Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 345 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

345 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

345 reviews | 4 out of 5

77%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
206
4 stars
47
3 stars
17
2 stars
19
1 stars
56
1-20 of 290 total reviews
77%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 290 total reviews
1-20 of 290 reviews
For heavy data/text user this is the best
1/4/2014

Customer review by PforPNP

5.0 stars 1/4/2014 by PforPNP
by PforPNP

Bought this from walmart and activated within an hour. Data speed is very fast. Can't complain. I wish this plan had 200 minutes or so. Skype with $3 a month unlimited US/Canada might works if need more than 100 minutes per month. However any VoIP services will not be as clear as mobile service voice quality. I am just testing this out to see if this plan is keeper or not.

Was this review helpful? (71) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PforPNP
TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great value with very poor service.
4/6/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 4/6/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The plan is cheap to start but there it ends. I work at a major international airport in New Jersey And the T-Mobile data service is almost absent at That location. My friends with AT&T and Verizon telephone Can watch YouTube, while I will be lucky to view my emails. The upload/download speed runs from 0.01- 0.03 Mb. Unless T-Mobile can increase this sorry state of their phone Data service, they will not be able to retain the new customers For long. Thank you.

Was this review helpful? (59) (63)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Newark, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best PrePaid Plan with T-Mobile for data
1/20/2016

Customer review by pamspam

5.0 stars 1/20/2016 by pamspam
by pamspam

Bought a moto g 3rd gen on Motos website - was existing customer of tmobile and wanted to keep my number call in advance to advise them you are moving the number over and give them about 48hr before activation. Buy the Start Sim Card kit - even though the existing SIM fit my phone - this Walmart plan MUST have new activation on new SIM card. Called T-mobile moved over my number to SIM - they advised I lose service for 2hours for the txfr. Went to Walmart online bought $30Unlimited data/100talk Card - email received in my inbox within 20minutes. Clicked on link in email to data activation and voila! Awesome $30 month plan! Make sure you go online after 3-4days to create your online act and sign up for autoload with a credit card to keep the plan going - VERY SATISFIED - saving $15 per month from previous Family Plan using the Walmart T-Mobile $30/mo plan! Yay! Same great T-mobile service and I love my new moto G phone on this plan!

Was this review helpful? (9) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pamspam
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best Plan Ever
1/13/2012

Customer review by ruslan456

5.0 stars 1/13/2012 by ruslan456
by ruslan456
Top 500 contributor

In order for you to get this plan you need a new activation from Tmobile. That means you have to buy an Activation Kit, get it from Amazon.com for $3. After you receive this kit, you must activate new phone number on tmobile.com. DO NOT Call them or you will not be able to pick this plan. After putting all the info from activation kit and IMEI # from ANY tmobile phone, it will prompt you to pick the plan that you want, pick this plan. Then it will provide you with the new phone number. If you get some kind of message from tmobile saying that they are processing you request and blah blah blah, DO NOT call them, Try again or pick a different area code for your new number. It took me 3 times before I got my new number. After you get this plan you can either pay be credit card there or buy this card from walmart.com and get it in the email. Also for unlimited calls in the US you can get skype calling for $3 a month voice over ip. Works great, I love my new and cheap PLAN.

Was this review helpful? (855) (59)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ruslan456
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Top 500 contributor
Worked Just As Described; Very Fast and Convenient
5/24/2012

Customer review by tomcat25

5.0 stars 5/24/2012 by tomcat25
by tomcat25

Some people here are complaining that this card is giving them the wrong $30/month plan when activated, or that Walmart is not sending them an e-mail within 24 hours or so. I was apprehensive to order this card online from Walmart because of such reviews, but let me tell you that this experience worked flawlessly for me. I can't speak for those who experienced those and similar issues with purchasing and activating this card and plan with T-Mobile, but I can personally say that I received the e-mail within an hour giving me my activation code, I called the number given and provided the code, and it was applied to my T-Mobile account online and the right $30/month plan (Unlimited Web and Text w/ 100 minutes) was activated on my account. Maybe the problem for some of the others was that they didn't register to create an account on T-Mobile's website /before/ purchasing and activating this card? Not sure if that would pose a problem, but it's worth a try beforehand to prevent issues like those which others have experienced.

