Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 107 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

107 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

107 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

83%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
50
4 stars
34
3 stars
10
2 stars
6
1 stars
7
1-20 of 101 total reviews
83%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 101 total reviews
1-20 of 101 reviews
Good mower with some limitations
6/15/2015

Customer review by duzt

4.0 stars 6/15/2015 by duzt
by duzt

I have about a .25 acre lawn, so there's really not a lot to it and I thought this would be a good fit. We still purchased a gas mower just in case, but didn't assemble it until we got this push mower to see if maybe we could return the gas mower. But we found out on the front yard that this mower does have its limitations - it's no joke that if you run over any tiny twig it may well seize up and cause you all sorts of problems getting the twig out or trying to chop it in half to get it out of there. I was surprised how well it did in the backyard though, which is really kind of a simple square with not much incline...so I will likely get some use out of it there. The tips and tricks to get the best use out of this push mower include (1) Pick up sticks before mowing; and (2) If you do see a small stick approaching, put a little speed/power behind it and you should be able to plow right through it. For our situation, we'll still have the gas mower as a backup.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
duzt
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Retro Excellence
8/16/2010

Customer review by IdaSen

5.0 stars 8/16/2010 by IdaSen
by IdaSen

The Great States 16" Push Mower is a terrific product that is easy to assemble and use. We used the delivery method that required us to retrieve the product at our local Walmart store. I mention this because the ship-to-store process was remarkably easy, efficient, and saved us delivery charges. A pleasant surprise was the fact that no tools were required to assemble the mover. Assembly was quite simple as well. The performance of the mower is great, rendering even height grass on each successive pass. It is also hearty in that it can be bulled through thick grass without binding.. We noted only a couple of minor shortcomings. First, the foam rubber grips for the handles are of inferior quality to the rest of the mower. Both tore during the first use of the machine. Also, if available we would purchase a grass catcher. Those two very small items aside, this is a terrific product.

Was this review helpful? (21) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
IdaSen
Laramie, Wyoming
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Fun for the kids too!
3/19/2008

Customer review by NSB4me

5.0 stars 3/19/2008 by NSB4me
by NSB4me

I recently came across this mower and I was thrilled. I can get a great workout as we have a large yard. Best of all, the kids love it! They actually fight over who gets to mow the lawn. I remember my Grandparents having one of these whe I was young. It is so nice and simple to just lift it off the porch and go! The only drawback is that the spanish moss or small sticks can jam it up. It's a really easy fix but you have to make sure your area is clear before mowing. If it jams you just reach down and pull out the debris. It is very open and easy to get to. This is the ultimate in the Go-Green mentality! Another plus is that you can use it very early morning and not disturb the neighbors.

Was this review helpful? (77) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NSB4me
New SMyrna Beach, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Leaves more to be desired
8/18/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

2.0 stars 8/18/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I was very excited about getting this new mower because I thought I would be helping the environment in my own way and getting a lawn mower for very cheap. I took it out of the box and put it together on my own with no tools. When I took it outside to try it out, it did great with big leafy grass that beautiful yards are made of, but my yard has a lot of the Y shaped grass with the black seeds on top (my family calls it cow grass but I'm not sure of the technical name) and the mower would not cut these tall pieces of grass. It left some of the highest pieces standing even after I ran over them 2-3 times. I did not go over the entire yard because I was afraid that I would just have to do it 4-6 times to get every piece of grass. I returned it to buy a gas powered mower to save time and energy.

Was this review helpful? (21) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
safety bar
4/22/2010

Customer review by nanny19

3.0 stars 4/22/2010 by nanny19
by nanny19

The safety bar is a pain. You can not pull back on the mower only move forward.

Was this review helpful? (30) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nanny19
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Brings Back Childhood Memories ...
9/21/2009

