Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 441 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

441 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

441 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
319
4 stars
80
3 stars
11
2 stars
12
1 stars
19
1-20 of 350 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 350 total reviews
1-20 of 350 reviews
Absolutely love it!
8/1/2011

Customer review by DontAskForMuch

5.0 stars 8/1/2011 by DontAskForMuch
by DontAskForMuch

We were late in the game buying a GPS, so we didn't really know where to start except our friends have Garmins, so we started there. The 1450 LMT is probably considered the middle of the road....if that's the case, I can't imagine what a more expensive Garmin would provide. This has everything we need including traffic, restaurants, etc. Believe me, the traffic option works! It rerouted us one time to a small road off the interstate, we ignored it and learned in just enough time that it rerouted us because the interstate was completely shutdown ahead due to a major accident! Whew! We will always believe our Garmin. We can also easily download other maps we might need. What is cool about this Garmin is you can set it for Bike, Pedestrian, or Car. Ok, don't have a lot of technical things to say since we just got it, but we love it so far. Definitely not disappointed!

Was this review helpful? (290) (32)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DontAskForMuch
Alexandria, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Easy to use, easy to see, and attractive
9/30/2011

Customer review by MamawNana

4.0 stars 9/30/2011 by MamawNana
by MamawNana

After skimming the instructions, I charged it - no problem - with my computer. I plugged in my daughter's address (which is only 3 miles away) to see how it would do on a short jaunt. Not good!! Had I not known where I was going I would have landed 1 mile the opposite direction - in a bean field. The next time was to a convention center in a larger city. It did just fine! I have talked with others and have found this is common with most GPS systems when you put in home addresses. Haven't done over the road yet, but I look forward to it with the help of my easy to use, attractive, easy to see Nuvi. I had feared the worse after reading many others reviews, because I'm not computer savvy, but updating was really easy. I'm even interested in using it for finding garage sales in neighboring towns. The suction mount apparatus is tops - never a problem with it falling off the windshield. It also came with a dash-mount disk for more permanent usage.

Was this review helpful? (15) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MamawNana
Oakland City, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Amazing Product!!
10/14/2011

Customer review by EmilyK22

5.0 stars 10/14/2011 by EmilyK22
by EmilyK22

This is an incredible piece of technology. My mother is completely deaf in one ear and 30 percent deaf in the other, and she can hear the clear voice of the GPS perfectly. The screen is bright but easy to look at, with contrasting colors in order to easily identify the route you are on. Another great aspect of the Garmin is how it tells you the streets you are turning on. My mother previously had a Tom Tom, and it would only tell you the distance you had left until your turn. This drove my mother crazy. Now the Garmin tells her not only the distance you have until the turn is coming but also the street name. The one flaw to this GPS is the woman who is speaking says the word "left" very strangely, but I would consider this to be a more humorous attribute than a flaw, because every time we hear it we laugh. 5 stars for the Garmin!

Was this review helpful? (21) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
EmilyK22
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Features, routing software needs refinement
8/30/2011

Customer review by JMCB

4.0 stars 8/30/2011 by JMCB
by JMCB

The features are great on this GPS. The display of the lane assist, speed limit, and countdown distance to turns with street names makes this an extremely useful tool. Map routing computation is not as accurate as it could be. For example, every different route option north from my home sends me down the interstate south for 1 mile then cross over the bridge and then go north on the same interstate when there is a northbound onramp at the interstate starting point in the first place. Best to review the route carefully before you start and check for backtracks. This may be due to "traffic" options that might indicate ramp closure, don't know for sure. Other times the routes are not the fastest or shortest per settings. Overall, an excellent value. Would be a 5 star rating if routing was better.

