Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 97 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

97 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

97 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

74%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
56
4 stars
15
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 stars
18
1-20 of 94 total reviews
74%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 94 total reviews
1-20 of 94 reviews
Don't believe the negative reviews..
1/17/2012

Customer review by firewallguy

5.0 stars 1/17/2012 by firewallguy
by firewallguy

After splitting up with my gf I had to do more of the domestic stuff on my own.. I hate ironing so I bought this to make my life easier. When I brought it home I filled it up with water and turned it on. The thing wouldn't kick out steam. I started to think it was broken or didn't work. It made noises like it was trying to steam. It turns out I put too much water in the container. After emptying out the water and starting it up again it fires up in about a minute. This thing works great. Myself and my roommates would come up with all sorts of uses. We used it to remove old wall paper from a kitchen. We cleaned the sofa, curtains.. I use it on my clothes every morning. I don't even bother folding my clothes when I get done with the laundry. I just throw it in the basket and take it home and steam out the wrinkles each day that I need an outfit. This thing is priceless!

Was this review helpful? (276) (37)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
firewallguy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
don't believe the bad reviews!
5/26/2012

Customer review by lpxguy

5.0 stars 5/26/2012 by lpxguy
by lpxguy

I was a little sceptical after reading the bad hype but gave it a try any way....glad I did...set up as per directions and works GREAT! Took the wrinkles out of my suit/pants in a matter of seconds...produces plenty of HOT steam...be careful you can get scorched. I like the feature of the retractable hanger rod, makes clothes hanging very convienient. THUMBS UP!!!

Was this review helpful? (117) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lpxguy
Chalfont, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
just bought
5/8/2011

Customer review by 99april

5.0 stars 5/8/2011 by 99april
by 99april

got this steamer today ,because it says it kills dust mites ,and bed bugs , but got it because i have allergies ,and i can use it to refresh my fabric on my sofa killing the dust mites is great it gets so hot ,and my sofa feels so much fresher now. love this product.

Was this review helpful? (145) (49)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
99april
tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Product!!
5/26/2012

Customer review by Lindsey6867

5.0 stars 5/26/2012 by Lindsey6867
by Lindsey6867

This steamer had worked wonderfully for me since I started using it. It does take a little longer to get out wrinkles but in the end it is worth keeping the clothes in better condition over time. For the reviews that stated it takes 20 or more minutes to start working its probably because you haven't filled it with water. Mine has worked every time and I use it on everything from clothes to curtains and even furniture. It is a wonderful product!!!

Was this review helpful? (58) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lindsey6867
Portland or
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Good product - I'm buying another one
5/30/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 5/30/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This is a good product. After 4 years it gave out. Read the instructions. Use distilled water. It makes a difference. I used tap water and it corroded the heating element mount until it leaked and corroded the temperature safety relay and plugged the water lines. My fault. It has a cast heating element that cannot stand the chemicals in tab water. The water line has a safety valve preventing back flow. Everything worked perfectly and did its job protecting me from me. No exception, if you want it to last more than 4 years, use distilled water only. It is great for freshening beds, mattresses, cloths, and it will help rejuvenate the foam in your cushions and car seats. You wouldn't complain about an iron that gave out in 4 years, and you would pay about the same price. This product deserves a better rating that the results are showing. I eagerly wait the arrival of my new machine.

Was this review helpful? (39) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
works perfectly, great price, buy this one!!!!!
10/28/2012

Customer review by tmma

5.0 stars 10/28/2012 by tmma
by tmma

the few negative reviews here almost scared me from buying this steamer but the good reviews won out and i bought it. I'M SO GLAD THAT I DID, I LOVE IT! the people who wrote negative reviews obviously didn't read the instructions. it heats up and produces lots of steam in under a minute and there is no way this steamer will drip on your fabrics if you use the steam bonnet (which it tells you in the instructions). if it's making a bubbly noise extend the hose up and the condensation goes back in the tank and if a part is broken when you buy it, return it and get a new one. THIS IS A GREAT STEAMER AT A GREAT PRICE!

