Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 196 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

196 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

196 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

94%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
131
4 stars
49
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 stars
9
1-20 of 160 total reviews
94%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 160 total reviews
1-20 of 160 reviews
Does the Most for the Least Amount of Money
1/1/2011

Customer review by KYbachelor

4.0 stars 1/1/2011 by KYbachelor
by KYbachelor

For Christmas, I had wanted a steamer with attachments that also worked as a regular vacuum. After hours of research I found no such thing is made other than a few low power upright "sweepers". This machine is the BEST you're going to do for the least amount of money, but it does have it's drawbacks: First is the deceptive name: It is not a "steamer," after I called Bissell they confirmed that PowerSteamer is just a brand name. You have to put 1 gallon of hot tap water in it (that you can't boil first or microwave - as that will melt the dual bladder in the clean/dirty water tank). By just using the hot tap water you feel like you're in a constant race to use it before it reaches room temperature. Also, it is a VERY heavy deep cleaner, especially with the tank filled, and I don't advise older folks who might have stairs to use it to move between floors. The hand attachment for stairs and upholstery seems to throw water around a little too much, especially on upholstery. Also, it is presented as a hard floor scrubber too, but you won't find out until you call Bissell, that you have to order a special hard floor tool from them that runs around six bucks plus shipping. Now the good news: I have a pet that sheds HUGE amounts of hair and I had not wet-cleaned my carpets in over 10 years. Even after vacuuming, this item brought up so much hair and dirt that I thought I was going to kill it but it never flinched. It just kicked the hair out in huge wads, so I picked them up later. It does very well as a regular "steamer" and brings a huge amount of dirt out of your carpets. It feels, looks, and weighs just like a much more expensive model and once you get the hang of how it works it becomes very easy to use. It made my couch look AMAZING, and got out stains in my carpets I thought were there for life. All-in-all, this is a very good ENTRY level machine. I could find no other at this price that came with an attachment, but if you want a true steamer or have pets I would advise you to step up to a model that truly heats the water in it and/or is designed for pet hair.

Was this review helpful? (293) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KYbachelor
Columbia, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Just as good as the expensive models
2/22/2011

Customer review by TJinGA

5.0 stars 2/22/2011 by TJinGA
by TJinGA

I own the Bissell Pro-Heat 2x but over the past few months it has not been working well. Tired of constantly taking it apart and cleaning it out, I decided to buy another one but didn't want to spend the money. After reading several reviews, I decided on the less expensive Bissell PowerSteamer. Like other people stated, it is not steam. However, the hot water works fine. It was really easy to assemble and use. It is not "light" but I wouldn't say that it was hard to push either. My five year old son was helping me and he had no problems pushing it and pulling it around. We have two kids, two cats and two dogs. Needless to say, our floors get REALLY dirty. After just one use, I noticed a tremendous difference. It worked JUST AS GOOD AS THE EXPENSIVE MODELS! Don't waste your money on a cleaner that is a couple hundreds of dollars when this one compares just fine...I know from personal experience. I highly recommend this product to others. I used the Bissell Advanced Formula Plus Pet stain and Odor solution in the machine and it did a great job removing all kinds of "mystery" stains!

Was this review helpful? (152) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TJinGA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Does the Job. Easy to get the hang of.
1/21/2011

Customer review by SuperStone

5.0 stars 1/21/2011 by SuperStone
by SuperStone

This thing feels like a solid constructed machine. If you have basic reading skills, the instructions are easy to understand. pick the plain water/ water & solution/ full solution. Hit the button on back of machine. Boom, you're suds & suction, no biggie. This thing is strong too. Weighs about 20+ lbs. Of course I would recommend the smaller little Bissle for young ladies or older adults but seriously, don't expect this whopper of a cleaning machine. My dog is getting really old & she is a bit confused about the carpet or back yard. Either one seems like a good place to send a fax & this machine cleans it wet then dry. The thing actually dries the carpet. I have thick rugs too. Anyway, if you are at a point where its get rid of the dog or buy this machine, buy the machine! It went down to less then a $100 . You can't go wrong. Read-Read-Read the instructions. I did & i use the machine easy.

