Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 2573 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

2573 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

2573 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

82%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
1648
4 stars
353
3 stars
133
2 stars
76
1 stars
363
1-20 of 2082 total reviews
82%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 2082 total reviews
1-20 of 2082 reviews
Informative review on Straight Talk Service Card
12/20/2011

Customer review by DSpooner777

5.0 stars 12/20/2011 by DSpooner777
by DSpooner777

The Straight Talk Unlimited Talk, Text and Data is a FABULOUS value at only $45! Every month I get one of these for my husband, he even likes Straight Talk's service so much I bought him the newest Android by Straight Talk phone for Christmas! My son bought himself one as well! With so many competitor's trying to get your business, Straight Talk speaks for itself. Straight Talk offers a fantastic service with an exceptional new Android phone offering UNLIMITED Talk, Text and Data! You just can't beat it anywhere. Bundling a $45 Straight Talk Service Card and the newest Android Straight Talk phone will make a wonderful Christmas gift for ANYONE!

Was this review helpful? (263) (103)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DSpooner777
North Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
it's better than the $100+ a month phone bill.
10/13/2014

Customer review by Pete7519

5.0 stars 10/13/2014 by Pete7519
by Pete7519
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was using Sprint before I switched cause they were charging me over $100+ a month for my cell phone and data service. Now I pay less than $50 a month to do the same stuff with my new Straight talk service that I used to do with Sprint. Hmm to me it's an easy decision.. Thanks again Wal-Mart

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Pete7519
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I Was Nervous, But Walmart Came Through!
12/25/2013

Customer review by Askance

5.0 stars 12/25/2013 by Askance
by Askance

I noticed that I could purchase a straight-talk card on walmart.com rather than trying to hike up to the store for a last minute gift or purchasing on the straight-talk site and getting hit with additional charges. I browsed through and noticed some people complained about not getting their code-sometimes for DAYS. I needed the code for my brother's christmas gift, since his account expires tomorrow. So, I went against my vibe from other reviewers and did it anyway thinking it might just be customer error. Especially, with the filters on spam folders lately. I was pleasantly surprised, although, definitely had my nerves going. I placed my order at 12:19am and received my pin number around 12:34am. So 15 minutes was all it took for me. I use gmail, so my walmart order form went to my regular inbox and the pin number went to my "promotions" box. I can tell you, it felt like the longest 15 minutes of my life and I really didn't want to regret the purchase, but I am glad I did it!

Was this review helpful? (196) (27)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Askance
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Great value save money
1/23/2014

Customer review by Twolinks

4.0 stars 1/23/2014 by Twolinks
by Twolinks

I have been with them for a few months now and my mother has been with them for over a year. It is a good service and works well for both of us. When you change over to it you just have to remember to get the right phone for your area and do not go with a cheap phone you will regret it. My mom uses a zeta it runs about $150 and works really well I use a I phone 4 and it works really well. If you fellow this two things you should not have any problems, I would give it a 5 stars but I do have to say the customer service is good just hard to understand them the one or two times I have called but all in all it was a good choice for me. I was paying $77 a month now I pay $48, a nice saving and just to clear it up it does say in the terms that it is 3g for the first 2.5GB and they slow it for the rest of the month but I have had a smart phone for over 3yrs and never used more then 1.5gb a month so if you are a heavy user than this is not for you but if you are an average user than you can save some money.

Was this review helpful? (445) (50)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Twolinks
Statesville North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1 STAR IS TOO MANY!!!!
9/18/2012

Customer review by FOUO

1.0 stars 9/18/2012 by FOUO
by FOUO

ok so i have been using straight talk for several months now and now its time to reload some minutes and my sim card is blocked. so i call their tech support, which really isn't that helpfully, and they tell me that there unlimited everything plan as limits. Basically they can shut you down due to their "Fair Use Policy" that is nowhere on their website and printed in like 2 font on the paperwork they send you with the sim card. To sum this policy up for yall, straight talk doesnt want you on youtube, facebook, pandora, google, they even monitor the lengths of your calls to determine whether or not you talk to much. So i was like ok whatever just reactivate my phone and ill watch how much of my unlimited data ill use and they told me they couldn't that but i could just buy another sim card and start over. Neeless to say I'll be finding another provider with better customer service and one that doesn't rope you in with the fine print. I would not recommend this to anyone stay as far away from them as possible.

