Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 39 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

39 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

39 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

85%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
16
4 stars
11
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 stars
4
1-20 of 37 total reviews
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 37 total reviews
1-20 of 37 reviews
Warning! Read before you buy
5/11/2011

Customer review by truthasIseeit

1.0 stars 5/11/2011 by truthasIseeit
by truthasIseeit

We have had 3 other Intex pools. When the pump quit on the one we have had for 2-3 years, we decided to get the bigger 24' X 52" pool. We went with Intex because we have had good luck with our other pools. We used the same spot our other pool was so we only had to level up a little more ground. This pool does not have a ground cover. Not sure why because all the others do. Set up pretty easy. As mentioned in other reviews there is no rope around the bottom but that did not effect set up. Started filling the pool. Even with the size, it was the best set up ever. No wrinkles at all in the bottom. We got the pool a little half way filled the first day. We walk out the next morning to find water all around the pool. Not only was the seam on the bottom leaking, but both of the valves used to empty the pool was leaking as well. Intex does not open until 11:30 our time because they are in California. My husband called customer service and the guy told him he had three choices. We could either take the entire pool down and return it 2. We could take the pool down, find the leak and patch it or 3. We could cut parts out of the pool and mail it to them and within 30 days after testing we would get a replacement liner shipped to us. My husband told them we had already filled the pool halfway and there was over 7000 gallons of water in the pool. The customer service rep snickered and said we should just be glad it was not all the way full. I got home & called customer service and ask for a manager. The CSR told me she did not have the capability to transfer a call but she could take my name and number and someone would call in 24 hours. I know they can't do anything about the water which cost us probably $100, but they could at least offer you free filters or something since their product was defective. I did call corporate headquarters and got a cust. svc. mgr. who was nice but did nothing. She did tell me we could cut the side of the pool to get the water out faster. Other than that, she was useless. We had read the other review where it took them a couple of months to get a replacement liner so we took the pool down and back to Wal-Mart and exchanged it. We got the second pool home and opened the box to find the liner damaged so back to Wal-Mart for a refund this time. I think the problem is the packaging. The pool boxed weighs 350# and the box itself is huge. It is almost impossible to move the box without dragging it. All the boxes in the store look beat up. Also, the plastic straps that hold the box together cut into the box due to the weight. The liner has no protection around it except a plastic bag. On our second pool the strap cut into the box and cut the liner. Maybe if Intex would package the pool liner in styrofoam, they would not have so many problems with the larger heavier pools. We ended up going somewhere else to buy a new pool but we are still out the price of 7000 gallons of water and three trips to the store with nothing to show for it. With the smaller pools we had no trouble. Beware if you do have a problem with any of their pools, Intex customer service is useless.

Was this review helpful? (102) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
truthasIseeit
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? No
Years of use!
5/22/2011

Customer review by Buzz2410

5.0 stars 5/22/2011 by Buzz2410
by Buzz2410

This is going on year three for us using this pool! It has weathered features but still looks great! We bought the salt water system separate the first year and is still in use! This might sound crazy but we follow the instructions in the video and each winter we take the pool apart and dry it out and store it in our garage. That is the reasoning for the THREE YEARS of great summer memories! Thanks INTEX!

Was this review helpful? (70) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Buzz2410
Fayetteville NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
a great pool
2/19/2011

Customer review by dodge123

5.0 stars 2/19/2011 by dodge123
by dodge123

i love this pool this will be my third summer with this pool love it

Was this review helpful? (98) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dodge123
summerville sc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Product
4/18/2011

Customer review by busyworkingmommyof3

4.0 stars 4/18/2011 by busyworkingmommyof3
by busyworkingmommyof3

This is our 2nd Intex above ground pool. We had the 18 foot one for 5 years and loved it, so we decided to upgrade to the 24 foot. We just got it set up, and it has been a little too cold for use so far, but the set up process was easy. However, Walmart.com says that this product comes with a ground cloth and it does not. I had to purchase one separately.

Was this review helpful? (62) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
busyworkingmommyof3
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Troulbles with our Intex 24X52 Pool
3/29/2011

Customer review by jassemperfi

3.0 stars 3/29/2011 by jassemperfi
by jassemperfi

We purchased our pool last year, 6/24/2010. Put it up and started to fill it when we saw a leak. Called to find out how to repair it and we were instructed to cut hugh pieces out of it and send them to Intex. We finally receive the replacement 8/23/2010. Was able to use it until mid September when fall came. Took the ladder out, did not see any reason for it to stay in all winter. We purchased the salt water filter and love it. NO chemicals. We got out the ladder last week and even after hosing it off and letting it dry it was rusted in spots. Parts of the stanchion were free of rust and then there was rust and then no rust. Most of the ladder inside the pool is rusted. It was like it was processed incorrectly. We called Intex to find out if it was covered under warranty and there is only a 90 warranty on there products. So now this summer we are going to put a deck around part of the pool and purchase a resin ladder to mount to the deck.They should have put a resin ladder with the package or offered either metal coated or resin packages with their pools. For the money it is a good buy. But not happy with the service we have gotten from Intex or the ladder. Poor workmanship

Was this review helpful? (56) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jassemperfi
whigham, ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great pool
4/29/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 4/29/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

We have had this pool for 3 summers now. We had to upgrade the pump ( the original one isnt big enough) and we also converted it to salt water. It has been well worth the money. we leave it up all yr round and havent had any problems with it. We just cover it in the winter and put salt in for the summer. It is really easy to manage and it was really easy to set up!!!

