Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 98 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

98 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

98 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

63%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
45
4 stars
12
3 stars
9
2 stars
6
1 stars
26
1-20 of 79 total reviews
63%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 79 total reviews
1-20 of 79 reviews
What I expected!
4/24/2011

Customer review by DBPA

5.0 stars 4/24/2011 by DBPA
by DBPA

I had a bissell that stopped working after a month, returned for another that stopped after 2 months, so now I have the shark and I like it so much better! Cleans my laminate floors and leaves them instantly dry, couldn't be happier with it. I would like to point out that the description says this comes with a triangle attachment and it does not...at least there wasn't one in my box and no mention on the box that there should be. $140 was a bit more than I wanted to spend, but with the detachable portion, I felt like I was getting two products in one. Not sorry a bit.

Was this review helpful? (278) (38)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DBPA
Lancaster, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great product
5/1/2011

Customer review by cheesecakeluva

5.0 stars 5/1/2011 by cheesecakeluva
by cheesecakeluva

this steam cleaner is great, it has 3 different settings from light to heavy duty. the water tank comes out and u can use it to clean stuck on messes like inside the refrigerator and on the stove. it comes with 2 pads for the floor and a carpet glider. I love it. Much better than mop and bucket, and soooo much steam comes out.

Was this review helpful? (241) (30)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cheesecakeluva
jacksonville fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
I gave this a try
7/18/2011

Customer review by Eurogirl

2.0 stars 7/18/2011 by Eurogirl
by Eurogirl

We're in the middle of a move and had hoped this steamer would have helped my cleaning efforts a whole lot more. I chose this because of all the attachments, the features such as the handheld unit and that it swivels. It looks nice too. Floor cleaning: It's okay and does an okay job. Although the unit is light & easy to handle, it put a strain on my wrist after a short while. It's because the swivel feature is constantly "swiveling" to the left or right as it moves forward, which of course then made my hand/wrist have to move/adjust with it's directional-forward motion. I'm thinking the swivel feature needs to be tighter, so that the user can readily turn it whichever way when we need to, but not that unit is so loose that it turns by itself. It let out a nice amount of steam, but wasn't continuous. The settings are a neat option, although, since I'd want to really get floors clean & sanitized I'd always use highest steam release. The steam was hot, but to me, it didn't seem to be super hot enough to honestly sanitize. I had read a review, somewhere, that the particular loopy pads that come with this unit are not as effective as the non-loopy pads from an older model. It all seems flimsy to me and not worth the huge expense for all that plastic. The unit does not stand by itself, so you have to hold it while attaching another pad or take a moment to detach the floor attachment from unit, lean it up against something so you have two free hands to put on a new pad. TIP: As with all steam floor mops you DO have to sweep/vacuum the floor first, just like you would prior to any style of mopping. Above floor "removable" unit: I thought this such a clever and convenient idea, and simple to use - and it is, BUT it turned out to be a complete waste of time. Not worth the money! Was more like a toy. Steam sputtered out and did not come out hot. I let it sit in case it needed more time. It made no difference. Came out barely warm with no steam force whatsoever. I tried it on my glass top stove, oven door and counters - nah! Just completely useless! It has no cleaning ability at all. I will add that I have had prior Steam Cleaning experience: 12 years ago, when I lived in Germany, I had a "Merlin" (German brand Canister Steam Mop & accessories) It was awesome! I freshened up floor & stair carpet and it really worked on kitchen & bathroom grime. My daughter had stopped by while I was in trying out the Shark. She asked about it and said that she misses cleaning with steam as we did years ago. I haven't had a steam mop/cleaner since we came back to the States, and so I was eager to borrow my friend's HAAN steam mop (last week). The cleaning power for floor & carpet resembled that of my German unit. It did a perfect job on cleaning the floors - unlike this Shark. I will be returning this Shark. After using it I'm not at all impressed with it, nor confident it's ability to clean. Not sure at this point which steam mop I'll purchase next, but am leaning towards the brand my friend has. I can't afford a canister type.

Was this review helpful? (227) (34)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Eurogirl
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Product
4/24/2011

Customer review by jynxie

5.0 stars 4/24/2011 by jynxie
by jynxie

I love this steam mop. I had originally thought to purchase the vac n steam, but since I already have a vac that does the trick on my floors, I went with the pro steam mop. Super easy to use, does a great job on both my wood and tile floors. The detachable steamer is a great feature for spot cleaning and steaming. I am very satisfied with this product!

Was this review helpful? (137) (30)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jynxie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
4/22/2011

Customer review by CarolinGirl

5.0 stars 4/22/2011 by CarolinGirl
by CarolinGirl

A friend of mine recommended the Shark..I took the chance and was very very pleased with the job it did..Will not use my mop again.

