Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 55 reviews | 2.1 out of 5

2.0 stars

55 reviews | 2.1 out of 5

2.0 stars

55 reviews | 2.1 out of 5

67%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
7
4 stars
8
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 stars
33
1-20 of 49 total reviews
67%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 49 total reviews
1-20 of 49 reviews
Not for those with serious dark circles
2/7/2012

Customer review by Rebecca1

2.0 stars 2/7/2012 by Rebecca1
by Rebecca1

Per you product description - "Instantly reduces the appearance of dark circles and fine lines". "Instantly reduces appearance of dark cirles" is a false statement for those of us who have dark circles. In order to get any kind of lightening, you have to let it dry between 3 applications. Doing so will slightly lighten dark circles, but you can definitely see you have them. Application at this rate will use the product up quite quickly, to the cost of the product is overpriced for what it does. Your product description also stated "Gentle brush application provides smooth, even coverage". The brush is somewhat soft, but needs to be softer so that the product moves across all the bristles. This will provide a smoother application that it does today. Olay needs to send products to test subjects that actually have the problems they say the formulations are for. If you continue on in your advertising, you will be losing many more customers with you false product descriptions.

Rebecca1
Kewanee, IL
Skin type:Dry
Works as advertised
3/13/2011

Customer review by dssjss

4.0 stars 3/13/2011 by dssjss
by dssjss

Product really brightens under eye area. Couldnt find it anywhere until I checked walmart.com

Was this review helpful? (21) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dssjss
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Instantly made a huge difference
5/15/2011

Customer review by LindsyC

5.0 stars 5/15/2011 by LindsyC
by LindsyC

Love Love Love Love Love. As soon as I put this on my entire face looked better & brighter. I tried my friends yesterday & bought it this morning. My old concealer was heavy & matte, this was silky, light & amazing!

Was this review helpful? (36) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LindsyC
NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
AWFUL!!!!!
10/9/2011

Customer review by HelloToGoodByelove

1.0 stars 10/9/2011 by HelloToGoodByelove
by HelloToGoodByelove

DO N.O.T. GET THIS PRODUCT!!! IM SICK OF GETTING THINGS THAT DON'T WORK, IT DOES NOTHING!!!!!! PLEASE DONT GET THIS. U WILL WASE 20 BUCKS ON NOTHING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HelloToGoodByelove
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Not worth it
8/13/2012

Customer review by Shopaholics369

1.0 stars 8/13/2012 by Shopaholics369
by Shopaholics369

I'm not sure how this product can be an award winner when there are so many negative reviews about it. This product like many others out there didn't work for me. Now I simply put frozen black tea bags on my eyes twice a day and my dark shadows have greatly diminished. Just put unused slightly wet black tea bags in a ziplock bag and leave in the freezer until ready to use.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Shopaholics369
Margate, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Expensive under eye concealer and you don't even..
3/8/2011

Customer review by Kaiilani

3.0 stars 3/8/2011 by Kaiilani
by Kaiilani

you don't even get to pick your shade...

Was this review helpful? (12) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kaiilani
Spring, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Waste of Money
7/18/2011

Customer review by queenlady

1.0 stars 7/18/2011 by queenlady
by queenlady

I bought this item right before a planned cruise/trip to Alaska. Imagine my dismay when the product would not flow into the brush. I waited until my return and took it back to place of purchase and showed it to the girl there. She got it to work so I took it home only to find the next morning the product still would not flow. I took it back once again and this time got a replacement only to find the next morning once again the product would not flow. It started and then stopped and I have repeatedly tried to start it and since I have thrown away receipt I am stuck for a very expensive and useless product. I wish I had read reviews before I wasted my money as I see another person had the same problem. Your product design has a flaw and it needs fixing.

queenlady
Beaufort, SC
Not bad
1/4/2012

Customer review by JH58

4.0 stars 1/4/2012 by JH58
by JH58

I am only 30 and I don't have super bad dark circles but I needed something more than just my foundation for under my eyes so I decided to give this a try. The product itself works well. I have pretty fair skin and the tint is a good match. Any puffiness is gone within a few minutes of putting it on. The only real problem I have is that too much product is dispensed with one click. A single click gives me at least twice as much product as I need. I feel like I'm ending up wasting it. I noticed some of the other reviews said that nothing came out of some applicators. I think that this product might be better if it was packaged up some other way than in this applicator.

