Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 59 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

59 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

59 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
35
4 stars
18
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 stars
5
1-20 of 40 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 40 total reviews
1-20 of 40 reviews
A little pricey if you just need the space.
2/20/2011

Customer review by PTNDSLR

4.0 stars 2/20/2011 by PTNDSLR
by PTNDSLR

Background: I am a semi-pro photographer looking for additional local short-term storage solution aside from my HP Media Smart Server (more long term limited need to access for editing). I am using the WD Dard Drive with a Dell Inspiron Desktop using USB 2.0 under Windows 7 (64 bit). Western Digital is a reputable brand for all types of storage solutions. This WD drive installed quickly and painlessly; even the packaging is easy to deal with. WD includes a longer than standard USB cable, which was a really nice surprise. The drive IS NOT powered by USB and requires an electrical outlet nearby. NOTE: I strongly recommend you do not install the typical WD software. Instead, rely on backup software already on your OS or Microsoft's Sync Toy (I use to replicate my client photo sessions folders). This will allow you to avoid conflicts I always seem to encounter. WD software is not needed and the drive is pre-formatted. Literally, "plug and play." WD provides little hard copy documentation. However, everything you need is provided (startup poster). For some reason, people are still hung up on the lack of documentation. Everything you need is in the box and any information you could want is on their site. IMHO, the less paper, the better. Upon installation, the drive was immediately recognized by my computer. The drive is incredibly quiet with no fan noise and I have to look at the light on the front of the unit to determine if it is on unless I have my drives open on my computer. The drive sits upright (or you can lay it down and stack drives) and is barely noticeable next to my computer. The drive comes with a Kennsington lock slot and the ability to password protect drive contents. Speed: I am not a test freak so my tests are based on practical usage. I transferred 25 GB of Raw image files (about 12-18 mb a piece) in about 15 minutes @ USB 2.0. The drive did not hesitate once during this process (straight copy over as opposed to SyncToy replication). My system backups seem slower, though acceptable. There is no noticeable adverse impact on computer performance when using the drive, so you can easily continue working on other tasks. As I sometimes edit large Raw files directly on the WD drive, I can comment that the speed was more than acceptable for my purposes (using Nikon Capture NX2 and Photoshop CS5). However, pro-photographers would probably need a faster solution. In summation, I trust WD and find this drive a great solution for my needs. I recommend this drive. If anything changes, I will update my review.

Was this review helpful? (76) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PTNDSLR
NC, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Top 25 contributor
Fast and Economical Backup Solution.
9/2/2012

Customer review by PerfesserBear

5.0 stars 9/2/2012 by PerfesserBear
by PerfesserBear

My 1 TB HP external hard drive went up in smoke less than two years after I bought it. That is to say, the USB adapter in the case went south -- the drive itself kept on cranking, after I hooked it up with a Frankenstein cable gizmo most hackers would have handy. Before I came to the (now) obvious solution of replacing the HP's case, I'd already ordered the Western Digital My Book Essentials 3TB USB 3.0 External Hard Drive from Walmart. They had the best price and quick, free, Site to Store delivery. Why Western Digital? As a professional geek (my degree says I'm a Computer Scientist) I've spent far too much of my life trying to save data on dying hard drives -- usually other people's data. Many of those failing drives have been made by one or another of the companies that became S__g_t_. In fact, one of THEIR drives failed in my laptop last month -- (growl). So far in my life, I have had one (count 'em, 1) Western Digital hard drive fail. It was a 500GB 'My Book' in the cords of which one of our dogs kept getting himself tangled. It hit the floor one time too many (an event probably in the double digits) and it finally failed due to compound concussions. I replaced my backup drive with the new 3TB USB 3 Western Digital My Book (and the laptop hard drive with a new WD 500 GB -- but that's another review). My 2-1/2-year-old HP laptop didn't have USB 3.0. No problem -- the new drive is backward compatible with USB 2.0 computers -- the cable works fine. It was still screamin' fast, but it could do better. I ordered it with the SIIG SuperSpeed USB 3.0 2-Port ExpressCard Adapter -- once that came in, it REALLY started to scream. I shoot a lot of photographs with a digital SLR camera, and I use the 'RAW' format to store more complete picture data. Those files are HUGE -- 20 MB or more each -- and remember that an old floppy disk only holds 1.44 MB. The WD My Book 3TB USB 3.0 roared through backing up my photo directories in short time. Do you really need a back-up hard drive? Ask yourself if you have anything on your computer you can't easily replace. Kid pictures, tax records, downloaded music (which I'm SURE you paid for), work-related files, and/or saved video games. Do you trust your computer's hard drive to survive mechanical breakdown, electronic failure, lightning damage and viruses? I trusted S__g_t_ and they failed me. I still trust Western Digital, and I think you should, too.