Was this review helpful? (58) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CarolinGirl
Boiling Springs,SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Mixed reactions with this steam mop
9/3/2011

Customer review by ArizonaJarhead

3.0 stars 9/3/2011 by ArizonaJarhead
by ArizonaJarhead

I love the looks of this steam mop and the idea of what it should be able to do. But so far I have mixed reactions to it. The carpet refresher works great. Our dog peed on the carpet and the steamer was the only thing that seemed to get the smell out. When used on the floor, it seems to dry almost instantly, unlike my other mop, which I had to wipe up spots. I love the idea of the mop heads covering both sides and staying together with Velcro strips. My other steam mop only covered the bottom half and had the tendency to fall off quite a bit. It also is bigger, to cover more floor space and you can use both sides. But that being said, the new material for this steam mop does not pick up the dirt like their material they used on the older models. I have used both on this mop. The old mop heads while picking up much better is much harder to push than the new mop heads. The new ones while much easier to push, leave a lot to be desired for cleaning the floors. There has to be a happy medium between the two and they haven't found it yet. Using the hand held steamer, doesn't work nearly as well putting out steam as it does attached to the unit. It spits and sputters, depending on what angle you hold it. You have to keep your hand on the trigger all the time to keep steam coming out. I love the fact that the mop head sits so close to the ground and has so many steam holes in it. You can get right up and under the cabinet overhangs that you can't do with several other steam mops. Over all, the idea and design is excellent. They need to come out with a better mop cloth though, that pushes almost as easy as this one does, but picks up dirt as well as the old style mop cloth did. Also work on getting the hand steamer to steam as good using it by hand as it does on the floors. Knowing the pluses and minuses of this mop, I would buy it again. Especially if they come out with a better mop head cloth.

Was this review helpful? (45) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ArizonaJarhead
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
a wonderful home product
9/30/2011

Customer review by homeproductsareme

5.0 stars 9/30/2011 by homeproductsareme
by homeproductsareme

The steam helps dislodge dirt from surfaces and the mop picks it right up. The attachments are easy to use and store and effective. I use it after I've used detergents, etc., it picks up the remainder of dirt making you feel clean. The pull away option is worth the money. A must have product.

Was this review helpful? (22) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
homeproductsareme
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
Shark Lift n Nothing
4/21/2011

Customer review by DeAnn81

1.0 stars 4/21/2011 by DeAnn81
by DeAnn81

I was very excited to find a good price on the Shark steam mop. The pads seemed enviro-friendly. No more throwing away wipes from the "swiper". This machine was a toss, wash and reuse type. I got this home to find the options for steam didn't function. I went through troubleshooting but the operator advised I return the unit. I exchanged without any hassles from my local store for the same product (my choice there). I unbox the new one to find out the steamer produces no steam whatsoever. I went through the same process to try to fix the issue. None of the CSR suggestions resolved the machines problems. I still have the steamer because I let them dry with cap off before returning (stale water can cause sickness). I plan on returning the shark for a eureka steamer. I will lose the ability to use the hand held portion, but maybe I will FINALLY get the steam I crave.

Was this review helpful? (42) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DeAnn81
Indy
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Top 500 contributor
This mop does nothing that it claims to do!
7/25/2011

Customer review by princess754545454

1.0 stars 7/25/2011 by princess754545454
by princess754545454

This was a huge waste of money! Sometimes steam comes out, sometimes it doesn't. After mopping my floor on the strongest setting I took a damp cloth over the floor and it was still dirty! My publix brand mop and bucket does a much better job! I'm sure the steam does sanitize but it does not get the dirt of your floor-what a waste!!!

Was this review helpful? (29) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
princess754545454
Would recommend to a friend? No
We love it
10/30/2011

Customer review by Rmud

5.0 stars 10/30/2011 by Rmud
by Rmud

Works great, some may not have the mental fortitude to operate. These may be the complainers on this product. Once again we just love this thing.

Was this review helpful? (24) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rmud
Otterbein, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
11/4/2011

Customer review by Gymmama152

5.0 stars 11/4/2011 by Gymmama152
by Gymmama152

I bought this after doing a facebook poll and having many friends reply about how much they loved their Shark. Walmart had a great price and I was able to do site to store with same day pickup. What I love most about the Shark is no buckets of dirty water and cleaning products. The Shark uses steam so it's safe for the home and no harsh chemicals. My husband even used the detachment to steam our new curtains and they look great. I am very pleased with our Shark mop.

