Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 256 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

256 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

5 stars
167
4 stars
36
3 stars
9
2 stars
6
1 stars
38
82%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 219 total reviews
Worth Every Penny and MORE
3/30/2011

Customer review by OldTennisGuy

5.0 stars by OldTennisGuy

This old tennis guy is cheap AND I expect a LOT for my money. I read countless reviews on numerous sites and scoured everything I could. If I were wise I would get an N router that could use both 2.4 and 5Ghz simultaneously. Range is a big concern because my router goes in the far corner of my basement. Interference is big too because my old D-Link 624 stopped working reliably months ago when some new router appeared in the neighborhood. This N600 came out in the top few AND surprise of surprises it was available at walmart.com at a good price and even in stock at my local store. It did the trick! This is the older model without the gigabit wired jacks. The newer one is about $60 more and in my mind UNnecessary. (I said I was cheap!) But some people want the best. I should mention the one and only CON: There is only one but it might scare some away.... If you have a computer with a CD or DVD drive computer available it can do the router setup for you BUT it crashed for me half way through with an "Application Error"--actually right in the middle of updating itself. I click OK (a mistake), waited a while and tried restarting. The router never came on line and the laptop never recognized the router again. So I swapped it at my local WalMart. (Safe place to buy.) Got the same error but this time I just let it go--I never clicked the 'OK' on the error which shutdown the program. I waited for about 15 minutes, then connected to it by typing www.routerlogin.com into my browser. The router's internal setup program appeared. I entered the default username and password and finished setting it up myself. It's no big deal. But it's REALLY important that you change the password, and change it to something you won't forget 3 years from now. And you'll want to give your wireless a name (they call it a SSID) and type in a passphrase. Computers will be prompted for it the first time they try to connect (but not after). It keeps the riffraff out of your network. For me, some of my hardware, like a networked printer, has an assigned IP address in the 192.168.0.X range on wired ports in my home, so I also needed to change it's wired setup from using 10.0.0.X to the above. And there was a place I could enter that address so the router wouldn't dole it out to another device. That's it. That got me going. Most people don't need to do anything but change their password and enter a passphrase. If this seems big to you just CALL netgear and they'll walk you through it. Before the N600 I connected at 54Mbps after it failed and I'd do 4-6 retries. Now I connect at 144Mbps without having to force anything... It just connects. Fast, reliable, invisible.

Was this review helpful? (264) (27)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
OldTennisGuy
Warrenton, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great router for multiple electronics
5/2/2011

Customer review by olbro

4.0 stars by olbro

I purchased this router as a replacement for a g/n router. My old router was not able to keep up with all the electronic devices connected. After reading the reviews on this product (model 3400) and the netgear wdnr3700 I decided on the wdnr3400. Set up took approximately an hour from removing product from the box to having 2 laptops, an iPad, 2 iPhones, 2 iPods touches, a wii, apple tv, a wireless printer and a blackberry connected. I don't posses alot of technical insight, and the set up didn't require such. On instalation I also got an error message while doing the product software upgrade and followed the advice posted on a previous review. If you click okay on message you can still recover the process by accessing the instalation cd and starting the process over, the process will pick up where it stopped. The directions are unclear on weather you should assign seperate user names and passwords for each band (2.4, and 5G) so I used the same for both and it appears that each devices uses the frequency that best suits it. The WPS push n connect feature was the greatest value, both the blackberry and my wireless printer are hard to sync with routers and this feature connected them for me. You push and hold the blue button on top of router until in pulsates quickly all led lights flashing blue (approx 6 seconds) and then select the WPS feature on your device, both devices found the router within seconds. This router handles hd movie streaming from Netflix beautifully. This product does everything it says it will do.

