Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 257 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

257 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

257 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
145
4 stars
69
3 stars
18
2 stars
6
1 stars
19
1-20 of 244 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 244 total reviews
1-20 of 244 reviews
arrived right on schedule.
1/16/2017

Customer review by Leah

5.0 stars 1/16/2017 by Leah
by Leah
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I put it together myself, while it does recommend 2 people. I took my time, after all it's a large purchase and heavy so didn't want to make any mistakes. One thing I made sure to do was run the machine (standing beside it), watching and listening, good thing too as I missed a piece of packing between the tread-turned it off-pulled it out and I was in business. I've only had the treadmill for a week, has the feel of a gym treadmill. I walk, no running for this gal. I'll update post as time goes by if anything changes. About me: 57, overweight, desk job, couch potato (thus this is in my living room and loving it), I've lost 27#'s and working to lose a lot more now that I have no excuse to walk.

Was this review helpful? (40) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Leah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Unhappy user
1/28/2017

Customer review by Chin2

1.0 stars 1/28/2017 by Chin2
by Chin2
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Everything is almost perfect except the LCD display is broke. We returned it. Thank you to customer support for the help in processing the refund and arranging the pick up of return. Though its an hassle:(

Was this review helpful? (11) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Chin2
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
ProForm 505 CST Treadmill
5/8/2016

Customer review by Shawn

3.0 stars 5/8/2016 by Shawn
by Shawn

It took me about two hrs to put the treadmill together. I hate putting stuff together. At times the instructions called for two people during the assembly. I was alone and managed to get the job done. Once finished and had it up and running, i liked what i saw. The electronic panel is bright and easy to operate, and i like the big speakers that allow you to hear your music while you are running or walking. The motor, the belt and the incline all worked well without a hitch. I only tried it out for a few minutes after assembly, but so far so good. No complaints. For the price, its a pretty good deal.

Was this review helpful? (91) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Shawn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
7/7/2011

Customer review by Razorback77

4.0 stars 7/7/2011 by Razorback77
by Razorback77

I just received this treadmill and for the most part have been very pleased. I was looking for a treadmill that was fairly heavy duty, but wasn't $1000. I researched treadmills for a while, and this brand seemed to be reviewed the best on all the sites. It came in quick with the site to store option, only took about 4 days to get in. You better have at least 2 people to unload the box because it weighs right at 200 lbs, and have plenty of room to assemble. I also recommend assembling in the room it will be used in because it is not easy to move. The directions are fairly clear to understand, and I consider myself very handy, but it still took me about 3 hours to get it fully assembled. Nothing to difficult, just time consuming. A second person is also needed for some of the assembly process. The motor is quiet and features are easy to use. The speakers even sound pretty good with my ipod for treadmill speakers which normally don't. I look forward to seeing what it can do with some extended use.

Was this review helpful? (183) (42)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Razorback77
Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Age:25 - 34
Great value for the price
7/2/2012

Customer review by latlor

5.0 stars 7/2/2012 by latlor
by latlor

My husband was able to get it home from the store himself and put it together within a few hours. I picked this based on alot of research. I am no exercise guru by any means, but didn't want something that was too basic. This more than meets my expectations, even based on the other reviews. I didn't want to spend a fortune on a machine and feel like I have found a good fit. I am very surprised at how quiet this treadmill is. I used to have one that sounded like a car wash every time I started it. I can workout even while the baby is sleeping. There are alot of different programs that would meet my needs. We did purchase the ifit module and have not had a problem. It gives you tons more programs and 2 trainers to workout with and the ability to train for a 10k. We have our treadmill, and router in the same room, so that may be why we have such a good connection. I have not notced the belt skip or being sluggish on any certain setting. It is easy to fold up. I realy am pleased with this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (71) (40)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
latlor
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:35 - 44
good for the price
1/11/2017

Customer review by JJety

4.0 stars 1/11/2017 by JJety
by JJety

Like many other reviews, it arrived somewhat broken. Their packaging has no padding, so when delivery folks are rough on large heavy packages, things break. Two pieces of plastic were broken off one siderail, but this side faces the wall so I wasn't too heartbroken and did not try to get a replacement part. It was easy to put together, took maybe 30 minutes total, instructions were good. Overall I like the treadmill, the width is great for running, nice interface panel, and I like the speaker system. This is a good basic treadmill for the price. It isn't a thousand dollar treadmill that's "on sale", but it's good for less than five hundred. I'm 5'-11" and my stride fits well. The motor/belt has a louder whine than my last ProForm, but when I run with earbuds I don't hear it...more annoying for my family upstairs. Overall would recommend for the casual walker/jogger/runner.

