Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 113 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

113 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

113 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
64
4 stars
28
3 stars
7
2 stars
2
1 stars
12
1-20 of 100 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 100 total reviews
1-20 of 100 reviews
7/7/2011

Customer review by Razorback77

4.0 stars 7/7/2011 by Razorback77
by Razorback77

I just received this treadmill and for the most part have been very pleased. I was looking for a treadmill that was fairly heavy duty, but wasn't $1000. I researched treadmills for a while, and this brand seemed to be reviewed the best on all the sites. It came in quick with the site to store option, only took about 4 days to get in. You better have at least 2 people to unload the box because it weighs right at 200 lbs, and have plenty of room to assemble. I also recommend assembling in the room it will be used in because it is not easy to move. The directions are fairly clear to understand, and I consider myself very handy, but it still took me about 3 hours to get it fully assembled. Nothing to difficult, just time consuming. A second person is also needed for some of the assembly process. The motor is quiet and features are easy to use. The speakers even sound pretty good with my ipod for treadmill speakers which normally don't. I look forward to seeing what it can do with some extended use.

Was this review helpful? (87) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Razorback77
Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Finally received it and the motor is busted
1/17/2016

Customer review by NicoleC

1.0 stars 1/17/2016 by NicoleC
by NicoleC

Had to wait about two weeks to actually receive this treadmill. Once it finally came I went and picked up all 200lbs of it and carried it down to my basement where we would be keeping it for use. We figured it would need some assembly, but had no idea just how much we were going to have to do to actually get it up and running. After all this and about three hours of assembly we come to learn that the motor is busted and we can't even use it. We contacted the company and were told that the motor needed replacing. The motor on my brand new treadmill. On top of this, the motor is on back order so we'll have to wait until it's in stock. Once in stock we have to wait another 7-10 days for them to ship it to us. Then, because we haven't had enough aggravation, we'll have to install the new motor ourselves. Are you kidding????

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NicoleC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Treadmill
1/11/2016

Customer review by Mary

5.0 stars 1/11/2016 by Mary
by Mary

Assembly took awile and was a bit challenging, but directions were good and parts well marked. Treadmill is quiet and very nice to walkmon. Only had for five days, but so far very happy.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mary
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great value for the price
7/2/2012

Customer review by latlor

5.0 stars 7/2/2012 by latlor
by latlor

My husband was able to get it home from the store himself and put it together within a few hours. I picked this based on alot of research. I am no exercise guru by any means, but didn't want something that was too basic. This more than meets my expectations, even based on the other reviews. I didn't want to spend a fortune on a machine and feel like I have found a good fit. I am very surprised at how quiet this treadmill is. I used to have one that sounded like a car wash every time I started it. I can workout even while the baby is sleeping. There are alot of different programs that would meet my needs. We did purchase the ifit module and have not had a problem. It gives you tons more programs and 2 trainers to workout with and the ability to train for a 10k. We have our treadmill, and router in the same room, so that may be why we have such a good connection. I have not notced the belt skip or being sluggish on any certain setting. It is easy to fold up. I realy am pleased with this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (30) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
latlor
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Treadmill Jungle
11/22/2015

Customer review by DR594934567

5.0 stars 11/22/2015 by DR594934567
by DR594934567

Super satisfied with the product, ordered on Walmart.com, shipped out of California, and arrived five days before it was scheduled to arrive. Brought the package home and maneuvered with a dolly into my basement. It is heavy, 190 pounds, and bulky, but the product is professional looking and has performed flawlessly as I've put it through it's paces. It can be put together by one person, although, you can do it easier with two. It took me about two and a half hours. Directions were perfect, parts were labeled perfectly, and the assembly went flawlessly. I'm really happy with the control, the features, the cushioned spring, the quietness, the safety features, the sound system options for iPad, iPod, or MP3 player. Highly recommend for a well constructed machine well above the basic treadmill.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DR594934567
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent treadmill!
2/23/2012