JH58
California
Skin type:Normal
Ratings comment
3/28/2013

Customer review by lovejones

1.0 stars 3/28/2013 by lovejones
by lovejones

I have used olay products ritualistically from bath to face care. I am glad I reviewed comments regarding this product before purchasing. Skin care is very important.. Our face is the first aspect of a person seen and evaluated (in a sense), it endures all elements, issues, and it is essential products "do what they say". I was also searching for products that would work on my spouse's skin. He has under eye circles and I love olay products and thought this would work, but does not seem to be the product that meets my specific needs or requirements. I will continue my search for an effective eye treatment.

lovejones
Georgia
7-in-1 anti aging eye cream doesn't work
2/28/2012

Customer review by ctcia

1.0 stars 2/28/2012 by ctcia
by ctcia

I recently purchased the Total Effects 7-in-1 anti-aging eye cream. I thought it would be a great product for minimizing my dark circles. Because Olay is usually a good brand I was okay with spending the money. I am so disappointed. This product does not minimize the dark circles at all. It's way too thin and has a yellow tint to it that looks absolutely ridiculous. After seeing all the negative reviews on this website I am surprised that Olay would continue to sell such a product. Now I have wasted my money for a product that doesn't work at all.

ctcia
Skin type:Normal
Unsure
4/26/2011

Customer review by darkcircles

2.0 stars 4/26/2011 by darkcircles
by darkcircles

i have dark circles due to my family has them so i try to keep my eyes hydrated etc. I read all I can and some of it does help. I seen this commercial and thought finally a product that can work. I have dark brown skin; Latina anyway so i tried it and read the box reads most skin types but does not say what kind is most? so i still tried it and i did notice it concealed better than my normal concealer but that was all i noticed which gave my over eye area a lesser area of the dark circle since some of it is a shadow so it helped a little.

darkcircles
texas
Skin type:Normal
Disapointed
8/5/2011

Customer review by Face

1.0 stars 8/5/2011 by Face
by Face

I am very disappointed in the Total Effects Line and Dark Circle Minimizing Brush. It seems like Olay just put Definity Color Recapture in a tube with a brush. Color Recapture is great as a shear foundation for the rest of my face, but my dark under-eye circles need more substantial coverage (or a miracle product that will eliminate the dark circles and puffiness). I love most of the Olay products I have tried, and use Olay cleansers and moisturizers almost exclusively - but I will not purchase the Dark Circle Minimizing Brush again.

Face
Minnesota
Skin type:Combination
Definate improvement, love this!
5/31/2011

Customer review by GraceMS

5.0 stars 5/31/2011 by GraceMS
by GraceMS

Really good treatment product. This tinted under eye moisturizer does exactly what I hoped, and when I use my regular concealer over the top my eyes look great. Excellent hydration without a greasy or oily feel. The tint neutralizes any discoloration just enough for my concealer to work better. It did take quite a bit of priming to get the product to dispence at first, but once I got it going the "pen" worked fine. The brush is very soft and I'm finding that once I have the product on my skin that a light pat blends it in perfectly.

GraceMS
Dublin, CA
Skin type:Combination
Disappointing Purchase
6/2/2011

Customer review by Lapine

1.0 stars 6/2/2011 by Lapine
by Lapine

I wish I had seen these reviews prior to purchasing Total Effects Line and Dark Circle Minimizing. I hesitated buying this product because of its price, but considering Olay's reputation and to finally receive help with my dark circles and puffiness, I decided to bite into the budget and go for it. How very disappointed I am! I saw no difference whatsoever; in addition, the product also "runs" in humidity. I would you prefer you put as much emphasis in ensuring product reliability as you do in your safety promise! A real bummer!

