Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 135 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

135 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

135 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

87%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
75
4 stars
35
3 stars
10
2 stars
2
1 stars
13
1-20 of 122 total reviews
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 122 total reviews
1-20 of 122 reviews
ProForm 505 CST Treadmill
5/8/2016

Customer review by Shawn

3.0 stars 5/8/2016 by Shawn
by Shawn

It took me about two hrs to put the treadmill together. I hate putting stuff together. At times the instructions called for two people during the assembly. I was alone and managed to get the job done. Once finished and had it up and running, i liked what i saw. The electronic panel is bright and easy to operate, and i like the big speakers that allow you to hear your music while you are running or walking. The motor, the belt and the incline all worked well without a hitch. I only tried it out for a few minutes after assembly, but so far so good. No complaints. For the price, its a pretty good deal.

Was this review helpful? (18) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Shawn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
7/7/2011

Customer review by Razorback77

4.0 stars 7/7/2011 by Razorback77
by Razorback77

I just received this treadmill and for the most part have been very pleased. I was looking for a treadmill that was fairly heavy duty, but wasn't $1000. I researched treadmills for a while, and this brand seemed to be reviewed the best on all the sites. It came in quick with the site to store option, only took about 4 days to get in. You better have at least 2 people to unload the box because it weighs right at 200 lbs, and have plenty of room to assemble. I also recommend assembling in the room it will be used in because it is not easy to move. The directions are fairly clear to understand, and I consider myself very handy, but it still took me about 3 hours to get it fully assembled. Nothing to difficult, just time consuming. A second person is also needed for some of the assembly process. The motor is quiet and features are easy to use. The speakers even sound pretty good with my ipod for treadmill speakers which normally don't. I look forward to seeing what it can do with some extended use.

Was this review helpful? (117) (29)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Razorback77
Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great value for the price
7/2/2012

Customer review by latlor

5.0 stars 7/2/2012 by latlor
by latlor

My husband was able to get it home from the store himself and put it together within a few hours. I picked this based on alot of research. I am no exercise guru by any means, but didn't want something that was too basic. This more than meets my expectations, even based on the other reviews. I didn't want to spend a fortune on a machine and feel like I have found a good fit. I am very surprised at how quiet this treadmill is. I used to have one that sounded like a car wash every time I started it. I can workout even while the baby is sleeping. There are alot of different programs that would meet my needs. We did purchase the ifit module and have not had a problem. It gives you tons more programs and 2 trainers to workout with and the ability to train for a 10k. We have our treadmill, and router in the same room, so that may be why we have such a good connection. I have not notced the belt skip or being sluggish on any certain setting. It is easy to fold up. I realy am pleased with this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (41) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
latlor
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Really pleased with our purchase!
1/30/2012

Customer review by afes

5.0 stars 1/30/2012 by afes
by afes

Well it's only been a couple weeks, but so far we are totally pleased with our purchase. We reviewed a lot of comments & statistics on this & other treadmills b/4 buying, & decided this model had the most positive feedback & the negative ones were things we weren't planning on using it for anyway. It definitely takes 2 to put it together, but if you take your time, it's not that hard. Believe me...my husband & I are normally not good at assembly, but we only had 1 small issue(make sure you follow all the screw descriptions exactly!) & we corrected that quickly. It took us a little over 2 hours to assemble, but it runs beautifully & is great for attaching your Ipod & changing incline & speed quickly. Nice middle of the road treadmill. Don't go super cheap...I think you'd end up throwing it all away in the end. Going super expensive may not be worth the difference. I'm a pretty avid runner, but nobody else is in my family, so it's used for both running & walking.

Was this review helpful? (78) (34)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
afes
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Good buy for a home gym
8/7/2016

Customer review by Y2krita

5.0 stars 8/7/2016 by Y2krita
by Y2krita
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was very skeptical after reading reviews but decided to purchase the 505 CST treadmill. After two weeks of awaiting its arrival it never arrived at my local store. I was given my money back and had to reorder it. The second go around it arrived in 3 days. It was fairly easy to set up, I just supervised as my husband put it together in 1 hour. I have been using it about 3 days a week for the past month and my 15 year old daughter uses it about 2 days a week. The belt runs smoothly. The concern I had with the reviews was how loud it would be but with my headphones in listening to music or watching a show on my IPAD, it's just fine. I do my workouts at 5:30am and no one in the house has complained of it waking them up. The presets for incline and speed are great for my interval runs. We haven't used the IFit as I have a Garmin so I have no opinions on it. For the price I think this was a great buy.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Y2krita
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Consider Investing in an Extended Warranty!
12/31/2013

Customer review by JoeAverageRunner

3.0 stars 12/31/2013 by JoeAverageRunner
by JoeAverageRunner

I had only used my Proform 505 CST for three months when the mounting bolts for the drive motor failed and sheared away from the casing. On the positive side, it only took two weeks for Proform customer care to ship a new motor and schedule a servicing technician to repair the problem, which I thought was a very reasonable turn-around time especially during the holidays. If you purchase this model and you run in the 7 to 9 MPH range and log 25+ miles per week on the treadmill, I would strongly recommend paying another $200 for extended warranty coverage as I believe you will get your money's worth. I do not think this treadmill was intended for the stresses of a running foot strike. The service tech said the belt would need replacing at about 1500 miles (approx 15 months of use). I expect the motor to shear off again in the upcoming year (although I will pad under the treadmill to reduce the stress). I only weigh 160 pounds, but I wish I had gone with a sturdier model. This model, I believe, was meant for walking and light jogging.

