Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 441 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

441 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

441 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
319
4 stars
80
3 stars
11
2 stars
12
1 stars
19
1-20 of 350 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 350 total reviews
1-20 of 350 reviews
My first GPS
8/27/2011

Customer review by ren1216

5.0 stars 8/27/2011 by ren1216
by ren1216

Starting blind but knowing I wanted a Garmin, I eventually settled on this model based on: reviews, the lifetime maps and traffic (LMT), screen size and price. If you've never had a GPS before, be sure to buy one with enough time to figure it out BEFORE you head out on a lengthy trip. As a newbie, it took me a little while to learn how to use this efficiently, it has a lot of great features. There's no user guide included, but you can download a .pdf file from the Garmin website. Make sure you go there to register your product and update your maps so they are current. Updating maps took about 2.5 - 3 hours that first time, no idea if subsequent updates will be any quicker. However, you are supposed to charge the battery for at least 4 hours the first time anyway, so you get 2 birds with 1 stone in this way. I've been using the unit for about 6 weeks now and so far it has been perfectly accurate, including which side of the road my POI's are located. Sometimes it routes me a different way than I usually take around home, but there are some "avoidance" settings that you can adjust (it's pre-set to avoid certain things). Lots of other personal preference settings too. Lane assist is great, especially helpful with highway interchanges when you aren't sure which direction you'll turning to get onto the highway. As you approach an intersection, the view on the screen zooms in tighter; showing you the lanes, where you need to be and which way you'll need to turn. Once you make your turn, the screen zooms back out - pretty cool. Oh, when I first turned on the unit while in my house (updating maps), I accidentally wound up in Safe Mode. As a result, the unit wasn't able to connect with the satellites. From another review, I learned that I needed to go into Tools / Settings / Security / Safe Mode -- and turn safe mode Off. Then it was able to locate the satellite within seconds. Overall, I'm very happy with my purchase. We drive all over the country and it was time to finally get one of these, I'm really looking forward to using this GPS on our travels.

Was this review helpful? (575) (50)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ren1216
WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Top 250 contributor
Good price, good unit
10/30/2011

Customer review by OregonCamper

4.0 stars 10/30/2011 by OregonCamper
by OregonCamper

This is my third GPS unit. (My first was a Magellan and it took me many "odd" routes) I replaced my 255W with this unit. Good choice! The $168.00 price is a bargain, considering that the lifetime map updates is $89.00 by itself. The reviewers who complained about the download time for the updates must have SLOOOW connections. I used a wireless connection @ 48 MBPS with my laptop and it took less than 2 hours to download & install the map and software updates. Had I plugged directly in to my home network, it probably would have taken less than half that. You have to realize that maps are very data intensive. I work with mapping programs every day and can tell you that maps are LARGE files. Shipping was super fast. I ordered one day and had it the next (well worth the $9.95 shipping cost) We took a 450 mile trip shortly after recieving the unit. Here is what I found. The size of the screen is nice, even with the info bar up. The brightness and clarity of the screen makes it quite easy to read in any light. I found that I really liked the lane assist and junction view features. No, the junction assist does not not come up for every junction, but you don't need it for every junction. It appeared several times on our trip and I loved it! Very nice! I like the ecoRoute feature. At The Pump will quickly give you MPG and fuel costs. I did not find the pop-up ads from the free traffic advisor a distraction at all. They are small and I hardly noticed them. The traffic advisor let us know about traffic delays ahead twice, which I found quite useful. One of the reviews I read complained that you could not look up a destination by zip code. They are wrong...that is one of the options for searching out destinations. One reviewer said that it does not have the ability to search for airports or train stations. It does. You just have to know where to look. It is actually quite easy to find these features. I was also able to search for and find the school where my grandson's football game was by name. The Garmin took me right to it. The only thing that was a minus for me was that I found the voice to be much more "computer" than my 255W was. I will experiment with other voices to see if I can find one that is less "sci-fi" than "Jill" and still give me turn-by-turn info. Not a big deal, but it would be nice to have a more "human" voice. Overall, this is a very good unit. I would highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (215) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OregonCamper
Central Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Absolutely love it!
8/1/2011

Customer review by DontAskForMuch

5.0 stars 8/1/2011 by DontAskForMuch
by DontAskForMuch

We were late in the game buying a GPS, so we didn't really know where to start except our friends have Garmins, so we started there. The 1450 LMT is probably considered the middle of the road....if that's the case, I can't imagine what a more expensive Garmin would provide. This has everything we need including traffic, restaurants, etc. Believe me, the traffic option works! It rerouted us one time to a small road off the interstate, we ignored it and learned in just enough time that it rerouted us because the interstate was completely shutdown ahead due to a major accident! Whew! We will always believe our Garmin. We can also easily download other maps we might need. What is cool about this Garmin is you can set it for Bike, Pedestrian, or Car. Ok, don't have a lot of technical things to say since we just got it, but we love it so far. Definitely not disappointed!

