Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 161 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

161 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

161 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

66%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
82
4 stars
25
3 stars
8
2 stars
11
1 stars
35
1-20 of 127 total reviews
66%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 127 total reviews
1-20 of 127 reviews
Best purchase I have ever made.
2/6/2011

Customer review by Queenslyn

5.0 stars 2/6/2011 by Queenslyn
by Queenslyn

This TV is awesome. The price was phenomenal. It is exactly what I was looking for. The perfect size for my living room. Found the stand/chest at Best Buy and I love the whole look of them together.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Queenslyn
Los Osos, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
after returning the first, the second is fine
6/27/2011

Customer review by nacarfan

4.0 stars 6/27/2011 by nacarfan
by nacarfan

I bought this tv thinking i was taking a big chance, and i was right. When i got the tv and hooked it up and left it on, two hours into having it on a blue line appeared down the right side of the sceen. I got up close to the tv to see if this was an internal defect or on the outside surface. The blue line had gotten a little lomger and it was internal. I got on the phone to wal mart and asked for a return exchange, and they sent ups out to pick up the tv two days later. It took another four days and fed ex delivered me a replacement from wal mart. I've been watching it for a couple of nights now, about 20 hours total and everything is going great. I am happy with this tv now, and so far no flaws. Good luck with your purchase.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nacarfan
washington state
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great product by rca
1/27/2011

Customer review by cobie01

5.0 stars 1/27/2011 by cobie01
by cobie01

first flat screen purchase of a 42", t.v is beautiful with great picture and sound very easy hook up plannning on buying another one for our bedroom. very recommendable. thank you rca

Was this review helpful? (61) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cobie01
new york
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
An excellent television for the money.
2/23/2011

Customer review by omgcannotthinkofanickname

5.0 stars 2/23/2011 by omgcannotthinkofanickname
by omgcannotthinkofanickname

Some reviewers are letting the fact that they got a dud influence their ratings; this has nothing to do with the overall quality of an item, especially a complex electronic device. Sometimes things go wrong, and that's very often during the first few months of a product's life. That's what warranties are for. That said, this is an excellent TV, especially considering the price. I researched televisions for days, went to stores to look at the picture quality, and had given in to the idea of spending $400 on a smaller Sony when I came across this television for not much more. Having not seen the screen myself I considered it a minor risk to go and buy it, but buy I did, and happily. RCA products have always treated me well, no matter what their current reputation is. When it arrived my roommate and I set it up. It was quite simple. Everything looked great except for the stand, which is a bit flimsy and not as stable as it could be. Frankly I would rather spend 20 or 30 bucks more and get a better stand, but c'est la vie. The stand does, however, rotate, which I thought was a great feature for a TV in this price range. The picture, to my surprise, looked good even with old standard definition. But the true test, to me, was playing modern video games at 1080p, and it came through wonderfully. I had been unable to read some words in games on my 15 year old projection TV, and so expected clarity. But I didn't expect it to look this good. This thing brought new life to my old games. I thought the refresh rate might be an issue, but no, not in the tiniest bit. The fastest moving games were seamless at 60 Hz; I don't know why people would pay for more than that. Some people just like throwing money at products with higher numbers, even if those numbers don't mean any real difference in quality. Similarly, I think paying for the most popular brand name is silly. This television is at least as good looking as my neighbor's Sony Bravia, but larger, and considerably cheaper. The sound is surprisingly good. It gets very loud, and is able to create very clearly the ambient noises that make games and movies feel atmospheric and fun. As much as I don't care, I will say that there's a transparent, red strip of plastic along the bottom that just shouldn't be there. It's about an inch across at its widest point, and serves no purpose. It looks like the kind of thing some designer threw on there at the last minute to try to make the thing look cool or something like that. But it just looks cheap and ruins the elegance the rest of the TV has. Anyway, the TV was fantastic. I say was as opposed to is because two weeks after I got it the screen died on me while playing Red Dead Redemption. The customer service people responded fast and they're sending a tech out. Yeah, I'm annoyed, but failure rates on electronics tend to follow a bathtub-shaped curve. They die soon after you get them, or 5 or 6 years down the road. That's okay. For the price and quality of this television, that's just fine. 5 of 5 stars, without question.

Was this review helpful? (113) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
omgcannotthinkofanickname
Austin, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
dissappointed
2/7/2011

Customer review by Trini27

2.0 stars 2/7/2011 by Trini27
by Trini27

I was looking foward to receiving this item but it fell short in a few areas. 1st con was the 43.7"x30" in item discription was incorrect. actual size is about 40"x 27". picture quality is not that great. very dark, dynamic feature comes up dark and quality is not clear-and yes this is with an hdmi from my fios box. sound isn't good compared to other tvs on the market. had to raise volume to 30 to hear anything. left corner of screen came with some pixels dead. after about a week and a half the entire left half of the screen went completely black while the other half went very dark. features for picture and sound doesnt help make any quality better. would have been a great buy if the above mentioned wasn't wrong but walmart gladly gave me a refund and easy return. otherwise easy to assemble and connect but with out good sound, good picture and a properly working tv your stuck with a big shinney paper weight.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Trini27
NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Worked for less than 24 hours!
4/3/2011

Customer review by ctygrlncntry

2.0 stars 4/3/2011 by ctygrlncntry
by ctygrlncntry

My 1st nightmare with this purchase was that I made the mistake of using Site to Store. It ended up taking 20 days to receive this product. Once we got it, my husband set it up and all was well. We didnt use it for the first few days, but on the first day we used it after less than 2 hours of it being on the picture completely went out leaving us with only sound. I now have a scheduled appointment for a technician to come & look at our BRAND NEW TV. I'm sure that the TV is great, but we got a complete dud.

