Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 99 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

99 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

99 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

75%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
38
4 stars
27
3 stars
11
2 stars
2
1 stars
21
1-20 of 83 total reviews
75%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 83 total reviews
1-20 of 83 reviews
Excellent Product for Dry, Curly Hair
2/17/2011

Customer review by Puck77

5.0 stars 2/17/2011 by Puck77
by Puck77

I was a bit skeptical to try this product; having curly hair my entire life, I've wasted hundreds of dollars on new items that never do what they promise (or, at worst, make my hair look even crazier than it did before). Since my hair gets super dry in the winter, and shampooing it daily, even with a very moisturizing product, dries it out even more, I figured that for the price it was worth a shot. I'm so glad I tried it! My hair gets its curl and bounce back, has an added sheen, and smells wonderful (lightly citrusy for hours, not the least bit overpowering or offensive). Depending on how I've styled my hair the day before (if I haven't used the full arsenal of creams and gels, etc.), I don't even need to use a defrizzer or moisturizer. If I have styled it heavily, I just throw in a little of my standard moisturizing cream and I'm good to go. Try it and you won't be sorry! I wish I'd known about this foaming waterless shampoo before throwing away three other similar items costing more than three times as much.

Puck77
Worcester, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Love the dry shampoo!
10/7/2010

Customer review by NativeNYer

5.0 stars 10/7/2010 by NativeNYer
by NativeNYer

This is the first dry shampoo I've tried, and I'm loving it! I blow out my hair, but I chose the dry/curly formula over the oily/straight because I thought that with the dry/curly foam I wouldn't have to spend a whole lot of time styling my hair on Day 2, and it worked out well - the foam just isn't that "wet", and I suspect that the oily/straight product might be more "gel" like. Even though it said to lightly pat your hair with a towel I didn't need to...it pretty much dried on it's own in a few seconds, but didn't leave my hair "crunchy". My hair has more body on Day 2, and although my hair's not very oily it certainly took away that little bit of oil that's inevitably there on the non-wash days, as well as the slight odor (even though there is not any noticeable fragrance). I will not be applying it to my ends so I can't say whether it will dry out your hair. I will be monitoring what, if anything, it does to my color.

NativeNYer
San Francisco, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Better than the dry products, worked for me!
7/25/2012

Customer review by Shcurry85

4.0 stars 7/25/2012 by Shcurry85
by Shcurry85

I have somewhat thick, wavy medium length hair. I have been trying dry shampoo after dry shampoo for the past two years now. I usually go 2-3 days between washes, I find that my hair looks the best this way. I have used the other Tresemme dry shampoo products before to find the best one that works for me. I did not like how much residue was left after using the other products, that white substance is just not attractive, nor did I like the feeling of my hair after using it. I just within the last hour or so used the foam waterless shampoo, and I have to say it worked MUCH BETTER! You don't need alot, just a few pumps (2-3) on the roots, and maybe (1-2) throughout the rest of the hair. I would recommend it to a friend or family member. Maybe you guys can make it with added volume for a more fuller look? That would be the only suggestion I could provide.

Shcurry85
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Really did improve my hair
8/8/2011

Customer review by Rennie

5.0 stars 8/8/2011 by Rennie
by Rennie

Like a lot of ppl, I tried this product with serious doubts. I have very fine, wavy hair. It never looks as good the 2nd day. I purchased this a couple days ago. I didn't want to use it right before going to work as there wouldn't be time to fix it if it didn't work. So I tried it when I came home in the late afternoon, so it had been about 36 hrs since i last washed my hair. I used two pumps of it and worked it through. I was initially surprised that it didn't make my hair feel sticky or wet. I then used a clean towel as per the instructions. I didn't blow dry it afterwards as I saw no need for it. I simply brushed it and looked in the mirror for a before and after comparison. I was actually impressed. My hair did look better. It still looked nice the next morning(day 3), but washed it anyway as I didn't want to take a chance.

Rennie
Clarksville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
not bad
11/1/2010

Customer review by SaSa

3.0 stars 11/1/2010 by SaSa
by SaSa

Due to recient high winds in my area, power was out for a long period of time. Those of you who have a well know that this means no water. My hair had gotten horribly oily, and I decided to try this as a quick fix. It did help some. If your hair is very oily, like mine was, it doesnt take it all out, but it certainly did freshen and clean it up enough that I felt comfortable wearing it in a pony tail. I found that the more you rubbed your hair with the towel, the better the resutls. It by no means will replace shampooing, but I think it will be a great refresher between washes. I also have very blonde hair that I color very dark, and see color in the water around my feet with every shower. I used a white towel, and had no color residue at all on it when I finished. So I believe your color is safe ladies!