Was this review helpful? (90) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
olbro
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
AWESOMEvROUTER!!!!
1/4/2012

Customer review by Reviewsbyliloleme

5.0 stars by Reviewsbyliloleme

I initially bought a lynxis router and had such a hard time with it...couldn't get it working. I'm not the most computer savvy person and I had several people helping me and still couldn't get that thing to work. I was told that Netgear routers were great so I took a chance and bought this one after reading multiple reviews. I LOVE this router!!!!! I set it up myself..took about 15 min including opening the box. I had NO problem hooking up multiple devices to it. At this time we have 2 laptops, a wireless printer, a netbook, 2 iPhones, 2 iPod touches, an iPad, 2 nooks and a Nintendo dsi ..oh and a playstation 3 and wii system running on the signal from this router. My house is two levels, about 2600 sq ft and we have not had any issues at all with dropped signals. I would def recommend this router!!

Was this review helpful? (73) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Reviewsbyliloleme
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Stay connected!
2/18/2011

Customer review by web23vnc

5.0 stars by web23vnc

I bought this to replace an outdated router that couldn't stay connected. Let me just say AWESOME!! Setup was the easiest ever, connecting was simple, and it can keep up with larger downloads that most routers can't. Wireless N600 is the only way to go because it supports higher download speeds (300mbs or higher). Also it lets me add other wireless devices that my old router didn't support (printer, Blu-ray etc.) For the money this is well worth the purchase!!!

Was this review helpful? (79) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
web23vnc
Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great experience so far and a lifetime warranty.
7/15/2012

Customer review by tvwatcher1234abc

5.0 stars by tvwatcher1234abc

This router was purchased to replace a Linksys router that went bad after about a year. The installation was simple. No installation disk is provided and registration is done on line as the router is installed. Our house has a variety of devices from Apple laptops, iPod touch, laptops running Microsoft, a Roku device and PS3. All are connecting flawlessly. I did notice some of the older reviews complain about technical support when they are having trouble. On the box wrapper is a sticker with a special 800 number for Walmart purchased units. I can't comment on it since the set up went so well, I did not need it. Also another big selling point is the Lifetime Warranty which comes from Netgear for this model. I've had to replace routers every one to two years, so this is a huge selling point for me and made the $80 price worth it. I'm a cheapskate but that also may be why I need to replace routers so often.

Was this review helpful? (34) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
tvwatcher1234abc
South Bend, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good Enough For FPS Gaming on PC
3/10/2011

Customer review by jikhead

5.0 stars by jikhead

Just sampled this product along with the N600 USB adapter. I have moved out of my house and into my sisters house temporarily. I've always had a direct ethernet connection for my gaming. My sisters uverse router is to far from my temp. bedroom to run ethernet across the house and 802.11g didn't cut it when I tried to play Battlefield:BC2 last night...it was laggy as heck. Her upload/downloads are pretty good and knew it was the wireless connection. Hooked this Wireless N router up (behind the uverse router)specific for gaming along with the adapter mentioned...as these two were the cheapest I could find that claimed good enough for gaming. Just got off BC2 for two hours and didn't experience any lag at all. It also actually improved my ping slightly as well too. If you need an affordable wireless router for your PC gaming or console, give these two a try.

Was this review helpful? (82) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
jikhead
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Hardware may be ok but tech support is worthless.
9/29/2011

Customer review by SwampRabbit3

1.0 stars by SwampRabbit3

The router was bought and installed about four months ago. From the onset there were several connectivity problems into which my son and I poured long hours of research and effort to correct. My help call to Netgear was delayed until yesterday for multiple reasons, including being out of the country and a 21 day outage of our DSL. Netgear operators conduct a 10 minute inquisition before taking up their support duties. I was then denied tech support and told I would have to pay a premium because a 90 day period had expired. My pleas for help were repeatedly answered by meaningless jibber about "their policy". No matter how good the hardware may be, it is worthless if the manufacturer refuses to supply the tech support required for initial setup and problem resolution.

Was this review helpful? (36) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
SwampRabbit3
SC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
EXCELLENT!!!!
5/5/2011

Customer review by xbox360gamer1179

5.0 stars by xbox360gamer1179

I have had this router for almost a year and have never had a problem at all, I have a WII, xbox360, 2 laptops, wireless blu-ray player, ipod and 2 cell phones running on it and it works flawless, and definitely works great for online gaming, I would highly recommend it, very easy to set up aswell.

