Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 128 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

128 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

128 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

73%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
72
4 stars
20
3 stars
5
2 stars
5
1 stars
26
1-20 of 125 total reviews
73%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 125 total reviews
1-20 of 125 reviews
Great Brand...don't believe the other reviews
6/30/2016

Customer review by Rachel

5.0 stars 6/30/2016 by Rachel
by Rachel

I must say I was hesitant to buy this steamer...I read all of the negative reviews and it definitely made me think twice, but I am about to set you all straight...THIS...IS...AWESOME!!! The tank is not massive, but it holds about 6 cups of water, which is PLENTY for a residence...I work at DressBarn and this steamer would NEVER make it, but it is for my personal use...it is the perfect size. This model can hold whatever you are steaming on the vertical rod when it is on the hanger. I just steamed a pair of trousers for tomorrow, the device was ready to steam in less than 5 min, and it was HOT....It steamed my pair of pants in under another 10 min. So in total, prepping the steamer and steaming my pants, it took less than 10 min. Assembly is required but if I can do it...TRUST ME, YOU CAN TOO...I hate reading instructions so I don't...but it is so easy to assemble that the only reason I looked at the instructions was to make sure that I did everything right the first time, and I did...you don't want to mess with steam and boiling water. There is a small "new machine" smell to it, which comes with almost every new machine you buy...it will wear off eventually, I am not worried about it. The base rolls so it is easy to transport, even when filled with water. My only issue, which is hardly an "issue" is that the collapsible vertical pole doesn't hold a lot of weight, so do not plan on hanging 10 pairs of pants on the pole...you need to do each piece 1 at a time, which is how you're supposed to steam anyway. :P The Shark Brand has always been a good brand and I trust it. I am so happy with this purchase!!!! GO GET ONE IF YOU'RE THINKING ABOUT IT...YOU WILL NOT REGRET IT.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rachel
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Don't believe the negative reviews..
1/17/2012

Customer review by firewallguy

5.0 stars 1/17/2012 by firewallguy
by firewallguy

After splitting up with my gf I had to do more of the domestic stuff on my own.. I hate ironing so I bought this to make my life easier. When I brought it home I filled it up with water and turned it on. The thing wouldn't kick out steam. I started to think it was broken or didn't work. It made noises like it was trying to steam. It turns out I put too much water in the container. After emptying out the water and starting it up again it fires up in about a minute. This thing works great. Myself and my roommates would come up with all sorts of uses. We used it to remove old wall paper from a kitchen. We cleaned the sofa, curtains.. I use it on my clothes every morning. I don't even bother folding my clothes when I get done with the laundry. I just throw it in the basket and take it home and steam out the wrinkles each day that I need an outfit. This thing is priceless!

Was this review helpful? (363) (65)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
firewallguy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Works great!
8/17/2016

Customer review by Teacup

5.0 stars 8/17/2016 by Teacup
by Teacup
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It steams up quite quickly, and lasts quite a while before you need to refill it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Teacup
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Keep the dry cleaner bills low
8/14/2016

Customer review by Katiek08

5.0 stars 8/14/2016 by Katiek08
by Katiek08
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Awesome steamer

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Katiek08
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not good.
7/23/2016

Customer review by Fonzo

1.0 stars 7/23/2016 by Fonzo
by Fonzo
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It took to long to start steaming and the steam was not a consistent steam.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Fonzo
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A Great Start for a DUD
10/29/2013

Customer review by Okiefide

2.0 stars 10/29/2013 by Okiefide
by Okiefide

With spending much more on dry cleaning clothes just to keep the wrinkles out, we decided to try this item that marketing touts quite well. Initially it saved money, even with its quirks i.e. poor telescoping pole that can tilt, inconsistent steam at times, and most importantly, a life span of a Mayfly in actual use. The most significant reason failure to steam or for that matter, work, is that no water can be left in tank. Why? It corrodes the laments. Shark does not tell you this until you call them and tell you right off the bat, especially if out of warranty. But they will happily charge you 29.95 plus shipping to replace it. Happy til then. Advice from me is keep water level low evpnough to keep a good steam going and drain what is left when done. Remember to leave top open to air. You may get more life out of yours. I had surgery and mine had to sit for a couple months and it died. I liked it otherwise. Needs a much better warranty. I'm also going to watch out for WalMarts recycling returned ones. They do a great deal of returning used to knew on shelves. If opened and not originally sealed, pass it by.