SaSa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Do not like!!!
11/13/2010

Customer review by perie

1.0 stars 11/13/2010 by perie
by perie

I have difficult hair that is not easy to style if i dont wash it ang get it completely wet every day. I was excited to see this product because it could possibly help me on the in between days without having to get my hair wet( especially as the mornings get colder). I also love this brand so I i had high hopes. But when I got this product home it was deffinetly not what i thought it would be. It did not help the condiditon of my hair, and it actually gathered in areas making my hair look very oily and dirtier in many places. I used it as directed so i dont think I got these results from using the product wrong, and if there is a better way to use it other than directed I would love to know because even though these products have great prices I am not big on throwing away money.

perie
SC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Terrible product
11/5/2015

Customer review by Allie G

1.0 stars 11/5/2015 by Allie G
by Allie G

I have not used this product in a little while so they may have changed it but it was so awful when I did. First of all it does not smell good so your hair smells weird until you shower. It also gives your hair a weird texture and you can definitely tell you have product in it. Lastely, it does have a white residue and when you try to blend it in it leaves your hair with a greyish tint. This is obviously the case for brown hair, not sure about blonde hair. Overall was disappointed with this product and recently found a much better one. Would not use this again.

Allie G
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
CLEAN & EASY
11/3/2011

Customer review by Garrie

5.0 stars 11/3/2011 by Garrie
by Garrie

I have been using this product over a year and have been very happy with the results and ease of use. I am a male with a short, somewhat spikey but not stiff hairstyle. On an average day I use 2-3 pumps in the palm of my hand and massage the product throughout my hair. Since the product is a foam as opposed to a powder I like that I don't have to deal with a powdery residue. Also, since I prefer not to breathe in aerosols the pump is much more adaptable to my needs. Surprisingly, although the foam starts out wet it evaporates as it is being massaged into the scalp. Afterwards, I use a pick to quickly complete the styling, My hair is left with a clean, healthy and professional look.

Garrie
North Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Made My Hair Feel Gross!
9/2/2014

Customer review by Gemdragon

1.0 stars 9/2/2014 by Gemdragon
by Gemdragon

I've tried a few different dry shampoos and I get the same results with every one. I have straight, blond, fine, oily hair and dry shampoo just doesn't work for me. It leaves my hair feeling gross. It doesn't make my hair look any better either. This was the first brand I used and I expected it to give me that just washed look. HA! I tried to shake my hair and it didn't even move! I can't even run my fingers through it because I get powder all over my hands and I can't get up to immediately wash them. I'd rather have dirty hair than use dry shampoo ever again. The only good thing about this product, it makes my hair smell good.

Gemdragon
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Not really a "shampoo"
12/29/2010

Customer review by KchiTown10

1.0 stars 12/29/2010 by KchiTown10
by KchiTown10

This product should not be confused with a Dry Shampoo, (which is like a powdery spray to soak up oils in the hair). The Waterless Foam "Shampoo" is more like a moisturizer, which will leave your hair feeling 10x greasier than you started with. I would recommend if you are going to use this product, use it to refresh the tips of your hair, NOT the roots by your scalp, or you will end up with a greasy mess! Only good for calming frizz at the ends of hair. The bottle says to rub your hair with a towel, but that makes it frizzy again, so I don't really see the point. It smells OK too, which is really the only benefit in my opinion.

KchiTown10
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Pretty good
2/15/2012

Customer review by Rose03

4.0 stars 2/15/2012 by Rose03
by Rose03

I have chin length natural big curls hair. Not really dry, but all curls can use more moisture, in my opinion. That's why I went for this type of Fresh Start. +moisturizing +smells great! very fresh yet subtle enough +no brushing required +no powder (I was afraid I'd miss some and it would look like dandruff!) -not as effective as using baby powder (for me) For every-other day use, I would purchase again. However, I won't purchase again, because I like to go longer than every-other day for showers and I need a stronger dry shampoo. I will happily use the rest of the bottle, though. Definitely worth what I paid for it.

Rose03
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Best dry shampoo on market.
10/6/2015

Customer review by Crochetcat59

5.0 stars 10/6/2015 by Crochetcat59
by Crochetcat59

Awesome product! Have tried several and this is the best. Won't be without it!