Was this review helpful? (26) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JMCB
San Diego
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Very easy to use.
9/1/2011

Customer review by 671grits

5.0 stars 9/1/2011 by 671grits
by 671grits

I bought the 1450LMT about a month ago. We made a trip from FL to SD, MN and AR and back, used it all the way. At first I tried to second guess it when I thought we should go a little different route, but soon learned that the 1450 will do the best job in either shortest or quickest setting. It was very, very easy to use, settings and any other information you need is readily available with a touch of the screen and a few pokes of the finger. I'm 71 years old and not a tech nerd but couldn't be happier with it. I never used the "traffic function" on the GPS but did note the info was available around some of the bigger cities we went through. The only reason I got the LMT instead of the LM was because it was on sale and cheaper at the time. I do not think the LMT would be worth anything extra for most people. After your initial subscription runs out (I don't know how long it is good for) you have to buy a new subscription. I will probably never use that feature. When I bought it as soon as I took it out of the package I went to the Garmin website and updated the GPS as recommended, don't know if it helped or not but it worked great the whole trip. The update took about 2 1/2 hrs.

Was this review helpful? (57) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
671grits
Tallahassee, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Fantastic Product!
11/12/2011

Customer review by Shadowlady68

5.0 stars 11/12/2011 by Shadowlady68
by Shadowlady68

This Garmin is perfect! My husband is an HVAC tech and he needed this for his work van. He uses it every day and LOVES it. The big 5" screen is easy to see and the voice is clear and the volume is good. He uses a pen to gently type the information into it and it's been so easy to use. The lifetime traffic and maps updates are priceless. We live in Illinois, the land with two seasons, Winter and Road Construction so this Garmin is just inveluable to avoid the huge traffic snarles. It was easy to mount in the left corner of his big van and it's easy to remove if we desire to use it in our car for a road trip. It was a really good purchase and he likes the extra features this model has over the cheaper ones. He would highly recommend this unit to anyone who has to drive around for a living.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Shadowlady68
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Garmin nuvi 1450 LMT
9/1/2011

Customer review by neporion

5.0 stars 9/1/2011 by neporion
by neporion

This is my third Garmin and I had thought about getting a Tom Tom this time. I read many of the reviews about them and decided to stick with Garmin. I am very happy that I did. The 1450 LMT is a great improvement over my old Garmin Street Pilot C530. Wasn't sure about the 5 inch screen but am I glad I got it. It's very easy to glance at while you are driving. Additionally, when you connect and register on the Garmin website, it will tell you if you need to download a new map or update the software. It's just a click and the download begins. I've downloaded several times with zero problems.

Was this review helpful? (47) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
neporion
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
My first GPS
8/27/2011

Customer review by ren1216

5.0 stars 8/27/2011 by ren1216
by ren1216
Top 500 contributor

Starting blind but knowing I wanted a Garmin, I eventually settled on this model based on: reviews, the lifetime maps and traffic (LMT), screen size and price. If you've never had a GPS before, be sure to buy one with enough time to figure it out BEFORE you head out on a lengthy trip. As a newbie, it took me a little while to learn how to use this efficiently, it has a lot of great features. There's no user guide included, but you can download a .pdf file from the Garmin website. Make sure you go there to register your product and update your maps so they are current. Updating maps took about 2.5 - 3 hours that first time, no idea if subsequent updates will be any quicker. However, you are supposed to charge the battery for at least 4 hours the first time anyway, so you get 2 birds with 1 stone in this way. I've been using the unit for about 6 weeks now and so far it has been perfectly accurate, including which side of the road my POI's are located. Sometimes it routes me a different way than I usually take around home, but there are some "avoidance" settings that you can adjust (it's pre-set to avoid certain things). Lots of other personal preference settings too. Lane assist is great, especially helpful with highway interchanges when you aren't sure which direction you'll turning to get onto the highway. As you approach an intersection, the view on the screen zooms in tighter; showing you the lanes, where you need to be and which way you'll need to turn. Once you make your turn, the screen zooms back out - pretty cool. Oh, when I first turned on the unit while in my house (updating maps), I accidentally wound up in Safe Mode. As a result, the unit wasn't able to connect with the satellites. From another review, I learned that I needed to go into Tools / Settings / Security / Safe Mode -- and turn safe mode Off. Then it was able to locate the satellite within seconds. Overall, I'm very happy with my purchase. We drive all over the country and it was time to finally get one of these, I'm really looking forward to using this GPS on our travels.