Customer review by ShortPixie

5.0 stars 2/23/2012 by ShortPixie
by ShortPixie

I had been looking for a treadmill for a long time, but I kept running across ones that had terrible reviews. After searching for so long, I finally came across the ProForm 505. At first I was leery about another terrible review, but I was pleasantly surprised to find so many people that would recommend this to others. With a deep breath and crossed fingers, I ordered it. It was the best decision I could have made! The treadmill was easy to put together with two people, the screen is large and allows me to easily see the miles ran, heart rate, pulse and calories burned. It offers many different courses and challenges, and allows me to work at my own pace when I do not want a predetermined route. The belt runs smooth with no catches or noises that should not be there. I would definitely recommend this to anyone that does not want to go to a crowded gym or pay a monthly fee for access to one. The price was a little high at first, but when I stopped to think about how much I would be saving in gym fees it was a no-brainer!

Was this review helpful? (30) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ShortPixie
Port Hueneme, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Really pleased with our purchase!
1/30/2012

Customer review by afes

5.0 stars 1/30/2012 by afes
by afes

Well it's only been a couple weeks, but so far we are totally pleased with our purchase. We reviewed a lot of comments & statistics on this & other treadmills b/4 buying, & decided this model had the most positive feedback & the negative ones were things we weren't planning on using it for anyway. It definitely takes 2 to put it together, but if you take your time, it's not that hard. Believe me...my husband & I are normally not good at assembly, but we only had 1 small issue(make sure you follow all the screw descriptions exactly!) & we corrected that quickly. It took us a little over 2 hours to assemble, but it runs beautifully & is great for attaching your Ipod & changing incline & speed quickly. Nice middle of the road treadmill. Don't go super cheap...I think you'd end up throwing it all away in the end. Going super expensive may not be worth the difference. I'm a pretty avid runner, but nobody else is in my family, so it's used for both running & walking.

Was this review helpful? (67) (30)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
afes
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Consider Investing in an Extended Warranty!
12/31/2013

Customer review by JoeAverageRunner

3.0 stars 12/31/2013 by JoeAverageRunner
by JoeAverageRunner

I had only used my Proform 505 CST for three months when the mounting bolts for the drive motor failed and sheared away from the casing. On the positive side, it only took two weeks for Proform customer care to ship a new motor and schedule a servicing technician to repair the problem, which I thought was a very reasonable turn-around time especially during the holidays. If you purchase this model and you run in the 7 to 9 MPH range and log 25+ miles per week on the treadmill, I would strongly recommend paying another $200 for extended warranty coverage as I believe you will get your money's worth. I do not think this treadmill was intended for the stresses of a running foot strike. The service tech said the belt would need replacing at about 1500 miles (approx 15 months of use). I expect the motor to shear off again in the upcoming year (although I will pad under the treadmill to reduce the stress). I only weigh 160 pounds, but I wish I had gone with a sturdier model. This model, I believe, was meant for walking and light jogging.

Was this review helpful? (16) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JoeAverageRunner
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Worth the Money
3/28/2011

Customer review by Kate30

4.0 stars 3/28/2011 by Kate30
by Kate30

My husband kept warning me that this treadmill may not be as smooth as the treadmills at the gym. However, I was pleasantly surprised. Running at 4-6 mph, it is very smooth and sturdy. The belt is definitely wide enough and long enough. As a 6' volleyball player, my standards for width and length and sturdiness in treadmills is necessarily high, and they are met. However, the treadmill does skip--but only slightly and not enough to actually trip--on any speed less than 2.5. Someone smaller and lighter may not have that issue. It doesn't seem to happen as much if I concentrate on having my foot placement in the center of the belt, but if it sneaks out slightly toward the sides, it will skip just enough to be annoying and mess up my rhythm. Otherwise, it's a quiet, well running machine. I like the display a lot, though the pulse counter isn't very accurate. It folds up well--so well that my mother asked where it was and it was right in front of her. So it's a good machine. I'm really glad we bought it and, in the long run, it will save us on gym memberships and help me get exercise in when kids are sleeping--rain or shine. I'm out of excuses now and I love it!