Was this review helpful? (26) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JoeAverageRunner
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent treadmill!
2/23/2012

Customer review by ShortPixie

5.0 stars 2/23/2012 by ShortPixie
by ShortPixie

I had been looking for a treadmill for a long time, but I kept running across ones that had terrible reviews. After searching for so long, I finally came across the ProForm 505. At first I was leery about another terrible review, but I was pleasantly surprised to find so many people that would recommend this to others. With a deep breath and crossed fingers, I ordered it. It was the best decision I could have made! The treadmill was easy to put together with two people, the screen is large and allows me to easily see the miles ran, heart rate, pulse and calories burned. It offers many different courses and challenges, and allows me to work at my own pace when I do not want a predetermined route. The belt runs smooth with no catches or noises that should not be there. I would definitely recommend this to anyone that does not want to go to a crowded gym or pay a monthly fee for access to one. The price was a little high at first, but when I stopped to think about how much I would be saving in gym fees it was a no-brainer!

Was this review helpful? (37) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ShortPixie
Port Hueneme, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Worth the Money
3/28/2011

Customer review by Kate30

4.0 stars 3/28/2011 by Kate30
by Kate30

My husband kept warning me that this treadmill may not be as smooth as the treadmills at the gym. However, I was pleasantly surprised. Running at 4-6 mph, it is very smooth and sturdy. The belt is definitely wide enough and long enough. As a 6' volleyball player, my standards for width and length and sturdiness in treadmills is necessarily high, and they are met. However, the treadmill does skip--but only slightly and not enough to actually trip--on any speed less than 2.5. Someone smaller and lighter may not have that issue. It doesn't seem to happen as much if I concentrate on having my foot placement in the center of the belt, but if it sneaks out slightly toward the sides, it will skip just enough to be annoying and mess up my rhythm. Otherwise, it's a quiet, well running machine. I like the display a lot, though the pulse counter isn't very accurate. It folds up well--so well that my mother asked where it was and it was right in front of her. So it's a good machine. I'm really glad we bought it and, in the long run, it will save us on gym memberships and help me get exercise in when kids are sleeping--rain or shine. I'm out of excuses now and I love it!

Was this review helpful? (176) (30)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kate30
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Auto programs meant for runners
7/10/2016

Customer review by Fertinheimer

4.0 stars 7/10/2016 by Fertinheimer
by Fertinheimer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Treadmill works fine, but the auto programs are all geared to runners and not to walkers; i.e. they all start at 3.5 mph or higher. So we'll just have to stick to manually setting speed and incline.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Fertinheimer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great entry level treadmill!!
10/29/2012

Customer review by Engineer12233

4.0 stars 10/29/2012 by Engineer12233
by Engineer12233
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Pros: Quick Shipping. Box is large (6.5 ft long X 4 ft wide) and about 250 lbs which fit in the back of my mini van (without back seats of course) Easy assembly, I did it alone in about 2.5 hours without any power tools. Assembly time would be shorter with a second person. Instructions are very clear and easy to follow! All parts are clearly marked. The machine itself is very nice for the price. Well lit console with a nice display. Quick speed and incline controls are very beneficial when doing interval training. The running platform absorbs shock well! Cons: Some assembly components could be designed a little better for more efficient solo assembly. The unit does tend to move if on a smooth surface (hardwood floors) when you're at higher speeds so it may need some sort of a higher friction surface! I got a 0.5 inch thick rubber mat. Seems to have solved the problem!

Was this review helpful? (30) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Engineer12233
New Mexico
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Finally received it and the motor is busted
1/17/2016

Customer review by NicoleC

1.0 stars 1/17/2016 by NicoleC
by NicoleC

Had to wait about two weeks to actually receive this treadmill. Once it finally came I went and picked up all 200lbs of it and carried it down to my basement where we would be keeping it for use. We figured it would need some assembly, but had no idea just how much we were going to have to do to actually get it up and running. After all this and about three hours of assembly we come to learn that the motor is busted and we can't even use it. We contacted the company and were told that the motor needed replacing. The motor on my brand new treadmill. On top of this, the motor is on back order so we'll have to wait until it's in stock. Once in stock we have to wait another 7-10 days for them to ship it to us. Then, because we haven't had enough aggravation, we'll have to install the new motor ourselves. Are you kidding????

