA SBG 6580 GREAT SPEED AND GOOD WIRELESS
8/3/2014

Customer review by YOUCANSEEME14

5.0 stars 8/3/2014 by YOUCANSEEME14
by YOUCANSEEME14

I BOUGTH THIS MODEM GATEWAY ON 7-29-2014 AND RESULTS HAS BEEN AWESOME IF YOU ARE LOOKING FOR A WIRELESS MODEM THIS ONE IS THE ONE FOR YOU EASE TO CONNECT HAS VERY GOOD WIRELESS CONNECTION THE SOONEST I HOOK UP TO MY INTERNET PROVIDER WOOOW WAS READY TO GO THEN i CONNECT ALL MY KIDS ANDROID TABLETS AND NO A PROBLEM AT ALL I WILL RECOMMEND THIS GATEWAY SBG 6580 GOOD INVESMENT ALSO IT COMES WITH SECURITY PORTAL LOG IN SO YOU CAN MAKE ANY CHANGES AS WELL IF YOU WANT IT I CAN'T SAID NOTHING ELSE ITS A GREAT WIRELESS DEVICE CUSTOMER SERVICE IS ANOTHER GREAT FUTURE TOO I CALLED THEM FOR A COUPLE QUESTION'S AND MOTOROLA STAFF WERE VERY PROMPT TO ANSWER MY CALL

Was this review helpful? (26) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
YOUCANSEEME14
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great for those with no computer science degree
12/31/2012

Customer review by kardav

5.0 stars 12/31/2012 by kardav
by kardav

Our initial attempt to set up the Motorola was not successful. We were unaware that we had to register our new device with our internet provider. Once we called them, it was up and running in less than 15 minutes. We did upgrade our cable to a high def coaxil cable, and I am not sure that this was necessary, but our service provider did say we would get best use with that upgrade. All our internet capable devices are up and running with ease which includes 3 smart phones, desktop pc, wireless printer, PS3, and 2 laptops.

Was this review helpful? (25) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kardav
Virginia Beach, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
hookup for my cable to update service
7/30/2011

Customer review by les37

5.0 stars 7/30/2011 by les37
by les37

great having it ship to me saved time and effort easy hook up

Was this review helpful? (25) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
les37
california SF bayarea
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Fast
1/31/2012

Customer review by h2osunsand

4.0 stars 1/31/2012 by h2osunsand
by h2osunsand

A nice integrated wireless cable box. But! Get your settings right the first time, as they are very difficult to change.

Was this review helpful? (17) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
h2osunsand
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Mixed bag
9/25/2013

Customer review by Checker12

3.0 stars 9/25/2013 by Checker12
by Checker12

Connecting - was painless on our three Windows 7 laptops. We couldn't connect the 4th laptop, an HP running Vista. My brother looked around the web and found someone else who had trouble connecting a Compaq running Vista to this modem/router. Updated network drivers fixed it for him. It worked for us as well, but it took a little persistence. Device Manager said our drivers were up-to-date. They weren't, though. We found newer drivers at HP's website. Using it - I'm happy with the wireless range. The modem/router is downstairs, and we get 5 bars everywhere in the house, including upstairs. The connection is fast most of the time. Much faster than the modem/router our ISP provided (which stopped working). But it slows to a crawl often -- every other day, or even twice a day. The connection between the computers and the modem seems to be fine when this happens. It looks like the problem is between the modem and the internet. Unplugging the modem, waiting one minute, and plugging it in again usually restores the speed. So far, anyway. Comments from reviewers elsewhere say their connection slows over time when a setting called IP Flood Detection is enabled. Ours isn't enabled, so that's not it. Perhaps it needs a software update from our ISP? Still trying to figure out what's going on.

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Checker12
Northern Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good Modem but Walmart sold me a used piece twice.
10/10/2014

Customer review by saig82

2.0 stars 10/10/2014 by saig82
by saig82

For twice Walmart sold me a used piece. First time modem was broken. Wifi was working but the Ethernet port was not. Called Arris support and they mentioned that they already received a complaint for the same modem (using Serial number) from another customer which confirmed that Walmart sold me a used piece for regular price. Since Ethernet port was not working I couldn't use my Internet Phone so returned it. But walmart customer service member never asked why I am returning, so I believe they will just sell the modem again to someone. Bought another one from same store and when opened after coming home, I see that seal is already opened but the modem is working fine. I think its not good idea to buy electric items from walmart. Will buy another online and return this as well.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
saig82
Would recommend to a friend? No
Best one I've found out there!
2/14/2014

