Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 22 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

22 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

22 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

59%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
6
4 stars
5
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 stars
4
1-20 of 20 total reviews
59%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Great ebook reader ....
12/30/2010

Customer review by KPinNC

4.0 stars 12/30/2010 by KPinNC
by KPinNC

This is an ebook reader, not a 'tablet' in the sense an iPad or Samsung Galaxy Tab is. This item is miscatagorized by Walmart. If you want a a device to read books on, and maybe listen to music while you read, or do light Web surfing on then this is a great little device. You can also load and view your pics and most videos on it. It is an LCD screen, and like all the other LCD's it does not work good outside in the sunlight. The Next2 uses a resistive screen (hence the low price) however it is surprisingly responsive compared to most others. The screen resolution is rather low, but anything other than super high resolution photos look fine on it. There is no Android Market on the Next2 (that is a Google thing, not Nextbook) but it does have it's own app store with many good apps. You can side-load other apps from other places if you know what you are doing, but many won't run because of the lack of phone functions and the older version of Android (1.5). If you want a serious tablet to get work done on, prepare to spend at least $300 on a tablet and pass this one by. I use my Next2 for reading books and the news (what it is designed for), keeping up on Facebook and Twitter, email, and a few other minor things which it is perfect for. If you want more than that you should be looking at the iPad or one of the more expensive Android tablets (i.e. Samsung, Archos, etc.) The homescreen cannot be changed on this ereader, what you see is what you get until someone figures out how to Root it. Replacement 'Launchers' will not install, so you are stuck with one home screen and what Nextbook put on it. This is one reason why this item should be in the eReader catagory, not the Tablet Computer catagory as Walmart lists it. I knew ahead of time what I was buying, and am very happy with the Next2. If I want more functionality, I will fire up the laptop. I love using my Next2 on the morning trip to the 'lavatory', however my wife is constantly yelling for me to get out of there since it is easy to get caught up in what you are reading instead of what you are supposed to be doing in there! If you want a full blown full featured 'tablet' device, this is not for you. If you want a book reader with light internet surfing and Facebook/Twitter functionality, with a little audio/video capability, then the Next 2 is what you want. My Next2 stays next 2 me at all times, and even comes with a nice protective case for when I am out and about. Worth the money for what it does.

Was this review helpful? (69) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KPinNC
east NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
DOES ALMOST EVERYTHING
12/27/2010

Customer review by KARIZMAG

4.0 stars 12/27/2010 by KARIZMAG
by KARIZMAG

Just received my next2 and it was easy to setup. have been using the wifi. For the money it is worth it.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KARIZMAG
NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Had to send it back
1/5/2011

Customer review by Unsatisfied111

2.0 stars 1/5/2011 by Unsatisfied111
by Unsatisfied111

I bought this as a Christmas gift for my son. He enjoyed it while it was working, but it soon came to the point where it wouldn't charge. Then we couldn't turn it on at all. He hasn't even had it 2 weeks. We're sending it back!

Was this review helpful? (7) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Unsatisfied111
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
best idea ever
12/29/2010

Customer review by 17sfgiants

5.0 stars 12/29/2010 by 17sfgiants
by 17sfgiants

I loved this...my daughter told me my grandson was too young for a laptop or netbook sooo i read about this he can still surf the net and she downloaded games and his favorite books to read sooo it was a win win for everyone thanks oh yes my grandson is 8yrs old

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
17sfgiants
stockton ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not Happy Very Disappointed
1/15/2011

Customer review by WMT1878

1.0 stars 1/15/2011 by WMT1878
by WMT1878

I bought this for collage. I enjoyed it while it was working, but it soon came to the point where it wouldn't hold a charge, and turn on. I have had it for over two weeks and it was not reliable. I've been having problems opening the browser. Contacted tech support, reset the device, still having problems. I tried to call customer service, and discovered that there is no customer service. It has a slow reaction time, you cannot take notes on it, just reading the books it has on it and I was unable to keep the stylist from getting lost. There are better systems out there for the money. I am taking it back!

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WMT1878
Rexburg
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
excellent.
2/7/2011

Customer review by barracuda111

5.0 stars 2/7/2011 by barracuda111
by barracuda111

this is a very useful item,especially for all the books ,it was a gift for my daughter. she is in college, very happy,again it's very useful. thx.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
barracuda111
burbank ca.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
a most have
1/19/2011

Customer review by bookreaderlover1

5.0 stars 1/19/2011 by bookreaderlover1
by bookreaderlover1

glad to have one but the books are hard to find free downloads.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bookreaderlover1
NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
love it
1/19/2011

Customer review by HappyWalmartHappy

5.0 stars 1/19/2011 by HappyWalmartHappy
by HappyWalmartHappy

I love the product works great, I can not sit on the couch and read or surf the internet easily no more laptop