Was this review helpful? (17) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ctygrlncntry
Mississippi
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
42" of value
3/10/2011

Customer review by Markimus

5.0 stars 3/10/2011 by Markimus
by Markimus

For starters, wow. Truly an amazing product. Well worth every penny spent, even the overnight shipping I got. A must have for anyone on a 500+- budget. Literally, the only problem I have with the tv; when I watch tv at night, the brightness of the image hurts my eyes after a while. However, the tv is marketed to have an incredibly bright screen. So me saying the screen is too bright would be the equivalent of going to Baskin-Robins and saying your ice cream is too sweet. I don't mean to give the sound quality a rough rating, but when i purchased the tv, I also bought a really nice surround sound Blu-ray player. So my opinion on the audio is partially biased. I'm not saying it's bad, just that my standards are set a little high. Not to mention it's the perfect tv if the color-scheme of the room it's going to be in is red/black. It's something I didn't think about until i had it set up. A definite unexpected bonus. All-in-all I give it two thumbs up! A must have if you're balancing value, money, quality and overall satisfaction.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Markimus
West Palm, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
don't do it!
3/29/2011

Customer review by ALawrence0001

1.0 stars 3/29/2011 by ALawrence0001
by ALawrence0001

I thought this TV was a great deal online. 10 days after getting the TV, the picture went out while watching a movie. Then, taking the TV back to the store was a 2-hour adventure. If you decide to buy this TV, keep the box in case you have to take it back to the store.

Was this review helpful? (16) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ALawrence0001
NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Crooked stand, Fuzzy picture
1/20/2011

Customer review by CalPie

1.0 stars 1/20/2011 by CalPie
by CalPie

After triple checking that the stand was installed correctly, this TV still sits crooked on the stand, about one inch higher on the left than on the right. But, all in all, this really hasn't bothered me because I'm too busy dwelling on the terrible picture. The Tv offers 4 picture modes, all of them fuzzy. I'm not talking about motion blur either, everything is blurry. Thought maybe it was our satellite, but DVD and Xbox are not much better. Adjusting the sharpness doesn't help either. Color is also awful. Blacks and dark colors appear green, with no definition what so ever. This is on it's way back to the store.

Was this review helpful? (11) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CalPie
Utah
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great quality for a low low price
4/5/2011

Customer review by MonteyCarlo

5.0 stars 4/5/2011 by MonteyCarlo
by MonteyCarlo

I replaced my very expensive nine year old Plazma HD TV with the new RCA 42" LCD HDTV. The quality of the picture is equal to my old TV. The LCD is better than Plazma, because the screen does not reflect light like the Plazma screen. It is much cheaper to operate, uses less electricity. The sound from my RCA is not as good but then I'm comparing the sound against a TV that cost more than 14 times as much money. I added a Panasonic sound bar. For under $620.00 I have a home theater system superior to the system I paid over $6000.00 for.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MonteyCarlo
Fridley MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
So Far, So Good...
6/8/2011

Customer review by Jthephotorebel

5.0 stars 6/8/2011 by Jthephotorebel
by Jthephotorebel

I wanted to wait a couple of months before I wrote a review because of the previous reviews about the "have sound, but no picture" problem that would occur within a 3 week time frame. I did "site to store" and the guy that was helping me a the store when i picked it up said that about 30% were being returned with this problem, and the reviews seem to reflect that percentatge. Glad to say i've yet to have any problems. Picture quality is great, sound is decent (i do use a home theatre system), and I have had no problems as of yet. I did buy an extended warranty just in case. Pro's: Good picture quality, decent sound, my personal fav is an assigned button for the sleep timer, the price Con's: The menu screen doesnt have many options for customization, i don't like the "blue square" for the display i.e. time/date, input, etc.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jthephotorebel
Fort Worth, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
I WOULD THINK TWICE
1/27/2011

Customer review by SScarolina

1.0 stars 1/27/2011 by SScarolina
by SScarolina

I purchased this 42" RCA on walmart.com then waited 10 days on it and i picked it up yesterday and today i am looking at a black screen with sound. I have had several RCA TVs over the years and all worked great so i ignored 2 different friends suggestions to buy a vizio and bought this one. I am going to walmart to take it back today and spend the extra and get a vizio. Regardless of what brand i suggest getting the 3yr warrenty, these TVs are not like the old square box sets that worked forever, these don't seem to stand the test of time yet.