Was this review helpful? (16) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JJety
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Consider Investing in an Extended Warranty!
12/31/2013

Customer review by JoeAverageRunner

3.0 stars 12/31/2013 by JoeAverageRunner
by JoeAverageRunner

I had only used my Proform 505 CST for three months when the mounting bolts for the drive motor failed and sheared away from the casing. On the positive side, it only took two weeks for Proform customer care to ship a new motor and schedule a servicing technician to repair the problem, which I thought was a very reasonable turn-around time especially during the holidays. If you purchase this model and you run in the 7 to 9 MPH range and log 25+ miles per week on the treadmill, I would strongly recommend paying another $200 for extended warranty coverage as I believe you will get your money's worth. I do not think this treadmill was intended for the stresses of a running foot strike. The service tech said the belt would need replacing at about 1500 miles (approx 15 months of use). I expect the motor to shear off again in the upcoming year (although I will pad under the treadmill to reduce the stress). I only weigh 160 pounds, but I wish I had gone with a sturdier model. This model, I believe, was meant for walking and light jogging.

Was this review helpful? (52) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JoeAverageRunner
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Age:45 - 54
Really pleased with our purchase!
1/30/2012

Customer review by afes

5.0 stars 1/30/2012 by afes
by afes

Well it's only been a couple weeks, but so far we are totally pleased with our purchase. We reviewed a lot of comments & statistics on this & other treadmills b/4 buying, & decided this model had the most positive feedback & the negative ones were things we weren't planning on using it for anyway. It definitely takes 2 to put it together, but if you take your time, it's not that hard. Believe me...my husband & I are normally not good at assembly, but we only had 1 small issue(make sure you follow all the screw descriptions exactly!) & we corrected that quickly. It took us a little over 2 hours to assemble, but it runs beautifully & is great for attaching your Ipod & changing incline & speed quickly. Nice middle of the road treadmill. Don't go super cheap...I think you'd end up throwing it all away in the end. Going super expensive may not be worth the difference. I'm a pretty avid runner, but nobody else is in my family, so it's used for both running & walking.

Was this review helpful? (110) (70)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
afes
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Once per week
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:35 - 44
Excellent treadmill!
2/23/2012

Customer review by ShortPixie

5.0 stars 2/23/2012 by ShortPixie
by ShortPixie

I had been looking for a treadmill for a long time, but I kept running across ones that had terrible reviews. After searching for so long, I finally came across the ProForm 505. At first I was leery about another terrible review, but I was pleasantly surprised to find so many people that would recommend this to others. With a deep breath and crossed fingers, I ordered it. It was the best decision I could have made! The treadmill was easy to put together with two people, the screen is large and allows me to easily see the miles ran, heart rate, pulse and calories burned. It offers many different courses and challenges, and allows me to work at my own pace when I do not want a predetermined route. The belt runs smooth with no catches or noises that should not be there. I would definitely recommend this to anyone that does not want to go to a crowded gym or pay a monthly fee for access to one. The price was a little high at first, but when I stopped to think about how much I would be saving in gym fees it was a no-brainer!

Was this review helpful? (52) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ShortPixie
Port Hueneme, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
Good buy for a home gym
8/7/2016

Customer review by Y2krita

5.0 stars 8/7/2016 by Y2krita
by Y2krita
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was very skeptical after reading reviews but decided to purchase the 505 CST treadmill. After two weeks of awaiting its arrival it never arrived at my local store. I was given my money back and had to reorder it. The second go around it arrived in 3 days. It was fairly easy to set up, I just supervised as my husband put it together in 1 hour. I have been using it about 3 days a week for the past month and my 15 year old daughter uses it about 2 days a week. The belt runs smoothly. The concern I had with the reviews was how loud it would be but with my headphones in listening to music or watching a show on my IPAD, it's just fine. I do my workouts at 5:30am and no one in the house has complained of it waking them up. The presets for incline and speed are great for my interval runs. We haven't used the IFit as I have a Garmin so I have no opinions on it. For the price I think this was a great buy.