Was this review helpful? (585) (76)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FOUO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Oh Good Grief!
4/13/2013

Customer review by Mickeyfan74

1.0 stars 4/13/2013 by Mickeyfan74
by Mickeyfan74

When Straight Talks works, it's great. When it doesn't.............it is REALLY AWFUL. In the last month they have lost my phone number, swearing that it wasn't a Straight Talk number multiple times as I tried to add airtime (But boy did they sure cut off that service for nonpayment!) and have messed up two consecutive payments on my husband's phone. I have spent countless hours on hold trying to correct these situations, including one marathon 3 hour span of time. When I finally got customer service representatives on the phone, the reps had thick accents and I had trouble hearing them as I am a bit hard of hearing and their attitudes made me want to just hang up. We are not renewing my phone, and are transferring to AT&T. I'd rather change my phone number and pay twice as much for my phone than deal with the problems any more. I give it one star simply because I can't give a negative number of stars. Straight Talk's customer service is terrible, and they don't care if you're happy with them or not. Run away!

Was this review helpful? (93) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mickeyfan74
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Same product you would buy in the store - save tax
12/18/2013

Customer review by donottreadonme

3.0 stars 12/18/2013 by donottreadonme
by donottreadonme
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is the same Straight Talk refill card people would buy at their local Walmart store. Its advantages are that it comes electronically, thereby saving you the expense of spending gas to get there, which would be especially useful if you live at a great distance from one. It also will save you the sales tax, if your state has one. Its disadvantages are that, although I saw advertising that this product would arrive as an email anywhere from minutes to hours, both purchases unfortunately arrived from about 24 to 36 hours instead!! There is a place, however, where it mentions that it 'could' take up to 48 hours. Perhaps this won't bother the more patient folks, but it sure had me antsy with the extended waiting time. My suggestion for walmart.com would be to eliminate any areas of advertising which might lead a person to believe that it could actually arrive in minutes or hours. For all I know, it might for some, but thus far it never has for me.

Was this review helpful? (111) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
donottreadonme
Northeast U.S.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
You can't switch between StraightTalk & Tracfone
4/28/2014

Customer review by ihatenicknamesforever

1.0 stars 4/28/2014 by ihatenicknamesforever
by ihatenicknamesforever

I'm not using my Android phone that much and wanted to save some money by switching to TracFone. American Movil is the parent company for both ST & TF. The exact same model number for the Samsung phone I have is offered by both ST & TF but they won't let you buy a TF plan unless you buy another phone. To add injury to insult when I turn on my phone it boots up as TracFone. When they couldn't synch my phone number and phone serial number for 6 months I finally escalated beyond their call center and it was a TR employee that helped me. The Forbes Magazine richest man in the world for 2014 was Bill Gates. Carlos Slim who controls American Movil was number 2 behind Bill Gates. The company isn't even based in the U.S. If I own the cell phone I should be able to take it where I want to in a free market capitalistic society. Their customer service people are nice but forget getting any help if your question is not in their scripted list. This is ridiculous!

Was this review helpful? (83) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ihatenicknamesforever
FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Poor Customer Service !
11/25/2013

Customer review by u1234k12345

1.0 stars 11/25/2013 by u1234k12345
by u1234k12345

We have had Straight Talk for just over one month..... My wife has had to call customer service three times in less than one month !!! The first problem is that one can not understand the customer service rep !!!!! Straight talk was suppose to fix her phone three times, The phone was NEVER fixed !!! Finally after the last time my wife was on the phone with straight talk, my wife reset her own phone and now seems to work.... Oh, one of the times talking to straight talk,I ask to speak to a supervisor, I was on hold for 15 minutes and then the rep said that her supervisor now was in a meeting....... SO I ask that the supervisor call me..... as of now it's 2 days later and still NO call !!! We had left Verizon to go to this 3 rate company...... I am thinking that we maybe we will be going back to Verizon !!! I would NEVER recommend this company to anybody !! The sad part of this is that I had great hopes for this company !!!

Was this review helpful? (202) (26)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
u1234k12345
Warren,Pa.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Should have stuck with old provider
4/11/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 4/11/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

The $30 pre-paid PIN was activated over the phone on Day 1 and it's a waste of time trying to do it online if you're transferring your old number. The phone worked only for the test call around the 6th hour on my land line phone on Day 2 (after 3 hours on Day 1), but never showed up in the plan/minutes. After another 4 hours and 3 disconnects with customer service (which was barely audible on the last 'manager' transfer it was decided that they would replace the phone within THREE TO FIVE BUSINESS DAYS after they received the defective phone. So now I'm without wireless service for 2 weeks. Not only are their phones unreliable, but the signal is barely functional at my home plus the customer service, though polite, is absolutely awful. I recommend that you at all costs avoid this service provider. Their phones are useless and I can't wait to get the phone up and running so that I can use up the prepaid time and switch back to Verizon.