Was this review helpful? (290) (32)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DontAskForMuch
Alexandria, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Excellent GPS!
9/6/2011

Customer review by Customer58

4.0 stars 9/6/2011 by Customer58
by Customer58

This is my second Garmin GPS and I always liked my first one. This Nuvi is more sensitive and finds satellites faster, has excellent sound and great functionality. So, performance is greatly improved. My only disappointment is that it does not have a transportation option to quickly find airports, train stations etc, that is a software minus. One bonus I was not expecting is that it can connect to your car's onboard computer with the optional adapter and provide engine performance data onscreen too. Overall an excellent value with outstanding performance.

Was this review helpful? (191) (35)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Customer58
La Conner, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very easy to use.
9/1/2011

Customer review by 671grits

5.0 stars 9/1/2011 by 671grits
by 671grits

I bought the 1450LMT about a month ago. We made a trip from FL to SD, MN and AR and back, used it all the way. At first I tried to second guess it when I thought we should go a little different route, but soon learned that the 1450 will do the best job in either shortest or quickest setting. It was very, very easy to use, settings and any other information you need is readily available with a touch of the screen and a few pokes of the finger. I'm 71 years old and not a tech nerd but couldn't be happier with it. I never used the "traffic function" on the GPS but did note the info was available around some of the bigger cities we went through. The only reason I got the LMT instead of the LM was because it was on sale and cheaper at the time. I do not think the LMT would be worth anything extra for most people. After your initial subscription runs out (I don't know how long it is good for) you have to buy a new subscription. I will probably never use that feature. When I bought it as soon as I took it out of the package I went to the Garmin website and updated the GPS as recommended, don't know if it helped or not but it worked great the whole trip. The update took about 2 1/2 hrs.

Was this review helpful? (57) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
671grits
Tallahassee, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Garmin nuvi 1450 LMT
9/1/2011

Customer review by neporion

5.0 stars 9/1/2011 by neporion
by neporion

This is my third Garmin and I had thought about getting a Tom Tom this time. I read many of the reviews about them and decided to stick with Garmin. I am very happy that I did. The 1450 LMT is a great improvement over my old Garmin Street Pilot C530. Wasn't sure about the 5 inch screen but am I glad I got it. It's very easy to glance at while you are driving. Additionally, when you connect and register on the Garmin website, it will tell you if you need to download a new map or update the software. It's just a click and the download begins. I've downloaded several times with zero problems.

Was this review helpful? (47) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
neporion
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Love It
7/22/2011

Customer review by campdually

5.0 stars 7/22/2011 by campdually
by campdually

Nice size screen allow for good view of coming roads and intersections. We will like the lifetime updates

Was this review helpful? (67) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
campdually
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Features, routing software needs refinement
8/30/2011

Customer review by JMCB

4.0 stars 8/30/2011 by JMCB
by JMCB

The features are great on this GPS. The display of the lane assist, speed limit, and countdown distance to turns with street names makes this an extremely useful tool. Map routing computation is not as accurate as it could be. For example, every different route option north from my home sends me down the interstate south for 1 mile then cross over the bridge and then go north on the same interstate when there is a northbound onramp at the interstate starting point in the first place. Best to review the route carefully before you start and check for backtracks. This may be due to "traffic" options that might indicate ramp closure, don't know for sure. Other times the routes are not the fastest or shortest per settings. Overall, an excellent value. Would be a 5 star rating if routing was better.

Was this review helpful? (26) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JMCB
San Diego
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
11/15/2011

Customer review by gabbylee

5.0 stars 11/15/2011 by gabbylee
by gabbylee

My husband and I are seniors. We are planning a cross-country trip and thought a GPS would be a good thing to have, but we were concerned that a GPS would be too complicated for us to learn how to use. We found the Garmin nuvi 1450 LMT GPS to be very easy to use. If we can use it anyone can.

Was this review helpful? (25) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gabbylee
Branson Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Amazing Product!!
10/14/2011

Customer review by EmilyK22

5.0 stars 10/14/2011 by EmilyK22
by EmilyK22

This is an incredible piece of technology. My mother is completely deaf in one ear and 30 percent deaf in the other, and she can hear the clear voice of the GPS perfectly. The screen is bright but easy to look at, with contrasting colors in order to easily identify the route you are on. Another great aspect of the Garmin is how it tells you the streets you are turning on. My mother previously had a Tom Tom, and it would only tell you the distance you had left until your turn. This drove my mother crazy. Now the Garmin tells her not only the distance you have until the turn is coming but also the street name. The one flaw to this GPS is the woman who is speaking says the word "left" very strangely, but I would consider this to be a more humorous attribute than a flaw, because every time we hear it we laugh. 5 stars for the Garmin!

