Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 111 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

111 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

111 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

75%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
64
4 stars
18
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 stars
20
1-20 of 108 total reviews
75%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 108 total reviews
1-20 of 108 reviews
** A GODSEND!!! **
1/22/2016

Customer review by MrsT

5.0 stars 1/22/2016 by MrsT
by MrsT

After discovering an early infestation of bedbugs in our home.. My husband & I quickly went out & bought this product. Although, the box says it kills dust mites & bedbugs.. I was a little skeptical at first. (Especially, after reading some of the negative reviews on here.) We followed the product instructions for use & assembly, EXACTLY, in order to avoid any dissapointments/mishaps. I'm so glad we didn't let the negative reviews affect ourour decision to buy this! This steamer put out a good deal of steam, the ENTIRE time we used it. It steams, as long as the tank isn't empty. It gets SUPER hot!! It kills the bugs AND their eggs. Now, of course you can't rely on steam alone, to eradicate bedbugs.. But, we used it along with other methods. After calling around, & pricing a few popular "NAME BRAND" exterminators. We realized, we would never be able to afford to have one come out, & help us with the bug problem. So, we bought this steamer. We washed all of our bedding, & THOROUGHLY steamed our beds/bedrooms, and couch. Afterward, we called a local small business pest control man, to come spray our home. And, let me tell ya! Im so glad we did!! Our prayers were answered. We saved LOTS of money, & IT WORKED!!! I'd say this product paid for itself, several times over. Would most definitely recommend this product to anyone suffering from a bedbug problem. We sleep so much better now. NO MORE BITES... NO. MORE. BEDBUGS.!!!! (P.s. Now we have a good steamer for our curtains, clothes, etc. Lol!)

Was this review helpful? (7) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MrsT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Don't believe the negative reviews..
1/17/2012

Customer review by firewallguy

5.0 stars 1/17/2012 by firewallguy
by firewallguy

After splitting up with my gf I had to do more of the domestic stuff on my own.. I hate ironing so I bought this to make my life easier. When I brought it home I filled it up with water and turned it on. The thing wouldn't kick out steam. I started to think it was broken or didn't work. It made noises like it was trying to steam. It turns out I put too much water in the container. After emptying out the water and starting it up again it fires up in about a minute. This thing works great. Myself and my roommates would come up with all sorts of uses. We used it to remove old wall paper from a kitchen. We cleaned the sofa, curtains.. I use it on my clothes every morning. I don't even bother folding my clothes when I get done with the laundry. I just throw it in the basket and take it home and steam out the wrinkles each day that I need an outfit. This thing is priceless!

Was this review helpful? (319) (52)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
firewallguy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
stop working after 2 months
1/17/2016

Customer review by splutz

1.0 stars 1/17/2016 by splutz
by splutz

I purchased the steamer at the top end of the market. Imagine my disappointment when after light use it stopped heating completely. Since it was out of warranty I asked my electrician to take a look at it and he found that it had corroded inside from water leaking. No assistance from the manufacturer so I would recommend not buying this product under any circumstances.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
splutz
Would recommend to a friend? No
Went against reviews
12/11/2015

Customer review by Jamieb45

4.0 stars 12/11/2015 by Jamieb45
by Jamieb45

I read the reviews but having owned what my wife considers the best vacuum cleaner ever invented, a Shark, I decided to give it a try. I brought it home, read the instructions thoroughly assembled the unit, filled it with distilled water and powered it up. After over half an hour and not even a gurgle much less any steam I called Shark customer support. They couldn't figure it out either. Don'the you just love their first question? "Have you plugged it in?" Tells you about some of their clientele. Getting ready an hour later to pack it up and head back to Wal-Mart, I decided to give it one more try. Immediate gurgling and steam within about a minute or less! Don't know why. Don't care why. It was working. The reason for a 4 rather than a 5 is that the Shark Rep. wanted me to pay to ship it back to them and let them charge me $15.95 for return shipping for a new one! They have more to learn about customer service which they seem to be famous for that deficiency with a number of the their products. Steamed 8 panels of 84 inch drapes. Took almost a gallon of distilled water and about two hours, but the drapes look great. If it keeps working, I'll keep it. Otherwise, back to Wal-Mart and another review!

Was this review helpful? (4) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jamieb45
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
It's a piece of junk!
12/30/2015

Customer review by deasy

1.0 stars 12/30/2015 by deasy
by deasy

It worked really well at first but it becomes a junk after a couple times of use! the steam wasn't steady, sometime strong and sometime no steam, it leaked, it's easier and faster using regular iron which what I did. Returned it one time to manufacture to fix it because it died and after a couple months it's dead again, no steam at all. I cleaned the water and didn't work either. Do not waste your money, it's only good at first and died completely in less than 1.5 year. I wish I could return and ask my money back but for sure I don't trust shark products from this experience!

