Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 100 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

100 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

100 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
67
4 stars
20
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 stars
6
1-20 of 82 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 82 total reviews
1-20 of 82 reviews
Some faults, but fit our need perfectly
1/3/2016

Customer review by MrNYR

3.0 stars 1/3/2016 by MrNYR
by MrNYR

Main reason this was purchased was that we had a small closet (3ft) that needed an organizer. This fit the bill. I should say I've used something similar to this years ago so I knew what I was in for. This is definitely not the easiest organizer to install. First off, all your marks need to be level. Measuring multiple fastening points of wash shelf is cumbersome. Anything smaller than 5 ft width requires shelves to be cut. This can be an issue for those that do not have the right tools. All that being said I tweaked the layout for my small closet (which this design allows you to do) and I am happy with the final result.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MrNYR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Happy
1/19/2016

Customer review by Happy

5.0 stars 1/19/2016 by Happy
by Happy

Worked out really good.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Happy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Pre-drilled holes missing
7/16/2011

Customer review by lompocan

1.0 stars 7/16/2011 by lompocan
by lompocan

This was a nightmare! Pre-drilled holes were missing making it impossible to set up. Couple that with how flimsy it is and I would say don't waste your money if you want something more than a temporary fix. I am returning this ASAP!!!!

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lompocan
lompoc, ca
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Product has poor instructions....
4/4/2011

Customer review by JnKT

3.0 stars 4/4/2011 by JnKT
by JnKT

The instructions weren't clear. On the out side of the box it doesn't mention you need a saw to cut the shelves. On the instructions it is one of the first things it mentions. My husband was pretty frustrated with this product. NIGHTMARE to put together!!

Was this review helpful? (30) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JnKT
Waxahachie, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
NOT easy to install!
7/12/2011

Customer review by Naheepoo

2.0 stars 7/12/2011 by Naheepoo
by Naheepoo

I had so much trouble installing this! It is not easy at all. Worst instructions ever! They offer a few different options but only have instructions printed out for the one shown on the box. I even had a handyman help me out after I had tried (and drilled many unnecessary holes into the wall) and it still took all day to get up.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Naheepoo
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Finally. a product that lives up to it's marketing
10/19/2008

Customer review by AcesDad

5.0 stars 10/19/2008 by AcesDad
by AcesDad

I'm in the military and we move every two years and this is one of the best products I've purchased for my new rental home. Our rental doesn't have a pantry and there's little storage. We were looking for ideas to add shelf space in the laundry roon and came across the Rubbermaid Closet Kit at our local home improvement store. After looking at the display in the store and surfing the Rubbermaid website, we decided to take the plunge and buy the kit. It was refreshing to have everything needed in one box (including all the screws), so no return trips to the store! I have some parts left over because our laundry room is small, but I'd rather have more parts than I need as opposed to making two (or more) trips to the store. I don't like drilling into the wall, but we only needed nine screws to install the kit. Installation was EASY! Just hang the header rail and go. Plus, we can easily just remove everything when we move out, so we don't have to leave our great closet kit behind when we move. Thanks Rubbermaid for a great product.

AcesDad
St. Louis, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
ClosetMaid 5 to 8 Closet Organizer, Is much better
12/31/2013

Customer review by suebug2000

2.0 stars 12/31/2013 by suebug2000
by suebug2000
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It was terrible to put together. I don't know if the directions were not all there or what. Just very cheap material. Took me forever (swing set took less time). Now I had also bought a ClosetMaid for the other room. What a difference. Took no time to put together, cheaper, bigger, and heavier.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
suebug2000
TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I hate this product.
2/11/2011

Customer review by Hateclosetorganizers

1.0 stars 2/11/2011 by Hateclosetorganizers
by Hateclosetorganizers

This product was hard to assembly and it didn't stay in the wall, i got it put up, put all my closet on it and then i sat down and it fell out of the way. NEVER BUY IT

Was this review helpful? (26) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hateclosetorganizers
Granite City, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
9/8/2011

Customer review by Flwrgrammy

4.0 stars 9/8/2011 by Flwrgrammy
by Flwrgrammy

If your closet is exactly 61" this would be a piece of cake but if it is smaller it is very difficult to recalculate all of the measurements.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Flwrgrammy
San Jose
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good value for the money.
10/19/2012

Customer review by epg110

5.0 stars 10/19/2012 by epg110
by epg110

Did a great job of creating more space in my daughter's closet. My husband had a little bit of a hard time installing, but did a great job.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
epg110
Hazlet, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
does the job
2/17/2012

Customer review by cawcaw12

4.0 stars 2/17/2012 by cawcaw12
by cawcaw12

It was not as difficult as I thought. The instructions were not for someone who has never assembled anything before. But if you measured correctly and drilled holes properly, it went together well. Took longer than I had expected but it may have been because I was careful to measure, mark, then check against diagram, before I made any permanent holes in the walls. I was pleased with the results.

