Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 44 reviews | 2.9 out of 5

3.0 stars

44 reviews | 2.9 out of 5

3.0 stars

44 reviews | 2.9 out of 5

40%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
15
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
6
1 stars
17
1-20 of 41 total reviews
40%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 41 total reviews
1-20 of 41 reviews
6/17/2011

Customer review by NAVA203

2.0 stars 6/17/2011 by NAVA203
by NAVA203

I purchased this model based on the reviews I read here. 1. The plastic grass deflector keeps blowing off. 2. The plastic mulch guard also blew off, the blade cut off the piece that holds it in place. 3. I have used it three times, one hours use each time: the wheels are loose and the cable guide popped off. I have used bailing wire and duct tape to hold it together, hope to at least make it thru the season.

Was this review helpful? (64) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NAVA203
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Doesn't work
6/5/2011

Customer review by MNLisa

1.0 stars 6/5/2011 by MNLisa
by MNLisa

I made a special trip to a different town to get this exact one. Get it home on Saturday, set it up. Went out to try it today and the pull String was hard to pull out and wont go back in. I'm so mad about this!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (41) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MNLisa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Not a quality machine
6/26/2011

Customer review by BradATL

1.0 stars 6/26/2011 by BradATL
by BradATL

I purchased this machine in the early summer of 2011. I took the machine home & assembled it with no problem. The machine performed very well the weekend I bought it. The weather was not very cooperative for the following two weeks, so I was unable to mow the lawn. Once the weather cleared up, I took the machine out of my garage to use it, but it would not start. The mower has plenty of fuel and the oil is at the correct level. Nothing is obstructing the blade from turning. I will definitely return the machine this week.

Was this review helpful? (33) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BradATL
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great Lawn Mower
6/2/2011

Customer review by Mayvin

4.0 stars 6/2/2011 by Mayvin
by Mayvin

This a great lawn mower for the price. The only thing is I wish it had adjustable speed. It is easy to put together and easy to start.

Was this review helpful? (23) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mayvin
White River Junction, VT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Carb Air-Fuel Not Adjustable
2/5/2012

Customer review by alient

1.0 stars 2/5/2012 by alient
by alient

This mower has a non-adjustable carburator. So, the lower (pre-set) running RPM doesn't cut well except on lower grass-cutting levels. Lasted one season and started flooding unexpectedly - running too rich, wants to keep quitting. Cleaned the air filter - usually fixes this problem - and the spark plug for fowling, but to no avail. New carbs are expensive to replace, so I'll just get another brand mower - although Briggs and Stratton are on most. Plastic, molded carburator bodies are cheaper for B&S to make, but not owner friendly.

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
alient
GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
8/28/2011

Customer review by Bod11

2.0 stars 8/28/2011 by Bod11
by Bod11

I purchased this mower 3 years ago. A little difficult to start but always does. I live in Florida and use it year round in a tiny yard. Here is the problem. Unless you are handy, this is a throw-a-way mower. After, in my case, 3 years, the diaphram in the carburator will fail. This causes the engine to surge. Slow down and speed up. This is common in the cheaper Briggs and Stratton motors. The part is cheap. Only $3.50 but labor will run you about $100.00 A lot to pay for a $165.00 lawn mower. If you are handy go to Youtube and you can see how easy it is to repair. Again, if you're handy. If not, part with some bucks and buy a mower with a Honda motor.

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bod11
Valrico, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Not useful in dry, dusty areas
7/19/2011

Customer review by pmiker

2.0 stars 7/19/2011 by pmiker
by pmiker

While this mower is worthless to me, the mower seems to be a good one for well kept yards. This prevents me from giving it a single star. The large back wheels indicate a willingness to tack rough terrain but the air filtration system cannot handle dry, dusty environments. Contrary to it's looks, this is a light duty mower. This means that the air filter needs to be removed and cleaned perhaps as often as every 1/2 hour of use. You must clean it in hot, soapy water, dry it completely, and then oil it. It is easier to keep several filters on hand and then do the clean up when the mowing is done. Of course, this will add more work to your mowing job. According to Weedeater, there is no alternative to the the air filter. If possible, water the lawn first.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pmiker
Quinlan, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Waste of money
9/3/2011

