Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 519 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

519 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

519 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
353
4 stars
89
3 stars
24
2 stars
18
1 stars
35
1-20 of 443 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 443 total reviews
1-20 of 443 reviews
Excellent product, Walmart delivery slow
12/13/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 12/13/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

The Good: Straight Talk is an excellent deal and as long as you abide by the TOS (no streaming audio or video) and no tethering than you likely will never have a problem with them. The Bad: Straight Talk has horrible customer service with many confusing ways to contact them. This is to be expected and is where some of the savings come from. Avoid them by not porting a number and not violating the TOS. Huge data usage WILL get you throttled and possibly kicked off their network. Recommendation: do NOT port your number in to Straight Talk. If you must keep the same number port it to Google Voice. This gives you the freedom to throw your SIM away and go with another one or another carrier. Walmart delivery of the code is slower than posted, it can take several days. Do NOT wait until last minute to do your refill, get it a week early and you will be fine. Once you have the code you can add it to reserve or wait to add it to Straight Talk at the last minute if you want, your choice. Just plan ahead here.

Was this review helpful? (127) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best deal available!
1/31/2011

Customer review by BrunetteBlonde

5.0 stars 1/31/2011 by BrunetteBlonde
by BrunetteBlonde

So I'm probably one of those people the older generations all gripe about-no, the phone isn't an extension of my hand, but I do have a really busy life. I play as hard as I work, so my cell phone is crucial to me for business and my personal life. I had got to the point where I was spending ridiculous amounts on my bill, when a colleague suggested I look into an unlimited option, and made what, at the time, to me was a ludicrous recommendation-prepaid. Well, having done the research, I was blown away by the idea of paying only $45 for unlimited everything on Straight Talk! It's been ideal for my extensive usage, and has the option of running off either the Verizon or AT&T networks, depending on your location and/or phone needs. I'm also thrilled at how quickly they are adding really good phones to their selection-yes, a couple of smartphones too. I would suggest if you can afford it, buying the 3 month card as it saves you having to renew monthly. Great service at an affordable rate. Well recommended.

Was this review helpful? (344) (48)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BrunetteBlonde
New York, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Cheap, but unreliable data on AT&T
7/21/2013

Customer review by Videonaut

2.0 stars 7/21/2013 by Videonaut
by Videonaut

Nothing wrong with walmart's delivery of the card, and it's even a few dollars cheaper than buying from Straight Talk directly. But Straight Talk has a very serious problem with data. Most of the time when you attempt to access the web, you will see an "Access Forbidden" message that can only be fixed by taking your phone off the network & starting it back up again. The simplest search takes minutes when you have to watch it fail, restart your phone & start over! I recommend going to the Straight Talk forums & searching for "Access Forbidden". You will find dozens of threads which are taken quickly into "offline chats" by reps rather than talking about a fix publicly. Multiple calls to support did no good...either they don't know what the problem is, or they do know but have no fix. After eight months of frustration, I finally went back to paying too much, because the savings didn't justify the hassle. If they ever fix this, I'll be back in a heartbeat.

Was this review helpful? (107) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Videonaut
Washington, D.C.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Easy and Great Price! (one thing to note however)
6/12/2012

Customer review by AFveteran

5.0 stars 6/12/2012 by AFveteran
by AFveteran

The price is great on the StraightTalk 3-month unlimited service card. The process is very easy and activation code arrived in minutes. However, there is one important issue that isn't noted on the website. When you are ordering a StraighTalk card for the FIRST time, Walmart will call you to verify the purchase BEFORE sending you the activation code. So, make sure you have the correct phone number with your order. They ask a few account verification questions and then release the order. After that, the activation code arrives quickly. I added it to my phone without any issues. Thank you to Walmart for the great pricing and service. Very happy customer here.

Was this review helpful? (218) (39)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AFveteran
Fresno, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Beware Straight Talk has terrible customer service
11/2/2012

Customer review by skiatl

1.0 stars 11/2/2012 by skiatl
by skiatl

I bought this 90 day reload for my phone one week prior to the end of my first 30 days of service. My online account showed it was added the day after I purchased it. But, the day when the 90 day service was to go into effect I could not make calls, text or get online. It was 630 am on a Sunday and nobody was at ST support until 8am. After numerous calls and emails and Facebook 'support' I finally had service restored 3 hrs later after a reprogram of my phone. THEN the very next day it happened AGAIN. I could only make a call to one number...and it was the one I called Sunday, BUT it was routed to Verizon.....figure that one out ?? So I had to call ST on a landline phone to make contact. ST had to reprogram my phone once again. Another 3 hrs without service. To date ST has not given any reason why this happened, or can guarantee it will not happen again. I had read stories where people had lost service during the updating of your service period. The reloading of service to your phone should be seamless. Buyer beware.

