Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 274 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

274 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

274 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

94%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
178
4 stars
65
3 stars
9
2 stars
8
1 stars
14
1-20 of 238 total reviews
94%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 238 total reviews
1-20 of 238 reviews
Love my Big Red!
1/28/2014

Customer review by Raindrop

5.0 stars 1/28/2014 by Raindrop
by Raindrop

This is a fairly heavy, full sized carpet shampooing unit. I love the hose for cleaning the stairs. It did a super job. I'm very pleased with how it cleaned my living room carpet. With attention to sucking up as much water as possible, everything dried overnight. It is easy to use although attention to cleaning the unit out well is going to be important to avoid a buildup of gunk. I had some water leakage but I think that is normal and we're working with water anyway. I keep my vacuum nearby to vacuum up the hair that bunches up (that means changing that bag after the project is done) and a towel to rest Big Red on after we're finished. I call it good! Not at all disappointed in this investment. I got a really great deal and this is going to get a lot of use in my house!! When I shop for a new vacuum, it is likely I will look to Bissell. I am a Bissell Believer. I also plan to get the floor attachment to use in the kitchen and dining room.

Raindrop
Portland, OR, USA
Gender:Female
Their Best Small Carpet Cleaner Yet!
8/8/2013

Customer review by cmorley50

5.0 stars 8/8/2013 by cmorley50
by cmorley50

Carpet Cleaners, like American cars, have been getting bigger and bigger and more and more expensive with more bells and whistles each year as the companies have been in a desperate struggle to our do each other. Bissell is no exception. But Bissell does have a couple of scaled down models that are great for small apartments, are easy on the pocket book, and clean as well as the 'Big Boys.' The PowerSteamer PowerBrush 1623 is their best small carpet cleaner to date. I love Bissell. This is my 3rd Bissell carpet cleaner. I love their tank-in-a-tank system. I love that with just a turn of a dial, you can go from floor to hand tool. No other company offers this feature at this price point. And now they've added a removable nozzle which makes it a breeze to clean. Before it was a nightmare because you had to remove all these screws to get to the nozzle to clean it. You would not believe the wet hair and fuzz this carpet cleaner can pick up, especially if you have pets. Now this carpet cleaner is practically perfect at this price point.

cmorley50
West Hollywood, CA, USA
Gender:Male
Easy to Use
4/29/2015

Customer review by Lynda

4.0 stars 4/29/2015 by Lynda
by Lynda

This simple model cleans as good as can be expected for my carpets that are over 20 yrs. old. (I've rigorously vacuumed them over the years). From some of the complaints I read. I would suggest a thorough cleaning of the unit after heavy use, so that none of the pet debris clogs up or dries into the components. That way after it sits, the debris won't dry up glueing the working parts. Although I know there are lemons with any appliance. I owned a previous canister Bissell carpet cleaner for over 20 yrs., but it was time for a newer one. This is quieter and much easier to use. It also took out a stain that I never could get out from within the crevace of my wall using the crevace tool. Compared to the old canister I had, I do have to empty the tank more often, but still less hoses, less cords to hassle with, and lighter in weight for this old lady. I'm giving this one 4 stars , only because I don't know how long it will last.

Lynda
FL
Gender:Female
So far, so good
12/11/2013

Customer review by Aura

4.0 stars 12/11/2013 by Aura
by Aura

The Bissell 1623 was not my first choice for a carpet cleaner. My first choice was sold out. I agree with the one reviewer who noted that naming the carpet cleaner a "powersteamer" is immediately misleading. After reading the specs on the Bissell 1623, I knew that it was advanced, at least featured wise, than my first choice. I have two puppies who are not house broken or pad trained yet. Spot cleaning on my hands and knees became a joke and overwhelming. Since receiving the Bissell 1623 two weeks ago, I have cleaned the carpets in every room, but one, including my living, dining room and stairs. The hose feature is impressive. The suction is strong on the hose and base machine, and the floor dried completely over night, but within hours it was dry to the touch. The only concern I have is with the 2 in 1 tank; the membrane gives me cause for contemplation of replacement cost.