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
deasy
Would recommend to a friend? No
A Great Start for a DUD
10/29/2013

Customer review by Okiefide

2.0 stars 10/29/2013 by Okiefide
by Okiefide

With spending much more on dry cleaning clothes just to keep the wrinkles out, we decided to try this item that marketing touts quite well. Initially it saved money, even with its quirks i.e. poor telescoping pole that can tilt, inconsistent steam at times, and most importantly, a life span of a Mayfly in actual use. The most significant reason failure to steam or for that matter, work, is that no water can be left in tank. Why? It corrodes the laments. Shark does not tell you this until you call them and tell you right off the bat, especially if out of warranty. But they will happily charge you 29.95 plus shipping to replace it. Happy til then. Advice from me is keep water level low evpnough to keep a good steam going and drain what is left when done. Remember to leave top open to air. You may get more life out of yours. I had surgery and mine had to sit for a couple months and it died. I liked it otherwise. Needs a much better warranty. I'm also going to watch out for WalMarts recycling returned ones. They do a great deal of returning used to knew on shelves. If opened and not originally sealed, pass it by.

Was this review helpful? (40) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Okiefide
Muskego, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good product - I'm buying another one
5/30/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 5/30/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This is a good product. After 4 years it gave out. Read the instructions. Use distilled water. It makes a difference. I used tap water and it corroded the heating element mount until it leaked and corroded the temperature safety relay and plugged the water lines. My fault. It has a cast heating element that cannot stand the chemicals in tab water. The water line has a safety valve preventing back flow. Everything worked perfectly and did its job protecting me from me. No exception, if you want it to last more than 4 years, use distilled water only. It is great for freshening beds, mattresses, cloths, and it will help rejuvenate the foam in your cushions and car seats. You wouldn't complain about an iron that gave out in 4 years, and you would pay about the same price. This product deserves a better rating that the results are showing. I eagerly wait the arrival of my new machine.

Was this review helpful? (50) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
don't believe the bad reviews!
5/26/2012

Customer review by lpxguy

5.0 stars 5/26/2012 by lpxguy
by lpxguy

I was a little sceptical after reading the bad hype but gave it a try any way....glad I did...set up as per directions and works GREAT! Took the wrinkles out of my suit/pants in a matter of seconds...produces plenty of HOT steam...be careful you can get scorched. I like the feature of the retractable hanger rod, makes clothes hanging very convienient. THUMBS UP!!!

Was this review helpful? (137) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lpxguy
Chalfont, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Professional results!!
1/15/2016

Customer review by elaineS

5.0 stars 1/15/2016 by elaineS
by elaineS

Exceeded my expectations and works just as well as having professionally done. Excellent product.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
elaineS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Poor Engineering
12/7/2012

Customer review by Quasar34

1.0 stars 12/7/2012 by Quasar34
by Quasar34

Some reviewers say it's OK and that is the best, with very great kindness, I can give this product. Had there been a rating lower than one then this product would get less than one. The steam flows but very weakly and one has to go over the item quite a few times and what you get is not satisfactory at all; nothing one wishes to be seen with. This is not something I would keep. Since there are a significant number of people who say it's good then there seems to be an inconsistency in the manufacture of this item. Thirty five percent of the reviews voice serious dissatisfaction with this product which signals something the manufacturer should study carefully and make sure that quality control is improved significantly. I am deeply grateful for the return policy at Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Quasar34
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Broke quickly
10/11/2013

Customer review by No1Stunna

1.0 stars 10/11/2013 by No1Stunna
by No1Stunna

We got this as a backup to the iron. Some mornings we were just running late and this thing was supposed to be the quick fix - better than hanging it in a hot shower, not as good as ironing. So it was used sparingly. It worked great for 3 or 4 times. Then, it just stopped working (not caused by over filling). Something seems to be clogging the steam - the element is hot enough because I can hear it, and smell the steam. It's just not making it to the bonnet piece. As a consumer, it seems Shark products follow a pattern - works great but quickly degrades in performance - regular vacuums, handheld vacuums, etc. Face it, it's cheap for a reason. I worked retail and these types of steamers work well. But, this is just a cheap imitation. I will say, after installing bulk computers for schools, I was amazed at the brand new out-of-the-box failures. In like a class of 50 computers, usually 3-5 needed to be returned, whether it was Dell, HP, etc. Point is, I don't think all the bad reviews are unfounded - probably just faulty products from the sheer numbers. I just wanted to add my experience so consumers can make the most informed decision. But, my track record with Shark will make this the last product I buy from them.

