Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 57 reviews | 2.9 out of 5

3.0 stars

57 reviews | 2.9 out of 5

3.0 stars

57 reviews | 2.9 out of 5

46%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
18
4 stars
5
3 stars
7
2 stars
5
1 stars
22
1-20 of 52 total reviews
46%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 52 total reviews
1-20 of 52 reviews
5 years of service so far
4/30/2011

Customer review by iamnotyomoma

5.0 stars 4/30/2011 by iamnotyomoma
by iamnotyomoma

don't quite understand all these negative comments on such a great value. i bought mine on sale for 59.95, 5 years back and still it's ready to go. only parts replaced were 2.00 gas line and 4.00 fuel primer bulb. plenty power for grass and most big weeds encountered. boys and girls; the motor is 2 cycle. that means mix 2 cycle oil with fuel @ 40/1 ratio. if u don't it will seize when hot. bye bye. use gas with less than 10 % ethanol,,,,if not bye bye. all else fails,,,ask yo moma. moma knows!! i am very well pleased with my machine,thanks .

Was this review helpful? (65) (27)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
iamnotyomoma
gilmer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
This Was JUNK!!!!!
3/8/2011

Customer review by ironhand21

1.0 stars 3/8/2011 by ironhand21
by ironhand21

This weed eater was hard to start following the instructions. It would not restart hot. It does not have a spool you put in a 19 inch peice of line and you have to stop and put in a new one about every 10 feet. I even tried new line and it just ate it up. You will be sorry if you buy this one. It takes me 30 min to mow my lawn with this it took me 1.5 hours to just weed whack.

Was this review helpful? (40) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ironhand21
Tallahassee Fl
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
6/22/2011

Customer review by hubbardcdrdg

2.0 stars 6/22/2011 by hubbardcdrdg
by hubbardcdrdg

This product was very disappointing. It was very difficult to start out of the box despite following the instructions to the letter. After finally getting it running I literally spent more time changing the line than actually getting any work done. I went thru two entire packages of replacement line before I even used a tank of fuel. I would not recommend this product to anyone least of all a friend.

Was this review helpful? (15) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hubbardcdrdg
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
waste of money
4/8/2011

Customer review by asstchief1651

1.0 stars 4/8/2011 by asstchief1651
by asstchief1651

This weedeater is a waste of money. hard to get shaft assembled. Once together properly, the shaft still seems to have some play in it. After mixing the oil with 1 gallon of nonenothonal gas, had VERY HARD TIME in getting the weed eater running. It then seemed to be idled high as each time i needed to replace the piece of line, I had to cut off the weedeater to stop the head from spinning. After running (when hot) its even hard to start with over 20 pulls each time. Keep in mind this is new right out of the box. Dont waste your money. Weed eater needs to get their act together and get this off the store shelves.

Was this review helpful? (22) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
asstchief1651
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
WORTHLESS
3/9/2011

Customer review by vmltjt

1.0 stars 3/9/2011 by vmltjt
by vmltjt

THIS TRIMMER IS WORTHLESS IT DID NOT WORK AT ALL WASTE OF MONEY!

Was this review helpful? (22) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
vmltjt
San Antonio, tx
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
5/31/2011

Customer review by bayhoss

3.0 stars 5/31/2011 by bayhoss
by bayhoss

i don't like the way it starts its hard to start !!

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bayhoss
springfield ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Terrible Product
5/29/2011

Customer review by AustinTexasGuy

1.0 stars 5/29/2011 by AustinTexasGuy
by AustinTexasGuy

This unit would not start after over 100 pulls. I called the phone number on the unit and was told that I should take it to a service center because "sometimes they do not work out of the box". The service rep then blames the government for a setting that makes it not work at certain altitudes. I am not at altitude (Austin, Tx.), but it does not work. There is no string feeder, just a short line that you need would need to replace every 10 minutes (just guessing - mine does not start). Do not waste you time with this product.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AustinTexasGuy
Round Rock, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
great weed wacker for the price
6/13/2011

Customer review by MJHF150

5.0 stars 6/13/2011 by MJHF150
by MJHF150

I have used this line trimer 4 times now. The first time out of the box I think I flooded it took a lot of pulls to get it started and it ran very slugish for a little while. The next 3 times after primeing 10 times it stated on the 2nd or 3rd pull and ran very well with all the power you need to trim the grass in the yard.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MJHF150
Alpena MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Read and follow the directions carefully.
2/25/2012

Customer review by THMusic

3.0 stars 2/25/2012 by THMusic
by THMusic

Bought unit initially hard to start. Returned it the next day. Got new one a bit hard to start. Did better later.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
THMusic
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Pretty much aweful
5/28/2011