Was this review helpful? (64) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Okiefide
Muskego, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
** A GODSEND!!! **
1/22/2016

Customer review by MrsT

5.0 stars 1/22/2016 by MrsT
by MrsT

After discovering an early infestation of bedbugs in our home.. My husband & I quickly went out & bought this product. Although, the box says it kills dust mites & bedbugs.. I was a little skeptical at first. (Especially, after reading some of the negative reviews on here.) We followed the product instructions for use & assembly, EXACTLY, in order to avoid any dissapointments/mishaps. I'm so glad we didn't let the negative reviews affect ourour decision to buy this! This steamer put out a good deal of steam, the ENTIRE time we used it. It steams, as long as the tank isn't empty. It gets SUPER hot!! It kills the bugs AND their eggs. Now, of course you can't rely on steam alone, to eradicate bedbugs.. But, we used it along with other methods. After calling around, & pricing a few popular "NAME BRAND" exterminators. We realized, we would never be able to afford to have one come out, & help us with the bug problem. So, we bought this steamer. We washed all of our bedding, & THOROUGHLY steamed our beds/bedrooms, and couch. Afterward, we called a local small business pest control man, to come spray our home. And, let me tell ya! Im so glad we did!! Our prayers were answered. We saved LOTS of money, & IT WORKED!!! I'd say this product paid for itself, several times over. Would most definitely recommend this product to anyone suffering from a bedbug problem. We sleep so much better now. NO MORE BITES... NO. MORE. BEDBUGS.!!!! (P.s. Now we have a good steamer for our curtains, clothes, etc. Lol!)

Was this review helpful? (78) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MrsT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good product - I'm buying another one
5/30/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 5/30/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This is a good product. After 4 years it gave out. Read the instructions. Use distilled water. It makes a difference. I used tap water and it corroded the heating element mount until it leaked and corroded the temperature safety relay and plugged the water lines. My fault. It has a cast heating element that cannot stand the chemicals in tab water. The water line has a safety valve preventing back flow. Everything worked perfectly and did its job protecting me from me. No exception, if you want it to last more than 4 years, use distilled water only. It is great for freshening beds, mattresses, cloths, and it will help rejuvenate the foam in your cushions and car seats. You wouldn't complain about an iron that gave out in 4 years, and you would pay about the same price. This product deserves a better rating that the results are showing. I eagerly wait the arrival of my new machine.

Was this review helpful? (63) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Disappointed
8/11/2016

Customer review by Disappointed

1.0 stars 8/11/2016 by Disappointed
by Disappointed
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Does not work well. Used on a dress made of silk & chiffon and it did not get wrinkles out. Also used on a dress shirt and wrinkles were still there.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Disappointed
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome Product!
4/11/2016

Customer review by Rose

5.0 stars 4/11/2016 by Rose
by Rose

Bought this after reading a review that was titled "A Godsend!" Yes it is! Awesome product, reasonable price. No spitting water. Gets hot hot hot. Easy to put together/use

Was this review helpful? (12) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rose
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
don't believe the bad reviews!
5/26/2012

Customer review by lpxguy

5.0 stars 5/26/2012 by lpxguy
by lpxguy

I was a little sceptical after reading the bad hype but gave it a try any way....glad I did...set up as per directions and works GREAT! Took the wrinkles out of my suit/pants in a matter of seconds...produces plenty of HOT steam...be careful you can get scorched. I like the feature of the retractable hanger rod, makes clothes hanging very convienient. THUMBS UP!!!

Was this review helpful? (147) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lpxguy
Chalfont, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
great portability
10/16/2012

Customer review by windowdresser

4.0 stars 10/16/2012 by windowdresser
by windowdresser

I install curtains and hardware and most times need to steam the fabrics. This is my third steamer over the past 7 years. Two other brands lasted about as long as this one (2 YRS.), so this may be par for these type steamers. My needs are portability and weight and this steamer has an excellent added feature in that the hose and reservoir are removable from the base, so I can bring it up a ladder to get to top of 100+" curtains. Other models I have had did not have this capability, and this one and NONE of the others have had a hose long enough to keep the steamer on the floor to reach up as high as I need. With that said, this steamer serves my purpose best, however, not much longer than a yr. or so down the road and the hose is broken (as what happened with others in the past). Having difficulty finding a website for Shark to order just a hose!!!!

