Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 557 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

557 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

557 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
367
4 stars
100
3 stars
20
2 stars
19
1 stars
51
1-20 of 505 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 505 total reviews
1-20 of 505 reviews
Good Modem but Walmart sold me a used piece twice.
10/10/2014

Customer review by saig82

2.0 stars 10/10/2014 by saig82
by saig82

For twice Walmart sold me a used piece. First time modem was broken. Wifi was working but the Ethernet port was not. Called Arris support and they mentioned that they already received a complaint for the same modem (using Serial number) from another customer which confirmed that Walmart sold me a used piece for regular price. Since Ethernet port was not working I couldn't use my Internet Phone so returned it. But walmart customer service member never asked why I am returning, so I believe they will just sell the modem again to someone. Bought another one from same store and when opened after coming home, I see that seal is already opened but the modem is working fine. I think its not good idea to buy electric items from walmart. Will buy another online and return this as well.

Was this review helpful? (55) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
saig82
Would recommend to a friend? No
Awesome modem
5/1/2016

Customer review by Riddeli

5.0 stars 5/1/2016 by Riddeli
by Riddeli

Great modem and router combo. Super fast and great signal coverage in the whole house.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Riddeli
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I finally got it right
12/7/2014

Customer review by Southwind09

5.0 stars 12/7/2014 by Southwind09
by Southwind09

I have been using the Modem, router combination for the longest time with Time Warner Cable. I have been happy but the system has been haphazard and twerky at times. I am always trying to get the best router to cover my 3000 sq. home. At the furthest point the signal is always weak, so I put in place two extenders. I had 5 bars coming out all over and then the problem began, a power struggle with in the system. Signal no signal, boot reboot. Final I realize I had to much STUFF Linksys router 300, e1200, Motorola surfboard modem. and two Belkin extenders. I went against my own judgment and purchased the ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router. First of all the clutter on my desk was cleared. Second, I have the cleanest and strongest signal I have ever had without the extenders. Third, everything works. My recommendation. If you are going to purchase your own modem for your time warner system ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 is the way to go. Clear, Clear and Concise.

Was this review helpful? (73) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Southwind09
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
ARRIS Surfboard SBG6580
7/17/2016

Customer review by Irene

5.0 stars 7/17/2016 by Irene
by Irene
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Got tired of paying TWC $10 each month for their modem. This modem works more efficiently and faster. If you have a land line phone, TWC will provide you with a free splitter to attach to the modem. I don't have much experience for these types of things, but installation was easy.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Irene
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
absolutely excellent unit and great price
11/12/2013

Customer review by BlueIllusion

5.0 stars 11/12/2013 by BlueIllusion
by BlueIllusion
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

works beyond expectations increased my connection thru the roof.I have my pc hooked up thru built in router, as well as my xbox 360, and i have my nephews pc hooked up thru the built in wifi, and i have not had one problem with connections. Such as restarting modem or connectivity issues between devices. Plus when i went to install i thought i would have to call comcast my internet provider and nope, to my suprise after following the install disk instructions for hookup and installation, I was automatically taken to a setup and install website for device it took me 3 clicks of a button and waiting 5 mins maximum plus no phone calls to ip. i recommend this to anyone and everyone looking for faster internet speeds plus a modem/router/wifi 3 in 1 combo for a much better price then buying 3 units seperately saving space and tons of money, plus no modem rentals from internet provider pays for its self after 1 year!!!

Was this review helpful? (118) (41)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BlueIllusion
Tacoma, Washington
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Motorola/Arris SBG 6580
2/1/2016

Customer review by Krakus99

5.0 stars 2/1/2016 by Krakus99
by Krakus99

The Motorola/Arris SBG 6580 is an excellent small footprint product that has been around for quite a few years. Meets all the current standards for DOC 3.0 and speeds up to 300 MB. Installation guide should have been included and newer software to update settings was also not included. You can download installation guide from Motorola/Arris but not the newer software. Set-up is pretty much a breeze because none of the default setting really need to be changed. Most of the price savings were negated by TWC ‘s latest round of 2016 leased equipment price hikes but at least you can save 8-15 dollars a month with this. You gotta stay on TWC’s tail or they’ll try and get an hustle and extra month’s lease out of you. Newer products are SBG 6700 and 6900.

