Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 3.6out of 5 stars
3.6 out of 5 | 159 reviews
5 stars
84
4 stars
21
3 stars
5
2 stars
10
1 stars
39
Sort by: 
1-20 of 156 reviews
1-20 of 156 reviews
Excellent steamer!
7/16/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I purchased a 2 piece dress and took it to the cleaners to ONLY be pressed during the Christmas season .The price a tad under $20.00. Purchased a 2 layer dress for a wedding . The under layer mid-weight the top layer sheer. Didn't want to spend $20.00 again. Called my daughter to buy a steamer from Walmart, and she brought home this wonder. I was thinking small handheld which when filled with water weighs a lot. Glad she purchased this. Assembled this ,added water and went to work. Knocked out wrinkles through both layers. No shine on the fabric. Totally professional look to the garment. When using go slowly over the garment. I went too fast initially and when I slowed down I got professional results. The hose and the rubber hand holder gets hot. No space consuming wobbly ironing board in the way.Just roll it into a closet or corner when not in use. This is my new favorite thing.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (12)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
5 Star Steamer
10/18/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I recently purchased my second Shark Steamer. The first one lasted 5 years and I am hoping this one will do the same. I use it almost daily instead of an iron. Highly recommend and you cannot beat the price!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Don't believe the negative reviews..
1/17/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
After splitting up with my gf I had to do more of the domestic stuff on my own.. I hate ironing so I bought this to make my life easier. When I brought it home I filled it up with water and turned it on. The thing wouldn't kick out steam. I started to think it was broken or didn't work. It made noises like it was trying to steam. It turns out I put too much water in the container. After emptying out the water and starting it up again it fires up in about a minute. This thing works great. Myself and my roommates would come up with all sorts of uses. We used it to remove old wall paper from a kitchen. We cleaned the sofa, curtains.. I use it on my clothes every morning. I don't even bother folding my clothes when I get done with the laundry. I just throw it in the basket and take it home and steam out the wrinkles each day that I need an outfit. This thing is priceless!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (416)No (78)
Report
Was this review helpful?
A Great Start for a DUD
10/29/2013
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
With spending much more on dry cleaning clothes just to keep the wrinkles out, we decided to try this item that marketing touts quite well. Initially it saved money, even with its quirks i.e. poor telescoping pole that can tilt, inconsistent steam at times, and most importantly, a life span of a Mayfly in actual use. The most significant reason failure to steam or for that matter, work, is that no water can be left in tank. Why? It corrodes the laments. Shark does not tell you this until you call them and tell you right off the bat, especially if out of warranty. But they will happily charge you 29.95 plus shipping to replace it. Happy til then. Advice from me is keep water level low evpnough to keep a good steam going and drain what is left when done. Remember to leave top open to air. You may get more life out of yours. I had surgery and mine had to sit for a couple months and it died. I liked it otherwise. Needs a much better warranty. I'm also going to watch out for WalMarts recycling returned ones. They do a great deal of returning used to knew on shelves. If opened and not originally sealed, pass it by.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (95)No (25)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good product - I'm buying another one
5/30/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is a good product. After 4 years it gave out. Read the instructions. Use distilled water. It makes a difference. I used tap water and it corroded the heating element mount until it leaked and corroded the temperature safety relay and plugged the water lines. My fault. It has a cast heating element that cannot stand the chemicals in tab water. The water line has a safety valve preventing back flow. Everything worked perfectly and did its job protecting me from me. No exception, if you want it to last more than 4 years, use distilled water only. It is great for freshening beds, mattresses, cloths, and it will help rejuvenate the foam in your cushions and car seats. You wouldn't complain about an iron that gave out in 4 years, and you would pay about the same price. This product deserves a better rating that the results are showing. I eagerly wait the arrival of my new machine.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (89)No (30)
Report
Was this review helpful?
** A GODSEND!!! **
1/22/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
After discovering an early infestation of bedbugs in our home.. My husband & I quickly went out & bought this product. Although, the box says it kills dust mites & bedbugs.. I was a little skeptical at first. (Especially, after reading some of the negative reviews on here.) We followed the product instructions for use & assembly, EXACTLY, in order to avoid any dissapointments/mishaps. I'm so glad we didn't let the negative reviews affect ourour decision to buy this! This steamer put out a good deal of steam, the ENTIRE time we used it. It steams, as long as the tank isn't empty. It gets SUPER hot!! It kills the bugs AND their eggs. Now, of course you can't rely on steam alone, to eradicate bedbugs.. But, we used it along with other methods. After calling around, & pricing a few popular "NAME BRAND" exterminators. We realized, we would never be able to afford to have one come out, & help us with the bug problem. So, we bought this steamer. We washed all of our bedding, & THOROUGHLY steamed our beds/bedrooms, and couch. Afterward, we called a local small business pest control man, to come spray our home. And, let me tell ya! Im so glad we did!! Our prayers were answered. We saved LOTS of money, & IT WORKED!!! I'd say this product paid for itself, several times over. Would most definitely recommend this product to anyone suffering from a bedbug problem. We sleep so much better now. NO MORE BITES... NO. MORE. BEDBUGS.!!!! (P.s. Now we have a good steamer for our curtains, clothes, etc. Lol!)
Was this review helpful?