Customer review by MiKen71923

1.0 stars 9/3/2011 by MiKen71923
by MiKen71923

During my first mow with this mower, it kept getting overheated.... It wouldn't run more than 30 minutes without needing to take a break. I've used it a couple times this year, and it is still giving me the same problems... It also went through an entire bottle of oil (in at most 5 mowings of a small yard) I'm definitely taking this back.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MiKen71923
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
12/12/2011

Customer review by daPoPs

5.0 stars 12/12/2011 by daPoPs
by daPoPs

I purchased the mower one year ago and shipped it to the Philippines. We have a small Orphanage there and planted a very hardy local grass which is called Carabou. I didn't need something fancy with lots of bells and whistles, just a basic mower that starts every time and cuts everything in front of it........and that's what I got. Due to the thickness of the grass I have the blade height set at #4. Not sure why other posters have had problems, my mower started right out of the box and cut everything in sight.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
daPoPs
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Did not run very long!
10/19/2013

Customer review by spetho2001

1.0 stars 10/19/2013 by spetho2001
by spetho2001

I have had two WeedEater lawn mowers that I have bought from Walmart. They have both had the 500 series 158cc 5.00ft.lbs. Briggs and Stratton engine. Both of these lawn mowers in a very short period of time have started to run really lousy. The RPMs pulsate up and down while you are cutting the grass to the point where you think it is going to stall on the down RPM. This last lawn mower did stop running and would not start. I changed the plug, which was black with soot but the gap OK, and it started OK. The lawn mower had started using more gas for the same lawn. It would run out while I was mowing. When it was just about to run out the RPMs would go up and it would run fine (like it was getting more air and less gas). It seemed to me the lawn mower has been running to rich. A friend mentioned the diaphragm under the carburetor had gone bad. He said it was pulsating because it was getting air and then gas. Another friend mentioned the gas cap. He said it should have vent holes. I took the cap off, which has three vent holes. Inside I fine a cork gasket, round and taking up the whole inside of the cap. It had four vent holes which did not line up with the holes in the cap. It didn’t make any difference if the holes lined up as the cork was loose in the cap and would just spin and misalign anyway. The cork had been sucked outward and it seems like it is sealing off the holes in the cap. I looked at my brother in laws exact lawn mower which he brings to a lawn mower shop to have serviced and there is no cork inside his cap. I don’t know if he took it out or it did not come in the mower or the shop took it out at service time. Has anyone else had this trouble?

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
spetho2001
Middletown,RI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Awesome little mower!
9/12/2011

Customer review by forcegeek

5.0 stars 9/12/2011 by forcegeek
by forcegeek

I bought this mower about a month ago. It has done everything that I have demanded of it. Tall grass and wet grass. It is very lightweight and extremely easy to push, even through taller grass. I always tell my wife how much I love my little lawnmower. Three pumps on the primer bulb and it starts on the first or second pull every time. Great mower for the price.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
forcegeek
Sussex County, Delaware
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
poor quality
10/31/2011

Customer review by cleanreviews

2.0 stars 10/31/2011 by cleanreviews
by cleanreviews

Bought this lawnmower because there was a limited selction to choose from at our store and this lawn mower fit our budget. What a mistake. This lawnmower has broken down 3 times in the past 6 months. Its tempermental and it gives out large black clouds of smoke. I wish I would have had the sense to read these reviews before I made my purchase, a lesson well learned!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cleanreviews
south florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
A DECADE of use with little hassle!
5/19/2014

Customer review by Amber72076

5.0 stars 5/19/2014 by Amber72076
by Amber72076

When I saw the bad reviews on this mower I could not believe my eyes! I bought this mower when I bought my first house. We have used it twice a week every summer for 10 years! We have never even changed the oil on this thing! Replaced spark plug once. Replaced the blades twice(my fault, tree root first time, aluminum fence post second time). The little flappy thing on the side is horrible, we keep ours lifted with a bungee cord. The safety cable finally rotted away last summer(we now disconnect spark plug to shut off). This mower has been stored outdoors, year round, for the entirety of it's life! To my amazement it starts up every single summer first shot with no effort! This is the exact mower, same size, same briggs and stratton engine as they still sell now at walmart. I paid $150 back then(not sure how much they are now, doesn't say online), but as you can tell I'd by another in a heartbeat....I just don't ever see our current one dieing. Hopefully I didn't just jinx myself! LOL