Was this review helpful? (54) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Y2krita
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Get the extended warranty!
3/20/2017

Customer review by Bmaximus

4.0 stars 3/20/2017 by Bmaximus
by Bmaximus

Overall: Great treadmill. This is a review after having it for about 2.5 years. The treadmill ran great and I am a person that used it during weight fluctuations between 280 and 230. It did not give me any problems except that it eventually began to make a creeking noise as though the shocks were being used and were needing oil. Well, after about two years and a few months, I was running on it and the "walking deck", which is the board under the belt cracked right across the middle. I called to get it repaired and that is where the warranty (Walmarts extended warranty) kicked in. I was told that it was not repairable and that I would be sent a reimbursement to get a new one. I am ordering the same one because I really did like this treadmill and it was good for the price, sturdy, and my best friend. Here's what I found out after tearing the treadmill down, because I cannot do anything with it now: the "shocks" are like a rubber/plastic concoction with no real springs inside. You are actually receiving some joint relief from a sort of air ride type of shock. Well, the shocks had basically torn up and worn down, which caused the board to take more pressure and the entire frame to creek, hince the split being inevitable. Icon fitness, I would say add coiled springs to the inside of the shocks and this might give the board longevity. Other than this, this treadmill is the real deal. It has been my go to for exercise no matter the day and time.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bmaximus
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great for walking
2/11/2017

Customer review by Dave

5.0 stars 2/11/2017 by Dave
by Dave
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This unit works well for walking. I'm 6-1 and 225# . It seems a little short for my stride when I tried running on it but its sturdy and doesnt shake around much when jogging. It runs very quiet and smooth and the control panel is easy to read and operate. It arrived undamaged but 2 days late. Assembly is easy but a helper is a must to hold the two uprights in place while you start the screws. Regular (inch) size allen wrenches are helpful as the wrenches provided are too long but will work. The heartrate monitor doesnt give an accurate reading. It changes eratically. Other than that I'm pleased with it after using it daily for a week now. With the features and warranty you get its a good buy.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dave
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
New Treadmill
3/8/2017

Customer review by Charlie4u

5.0 stars 3/8/2017 by Charlie4u
by Charlie4u
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Delivery was within a reasonable Tim frame. Item was packed well and arrived dance free. All hardware and instructions were included in package. Instructions were fairly clear and easy to follow. I recommend two people for assembly to complete properly and with in less than an hour. A friend assistants me and we completed within 45 minutes. Treadmill fired right up and everything functions as expected. I did have to adjust the belt position. Package includes instructions and tool to easily adjust. Wife and I love this Treadmill, I feel the added cushioning eliminates any knee wear & tear and pain.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Charlie4u
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not worth the hassle
2/11/2017

Customer review by Sarahp

2.0 stars 2/11/2017 by Sarahp
by Sarahp
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I did a lot of research before purchasing this treadmill. This one seemed to have pretty good reviews for the price. I knew by reading the reviews that it would take a while to put together. However, we had only put one part on and we already had problems with the second piece. One of the holes were the bolts went in did not have tread all the way through so it was impossible to screw in. We ended up giving up and returning it. After my husband and father in law carried the 200 lb up the stairs, they were very disappointed to have to carry it back down. However, the whole pick up in store and return processes did go smoothly. But don't waste your time.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sarahp
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
excellent standard-level treadmill
1/18/2017

Customer review by MikeB

5.0 stars 1/18/2017 by MikeB
by MikeB
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I got the ProForm 505 CST at Walmart.com because they had by far the best price of any retailers. My wife and I were looking for a standard treadmill with at least the features of power incline/speed, calorie/dist/speed display, and is relatively quiet. This treadmill checks all the boxes and is a great purchase. Walmart shipped it on time and had it delivered right to my door. Installation did take about 1.5 hours with two people, but we thought it was better than shelling out an extra $100 for someone else to do the job.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MikeB
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great entry level treadmill!!
10/29/2012

Customer review by Engineer12233

4.0 stars 10/29/2012 by Engineer12233
by Engineer12233
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Pros: Quick Shipping. Box is large (6.5 ft long X 4 ft wide) and about 250 lbs which fit in the back of my mini van (without back seats of course) Easy assembly, I did it alone in about 2.5 hours without any power tools. Assembly time would be shorter with a second person. Instructions are very clear and easy to follow! All parts are clearly marked. The machine itself is very nice for the price. Well lit console with a nice display. Quick speed and incline controls are very beneficial when doing interval training. The running platform absorbs shock well! Cons: Some assembly components could be designed a little better for more efficient solo assembly. The unit does tend to move if on a smooth surface (hardwood floors) when you're at higher speeds so it may need some sort of a higher friction surface! I got a 0.5 inch thick rubber mat. Seems to have solved the problem!