Was this review helpful? (166) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kate30
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
So far good....
2/1/2016

Customer review by cheermom604

4.0 stars 2/1/2016 by cheermom604
by cheermom604

Ive only had this treadmill for one week but so far good. I have noticed (and why I knocked it down a star) was on lower than 3 on the speed, the belt drags and hesitates somewhat. On faster than that, it does just fine. Just keep that in mind when buying. Other than that, I absolutely love this treadmill. It has a wider belt then most, the buttons are easily marked and easy to read (even without my glasses). The display is easy to read but it does not light up. No biggy but if its not a lit room, then you would not be able to see it. I do love the automatic incline and really does incline quite a bit! Worth every penny in my opinion.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cheermom604
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great entry level treadmill!!
10/29/2012

Customer review by Engineer12233

4.0 stars 10/29/2012 by Engineer12233
by Engineer12233
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Pros: Quick Shipping. Box is large (6.5 ft long X 4 ft wide) and about 250 lbs which fit in the back of my mini van (without back seats of course) Easy assembly, I did it alone in about 2.5 hours without any power tools. Assembly time would be shorter with a second person. Instructions are very clear and easy to follow! All parts are clearly marked. The machine itself is very nice for the price. Well lit console with a nice display. Quick speed and incline controls are very beneficial when doing interval training. The running platform absorbs shock well! Cons: Some assembly components could be designed a little better for more efficient solo assembly. The unit does tend to move if on a smooth surface (hardwood floors) when you're at higher speeds so it may need some sort of a higher friction surface! I got a 0.5 inch thick rubber mat. Seems to have solved the problem!

Was this review helpful? (27) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Engineer12233
New Mexico
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
3 months of comparison shopping, Proform won.
9/23/2013

Customer review by Hander

5.0 stars 9/23/2013 by Hander
by Hander

As a previous treadmill owner, I knew what features I needed and what gizmos I didn't want, without spending a fortune. This treadmill fits my checklist perfectly! A long track, I'm 6'. Shorter side bars, so my long arms don't hit them. A backlit display, glare no longer a problem. MP3/Ipod plug with built in speakers, no more ear buds hassle. Adjustable incline, and quiet motor/belt. Assembly time around 1 1/2 hrs, would have been less if I had a second person and the power cord hadn't been wedged in the base, manf/shipping issue. I had it shipped to my local store to avoid shipping costs. Have help transporting the box, as it is heavy. I would recommend this treadmill to anyone who wants quality and performance at a fair price.

Was this review helpful? (20) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hander
Provo, UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Nice treadmill
1/31/2016

Customer review by Pete

5.0 stars 1/31/2016 by Pete
by Pete

Like it very much. Has beatiful features, easy to assemble.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Pete
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A good treadmill.
10/8/2011

Customer review by Sid40

5.0 stars 10/8/2011 by Sid40
by Sid40

This treadmill is my first one. A friend of mine had suggested about this equipment. So I decided to go ahead and buy it after doing some research. I have had it for only two weeks now. I put it together my self although help of a second person could have made it easier. The owner's manual have very clear and illustrative instructions to assemble it. Any body with a little mechanical know-how should not have any problem to set this baby up. The body parts appear to be built quite strong and solid. I weigh about 144 lbs and am about 5 ft. 8 in. tall. For myself the moving belt is adequately wide and long. For a taller person, the arms may not be very high specially when you put the treadmill on higher inclination. I have not tried the built in workout programes yet as I am still getting used to it. I have been using the basic speed and incline controls which both work fine for a beginner like myself. The built in workout programes appear to be quit involved. The digital display is very clear to read and understand. The motor is fairly quiet. So far this treadmill has performed very good and I sure hope it works good for a very long time. Over all I have a good rating for this product.