Was this review helpful? (575) (50)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ren1216
WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Top 500 contributor
Excellent GPS!
9/6/2011

Customer review by Customer58

4.0 stars 9/6/2011 by Customer58
by Customer58

This is my second Garmin GPS and I always liked my first one. This Nuvi is more sensitive and finds satellites faster, has excellent sound and great functionality. So, performance is greatly improved. My only disappointment is that it does not have a transportation option to quickly find airports, train stations etc, that is a software minus. One bonus I was not expecting is that it can connect to your car's onboard computer with the optional adapter and provide engine performance data onscreen too. Overall an excellent value with outstanding performance.

Was this review helpful? (191) (35)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Customer58
La Conner, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good price, good unit
10/30/2011

Customer review by OregonCamper

4.0 stars 10/30/2011 by OregonCamper
by OregonCamper

This is my third GPS unit. (My first was a Magellan and it took me many "odd" routes) I replaced my 255W with this unit. Good choice! The $168.00 price is a bargain, considering that the lifetime map updates is $89.00 by itself. The reviewers who complained about the download time for the updates must have SLOOOW connections. I used a wireless connection @ 48 MBPS with my laptop and it took less than 2 hours to download & install the map and software updates. Had I plugged directly in to my home network, it probably would have taken less than half that. You have to realize that maps are very data intensive. I work with mapping programs every day and can tell you that maps are LARGE files. Shipping was super fast. I ordered one day and had it the next (well worth the $9.95 shipping cost) We took a 450 mile trip shortly after recieving the unit. Here is what I found. The size of the screen is nice, even with the info bar up. The brightness and clarity of the screen makes it quite easy to read in any light. I found that I really liked the lane assist and junction view features. No, the junction assist does not not come up for every junction, but you don't need it for every junction. It appeared several times on our trip and I loved it! Very nice! I like the ecoRoute feature. At The Pump will quickly give you MPG and fuel costs. I did not find the pop-up ads from the free traffic advisor a distraction at all. They are small and I hardly noticed them. The traffic advisor let us know about traffic delays ahead twice, which I found quite useful. One of the reviews I read complained that you could not look up a destination by zip code. They are wrong...that is one of the options for searching out destinations. One reviewer said that it does not have the ability to search for airports or train stations. It does. You just have to know where to look. It is actually quite easy to find these features. I was also able to search for and find the school where my grandson's football game was by name. The Garmin took me right to it. The only thing that was a minus for me was that I found the voice to be much more "computer" than my 255W was. I will experiment with other voices to see if I can find one that is less "sci-fi" than "Jill" and still give me turn-by-turn info. Not a big deal, but it would be nice to have a more "human" voice. Overall, this is a very good unit. I would highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (215) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OregonCamper
Central Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Avoid this GPS
11/21/2011

Customer review by Pandab2002

1.0 stars 11/21/2011 by Pandab2002
by Pandab2002

I have been using Garmin GPS's for several years. My latest device, the Nuvi 200 was an outstanding GPS. I purchased the 1450 to replace the 200 after it finally died from several drops. The 1450 has the most illogical routing. It constantly causes me to waste time and gas. For example, I have a Deer lease in southeast Texas. It is about a 4 hour drive from Dallas. My old Nuvi 200 plotted a sensible route which, on occasion, would get me to the lease in 3.5 hours. The 1450 plotted a totally different route. I was unsure about the route but I tried it. No big deal because I was driving my little Scion so I was not as concerned about the gas. The 1450 took me on the worst possible route. 5.5 hours later, I arrived. I tried changing the settings for faster time but it was stubborn and did not make many adjustments. This holds true for most routes. I drive for a living so having a good GPS is important. The local routes are pathetic also. I am back to using Google maps because this GPS is useless. On a bright note, the Mapsource software is pretty decent. Although I can't get anything to upload to the 1450 but I'm sure that is user error.

Was this review helpful? (20) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Pandab2002
Would recommend to a friend? No
Excellent
9/29/2011

Customer review by auntdawnie

5.0 stars 9/29/2011 by auntdawnie
by auntdawnie

This GPS is just amazing. First of all, it is so easy to use, very self-explanatory. There is no way that you can get lost unless you are completely stupid. The machine continually reminds you that a turn is coming up, yet if you happen to miss the turn, it recalculates instantly. And the graphics are just amazing, so easy to see with my nearly fifty year old eyes. As an added bonus, it lets you know if there is construction ahead and tells you to take a detour. I recommend this whole-heartedly!!!