Was this review helpful? (34) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
xbox360gamer1179
Kansas City, Mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Don't Waste Your Money
9/8/2013

Customer review by ThriftyShopperInAlabama

1.0 stars by ThriftyShopperInAlabama

My first one lasted about 3 months - actually a little under because it was still in the 90 warranty period - called Netgear, online chatted with Netgear, and finally they said they would send me a new one. Got it pretty quick and it has lasted about 3 months. Warranty out because they go from the time you buy the first one..... But when we tried to register the second one, it said invalid serial number which I have been told may mean it was a refurbished one and not a new one as they said. Since the second one I have read reviews online that have stated the same thing as I'm stating here. You may have noticed I referred to the 90 day warranty period above - yes, I know it says on the box LIFETIME WARRANTY - but they told me 90 days..... But, hey, if 2 went bust within 6 months, why would I be stupid enough to get another one? Maybe Netgear makes a good router in one or some of their models, but I will never know because I will never be a customer of Netgear again!

Was this review helpful? (41) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
ThriftyShopperInAlabama
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
HORRIBLE technical support!!
6/5/2011

Customer review by Suzzietoo

1.0 stars by Suzzietoo

I bought this router 93 days ago and despite seven calls to Netgear technical support, they have never been able to get two of my devices (TiVo's) to stop dropping the broadband connection. When I called again today after another round of dropped connections, I was told since I was at 93 days, I had to pay $69.99 for someone to even talk to me! Can you say RIP OFF??? If you are not technical enough to manually set-up IP addresses, ports, WEP security, etc...don't even try a Netgear product. Not even one of my devices recognized this router without needing to be manually configured. It would be promptly returned tomorrow if I hadn't figured out how to force ports open on my own tonight.

Was this review helpful? (26) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Suzzietoo
Would recommend to a friend? No
Excellent Product
8/28/2011

Customer review by GamerMT

5.0 stars by GamerMT

Best router for the money. Substantially better signal than competitors models. We have owned a number of Linksys routers and finally decided to move in a different direction because of a number of performance issues. Dropouts, poor range, and lost connections are never a problem with this Netgear router. On the other hand, our Linksys models were riddled with these issues. This product thus far is 100% reliable. Excels with video streaming and gaming. The unit sends out 4 to 5 bars consistently and has good to excellent range. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
GamerMT
Montana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
N600 Router works BEAUTIFULLY :)
5/13/2011

Customer review by kspencerjr

5.0 stars by kspencerjr

After having my Belkin Wireless G router (The cheapest one) for a few years, it started acting loopy - Had to manually restart it at least once a week, and if more than one PC had Windows 7 then forget it - It was a constant reboot every 3 minutes. After looking at some new routers I realized it was a better time than ever to upgrade, and since I don't have Gigabit ethernet on any PC's so why spend the extra $60+? This router is just as good as the more expensive one, for half the cost! In this building I pick up at least 3 other routers at any time, but this one connects instantly, or at least ALOT faster than the old one. Also, it's built for HD and File Sharing, and while I haven't used the actual USB port on it, I have the Windows 7 Homegroup and it's pretty fast, even on this Wireless G notebook; ALOT faster than the old Belkin! Setup was a breeze, took all of 10 minutes to set the Wifi the way I wanted, with my old name and password so no reconfiguring of the PC's themselves :) There's lights GALORE on this puppy, a cool blue that's really not that bright at night so it's not that distracting; and the little stands (Have to put them on when you open the box if you want it upright) are.....Cute.....It's get to get even a tiny bit warm with some heated use (Streaming while copying files and surfing the web), so right now I'm VERY impressed! Never even used the setup CD, just my browser and with the Road Runner Turbo, it FLIES now - I'm FINALLY getting the extra speed I'm paying for! Basically, it's a cheaper version of a pricier model sans Gigabit. If you're like me and have 10/100 Ethernet, this will be perfect for your network! I'll edit if I have any issues since it's not even a day old :)

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
kspencerjr
Olean, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Absolutely in love with this router
5/22/2011