Was this review helpful? (43) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Griffin, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
I love this pool
4/11/2011

Customer review by CrystalBR

5.0 stars 4/11/2011 by CrystalBR
by CrystalBR

We purchased this pool like almost two months ago and we love it. Very affordable for the size and sturdy too. We never used the pump that comes with it because we have an extra in ground pool pump that works excellent with this so I couldn't tell you how the pump is but I figured it can't be too great since this pool holds over 12,000 gals. and the pump is for around 2,500 gals. I do wish it would of had a ground cloth but we had plastic from an older pool that we have under it but the kids and my husband and I love this pool and it is WELL WORTH THE MONEY! It has a cover and ladder and skimmer, etc. and is the best pool investment I've ever bought from intex after buying around 5 of the blue intexs this is the BEST. This pool has very thick walls and floor and is probably at least 3 times stronger than the blue intex pools. I plan to keep it up year round for a few years whereas with the others I had to purchase a new one every year. This is an EXCELLENT PRICE COMPARED TO OTHER POOLS THIS SIZE AND AS LONG AS YOU TAKE GOOD CARE OF IT THEN IT SHOULD LAST A LONG, LONG TIME. IT ALSO COMES WITH A VOLLEYBALL AND NET. THE KIDS EVEN DIVE IN. We love it!!!!

Was this review helpful? (35) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CrystalBR
LAWTEY, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great pool for the $$$$
6/4/2011

Customer review by LHTexas

5.0 stars 6/4/2011 by LHTexas
by LHTexas

I purchase my Intex 24" in 04. This year be the last season. Now it start fall a part on the top where the rails go trough. In winter I keep water in and winterise the pool with good cover. I also purchase real pump, because the small one can't handle the amount of water. I have for it Kreepy Krauly Lil Shark vacuum, what keeps the pool nice and clean with out to much work. All the metal parts still like new. I had never problem with it. I'm in TX so the pool is exposed to high temperatures, and I do understand why the top is now giving up. Great pool, that's all I can say.

Was this review helpful? (27) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LHTexas
Killeen, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
review 1
6/4/2011

Customer review by Patriots78

3.0 stars 6/4/2011 by Patriots78
by Patriots78

I love the value and size of the pool for my family. I opened and set up the pool, the assembly was fairly straight forward but at least two people should be involved for ease. care nees to be used when leveling the ground with a pool this size. I got the pool assembled in about an hour and began filling the pool. after allowing the pool to fill all day I noticed there was a leak somewhere. By the next morning the water had collected all around the pool. I leveled the ground with a rented escivator and placed a 30X50 tarp folded over under the pool, so I am confident that the leak was a defect from the manufacturer. the downside is that I have to drain the pool, which is taking a very long time and return it for another one. The box is over 300lbs and I am sure getting all of that stuff back neatly in the box will prove to be a challenge. Walmart is great and helpful by replacing the pool, Intex wanted me to cut a huge hole from the liner and mail it in saying it would take 30+ days to get another one. By then the summer would be over. After I get a new pool and set it up I will write another review, but as for right now I am not very happy.

Was this review helpful? (27) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Patriots78
OKC Metro
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Great starter pool!
5/25/2011

Customer review by TicketSwims

4.0 stars 5/25/2011 by TicketSwims
by TicketSwims

Not quite as easy to set up as the manual makes it out to be but with some help you can have it up in an afternoon. The biggest issue is getting a level "compacted" surface... once that was done in our very unlevel yard, set up was quick.

Was this review helpful? (20) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TicketSwims
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Now about that RUST ! ! !
4/16/2011

Customer review by GODsJOY25

3.0 stars 4/16/2011 by GODsJOY25
by GODsJOY25

Love this pool. BUT CAUTION ! ...Bought it 5-11-08. Purchased a Saltwater Converter the second year. I started to notice rust on the connecting points of the metal frame. The third year, i had to purchase some replacement parts for the frame ( not cheap ). This year I'll have to replace the entire frame. If i buy only the metal frame It'll cost as much as a new pool. i don't believe that the frame can handle the salt water or worse the water plus chemicals. i don't know how long the life expectancy is, but i expected a little more. The family loves the Pool. I wish the frame was coated better. That's why i gave it a 2 STAR rating Expectation. This was my experience, hope yours is better. I left 2 pics up for review.

Was this review helpful? (28) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GODsJOY25
Longville, Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
6/2/2011

Customer review by AshleyNDerik

2.0 stars 6/2/2011 by AshleyNDerik
by AshleyNDerik

The first year the pool was great, year two, the pump quit working, which by the way is not big enough for the pool and doesnt circulate the water well. It is now year three and the skimmer hose has broken, the pump doesnt work, AND one of the valves broke yesterday when we opened it so water could go through. Basically I will say that you get what you pay for with this pool. Its alot cheaper than other pools its size, but now I see why. It has been nothing but a pain in the you know what. If I can get all the parts relaced it will be a great pool. We got the salt water system this year and were really excited about that but may end up having to buy a new pump too.