Was this review helpful? (24) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NicoleC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Troublesome Treadmill
6/21/2016

Customer review by sw1210

1.0 stars 6/21/2016 by sw1210
by sw1210

The walking belt is not aligned properly and is constantly shifting from side to side and rubbing against the metal when in use. I have to constantly adjust the walking belt every few minutes of use. This problem keeps happening even after I followed the instructions from customer service. I bought this treadmill based on the reviews from this site. However, I am very disappointed with it. I would not recommend.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sw1210
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Treadmill
7/4/2016

Customer review by Denyse

5.0 stars 7/4/2016 by Denyse
by Denyse
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I researched treadmills for a couple of weeks before I decided on this one. I wanted one with a tread that was wide enough and that had many different speeds and inclines. This one had all the options that I wanted and a great price. I couldn't believe that it was free shipping too. My 16 yr old daughter and I put this treadmill together in about 2 hours. We are not very handy and have never put anything together before but we followed the directions and it works!!! We have been using this treadmill daily for a week and there have been no problems. I love it!!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Denyse
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Treadmill Jungle
11/22/2015

Customer review by DR594934567

5.0 stars 11/22/2015 by DR594934567
by DR594934567

Super satisfied with the product, ordered on Walmart.com, shipped out of California, and arrived five days before it was scheduled to arrive. Brought the package home and maneuvered with a dolly into my basement. It is heavy, 190 pounds, and bulky, but the product is professional looking and has performed flawlessly as I've put it through it's paces. It can be put together by one person, although, you can do it easier with two. It took me about two and a half hours. Directions were perfect, parts were labeled perfectly, and the assembly went flawlessly. I'm really happy with the control, the features, the cushioned spring, the quietness, the safety features, the sound system options for iPad, iPod, or MP3 player. Highly recommend for a well constructed machine well above the basic treadmill.

Was this review helpful? (14) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DR594934567
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
3/7/2012

Customer review by hunterxyz

4.0 stars 3/7/2012 by hunterxyz
by hunterxyz

I have been very happy with my purchase. I weigh 275 and the machine is as strong as the ones at the fitness center. Very happy!!

Was this review helpful? (37) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hunterxyz
Clever Mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
A good treadmill.
10/8/2011

Customer review by Sid40

5.0 stars 10/8/2011 by Sid40
by Sid40

This treadmill is my first one. A friend of mine had suggested about this equipment. So I decided to go ahead and buy it after doing some research. I have had it for only two weeks now. I put it together my self although help of a second person could have made it easier. The owner's manual have very clear and illustrative instructions to assemble it. Any body with a little mechanical know-how should not have any problem to set this baby up. The body parts appear to be built quite strong and solid. I weigh about 144 lbs and am about 5 ft. 8 in. tall. For myself the moving belt is adequately wide and long. For a taller person, the arms may not be very high specially when you put the treadmill on higher inclination. I have not tried the built in workout programes yet as I am still getting used to it. I have been using the basic speed and incline controls which both work fine for a beginner like myself. The built in workout programes appear to be quit involved. The digital display is very clear to read and understand. The motor is fairly quiet. So far this treadmill has performed very good and I sure hope it works good for a very long time. Over all I have a good rating for this product.

Was this review helpful? (38) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sid40
Dixon, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Slows down on it's own
4/23/2012

Customer review by kingcarl

3.0 stars 4/23/2012 by kingcarl
by kingcarl

It's a good treadmill. I had issues putting it together as the cross bar that holds the console up had predrilled holes that were too small. The replacement part came quickly so that wasn't much of an issue at all. The issue I have is that this treadmill slows down and speeds up on its own and it's quite frustrating. I can have it at a 6 which is a good running pace for me and without touching anything it starts slowing down to the point where I am walking. I have searched a solution online and have tried loosening the belt but that doesn't seem to work. The only thing left is to reconfigure it but that seems silly to have to do with a brand new machine. When it works, it works well and is quite which is why I gave it 3 stars. If I could get the slowing issue fixed it would be perfect.

Was this review helpful? (26) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kingcarl
Utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Treadmill
1/11/2016

Customer review by Mary

5.0 stars 1/11/2016 by Mary
by Mary

Assembly took awile and was a bit challenging, but directions were good and parts well marked. Treadmill is quiet and very nice to walkmon. Only had for five days, but so far very happy.

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mary
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Cons
5/18/2016

Customer review by Linda

3.0 stars 5/18/2016 by Linda
by Linda

If your thinking that the heart moniter is accurate think again. When it does work the numbers can be off by 300 bpms. After speaking with customer service i was told this is normal for this unit. I myself if i knew that i would not have purchased it. Also the deck is very heavy to fold up. Wuld have been easier if on hydrolics. Last con i have is the motor housing is to close to the walking stride. If you dont mind all these things than its a good model.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Linda
Would recommend to a friend? No
Quietest Treadmill I have heard
3/7/2011

Customer review by Izzabellsmom

5.0 stars 3/7/2011 by Izzabellsmom
by Izzabellsmom

This treadmill took me 45 minutes to put together. Very easy! Super quiet as I can walk on it & watch TV and never hear the machine run. I would definately recommend buying this one. I'm impressed & it takes a lot to impressed a 58 y/o woman!

Was this review helpful? (284) (28)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Izzabellsmom
East/Central Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 122 total reviews
1-20 of 122 reviews