Was this review helpful? (28) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Krakus99
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best one I've had
6/17/2012

Customer review by arctic6000

4.0 stars 6/17/2012 by arctic6000
by arctic6000

I had a vizio router with a motorola docsis 2 modem, the router completely quit. Well this had been my fourth set up so I had my cable company put in theirs the guy assured me it was the latest and greatest wireless N but it was only a docsis 2 which he said would make no differance with my speed 15 D 3 U. after he left I checked the modem/router out online it was a netgear wireless g model so he lied to me. I was getting the speed I was supposed to get with wired hook up and one wireless unit. As soon as I tried to turn on a second wireless unit, it quit so I brought it down to my local cable company and got a install refund and bought this Motorola gateway. My speeds are averaging 13mbps down and 2.6 up and I have all four LAN used and three ps3's and some phones running off wireless with no problems, once in a great while I'll be dropped from a game but not very often. I have it centered in the house and get about 50 to 100% signal. Glad I didn't get another replacement from the cable company! I've had it now for about a month or more.

Was this review helpful? (16) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
arctic6000
michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Good router great price.
6/10/2016

Customer review by Vick

5.0 stars 6/10/2016 by Vick
by Vick

After paying rent for about an year for the service provider modem, I decided to get one of my own. I have used it for more than a year and have not faced any problems. I stay at an 1100 sq ft apartment and get good signals throughout my place. Please check for compatibility before buying this with your service provider. For me it works with Comcast. It is a good investment and you save on an average 7 to 8 $ per month on your bill so eventually it pays for itself in 14 - 15 months. I would say do not purchase expensive ones unless you really need to . I can steam movies without buffering . Works well for me.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Vick
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Wifi can be finicky
7/19/2015

Customer review by Grapeguy

4.0 stars 7/19/2015 by Grapeguy
by Grapeguy

I had wifi connection/disconnection problems like some users. This was after 6 months of no issues. I was about to replace the modem when I found this writing in a review: "I had read several comments that the wireless had a poor reach and/or dropped the signal off and on, so I did a lot of research and made the following settings changes. Under Wireless>WMM I turned power save support off. Under Wireless>Basic>Scan Wireless APs I noticed that all of my neighbors were using channels 1, 6, or 11 so I used 4 or 8, either of which worked well. I set firewall to low, with nothing else checked under Firewall>Web Filter, because my email and MagicJack would not work when set to medium or high." This was exactly the case in my area. All my neighbors were on channel 1 (as I was).These recommendations worked for me, give it a try

Was this review helpful? (35) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Grapeguy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Get the lates technology
8/29/2016

Customer review by Tcisneros

2.0 stars 8/29/2016 by Tcisneros
by Tcisneros
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This product has the old technology so give some problems of signal is better if you spend more and have the lates one

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tcisneros
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
i am a comcast customer
12/7/2015

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 12/7/2015 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This works great! Love having modem and router all in one device, Don't have the clutter of multiple devices..

Was this review helpful? (20) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Price, Easy Install, Great WiFi Range
12/14/2013

Customer review by StatisticallySignificant

5.0 stars 12/14/2013 by StatisticallySignificant
by StatisticallySignificant

I bought this at WalMart and took it home. After hooking it up and opening an internet browser tab it immediately redirected me to a page directing me to a number to call my ISP (Time Warner Cable) to provision the new modem. After calling, it took about 10 minutes for them to provision the new modem and everything was up and running. 10 minutes later I had set up the WiFi and connected all my devices including iPhones, iPad, Windows 7 Laptop and a Samsung SmartTV. I can't imagine an easier setup (unless TWC would allow automatic provision without calling in, though that is no fault of the product itself). The WiFi range is exceptional: I even tested it out by walking down the block and was still getting very fast connections 2 houses down from my house. I would highly recommend this to anyone considering a modem/wireles router combo.

Was this review helpful? (161) (60)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
StatisticallySignificant
Columbia, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Best one I've found out there!
2/14/2014

Customer review by Jimmie601

5.0 stars 2/14/2014 by Jimmie601
by Jimmie601
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have had several interent modems and this model is by far the best, with it's integrated router.At least with Charter I know, with the disk provided, it installs itself onto their system, no waiting for their techs to come on and try and tell you that you can't use your own modem, you just have to call the sales dept to get their overpriced cheap quality modem removed from your account and return it to them. NEVER had to reset this one like seemed to be a daily routine with the one from cable co. It "searches" for a signal about every 20 seconds and reestablishes connection on its own. No restarting/rebooting anything.This is my second one, I bought a second home and this is for there. The hard wired and Wi-Fi together in one unit eliminates the hassle of several pieces of equipment.