Was this review helpful? (21) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
EmilyK22
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent
9/29/2011

Customer review by auntdawnie

5.0 stars 9/29/2011 by auntdawnie
by auntdawnie

This GPS is just amazing. First of all, it is so easy to use, very self-explanatory. There is no way that you can get lost unless you are completely stupid. The machine continually reminds you that a turn is coming up, yet if you happen to miss the turn, it recalculates instantly. And the graphics are just amazing, so easy to see with my nearly fifty year old eyes. As an added bonus, it lets you know if there is construction ahead and tells you to take a detour. I recommend this whole-heartedly!!!

Was this review helpful? (25) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
auntdawnie
smithtown,ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
The MacDaddy of GPS
9/6/2011

Customer review by glenclif

5.0 stars 9/6/2011 by glenclif
by glenclif

I replaced a Magellan with this unit. Without question, a much better GPS. Accurate, boots within seconds, maps are up to date. There are so many additional features that are not explained in the description. This rivals, and in most cases exceeds the perfomance of the factory GPS found in most cars. Overall rating Excellent, this GPS exceeded expectations. I would recommend this to anyone who want a middle priced unit.

Was this review helpful? (22) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
glenclif
Daytona Beach, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Replaced an outdated model.
9/28/2011

Customer review by Soolingsmom

5.0 stars 9/28/2011 by Soolingsmom
by Soolingsmom

We are very pleased with new features that the older model didn't have like: showing actual speed car is traveling next to posted speed limit; speaking street names; can change from qwerty keyboard to alphabetized keyboard. We travel to unknown schools with our refereeing assignments as well as following our grandchildren in their sports. The GPS has taken us to the doorstep of every school so far. Simple to use. I have not had to resort to the owner's manual yet.

Was this review helpful? (20) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Soolingsmom
North central Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great gps and at a great walmart price!
7/7/2011

Customer review by Ladydipenn

4.0 stars 7/7/2011 by Ladydipenn
by Ladydipenn

Very easy to use and the size is perfect for viewing!

Was this review helpful? (80) (46)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ladydipenn
florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Very good GPS unit.
9/5/2011

Customer review by Dodger1

5.0 stars 9/5/2011 by Dodger1
by Dodger1

Easy to use & the lane assist function with picture identification is really helpful.

Was this review helpful? (19) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dodger1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A well made GPS unit with simple operating modes.
9/9/2011

Customer review by EVIEtoo

5.0 stars 9/9/2011 by EVIEtoo
by EVIEtoo

This unit is excellent with it's large screen and easy operation there is no guessing about functions. There is a phenomenon which is strange: it sometimes sends me on one route going to certain locations and a different return home route. No big deal but maybe it likes to vary the trip route for the different scenery. I first purchased the smaller 1350 unit and noticed the larger unit was a more recent model. We love her and would certainly recommend it to a friend.

Was this review helpful? (20) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
EVIEtoo
Connecticut
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Super Value Garmin 1450 LMT 5" Screen
9/29/2011

Customer review by MrsJoeG

5.0 stars 9/29/2011 by MrsJoeG
by MrsJoeG

I am not too technical. I love this GPS. This is the first one I have owned. I did a lot of research on line on several brands + models before I purchased. Walmart on line had the best price on this unit and it arrived two days after I ordered it. Easy to use and I love the 5" screen. Lifetime map updating is a great feature. I have no complaints about the whole experience.

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MrsJoeG
Southern New Hampshire
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
9/4/2011

Customer review by pmccln

3.0 stars 9/4/2011 by pmccln
by pmccln

Received this on a saturday. Product worked for 3 days and then would not even turn on. I did take back to store even though I purchased online they took it back and I was able to exchange for another unit.

Was this review helpful? (19) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pmccln
texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
AWESOME
8/23/2011

Customer review by lolacola

5.0 stars 8/23/2011 by lolacola
by lolacola

Great price; fast delivery; love the 5-inch screen - it really helps to see better; took it out of the box and installed it in the car - up and running right away and running smoothly so far. I would definitely recommend this unit!

Was this review helpful? (17) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lolacola
Hudson, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Value with tons of features
10/2/2011

Customer review by SladeinAtlantaGA

5.0 stars 10/2/2011 by SladeinAtlantaGA
by SladeinAtlantaGA

Garmin is the best. It has great features. It is accurate, and fast. It reroutes quickly. It does everything I need it to do, and allows me to drive with peace of mind. Easy and quick to use. Lifetime maps and traffic are a must. Buy this unit.

Was this review helpful? (15) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SladeinAtlantaGA
Atlanta Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 350 total reviews
1-20 of 350 reviews