Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 274 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

274 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

274 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

94%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
178
4 stars
65
3 stars
9
2 stars
8
1 stars
14
1-20 of 238 total reviews
94%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 238 total reviews
1-20 of 238 reviews
Not Bad for my First Carpet Cleaner
1/23/2012

Customer review by Rayhandyman

4.0 stars 1/23/2012 by Rayhandyman
by Rayhandyman

I read the reviews over the course of 3 or 4 days. Then I decided on this one. It was in stock at my local Walmart. I was torn between the Hoover model that retailed for $139 and this one. I think I made the right choice. I saw the hoover on display at the store and this one looks a little bit more compact. It did a pretty decent job on my carpeting. The wall to wall carpeting is over 20 years old. We had rented The Rug Doctor years ago. I say this did a comparable job. I did 4 rooms over the course of 2 days. I would have paid $55 for 2 days of renting the machine. So this machine will pay for itself the next time I do the 4 rooms. I plan on using it another bedroom as soon as I paint the room. One room I took before and after pictures. My son's room was disgusting and although it looks much better many of the stains are still there. But I don't think any machine could have gotten those red juice stains up totally.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rayhandyman
Greensboro, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Amazing !!!!
12/10/2012

Customer review by num1walmartshopper

5.0 stars 12/10/2012 by num1walmartshopper
by num1walmartshopper
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I absolutely love it . Take a look at my before and after pics . This stain was in my carpet for over a year. It's worth buying.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
num1walmartshopper
Washington, DC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Just as good as the expensive models
2/22/2011

Customer review by TJinGA

5.0 stars 2/22/2011 by TJinGA
by TJinGA

I own the Bissell Pro-Heat 2x but over the past few months it has not been working well. Tired of constantly taking it apart and cleaning it out, I decided to buy another one but didn't want to spend the money. After reading several reviews, I decided on the less expensive Bissell PowerSteamer. Like other people stated, it is not steam. However, the hot water works fine. It was really easy to assemble and use. It is not "light" but I wouldn't say that it was hard to push either. My five year old son was helping me and he had no problems pushing it and pulling it around. We have two kids, two cats and two dogs. Needless to say, our floors get REALLY dirty. After just one use, I noticed a tremendous difference. It worked JUST AS GOOD AS THE EXPENSIVE MODELS! Don't waste your money on a cleaner that is a couple hundreds of dollars when this one compares just fine...I know from personal experience. I highly recommend this product to others. I used the Bissell Advanced Formula Plus Pet stain and Odor solution in the machine and it did a great job removing all kinds of "mystery" stains!

Was this review helpful? (152) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TJinGA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Does the Job. Easy to get the hang of.
1/21/2011

Customer review by SuperStone

5.0 stars 1/21/2011 by SuperStone
by SuperStone

This thing feels like a solid constructed machine. If you have basic reading skills, the instructions are easy to understand. pick the plain water/ water & solution/ full solution. Hit the button on back of machine. Boom, you're suds & suction, no biggie. This thing is strong too. Weighs about 20+ lbs. Of course I would recommend the smaller little Bissle for young ladies or older adults but seriously, don't expect this whopper of a cleaning machine. My dog is getting really old & she is a bit confused about the carpet or back yard. Either one seems like a good place to send a fax & this machine cleans it wet then dry. The thing actually dries the carpet. I have thick rugs too. Anyway, if you are at a point where its get rid of the dog or buy this machine, buy the machine! It went down to less then a $100 . You can't go wrong. Read-Read-Read the instructions. I did & i use the machine easy.

Was this review helpful? (117) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SuperStone
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A Real Powerhouse for the Money
6/14/2011

Customer review by tess119

5.0 stars 6/14/2011 by tess119
by tess119

After reading all the reviews on this site, I opted for this machine. And I'm glad I did! To be honest, my carpet was stained and worn down in traffic areas to the point I was seriously considering replacing it. After one use with this Bisselll Powersteamer Powerbrush, my carpet looks almost new again! The traffic areas are fluffy and the stains that my previous cleaner, which was more expensive but cheaper built, couldn't touch...are gone! The Smartmix feature is really handy and this machine packs a lot of suction and cleaning power for the money. The hose snaps in place and I haven't had any trouble with it falling off like I read one reviewer did. The only thing I'd suggest is for Bissell to take the Powersteamer brand out of the name. It's a misnomer and doesn't need it. Hot tap water works just fine with this machine. I couldn't be more pleased with this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tess119
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Not too happy today
11/9/2011