Was this review helpful? (52) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tomcat25
suburbs of Philadelphia, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Everything worked out for me and it was quick :D!
12/10/2013

Customer review by EllieS

5.0 stars 12/10/2013 by EllieS
by EllieS

I just activated the card a few minutes ago. I bought my phone and activation kit for cheap from eBay a couple weeks ago. I chose to buy the prepaid card online. The email with the pin came within 15 minutes of me buying it. I went to the T-mobile website and chose to activate a prepaid. I put in my activation code, sim code, and the IMEI number. Then the next page asked for my birth date, region, and whether or not I wanted to use an old number. Afterwards, I chose my plan ($30) and submitted. They gave me my new number and at the end, I entered the pin for the card. During this process, you will also be making your T-mobile account. I am in an area where I am surrounded by T-mobile towers so my internet speed is good. I tested out my number by calling my mother's phone. When I got my number, T-mobile sent me a few text messages so I know that works. The service turned out well and the plan is cheap so I am happy!

Was this review helpful? (55) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
EllieS
Pinellas Park, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ugggh t-mobile
9/28/2012

Customer review by RickyRacoon

1.0 stars 9/28/2012 by RickyRacoon
by RickyRacoon

My son gave me his t-mobile G2 android phone when he upgraded. I already had a Walmart LG GS170, so he moved the sim card to the G2. No data service. He called t-mobile support and they assured him that there would be data service and that we could use the $30 Walmart plan. Two days later and no data service. We called back to t-mobile. Yes we could have data service, for $50 a month. No we couldn't have a refund on the $30 Walmart monthly card we had just used. So I try again. This time with a new sim card. We call t-mobile customer service again. Oh yes you can have the $30 Walmart plan! Sure we have the Walmart plan.....with no data. Two $30 cards down the drain for $30 a month cell and text service....with no data. Also the My T-Mobile website has been out of service for over two months. I have no way of checking on my service or expiration dates. But not to worry....The t-mobile customer rep said it would be escalated in priority to be repaired...about two weeks ago.

Was this review helpful? (45) (34)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RickyRacoon
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
You do NOT need to buy another phone for this!
12/29/2012

Customer review by Anastasia5683

4.0 stars 12/29/2012 by Anastasia5683
by Anastasia5683

The best thing to do with this plan is to A. Buy the SIM card activation kit from T-Mobile.com and it'll only cost you $1. It shipped within a week. B. Purchase this $30 plan with unlimited web & text and you'll receive the confirmation via email within a few hours or a day. C. Once you receive both items, activate the SIM card on T-Mobile.com and enter in the PIN number they gave you associated with this $30 plan. D. After all is processed, keep your SIM information & the new number because you CAN transfer your old mobile number. E. Call T-Mobile and speak to an operator, ignore the promps. Let them know what you're trying to do and they will transfer the number. The only thing is you might have to use the new number for a few days. T-Mobile will also transfer whatever amount of fund were on your old account to this new one. The phone number will go back to your old one after a few days automatically. You will receive a cofirmation text letting you know the old numbers back. In the meantime, to use My Tmobile, use the new number. I hope this review was helpful. I'm just glad I didn't have to purchase a brand new phone.

Was this review helpful? (183) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Anastasia5683
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great plan for the money
8/30/2012

Customer review by Maryay

5.0 stars 8/30/2012 by Maryay
by Maryay

I used to have a pay as you go plan with T-Mobile. I heard that this plan is for new customers who bought a phone on the Walmart.com or t-mobile.com. THIS IS NOT TRUE. I've got a unlocked Google Nexus from Google play and a new SIM card from t-mobile.com and activated it with my son's Samsung Exhibit from Walmart. But I was about to loose my long time phone #. I thought it wouldn't hurt to ask if I can be switched from the pay as you go to the $30 100min/unl.text/data plan. I was so surprised when I was told YES. They swapped the plan and I saved my phone # with the great phone. The new SIM card will go to a trash can now. People, don't rely on 'he said, she said', just go ahead and ask. 100 minutes is not enough for me so I used them in two weeks. In this world of technology I didn't want to pay 10c. a minutes after that so I learn that the Google voice along with Talkatone work just great. They eat your data but 5gb is a huge number, I never used more that 2. 5 min. of talking is 2 MB of data. I barely use my 100 minutes now. Overall I am very happy with the plan and my new phone.