Was this review helpful? (25) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
auntdawnie
smithtown,ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
11/15/2011

Customer review by gabbylee

5.0 stars 11/15/2011 by gabbylee
by gabbylee

My husband and I are seniors. We are planning a cross-country trip and thought a GPS would be a good thing to have, but we were concerned that a GPS would be too complicated for us to learn how to use. We found the Garmin nuvi 1450 LMT GPS to be very easy to use. If we can use it anyone can.

Was this review helpful? (25) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gabbylee
Branson Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Replaced an outdated model.
9/28/2011

Customer review by Soolingsmom

5.0 stars 9/28/2011 by Soolingsmom
by Soolingsmom

We are very pleased with new features that the older model didn't have like: showing actual speed car is traveling next to posted speed limit; speaking street names; can change from qwerty keyboard to alphabetized keyboard. We travel to unknown schools with our refereeing assignments as well as following our grandchildren in their sports. The GPS has taken us to the doorstep of every school so far. Simple to use. I have not had to resort to the owner's manual yet.

Was this review helpful? (20) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Soolingsmom
North central Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
The MacDaddy of GPS
9/6/2011

Customer review by glenclif

5.0 stars 9/6/2011 by glenclif
by glenclif

I replaced a Magellan with this unit. Without question, a much better GPS. Accurate, boots within seconds, maps are up to date. There are so many additional features that are not explained in the description. This rivals, and in most cases exceeds the perfomance of the factory GPS found in most cars. Overall rating Excellent, this GPS exceeded expectations. I would recommend this to anyone who want a middle priced unit.

Was this review helpful? (22) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
glenclif
Daytona Beach, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great GPS but complicated Garmin Registration.
2/2/2012

Customer review by TC44

5.0 stars 2/2/2012 by TC44
by TC44

Great GPS but trying to meet the manditory 60 day registration to be elgible for lifetime map & traffic updates was terrible! I worked for an hour trying to register my product. Garmin kept asking me for an account number in order to register. How do you get an account number "BEFORE" you register. It was "NOT" user friendly & I wonder if this was by design in order to prevent folks from meeting the 60 day deadline for registration. There should "NOT" be a time limit to receive "LIFETIME" "FREE" map & traffic updates. My fellow co-worker bought his 1450 LMT a year ago and did not know about the 60 day deadline for registration & now Garmin says he is not elgible for Lifetime updates. Terribly unfare! This was the reason he paid more to get this unit. Glad I read the small print & didn't give up trying to figure out "HOW" to get registered.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TC44
TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Super Value Garmin 1450 LMT 5" Screen
9/29/2011

Customer review by MrsJoeG

5.0 stars 9/29/2011 by MrsJoeG
by MrsJoeG

I am not too technical. I love this GPS. This is the first one I have owned. I did a lot of research on line on several brands + models before I purchased. Walmart on line had the best price on this unit and it arrived two days after I ordered it. Easy to use and I love the 5" screen. Lifetime map updating is a great feature. I have no complaints about the whole experience.

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MrsJoeG
Southern New Hampshire
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Excellent GPS for upgrading
11/16/2011

Customer review by SENECALAKE

5.0 stars 11/16/2011 by SENECALAKE
by SENECALAKE

Purchased this 1450lmt to upgrade from my c330. Far more on screen icons to identify landmarks. Love it when it speaks the street names. User friendly even for beginners. Graphics and colors are great.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SENECALAKE
Watkins Glen, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
11/21/2011

Customer review by CherSuz

5.0 stars 11/21/2011 by CherSuz
by CherSuz

I love my new Garmin nuvi 1450LMT..... I have a really poor sense of direction and used the Garmin when I travelled to Columbus....I wasn't paying close attention and turned left instead of right (thought "I" knew where I was going)....the Garmin immediately recalculated and it took me through the next phase. I got there with no problem....once I paid attention : )

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CherSuz
Shiloh, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
11/21/2011

Customer review by Pyrro

5.0 stars 11/21/2011 by Pyrro
by Pyrro

The product exceeded expectations. This my third GPS and by far the best. The online process was efficient and much faster than the company delivery time. The entire process is painless and pleasant.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Pyrro
Tulsa, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 350 total reviews
1-20 of 350 reviews