Was this review helpful? (26) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Bedford, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
GREAT product at a GREAT price!!
12/9/2012

Customer review by DanBro

5.0 stars 12/9/2012 by DanBro
by DanBro

I have an HTC Inspire and my wife has an iPhone 3 that were on the AT&T network. My basic voice/data/text billing plan was $189 per month. I ordered two new SIM cards from Straight talk and activated my existing phones on Straight Talk. I now pay $45 per month each and the phones work GREAT!! I did have to call Straight Talk customer service for help activating my HTC Inspire because it was one of a couple of HTC phones that are a little "different" and needed a little extra programming, but other than that, the phones work GREAT on the same the AT&T network that I was paying $189 per month, plus, I have unlimited voice/data/text for $45/mo. I now save $90 PER MONTH. By the way. I use the free Google Navigator app on my HTC Android phone. It works just like Garmin or Tom-Tom. AT&T charges $12 per month for the same service. When my wife's iPhone eventually crashes due to old age, I will be replacing it with a Straight Talk Android phone.

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DanBro
San Antonio, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Horrible Customr Service
10/17/2012

Customer review by findinganewservicecompany

2.0 stars 10/17/2012 by findinganewservicecompany
by findinganewservicecompany

I had Straigt Talk for years. Never had a real issue unless I had to contact customer service. They have to have the worst customer service I have ever incountered. One time, my area was out of the unlimited plan cards so I got one over the phone, paying with my bank card- they billed me twice and still never credited my phone- it took me two weeks and several phone calls to have this issue rectified. My last incident, my phone had quit working after only two months, I sent in the old phone and close to TWO WEEKS later, finally got the new one in just to fnd out they sent me a sim card that doesn't work in my area (three phone calls and almost 6 hours later) so they sent me a new one and, two phone calls and two and a half hours later, this one won't work with my phone. They wanted to send me a new one, but I'm done with this company- the price is right, but hope and pray nothing goes wrong with it.

Was this review helpful? (20) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
findinganewservicecompany
ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Horrendous Support Service
12/31/2013

Customer review by Auditor101

1.0 stars 12/31/2013 by Auditor101
by Auditor101
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

After a problem on the Straight talk website to activate my 4 cell phones, I was directed to call the 1877 help line. What a huge ordeal! on the phone for 5 1/2 hours during the afternoon, another 1 hr at night! Talked to several managers and support employees and kept giving them the same information over and over. These people lacked the necessary training because they didn't seem to understand what they were doing. and since I had to call back after 2 cell phones weren't activated, apparently they didn't save the information that was provided. or they just didn't listen to my answers. just a nightmare and if I had to do it all over again, I would have simply stayed with Verizon and saved myself this aggravation. I have told my family, friends, and co-workers of my experience and not to make the same mistake. Sad day for your corporation! Please get back in touch with me, I would love to discuss this further. But you really need to make sure this doesn't happen to any other customers. I will keep Straighttalk since there are no refunds on the 30 day service, after that, we will see.

Was this review helpful? (94) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Auditor101
Poland, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Terrible phone company
9/28/2012

Customer review by Strttalksux

1.0 stars 9/28/2012 by Strttalksux
by Strttalksux

Would not recommend straight talk to anybody, the customer service associates don't know anything, there favorite word is no. Phones are o.k. Very cheap but they work. They use different providers for different phones, and it makes it really difficult to keep your phone number from different provider, when you get a new phone from straight talk. BUYER BEWARE. I've had my service out for two days before and they couldn't do anything about it because they were rebooting there systems, and its happened several times. Not a reliable company and they don't have reliable phones. Bottom line, if you use this company you'd better have a good back up phone with different provider, because of there unreliable service. Maybe a good company for a teenager, who doesn't need a phone with reliable service. There are many more pay as you go service providers, who's prices are comparable and are much more reliable.

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Strttalksux
Corning
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Half the cost, half the service
2/8/2011

Customer review by bttrfly3235

1.0 stars 2/8/2011 by bttrfly3235
by bttrfly3235

You just better hope you don't have to call customer service. I just spent a 1 1/2 hours on the phone with them, and I still have no phone service. And apparently I won't for another 48 hrs according to them. I've already waited 48 hrs to get my number transferred and I have to wait another 48 because they couldn't get my phone to activate so I had to go get another one. If you plan on transferring your old phone number be prepared to it takes 48 hrs to do so. For me they transferred my number from my old provider and wasn't able to get my new phone to activate. So here I have without phone service from either phone service. And I'm not sure when I will get it on. So far I haven't got my phone to work once. Oh, and the call centers are out the country so they don't speak english. Half the cost of other providers plans, half the customer service. Seriously don't waste your time.