Lapine
Carlisle PA
Skin type:Normal
does NOT fix dark circles
10/24/2011

Customer review by youngolaycustomer

1.0 stars 10/24/2011 by youngolaycustomer
by youngolaycustomer

Feels soft on skin, but the tint probably does not match most people and actually made my circles look darker. To make circles INSTANTLY go away you need a concealer in a slightly lighter shade than your skin, not a generic colored product. Maybe they should put the moisturizers in different shades and add slight shimmer for the right effect. Or just drop the tint and allow people to use it as an eye cream and use their own shade concealer. I will probably return this product, although i enjoyed the silky texture and the brush.

youngolaycustomer
Tucson, AZ
Skin type:Oily
Product didn't perform as expected
12/26/2012

Customer review by Abby1

1.0 stars 12/26/2012 by Abby1
by Abby1

As a longtime user of Olay products, I am very disappointed in this product. I have used it faithfully for three months, following the directions on the box carefully. The dark circles under my eyes have not lightened at all, and it also doesn't do anything to cover them up. The cost of the product is high for a drugstore brand. For just a little more, I can but a similar product at a department store, and they will gladly refund the cost or exchange the product if I'm not satisfied. I would not recommend this product!

Abby1
Grand Rapids MI
Skin type:Normal
Disappointed
9/9/2011

Customer review by CeeCee

1.0 stars 9/9/2011 by CeeCee
by CeeCee

I purchased this product hoping to minimize the dark circles I have under my eyes. I have an olive skin tone and found this product to actually make my circles look darker and the skin around it to look lighter. I am a single mom of three and don't have extra cash to waste, but I splurged on this product as Olay has always been a wonderful product, so I was extremely disappointed with the results. I do have to say that the brush worked just fine and it is very soft and gentle to the skin when applying.

CeeCee
Louisiana
Skin type:Normal
Not too bad
9/15/2011

Customer review by WhatTheMEL

3.0 stars 9/15/2011 by WhatTheMEL
by WhatTheMEL

I have pretty dark circles and I was hoping to see fast dramatic results which wasn't the case. It's only affter using it for about two weeks I started to see minimal changes. Not exactly what I was expecting, but I do like the way it moisturizes my under eye area. I have really dry sensitive skin around my eyes and I was really glad to see it so supple after my first use! And I had no trouble with the pump what-so-ever! Im planning to purchase another one so I hope I don't encounter this problem.

WhatTheMEL
San Jose, Ca
Skin type:Combination
Total Disappointment
5/23/2011

Customer review by auser

1.0 stars 5/23/2011 by auser
by auser

I purchased the Total Effects Line and Dark Circle Minimizing Brush and read the instructions which say 1 - 2 clicks until the product is released into the brush. Well, I don't know if I got a defective pen but it takes 10+ clicks just to get a little bit of the the product into the brush that I then squeeze with my fingers and wipe it under my eye. It is never really enought to tell if the product works or not. For the cost, I would definitely expect a better applicator.

auser
Bismarck, ND
Skin type:Normal
Give it time
7/4/2011

Customer review by annapolislady

5.0 stars 7/4/2011 by annapolislady
by annapolislady

I was really surprized to see some of the reviews of this product. I bought and used it, and saw great results. At first I didn't like it because I have fair skin and I thought it was tinted too much. However, now I apply and then lightly apply my undereye conecealer and blend. My eyes look great! The skin is soft and supple, and my under eye circles and puffiness are barely noticeable. But you have to use it for 2-3 weeks to really see the benefits. I would buy it again.

annapolislady
annapolis, md
Skin type:Combination
1-20 of 49 total reviews
1-20 of 49 reviews