Yes (146)No (21)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great
10/6/2017
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This works a lot better then any old iron! It heats up fast and does an amazing job.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Poor Engineering
12/7/2012
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Some reviewers say it's OK and that is the best, with very great kindness, I can give this product. Had there been a rating lower than one then this product would get less than one. The steam flows but very weakly and one has to go over the item quite a few times and what you get is not satisfactory at all; nothing one wishes to be seen with. This is not something I would keep. Since there are a significant number of people who say it's good then there seems to be an inconsistency in the manufacture of this item. Thirty five percent of the reviews voice serious dissatisfaction with this product which signals something the manufacturer should study carefully and make sure that quality control is improved significantly. I am deeply grateful for the return policy at Walmart.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (23)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
It Works, But There's Better
11/1/2016
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I purchased this garment steamer to steam clothes as well as cleaning grout. It works on everything, and I loved it. Only problem is that the machine heats up water to steam, and then stops to heat up a bit more water to steam. The machine is therefore steaming for a minute or so, and stops for a bit, then steams again. At first it wasn't that annoying, but after about 10 times, I was loosing my patients with it. I did find another brand that is actually not as well built, a bit more expensive, but is continuously heating the water into steam, so I'm able to continue to work almost non stop.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (36)No (8)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Not all it says...
9/17/2017
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this steamer after reading several good reviews, which apparently were paid for. To start off, the water tank cap doesn't close like its supposed to, lining up the arrows opens up the tank, according to instructions you have to line them up for steamer to work! Secondly, it takes at least 20 minutes for a good steam to come out, and when it finally does, its very weak and not a steady stream. I got better results from a $15 storebrand steamer! Giving it a second chance, but pretty sure I will be returning and going back to the iron...
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Other use: Wallpaper remover
9/8/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I purchased the Shark Garment Steamer to aid me in removing floor to ceiling wallpaper in one of my bedrooms. I like that it is on wheels so that I can pull it along with me when I am working on the lower half of the wall. However, the hose does not extend far enough to reach the top of the wall so I have to sit it on a table which having the wheels in this situation makes it a little challenging. I have only used distilled water in it and have had no problems with it getting clogged. I have never timed it but the water lasts quite a while when the tank is full. Investing in this steamer has proven to be much cheaper than the many bottles of wallpaper remover sprays that I would have had to purchase for this job. Overall I am very happy with my purchase; although there is absolutely nothing happy with the task of removing wallpaper. :)
Was this review helpful?
Yes (19)No (9)
Report
Was this review helpful?
don't believe the bad reviews!
5/26/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I was a little sceptical after reading the bad hype but gave it a try any way....glad I did...set up as per directions and works GREAT! Took the wrinkles out of my suit/pants in a matter of seconds...produces plenty of HOT steam...be careful you can get scorched. I like the feature of the retractable hanger rod, makes clothes hanging very convienient. THUMBS UP!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (161)No (28)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Just bought it. Light comes on, and thats it.
7/12/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
As others have stated, this is not manufactured well. Dead on arrival.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Love mine!
7/17/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I wish I would have known about this sooner! I'll never iron anything again!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
great portability
10/16/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I install curtains and hardware and most times need to steam the fabrics. This is my third steamer over the past 7 years. Two other brands lasted about as long as this one (2 YRS.), so this may be par for these type steamers. My needs are portability and weight and this steamer has an excellent added feature in that the hose and reservoir are removable from the base, so I can bring it up a ladder to get to top of 100+" curtains. Other models I have had did not have this capability, and this one and NONE of the others have had a hose long enough to keep the steamer on the floor to reach up as high as I need. With that said, this steamer serves my purpose best, however, not much longer than a yr. or so down the road and the hose is broken (as what happened with others in the past). Having difficulty finding a website for Shark to order just a hose!!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (15)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Do not buy
4/25/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Very upset with this Shark product!!! This is the second one I am buying because they do not last.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Awesomw
9/17/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
When I seen this garment steamer I had to try it out. I liked the fact that its made by shark. It was everything I was expecting! I could now hang my curtains and steam the wrinkles out while hanging there. Easy to use cuz it moves with you. No more sending my dry cleaning out, I now do it myself. So far my mom has purchased one. Showing my other family members. Great job Shark!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great value!
1/11/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I work in a retail clothing store and use a commercial steamer almost daily. I was a little skeptical about buying a steamer for home use when I've used one that has worked so well. I'm very happy with what the shark steamer offers. Good steam flow (definitely not weak like other users say), feels very durable. Follow the directions and you're in good shape! I'm very happy with the product!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (24)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great machine if you are using it properly.
2/11/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I was just about to rate this steamer "Poor" and take it back when I thought... Hey I wonder if you are supposed to take off that brush. Bingo! Works great now. Lol. So assemble it correctly, make sure the water level is good, and take off that darn brush and you will have a pretty nice little machine here. It seems to also be a good idea to button a few buttons if you are doing dress shirt and to pull lightly on the lower portion of the clothing or fabric you are working on because you will need to apply a little bit of pressure, at least, to the fabric.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (24)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Product!!
5/26/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This steamer had worked wonderfully for me since I started using it. It does take a little longer to get out wrinkles but in the end it is worth keeping the clothes in better condition over time. For the reviews that stated it takes 20 or more minutes to start working its probably because you haven't filled it with water. Mine has worked every time and I use it on everything from clothes to curtains and even furniture. It is a wonderful product!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (80)No (20)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184643943, DC-prod-dal4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-