Was this review helpful? (41) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Maryay
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Only for new T-Mobile pre-pay customers
11/6/2011

Customer review by jaybeebaybee

2.0 stars 11/6/2011 by jaybeebaybee
by jaybeebaybee

ON the Mytmobile.com site (you have to have a t-mobile online account to see this), someone posted an online chat dated 10/16/11 @0924, between himself and a T-Mobile CSR. Apparently, the CSR had this person refill his account with $30, before putting him on hold for 3 to 5 minutes, and then coming back to say that this $30 unlimited text/web, 100 minute talk monthly plan is AVAILABLE TO NEW T MOBILE PRE-PAY CUSTOMERS ONLY. Per a response to this discussion thread.... Here's the trick... When you call customer service you have to say that you want to switch from a "post paid account to a prepaid account" specifically. They will then transfer you to the Prepaid division of TMobile to establish your new account. It is similar to starting a new plan with a new provider. I have tried and had no luck in switching to this t-mobile plan.

Was this review helpful? (144) (27)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jaybeebaybee
Seattle, WA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
Excellent! New walmart phone purchase NOT required
4/17/2012

Customer review by mohnish

5.0 stars 4/17/2012 by mohnish
by mohnish

This is an excellent plan for high speed data. Please note that to get on this plan you DO NOT need to purchase a new cell phone from Walmart as few others have pointed out in the reviews. Here's my setup (using my Nexus One). Purchased a T-Mobile activation kit (basically the SIM card). Popped the SIM into my phone and activated it using the instruction on the activation kit pack. Once activated, bought this pack from Walmart. Walmart sent an email with topup code and phone number to activate this.Called that number to apply this topup. Done! Using this plan with my old phone. Also, if you exhaust 100 mins. provided with this plan you CAN add more minutes anytime. For those extra minutes you pay by the minute. Topup again on the next refill date to get 100 free minutes.

Was this review helpful? (264) (31)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mohnish
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Can someone help me that knows the answer
8/24/2014

Customer review by triciabfree1

5.0 stars 8/24/2014 by triciabfree1
by triciabfree1

First I want to say that I am very happy with this product. I started using this with my Tmobil phone Lumia 521 about a year ago. It was really easy to use this $30 plan. I kept refilling it for quite sometime and later on I decided to change it to pay as you go mins on the Tmobil website. Which I got tired of not having web so last week I bought this card and got it by email in about 30 mins. I quickly used it and I forgot to change my plan first and it just added more mins. My fault but I went and logged on tried to change it this plan and I no longer was able to go back Tmobil site only gave me the other more expensive options. So I had to add more money to my Tmobil account and get the 40 plan which is unlimited talk, text and web not bad just was more then I wanted to spend each month. Why was I not allowed to go back to this plan? Will I ever be able to get this again? Does anyone have any ideas what to do to fix this? Please comment. Thank you

Was this review helpful? (12) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
triciabfree1
Seabrook, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
You can use your existing phone too!
1/3/2012

Customer review by BIinkerFIuid

4.0 stars 1/3/2012 by BIinkerFIuid
by BIinkerFIuid

After coming off from a 2 year contract with T mobile, I found this on their website. I contacted customer support and they said that I would have to buy a new phone to get this plan. I went to my local walmart store, bought the cheapest one possible, activated it, and then poped the sim card into my MyTouch4G phone. Worked flawlessly... I got 4G internet, Email, Facebook, Google maps, etc. After being a faithful t mobile customer for more then 4 years, and them stating that I was already in the best rate plan "90/month per line", I couldnt afford to stick with them another 2 years after only using an average of 100 mins per month anyways. I like the DATA!!! I am currently using my mytouch tmobile hot spot right now without purchasing wifi tethering that is required under the conventional "contract" rate plans.

Was this review helpful? (53) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BIinkerFIuid
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Worst customer support
12/3/2011

Customer review by rjwilcox

2.0 stars 12/3/2011 by rjwilcox
by rjwilcox

I bought this plan for my son for his birthday. He has had issues making calls, sending text in the few days with the plan. The worst issue was that I purchased the Monthly4G $30 Unlimited Web & Text with 100 min of talk but when the phone was setup T-Mobile entered the wrong plan, one that only has 1500 minutes of talk or text. After over an hour trying to fix the issue, my son was told that they only way to fix the issue is to buy a new plan even though it was a T-Mobile mistake. I spent over another hour getting dropped calls and sent to the incorrect departments... The problem was fixed but I was told that the owner of the phone only has 48 hours to fix an issue, even if it was their issue. I asked how is someone to know that you are set to an incorrect plan and I was told to dial #225#.