Customer review by Jimmie601

5.0 stars 2/14/2014 by Jimmie601
by Jimmie601

I have had several interent modems and this model is by far the best, with it's integrated router.At least with Charter I know, with the disk provided, it installs itself onto their system, no waiting for their techs to come on and try and tell you that you can't use your own modem, you just have to call the sales dept to get their overpriced cheap quality modem removed from your account and return it to them. NEVER had to reset this one like seemed to be a daily routine with the one from cable co. It "searches" for a signal about every 20 seconds and reestablishes connection on its own. No restarting/rebooting anything.This is my second one, I bought a second home and this is for there. The hard wired and Wi-Fi together in one unit eliminates the hassle of several pieces of equipment.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jimmie601
Au Gres, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great value!
11/5/2013

Customer review by LarryB12

5.0 stars 11/5/2013 by LarryB12
by LarryB12

When I bought this the price was unbeatable. I was a bit skeptical if a combination of modem and router was a good idea. After reading a lot of very good reviews and talking with several people who are very familiar with these products, including one who works for a major cable company, I bought this unit, and very happy I did. I save the cost of the cable company's lease cost for the modem and it has a very good router. I have a lot of things that need a good, fast system, after 2 weeks I am well pleased and impressed with the performance, plus I now have a good spare router I can use to set my daughter up with a wireless system. The installation is not difficult if you take your time and follow very good instructions in the proper order. So far I'm very happy with this unit, I highly recommend the available extended warranty Walmart has available.

Was this review helpful? (19) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LarryB12
Lexington, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very poor signal strength
11/11/2013

Customer review by Chasey80

2.0 stars 11/11/2013 by Chasey80
by Chasey80

Have an average size house. Did not get good signal strength in all rooms of my house. iPhone would bounce back a forth from 3G to wireless. Returned and got two separate devices. The salesman I spoke to said he did not recommend the combined modem and routers.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Chasey80
Ky
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Don't buy-it's a lemon! Motorola Model SBG6580
6/26/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 6/26/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Motorola Surfboard Extreme Wireless Cable Modem #SBG6580-If I could give 0 stars I would. I spent about 5 days on the phone for hours each day with their tech support. Kept losing connectivity about every half hour. They suggested it was my cable wiring, so paid for cable company to rewire everything, (Cable Co. tech said everything was great with their connection). Then, Motorola sent me a replacement modem-which did the same exact thing. They checked signals which were "in acceptable range." They made me change the default channel from 1, to trying various channels, which all work WHILE YOUR ON THE PHONE with them, but then eventually all disconnect requiring modem reset-which then defaults to channel one again! Then, you have to call tech support again, explain your problem all over again. I did this trying all avail. wireless channels. Their explanation for all this, "Our signal is so super sensitive, you are picking up a lot more neigborhood connections," or another words some kind of interference...huh???? Cableman says that should not be an issue-but something is! I live in OC, CA. Second problem...could not configure my all-in-one Lexmark wireless printer to work with this thing! Kept entering their wi-fi secuirity key which did not work. They won't help you configure, and say you have to call tech support at your printer..really? Hmm-that cost $149-no thanks! Oh, and did I mention Motorola says "THERE ARE CERTAIN PRINTERS THAT ARE NOT COMPATIBLE WITH THIS MODEM." So, after 10 hrs of trying to configure unsuccessfully, "Is my Lexmark printer incompatible!" "We can't tell you which ones are incompatible, we just know some are not." Really???? They are technicians that log problems, and they can't tell you which models of printers are incompatable when you ask? Hmmm...AGAIN DO NOT BUY THIS MODEM..IT'S A LEMON! tHE IDEA OF A DCOCSIS 3 IS GREAT TO INCREASE Speed-BUT NOT THIS LEMON!!!

Was this review helpful? (26) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Aliso Viejo, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
2/9/2013

Customer review by setsuyaku

3.0 stars 2/9/2013 by setsuyaku
by setsuyaku

I f you use for internet only is fine. But if you have internet phone from Comcast. SGB6580 don't have phone jack connection. Since I have TV, INTERNET, TELEPHONE from Comcast, I can"t use this Motorola SGB6580.

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
setsuyaku
pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Failed twice
8/4/2012

Customer review by Cgt1

1.0 stars 8/4/2012 by Cgt1
by Cgt1

This is the router that came with my new bright house subscription, it was defective and had to be changed for another within 2 weeks. Before it had broken down, my boyfriend had gotten one as well upon my recommendation. His failed to turn on after about 12 days. Two routers, different states and sellers, same model/brand, both failed !!!

Was this review helpful? (14) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Cgt1
Tampa, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
1-20 of 412 total reviews
1-20 of 412 reviews