Aura
Stockton
stream cleaner and sweeper
7/19/2014

Customer review by Jude

5.0 stars 7/19/2014 by Jude
by Jude

I just bought the carpet steam cleaner. I think its the best steam cleaner I every used or had. First to assemble it was very easy. The hose attachment for the furniture is set up very well, doesn't get in the way or you don't have to stop and put the hose on the steamer its right there ready to use. I love the switch. If you want to do furniture all you do is turn the switch or if you want to do the carpet just turn the switch the other way. So simple. I shampooed my furniture and carpet with Bissell shampoo and stain remover. Boy it works really well. Also the have one tank to fill and the same tank you just empty the dirty water. Don't have to mess with two tanks. It has a brush on the hose for the furniture which I think helps get the furniture cleaner. The price of the steamer and cleaner was a great price. I bought Bissell sweeper about three months ago. I just love it. Again the price was good and its the best sweeper I ever used. Its light weight so easy to push. The hose is set up well and doesn't get in the way. To empty, its easy. I would recommend both. Great product . Keep up the good work Bissell.

Jude
North Carolina
Gender:Female
PowerSteamer® model 1697-1
11/21/2013

Customer review by Jenni

5.0 stars 11/21/2013 by Jenni
by Jenni

I love my Bissell Steamer! I had the hoover steamer for less than a year and the sprayer broke right away, which after the fact I read reviews on it and that was a common problem. I have 8 cats and one of them likes to soil the carpet. I have no problem using this cleaner to clean up the soiled messes! When I got the Bissell I noticed it had way better suction and cleaning power. The brush system on the bissells is much better at cleaning and seems to make more sense than the brush system on the hoovers. I love Bissell thus far, never had any problems yet with any of their products. I can't say the same for hoover! I would love to get a deep pet steamer from bissell, but just don't have the money right now. When I do get the money I will definitely update to another Bissell model! Great product!

Jenni
Tonawanda, NY, USA
Gender:Female
Small Upgrades from Previous Models Makes This a Best Buy
7/1/2015

Customer review by cmorley50

5.0 stars 7/1/2015 by cmorley50
by cmorley50

My first carpet cleaner was the Bissell 8806 which I loved. This model 1623 is even better. It is smaller and even more compact which is perfect for my small apartment. The power switch has been moved from the handle to a foot peddle next to the release pedal. Much more convenient. The measuring cup is now built into the lid of the water tank. No more misplacing the measuring cup. The front nozzle now snaps off for easy cleaning. Before you had to unscrew it which was a hassle. They kept the best features. The tank-in-a-tank technology means one trip to the sink. And it is the only carpet cleaner at this price point that offers above floor cleaning at the turn of a dial. This is a winner. I always get compliments on how good my carpet looks after cleaning with my Bissell.

cmorley50
West Hollywood, CA, USA
Gender:Male
PowerSteamer works great
1/20/2014

Customer review by will1000p

4.0 stars 1/20/2014 by will1000p
by will1000p

Just bought this item works great on carpets, brought back carpet color to the lighter color that it was when new and lifted carpet fibers up that had flattened, water tank needs numerous refills, lasts for 10 minutes on normal setting. Carpet dries quickly. Took an hour to do living room and dining area and carpet was dry within an hour.Water was very dirty, pulled up dirt that I never knew existed in clumps. The upholstery tool just sprays out the solution in a stream instead of a spray and the formula runs off instead of soaking into the fabric. So repeated attempts with very hard pressure is needed to clean an area then water pools on cushion when cleaning arms of couch. Used BISSELL® 2X Deep Clean & Protect Machine Formula and BISSELL® Stain Pretreat Formula.

Comment from Lisa - 1/28/2014

Thanks for your review. We're glad you are happy with your deep cleaner. Please note: if the water isn't soaking into your upholstery, it could be the type of material or if your upholstery has Scotchgard, this could be the cause.

will1000p
Indiana, USA
Gender:Male
AWESOME STEAMER CLEANER
12/1/2014

Customer review by cc1958

5.0 stars 12/1/2014 by cc1958
by cc1958

my husband asked me which steam carpet cleaner we should purchase.I said" Bissell ,no hesitation they are awesome to use." He wasn't so sure .So to keep peace I did research on all the brands available.Then showed him what I found.Surprise Bissell's pros out did most brands on all marks.This model was perfect for me being an elderly disabled woman.It is lightweight with only one tank to fill and empty.The attached furniture wand is great.Switch on switch off .So easy!Did not require any strength to push and pull spraying and sucking.The assembly was simple and so is the clean up.By far the best cleaning machine we have bought to date .We happily recommend Bissell Products and are proud to add this machine to the other ones we own.He says I was right.

