Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.2out of 5 stars
4.2 out of 5 | 45 reviews
5 stars
24
4 stars
13
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 stars
1
Sort by: 
1-20 of 41 reviews
1-20 of 41 reviews
4/30/2011
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
My wife and I tested 3 products. The GRACO ULTRA CLEAR ANALOG one was first because it was cheap. then we immediately brought it back to test two others after checking reviews. if you are looking for a simple long-range, clear monitor, then we highly recommend the GRACO SECURE COVERAGE DIGITAL. it works great all the way two houses down and accross the street! plus it has the added vibration which i think is cool. and the rechargeable battery is great too! We finnally settled on the SUMMER INFANT SECURE SIGHT DIGITAL COLOR VIDEO MONITOR for several reasons. first because we liked the added video function. second, the operational distance is almost as good as the long range Graco one above. reachargeable battery too. PLUS, we happened to find it at our Walmart store for only $129!!! we highly recommend either one, depending on the functions your looking for.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (46)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Best Monitor Ever!
4/2/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I purchased about 3 different baby monitors before I purchased this one and every one of them had horrible feedback and static. I can't believe how good the sound is on this monitor and also how great the picture is! When my son goes to bed at night he will not go to sleep unless all the lights are off in his room, of course this makes it hard to see him when we want to check on him. The night vision is awesome, you can see everything perfect and the the distance that it can handle is great too! I have told so many expectant parents about this monitor
Was this review helpful?
Yes (85)No (7)
Report
Was this review helpful?
great monitor
6/11/2011
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We bought this for our preemie daughter after accidently crushing our Graco Digital. For the price, you cannot beat it. Plus, it's only 129 in the stores. The sound exceeds any monitor we've ever had, and we live in an apartment, with no problems. The video is above average in my opinion. The only reason I gave it a 4 instead of a 5 is that after four nights the LED light on the reciever died so we could not see the image. Walmart replaced it no questions asked. Cannot believe I waited this long to buy it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (19)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Really wanted this to work
5/15/2011
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I was so excited to purchase this monitor and was even more excited by the price. I loved the sleek design and large screen. It was so easy to carry on my belt unlike bulkier monitors. When we set it up it worked GREAT for about 3 hours. When we went to bed that night I checked the monitor and it was all blurry like snow. I thought maybe this is just the night vision since I was still new to video monitors. The next day the same thing, I could see my babys crib but there was so much static and "snow". I tried all different locations in my house and moving the camera closer but it did not help. The sound and battery life is great though, but the picture quality is awful. I just returned it to the store and will be trying another one. A huge disappointment.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (13)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
peace of mind
4/9/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We have never used a video monitor before. Our daughter has type 1 diabetes and my wife or I would always get up in the middle of the night to check on her. This monitor has very clear video, very sensitive audio.& very easy to use. You can use it with audio only or turn the video on with a push of a button. Have only had it a week, but great product so far.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (25)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Love.
2/19/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The video monitor is a bit smaller than I had expected but it is actually perfect. Big enough screen to see what you need to but small and light enough that it will not be a pain to carry around (especially how you can put the stand out to stand it up or hook it on your clothing so you can be hands free). Baby isn't due for 9 more weeks but my 4 year old son and I have played around with it to see how far it would reach and how well the sound and video worked and so far I haven't found anything I don't like about it! The video and sound work nicely and there was no set up at all, just plug in the camera and then the monitor and you're good to go! Very happy we decided to go with this. :)
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Very nice
12/5/2011
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I normally don're review every item we buy, but my wife and I are very happy with this monitor. We previously owned another Summer brand monitor, but after much use (and much dropping on the floor#, it no longer worked. We didn't want to spend another $175, so we shopped around. Usually go to Babies R Us, but they didn't have this model. Checked Walmart.com and they did. Found one in stock at a local store. Went to buy it, no problem. Works great. No longer interference that we used to get with the other monitor and the other wireless systems in the house. Picture is very clear. Volume is very loud. Usually don't need it above Level 1 #goes to 5). Battery works great, more than enough to last through the night. Would recommend highly to any couple looking for a monitor. Don't fool around with other brands. This is the one.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Love it!!
5/5/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I did alot of reading of reviews on many video monitors. I felt this one was the best option for the best price. So far, I think I was right on making this purchase. The only complaint is if you have wireless internet, it does interfere with the sound a bit. It's like the sound may go in or out when you load a new web page. We don't use ours that often when using the monitor anyway so it's not a huge issue for us. As for the monitor, the sound quality is excellent! The picture is mostly black & white because it's dark in the room but that is fine. I can see our baby great and love knowing he is ok and sleeping well. I'm very happy with the purchase!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Tried Twice - Failed Twice
8/27/2013
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I received one of these as a baby shower present with glowing recommendations for my twins. It worked beautifully for approx 8 months. Then it decided not to turn on one day and never worked again. I no longer had the receipt or any way to return for a replacement. I attempted to find just the handheld monitor for sale, but with no luck. So I opted to purchase the same exact set (monitor & camera) and just added another camera to the rotation. I purchased the 2nd set 6/11/13. The 2nd monitor also decided to stop working suddenly on 8/26/13. There was no damage, no overheating, no over-charging... just stopped. It may be the battery going bad, but I'm not going to fool with it a second time. I won't buy this brand again. Time to research the next one.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Video Monitor!
