Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 161 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

161 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

161 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

66%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
82
4 stars
25
3 stars
8
2 stars
11
1 stars
35
1-20 of 127 total reviews
66%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 127 total reviews
1-20 of 127 reviews
An excellent television for the money.
2/23/2011

Customer review by omgcannotthinkofanickname

5.0 stars 2/23/2011 by omgcannotthinkofanickname
by omgcannotthinkofanickname

Some reviewers are letting the fact that they got a dud influence their ratings; this has nothing to do with the overall quality of an item, especially a complex electronic device. Sometimes things go wrong, and that's very often during the first few months of a product's life. That's what warranties are for. That said, this is an excellent TV, especially considering the price. I researched televisions for days, went to stores to look at the picture quality, and had given in to the idea of spending $400 on a smaller Sony when I came across this television for not much more. Having not seen the screen myself I considered it a minor risk to go and buy it, but buy I did, and happily. RCA products have always treated me well, no matter what their current reputation is. When it arrived my roommate and I set it up. It was quite simple. Everything looked great except for the stand, which is a bit flimsy and not as stable as it could be. Frankly I would rather spend 20 or 30 bucks more and get a better stand, but c'est la vie. The stand does, however, rotate, which I thought was a great feature for a TV in this price range. The picture, to my surprise, looked good even with old standard definition. But the true test, to me, was playing modern video games at 1080p, and it came through wonderfully. I had been unable to read some words in games on my 15 year old projection TV, and so expected clarity. But I didn't expect it to look this good. This thing brought new life to my old games. I thought the refresh rate might be an issue, but no, not in the tiniest bit. The fastest moving games were seamless at 60 Hz; I don't know why people would pay for more than that. Some people just like throwing money at products with higher numbers, even if those numbers don't mean any real difference in quality. Similarly, I think paying for the most popular brand name is silly. This television is at least as good looking as my neighbor's Sony Bravia, but larger, and considerably cheaper. The sound is surprisingly good. It gets very loud, and is able to create very clearly the ambient noises that make games and movies feel atmospheric and fun. As much as I don't care, I will say that there's a transparent, red strip of plastic along the bottom that just shouldn't be there. It's about an inch across at its widest point, and serves no purpose. It looks like the kind of thing some designer threw on there at the last minute to try to make the thing look cool or something like that. But it just looks cheap and ruins the elegance the rest of the TV has. Anyway, the TV was fantastic. I say was as opposed to is because two weeks after I got it the screen died on me while playing Red Dead Redemption. The customer service people responded fast and they're sending a tech out. Yeah, I'm annoyed, but failure rates on electronics tend to follow a bathtub-shaped curve. They die soon after you get them, or 5 or 6 years down the road. That's okay. For the price and quality of this television, that's just fine. 5 of 5 stars, without question.

Was this review helpful? (113) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
omgcannotthinkofanickname
Austin, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
great product by rca
1/27/2011

Customer review by cobie01

5.0 stars 1/27/2011 by cobie01
by cobie01

first flat screen purchase of a 42", t.v is beautiful with great picture and sound very easy hook up plannning on buying another one for our bedroom. very recommendable. thank you rca

Was this review helpful? (61) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cobie01
new york
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Worked for less than 24 hours!
4/3/2011

Customer review by ctygrlncntry

2.0 stars 4/3/2011 by ctygrlncntry
by ctygrlncntry

My 1st nightmare with this purchase was that I made the mistake of using Site to Store. It ended up taking 20 days to receive this product. Once we got it, my husband set it up and all was well. We didnt use it for the first few days, but on the first day we used it after less than 2 hours of it being on the picture completely went out leaving us with only sound. I now have a scheduled appointment for a technician to come & look at our BRAND NEW TV. I'm sure that the TV is great, but we got a complete dud.