Customer review by trjnarmygrl

2.0 stars 5/28/2011 by trjnarmygrl
by trjnarmygrl

Product was easy to assemble, but despite the stickers all over it, it is anything but simple to start. Straight from the box this has been a headache. I can almost never get it started, and forget the warm start. On the off chance it does work it can only handle small weeds along walkways, fencelines, etc. It really can not handle heavier weeds without getting overheated and dying. Frequently has difficulty under a load, idles low and dies quickly.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
trjnarmygrl
Would recommend to a friend? No
auto choke mechanism doesn't work
6/5/2012

Customer review by Zebra22

1.0 stars 6/5/2012 by Zebra22
by Zebra22

For years Weed eaters came with a manual choke which gave the operator more control of engine performance as the motor warms up. This model comes with an auto choke which engages as you push the primer bulb. The engine would idle but when I squeezed the trigger to rev up the engine it would stall and die. It did this even after the engine was warmed up. I returned to the store. WARNING Wal Mart Customers. You have only 30 days to return this item!!!!!! This is hidden in their fine print. This is not posted anywhere near the lawn equipment in the stores either, so you are likely going to find this out only when you try to return the item. Also, you must have a receipt to return any lawn equipment to the stores. No cash or gift cards will be issued without a receipt.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Zebra22
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
*weedeater a brand I trust*
5/1/2012

Customer review by byjohn

5.0 stars 5/1/2012 by byjohn
by byjohn

WOW!! the reason for making this purchase is because of having to keep reloading trimmer line and the fact that this one use 1 larger dia. line is great. brought this home and it went together in a snap, the first time starting trimmer was a little concerning because i've been used to the old full choke/half choke weedeaters, but once started i had alot more trust in it..but the first time using this unit was a couple of days later, pushed in bulb a few times and started nicely, trimer the yard, it takes me about 30 mins and you know what the line is still intact and is ready for the next time, and the line is very easy to load much easier than the old spool..for the price i am very happy, this is a very good product. I have owned weedeater products for a while and have last vey well..

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
byjohn
great weed eater for any one
5/11/2012

Customer review by dman212

5.0 stars 5/11/2012 by dman212
by dman212

this thing is a great weed eater I've went through weeds at lest 2'' in diameter with no problem

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dman212
coffeyville
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
weed eater gas trimmer
10/2/2011

Customer review by willow99

5.0 stars 10/2/2011 by willow99
by willow99

I like the new design no choke. It is a good weed eater, and a great price. And if your walmart store don't have in store you can order on line and have it ship to store for free shipping.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
willow99
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Light Weight
4/13/2012

Customer review by cosmoseer

5.0 stars 4/13/2012 by cosmoseer
by cosmoseer

Works good and item is as described. As a female I needed a light weight weed eater that would be easier for me to handle for a longer period of time. However I found that by holding and pulling the starter cord at the same time doesn't work for me. Rather difficult and hard to pull the strater cord. The item is very easy to handle once started and over all very pleased.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cosmoseer
Toney, Al
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Excellent Weedeater
5/14/2012

Customer review by rpetty

5.0 stars 5/14/2012 by rpetty
by rpetty

So far I have been using for over a month and it starts everytime after a couple of pulls of the rip cord. I really enjoy not having to work with a choke. I also like that I do not have a spool of string that unspools inself everytime the weedeater bumps the ground. The straith neck on it keeps me from having to bend over, which in the past has been a nightmare because I have back issues and the pain in my back after using a bent neck weedeater became too much. As a matter of fact, I can cut the average weed growth without even having to apply throttle on the trigger. It turns with enough rpm or whatever to cut the grass just running at idle speed. This actually saves gas/oil and at the price of petroleum products these days can add up to the cost of the weedeater in a couple of seasons.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rpetty
AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great for my needs
4/10/2012

Customer review by micwjoh

4.0 stars 4/10/2012 by micwjoh
by micwjoh

this product is perfect for my needs. great for edging sidewalks and driveways. lightweight and durable yet powerful!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
micwjoh
Lexington Ky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Possible Carburation Problems
5/28/2011

Customer review by Boiler1

1.0 stars 5/28/2011 by Boiler1
by Boiler1

Purchased unit on 5/13/2011 and returned it after trimming half of my yard (1 acre), restarting it about 30 times, and using one tank of gas/oil. Unit would not run past half throttle and would bog down or die when cutting broadleafs or trimming grass for more than two seconds. The only plus side is that it started on the first or second pull.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Boiler1
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Piece of Junk
5/12/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 5/12/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

One star is to high of a rating. Hard to start, will not stay running. If it starts it will not rev up to cut grass. Will be returning to store.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
great line trimmer
6/20/2011

Customer review by weedwhacker80

5.0 stars 6/20/2011 by weedwhacker80
by weedwhacker80

I've used weed eater and poulan brand tools for a longtime In my landscape business and they've never let me down this is a great Line trimmer I use these trimmers every day light And heavy weed trimming. This trimmer started rite up and didn't Stop till I shut it off the started it rite back up only this is that it Doesn't have a spool but all ya gotta do is swap it out other than That it's meets all my expectations.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
weedwhacker80
Tucson Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 52 total reviews
1-20 of 52 reviews