Was this review helpful? (36) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sid40
Dixon, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good Product for What You Pay
1/16/2012

Customer review by SpeakToWin

4.0 stars 1/16/2012 by SpeakToWin
by SpeakToWin
Walmart associate

My wife wanted a treadmill and she showed that she liked using one with our old one that had quit working. I liked the new Proform treadmills that I had seen in some of the Walmart stores and thought I would try one. I liked the better Golds Gym treadmill in the stores but see absolutely no value in the arm components so I couldn't bring myself to buy that one. I figured this treadmill would be a step higher up and would have the arm exercise waste. It arrived very quickly, a full week before the original estimate. It was fairly easy to assemble (estimate at least 2-3 hours to get it done). I was missing the rubber feet but I was still able to assemble and test the treadmill. I think it's louder than the one we previously had (a healthclub-level treadmill) but likely quieter than most basic units. My wife is very happy with it and has been using it religiously. I think a desirable treadmill needs to have a large belt area and this one fit the bill. It has a longer and wider track than most entry level treadmills out there. If you are missing parts, go to the website to handle it. When I called, it was December 30, they were closed. I waited until the next week. I called and got 'in queue'. Eventually I began filling out the registration on the Proform website - that's when they called me. I had been in-queue for 4 hours! Once I talked to the customer service rep (who was very helpful and friendly) all was taken care of. The missing 'feet' showed up in less than a week. All in all, a good purchase with limited headaches - and my wife looks great!

Was this review helpful? (51) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SpeakToWin
Hastings, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Pulse Rate meter is useless
1/8/2016

Customer review by RichardL

2.0 stars 1/8/2016 by RichardL
by RichardL

Ordered from Walmart.com. It was out of stock but was shipped in a reasonable amount of time, actually quicker than expected. I assembled it and for the most part it works. A problem I encountered is the Pulse Rate meter does not work. I can grab the grips (not letting go) and get a reading of 63, followed 5 seconds later by 162, followed 5 seconds later by 52. Obviously the readings are useless. I contacted the manufacturer. Their response is that the Pulse Rate meter is not a medical device. If you get a reading it is working. Do not plan to be able to incorporate Pulse Rate into your workout.

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RichardL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Quietest Treadmill I have heard
3/7/2011

Customer review by Izzabellsmom

5.0 stars 3/7/2011 by Izzabellsmom
by Izzabellsmom

This treadmill took me 45 minutes to put together. Very easy! Super quiet as I can walk on it & watch TV and never hear the machine run. I would definately recommend buying this one. I'm impressed & it takes a lot to impressed a 58 y/o woman!

Was this review helpful? (277) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Izzabellsmom
East/Central Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
3/7/2012

Customer review by hunterxyz

4.0 stars 3/7/2012 by hunterxyz
by hunterxyz

I have been very happy with my purchase. I weigh 275 and the machine is as strong as the ones at the fitness center. Very happy!!

Was this review helpful? (32) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hunterxyz
Clever Mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Slows down on it's own
4/23/2012

Customer review by kingcarl

3.0 stars 4/23/2012 by kingcarl
by kingcarl

It's a good treadmill. I had issues putting it together as the cross bar that holds the console up had predrilled holes that were too small. The replacement part came quickly so that wasn't much of an issue at all. The issue I have is that this treadmill slows down and speeds up on its own and it's quite frustrating. I can have it at a 6 which is a good running pace for me and without touching anything it starts slowing down to the point where I am walking. I have searched a solution online and have tried loosening the belt but that doesn't seem to work. The only thing left is to reconfigure it but that seems silly to have to do with a brand new machine. When it works, it works well and is quite which is why I gave it 3 stars. If I could get the slowing issue fixed it would be perfect.

Was this review helpful? (23) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kingcarl
Utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Poor Quality Control and Slow Warranty Service
11/12/2013

Customer review by Nicardante

1.0 stars 11/12/2013 by Nicardante
by Nicardante
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I spent hours to assemble the product (it took hours because the machine was heavy and the screw holes were smaller than the screws). Then I connected the power line and turned on, expecting I would run, but the belt didn't run. Instead, I heard a noise in the bottom front box. When I opened the lid of the box, I was so amazed after finding that the motor was not screwed to the metal frame. It was totally detached on the floor of the box and when started it damaged inside the box. The circuit board was also not screwed to the frame. I called the manufacturer. They said it would be covered by the warranty, but it will take 10 days until the parts arrive and another 4 days until the technician makes an appointment with me by phone. Well, it will be faster to return the machine and buy another one. Where is their quality control before shipping the machine to the customer?

Was this review helpful? (12) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nicardante
Plainview, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 100 total reviews
1-20 of 100 reviews