cc1958
Temperance, MI 48182, USA
Gender:Female
Pet Stain Miracle...Buy it! This works!!
9/11/2014

Customer review by DogLover

5.0 stars 9/11/2014 by DogLover
by DogLover

I love my new Bissell shampooer. I had just moved into a new place (renting), and the inside had been completely redone; new paint, new carpets, everything. Well I had a 6 month old puppy at the time, and he was being impossible to potty train. I was crating him, then I believe my other dog started letting him out ( I still want to know how), so I gave up on that. Well every day I come home from work, he has little presents for me, all over this new carpet. I decided to go with this deep cleaning shampooer, and I bought the pet solution for in it, and it worked wonders!! Took out every stain and had it smelling fresh! After all, I do want my security deposit back!! ;)

DogLover
PA
Gender:Female
The BEST!
1/13/2013

Customer review by Momoffurkids

5.0 stars 1/13/2013 by Momoffurkids
by Momoffurkids

I have a young puppy, a dog with seperation anxiety, cats and a few large area rugs. I ordered this online and it came early in the day so I did the rugs. The amount of dirt this pulled up was unreal. I stopped after the first rug and ordered another! I LOVE this cleaner. I am getting the floor attachment so I can do my hard floors. I wish I had found this sooner as the old rugs were dumped as I used a competitors cleaner I got on sale for more then this bissell and they never were clean enough in my opinion. I have so much faith in this maching that I have ordered a new rug for the bedroom! We are thrilled! Thank You BISSELL!!! Great value and IT WORKS!!!

Momoffurkids
NJ
Gender:Female
Stock on repair parts
9/13/2014

Customer review by Soobie

2.0 stars 9/13/2014 by Soobie
by Soobie

Bought this when we first moved into our new house. Used it once upon move in (carpet), a second time after a soda accident, and put it away. Went to use it several months ago and has not been right since. Blows a belt every time I try to use it now. Can no longer use the attachment/hose as there is no suction. Followed instructions to the letter - this was a big investment for me just starting out. Sorry that I put that much money into it and keep having to buy belts in bulk quantities. Stick to renting a machine if you only plan on occasional use as this build appears to be finicky and temperamental.

Comment from Lisa - 9/17/2014

Thanks for your review. We're sorry you're having trouble with the belt with your deep cleaner. Make sure you are using the correct belt. We can help you right at this link: http://www.bissell.com/contact-us/

Soobie
Houston, TX
Gender:Female
My Best Friend.....My Bissell carpet steamer!
4/20/2012

Customer review by Gramma69

5.0 stars 4/20/2012 by Gramma69
by Gramma69

This steamer has been miraculous for me...following a major surgery. It is powerful and fast at removing spills and stains....quiet and lightweight and easier to fill than the previous model I had...since all you do is put the liquid filling container in the sink....fill it to the first line with hot water and to the second line with the cleaner. Even when I feel crummy, I know I can start this little unit up and be quickly done with superior results. Bissell products never wear out....so I passed my older models of a vac and a steamer on to my more needy daughter who was without both types of cleaners.

Gramma69
Fall River, MA, USA
Gender:Female
Great Carpet Cleaner
9/15/2015

Customer review by Nanc245

5.0 stars 9/15/2015 by Nanc245
by Nanc245

I purchased the PowerSteamer because it was lightweight and I can't lift the heavy cleaners, they're just too hard to use. I also didn't want to spend a lot of money on a carpet cleaner. The PowerSteamer is very easy to use and does a fabulous job and was a great price. My carpets never looked better. Only problem I have is with the hose for the attachments that is supposed to attach to the machine. I couldn't get it to stay attached and it kept falling off and getting in the way of cleaning. Otherwise, I love it.