Was this review helpful? (25) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AshleyNDerik
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Great pool
3/18/2011

Customer review by DARuss

4.0 stars 3/18/2011 by DARuss
by DARuss

This is the second Intex pool we purchased. The first one was an 18x48 that we put up about 2 months before Huricane Katrina. It took the storm great. We upgraded with this one. Only cons is that the video is for a 15' pool and not very detailed. It shows a ground cloth and the rope that goes around the bottom of the pool and the metal polls. Neither were included in this pool. The setup was even easier than the 18' pool. Love the improvements there.

Was this review helpful? (18) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DARuss
S.E. Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great pool! Great value!
6/16/2011

Customer review by thebunchofus

5.0 stars 6/16/2011 by thebunchofus
by thebunchofus

I have owned this pool for five years and love it! I have owned the high-dollar pool center pools in the past and they have drained my bank account every spring when I opened the pool. In five years the only thing I have had to replace was the pump and that was due to my error. I have drained the pool down to below the intake and removed the fittings for the winter for two years and the pool did fine. This is not recomended by the manufacture. There are 6 kids in my family that enjoy this pool(and they don't baby it) and lots of friends! The pool is not a back yard beauty but I can't say any above ground pool is. I paid $699. for the pool 5 years ago and if it burst today- I still got every penny and more out of this pool.

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
thebunchofus
Dover,DE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
disappointed so far.
4/26/2011

Customer review by Deresa

3.0 stars 4/26/2011 by Deresa
by Deresa

I bought this pool two weeks ago and started to fill it and noticed it had two seam leaks. It looks like it would be nice but now I am afraid of it. With only a 90 day warranty, I dont know what to do. I had to hire someone to pick it up and someone to level the area. If I take it back I will have to hire someone to carry it back to walmart. I will have to pay for filling it about 1/4 of the way up. I bought it for my daughter who has health problems to exercise. She is out exercise and I am out money. The warranty will run out before summer is up. If I order the replacement from the company will have to pay again to fill it up and wait for it. I was on email notification for this one for two weeks and havent seen it in the store since I bought it two weeks ago. I think I will have a problem. I wish I had went with the local pool company and then all this would have been their problem.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Deresa
Cabot, Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
3/28/2011

Customer review by WorkPlayFun

5.0 stars 3/28/2011 by WorkPlayFun
by WorkPlayFun

This pool was very easy to setup and the filter pump works great with the saltwater system (purchased separately)!

Was this review helpful? (11) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WorkPlayFun
Johnsonville, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
will leak get ready
4/23/2011

Customer review by obcop

4.0 stars 4/23/2011 by obcop
by obcop

The pool is the 3rd I bought in 7 years. Main problem with it is when you buy it and have it sent to Walmart it will get damaged and will get a hole in it get ready. No sense in contacting manufacture just get silcone and fix leak and refill. By the way they don't give you glue to put on your pool patch. This is why you need silicone. DONT PUT UP ON A WINDY DAY EITHER THE SIZE IS LIKE A GIANT BALOON. I still like intex but this will be my last pool I buy from them.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
obcop
Olive Branch, Ms
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Not sure yet, we will see.
6/5/2011

Customer review by bpalm763

3.0 stars 6/5/2011 by bpalm763
by bpalm763

Well i wish i had read all the BBB reviews on intex pools before i had purchased this one. Just bought it yesterday and set it up and after filling it through the night (about 18" deep so far) i found a small imperfection that is dribbling water out of it. This was super easy to set up last night but bummed it likely must come back down. The Intex company is apparently aweful to deal with so i am going back to walmart to purchase a service plan and patch kit. The service plan is good for 2 years and i dont have to deal with Intex horrible customer service or wait til the end of the summer to receive a new liner that i cant setup til fall to only find that leaks as well which is what hundreds of consumers have reported to be the case. It is what it is at this point so we are going to make the best of it and enjoy it this summer. Hopefully this pool gives us two years of use

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bpalm763
Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
sooo nice
5/10/2011

Customer review by swimallday

5.0 stars 5/10/2011 by swimallday
by swimallday

i just bought this pool and put it up, it's huge, my whole family is sooo excited, great price for the value.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
swimallday
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
24 foot pool
4/13/2011

Customer review by italynana

4.0 stars 4/13/2011 by italynana
by italynana

We owned the 18 foot one for 4 years and love it. We have out grown that smaller pool and bought this one. The 24 foot pool does not have the rope around the bottom of the pool like the 18ft. one. this makes getting the liner smooth very hard. Make sure when you set up that there is almost no wind that day. We had wind of only 3-5 mph. that day. Without the rope to hold the liner to the uprights it moves a lot in the wind. Which also make plumbing the uprights difficult. Yes we plumb them. Pool took 3 hours to set up ready for filling because of the lack of rope.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
italynana
Pilot Oak Ky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 37 total reviews
1-20 of 37 reviews