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Amber72076
Little Rock, Ar
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Weed Eater 22" High Wheel Gas-Powered Lawn Mower
5/12/2014

Customer review by kawicon

4.0 stars 5/12/2014 by kawicon
by kawicon

only reason not given 5 stars is the weak design of the discharge chute. has not failed to start in almost 3 yrs even after winter storage. delivers a smooth, even cut. does the job for a basic, no-frill lawn mower.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kawicon
Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
You get what you pay for
6/26/2011

Customer review by mikeysays

1.0 stars 6/26/2011 by mikeysays
by mikeysays

A piece of junk. Brought the high wheel for an easier cut. The $97 low wheel brought many years ago far exceeded this lawnmower. Spend an extra $100 or so and get a quality lawnmower.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mikeysays
Baton Rouge, LA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Horrible mower!!!
4/4/2012

Customer review by Emjen10

1.0 stars 4/4/2012 by Emjen10
by Emjen10

awful product. i got the first one home, started it, mowed perfectly, nothing wrong. the next time i got it out to mow, it started for a second, then cut out. i ended up taking it back to walmart, where they said this is a common problem, and exchanged it for me. the next one did the EXACT same thing! i'm totally fed up! total waste of money!!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Emjen10
topeka, ks
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
It's like an old Mopar engine - you can't kill it!
8/10/2013

Customer review by EAV68

4.0 stars 8/10/2013 by EAV68
by EAV68

I have one that I have left out in the rain, the snow etc. I have it serviced once a year (before mowing season), and it starts, like clockwork, on the first pull. And no, I'm not some burly man. I am a 45 year old woman. I had bought mine previous to moving into my current house, to which my landlord left a really nice Honda mower to use. That Honda mower sits in the shed collecting dust because it doesn't cut as well as this bad boy, and it's so inexpensive!! You would never know it from the quality of cut, and the reliability of the machine.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
EAV68
East Haven, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Good mower for the money
5/2/2012

Customer review by TheWatchman777

4.0 stars 5/2/2012 by TheWatchman777
by TheWatchman777

I am now going in to my second season and there are two issues I have with it. First, the air filter seems to clog quickly and must be cleaned regularly (just purchased a brand new filter assembly) as it does not work well in even a slightly dusty environment. Second, there is no speed adjustment for the engine except for a "slight" increase when you use the control lever at the front of the machine (an almost non-existent increase in rpm's). I would recommend this mower for an average sized lawn as it can not be considered heavy duty! For the most part, a good little mower.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TheWatchman777
Hartselle Al
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
If it starts, it works, but it rarely starts.
6/16/2013

Customer review by skimaster

1.0 stars 6/16/2013 by skimaster
by skimaster

Overall, I would rank it as a, "Don't Buy." Frankly, if it starts, it works, but starting it poses the problem inherent in this machine. The hardest portion of mowing the lawn with this contraption is starting it. Only after thirty minutes to an hour of pulling and priming will it start, and even sometimes then, it won't start. By the end of one summer, it ceased to start entirely. After it started, it worked well, never stalling, but expect only a couple uses. Overall, I would rank it as a, "Don't Buy."

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
skimaster
Acworth, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
Great for weedy and tough grasses
5/10/2012

Customer review by RedLodgeSalt

5.0 stars 5/10/2012 by RedLodgeSalt
by RedLodgeSalt

This is my second like this one that I use on an adjacent lot with lots of tough grasses on rough ground. The first one lasted 7 years but then it got hard to start and with my recent shoulder surgery I decided to get a new one rather than repair the old which I donated to a lawn mower dealer. The new one starts better than the old ever did and cuts better too because it has more horsepower and torque. The price was nearly the same as 7 years ago so thanks for a Walmart bargain!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RedLodgeSalt
Ferndale, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
1-20 of 41 total reviews
1-20 of 41 reviews