Was this review helpful? (12) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
windowdresser
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Overall, great product.
5/27/2016

Customer review by Cofy21

4.0 stars 5/27/2016 by Cofy21
by Cofy21
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It's a handy little gadget. Compact and doesn't take up too much space. Steam flows easily through the nozzle. I wish it had a hanging attachment for longer items,like dresses. The one it has only goes high enough for shirts.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cofy21
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
steamer
7/27/2016

Customer review by ASHA

5.0 stars 7/27/2016 by ASHA
by ASHA
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have not used this item as yet, I am anxious to try it for so many reasons. I have high hopes!

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ASHA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Broke quickly
10/11/2013

Customer review by No1Stunna

1.0 stars 10/11/2013 by No1Stunna
by No1Stunna

We got this as a backup to the iron. Some mornings we were just running late and this thing was supposed to be the quick fix - better than hanging it in a hot shower, not as good as ironing. So it was used sparingly. It worked great for 3 or 4 times. Then, it just stopped working (not caused by over filling). Something seems to be clogging the steam - the element is hot enough because I can hear it, and smell the steam. It's just not making it to the bonnet piece. As a consumer, it seems Shark products follow a pattern - works great but quickly degrades in performance - regular vacuums, handheld vacuums, etc. Face it, it's cheap for a reason. I worked retail and these types of steamers work well. But, this is just a cheap imitation. I will say, after installing bulk computers for schools, I was amazed at the brand new out-of-the-box failures. In like a class of 50 computers, usually 3-5 needed to be returned, whether it was Dell, HP, etc. Point is, I don't think all the bad reviews are unfounded - probably just faulty products from the sheer numbers. I just wanted to add my experience so consumers can make the most informed decision. But, my track record with Shark will make this the last product I buy from them.

Was this review helpful? (51) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
No1Stunna
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Great value!
1/11/2013

Customer review by Mking09

4.0 stars 1/11/2013 by Mking09
by Mking09

I work in a retail clothing store and use a commercial steamer almost daily. I was a little skeptical about buying a steamer for home use when I've used one that has worked so well. I'm very happy with what the shark steamer offers. Good steam flow (definitely not weak like other users say), feels very durable. Follow the directions and you're in good shape! I'm very happy with the product!!

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mking09
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Poor Engineering
12/7/2012

Customer review by Quasar34

1.0 stars 12/7/2012 by Quasar34
by Quasar34

Some reviewers say it's OK and that is the best, with very great kindness, I can give this product. Had there been a rating lower than one then this product would get less than one. The steam flows but very weakly and one has to go over the item quite a few times and what you get is not satisfactory at all; nothing one wishes to be seen with. This is not something I would keep. Since there are a significant number of people who say it's good then there seems to be an inconsistency in the manufacture of this item. Thirty five percent of the reviews voice serious dissatisfaction with this product which signals something the manufacturer should study carefully and make sure that quality control is improved significantly. I am deeply grateful for the return policy at Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (17) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Quasar34
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Product!!
5/26/2012

Customer review by Lindsey6867

5.0 stars 5/26/2012 by Lindsey6867
by Lindsey6867

This steamer had worked wonderfully for me since I started using it. It does take a little longer to get out wrinkles but in the end it is worth keeping the clothes in better condition over time. For the reviews that stated it takes 20 or more minutes to start working its probably because you haven't filled it with water. Mine has worked every time and I use it on everything from clothes to curtains and even furniture. It is a wonderful product!!!

Was this review helpful? (76) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lindsey6867
Portland or
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
just bought
5/8/2011

Customer review by 99april

5.0 stars 5/8/2011 by 99april
by 99april

got this steamer today ,because it says it kills dust mites ,and bed bugs , but got it because i have allergies ,and i can use it to refresh my fabric on my sofa killing the dust mites is great it gets so hot ,and my sofa feels so much fresher now. love this product.

Was this review helpful? (172) (51)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
99april
tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
No iron anymore
7/10/2016

Customer review by Nomoreiron

5.0 stars 7/10/2016 by Nomoreiron
by Nomoreiron

So easy to use. I had several new shirts and out of the plastic wrap there were creases and folds wrinkles. Used this steamer on them and I was amazed that such little effort it took out all the wrinkles and they did not come back . It's a keeper!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nomoreiron
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 125 total reviews
1-20 of 125 reviews