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HappyWalmartHappy
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 500 contributor
Very cool, easy to use, great price
3/16/2011

Customer review by cvick710

5.0 stars 3/16/2011 by cvick710
by cvick710

Love this product. I've downloaded a couple library books and books from Borders.com with no problem. Android OS is a little different than Windows, but easy to navigate. Great price, great product. Love the color display, way better than the Kindle black & white. Definitely recommend to others. The only drawback is the case is kinda cheaply made.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cvick710
Beaver Dam, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
great gift at a great price
12/28/2010

Customer review by marriedthemanofmydreams

4.0 stars 12/28/2010 by marriedthemanofmydreams
by marriedthemanofmydreams

Got this as a gift for 13 yr old. While it doesn't do EVERYTHING he would like it still keeps him entertained. Some of the game apps don't work but it does tell you that when you open the app store and most of the apps are free so thats good. Overall its pretty great for the price.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
marriedthemanofmydreams
Sacramento, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
great reader
1/23/2011

Customer review by omgnicknamesarestupid

4.0 stars 1/23/2011 by omgnicknamesarestupid
by omgnicknamesarestupid

Overall a great reader, my only disapointment was that you can't download all the free andriod apps like you can on a droid phone, which happens to be the reason I choose this model in the first place. But if you want a fancy color ebook reader, this is a great choice.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
omgnicknamesarestupid
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Next2 Tablet 7" Touchscreen
4/14/2011

Customer review by DeeEighch

4.0 stars 4/14/2011 by DeeEighch
by DeeEighch

I purchased it for my wife and and according to her, it is well liked by co-workers and they're making purchases also. It is also my wife's new best friend.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DeeEighch
OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great & Disappointing
1/9/2011

Customer review by MomInAction

3.0 stars 1/9/2011 by MomInAction
by MomInAction

The product itself seemed to be great. It did exactly what we wanted it to. However, we returned it because of the third party preloaded applications which could not be deleted. This was to be a Christmas gift for our teenage son. We did not appreciate the direct link to pornographic content. To access it you do have to sign up and pay a monthly subscription. Nevertheless this is still an influence that we do not want in our home.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MomInAction
Yucca Valley, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
its ok
12/31/2010

Customer review by catfan2010

3.0 stars 12/31/2010 by catfan2010
by catfan2010

this item was ok for what it was, it did get on line with wifi access available but i needed something with 3g so i splurged a little, took this one back and went and purchased an ipad, i really really enjoy it, it does everything and more, but as for this item it did work really well, and if it would have had 3g i would have loved it too

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
catfan2010
grand lake ok
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Too Expensive
1/2/2011

Customer review by TomK2010

3.0 stars 1/2/2011 by TomK2010
by TomK2010

This product is to expensive for what you get, The item is hard to use, reacts very slowly to commands and is very limited with the google 1.5 operating system. There are better systems out there for the money.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TomK2010
Superior, WI.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
NOT SO GOOD
12/28/2010

Customer review by SHOPPERBARGAIN

2.0 stars 12/28/2010 by SHOPPERBARGAIN
by SHOPPERBARGAIN

purchased for my 9 year old son..i was trying to manuever around to teach my son and was not impressed. too slow and touch screen is horrible. you have to continiously tap the screen to select the option. its annoying to trying to figure out if you should tap lightly or hard. the keyboard is terrible ... you attempt to select one key and another letter is selected. after about 10 minutes of trying to get to various screens but unable decided it wasnt worth it. this will be returned.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SHOPPERBARGAIN
san antonio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
3/12/2011

Customer review by shopkeeper56

2.0 stars 3/12/2011 by shopkeeper56
by shopkeeper56

product runs slow and is equiped with Adobe player which is a nightmare no tech support only by email and they don't talk english or understand the problem to help.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shopkeeper56
New Hampshire
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
More than a disappointment
1/11/2011

Customer review by Charmin1959

1.0 stars 1/11/2011 by Charmin1959
by Charmin1959

I've been having problems opening the browswer. Contacted tech support, reset the device, still having problems.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Charmin1959
Forest Park, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very Disappointed
1/12/2011

Customer review by HRMaven

1.0 stars 1/12/2011 by HRMaven
by HRMaven

The device stopped charging. Returned the product. Great while it worked. I tried to call customer service, a couple of weeks ago, and discovered that there is no customer service. You cannot leave a message and the website only has the manual that comes with Nextbook.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HRMaven
Would recommend to a friend? No
DON"T BUY!!!
3/18/2011

Customer review by mammaw61

1.0 stars 3/18/2011 by mammaw61
by mammaw61

The directions are not real clear making it difficult to use. 5 days after I received it it WON'T CHARGE!! I tried everything & it will NOT work! Am returning it & I will be getting a Nook!!! Save your money folks, don't buy this one!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mammaw61
Radcliff, KY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female