Customer review by petro440

1.0 stars 11/9/2011 by petro440
by petro440

This machine arrived yesterday. It was easy to put together. This morning I was planning on cleaning my old couches to sell on craigslist and then my living room carpet. I spent an hour moving things around and pre soaking the stains. Then I turned the machine on and went ot town on the first couch. Not ten minutes later I heard a high pitch sound and smelled smoke. I turned the unit off and started to investigate. I soon found out that the cheap little red lint screen was nowhere to be found. That is because it was sucked into the motor. It's a very cheap design I as soon as I say it, I recognized the potential problem and sure enough, I was correct. I called Bissell support and they said that was rare. Of course the walmart near me has about 50 of the expensive ones that no one wants to buy but not a single replacement of this model. I just got a cash refund and am still deciding whether I'm going to buy a new one...

Was this review helpful? (12) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
petro440
Cleveland, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Does the Most for the Least Amount of Money
1/1/2011

Customer review by KYbachelor

4.0 stars 1/1/2011 by KYbachelor
by KYbachelor

For Christmas, I had wanted a steamer with attachments that also worked as a regular vacuum. After hours of research I found no such thing is made other than a few low power upright "sweepers". This machine is the BEST you're going to do for the least amount of money, but it does have it's drawbacks: First is the deceptive name: It is not a "steamer," after I called Bissell they confirmed that PowerSteamer is just a brand name. You have to put 1 gallon of hot tap water in it (that you can't boil first or microwave - as that will melt the dual bladder in the clean/dirty water tank). By just using the hot tap water you feel like you're in a constant race to use it before it reaches room temperature. Also, it is a VERY heavy deep cleaner, especially with the tank filled, and I don't advise older folks who might have stairs to use it to move between floors. The hand attachment for stairs and upholstery seems to throw water around a little too much, especially on upholstery. Also, it is presented as a hard floor scrubber too, but you won't find out until you call Bissell, that you have to order a special hard floor tool from them that runs around six bucks plus shipping. Now the good news: I have a pet that sheds HUGE amounts of hair and I had not wet-cleaned my carpets in over 10 years. Even after vacuuming, this item brought up so much hair and dirt that I thought I was going to kill it but it never flinched. It just kicked the hair out in huge wads, so I picked them up later. It does very well as a regular "steamer" and brings a huge amount of dirt out of your carpets. It feels, looks, and weighs just like a much more expensive model and once you get the hang of how it works it becomes very easy to use. It made my couch look AMAZING, and got out stains in my carpets I thought were there for life. All-in-all, this is a very good ENTRY level machine. I could find no other at this price that came with an attachment, but if you want a true steamer or have pets I would advise you to step up to a model that truly heats the water in it and/or is designed for pet hair.

Was this review helpful? (293) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KYbachelor
Columbia, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Excellent Product
5/5/2011

Customer review by yardgirl34

5.0 stars 5/5/2011 by yardgirl34
by yardgirl34

I absolutely love this product. I just bought my second one. Note to all: never pick cleaner up by the handle when the water container is full. I learned that the hard way....that's why I just had to buy my second one. But I did love it so much I re-purchased the same exact model. My first one worked perfectly for 3 years. Makes our carpets look brand new and we have 3 kids and two big dogs. Cleans as well as most professional cleaning companies. Would recommend to EVERYONE!

Was this review helpful? (23) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
yardgirl34
Bel Air, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
who knew
2/26/2011

Customer review by no1doesbetter

5.0 stars 2/26/2011 by no1doesbetter
by no1doesbetter

OMG I am so impressed with this product. Over the years I've spent a nice amount on carpet cleaners to have someone else break them for me so i decided this time i wasnt going to spend over 100 so I wasnt looking for a whole lot but a whole lot is exactly what i got. OMG this is the best carpet cleaner for the money. the only downfall is the bucket is small therefore requiring frequent empties and that is a small thing compared to the cleaning power great job bissell

Was this review helpful? (91) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
no1doesbetter
baltimore maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Bissell Powersteamer
12/29/2010

Customer review by BigdoubleT

5.0 stars 12/29/2010 by BigdoubleT
by BigdoubleT

This is a great product because it cleans very good. I have a small hoover steamvac and it does a god job but this does better. I cleaned 1 room and a hallway when I was done with the hallway the bedroom was dry and it was very cold outside. Bissell has made a very good product.