Was this review helpful? (299) (58)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rjwilcox
Wilmington
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great if u know ur ways
1/22/2012

Customer review by naydy

5.0 stars 1/22/2012 by naydy
by naydy

I used to be with simple mobile and paid $40 for unlimited everything but when they change the rate plan the speed went down it was suppose to be 3g but my cell alwalys showed 2g so i decided to change to this plan and since i already had a t-mobile phone i didnt need to get another one, the only problem that i had with this plan was the 100 min so i decided to get skype and it works great on 4g, its super fast and with the skype and t-mobile im only paying $35 a month so its still perty cheap and the internet its super fast plus since my phone its hotspot ready i share the internet with my tablet it wont share with my laptop i don know why its a motorloa cliq 2, but when my husband who has the same plan but he has an htc my touch 4g he is able to share the internet to the laptop and it works way faster than the home internet and we still use less than the 5g, i had no problem porting the number from simple mobile it took less than an hour for the porting to be completed.I get Fantastic reception ANYWHERE!!!

Was this review helpful? (6) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
naydy
fort myers fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
The $30 Plan
6/15/2015

Customer review by sangamo

4.0 stars 6/15/2015 by sangamo
by sangamo

There's a lot of confusion about the 100 min. plan. I wanted this plan and wasn't sure if I needed this card or not. I just bought a T-mobile phone from Walmart. I activated it on the T-mobile website. On the site, it asks you to pick a plan. This plan for $30 shows at the bottom of the list. I just picked it and that was it. On the site it states this plan is for new customers only and you must be activating a phone purchased from Walmart. You may be able to do it other ways but you'll probably be jumping through hoops. If you buy a phone from Walmart, get it shipped to a store for pick up and make sure they scan the box when you pick it up. I had one shipped to my home from Walmart and the phone was not scanned so I couldn't activate it. It was a nightmare and I had to return it.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sangamo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Convenient
2/7/2016

Customer review by trottall

4.0 stars 2/7/2016 by trottall
by trottall

Very good and convenient if you cannot get to the store. You can avoid the lines because it is in your email. Activates with a simple copy and paste.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
trottall
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Buy!
5/19/2012

Customer review by Krokadile323

5.0 stars 5/19/2012 by Krokadile323
by Krokadile323

I spend about a week reading about phone plans. I really wanted to get one considering I needed it. I found this plan and kept reading about it. A lot of people kept saying I can't use it unless I buy a phone from tmobile and all these things. but that's not true. Just purchase a 'starter kit' from ANY where. It can be from your local tmobile shop #ask if you can just purchase a prepaid sim card without them activating it.# I had to look in a couple of stores. I found two of them. One was charging 25$ and the other was charging 15$. I could have purchased it online, but I didn't have a credit card. WHICH i would recommend you guys do. After purchasing a starter kit, activate it on the main tmobile website. Their will be an option that asks which plan you're planning on using. Click on this one! Afterwards, you'll be given a choice to purchase a card from the main website or if you already have purchased this, just input the pin you get and BAM! You'l be activated. If it gives you an invalid error. Just call the 1800 number that walmart gives you and input your information and the pin and you'll be good to go. I had to do that mainly because entering the pin onto the website didn't work. Haven't had a problem since. I used my phone that wasn't purchased from tmobile or walmart. I also used a tmobile sim card that wasn't purchased from either. So hopefully this helps anyone who is struggling or is confused.

Was this review helpful? (238) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Krokadile323
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
received the code in about 10 min.
2/8/2016

Customer review by Jen101

5.0 stars 2/8/2016 by Jen101
by Jen101

No worries, works fine.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jen101
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great buy for your $
12/30/2015

Customer review by ProductReviewNickName

5.0 stars 12/30/2015 by ProductReviewNickName
by ProductReviewNickName
Walmart associate

This is a great buy for a budget phone plan. Unlimited texts and data and with T-Mobile expanding their 4G LTE coverage, that unlimited data is a great feature. I have a unlocked Samsung Galaxy S5 & bought the T-Mobile bring your own phone sim card kit for it and activation was a breeze. If you don't have hundreds of dollars to blow on a contract phone plan this deal can't be beat.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ProductReviewNickName
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Walmart associate
1-20 of 290 total reviews
1-20 of 290 reviews