Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 21 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

21 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

21 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
17
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 stars
0
1-19 of 19 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Great Reel
4/18/2011

Customer review by CCRomeo

5.0 stars 4/18/2011 by CCRomeo
by CCRomeo

This is a great reel, I have three of them 1000FG, 2500GF and 4000FG. Very smooth, and the trigger is super.

Was this review helpful? (18) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CCRomeo
Ashford, Connecticut
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Exceptional Purchase
7/12/2013

Customer review by Jeremiad

5.0 stars 7/12/2013 by Jeremiad
by Jeremiad

This reel did not arrive in the blister pack, but in the boxed version. This means that the parts list and full instructions were included--nice! This is absolutely the best reel that I have ever owned, save for the 2000FG model, that is! I purchased this reel to replace an aging Shakespeare Cirrus reel that had the same QuickFire-like trigger system; however, this reel is superior in that the line does not wrap around the trigger as the Shakespeare model did. This reel is far more balanced and smooth when compared with the Shakespeare. At this time, it is a little tough to get the bailer to reset on retrieve, but this should soften after use. The best feature of this reel is definitely the Quickfire II; for a kayak angler, setting the bailer at the right position is one less thing to have to worry about!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jeremiad
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Shimano is the best
6/4/2011

Customer review by Samubus

5.0 stars 6/4/2011 by Samubus
by Samubus

This is my 5th Shimano reel and it won't be the last. It has a wobble free retrieve that's hard to beat. The quickfire casting is sweet.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Samubus
Steubenville, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Can't go wrong with Shimano
12/6/2011

Customer review by Fishgutz

5.0 stars 12/6/2011 by Fishgutz
by Fishgutz

I bought 2 of these, 2500 and 4000. I've bought a few before so I've been using the Syncopates for years. Long casts and smooth retrieves. Easy to fight fish. Third cast with the 4000 brought in a 6 3/4 pound bass on the pond in my back yard.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Fishgutz
Fleming Island Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Shimano reel
3/28/2011

Customer review by DeerStalkerNaNa

4.0 stars 3/28/2011 by DeerStalkerNaNa
by DeerStalkerNaNa

Grandson was extremely please with the reel.

Was this review helpful? (6) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DeerStalkerNaNa
Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
A great deal for a medium sized reel
6/10/2013

Customer review by Calyak2

5.0 stars 6/10/2013 by Calyak2
by Calyak2

The Shimano Syncopate is a quality fishing reel, the 2500 that I purchased is a medium sized fresh water reel and features a "quick fire" casting feature that is hard to find in other reels. I use the reel primarily for lake fishing, shore and trawling (kayak). Overall the reel operates very smoothly and is easy to cast..........

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Calyak2
San Berardino, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Super nice reel-smooth
7/2/2013

Customer review by Gizwhammer

5.0 stars 7/2/2013 by Gizwhammer
by Gizwhammer

I bought this to replace an old ultra-light reel I had for many years. This reel preformed wonderfully, with being so smooth. It also added about 20 ft to my casting compared to the older reel. The price is right and it seems to do everything I needed. It's so smooth on the retrieval you feel everything with those 1/4 ounce jigs. Very quite also. Only have had it out once since I got it but I have to brag it up.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gizwhammer
eastern, ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
GOOD PRODUCT
3/27/2011

Customer review by fairportdude

5.0 stars 3/27/2011 by fairportdude
by fairportdude

I BOUGHT THIS REEL TO REPLACE ONE I HAVE HAD SINCE 1980S.THIS REEL WAS LARGER THAN I EXPECTED,AND I WILL HAVE TO USE A LARGER LINE,12LB.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fairportdude
Bluefield,WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great reel... can't believe the quality...
7/25/2011

Customer review by artboy1

5.0 stars 7/25/2011 by artboy1
by artboy1

Great reel... can't believe the quality for such a low price. I have used Shimano reels since the mid '80 and love them, this one is no exception. I actually bought it in 3 sizes... 1000, 2500, and 4000. All 3 are Awesome. Super smooth action, Great balance, Nothing bad to say... seriously... not a single complaint.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
artboy1
Louisville, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Good reel for the price.
9/11/2013