Was this review helpful? (25) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BigdoubleT
Harlem Ga.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
It saved my rugs!
5/17/2011

Customer review by srfrgrl268

5.0 stars 5/17/2011 by srfrgrl268
by srfrgrl268

Had 3 large pet urine stains in my new carpet. Tried all the sprays on the market to no avail. Used this shampooer and it removed all the stains. Thought they may come back after a few days like with the sprays, but after 2 weeks, still gone. Easy to use. Probably could have used half the amount of shampoo as I used what they recommended and the carpet felt stiff once it dried. Recleaned it with just water to remove the extra shampoo and it is perfect. So glad I made this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (21) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
srfrgrl268
Merritt Island, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
A MUST HAVE!
7/14/2011

Customer review by Gii07

5.0 stars 7/14/2011 by Gii07
by Gii07

I've been looking for a vacuum to wash my dirty carpets for a while now and was thrilled to find this at my local Walmart. Its so easy to use and it does all the work for you. My carpets now look like new! They were extrememely dirty, I have a toddler and he's always spilling juice, food, candy etc. I was so amazed to see most of the stains dissapear like magic, only a few stains behind, those from RED popcicles. But I will have to buy a good spray for those stubborn stains. Other than that it left my carpet super clean and looking like new. It dried within a few hours because I did a water rinse, but on an area where I did not do the water rinse it dried within an hour. Im very impressed and I'm glad I purchased this one instead of the pricier ones because this machine did a great job!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gii07
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Good Price AWESOME Machine!
4/13/2011

Customer review by BusyBusyMama

5.0 stars 4/13/2011 by BusyBusyMama
by BusyBusyMama

I have 4 kids a dog and a husband, when I bought this my husband wasn't too impressed with the price...But, even after the 1st time I used this machine I just know that it will pay for it's self many times over! I love the fact that there is only 1 container of water, to fill and empty! I also love the fact that my carpet looks almost like it did when we moved in. Still cannot compare to a professional machine but it is wonderful for regular carpet cleaning! And I was soooo happy about the amount of dirt and grime that came out of my carpet! It looks so much cleaner and smells so much fresher in my house! Very good product and I would definitely recommend this product to others! It is AWESOME for the price you just can't beat it!

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BusyBusyMama
Kennewick, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Broke during first use
11/24/2012

Customer review by Cozywarmfire

1.0 stars 11/24/2012 by Cozywarmfire
by Cozywarmfire

I have to say, it cleans very well, and used it for a few hours and was really impressed with how it works. Just as I was finishing the last section of my living room carpet, it began vibrating and making a terrible noise, so I shut it off. The brush still turns, so the belt isn't the problem. It is something in the motor that is broken. I called Bissell customer service and the lady was not helpful at all (condescending, and not at all friendly) - told me I'd have to take it to the nearest authorized service center, which is an hour away. Yes, there is a limited warranty, but the fan, brush, belt and some other parts are not included, so I am not going to drive all that way to end up paying for the repair. My local walmart is out of stock, so I can't exchange it. Guess I'll just get my money back.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cozywarmfire
Parsons, KS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Easy to Use
4/29/2015

Customer review by Lynda

4.0 stars 4/29/2015 by Lynda
by Lynda

This simple model cleans as good as can be expected for my carpets that are over 20 yrs. old. (I've rigorously vacuumed them over the years). From some of the complaints I read. I would suggest a thorough cleaning of the unit after heavy use, so that none of the pet debris clogs up or dries into the components. That way after it sits, the debris won't dry up glueing the working parts. Although I know there are lemons with any appliance. I owned a previous canister Bissell carpet cleaner for over 20 yrs., but it was time for a newer one. This is quieter and much easier to use. It also took out a stain that I never could get out from within the crevace of my wall using the crevace tool. Compared to the old canister I had, I do have to empty the tank more often, but still less hoses, less cords to hassle with, and lighter in weight for this old lady. I'm giving this one 4 stars , only because I don't know how long it will last.