Was this review helpful? (117) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SuperStone
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
who knew
2/26/2011

Customer review by no1doesbetter

5.0 stars 2/26/2011 by no1doesbetter
by no1doesbetter

OMG I am so impressed with this product. Over the years I've spent a nice amount on carpet cleaners to have someone else break them for me so i decided this time i wasnt going to spend over 100 so I wasnt looking for a whole lot but a whole lot is exactly what i got. OMG this is the best carpet cleaner for the money. the only downfall is the bucket is small therefore requiring frequent empties and that is a small thing compared to the cleaning power great job bissell

Was this review helpful? (91) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
no1doesbetter
baltimore maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Bissell Powersteamer
12/29/2010

Customer review by BigdoubleT

5.0 stars 12/29/2010 by BigdoubleT
by BigdoubleT

This is a great product because it cleans very good. I have a small hoover steamvac and it does a god job but this does better. I cleaned 1 room and a hallway when I was done with the hallway the bedroom was dry and it was very cold outside. Bissell has made a very good product.

Was this review helpful? (25) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BigdoubleT
Harlem Ga.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Excellent Product
5/5/2011

Customer review by yardgirl34

5.0 stars 5/5/2011 by yardgirl34
by yardgirl34

I absolutely love this product. I just bought my second one. Note to all: never pick cleaner up by the handle when the water container is full. I learned that the hard way....that's why I just had to buy my second one. But I did love it so much I re-purchased the same exact model. My first one worked perfectly for 3 years. Makes our carpets look brand new and we have 3 kids and two big dogs. Cleans as well as most professional cleaning companies. Would recommend to EVERYONE!

Was this review helpful? (23) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
yardgirl34
Bel Air, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
It saved my rugs!
5/17/2011

Customer review by srfrgrl268

5.0 stars 5/17/2011 by srfrgrl268
by srfrgrl268

Had 3 large pet urine stains in my new carpet. Tried all the sprays on the market to no avail. Used this shampooer and it removed all the stains. Thought they may come back after a few days like with the sprays, but after 2 weeks, still gone. Easy to use. Probably could have used half the amount of shampoo as I used what they recommended and the carpet felt stiff once it dried. Recleaned it with just water to remove the extra shampoo and it is perfect. So glad I made this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (21) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
srfrgrl268
Merritt Island, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Good Price AWESOME Machine!
4/13/2011

Customer review by BusyBusyMama

5.0 stars 4/13/2011 by BusyBusyMama
by BusyBusyMama

I have 4 kids a dog and a husband, when I bought this my husband wasn't too impressed with the price...But, even after the 1st time I used this machine I just know that it will pay for it's self many times over! I love the fact that there is only 1 container of water, to fill and empty! I also love the fact that my carpet looks almost like it did when we moved in. Still cannot compare to a professional machine but it is wonderful for regular carpet cleaning! And I was soooo happy about the amount of dirt and grime that came out of my carpet! It looks so much cleaner and smells so much fresher in my house! Very good product and I would definitely recommend this product to others! It is AWESOME for the price you just can't beat it!

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BusyBusyMama
Kennewick, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Economy Cleaning At It's Best
10/30/2011

Customer review by Ervserver

4.0 stars 10/30/2011 by Ervserver
by Ervserver

With several cats in the house I was looking for something I could use to easily clean small areas of carpet. After reading many reviews on many different deep cleaners I settled for this one. I used ship to store which offers free shipping. It was easy to set up out of the box and took about 10 minutes, requires a screwdriver. After quickly skimming the manual I was cleaning carpet within an hour of getting the cleaner home. I was amazed how much "junk" this machine sucked out of the carpet, the machine is very quiet actually and glides easily over my medium pile carpet. One of my few gripes about the machine is its small water capacity however since the machine does not have a built in water heater frequent water filling keeps the water hot. It does vacuum the water out of the carpet very well, the cleaned area was completely dry within 2 hours. I did use a small box fan to circulate air across the carpet. It does a great job of sucking pet hair from the carper but not all of it goes into the holding tank. As the manual states you will notice of clump of hair left on the carpet here and there which you can easily pick up and dispose. Overall I think the machine is a great value, perfect for small homes with pets. I'm trying several of the available cleaning solutions to see which I like best, a small bottle is included with the machine. As far as durability the machine seems well built, the motor sounds strong and able. The handle seems a bit flimsy and will be careful about rough handling in that area. One other minor gripe is the accessory hose sticks out from and tends to brush up against stuff as you are cleaning carpet, not a biggie You can also clean hard surface floors but will need to purchase a special adapter plate, available separately