Was this review helpful? (8) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SScarolina
USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
AWESOME TV
5/28/2011

Customer review by christie5683

5.0 stars 5/28/2011 by christie5683
by christie5683

I bought this TV over a year ago and still loving it. Great picture and sound quality. Just bought my husband a 37 inch RCA for his "man cave" for his birthday and he absolutely loves it. He couldn't wait to get it out of the box and mount it. No more battling over what each wants to watch......happily married!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
christie5683
florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
LOVE IT!
9/9/2011

Customer review by RTolbert

5.0 stars 9/9/2011 by RTolbert
by RTolbert

This was a great buy. My husband is a technical guru and he even loved this TV. We got it in our bedroom right now. Its a great size for a larger room honestly. We are moving and plan to put it in our den. Its shows great pictures. No complaints!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RTolbert
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not A Good Tv!!!
2/11/2011

Customer review by Naybaby01

2.0 stars 2/11/2011 by Naybaby01
by Naybaby01

AFTER WEEKS OF REASEARCH AND WITH A BUDGET OF 500.. I THOUGHT THIS TV WOULD BE A DECENT BUY CONSIDERING RCA HAS BEEN OUT A WHILE... BUT WITHIN HOURS I RETURNED IT...!!! HAS GREAT SOUND AND I LOVE THE LOOK OF IT BUT THE PICTURE QUALITY WAS JUST THE WORST... COULDNT READ THE LETTERS ON SOME CHANNELS... SHOWED UP DOUBLE.. AND FORBID IT BE SMALL PRINT... ON THE CHANNEL YOU COULDNT READ IT AT ALL... EVEN TRIED TO HOOK MY BROTHERS PS3 UP TO SEE IT MAYBE IT COULD HAVE POTENTIAL TO HAVE GOOD PICTURE AND EVEN HIS GAME SHOWED UP A MESS... WAS NOT HAPPY AT ALL PLAYED WITH ALL THE SETTINGS TO SEE IT WOULD HELP AND JUST COULDNT FIND ONE THAT LOOK EVEN TOLERABLE... TOOK IT BACK AND GOT THE 42IN SANYO LCD HDTV.. AND I LOVE IT... AND ITS ENERGY STAR APPROVED AND HAS MANY NEAT FEATURES!!!

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Naybaby01
Murphy, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
SO DISAPPOINTED
2/5/2011

Customer review by Cyndit1971

1.0 stars 2/5/2011 by Cyndit1971
by Cyndit1971

from earlier experience had RCA for 12 years; received this one today and 2 hours into watching it screen went black - no picture just sound. do not suggest buying this (or any RCA - upon further research found the multiple RCA tv's do this) called RCA customer service; received another phone number for Sears (?) - they told me to call in the morning. Think I will call WalMart and return it. Just SCARED to get a new tv now :(

Was this review helpful? (6) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cyndit1971
Cibolo, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Well I thought wrong...
11/11/2011

Customer review by WasHappyat1time

3.0 stars 11/11/2011 by WasHappyat1time
by WasHappyat1time

Purchased this TV 3/11 had read reviews and saw that most of the problems were about the screen going black after a few weeks. I owned a huge 52 in Home Theater projection and it didnt owe me anything after 17 yrs RCA stood by it so I purchased this model without hesitation. This TV made it till 11/11. Up untill then I could not of asked for a better TV. Called service number in book got Sears repair. They told me they could fix it for a fee but it was still covered Warranty and gave me correct RCA service number. When a company prints a service number in their user manual it should be there number. Making me think RCA doesnt even stand behind there product. Will let you know how things work out but thinking I should of bought a different brand.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WasHappyat1time
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great buy for the price
9/8/2011

Customer review by arbowes

5.0 stars 9/8/2011 by arbowes
by arbowes

I bought this TV three weeks ago online and had it shipped site-to-store. It came in four days and was easy to setup. Picture is awesome and I have had no problems so far. The sound isn't the greatest but it works fine. For the price I don't think you can find a better deal. I am thoroughly pleased with the purchase.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
arbowes
Greensboro, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
I would recommend this item. Great TV!
7/12/2011

Customer review by momofkasey

5.0 stars 7/12/2011 by momofkasey
by momofkasey

Had this TV now about 6 months or so. Love it. had no problems. great picture. sound is a little quiter but we use our surround sound with it when needed. (all flat screens have not so great sound) has enough connection also for our surround sound, dvd player, VRC, etc. Two thumbs up!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
momofkasey
Bergen, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Awesome value. Love it
12/22/2011

Customer review by Aandreaac

5.0 stars 12/22/2011 by Aandreaac
by Aandreaac

This tv is underpriced. I don't know much about tvs other than how great the picture looks. The only strange thing is at the bottom of the tv is a thin red plastic strip. Doesn't bother me at all.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Aandreaac
Newton, ma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 127 total reviews
1-20 of 127 reviews