Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 3.5out of 5 stars
3.5 out of 5 | 42 reviews
5 stars
15
4 stars
10
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 stars
7
Sort by: 
1-20 of 33 reviews
1-20 of 33 reviews
Great Little Machine
4/7/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I simply don't understand all the negative reviews. This vacuum is less than $30! It has great suction for a handheld, and is easy to empty, has a reusable foam filter. Comes with a wall hanger and has an attractive design. My best advice would be to charge it at least overnight before using it. That way you'll get the most out of your rechargeable battery. It hasn't died on me yet, though I only use it for a few minutes at a time. I estimate maybe 10 minutes before it starts to die. It's only a small vacuum, so don't expect too much. Overall, it's a great machine. I use it to pick up litter and pet bedding that gets kicked onto the floor. It could definitely handle dirt and small stones without a problem.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (22)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Happy With Dustbuster
5/21/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have a large canister vac, it is powerful but not convenient for smaller jobs. Had never thought about a hand vacuum, until recently finding a lot of tree debris on my car's engine without a nearby electric outlet. I bought this unit and have been pleasantly surprised. Already I use it a lot, for both wet and dry pickup. You can't beat the light weight and convenience. Has a good size dust cup easy to remove, wash, and replace. There is a soft rubber nozzle attachment. With the attachment removed, I use it to pick up the dust and crumbs that always end up around the kitchen baseboards, a job which constantly has to be done. Have used it to quickly remove water after washing items such as rubber mats. Previously I either had to wait for them to dry or use paper towels. We cut hair at home, a messy job, and now instead of using the usual dustpan, expect this machine to save a lot of time and work. It also works fine to dust upholstered furniture. True, you won't get the power of a huge vacuum, but for many tasks, this unit performs very well.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Works great but parts of it can break easily
1/12/2011
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The vacuum works great, it's strong. The only thing is to handle it with care. It was in the box, the box tipped over and the clip that held on the removable part of the vacuum broke. So now I have to put duck tape around the whole thing to hold it together. But it still works fine.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (35)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Is not strong enough
3/20/2013
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this product about 1 month ago. It is very easy to use and to empty. However, the voltage/sucking power is not strong enough for me. I have a 18 mo old and am constantly sweepping, picking up crumps, spills, etc so I thought this would save me some time and energy. There are times when this vacuum will not even pick up a PEA or pieces of hair stuck to an area rug. It's useless. I have to pull the hair up from the rug and put it in the mouth of the vacuum and it still won't suck up the hair. It pushes around food on the floor only occasionally sucking things up. It's not consistent or reliable enough if you have small children who make messes. And I'm not talking about picking up whole pieces of meat or pasta. I'm talking about tiny cracker crums or a pea or chopped carrot! Don't buy. I'm presently looking for a handheld with higher voltage but am being told that NONE of them are truly good for what I'm looking for.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
wish i bought it sooner
4/11/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
can't believe i haven been cleaning up after my kids without this for the past 5 years! this vacuum works great (at least for the past month). it picks up just about all the littel crumbs my kids drop on the floor. it's great for doing spot cleaning.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (25)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
7/29/2011
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I've been using B/D dust busters for years. This new nozzle design is the only thing I dont like It's powerful but you must hold it on a angle which limits your capabilities. I also bought the traditional style which is not quite as powerful doesn't suck up water but I like it better. CHV 4800 is that model no And it's a few dollars less
Was this review helpful?
Yes (15)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
No suction
2/5/2011
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This handvac is not great. The suction is horrible on the dry side. I've never used it as a wet vac so that could be better.You basically have to position the opening of the vac to get a little bit of nothing to suck up in the vacuum.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (19)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Works great for cleaning my computer keys
3/12/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Very nice and light little vacum A+
Was this review helpful?
Yes (12)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
there are way better choices out there
1/20/2012
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Walmart associate
I'm going to start off by saying hopefully the issues i have faced while using this product were just a manufacturer's defect,because the battery life was so terrible i couldn't understand this to be intentional. well i purchased this item for the purpose of cleaning out my car and as with any new device that requires the battery to be recharged, i allowed it to charge for several hours before use. my first impression was very positive,the power it had was very nice for the price. however to my dismay the battery quickly died and i was shocked. so i again charged it,this time for a little longer. it was my assumption that i didnt charge it long enough,seeing how there was no real way of knowing when it was fully charged.(there is a red light indicating that it is receiving a charge but it never went away) and again i went to use it in my car,same thing. i'd say it took about 5 minutes to lose about half of its power,and about 7-8 minutes for it to completely die! another issue i had with it was that you have to have the vacuum completely straight up for it to be effective, no angle or it will not do a very good job. i would have been able to live with this if it was a little forgiving, this however was not the case. also i would like to add that they didn't think the ease of storage over very well, because it has no stand, it is just a cord you have to plug in tho the wall and the device, i know there are quite a few other similar products that offer a charging stand, and i would say that is a lot more convenient. this may not bother you individually, but my preference would have been a charging stand or at the very least some kind of mount for a wall. so overall i would say this purchase was not worth it. if other people had better battery life then it isnt a bad product for the price, i was very disappointed and ended up returning it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Product!
6/1/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I bought this as a gift for my roommate kindof as a joke for his birthday, because he likes to clean. He really likes it though, and so do I. Easy to use, picks up the finest dirt and hair, and the fact that it works on wet spills too is a great bonus. I would definitely recommend this product to anyone looking for a good dustbuster. Well done Black & Decker!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
STINKS
10/14/2011
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
It has no suction power to get anything at all, i could pick up more with my hands then this does, i wanted it to pick up some crumbs left after the kids eat and to clean up the highchair....it picks up hardly anything.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Poor quality product
8/13/2012
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This product has low suction after just 2 or 3 uses and sounds like the bearings are bad in the motor. I have spent 30 years as a mechanic and I know the sound of bad bearings. This appliance needs a redesign in the worst way.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Dust buster
10/30/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I cannot live with my dust buster. This one was a gift for our daughter and son in law tho for a Anniversary present. Their's was worn out after 10 years.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
7/5/2011
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
item was missing the attachment to hang on wall....item cup that you remove to empty it very hard to get back on once it is off.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
10/26/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
have used nothing but black and decker products and even tho the suction does not last more than a year, still like the product
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
BD dustbuster
1/12/2017
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Got this for my daughter after another brand kept dying out. I've still got 2 dustbusters from years ago that still run however little! Best thing my kids dad gave me besides my girl was my first dustbuster and I've been using hand vacs all over the house ever since but Black and Decker are of the better brands. The only thing I don't like is the newer ones have the plug in and my old ones just rest on the wall mount....no wire to plug into vac.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Died after a month of usage.
1/25/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I had this vacuum for a month and used it daily to pick up loose kitty litter around the litter box and it simply died! Who builds a product that lasts ONE month? Black & Decker.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
I was disappointed.
10/3/2011
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I need more power. Convenient and light, easy to clean.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Disappointed!!!
5/13/2011
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Vac has nice power and picks up well, however it will clog the filter at the "hint" or hair or lint. I have dustballs (often) and this will pick it up fine. BUT, I have to unclog the foam filter each time or even between swipes! What a waste... if I wanted to handle all the dirt, I would simply pick it all up with my hands. Will try to return this - even after use.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
No charger bracket
1/25/2012
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The vac is fine. The problem is the manufacturer does not provide a wall bracket for this model, hence it has to lay on the floor while being charged. I did not notice this limitation when I ordered; otherwise I would have bought the other model that comes with charger bracket.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184640661, DC-prod-dfw3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-