Was this review helpful? (21) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PerfesserBear
Eastern Connecticut
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
6/22/2011

Customer review by PositiveWaves

5.0 stars 6/22/2011 by PositiveWaves
by PositiveWaves

Good value. Buying online and then picking up in the store saves about $10 over in store price. If you have USB 3.0, this would be a good thing. USB 2.0 backing up 1.4TB took 23 hours. No problem accessing data for applications, USB 2.0 seems to be a good fit for my needs.

Was this review helpful? (22) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PositiveWaves
Bloomington, Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
5/21/2011

Customer review by STJester

4.0 stars 5/21/2011 by STJester
by STJester

Western Digital is notorious for installing there own software on the drives. The size of this drive makes it difficult to format like you would any other drive. Once you download the WD software and use it to "unlock" and format the drive it works great. All 3T in one partition.

Was this review helpful? (18) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
STJester
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Value, Fantastic Product
8/10/2011

Customer review by LADC

5.0 stars 8/10/2011 by LADC
by LADC

I have owned Western Digital My Books for years. I was very happy to see Western Digital come out with the 3 TB My Book hard drive. If you are looking for a fantastic external hard drive with performance and max storage capacity this is the drive for you. Why buy anything with less capacity, less reliability, or less value; the cost per Gigabyte is the lowest on the market for stand-alone hard drives. Over the past 6 years I have never had a My Book crash; they are well vented for good cooling. I have never lost data with any My Book (I wish I could say that for other brands I have had the misfortune of owning). If you are looking for a more portable external hard drive that runs without external power, then the My Book 2.5 passport 1 TB is great. I also have a few of these. However if you want something with the highest capacity then buy the My Book 3 TB and you will be very happy with its performance and stability. After all you can never have too much hard drive storage. I have been using with laptops since 1985 and have learned a thing or two about external hard drives.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LADC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good, but some issues
6/27/2011

Customer review by Shantha

4.0 stars 6/27/2011 by Shantha
by Shantha

I use this with Windows 2003 Server. When I tried to copy 35 Gb files to the HDD, it fails as I received the HDD. But when I format it NTFS using Windows 2003, then larger files can be copied to the HDD.

Was this review helpful? (12) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Shantha
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
WD - Ext. Hard Drive
9/8/2011

Customer review by HooverDA

5.0 stars 9/8/2011 by HooverDA
by HooverDA

Easy to setup , no problems , neat backup feature , lets you setup folders to watch , as soon as an item is added to folder it automatically backs up item. Haven't had any problems from it.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HooverDA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
great product we can't live without
7/3/2012

Customer review by trisha3030

5.0 stars 7/3/2012 by trisha3030
by trisha3030

My husband and I bought a 3TB drive from Walmart over a year ago and we love it; we just bought another 3TB drive again from them cause we still need more storage space; we've got family pics, movies, tv shows, music and much more going onto these drives. We couldn't live without them.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
trisha3030
Richland Hills, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great 3Tb External Hard Drive & included software.
7/13/2011

Customer review by Tfsguitar

5.0 stars 7/13/2011 by Tfsguitar
by Tfsguitar

As I have come to expect from Western Digital over many years of using their products, this one is first class in every way. Every thing was included for a quick installation of the 3Tb drive and the included backup software (on the drive) was easy to install. The USB2 cable was included. I have thousands of photos and many home recorded music files; using this drive gives me a feeling of confidence that I have a current backup copy.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tfsguitar
Caney, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
10/17/2011

Customer review by SlydrVet

5.0 stars 10/17/2011 by SlydrVet
by SlydrVet

I purchased the Western Digital My Book Essentials 3TB external drive for the purpose of backing up my video collection. So far the product has worked very well. For a few dollars more, I was able to purchase the 3TB from WalMart as compared to 1 and 2TB hard drives from other electronic stores. The value was exceptional!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SlydrVet
McKenzie, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
10/20/2011

Customer review by hobbyphotographer

5.0 stars 10/20/2011 by hobbyphotographer
by hobbyphotographer

I love this device. I store alot of large photo files and it is very user friendly and has worked well with my Gateway laptop. I really like the fact that it almost installs itself. This is my 2nd WD backup and I will probably buy a 3rd. Ellen

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hobbyphotographer
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
9/29/2011

Customer review by raul1823

5.0 stars 9/29/2011 by raul1823
by raul1823

i have three of them and i love it. i would recommend to anybody who is looking for a reliable external hard drive.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
raul1823
98104
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
9/4/2011

Customer review by TechUser222

5.0 stars 9/4/2011 by TechUser222
by TechUser222

Easy to setup and works well for my intended purpose: backup of my pictures and documents.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TechUser222
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great product for lots and lots of storage
6/17/2012