Was this review helpful? (6) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cawcaw12
CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Just what we needed
2/9/2012

Customer review by Raileen

5.0 stars 2/9/2012 by Raileen
by Raileen

We purchased this for our sons closet, Before it was small with the toy box over flowing on the floor and one shelf to hang clothes from set in the middle (4 feet of the ground) of the closet. This gave us 2 shelves to hang from and one more to store other stuff. Much more organized and just what we needed.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Raileen
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
12/18/2012

Customer review by sbge

5.0 stars 12/18/2012 by sbge
by sbge
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

you can do different setups with this organizer

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sbge
Southbridge, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
not what i was looking for
9/18/2015

Customer review by noname

2.0 stars 9/18/2015 by noname
by noname

now I know why this was one of the cheaper closet kits. Need to put 20 some thing holes in the walls to support the thin wire shelves and rod

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
noname
Would recommend to a friend? No
LOVE THESE
7/14/2011

Customer review by momof2boys

5.0 stars 7/14/2011 by momof2boys
by momof2boys

These are the best closet organizers I have used and have recommended them to all my friends. Installation is a breeze the only problem is I spend hours reconfiguring the units! I love how you can buy the starter unit then add pieces as your needs change. I have installed these in all three bedrooms so far and will slowly do all closets in the house. The best part is mixing and matching between all the rooms. I also like how I can hang my sons shelves and rods low for him to get his own clothes and still have shelves up high to keep items out of his reach. So far the units have stood up to a two year old swinging like a monkey off the bars and climbing the shelves. At first I was hesitant to pay the price for these units but in the end it is worth the cost. Anyone with kids knows the value of having an organized closet!

momof2boys
Langley, BC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Brilliant!!
6/21/2012

Customer review by dlayne

5.0 stars 6/21/2012 by dlayne
by dlayne

This kit is AMAZING. Really. It far exceeded my expectations. Product appearance is good...not high-end of course but very good. The finished product itself (fully organized closet) is great, but it is deeper than that... I am thoroughly impressed with everything from the packaging on down the line. It is CLEAR Rubbermaid has thought everything through from start to finish and that deserves to be commended. It is packaged neatly and efficiently with all pieces easy to locate and access quickly. The instructions are simply stated and to the point. Rubbermaid made the process of putting this thing together simple and easy. The info provided (from the layout suggestions for each size closet on the outside of the box to the graphic listing of the exact tools you will need) is as efficient as can be! Bravo to the design team of these kits because truly this is nothing short of a BRILLIANT product design. And I mean that to the fullest extent of the word brilliant. I am very happy with my purchase of the 6-10ft Closet Kit and will recommend to anyone trying to organize a closet that there is no other way to go for functionality, ease and price. Well done Rubbermaid!!

dlayne
Champaign, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Good Product bad design
3/12/2013

Customer review by blkcloud

2.0 stars 3/12/2013 by blkcloud
by blkcloud
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We bought this to go into my teenage daughter small closest to make more room for her things. When my husband installed it, it was not fun. The holes did not line up so new hole had to be drilled. Once it was put together and up it looks pretty nice. So if you looking for a simple installation this is not it, the quality is good and everything seems to be holding up well. If you are creative and can manage to install without pulling your hair out then for the price this is not too bad.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
blkcloud
lexington park, MD
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Too Difficult to set up
12/4/2013

Customer review by Adartses

1.0 stars 12/4/2013 by Adartses
by Adartses
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The product was way too dificult to set up and the instructions that came with it were completely useless. Very disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Adartses
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great organizer, well made, directions were poor.
3/29/2014

Customer review by shadow719

4.0 stars 3/29/2014 by shadow719
by shadow719
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I had read many reviews on putting together closet organizers and most were horrid. The instructions were poor, if you use them to identify the parts and the longest pole to drill the holes. I have twice as much storage in my closet and really like the quality of the organizer.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
shadow719
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Homefree 3-6 ft closet kit
4/24/2011

Customer review by mrstds

5.0 stars 4/24/2011 by mrstds
by mrstds

I love my new closet! This kit was easy to install and looks good. I took a couple breaks to watch the baseball game so it took about 4 hours. My husband is very impressed! This kit is as good or better than the ELFA system..actually I think it's better and sturdier. I did my closet for approx. 1/5 what it would have cost to use the other brands kit.I did not care for the drywall anchors, i don't have a lot of strength in my hands and so I used some other ones I had in my tool kit.Once you get it all screwed into the wall..it's not going anywhere. There are so many ways you can configure a small closet because its so versatile.

mrstds
Fremont,ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
1-20 of 82 total reviews
1-20 of 82 reviews