Was this review helpful? (74) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
skiatl
Earth
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Product is Good but DO NOT ORDER ONLINE
5/14/2012

Customer review by pankaj8096

1.0 stars 5/14/2012 by pankaj8096
by pankaj8096

WALMART has a poor service with delivery of this Product. I had to wait 3 days to get it to my email. Walmart has no control as to when Straight Talk will provide them the PIN. Go to Store and Get it.

Was this review helpful? (61) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pankaj8096
Oceanside
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
This is a good phone company!
8/25/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 8/25/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I have had Straight Talk for a few years now. In that time I have had a few problems however the company has always been taken care of well. The service is Great. I have used it in California to Illinois and back to Oregon. The service has been there for me!

Was this review helpful? (65) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
3 month phone card
8/22/2014

Customer review by phonequestion

5.0 stars 8/22/2014 by phonequestion
by phonequestion

I love this 3 month phone card for a few reasons. 1st -if you buy it on-line at Walmart.com, you get $10 off. It's $125.00 instead of $135.00 for 3 months of service. 2nd -even though it's a 3 month card, it automatically breaks your service down into 3 30-day cycles. The 3 gb of data it provides for each 30 day cycle is more than enough. You also get unlimited talk & text with no extra charges, such as roaming. Note, this is not a physical card - it is an electronic code sent to your email. Other reviewers commented on poor customer service, I do not agree. I've had to call 2x, once for initial set up and once because when I loaded the new card, it took away 2 days of my existing 30 day cycle instead of adding to it when my original 30 days was over. I had excellent phone reps both times I called & my issue was resolved immediately. I love that I don't have to worry about phone service for 3 months.

Was this review helpful? (50) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
phonequestion
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Definitely worth the price!
12/7/2013

Customer review by Martin79706

4.0 stars 12/7/2013 by Martin79706
by Martin79706

I switched my iPhone 4s and iPhone 5 from AT&T prepaid to Straight Talk and I am satisfied with the quality of the service and coverage I am receiving. I tested the speed on my iPhone 5 with "OOKLA Speedtest" app and had 21.61 Mbps download and 7.34 Mbps upload with LTE coverage. The speed with 3G coverage dropped to 2.87 Mbps download and 1.11 Mbps upload but it works for me. I spend most of my day in LTE coverage and use wifi the rest of the time. The process of getting my iPhone 4s activated was less than 5 minutes. The iPhone 5 took much longer. After finding somebody to cut the SIM card down to fit my iPhone and about an hour on the phone with Straight Talk customer service, I now have service. I am still waiting for my 90-Day Service Card to be delivered by e-mail. I paid for it on 12/4/13. I am starting to wonder if the USPS has started delivering e-mail now.

Was this review helpful? (37) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Martin79706
Midland, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
42$ a month for unlimited everything?! Sign me up.
11/7/2012

Customer review by ZimmyB

5.0 stars 11/7/2012 by ZimmyB
by ZimmyB

If you have an ATT, tmobile or unlocked phone, buy the correct sim card and enjoy. Test it out for one month a 45$ and if you like it buy the 3 month or 6 month package. Apparently the 3 month sometimes goes on sale around black friday with a phone, to the point where it is around 30$ a month for everything. Honestly, straight talk is a no-brainer compared to those contracts if you have a phone. Even if you don't have a phone, it is usually cheaper to buy a new phone unlocked and then use it on straight talk!

Was this review helpful? (42) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ZimmyB
Boston, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Convenient Way To Pay
12/13/2010

Customer review by Canopyfan2

5.0 stars 12/13/2010 by Canopyfan2
by Canopyfan2

ST service in my area and where I travel on my motorbike is fantastic through Verizon. Rarely have a dropped call as was my problem for 8 years with Sprint, never improved. ST web-access is good, sort of slow at times but adequate for webmail, news, weather, MAPQUEST. Note you can't listen to music or use SKYPE. And you can only download ringtones and graphics from the ST website. The 3 month plan may at first not seem better than buying a monthly plan you need it. When you look further you realize if you need to replace your telephone for loss or breakage your plan can be transferred to the new phone. That's a plus for sure, no interruption and no added cost, just buy a new phone and have CS make the transfer. Once you discover you like ST and want to stay with the service there's no reason not to buy reservation coverage. It's pure value and convenience!

Was this review helpful? (135) (56)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Canopyfan2
Raleigh, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 10 contributor
Graet Deal If you Never Need Customer Service
9/19/2012

Customer review by woxofoh

3.0 stars 9/19/2012 by woxofoh
by woxofoh

I have had a Nokia 71 on Straight Talk / ATT (GSM Phone) for about a year. This is a great deal but setting it up was a nightmare. I bought a refurbished phone direct from S.T. (Not a Walmart problem) and the former owner's account had not been deactivated in the phone. It took about a week to get it straightened out and then only by bypassing S.T. customer service and calling Trac Phone (parent company) service. I mention all this because I just tried to upgrade to an Android on the Verizon Network of S.T. (had to go to a different town/Walmart that used that network). I bought the phone for $179 but insisted that the Walmart associate set up the account so that I would not possibly lose my phone number of 14 years. The associate was knowledgeable and very helpful but he could not get the account set up on the auto system or by talking to a CS rep because the wait on each one was close to an hour and a half. He couldn't hang on the phone for that amount of time. He said I could do it myself or he would refund the phone money. I took the money and ran. Very poor CS at the S.T. end.