Was this review helpful? (73) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bttrfly3235
Would recommend to a friend? No
timing
4/21/2014

Customer review by ZanarkandBlitz

2.0 stars 4/21/2014 by ZanarkandBlitz
by ZanarkandBlitz

I bought this on a friday (the day my subscription expired) however that was also the day i came back from being underway (at sea on a ship) and i needed my phone to last me through the weekend. I bought it online because I have no car to travel from base to wal mart and my phones website does not allow 45 a month plans. however I had thought i was going to recieve my phone code that day i bought it. I was wrong. it is now sunday...i have missed texts and calls from my girl and my family has not heard from me since last week when I left. I have gotten lost in the middle of a town without a GPS on my phone or having the ability to call anyone. All i wanted was my phone code that i had purchased. had i known it woulda taken 3+ days to recieve it I would have just tried to find a way to walmart instead of this. I would only buy this product online if you are buying in advance. do not buy this if your phone is already about to be deactivated on the day of or prior. overall...Dissapointed in the time it takes to "verify my purchase" and send my code electronically >_>

Was this review helpful? (61) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ZanarkandBlitz
Would recommend to a friend? No
Love IT! COuld not be better! Love saving MOney!
1/11/2011

Customer review by carsonjt2

5.0 stars 1/11/2011 by carsonjt2
by carsonjt2
Top 50 contributor

At first I was not sure about this product. We have been with tmobile for over 6 years. But paying 222.00 a month for our phones got to be to expensive. So we canceled our contract and got 2 straight talk phones! I love them! They are nice and inexpensive! Actually I have never had to pay for a phone. If you visit their website, they offer free phones when you buy a monthly plan. Either 1000 mins or the unlimited! Also it is nice to pay as you go or on their website you can set up autorfill or reserve mins for your next month! Also it is simple again on their website to upgrade your phone and still keep your same number! You can also keep your previous number from another phone company, even landlines! So you can not go wrong here! We went from paying 222.00 a month for 2 phones to paying 75.00 a month for 2 phones! I use the unlimited plan becasue I also use it as a home phone! I get unlimited talk, text and web! My husband uses the 1000 mins plan and it works great for him because he is not on the phone nearly as much as I am! And the best part is you can upgrade or downgrade your plans whenever you want! WITH NO CONTRACT!!!

Was this review helpful? (2147) (204)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
carsonjt2
Roy, UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 50 contributor
Not as advertised. Warning!! READ THE FINE PRINT!!
12/30/2013

Customer review by Angelcomplex

2.0 stars 12/30/2013 by Angelcomplex
by Angelcomplex

The description of this product makes it seem like the pin will be emailed within 60 minutes of ordering. WARNING!! This is NOT the case!! My advise is to read the fine print, it says that the card may take up to 48 HOURS to arrive (a fact I only learned AFTER I placed my order) I wish I had read the reviews here, or the fine print, but alas, I was in a hurry to keep my phone active (expiration got the best of me during the busy holiday season and I completely forgot all about it). Had I known that it was going to take nearly 24 hours for my pin to arrive, I would have gone through the straight talk web site instead. :( However, I did eventually receive my pin, and the $45 even price tag was nice, so my only real complaint is in the way this is advertised. PLEASE don't tell me in bold that something is going to take an hour when in reality, it may be FIFTY TIMES that long. Thank you.

Was this review helpful? (103) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Angelcomplex
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE EVER!
11/15/2012

Customer review by lizzy813

1.0 stars 11/15/2012 by lizzy813
by lizzy813

I don't say that lightly. I've had cellular, landlines, and internet services for over 20 years, with companies as varied as AT&T, BellSouth, NYNEX, Sprint, Verizon, T-Mobile, Cingular, Tracfone, and others too obscure to mention. I've lost track of the number of calls I've made to StraightTalk where I was either: (a) given a message signal and told to call back later; or (b) put on hold for upwards of 10 minutes, connected with someone who didn't know how to activate my service, and then transferred to a line that gave me the "we're busy, call back later" message. On the ONE occasion I managed to get through a human being that stayed with me, her English was so poor that we could hardly make ourselves understood to one another. And whatever she did to attempt to activate my service created even more problems. Naturally, I tried to do as much as I could to solve these issues online. But the online site is about as clear as a bucket as mud, and as helpful. My service is listed as active, despite the fact that the phone doesn't register anything except the presence of a SIM card in its guts.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lizzy813
Would recommend to a friend? No
Truely Unlimited Data and more
10/11/2013

Customer review by Traceguy

4.0 stars 10/11/2013 by Traceguy
by Traceguy

I have been using Straight Talk since February 2013. I have seen hundreds of people cry that they dont get unlimited data. Some even go as far to lie and exaggerate that its actually 2GB a month. The problem is that these people blaming StraightTalk are actually the problem. StraightTalk has ToS (Terms of Service), if you break the rules, they break you. I have followed the ToS as best as I can understand them. There are really only two big rules. 1. No Tethering. (No turning your phone into a mobile hotspot) 2. No uses live streams. (No live radio stations, news stations, tv stations, web shows, etc) The problem is, most dont know what tethering is, and they do it anyways. I would bet more than 50% or the people complaining have used some kind of live content. My last billing cycle, I have used almost 4GBs and I am still going strong

Was this review helpful? (281) (34)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Traceguy
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 2082 total reviews
1-20 of 2082 reviews