Customer review by jtotexans

5.0 stars 6/17/2012 by jtotexans
by jtotexans

I bought this product for my hd camcorder to transfer the video's onto this hard drive. My Hard drives on my computer were filling up pretty quick since the video's were recorded in hd video. So yes I recommend this product for anyone that needs storage.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jtotexans
Mena, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
10/6/2012

Customer review by JRVI

5.0 stars 10/6/2012 by JRVI
by JRVI

Excellent product, the file security when disconnected is a very good feature

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JRVI
USVI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good Buy
1/24/2013

Customer review by ftswar

5.0 stars 1/24/2013 by ftswar
by ftswar

This is a very good buy. If you want to get savvy you can delete all the WD stuff it comes preloaded with and hook it up to a netgear WIFI router with USB 3.0 ports (sold here on walmart.com e.g netgear) and have an ultra fast / ultra cheap personal data cloud for your entire house. Whatever your endgame is just make sure you have or can get a USB 3.0 interface to plug it into, the speed difference is jaw dropping. In other words "Great Buy!".

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ftswar
Willowick, Oh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Another Fine product from Western Digital
1/24/2013

Customer review by kaylward

5.0 stars 1/24/2013 by kaylward
by kaylward

I purchased one of these units a few weeks ago to free up space on my laptop's solid state hard drive. The solid state drives are lightning fast, but they have limited space, so I needed more storage for my graphic work. This unit installed flawlessly! That was my first surprise. Every internal drive I've ever installed required flipping DIP switches, formating, and manual file transfer. This unit came pre formatted, software and documentation right on the drive, and adequate instructions for a trained monkey to succeed! All that was required was to plug the unit in, connect the power supply, and turn it on. Then just follow the on-screen instructions, decide how you want to use the unit, and run your first backup. I did an initial update to the software, as included software is always one generation behind. But from there it was painless. I had one question (which I would have known the answer to if I had paid attention), and the support was quick, effective, polite and easy. No problems! This was the first unit I have connected to my USB 3.0 port, so I was a bit lost here. The included cable has a blue mark inside the connector, as does your computer, if you have one. The documentation did say anything about that . . . on the box or otherwise. But blue to blue does equal USB 3.0, and lightning fast transfer rates. I was able to transfer over 175Gb in just over 20 minutes. Anyone who has worked with large file transfers knows that these speeds just don't happen on USB 2.0. This is a real timesaver. The unit is also extremely quiet. No more sounds of jet engines firing up to transfer files. And it goes into sleep mode to conserve energy when not used for a time. Wake up is quick, quiet and seamless when it is needed. Western digital includes flexibility in the installation too. You can install it 3 different ways: With the included automatic software that does everything for you, as a free unit that you control completely that requires downloading a free software pack to keep the unit from reinstalling each time you turn on your computer, and the third falls someplace in between. I didn't delve into the other two methods, as the included software does what I want. It also allow me to use Explorer to manually create file folders, and do manual storage of files completely separate from the automatic system. I liked this feature, as I don't have to do a restore to access the files I am routinely working with. It just acts like any other hard drive on the computer when needed. If you ever need to do a "Restore", they give you the option to restore from the automatic file system either to the original location, or a special file folder on your hard drive. Very useful, if you have added a lot of work since the backup was made. It will also allow for 5 completely different backup groups, so you can keep old footprints of your work. Never know when that revision from the beggining of the project turns out to be the one the customer wanted all along! I know 3Tb seems like a lot today, but Western Digital likes to think ahead. The software allows for control of up to 3 of these drives. When I bought my first Pentium 100, it came with a HUGE 1Gb hard drive, and everyone thought I was nuts to buy that much storage space. Now my new computer could not even load the operating system with so limited an amount of RAM, much less hard drive space. Always good to think ahead. All in all. . . This is a great little drive! Takes up hardly any space, it's easy to use, has gobs of storage capacity, makes hardly any noise, and I doubt it even uses much energy with the green features. Go ahead and get one!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kaylward
Edgewoo, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent Drive
1/25/2013

Customer review by JoeSmoo

5.0 stars 1/25/2013 by JoeSmoo
by JoeSmoo

I used it to back up over 400 HD movies.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JoeSmoo
Tampa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Price
7/9/2013

Customer review by Sleepyhallow

5.0 stars 7/9/2013 by Sleepyhallow
by Sleepyhallow

Already a fan of Western Digital and this was the best price online at the time.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sleepyhallow
Simi Valley, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome External HD
10/31/2012

Customer review by TheRev8

5.0 stars 10/31/2012 by TheRev8
by TheRev8

Moved all video, music, and photos from my C: drive over to the 3TB drive which freed up 50% of my C: drive. Recording and taking photos of my grandkids sporting events means thousands of clips and photos and here is what's awesome...this thing used very little of its space to do so. Very happy with this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TheRev8
Marion, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 40 total reviews
1-20 of 40 reviews