Was this review helpful? (23) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
woxofoh
Hebron, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good choice for straight talk customers.
11/8/2013

Customer review by pawpaslady

5.0 stars 11/8/2013 by pawpaslady
by pawpaslady

Although this is a good buy- make sure you order ahead of time. In the description Walmart states item will be e-delivered in about 60minutes. I ordered on Friday and did not receive until Tuesday.

Was this review helpful? (25) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pawpaslady
arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not delivered in timely fashion!
2/11/2012

Customer review by lupinelady99

1.0 stars 2/11/2012 by lupinelady99
by lupinelady99

Love the straight talk service, but will NEVER order a service card online again this way! The description says that the PIN will arrive within about one hour via email, but seven hours later and no PIN. Very disappointing!

Was this review helpful? (29) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lupinelady99
Northern NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ridiculously slow delivery
1/8/2014

Customer review by tekdemon

1.0 stars 1/8/2014 by tekdemon
by tekdemon

I've been buying refills from walmart for a long time and they used to take 10 minutes to get to me but last month I ran out and my order was still nowhere to be found after an entire day. My phone plan ended up lapsing and I had to drive all the way out in the middle of the night to get a refill and ended up late to a thanksgiving dinner. I read a bunch of reviews that said this wasn't a problem anymore so I figured I'd give it another shot, maybe it was a fluke during the holidays but now it's many hours later (not the "within the hour" that walmart says it should arrive in) and neither of two orders have shown up. Come on Walmart, I've shopped here tons of times so clearly this is not a fraudulent charge, why are you guys taking so long to send an email?! It ends up being faster to go drive 30 miles to the store than to get a damned email, which is ridiculous.

Was this review helpful? (40) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tekdemon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Cut my wireless bill in half!
2/3/2014

Customer review by InitialG

4.0 stars 2/3/2014 by InitialG
by InitialG

Switched to Straight Talk from AT&T and cut my bill by half. Service so far has been comparable. I don't use too much data so the 2.5GB cap on LTE is fine for me. It might not be if you are data hungry. Nano simcards are becoming the new standard for some phone manufacturers. I don't believe Straight Talk sells the nano simcards (only the standard and micro) so be sure your phone doesn't require a nano simcard. Otherwise, you will have to cut a micro simcard down if you are going BYOD. It works but there is a chance of ruining the simcard if done improperly. 90-day refill cards from Wal-Mart (IMHO) are the best option for purchase. You can get the 6-month refill cards but you are only saving a couple dollars versus buying the 90-day service cards. Be sure to order early as it does take some time to get your refill pin number.

Was this review helpful? (20) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
InitialG
Fresno, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Straight Talk 3 month Unlimited Card
2/22/2011

Customer review by rgtrappe

5.0 stars 2/22/2011 by rgtrappe
by rgtrappe

I gave this a 5 star rating based on other carriers prices and services. I still believe cell phone service in the U.S.A. is very overpriced, but this is the best I have found.

Was this review helpful? (19) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rgtrappe
Grand Rapids, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Email delivery was promised in hours; took 3 days
6/16/2012

Customer review by dcperson20009

2.0 stars 6/16/2012 by dcperson20009
by dcperson20009

i bought this for email delivery because i needed it immediately. it said "usually delivered within hours" then after ordering it on a friday the order status said "to be delivered on Monday, 3 days later"

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dcperson20009
Washington, DC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Be careful - straight talk throttles speed
12/25/2012

Customer review by uncjim

2.0 stars 12/25/2012 by uncjim
by uncjim

The calls are fine, but they started to throttle my data speeds after less than a month of service and really not that much data. Don't buy more than a month at a time. Not sure I will continue with straight talk if my data speeds don't go back to a reasonable speed (only 15-20kb down which is almost unusable). Test it out for a month, but don't buy any long term plans.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
uncjim
durham, nc
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Barely worth the frustration
5/3/2013

Customer review by Margo135

3.0 stars 5/3/2013 by Margo135
by Margo135

I saved about two dollars a month over the cost of the monthly plan, so it's not a huge savings. What was annoying is that when purchasing, it was refused twice, once using my card and then paypal. They need to say that their satellite communications are down, otherwise the customer assumes it is her problem. The third time, the transaction went through but since it went to my spam folder, I didn't know until I went digging for it after two days. I would not recommend this to my friends due to the frustration level.

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Margo135
Topeka, KS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 443 total reviews
1-20 of 443 reviews