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ervserver
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart supplier
NOT WHAT I EXPECTED
12/28/2010

Customer review by GREATAUNTCC

1.0 stars 12/28/2010 by GREATAUNTCC
by GREATAUNTCC

THIS CARPET CLEANER DID NOT LIVE UP TO ONE THING I EXPECTED..IT WAS HARD TO PUSH AND PULL..THE FLOW REGULATOR DID NOT WORK EXCEPT WHEN IT WANTED TO.THE SPRAYER DID NOT SPRAY EVENLY, LEAVING MY CARPET, WITH A CLEAN AND THEN A DIRTY STRIPE.. IT LEFT ME WORN OUT AND VERY DISAPPOINTED IN THE PRODUCT..

Was this review helpful? (21) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GREATAUNTCC
PALATKA , FLORIDA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Not too happy today
11/9/2011

Customer review by petro440

1.0 stars 11/9/2011 by petro440
by petro440

This machine arrived yesterday. It was easy to put together. This morning I was planning on cleaning my old couches to sell on craigslist and then my living room carpet. I spent an hour moving things around and pre soaking the stains. Then I turned the machine on and went ot town on the first couch. Not ten minutes later I heard a high pitch sound and smelled smoke. I turned the unit off and started to investigate. I soon found out that the cheap little red lint screen was nowhere to be found. That is because it was sucked into the motor. It's a very cheap design I as soon as I say it, I recognized the potential problem and sure enough, I was correct. I called Bissell support and they said that was rare. Of course the walmart near me has about 50 of the expensive ones that no one wants to buy but not a single replacement of this model. I just got a cash refund and am still deciding whether I'm going to buy a new one...

Was this review helpful? (12) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
petro440
Cleveland, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
A Real Powerhouse for the Money
6/14/2011

Customer review by tess119

5.0 stars 6/14/2011 by tess119
by tess119

After reading all the reviews on this site, I opted for this machine. And I'm glad I did! To be honest, my carpet was stained and worn down in traffic areas to the point I was seriously considering replacing it. After one use with this Bisselll Powersteamer Powerbrush, my carpet looks almost new again! The traffic areas are fluffy and the stains that my previous cleaner, which was more expensive but cheaper built, couldn't touch...are gone! The Smartmix feature is really handy and this machine packs a lot of suction and cleaning power for the money. The hose snaps in place and I haven't had any trouble with it falling off like I read one reviewer did. The only thing I'd suggest is for Bissell to take the Powersteamer brand out of the name. It's a misnomer and doesn't need it. Hot tap water works just fine with this machine. I couldn't be more pleased with this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tess119
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
A MUST HAVE!
7/14/2011

Customer review by Gii07

5.0 stars 7/14/2011 by Gii07
by Gii07

I've been looking for a vacuum to wash my dirty carpets for a while now and was thrilled to find this at my local Walmart. Its so easy to use and it does all the work for you. My carpets now look like new! They were extrememely dirty, I have a toddler and he's always spilling juice, food, candy etc. I was so amazed to see most of the stains dissapear like magic, only a few stains behind, those from RED popcicles. But I will have to buy a good spray for those stubborn stains. Other than that it left my carpet super clean and looking like new. It dried within a few hours because I did a water rinse, but on an area where I did not do the water rinse it dried within an hour. Im very impressed and I'm glad I purchased this one instead of the pricier ones because this machine did a great job!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gii07
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Love it!
11/26/2012

Customer review by LadyinGlassCity

5.0 stars 11/26/2012 by LadyinGlassCity
by LadyinGlassCity

I got this on Black Friday special for 76.00 dollars and love it!!! Never owned a carpet shampooer before, only rented a Rug Doctor in the past. I only wished I would have bought one years ago! It does a excellent job and highly recommend it!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LadyinGlassCity
Toledo, Oh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Bissell PowerSteamer
3/28/2011

