Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 432 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

432 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

432 reviews | 4 out of 5

85%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
187
4 stars
149
3 stars
49
2 stars
18
1 stars
29
1-20 of 409 total reviews
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 409 total reviews
1-20 of 409 reviews
Like it ... not Love it!
7/9/2009

Customer review by mowgley

3.0 stars 7/9/2009 by mowgley
by mowgley

We purchased this chair completely based on the overwhelmingly positive reviews as I was actually ready to spend $800 on a chair I loved... I talked myself out of it since that is truly silly. I thought we would give this a try since there is no risk... could be returned and didn't have to pay shipping with the site to store option. My husband was VERY leary. Anyhow, it arrived and probably took me about 40 min to put together... not really hard, just a bit time consuming. The chair is made rather well with the materials given, however the materials are rather cheap! Looks like cheap wood as the frame and cheap batting material covering the barely there padding! The rocker portion however seems nice, sturdy and heavy... too bad the whole thing wasn't built to that same standard. Anyhow, got it put together, it's cute... rather small compared to the pottery barn dream chair, and far far less comfortable. True, it is extremely firm... very little padding in the seat cushion, and chair back, and almost non existent in the arm rests. I am 5'8"" and my head comes up over the back of the chair... have to slouch to rest my head. I also agree with the other reviews that state it is hard to rock on carpet... not impossible, but really nice to have the ottoman (which we did get)... just not nearly the glider motion we are used to in our other nursery. So.. overall, rather cheaply made but feels pretty sturdy and secure. Certainly not comfortable but not terribly uncomfortable either unless perhaps the head rest issue will plague me down the road when I end up breastfeeding... I can see how my neck will be stressed with no where to rest my head. Chair is cute.. but I disagree totally that it looks just like the pottery barn chairs as I looked at those at the store and they are nothing alike in look or in size but similar in style only. Soooooooo.... even with the middle of the road review we still decided to keep the chair! After all we decided we were saving $500 by keeping this one and since it does look cute in the room and it at least serves the purpose we decided for the money it was the smarter move. Hope this helps!

Was this review helpful? (158) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mowgley
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
If only it came with slipcover
7/15/2009

Customer review by tootsieroll131

4.0 stars 7/15/2009 by tootsieroll131
by tootsieroll131

-Very Comfy, but if you're picky like me you may want a pillow for lumbar support -Fairly easy to assemble -Good for the price -Doesn't rock very easy on my carpet -Very bulky in my tiny nursery (as seen in the photo) -I have been waiting almost a couple months for a slipcover ("out of stock" right now). If only they came with the chair. So for now, I just use blankets to upholster it.

Was this review helpful? (37) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tootsieroll131
Utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Chair
1/4/2011

Customer review by Mishfashion

4.0 stars 1/4/2011 by Mishfashion
by Mishfashion

I read all the reviews on this chair before buying, and it prevented me from buying it for a while. The major complaints I read were it was stiff: I think it's better to say sturdy. If you're looking for a chair that when you sit down you melt into magical softness then don't buy it. But overall the chair is comfy. The other complaint was the rocking: I do think the rocking factor is off a hair, it rocks, but to rock all the way back on the legs you do have to push a bit. My dad is going to shave a hari off the back of the legs so it naturally falls back easier, that's a quick fix to the problem. My other comments, the cover, not an option! You have to have it, i tried to get it without and it has zippers and holes in the sides and back showing, so it's not up for discussion you have to buy the cover. As far as putting it together, it was like 5 pieces, super super super easy, not sure who or why said it took like 3 hours, but all i can say is this chair should not be a challenge for anyone to put together! I think for $229 it's a great investment. It's a very nice looking chair, it doesn't look cheap at all and it's a great size, and it's comfy enough.

Was this review helpful? (27) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mishfashion
Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Where are the slipcovers?
3/3/2010

Customer review by katytexasshopper

3.0 stars 3/3/2010 by katytexasshopper
by katytexasshopper

I think if you're going to sell a chair that requires a slipcover, you should have slipcovers available. I purchased this chair 2/19/10, it arrived in great condition & my husband put it together with no difficulties. It's cute, comfortable, but covered in a cheap, temporary material that cannot be used without a slipcover - yet there are no slipcovers in stock - in any color at all. I've had a lot of trouble finding the right style/size/fit slipcover at other stores & online so I hope Walmart gets these in stock soon. I have a baby on the way.