Was this review helpful? (39) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tmma
phoenix
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A Great Start for a DUD
10/29/2013

Customer review by Okiefide

2.0 stars 10/29/2013 by Okiefide
by Okiefide

With spending much more on dry cleaning clothes just to keep the wrinkles out, we decided to try this item that marketing touts quite well. Initially it saved money, even with its quirks i.e. poor telescoping pole that can tilt, inconsistent steam at times, and most importantly, a life span of a Mayfly in actual use. The most significant reason failure to steam or for that matter, work, is that no water can be left in tank. Why? It corrodes the laments. Shark does not tell you this until you call them and tell you right off the bat, especially if out of warranty. But they will happily charge you 29.95 plus shipping to replace it. Happy til then. Advice from me is keep water level low evpnough to keep a good steam going and drain what is left when done. Remember to leave top open to air. You may get more life out of yours. I had surgery and mine had to sit for a couple months and it died. I liked it otherwise. Needs a much better warranty. I'm also going to watch out for WalMarts recycling returned ones. They do a great deal of returning used to knew on shelves. If opened and not originally sealed, pass it by.

Was this review helpful? (26) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Okiefide
Muskego, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Broke quickly
10/11/2013

Customer review by No1Stunna

1.0 stars 10/11/2013 by No1Stunna
by No1Stunna

We got this as a backup to the iron. Some mornings we were just running late and this thing was supposed to be the quick fix - better than hanging it in a hot shower, not as good as ironing. So it was used sparingly. It worked great for 3 or 4 times. Then, it just stopped working (not caused by over filling). Something seems to be clogging the steam - the element is hot enough because I can hear it, and smell the steam. It's just not making it to the bonnet piece. As a consumer, it seems Shark products follow a pattern - works great but quickly degrades in performance - regular vacuums, handheld vacuums, etc. Face it, it's cheap for a reason. I worked retail and these types of steamers work well. But, this is just a cheap imitation. I will say, after installing bulk computers for schools, I was amazed at the brand new out-of-the-box failures. In like a class of 50 computers, usually 3-5 needed to be returned, whether it was Dell, HP, etc. Point is, I don't think all the bad reviews are unfounded - probably just faulty products from the sheer numbers. I just wanted to add my experience so consumers can make the most informed decision. But, my track record with Shark will make this the last product I buy from them.

Was this review helpful? (31) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
No1Stunna
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Don't waste your money
8/29/2011

Customer review by ashleylizbeth

1.0 stars 8/29/2011 by ashleylizbeth
by ashleylizbeth

I purchased this after returning several other steamers that did not produce the steam power I was looking for. This one is currently plugged up in my home, and has been for almost an hour, and all that is coming out is literally a few wisps of steam every few minutes. Nothing "powerful" is happening, at all. Looks like I have yet another dud steamer to return.

Was this review helpful? (38) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ashleylizbeth
AL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
5/25/2012

Customer review by blubird59

5.0 stars 5/25/2012 by blubird59
by blubird59

i bought the shark steamer over a yr ago and have nothing but praise for it compare to the 2 previous junk of steamers that i bought and literally last a few months and did a terrible job. i've never had a problem with my shark garment steamer. it pushes 1500watts of steam within 45secs to a minute. i use mine wkly to refresh my work pants which ar mostly khakis and slaks and a few jeans once in a while. does a great job on my sweaters and shirts as well as knits. however, i don't use the white covering that goes over the nozzle since i found it to be a waste of time. all and all a great product for the buck. the best i've ever had, given i'm on my 3rd steamer.

Was this review helpful? (31) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
blubird59
Somerset, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great value!
1/11/2013

Customer review by Mking09

4.0 stars 1/11/2013 by Mking09
by Mking09

I work in a retail clothing store and use a commercial steamer almost daily. I was a little skeptical about buying a steamer for home use when I've used one that has worked so well. I'm very happy with what the shark steamer offers. Good steam flow (definitely not weak like other users say), feels very durable. Follow the directions and you're in good shape! I'm very happy with the product!!

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mking09
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Did not work as advertised
7/24/2011

Customer review by ktsmissmom

1.0 stars 7/24/2011 by ktsmissmom
by ktsmissmom

I used this steamer on 100% cotton clothes. Some wrinkles came out but it took several minutes per item. I could have ironed out the wrinkles quicker and better. Tried other steamers but have not found one that works. I don't expect perfection but do expect a difference between before and after.