Customer review by fishaholic54

5.0 stars 9/11/2013 by fishaholic54
by fishaholic54

These Syncopate reels are built fairly well for the price. I have always liked the Quickfire System on Shimano's, it's really helpful when you want to cast fast. I prefer the Shimano Spirex RG reel over the Sycopate because of its fighting rear drag.The Spirex model also seems like a much smoother reel when you are retrieving on it. The Spirex is defenitly better reel but it cost twice as much. The Syncopates is good value reel, and it cast really well, and it works good with braided line. I have heard people make comments that the braided line slips on these reel. On almost all spinning reels you have to put on a backing tape or a small amount of monofiliment on the spool so that the line doesn't slip. For the money you can't go wrong with a Syncopate. If I lose one, or tear it up, I will be replacing it with another one.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fishaholic54
Huntsville , Al
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great reel! Even better than Spirex.
3/8/2014

Customer review by Angler69

5.0 stars 3/8/2014 by Angler69
by Angler69

The reel is very smooth. Hard finding reels with trigger anymore, which I love. Spirex is more money but is subject to freezing up a bit when it gets wet. I don't seem to have that problem with Syncopate, and is every bit as smooth but more reliable. Can't beat it for $30!!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Angler69
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Shimano Syncopate spinning reel
11/15/2013

Customer review by wolffj

5.0 stars 11/15/2013 by wolffj
by wolffj

I have used the Shimano products for years and find them hard to beat at this level of price.. I use the 1000 series for light weight tackle on crappie and white bass. Does excellent job. Quick Fire action on the reel is a great benefit

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wolffj
Anderson MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
SHIMANO SYNCOPATE
4/21/2014

Customer review by hildalgo1

5.0 stars 4/21/2014 by hildalgo1
by hildalgo1

I REALLY LIKE THE QUICK DRAW FOR CASTING, REEL CRANKS VERY SMOOTH, THE PRICE WAS JUST GREAT

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hildalgo1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
6/20/2011

Customer review by meoru

2.0 stars 6/20/2011 by meoru
by meoru

For the price this is an alright reel. I bought this reel and a Pfluger GX Trion at the same time. The Pfluger is $10 more but it is worth it. I would recommend getting the Pfluger over this reel.

Was this review helpful? (3) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
meoru
Chadron, NE
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
7/20/2011

Customer review by gusssmc

5.0 stars 7/20/2011 by gusssmc
by gusssmc

Solid reel. Quickfire II is a plus.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gusssmc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great fishing reel
4/19/2014

Customer review by Reecemules

5.0 stars 4/19/2014 by Reecemules
by Reecemules

We own several fishing reels, we bought this one for our 20 year old granddaughter who loves fishing anything outdoors! Her grandfather let her use my fishing rod and reel with the trigger handle and she loved it. So, with this one she'll really be excited and will go fishing ASAP as we have 2 large ponds on our farm on Easter Sunday "her birthday".

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Reecemules
Success, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love this reel
6/7/2015

Customer review by Reeter1969

5.0 stars 6/7/2015 by Reeter1969
by Reeter1969

I love my new Shimano Reel and it goes well with my new Ugly Stick Spinning Rod. Great purchase in my mind.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Reeter1969
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great economy reel
5/21/2015

Customer review by schlomo

5.0 stars 5/21/2015 by schlomo
by schlomo

smooth, durable and reasonably priced

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
schlomo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great one handed casting reel
7/1/2012

Customer review by Jeriden71

4.0 stars 7/1/2012 by Jeriden71
by Jeriden71

This is a Great light weight (1000 model) one hand casting spinning reel. it is quiet and smooth and has given me no troubles with line tangles. Shimano is a good name, I have a 20+ year old Shimano rod and reel I still use regularly I just wanted another.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jeriden71
Murfreesboro TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week