Customer review by Greatreview2

5.0 stars 3/28/2011 by Greatreview2
by Greatreview2

I was amazed how dirty the carpet were.I only did my down stairs carpets and my chair and when I dumped it out it was disgusting.It left my carpets brighter and my home smelling fresher.For $125 dollars it's a great buy.The hose worked great.Later this week i'm going to clean my car.So if you are looking for a carpet cleaner get this one.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Greatreview2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Cleans carpets really well!
4/17/2011

Customer review by MustangMary

5.0 stars 4/17/2011 by MustangMary
by MustangMary

This Bissell steam cleaner is a lot better than I expected. Does the job better than those rental machines. Easy to use and with the attachment, can get to those corners and carpet edges with no problems. I would highly recommend this machine. Just think of all the money you could save and have a better looking carpet when your done than if you used one of those rental machines.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MustangMary
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
we will c
2/21/2011

Customer review by bornonxmas59

4.0 stars 2/21/2011 by bornonxmas59
by bornonxmas59

i bought this bissell, my third one. the suction keeps going out on them and then i tried a hoover and the suction went out on that too. this time i got the warranty. we will c how long this one lasts. it cleans pretty well but is kinda bulky and heavy. easy to put together and easy to clean.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bornonxmas59
burlington wi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Good & Bad
3/27/2011

Customer review by Pookiebuns

3.0 stars 3/27/2011 by Pookiebuns
by Pookiebuns

For the price I think it's worth it. I did all my capets, and they turned out pretty good. When I was done and ready to dump the used water.....well it was dirty. Here are a couple things I'm not happy with. For one it is heavy to lug it up stairs. If you have a stain on the carpet, it will not come out no matter how many times you go over it. The suction is not that great. Carpet was still very wet even though I went over it sever times. The hand tool is the same way. My sofa was very wet even though I went over and over it again. Now that said it's still worth $125 to get a fairy clean results out of it.

Was this review helpful? (7) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Pookiebuns
Parkton, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Not what I expected
11/2/2011

Customer review by kristyn1

3.0 stars 11/2/2011 by kristyn1
by kristyn1

I bought this carpet cleaner because I wanted something that was not too big, not too expensive, but still had attachments. The attachment does not scrub on its own, so you are basically scrubbing your couch like you would if you just used a scrub brush. I did not like that. The machine is heavy and cumbersome. The water tank holds both the clean and dirty water, but they are separated by a bladder lining. That is somewhat ingenious, but it makes it harder to empty just the dirty water out and keep the clean water, because they both pour out when you tilt it over in the sink. Also if you want to clean out the container to get all of the dirt pieces out you can't because the bladder lining is in there. The tank is stored under the handle and you have to straighten out the handle in order to remove and replace the water tank. I did not like that, as it is one more step and kinda cumbersome to maneuver the tank while trying to lower the handle at the same time. Also I did not like that the power switch is not a foot button, but instead a small button on the back side of the machine. I'd rather just push the button with my foot, because that is easier. Just like the foot button you push to lower the handle. I will say that it did clean well, about how I expected and has a relatively wide cleaning path. It also leaks; both the area where you put the cleaning solution as well as the water tank area. It doesn't leak much, but it still leaks and I didn't like that. I bought the smaller version of this machine and it had a smaller cleaning path, no attachments, but it was very light weight, didn't leak, the power button turned off with your foot, the water tank was not cumbersome it was $10 cheaper and it cleaned just as well. I'm taking this machine back and keeping the smaller version. I hope this was helpful.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kristyn1
florissant, MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Awful!
1/1/2011

Customer review by Mommyto3Gurlz

1.0 stars 1/1/2011 by Mommyto3Gurlz
by Mommyto3Gurlz

I received this product as a gift for Christmas. I was feeling energetic and decided to use it today. I done my small hallway and my 2.5 year old daughter's room. I should have stopped at the hallway. This thing doesn't pull up anything except carpet. I have so many fuzzballs all over my carpet now because of this thing. Yes I vacuumed first with my dyson but still such a mess. I didn't even get regular dirt stains out of my carpet, needless to say it didn't touch the juice stains. I will be taking this thing back tomorrow for a full refund. Oh and btw it came with coupons for solutions that expire today!! Save your money and buy a machine with heat. I don't know why this is called a powersteamer.

Was this review helpful? (11) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mommyto3Gurlz
Parkton, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 160 total reviews
1-20 of 160 reviews