Customer review by Drasylera

5.0 stars by Drasylera

I had a Belkin Share N300 Router before this one that got fried during a power outage. I wanted one that had at least the same features as that one. Also wanted a different brand due to issues I had with the Belkin. Although a bit pricier (about 30$ more) I think it was definitely worth it! I opted for this one because I wanted the USB port on it. On my Belkin I used the USB port to make my printer wireless. Unfortunately the Netgear router cant do that. I ended up buying a new wireless printer anyways. Instead I use the USB for my 2 Terabyte hard drive as a FTP server which works wonderfully. The Dual Band rocks on this router, I have seen a definite increase in my speed. Also, it has other cool features which I haven't used yet. Such as the guest network access and WPS which I may try in the future. I had no problems with setting up my network either except the problem mentioned here with the "application error" I just exited out of the box and manually went to the router (check your manual on how to get there) to set up my security settings. I also upgraded the firmware which it automatically checks for when you sign in. I would not recommend putting this router near where you sleep unless you want to be awake all night however, the lights are bright enough to flag down airplanes! Especially if you have the WPS button on (which you can turn off if your not using it) All in all I have a very happy network and I think I will be sticking with Netgear from now on!

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Drasylera
Belmont, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Best router I have ever owned
7/13/2012

Customer review by 0891mik

5.0 stars by 0891mik

And that is not a small statement as this is approx. my 15th router. After going through 3 routers in 3 months, I finally picked up a Netgear N600 at my local Walmart. After having it up and running for over 5 months I can assure you this is an excellent product! Set up was simple, functionality is excellent, connection speeds have been great and reliability has been without failure. I have all of my Apple products on the 5ghz band and my Android/PC products on the 2.4ghz band. I have never had either drop a connection and have never had to reset this unit. In my experience most products like this that get bad ratings involve user error or ISP issues that get blamed on the router. After my first hand experience with the N600 I have to presume the people who rated this a 1, 2 or 3 fit into that category.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
0891mik
Midwest
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Product. Very Easy to install and use.
5/19/2014

Customer review by BVM007

5.0 stars by BVM007

I recently changed my internet provider and tried using my old WiFi router but it didn't work no matter what I tried. I read reviews for new WiFi routers and liked the description. This product was so easy to install and use that I was already on internet within 5 minutes. With two different bandwidths of 2.5 GHz and 5 GHz... the data download speed also seems to have improved. This is the second NETGEAR product I have used (first was "Google TV" equivalent box by NETGEAR)and I love them both.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
BVM007
Clinton Township
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Easy Wi-Fi to get up and running
8/6/2011

Customer review by lOOkn4adeal48

5.0 stars by lOOkn4adeal48

Very easy to get networks up and running, make sure you have wireless equipment that is compatible for the 5ghz band or it is not usable. But you still have 2 networks on the 2.4ghz band. Great increase in download speeds.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
lOOkn4adeal48
Columbia,SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
What I was looking For
1/13/2014

Customer review by Hawghead1

5.0 stars by Hawghead1

Easy set up. Works with no problems. I got this to replace my tired Belkin, I regret I didn't do it sooner.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Hawghead1
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Don't waste your money!
10/31/2011

Customer review by Lucrae

1.0 stars by Lucrae

This is by far the worst router i have ever purchased. After having it for no more the 6 months it has finally died and refuses to be resurrected. The entire time I owned it I was plagued with drooped connection in both wired and wireless. After having it die twice and being reset to factory defaults, the third time happened today and I can establish a connection for only mere seconds before being denied. I should have read the reviews. All over the net there are people having the same issue and tech reviews stating this is a NON WORKING product. Not only does it not perform as advertised, this router doesn't perform at all.

Was this review helpful? (12) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Lucrae
Oak Ridge, TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
12/8/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars by An anonymous customer

This router quit working less than 1 year after purchase. Netgear will not honor their "lifetime warranty" because it was a gift. Netgear tech support will try and solve the problem over the phone for a $40.00 fee. I would not recommend this product or any other Netgear product.

Was this review helpful? (11) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
An anonymous customer
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great product
3/19/2011

Customer review by banditbob

5.0 stars by banditbob

This was really easy to set up...Had it up and running in less than 5 minutes. Also I really like the guest account...I think this is a great product for the money

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
banditbob
Winchester, Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 219 total reviews