Was this review helpful? (17) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ctygrlncntry
Mississippi
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
don't do it!
3/29/2011

Customer review by ALawrence0001

1.0 stars 3/29/2011 by ALawrence0001
by ALawrence0001

I thought this TV was a great deal online. 10 days after getting the TV, the picture went out while watching a movie. Then, taking the TV back to the store was a 2-hour adventure. If you decide to buy this TV, keep the box in case you have to take it back to the store.

Was this review helpful? (16) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ALawrence0001
NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
after returning the first, the second is fine
6/27/2011

Customer review by nacarfan

4.0 stars 6/27/2011 by nacarfan
by nacarfan

I bought this tv thinking i was taking a big chance, and i was right. When i got the tv and hooked it up and left it on, two hours into having it on a blue line appeared down the right side of the sceen. I got up close to the tv to see if this was an internal defect or on the outside surface. The blue line had gotten a little lomger and it was internal. I got on the phone to wal mart and asked for a return exchange, and they sent ups out to pick up the tv two days later. It took another four days and fed ex delivered me a replacement from wal mart. I've been watching it for a couple of nights now, about 20 hours total and everything is going great. I am happy with this tv now, and so far no flaws. Good luck with your purchase.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nacarfan
washington state
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Crooked stand, Fuzzy picture
1/20/2011

Customer review by CalPie

1.0 stars 1/20/2011 by CalPie
by CalPie

After triple checking that the stand was installed correctly, this TV still sits crooked on the stand, about one inch higher on the left than on the right. But, all in all, this really hasn't bothered me because I'm too busy dwelling on the terrible picture. The Tv offers 4 picture modes, all of them fuzzy. I'm not talking about motion blur either, everything is blurry. Thought maybe it was our satellite, but DVD and Xbox are not much better. Adjusting the sharpness doesn't help either. Color is also awful. Blacks and dark colors appear green, with no definition what so ever. This is on it's way back to the store.

Was this review helpful? (11) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CalPie
Utah
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
I WOULD THINK TWICE
1/27/2011

Customer review by SScarolina

1.0 stars 1/27/2011 by SScarolina
by SScarolina

I purchased this 42" RCA on walmart.com then waited 10 days on it and i picked it up yesterday and today i am looking at a black screen with sound. I have had several RCA TVs over the years and all worked great so i ignored 2 different friends suggestions to buy a vizio and bought this one. I am going to walmart to take it back today and spend the extra and get a vizio. Regardless of what brand i suggest getting the 3yr warrenty, these TVs are not like the old square box sets that worked forever, these don't seem to stand the test of time yet.

Was this review helpful? (8) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SScarolina
USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great quality for a low low price
4/5/2011

Customer review by MonteyCarlo

5.0 stars 4/5/2011 by MonteyCarlo
by MonteyCarlo

I replaced my very expensive nine year old Plazma HD TV with the new RCA 42" LCD HDTV. The quality of the picture is equal to my old TV. The LCD is better than Plazma, because the screen does not reflect light like the Plazma screen. It is much cheaper to operate, uses less electricity. The sound from my RCA is not as good but then I'm comparing the sound against a TV that cost more than 14 times as much money. I added a Panasonic sound bar. For under $620.00 I have a home theater system superior to the system I paid over $6000.00 for.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MonteyCarlo
Fridley MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
SO DISAPPOINTED
2/5/2011

Customer review by Cyndit1971

1.0 stars 2/5/2011 by Cyndit1971
by Cyndit1971

from earlier experience had RCA for 12 years; received this one today and 2 hours into watching it screen went black - no picture just sound. do not suggest buying this (or any RCA - upon further research found the multiple RCA tv's do this) called RCA customer service; received another phone number for Sears (?) - they told me to call in the morning. Think I will call WalMart and return it. Just SCARED to get a new tv now :(

Was this review helpful? (6) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Cyndit1971
Cibolo, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
LOVE IT!
9/9/2011