Was this review helpful? (24) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ktsmissmom
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great machine if you are using it properly.
2/11/2013

Customer review by Torch1313

5.0 stars 2/11/2013 by Torch1313
by Torch1313

I was just about to rate this steamer "Poor" and take it back when I thought... Hey I wonder if you are supposed to take off that brush. Bingo! Works great now. Lol. So assemble it correctly, make sure the water level is good, and take off that darn brush and you will have a pretty nice little machine here. It seems to also be a good idea to button a few buttons if you are doing dress shirt and to pull lightly on the lower portion of the clothing or fabric you are working on because you will need to apply a little bit of pressure, at least, to the fabric.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Torch1313
Pittsburgh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Poor Engineering
12/7/2012

Customer review by Quasar34

1.0 stars 12/7/2012 by Quasar34
by Quasar34

Some reviewers say it's OK and that is the best, with very great kindness, I can give this product. Had there been a rating lower than one then this product would get less than one. The steam flows but very weakly and one has to go over the item quite a few times and what you get is not satisfactory at all; nothing one wishes to be seen with. This is not something I would keep. Since there are a significant number of people who say it's good then there seems to be an inconsistency in the manufacture of this item. Thirty five percent of the reviews voice serious dissatisfaction with this product which signals something the manufacturer should study carefully and make sure that quality control is improved significantly. I am deeply grateful for the return policy at Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Quasar34
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
GREAT
7/7/2012

Customer review by MississippiMom04

5.0 stars 7/7/2012 by MississippiMom04
by MississippiMom04

I do not know how I lived without this. I use this all the time. I steam iron my family clothes. ALl I have to do is with the shirts is put them on a hanger and steam them. The pants are a more difficult but what I do is put the on a ironing board or put them on a hanger by clothes pins and I Iron them that way. I would defintely recomend this for any time of steam Ironing.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MississippiMom04
Mississippi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
DO NOT PURCHASE!
10/2/2011

Customer review by qualityconcerned

1.0 stars 10/2/2011 by qualityconcerned
by qualityconcerned

I bought this yesterday and it was the worst purchase ever! Used it for the first time today and the manual indicates that it steams after 1minute but it has been heating up for the last 20 minutes and it still has not steamed even once. Also underneath the base, it looks used already. I am just sick over wasted time and money; gas money that is cause I will be going back to get the money I spent on this garbage!

Was this review helpful? (18) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
qualityconcerned
Gary, IN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
More than meets my expectations...
12/12/2011

Customer review by kacolew

5.0 stars 12/12/2011 by kacolew
by kacolew

Everything about this steamer works for saving time and energy in getting a clean crisp look to our clothes. I am able to put a nice crease in shirts, pants are not so easy. As for steaming a mattress & pillows the manufacturer fails to instruct one as to how this is to be done without soaking the mattress. Have recommended to several friends and they love their's as well. Overall, this is the perfect unit for steam pressing clothing.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kacolew
Athens, al
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
great portability
10/16/2012

Customer review by windowdresser

4.0 stars 10/16/2012 by windowdresser
by windowdresser

I install curtains and hardware and most times need to steam the fabrics. This is my third steamer over the past 7 years. Two other brands lasted about as long as this one (2 YRS.), so this may be par for these type steamers. My needs are portability and weight and this steamer has an excellent added feature in that the hose and reservoir are removable from the base, so I can bring it up a ladder to get to top of 100+" curtains. Other models I have had did not have this capability, and this one and NONE of the others have had a hose long enough to keep the steamer on the floor to reach up as high as I need. With that said, this steamer serves my purpose best, however, not much longer than a yr. or so down the road and the hose is broken (as what happened with others in the past). Having difficulty finding a website for Shark to order just a hose!!!!

Was this review helpful? (10) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
windowdresser
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Poor Performance - Not Recommended
7/7/2012

Customer review by NYCCocoPrincess

1.0 stars 7/7/2012 by NYCCocoPrincess
by NYCCocoPrincess

First, there is VERY LOW (Steam) Flow which makes the elimation of wrinkles difficult. I had to go over and over and over clothes and never did get any of my clothing wrinkle free enough to wear, except for cashual T-shirts, etc. Difficult to assemble, tilts to the side if I hung more than two hangers. The cord, in my opinion, is not nearly long enough. I did not find that the performance met any of the claims Shark states the product will do. I would not recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (11) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NYCCocoPrincess
Des Moines, IA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
good, but I wanted to love it
7/5/2012

Customer review by turtledove99

3.0 stars 7/5/2012 by turtledove99
by turtledove99

This product meets all my expectations, it works just fine, but it is not the best steamer I have owned. It does shoot out steam right away. The ones that were having a problem, either filled it too full of water, or somehow didn't put it together right, or they had a defective machine. It does seem to take longer to get wrinkles out than other steamers.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
turtledove99
texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 94 total reviews
1-20 of 94 reviews