Was this review helpful? (18) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gymmama152
Stafford, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Time consuming appliance.
10/7/2011

Customer review by BeBe59

1.0 stars 10/7/2011 by BeBe59
by BeBe59

I bought the steam mop on a friend's recomendation but it does not live up to promise. While the concept of the product is great the performance is lacking. The mop will steam floors but it takes an incredible amount of time and mopping actions need to be repeated multiple times to achieve a clean floor. I would not recommend this product. Very disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (18) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BeBe59
AR
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
The handheld is not so great
1/10/2012

Customer review by Queencreekmom70

3.0 stars 1/10/2012 by Queencreekmom70
by Queencreekmom70

I bought the Shark® Lift-Away™ Professional Steam and used it a few times. The mop itself works really well but the handheld only works for a few seconds. It runs out of steam really quick. It took me over an hour to clean then nooks and crannies of my kitchen (which is not very big) because I had to constantly wait for it to regenerate steam again. It spits out steam in short bursts making it difficult to really get the "grunge" up. When the steam does work it's great but it takes for-e-ver!

Was this review helpful? (17) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Queencreekmom70
Queen Creek, AZ.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Poor Value - Short Lived Product
9/18/2011

Customer review by Bob981

1.0 stars 9/18/2011 by Bob981
by Bob981

I have purchased two of these steam cleaners of this model. The first lasted one year. I was happy with the performance so I bought another. In just over one year this one failed also, the same as the other. No steam. I would recommend looking at other brands.

Was this review helpful? (22) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bob981
Lansdale, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
9/27/2011

Customer review by Katie47803

5.0 stars 9/27/2011 by Katie47803
by Katie47803

Best invention ever! I bought the older version initiall and decided to test it. I mopped my floor with a water/bleach mixture and a new mop head...then I went back over it with the shark. The floor was so filthy!! You could tell it was clean by the way it felt. I love it! I am really looking forward to the hand held attachment.

Was this review helpful? (16) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Katie47803
Terre Haute, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not heavy duty, but works well
6/26/2012

Customer review by Mrimpatient

4.0 stars 6/26/2012 by Mrimpatient
by Mrimpatient

This item is not perfect but works well. We have all hard flooring through out the house, so I have not tried it on carpet. I purchased this to replace my mop. I was tired of mixing cleaning chemicals and/or buying replacement pads for swifters or whatever. This was an awesome replacement for that. Some nastier grim requires a little extra effort, but eventually cleans up. The jet spray removed marker and crayons from the wall very well. Sometimes the steam does slow, I believe a better water pickup design is in need. Usually a shake gets it going again. This isnt a heavy duty or mock industrial/commercial type unit. But for basic daily housework, it does excellent things. Have recommended to multiple friends and let them test out mine. 2 or 3 bought the same unit and are very happy. Owned my for about 4 or 5 months now, with no deterioration in performance. Overall, very happy with the purchase.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mrimpatient
Fort Campbell, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellant
10/6/2011

Customer review by internetsurfer

5.0 stars 10/6/2011 by internetsurfer
by internetsurfer

My wife has issues with allergies, this until has already shown to help and the floors are much cleaner then mopping.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
internetsurfer
Wautoma, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great steam mop for all
4/23/2012

Customer review by 123snap

5.0 stars 4/23/2012 by 123snap
by 123snap

I love this mop. It's easy to use and the floors dry unbelievably quick. I also like it's many uses/attachments. My house has wood and tile flooring, this machine makes it so much easier to clean them. The steam mop eliminates the use of mops and pails, so there's no worries of spilling large quantities of water from a bucket or of dripping mops which would create more clean up and lots of hassle- having had previous back surgeries the bending and lifting with using a pail and mop to clean my floors is a huge bother and painful. The settings allow you to dust, mop or scrub mop. I have not used the "handheld" part of the unit yet for steamming out wrinkles in drapes or clothing but I'm sure it will do the job just as well. The "carpet glider" attachment is great for freshening up any rug(s). Also, the length of the electrical cord on this unit is awesome, I can plug it into one outlet and clean 3-4 rooms at a time (according to my home's floor plan). Purchasing this item was the best idea and well worth it.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
123snap
Northern part of RI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
This is Awful
5/22/2011

Customer review by monkeycoop4

1.0 stars 5/22/2011 by monkeycoop4
by monkeycoop4

This item does not work. It stays on for about 10 seconds at a time and cleans nothing!!!! When trying to use the inner attachment nothing happens whatsoever. Save your money and us a manual mop. At least they actually clean.

Was this review helpful? (22) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
monkeycoop4
Dallas TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Not for Tile and Grout!
7/13/2011

Customer review by Tilegirl

1.0 stars 7/13/2011 by Tilegirl
by Tilegirl

Ran two containers of water through this on "scrub" and it did nothing to my relatively clean floors. I let it dry and followed up with the swiffer wet jet which did a MUCH better job. Don't waste your money or get your hopes up. It sent steam everywhere and did NO good!

Was this review helpful? (14) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tilegirl
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 79 total reviews
1-20 of 79 reviews