Crochetcat59
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
CLOGGED BOTTLE SOLUTION!
2/7/2011

Customer review by Bebe

4.0 stars 2/7/2011 by Bebe
by Bebe

I LOVE this product. I have have spent so much money on professional dry shampoos that either smell really bad or the leak. The only problem with this one is after i sprayed once the bottle clogged. I played with it and played with it and FINALLY i found a solution. After it clogs stick a small pin or safety pin into the nosal hole and it will spay again! It sounds silly but i love this product enough to do it every time i want to use it. Also, I have blondish fine hair. Personally i would not recommend this to people with dark hair. It does leave a whitish residue.

Bebe
Raleigh, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Curly Hair Madness Cure!!
1/14/2014

Customer review by CherBear

5.0 stars 1/14/2014 by CherBear
by CherBear

I absolutely love this product! I have long, full, naturally curly hair that I cannot wash daily and keep properly conditioned. My trouble prior to finding this product was that after sleeping my hair would be frizzed and slightly uncurled. A few pumps of the incredible product applied to my curls and the frizz is gone, and the bouncy curls are refreshed. Thank you so much for introducing this product to the market that will freshen up a look and not dry it out. Well Done!! (Sad that this product is not available in my area anymore - not that I can find)

CherBear
Richmond, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
An okay product
9/13/2015

Customer review by Olid

3.0 stars 9/13/2015 by Olid
by Olid

I have fine blonde hair and it makes it look better overall, but it also feels dense and oily.

Olid
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
fresh braids
2/8/2011

Customer review by Befabulous

5.0 stars 2/8/2011 by Befabulous
by Befabulous

I am African -American and I sport braids at least twice a year. When you wash them with water they become less vibrant. If you don't wash them your hair will eventually smell awful. I love this product for keeping my braids tight and my scalp/braids clean and smelling incredible fresh. If you like to keep your braids looking gorgeous for longer I definitely recommend this product. The other dry shampoo by Tresemme, with clay, is not recommended for braids because it dulls the shine of your hair. This product is a life saver!

Befabulous
stamford, connecticut
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Dissapointed
6/12/2011

Customer review by Jacky

1.0 stars 6/12/2011 by Jacky
by Jacky

I was very dissapionted with this product, i have not had a problem with any other Tresemme' products as i use the shampoo's & conditioners, but recently i bought the Fresh Start Waterless Foam Shampoo and spent a lot of money on this but was very dissapointed, i did as the instructions tell you, by using 2-3 pumps and brushing through my hair and then blow drying to finish, but after doing this, it left my hair feeling very oily/greasy and felt very thick. So was not happy with this so then had to wash my hair to get it out.

Jacky
Leeds
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
My New Favorite
4/16/2011

Customer review by ChrissyC

5.0 stars 4/16/2011 by ChrissyC
by ChrissyC

I tried it for the first time and fell in love with this stuff. I have very dry, very curly hair and i cant wash it everyday because of the damage that normal shampoo does. I was told by my salon to condition it everyday, but shampoo it about 3 times a week. This works great on the days that i miss a shampoo. it makes my hair soft and even tried it on my daughters hair and it looks so shiny and bouncy and she has curly hair like i do. I wish this stuff would have come out earlier. This stuff is great and i plan to get more

ChrissyC
Seneca SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
The waterless foam DOESNT work!
9/27/2010

Customer review by stella

1.0 stars 9/27/2010 by stella
by stella

I have tried the waterless foam on 2 occasions, the first when my hair was considerably greasy and i used this after a night out when i couldnt be bothered to wash it for work and i hoped this would give me an alternative but no there was no affect on my hair what so ever. the second time my hair was only slightly greasy and there was still no effect on my hair. Yeahhh this product is basically pants and i hope that nobody else wasted their valuable money on it. Tresemee i am DISAPPOINTED!

stella
London
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Ashamed I bought it.
10/10/2010

Customer review by lilmcgill9

1.0 stars 10/10/2010 by lilmcgill9
by lilmcgill9

This is the most illogical product I have ever used. First of all, the name is "Waterless Foam Shampoo" and the first ingredient is water. Therefore, it leaves your hair wet. For a quick fix, you are supposed to be able to pat your hair dry with a towel. Forget that--I had to blow my hair out again, after which it left my hair greasier than when I started. Stick with the spray-on or powder shampoos that are truly waterless and you are more apt to have a better experience on no-wash days.

lilmcgill9
Allentown, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
1-20 of 83 total reviews
1-20 of 83 reviews