Was this review helpful? (38) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Engineer12233
New Mexico
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:25 - 34
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Worth the Money
3/28/2011

Customer review by Kate30

4.0 stars 3/28/2011 by Kate30
by Kate30

My husband kept warning me that this treadmill may not be as smooth as the treadmills at the gym. However, I was pleasantly surprised. Running at 4-6 mph, it is very smooth and sturdy. The belt is definitely wide enough and long enough. As a 6' volleyball player, my standards for width and length and sturdiness in treadmills is necessarily high, and they are met. However, the treadmill does skip--but only slightly and not enough to actually trip--on any speed less than 2.5. Someone smaller and lighter may not have that issue. It doesn't seem to happen as much if I concentrate on having my foot placement in the center of the belt, but if it sneaks out slightly toward the sides, it will skip just enough to be annoying and mess up my rhythm. Otherwise, it's a quiet, well running machine. I like the display a lot, though the pulse counter isn't very accurate. It folds up well--so well that my mother asked where it was and it was right in front of her. So it's a good machine. I'm really glad we bought it and, in the long run, it will save us on gym memberships and help me get exercise in when kids are sleeping--rain or shine. I'm out of excuses now and I love it!

Was this review helpful? (194) (38)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kate30
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
3 months of comparison shopping, Proform won.
9/23/2013

Customer review by Hander

5.0 stars 9/23/2013 by Hander
by Hander

As a previous treadmill owner, I knew what features I needed and what gizmos I didn't want, without spending a fortune. This treadmill fits my checklist perfectly! A long track, I'm 6'. Shorter side bars, so my long arms don't hit them. A backlit display, glare no longer a problem. MP3/Ipod plug with built in speakers, no more ear buds hassle. Adjustable incline, and quiet motor/belt. Assembly time around 1 1/2 hrs, would have been less if I had a second person and the power cord hadn't been wedged in the base, manf/shipping issue. I had it shipped to my local store to avoid shipping costs. Have help transporting the box, as it is heavy. I would recommend this treadmill to anyone who wants quality and performance at a fair price.

Was this review helpful? (32) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hander
Provo, UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:35 - 44
Good Quality
2/21/2017

Customer review by Arie

5.0 stars 2/21/2017 by Arie
by Arie
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Took my Husband about an hour and a half to set up. He did read the directions and follow it step by step and did not find it hard to do. We have both used it to run on and walk on with an incline. I would be able to compare it to a gym treadmill probably one of the closet you would get with out spending thousands of dollars to get a gym treadmill. My husband is 6'4 and can run on it perfectly fine with out feeling like he is going to fall off.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Arie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A good treadmill.
10/8/2011

Customer review by Sid40

5.0 stars 10/8/2011 by Sid40
by Sid40

This treadmill is my first one. A friend of mine had suggested about this equipment. So I decided to go ahead and buy it after doing some research. I have had it for only two weeks now. I put it together my self although help of a second person could have made it easier. The owner's manual have very clear and illustrative instructions to assemble it. Any body with a little mechanical know-how should not have any problem to set this baby up. The body parts appear to be built quite strong and solid. I weigh about 144 lbs and am about 5 ft. 8 in. tall. For myself the moving belt is adequately wide and long. For a taller person, the arms may not be very high specially when you put the treadmill on higher inclination. I have not tried the built in workout programes yet as I am still getting used to it. I have been using the basic speed and incline controls which both work fine for a beginner like myself. The built in workout programes appear to be quit involved. The digital display is very clear to read and understand. The motor is fairly quiet. So far this treadmill has performed very good and I sure hope it works good for a very long time. Over all I have a good rating for this product.

Was this review helpful? (41) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sid40
Dixon, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:65 or older
1-20 of 244 total reviews
1-20 of 244 reviews