Was this review helpful? (19) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jimmie601
Au Gres, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
OUTSTANDING!
12/26/2011

Customer review by Ranscott2011

5.0 stars 12/26/2011 by Ranscott2011
by Ranscott2011
Top 250 contributor

First off, and potential buyers need to know that this unit is both a modem AND a router in one unit, taking up a lot less space, and a lot fewer cables. For the price, it's a steal. I'm getting 75-104mbps on an 8 year old desktop with Windows XP3, wireless. On my newer Windows 7 machine with the same 4gb memory, I'm getting 150-170mbps, wireless. The pages just pop up, no loading. The downloads are so fast, I've actually looked to make sure I got it all. Imagine a 40mb file, in seconds, not minutes. On my old dial up a 40mb file would take at least 4 HOURS. This unit was purchased online from Walmart, with an extended 2 year service contract, installed by Cox cable guy, running on Cox Ultimate Internet service. Consider, you're buying the modem AND the router for this price, and at blazingly fast speeds. You can always revert to a slower and cheaper internet plan, and this unit will still work. With a slower unit, you can't bump up to a higher level of service without this or an equivalent modem/router. You'd have to buy a new one. Do the research. Once you do, you'll realize that the price is well worth it. I cruise the internet while at the same time streaming Netflix movies to the tv. I can't say enough good about this unit. It's only been one week, but I'm still amazed at the speed. Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? (271) (56)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ranscott2011
Wichita, Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 250 contributor
Great ethernet connection but problems with wifi.
11/30/2015

Customer review by Alycious

2.0 stars 11/30/2015 by Alycious
by Alycious

Purchase my first SBG6580 and the wifi keep kicking my device off. Return the modem and purchase the same one thinking the first one is just faulty. The second one work until the return warranty expire. So now im stuck with it and the wifi is giving me the same problem like the first.

Was this review helpful? (19) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Alycious
Would recommend to a friend? No
ARRIS SURFboard SBG6580 DOCSIS 3.0
2/18/2016

Customer review by rlt61

5.0 stars 2/18/2016 by rlt61
by rlt61

This was a upgrade from a 4X cable modem with out the wi-fi to this one. Now I can stream shows with buffering and have my magic jack phone on all at the same time. It's must have item if you want to get away from cable tv or dish tv.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rlt61
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great value!
11/5/2013

Customer review by LarryB12

5.0 stars 11/5/2013 by LarryB12
by LarryB12
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

When I bought this the price was unbeatable. I was a bit skeptical if a combination of modem and router was a good idea. After reading a lot of very good reviews and talking with several people who are very familiar with these products, including one who works for a major cable company, I bought this unit, and very happy I did. I save the cost of the cable company's lease cost for the modem and it has a very good router. I have a lot of things that need a good, fast system, after 2 weeks I am well pleased and impressed with the performance, plus I now have a good spare router I can use to set my daughter up with a wireless system. The installation is not difficult if you take your time and follow very good instructions in the proper order. So far I'm very happy with this unit, I highly recommend the available extended warranty Walmart has available.

Was this review helpful? (22) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LarryB12
Lexington, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A MUST BUY!!
5/15/2011

Customer review by Mahalio

5.0 stars 5/15/2011 by Mahalio
by Mahalio

My modem I had been renting from comcast went dead, my options where to get a new leased one from comcast or buy one my self, I looked at all the options and this modem/router blew the rest away, the compcast staff had not even heard of this yet, its the newest and greatest. I have had it a few days and works GREAT!

Was this review helpful? (280) (54)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mahalio
Minneapolis, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Awesome product!
12/11/2015

Customer review by SandraSatifiedCustomer

5.0 stars 12/11/2015 by SandraSatifiedCustomer
by SandraSatifiedCustomer

I am very glad my cable technician told me to purchase this item as it works so much better than the router their company provided to me at a cost every month. Great product; wished I'd purchase it earlier and save myself a ton of cash...Good looking out!

Was this review helpful? (19) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SandraSatifiedCustomer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
ARRIS Product Technical Support
10/30/2014

Customer review by Indiapal

3.0 stars 10/30/2014 by Indiapal
by Indiapal

Product is very good but technical support will cost you tons of money in case you require their help. I was quite shocked to know the technical person asked me to pay for the help to setup my new ARRIS/Motorola SBG6580 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem and WiFi-N Router. The only thing I asked him to help me to change the name of my WiFi and setup new password. He asked me to pay $30.00 before he can help me because it's quite technical to do that otherwise you can loose all your setup. When I asked him the password for admin login do not match as per product documentation then he told me to try "motorola" instead of "password". Still when it didn't work, he told me to reset the modem again by inserting a pin to reset to factory settings. It was quite shocking to me that a new product purchased directly from Walmart didn't work according to their instructions. By the way, after I was logged in it took me a minute to make my all required changes. I have made up my mind that in the future I will not be buying any ARRIS product which didn't provide me technical support.

Was this review helpful? (9) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Indiapal
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 505 total reviews
1-20 of 505 reviews