Customer review by GrassWalker

3.0 stars 9/21/2009 by GrassWalker
by GrassWalker

of my dad mowing the grass with his power mower, and me walking behind him pretending to cut the grass with my plastic toy mower. And now I'm still pretending. I got lost in those memories, much like I got lost in my yard. Didn't I just cut that section? I can't tell. It's the experience that counts. And the exercise. Never mind that I'd get just as much "exercise" with a power mower as with a reel mower. Actually, I'm being a bit harsh. I cut my 1/3 acre with the Great States 16" push mower, and it wasn't as bad as all that. In fact, I wish it had worked out. The mower itself seems well-built. Assembly is about as easy as you can get. 3 winged bolts, 2 clips. If it takes you longer than 10 minutes, you're a tourist who is enjoying the experience. Use and storage means no gas and no gas fumes. It was easy to push, easier than the smallest power mower I've used. Flip the handle over, and you disengage the reel, letting you roll the thing with ease. When it cuts, it cuts very well. And therein lies the rub. It cuts ALMOST fully, say 85%. The taller stuff tends to get bent out of cutting range by what appears to be a safety bar in the front. If not for that bar, it's likely the tall would fall with the small. I did not want to return this mower. I liked everything about it except the 15% strays it left in its wake. If it would have cut those strays after 2 or 3 passes, I would have kept it. But because of that bar, this otherwise impressive little mower couldn't cut those strays no matter how many passes it made. This mower would be good for those with very small yards. If you get the grass cut short once and then keep at it on a regular basis, you won't have problems with tall strays. And if you do end up with strays, they are easy to deal with in a small yard. I would have preferred to keep it. Easy to use and maintain, fairly quiet, no exhaust to breath in, no gas fumes, no need to purchase gas, no sticks or pine cones launched at ballistic velocities to smite neighborhood children. But 15% strays of a large yard ends up being about the same as an entire small yard.

Was this review helpful? (175) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GrassWalker
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
5/28/2011

Customer review by nestene

5.0 stars 5/28/2011 by nestene
by nestene

While the result isn't as manicured as a power mower's would be, it does a good job. When the mower arrived I was especially worried because constant rain for a couple of weeks meant my lawn was really high, and I knew it would have choked our old electric mower. No choking, and while it does get hung up on twigs that problem is for long really bendy twigs that enter perpendicularly. When this mower does clog it's always easy and quick to clear, and this mower produces very little noise. The big benefit that I didn't expect was that since the grass clippings aren't pulverized and flung high, my allergies don't get triggered. Very nice!

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nestene
Ypsilanti, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Green makes you lean and mean
10/18/2009

Customer review by cyberspittle

5.0 stars 10/18/2009 by cyberspittle
by cyberspittle

I wanted to make a difference in the way I live and Walmart helped me do that at a great savings. The mower needs to be assembled. This took me all of 15-20 minutes. Once put together, I put it too work. My small front lawn was in need of mowing for some time (weeks, not days). It was hard going at first, however, once the lawn had been trimmed, successive mows were much easier. I enjoy the exercise, as I work behind a desk all day. My neighbors have complimented me on it and mention they really like how quiet it is. If you have noise sensitive neighbors, need some exercise, and want to make a difference, this is the mower for you!

Was this review helpful? (79) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cyberspittle
Stockton, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Not for crabgrass
5/28/2008

Customer review by TallieJo

3.0 stars 5/28/2008 by TallieJo
by TallieJo

I bought this at the beginning of the season hoping it would prevent me from buying more gas. However, my lawn looks the worst. I have a lot of crabgrass that I am fighting, and this does not cut crabgrass AT ALL. My lawn is covered in stalks after being cut, and you really have to keep up on the lawn mowing. I let it get too long, and it took me an hour and a half to cut what normally takes 45 min. I would say this is a good product if you have a perfect lawn with no variation, and no crabgrass!!!

Was this review helpful? (28) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TallieJo
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
7/27/2009

Customer review by loser26

4.0 stars 7/27/2009 by loser26
by loser26

Easy to assemble, does a good job for a small yard in philadelphia city area. Wouldn't recommend mowing an acre with it. Doesn't cut close to edges if you have a garden, requires further trimming with weedwhacker.

Was this review helpful? (47) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
loser26
philadelphia, pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Ok product
8/1/2009

Customer review by Whazarook

3.0 stars 8/1/2009 by Whazarook
by Whazarook

bought it for mowing hard to get by the riding lawn mower area. After 1/2 dozen uses, it does its job mostly and appear to be quite sturdy. It has trouble with tall grass. I get a good work out using it, not meant for any decent sized lawn.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Whazarook
Spokane, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
The lawn mower works great.
5/5/2014

Customer review by atscguy

5.0 stars 5/5/2014 by atscguy
by atscguy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

You have to remove the twigs, branches, cans, bottles, hardware, auto parts, sporting goods and dead bodies from your lawn before you start mowing and the lawn mower works great.

Was this review helpful? (25) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
atscguy
Henderson,NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great States 16" Push Mower
5/18/2009

Customer review by blogtw4

5.0 stars 5/18/2009 by blogtw4
by blogtw4

Good cutting edges, easy push. Not for crabgrass or heavy weeds. I'm keeping it well lubricated with WD-40 to be sure I'll use it for a while.