Was this review helpful? (48) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
No1Stunna
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Great value!
1/11/2013

Customer review by Mking09

4.0 stars 1/11/2013 by Mking09
by Mking09

I work in a retail clothing store and use a commercial steamer almost daily. I was a little skeptical about buying a steamer for home use when I've used one that has worked so well. I'm very happy with what the shark steamer offers. Good steam flow (definitely not weak like other users say), feels very durable. Follow the directions and you're in good shape! I'm very happy with the product!!

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mking09
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
great portability
10/16/2012

Customer review by windowdresser

4.0 stars 10/16/2012 by windowdresser
by windowdresser

I install curtains and hardware and most times need to steam the fabrics. This is my third steamer over the past 7 years. Two other brands lasted about as long as this one (2 YRS.), so this may be par for these type steamers. My needs are portability and weight and this steamer has an excellent added feature in that the hose and reservoir are removable from the base, so I can bring it up a ladder to get to top of 100+" curtains. Other models I have had did not have this capability, and this one and NONE of the others have had a hose long enough to keep the steamer on the floor to reach up as high as I need. With that said, this steamer serves my purpose best, however, not much longer than a yr. or so down the road and the hose is broken (as what happened with others in the past). Having difficulty finding a website for Shark to order just a hose!!!!

Was this review helpful? (10) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
windowdresser
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great Product!!
5/26/2012

Customer review by Lindsey6867

5.0 stars 5/26/2012 by Lindsey6867
by Lindsey6867

This steamer had worked wonderfully for me since I started using it. It does take a little longer to get out wrinkles but in the end it is worth keeping the clothes in better condition over time. For the reviews that stated it takes 20 or more minutes to start working its probably because you haven't filled it with water. Mine has worked every time and I use it on everything from clothes to curtains and even furniture. It is a wonderful product!!!

Was this review helpful? (72) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lindsey6867
Portland or
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
just bought
5/8/2011

Customer review by 99april

5.0 stars 5/8/2011 by 99april
by 99april

got this steamer today ,because it says it kills dust mites ,and bed bugs , but got it because i have allergies ,and i can use it to refresh my fabric on my sofa killing the dust mites is great it gets so hot ,and my sofa feels so much fresher now. love this product.

Was this review helpful? (167) (51)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
99april
tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Works great
12/28/2015

Customer review by Jaye10

5.0 stars 12/28/2015 by Jaye10
by Jaye10

Great product

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jaye10
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Perfect steamer
12/24/2015

Customer review by KimT

5.0 stars 12/24/2015 by KimT
by KimT

For the price, I wasn't sure what to expect. However, I am pleasantly surprised. I own other shark products and find them to work perfectly...just like this steamer!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KimT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
works perfectly, great price, buy this one!!!!!
10/28/2012

Customer review by tmma

5.0 stars 10/28/2012 by tmma
by tmma

the few negative reviews here almost scared me from buying this steamer but the good reviews won out and i bought it. I'M SO GLAD THAT I DID, I LOVE IT! the people who wrote negative reviews obviously didn't read the instructions. it heats up and produces lots of steam in under a minute and there is no way this steamer will drip on your fabrics if you use the steam bonnet (which it tells you in the instructions). if it's making a bubbly noise extend the hose up and the condensation goes back in the tank and if a part is broken when you buy it, return it and get a new one. THIS IS A GREAT STEAMER AT A GREAT PRICE!

Was this review helpful? (48) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tmma
phoenix
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Easy to carry, easy to use!!
12/14/2015

Customer review by Mikeyg65

5.0 stars 12/14/2015 by Mikeyg65
by Mikeyg65

I use this as a easy to transport and use solution to fabric issues I encounter in my line of work. It breaks down and sets up quick and fits in my carry case for travel. It comes up to temperature quickly, the hose is a decent length, and the comfortable handle makes it easy to control where you want to steam.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mikeyg65
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
More than meets my expectations...
12/12/2011

Customer review by kacolew

5.0 stars 12/12/2011 by kacolew
by kacolew

Everything about this steamer works for saving time and energy in getting a clean crisp look to our clothes. I am able to put a nice crease in shirts, pants are not so easy. As for steaming a mattress & pillows the manufacturer fails to instruct one as to how this is to be done without soaking the mattress. Have recommended to several friends and they love their's as well. Overall, this is the perfect unit for steam pressing clothing.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kacolew
Athens, al
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 108 total reviews
1-20 of 108 reviews