Nanc245
New Jersey
Gender:Female
Stains gone!!!
9/28/2013

Customer review by Kat

5.0 stars 9/28/2013 by Kat
by Kat

We have always trusted Bissell and so purchased this Power Steamer. We have wall-to-wall carpeting on 2 floors of our home. Some areas had deep, ground-in stains and we tried everything to remove them, to no avail. We spoke many times about purchasing a power steamer as our last resort. It was no surprise that this Bissell model power steamer broke through the stains like magic. We used the cleaner that came with the product and will definitely be purchasing more. Our carpeting looks brand new and fluffy and smells so fresh and clean. Thank you once again, Bissell!

Kat
Carbondale, PA
Gender:Female
Very pleased with this product.
1/31/2012

Customer review by Kathy33

5.0 stars 1/31/2012 by Kathy33
by Kathy33

I was so glad I bought this Bissell cleaner. I had a bissell cleaner from many many years ago and liked it also but it was time for a new one. This one is so much lighter and I like the way they have the cleaner formula and the water all in one. The older models had a seperate cleaning solution and a seperate water container. Also the best part is you can take the front plate off where it sucks up dirt and you can clean that all out. ( it now just snaps on and off) I'm very happy with his product and would recomend it.

Kathy33
Missouri, USA
Gender:Female
BULKY AND BREAKS DOWN ALOT
2/11/2012

Customer review by CHUCK

2.0 stars 2/11/2012 by CHUCK
by CHUCK

I SHOULD HAVE LEARNED FROM MY FIRST PURCHASED BISSEL CLEANER. IT KEPT NEEDING REPAIRS, I KEPT THE PARTS FROM THE FIRST CLEANER THAT I USED TO FIX THIS ONE. I SHAMPOO TWICE A YEAR, SO IT DOESNT GET MUCH USE. DURING EACH USE SOMETHING WENT WRONG WITH IT. USUALLY THE EXTRACTOR OR THE WATER AND SHAMPOO MIXER GOES ON THE BRINK. I HAVE FINALLY TRASHED THIS ONE NOW BECAUSE NO MORE CAN BE DONE TO HELP IT. THE PLASTIC HOUSING GAVE WAY AND THE MIXER WENT AT THE SAME TIME, NO MORE. ALSO THE TANKS ARE CLUMSLY AND HARD TO CLEAN.

Comment from Joe - 4/19/2012

I'm sorry about your frustrations Chuck. Always feel free to contact us by email or phone at the following link: http://www.bissell.com/email-us/?icid=ccrr we would love to help you out with any issues you have with our products.

CHUCK
POOLER, GA
Gender:Male
This machine works great even broken
7/12/2015

Customer review by Lonewolf23

4.0 stars 7/12/2015 by Lonewolf23
by Lonewolf23

I bought the 1623 & was cleaning my 10 year old carpet & it was doing a great job but I noticed that the base canister wasn't sealing properly so I called Bissell & told them that one of the side tabs was shorter than the other side & they sent me a replacement at no charge. This machine got out stains from grapes that my elderly father was feeding to my dog until I told him that grapes were poisonous to dogs. The dog is fine & so is my carpet. Looks brand new!

Lonewolf23
Live Oak, Fl
Gender:Female
Product is good but.......
8/8/2013

Customer review by Terri80

4.0 stars 8/8/2013 by Terri80
by Terri80

Product works well and I really like the attachments for the upholstery. Worried about the durability of the product as the parts I can see (water reservoir) seems like it will break easily. Also not thrilled about the fact that if you are using the attachment and the body of the cleaner isn't 100% upright and lined up with the plastic suction area the attachment won't have any suction at all. Other than that it works well and deep cleaned the back seat of my car that was mistreated by 3 messy kids.

Terri80
Dunn, NC, USA
Gender:Female
Wonderful Cleaner
6/13/2012

Customer review by Debbie

5.0 stars 6/13/2012 by Debbie
by Debbie

I bought this cleaner about 3 years ago and on May 1,2011 we lost everything to a flood. The cleaner was completely under water for a month. When we were able to get back into our house to salvage what we could we took the cleaner. Since then it has been sitting in storage with mud, mold, and mildrew all on it inside and out. Today I got it our cleaned it up as best I could and it works great! I am now a new fan of Bissell and will tell everyone I know about my carpet cleaner.

Debbie
Memphis, Tn.
Gender:Female
1-20 of 238 total reviews
1-20 of 238 reviews