3/13/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I purchased this monitor after putting up with a traditional audio only monitor for about 8 months. This monitor is wonderful. I can see my baby boy sleeping soundly in the dark, and I hear him immediately when he wakes up and starts to move before he even cries. The picture and sound quality on this monitor are great. I only wish I had bought this monitor 8 months ago. It has no annoying alerts for temperature changes and signal loss. If the signal happens to fade in and out, all you hear is a little crackle. Overall, I would say this monitor is worth the money. I am extremely satisfied, and can finally sleep through the night.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great product for a good price!
2/6/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We purchased this monitor so we could keep an eye and ear on our granddaughter without having her sleep in our room. The monitor is portable so I am able to have it with me anywhere in the house while our granddaughter naps. We have had no problems with interference from other electronics. I wish this product would have been available when my children were babies!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Don't let the small screen fool you.
5/15/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this video monitor because of the reviews and I have to say, I'm glad I did. I was worried about the small screen but honestly, that's what I love about it. In the middle of the night, the last thing you want to do is stare into a big screen and try and have you eyes adjust to the light. I screen is big enough to see what you need and you can also control the brightness of the screen. My only wish is that it would have come with a second monitor. I like to have one on both sides of the house so I don't have to carry it around.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Worth it!
6/7/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Night vision: scary when the babies eyes are open haha but very nice to actually be able to see her clearly in the dark. Screen: I expected it to be a little bigger, so it is a little on the small side, but you can still see Battery Life: Great! We keep the camera on (plugged in) all night and use the monitor for a few hours at a time and only have to charge it every other day or so. Better than I expected! Sound: When it's not cutting out, the sound is great. It picks up our white noise machine and humidifier as well but we can still hear our three month old over those two machines even if she's only squirming Only thing I'd like to be better is if the mobile is on (because the camera is set up right next to it) it disrupts the frequency and the picture and sound will cut out and skip. Understandable though. Also, if we go outside, even if we're just on the other side of her bedroom wall but outdoors, the same thing happens with the sound and picture cutting out. All in all though, I'm VERY happy with this purchase. And for what, $125 or so, it seems like a super awesome deal. Glad we bought this! I do recommend.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Best ever!
10/20/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I had originally bought another monitor and it was nothing but problems. I decided to get this one in hopes that not all video monitors were terrible and I am so happy I did. The picture and sound are clear. The range on the monitor is great, I can go anywhere in the yard and not have problems. The battery is great compared to my other monitor. I would recommend this to anyone who wants hassle free peace of mind.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Second Summer Monitor Broke
5/27/2013
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Product meets expectations on easy to use, clear picure and no static. However, this is the second one I have had to return since March 2011. The back cracked on both and this last one the volume button stopped working but I had warranties on both luckily so I was able to get new ones. I thought the first one that broke and cracked was just a fluke but the second one just did the same thing. It's too bad the MFG hasnt figured this out. If you buy Summer you better get an exstended warranty because we took good care of ours and they both broke.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Love it!!
2/26/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We love this monitor. It allows you to increase or decrease the volume...which is very helpful as your baby grows. I love the lights which change colors when the baby cries, so if I am across a croweded room and might not be able to hear the monitor, I can see it (as a new mom this is something that I never would have thought of when choosing a monitor). It is a wonderful investment and gives me peace of mind. My friends who have older children also said it is useful as kids get older....so I plan on using it for many years to come.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
6/3/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Ordered this on line at the recommendation of a friend. Order and pick up at store was simple process. It was very easy to set up, and easy to use. My wife and daughter are not technical people and even they had no trouble figuring out how to use it. We purchased this for our daughter, (who's a single Mom). She can easily monitor when our (2-month old), Grandchild is asleep or awake. We've only had it for a couple of weeks so far, but it has worked just as advertised. It is however always in black or while unless the room is brigh with lights or sunshine. The picture is clear and the night vision is good. She's been able to do tasks in kitchen, laundry, etc, even take her dog out in front yard and walk down to the mail boxes (which I guess is probably about 250 feet)....it loses signal occasionally but only for a second or two and she likes being able to know what is going on in the crib. We have old camera case so our daughter can transport it to our house when she comes to visit and stays the night. We are satisfied with this product and may even pick up another monitor later on.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Monitor
10/26/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I love this monitor, I can hear my baby's every move, even when she breathes! The video screen has great quality & the night vision is excellent! We have it mounted right above her crib that way it's always about her plus we can scan her room to make sure a pet isn't in there.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
excellent monitor!
1/26/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is the third video monitor my husband and I have purchased and it is awesome! It has a very clear screen on day and night vision, great range, and the sound is excellent. I can hear the clock in my sons room ticking. I would definitely recommend this monitor.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great monitor
12/7/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Love it! I was very surprised at how clear the picture was. Great value.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184641753, DC-prod-dfw4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-