Lynda
FL
Gender:Female
Economy Cleaning At It's Best
10/30/2011

Customer review by Ervserver

4.0 stars 10/30/2011 by Ervserver
by Ervserver
Walmart supplier

With several cats in the house I was looking for something I could use to easily clean small areas of carpet. After reading many reviews on many different deep cleaners I settled for this one. I used ship to store which offers free shipping. It was easy to set up out of the box and took about 10 minutes, requires a screwdriver. After quickly skimming the manual I was cleaning carpet within an hour of getting the cleaner home. I was amazed how much "junk" this machine sucked out of the carpet, the machine is very quiet actually and glides easily over my medium pile carpet. One of my few gripes about the machine is its small water capacity however since the machine does not have a built in water heater frequent water filling keeps the water hot. It does vacuum the water out of the carpet very well, the cleaned area was completely dry within 2 hours. I did use a small box fan to circulate air across the carpet. It does a great job of sucking pet hair from the carper but not all of it goes into the holding tank. As the manual states you will notice of clump of hair left on the carpet here and there which you can easily pick up and dispose. Overall I think the machine is a great value, perfect for small homes with pets. I'm trying several of the available cleaning solutions to see which I like best, a small bottle is included with the machine. As far as durability the machine seems well built, the motor sounds strong and able. The handle seems a bit flimsy and will be careful about rough handling in that area. One other minor gripe is the accessory hose sticks out from and tends to brush up against stuff as you are cleaning carpet, not a biggie You can also clean hard surface floors but will need to purchase a special adapter plate, available separately

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ervserver
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart supplier
I love this thing!
5/29/2011

Customer review by MissKatiexoxo

5.0 stars 5/29/2011 by MissKatiexoxo
by MissKatiexoxo

I recently moved into a new apartment and a friend had left some awesome mud prints on my carpet so off to find a shampooer I went. Being a college student, I don't have a ton of money just sitting around. This thing is AMAZING! Great for pet stains, mud, and dirt I didn't even know was in my carpet! They supposidly had someone come in a shampoo the carpets before I moved in, but apparently they needed this thing. Went over the carpets twice with this and ohhhh what a difference! I love bissel, and this is a great price for a great product. Also comes with an attachement (which I have not used yet) and a small bottle of carpet cleaner so no need to pick any up right away!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MissKatiexoxo
West Des Moines, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Love my Big Red!
1/28/2014

Customer review by Raindrop

5.0 stars 1/28/2014 by Raindrop
by Raindrop

This is a fairly heavy, full sized carpet shampooing unit. I love the hose for cleaning the stairs. It did a super job. I'm very pleased with how it cleaned my living room carpet. With attention to sucking up as much water as possible, everything dried overnight. It is easy to use although attention to cleaning the unit out well is going to be important to avoid a buildup of gunk. I had some water leakage but I think that is normal and we're working with water anyway. I keep my vacuum nearby to vacuum up the hair that bunches up (that means changing that bag after the project is done) and a towel to rest Big Red on after we're finished. I call it good! Not at all disappointed in this investment. I got a really great deal and this is going to get a lot of use in my house!! When I shop for a new vacuum, it is likely I will look to Bissell. I am a Bissell Believer. I also plan to get the floor attachment to use in the kitchen and dining room.

Raindrop
Portland, OR, USA
Gender:Female
Their Best Small Carpet Cleaner Yet!
8/8/2013

Customer review by cmorley50

5.0 stars 8/8/2013 by cmorley50
by cmorley50

Carpet Cleaners, like American cars, have been getting bigger and bigger and more and more expensive with more bells and whistles each year as the companies have been in a desperate struggle to our do each other. Bissell is no exception. But Bissell does have a couple of scaled down models that are great for small apartments, are easy on the pocket book, and clean as well as the 'Big Boys.' The PowerSteamer PowerBrush 1623 is their best small carpet cleaner to date. I love Bissell. This is my 3rd Bissell carpet cleaner. I love their tank-in-a-tank system. I love that with just a turn of a dial, you can go from floor to hand tool. No other company offers this feature at this price point. And now they've added a removable nozzle which makes it a breeze to clean. Before it was a nightmare because you had to remove all these screws to get to the nozzle to clean it. You would not believe the wet hair and fuzz this carpet cleaner can pick up, especially if you have pets. Now this carpet cleaner is practically perfect at this price point.

cmorley50
West Hollywood, CA, USA
Gender:Male
Cleans carpets really well!
4/17/2011

Customer review by MustangMary

5.0 stars 4/17/2011 by MustangMary
by MustangMary

This Bissell steam cleaner is a lot better than I expected. Does the job better than those rental machines. Easy to use and with the attachment, can get to those corners and carpet edges with no problems. I would highly recommend this machine. Just think of all the money you could save and have a better looking carpet when your done than if you used one of those rental machines.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MustangMary
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 238 total reviews
1-20 of 238 reviews