Was this review helpful? (27) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
katytexasshopper
Katy, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Great chair, great price! Perfect
6/5/2009

Customer review by sandmomy

5.0 stars 6/5/2009 by sandmomy
by sandmomy

I really wanted a nice chair to put in my son's nursery, but didn't want to spend the $400-500 to buy one. So, I found this on walmart.com and decided that I'd give it a try, the price was right and it looked nice...and it was! It was easy to put together, the slip cover was nice and it's even comfy to sit in. My only complaint is that walmart didn't have all the slipcovers in stock, as I wanted to order another color to have either as a backup or to be able to move the chair into another room later on when I don't need it in my son's nursery anymore. Otherwise I'm very happy with this chair!

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sandmomy
Inland Empire, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Awesome Chair for the price!!!
10/6/2009

Customer review by gyma143

5.0 stars 10/6/2009 by gyma143
by gyma143

Okay so a couple of things: 1) It was super easy to put together (did it myself at 7 months pregnant) 2) Hardest part is putting the slip cover on (it was very fitted) 3) For the people who say that it is cheap, etc...what do you expect for the price? Don't get me wrong this chair is not the most comfortable thing in the world...but I wouldn't say it is uncomfortable. It rocks well for me and I enjoy sitting on it...I do almost every day. 4) IT IS VERY OBVIOUS that the slip cover is sold separately...and yes you have to have the slipcover unless you can make a custom one. I waited until the slipcovers were available again BEFORE I ordered the chair. They are slowly trickling in under the name Dorel Slip Cover (not through the link provided on Product info) 5) I ordered the green slip cover. It is NOT minty green, it is a VERY light green almost taupe colored 6) I LOVE THIS CHAIR and would defiantly recommend it...unless you just are dying to pay $1,200 for a Pottery Barn chair. So wait till the slipcover color you want is available and order the chair and slip cover at the same time...I was not disappointed!

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gyma143
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great purchase!
6/6/2011

Customer review by CampDallas

5.0 stars 6/6/2011 by CampDallas
by CampDallas

I really wanted an upholstered rocker or glider for our baby's nursery, but learned that the style I was looking for usually came with a hefty price tag. I was excited when I saw this particular rocker...and the price was very reasonable! When it arrived, my husband had no trouble putting it together, and I was thrilled with the style and overall comfort. We have been using it for 2 months now, it is perfectly 'broken in', and we continue to love it! Prior to ordering, I was concerned about finding a chair that would fit me and my husband (I'm 5'8" and he's a broad-shouldered 6'2"), and also fit in our small nursery. This chair is comfortable for both of us without overtaking our small space. Also, I was worried about how the wooden rockers would work on our carpet. We aren't rocking wild or anything, but it is enough to lull our little guy to sleep. It does slide on the carpet a bit at times, but it is easy enough to put back into place if it does shift some. If you are considering purchasing this, go for it. I am fussy beyond fussy, and I have been delighted with this purchase!

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CampDallas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Buy!
6/10/2009

Customer review by FirestoneMom

5.0 stars 6/10/2009 by FirestoneMom
by FirestoneMom

I was a little skeptical when I first purchased this chair - but my husband put it together last night (took about 20 minutes), and it is wonderful! Very easy to assemble and is the perfect size. Not too big for a nursery and still large enough for a 6-foot, 205lb+ man. The cover fabric is very soft and fits the chair perfectly. The attached Velcro makes the cover "idiot-proof". My neighbor bought a similar version at a baby store and paid twice as much - this chair is just as nice and is very well constructed. Cushion is comfortable and the rocker frame is real wood. Chair is fairly light weight and arm rest are comfortable to lean on. Brown cover is true chocolate brown.

Was this review helpful? (12) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FirestoneMom
Firestone, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not Bad For the Cost
3/11/2010

Customer review by SummerBaby25

3.0 stars 3/11/2010 by SummerBaby25
by SummerBaby25

I was really excited to buy this chair because it was so cheap. But it's true you do get what you pay for. I have committed myself to keeping this chair but it took a few days for it to grow on me. Here is a summary... Pros: 1.Cheap price 2. rocks well on hard floors 3. Roomy (unlike glider/rockers, this chair is roomy, perfect for snuggling with older kids as well as newborns!) Cons: 1.Doesnt rock well on carpet 2.No lumbar support and generally not extremely comfortable 3. Bad quality (I am not expecting this chair to last long being as the cushion is already indented and we have only had it a month. 4. Not real fabric on the chair. it's a very thin almost mesh that is not durable (unlike the picture you see on the website, this chair doesnt have any real fabric, the idea is your suppose to get the slipcover, which is unavailable. IN SUMMARY: if you want a cheaply priced chair and dont mind sacrificing a little comfort and quality, this is the chair for you.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SummerBaby25
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Exceeded expectations...is now 3 yrs old
7/21/2011