Was this review helpful? (23) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
blogtw4
Pearl, Ms
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
good maintenance upkeep product
4/18/2011

Customer review by gdrew68

5.0 stars 4/18/2011 by gdrew68
by gdrew68

This is a great tool to use if you're one who maintains your yard properly. It is not intended for use if your yard is already overgrown a foot high with weeds or grass. I wouldn't recommend it for even 6 inch high weeds and grass, but if you have already used your power mower, whether it be a gas push mower, electric, lawn tractor, etc., and you keep it to a height of two to three inches or less then this is a great way to save the wear and tear on your other equipment. You're still gonna need the weed eater for close up trimming, let's face it, this product doesn't shave as close as a blade or your money back. Easy to use, good on the environment, low maintenance, and you can enjoy the outdoors without all the dust that a riding or push mower can bring to a lawn. Cut your grass and see more birds, squirrels, etc., without scaring them off. I love it.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gdrew68
Crestview, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
child & pet Friendly grass cutting tool
8/10/2010

Customer review by Zelmasmom

5.0 stars 8/10/2010 by Zelmasmom
by Zelmasmom

It was very easy to put this mower together out of the box. My lawn was quite overgrown when it first arrived so it was a bit of work to get it mowed down but now that it is it's easy to keep the lawn looking good and I don't have to worry about my two small dogs and 5 year old being outside with me while I mow as no rocks, sticks etc get thrown! It's also quiet so my neighbors won't mind if I get up with the sun to mow or if I stay up til it cools off in the night to mow.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Zelmasmom
Greybull, WY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Decent Mower
5/21/2011

Customer review by MsMuz77

4.0 stars 5/21/2011 by MsMuz77
by MsMuz77

Very pleased with this reel mower. We have just a tiny lawn and it seemed wasteful to purchase a mower with a motor. Although the purchase price is not much different than a gas-powered mower, it is more convenient and there is no gasoline to purchase. Obviously, that also makes it "green". If you are extremely picky about your lawn, this is probably not the mower for you. Taller dandelions (6" or taller) tend to bend and pop back up. However, if I had not let my dandelions get that tall in the first place, it would probably have worked much better. I did not experience much of the trouble that other reviewers did. I did not have any uneven patches. Since the blade is inset from the wheel a bit, you do need to make sure that the blade overlaps your last section mowed, but that's fairly easy to do. If a stick gets in the blades, you may need to bend down to remove it, but I did not find that to be a major issue. It rolls right over most things without getting stuck, and I have a lot of pine cones, sticks, etc in my yard. It is also very quiet when operating. Also, my elderly neighbors got quite a kick out of it the first time they saw me using it. It is definitely a good work out too. Overall, I am very pleased with this purchase and would purchase it again.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MsMuz77
Northwest Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
great states push mower
8/27/2010

Customer review by djpeters55

5.0 stars 8/27/2010 by djpeters55
by djpeters55

I remember this product from when I was a kid. Alot of the neighbors had them. They are just as good as an electric or a gas mower; and you get exercise & no pollution from their use. It will hang up if you get too much tall grass in it , but the others choke out from that also. I am very satisfied.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
djpeters55
Cypress,TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Wonderful mower for my yard.
6/7/2012

Customer review by finchkeeper

5.0 stars 6/7/2012 by finchkeeper
by finchkeeper

I have been mentioning my new reel mower to everybody. I really love it! No more hassles with the gas mowers deciding not to start. This little mower did the job- first time out!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
finchkeeper
Granby Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Package & online description edited
6/8/2011

Customer review by Passingtrucker

3.0 stars 6/8/2011 by Passingtrucker
by Passingtrucker

Others had complained "doesn't cut tall grass." You'll need to purchase a weed eater with this push mower & use that appliance to take down the tall grass before using this push mower. The grass (or weeds) can't be taller than 6 inches, or the tall grass just lays flat as you go over it, then pops back up when you've passed by. I tied a section of rag behind the push mower, which is catching 70% of the cut grass.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Passingtrucker
Los Angeles (Hades)
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Not very helpful
7/11/2010

Customer review by 1retiredman

2.0 stars 7/11/2010 by 1retiredman
by 1retiredman

mower is light and is easy to push but dosen't cut the grass very well you have to mow same area two or three times. Mower is not what I hoped for. I say keep your money and buy a goat. At least that will work.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
1retiredman
Gloucester, Virgina ( Gods Country)
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
1-20 of 101 total reviews
1-20 of 101 reviews