Customer review by RTolbert

5.0 stars 9/9/2011 by RTolbert
by RTolbert

This was a great buy. My husband is a technical guru and he even loved this TV. We got it in our bedroom right now. Its a great size for a larger room honestly. We are moving and plan to put it in our den. Its shows great pictures. No complaints!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RTolbert
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
AWESOME TV
5/28/2011

Customer review by christie5683

5.0 stars 5/28/2011 by christie5683
by christie5683

I bought this TV over a year ago and still loving it. Great picture and sound quality. Just bought my husband a 37 inch RCA for his "man cave" for his birthday and he absolutely loves it. He couldn't wait to get it out of the box and mount it. No more battling over what each wants to watch......happily married!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
christie5683
florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
JUNK
1/27/2011

Customer review by doll514

1.0 stars 1/27/2011 by doll514
by doll514

Bought this TV less than 1 week ago (5 days to be exact), thought it was nice, nice picture and sound until the sound kept going out on it then while watching a movie the screen went black, shut tv off for 60 sec. turned it back on and half the screen was black the other half was so dark you could barley see a picture. The tv was returned today and replaced with a different brand. I will never own an RCA again.

Was this review helpful? (5) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
doll514
Would recommend to a friend? No
I would recommend this item. Great TV!
7/12/2011

Customer review by momofkasey

5.0 stars 7/12/2011 by momofkasey
by momofkasey

Had this TV now about 6 months or so. Love it. had no problems. great picture. sound is a little quiter but we use our surround sound with it when needed. (all flat screens have not so great sound) has enough connection also for our surround sound, dvd player, VRC, etc. Two thumbs up!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
momofkasey
Bergen, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
great tv.
11/12/2011

Customer review by JOHNNYBECOOL

5.0 stars 11/12/2011 by JOHNNYBECOOL
by JOHNNYBECOOL

MY WIFE BOUGHT THIS FORE ME, THIS IS THE GREATEST GIFT ANYBODY COULD GET.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JOHNNYBECOOL
CHARLOTTE N.C.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
8/15/2011

Customer review by sampixel

5.0 stars 8/15/2011 by sampixel
by sampixel

The RCA LCD 42" is a great buy and with the RCA home theater it's great. I use an outside HD antenna and the picture is fantastic.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sampixel
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great buy for the price
9/8/2011

Customer review by arbowes

5.0 stars 9/8/2011 by arbowes
by arbowes

I bought this TV three weeks ago online and had it shipped site-to-store. It came in four days and was easy to setup. Picture is awesome and I have had no problems so far. The sound isn't the greatest but it works fine. For the price I don't think you can find a better deal. I am thoroughly pleased with the purchase.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
arbowes
Greensboro, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
8/22/2011

Customer review by ShootinForFun

5.0 stars 8/22/2011 by ShootinForFun
by ShootinForFun

Great TV for the money. Has a great picture. The remote is a little sensitive, has to be pointed to the lower right hand corner of the TV, but you can get used to that. All in all, a great TV.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ShootinForFun
Boone, Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great picture!
8/29/2011

Customer review by lboss

5.0 stars 8/29/2011 by lboss
by lboss

Bought this tv for my son in law. He loves it!!! You would have thought it was Christmas!!!! He has a gaming system, and the picture and graphics are excellent!!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lboss
Milton NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Awesome value. Love it
12/22/2011

Customer review by Aandreaac

5.0 stars 12/22/2011 by Aandreaac
by Aandreaac

This tv is underpriced. I don't know much about tvs other than how great the picture looks. The only strange thing is at the bottom of the tv is a thin red plastic strip. Doesn't bother me at all.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Aandreaac
Newton, ma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
8/7/2011

Customer review by chuck1938

4.0 stars 8/7/2011 by chuck1938
by chuck1938

Nice TV but have'en trouble getting color and settings to what my old TV was easy to get good picture and color.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
chuck1938
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 127 total reviews
1-20 of 127 reviews