Customer review by SoVAMom

5.0 stars 7/21/2011 by SoVAMom
by SoVAMom

This chair has been great and is lightweight and easy to move but sturdy. I've had it since my 3 year old daughter was born and am now ordering a new slipcover because I am updating color schemes in the family room. Great chair and highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SoVAMom
Southern Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Dorel - Rocking Chair
1/28/2010

Customer review by akossen

5.0 stars 1/28/2010 by akossen
by akossen

I absolutely love this chair!! I didn't want the typical glider so I started searching for modern-style rockers online. Well, all the chairs I liked came with a very large price tag. Then one day I was looking on Wal-Marts’ website and came across this rocker....and I fell in love. The price was right up my alley!! I was nervous about ordering it since it didn't come upholstered, but thought I would give it a shot. When we got it home it was super easy to put together. The slipcover was very form fitting so it took a little maneuvering to put it on...but once it was on it definitely completed the chair. The chair's back has a very firm cushion, which I prefer to give my back support. I love this chair so much I have already order more slipcovers for it....it is very convenient for switching out the style. I have also attached some pictures for everyone to get a feel for the overall size and style of the chair.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
akossen
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Value and Product
4/2/2009

Customer review by FlaviaC

5.0 stars 4/2/2009 by FlaviaC
by FlaviaC

I've been looking around for rockers and was disappointed with the prices being so high... When I saw this one, I liked at first. I read the reviews, and took a chance and bought this one. I'm so glad I did. Very easy to assemble (husband did in about 15 min). I found it pretty confortable. I sat in it for a long time, and my back never hurt (though having a small pillow in my lower back make it even more confortable). I can't tell you how it is sitting with the baby, but so far I am in love with this rocker, and very happy that I bought it. You do have to buy the slip cover separate, and the finished product looks very pretty in the baby's room. I'm sure people won't be able to tell we bought it Wal mart. I'm very satisfeid with this rocker!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FlaviaC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
2/7/2013

Customer review by firsttimmommy

5.0 stars 2/7/2013 by firsttimmommy
by firsttimmommy

After extensive research, this rocking chair was by far the best value. I had specific criteria that the rocking chair for our nursery had to meet- it had to be classy looking (pottery barn style), it had to be comfortable enough to sleep in, it had to be supportive, and there was no way I was going to spend a fortune on it and feel icky afterwards. This chair met the criteria, and I couldn't be happier. It's just really too bad that the beige slipcover isn't available...and yes, you absolutely do need a slipcover.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
firsttimmommy
Buffalo, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
LOVE THIS CHAIR
9/10/2009

Customer review by UNCMama

5.0 stars 9/10/2009 by UNCMama
by UNCMama

I purchased ths chair for my son's nursery in July 2008. I have had no regrets! I was nervous about buying a chair that wasn't upholstered for fear that the slipcover would look too obvious. I couldn't be happier with the results! It was easy for my husband to assemble & the slipcover covers it perfectly! You can't even tell that it didn't come upholstered. It was also comfy for me to sit in during my 3rd trimester of pregnancy & during the nursing stage. We now use it to snuggle up with our son & read him a bedtime story. At the time, we did not buy the matching ottoman b/c our nursery was too small. We've since moved & now have the room for it so we just ordered the matching ottoman b/c we want the complete set since we love the chair so much. A friend of ours saw our chair & is now ordering it for her nursery as well (that is, if her slipcover is ever in stock)! If you compare the prices of this chair relative to others like it, it is a much better bargain. It may not be as comfy as a $500 chair would be, but for under $250 (with the slipcover) you can't beat it! You would never be able to tell that it came from Wal Mart!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
UNCMama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great for nursery...should have come w/slipcover
8/30/2012

Customer review by TNMommy9717

4.0 stars 8/30/2012 by TNMommy9717
by TNMommy9717

I DISAGREE with the posts that the chair is not comfortable or worth the price. I am picky and love Pottery Barn etc....this chair has all the look and style of those type places, but not the huge price tag...I am also a craigslist shopper and you cannot beat the deal on this chair. Its very comfy and decently made FOR THE PRICE....true if you spend upwards of 300 you will get an even more comfy chair and better quality, but if you are like me and just want a chair that is comfy enough to rock a baby all night this one works GREAT! The arms and back are cushioned enough to sit for hours if needed and most of us with babies do...I have to use the arms a lot to hold my baby for long periods of time as she is a preemie and must sit up a little to eat and can take a long time finishing her bottle. Never have I had an issue with the comfort of the chair. It also looks great in my very trendy and classy nursery. My ONLY complaint is I agree that the OPTIONAL slipcover is NOT optional...your chair would look pretty bad without one...you could do it but there would be exposed areas...its not just a white cover you can choose to cover up or use as a white chair....its obvious it needs, but doesn't have a cover and it should have been included for the amount you have to pay. I bought the pink cover and its a good quality...very soft and nice quality for the price. I would buy the chair again, but like I said they really should not say the cover is optional and it should have been included in the price....other than that....its a modern and stylish chair perfectly comfortable for rocking a baby for long periods of time and with arms useful for propping up a baby when your arm is tired. = )

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TNMommy9717
Nashville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Lured by price - can't get over functional problem
2/2/2011

Customer review by Kholder

2.0 stars 2/2/2011 by Kholder
by Kholder

I read all the reviews for this chair and opted to ignore the issues with the ease of rocking and the confort level because it was a good looking chair at the right price. In my opinion, I didn't want to spend tons of money on a nicer chair and this was stylish and functional enough for the amount of time I felt I would use it. Well, I am returning the chair. It is designed in such a way that the second you sit in it you are propelled forward and have to tense up your back and push off something in order to get enough momentum to rock it. I tried on hardwood and carpet...it is not the floor, the pieces on the bottom are designed to sit too far back on the chair for it to work properly. Unfortunately, in this case, I can't just live with it. Everything else about the chair is great. Too bad.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kholder
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Bad description on chair- ottoman and slip cover
5/2/2012

Customer review by Sarah06456

2.0 stars 5/2/2012 by Sarah06456
by Sarah06456

This chair says that it comes in a "bundle" with the ottoman which basically means sold separately. The website is NOT clear that the cost of the chair does not include the ottoman. Also it says that a slip cover is optional, that is NOT the case. You must purchase a slip cover the chair comes in a fabric that is rough and resembles a burlap texture. So now I have to wait for my slip over and ottoman to arrive, all costing extra. You think you are getting a value on the chair until you find out you need to purchase everything separately.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sarah06456
Tracy, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Poor quality and uncomfortable!
12/20/2012

Customer review by MamanGrande

1.0 stars 12/20/2012 by MamanGrande
by MamanGrande

This product is very cheaply made; it has a wood frame covered by a very thin white fabric that is secured in many places only by Velcro. Even with the slipcover on it (which is a must), I'm not sure that it would hold up to a small child or pet leaning against the Velcro-secured sides. In addition, the holes for the rocker pieces were drilled without enough precision, so it was impossible to get the rocker pieces to seat properly. Lastly, the chair was quite uncomfortable to sit in...it felt angled too far forward. I'm quite tall (6 foot) and it was still difficult to push back in it enough to get a good rocking motion from it. I guess you get what you pay for! WalMart was very good about the return, and we went and bought a lovely Poang rocker from Ikea - easy to assemble, comfortable, and I can change out the cushion if it gets dirty or I get bored. And it was half the price! Sorry WalMart, but this rocker just isn't worth the money.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MamanGrande
Orange County, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great purchase for me
6/12/2009

Customer review by TruePennyPincher

5.0 stars 6/12/2009 by TruePennyPincher
by TruePennyPincher

So far I'm very pleased with this chair. I'm 8 months pregnant and found it very easy to put together myself. My husband came home from work and was shocked to see I had done the task as he expected it to become one of his to do list items. I'm 5'10" and find the chair comfortable. I feel better with a pillow supporting my lumbar area, but that's typical for me in any seat. At my height, I cannot easily rest my head on the back of the seat, but I don't consider that a negative as I don't want a chair I'm likely to fall asleep in while nursing. I have the chocolate cover and absolutely love it! It seems of good quality and the color is exactly what I wanted. It looks great in my little boy's room and I'm excited to rock him in it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TruePennyPincher
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Great Rocker for the Money
8/7/2012

Customer review by Southernbooks

5.0 stars 8/7/2012 by Southernbooks
by Southernbooks

I ordered this thinking it would be a bunk purchase and I would have to send it back. It was perfect for our nursery. I loved the rocker. It was easy to put together and comfortable. The chair is a good size and I love the look of it. I got the beige slip cover which looks a little yellow in the pictures because my walls are brown, but it doesn't really look yellow. I also got the ottoman, which is HUGE! I wish the ottoman was a little smaller and took up less room. Baby is not here yet, so I can't comment on how well it works with a little one. NOTE: I did steam the slip cover once I put it on the chair and ottoman. I have a steamer for clothes and it worked great for the slip cover. I used the steam directly on the cloth, but I did NOT use an iron. I would definitely make this purchase again. No regrets.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Southernbooks
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
1-20 of 409 total reviews
1-20 of 409 reviews