Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 2400 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

2400 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

2400 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

81%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
1517
4 stars
326
3 stars
128
2 stars
75
1 stars
354
1-20 of 1911 total reviews
81%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 1911 total reviews
1-20 of 1911 reviews
READ THIS BEFORE YOU BUY!!!
2/9/2011

Customer review by InsideOut1111

5.0 stars 2/9/2011 by InsideOut1111
by InsideOut1111

I have two Straight Talk phones. When everything works, it works WELL, but if there is a problem, it could potentially take days and days to have it resolved. The problem is that all of the Straight Talk representatives are in Guatemala. If you need answers to common questions such as "when does my service date end?" they have no problems answering you. But if you are having problems that they do not have a routine answer for, the language difference becomes a barrier. For the price you pay, it is definitely worth being patient with them. Here is what I strongly recommend: 1. When you first activate your phone, DO NOT register your credit card online (e.g. for automatic refill) UNTIL you have completely activated your phone and you are sure that it is working. Then go back and log in to give your credit card info. 2. If you are transferring an old phone number from a different carrier, be sure you have the correct account number (different from the cell number). This process takes a couple of days, so again, do not give credit card info until the activation is complete. Just use the air cards you buy from Walmart. I HIGHLY recommend Straight Talk. Just understand that there is a language difference and IF you need to speak with them for something "out of the ordinary" you will need plenty of patience. Just think about the money you are saving!

Was this review helpful? (2767) (236)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
InsideOut1111
Novi, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 25 contributor
Love IT! COuld not be better! Love saving MOney!
1/11/2011

Customer review by carsonjt2

5.0 stars 1/11/2011 by carsonjt2
by carsonjt2

At first I was not sure about this product. We have been with tmobile for over 6 years. But paying 222.00 a month for our phones got to be to expensive. So we canceled our contract and got 2 straight talk phones! I love them! They are nice and inexpensive! Actually I have never had to pay for a phone. If you visit their website, they offer free phones when you buy a monthly plan. Either 1000 mins or the unlimited! Also it is nice to pay as you go or on their website you can set up autorfill or reserve mins for your next month! Also it is simple again on their website to upgrade your phone and still keep your same number! You can also keep your previous number from another phone company, even landlines! So you can not go wrong here! We went from paying 222.00 a month for 2 phones to paying 75.00 a month for 2 phones! I use the unlimited plan becasue I also use it as a home phone! I get unlimited talk, text and web! My husband uses the 1000 mins plan and it works great for him because he is not on the phone nearly as much as I am! And the best part is you can upgrade or downgrade your plans whenever you want! WITH NO CONTRACT!!!

Was this review helpful? (2053) (193)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
carsonjt2
Roy, UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 50 contributor
Worked until it deactivated & assigned new number
10/23/2012

Customer review by WhyDoIHaveToGiveName

1.0 stars 10/23/2012 by WhyDoIHaveToGiveName
by WhyDoIHaveToGiveName

I purchases a straight talk phone in January for my teenager. It worked fine until August when he went out of the state for a week long trip. During the trip, the phone began to say 'no service'. When he arrived home, we checked the account on the website to find that the phone was listed as deactivated and there was another phone number listed. After several hours talking with customer service, they were able to correct the problem though we had lost our original phone number. The only answer I was able to get was that I had moved to a new zip code, which was not true. We were in the same house we had been the entire time. Two days later the phone again deactivated. After talking to customer service, I was told they would need to send a new sim card. So all together we were without service for almost two weeks before the problem was corrected. Even then, the phone worked but the data did not always work. The next time we added minutes, again the phone assigned itself a new number and deactivated. Customer service was able to fix the problem. When this happened again last week, (the third month in a row) I ordered the iphone compatible sim card from the website and paid for overnight shipping. When I received the card, we followed the directions for activation with an AT&T compatible iphone and for a few hours everything seemed to be working correctly though again with a different phone number. However, my son began receiving phone calls and text messages from someone saying he had taken their phone number. After about three or four hours, the phone again deactivated. Customer service said I would have to wait for a new sim card to be sent out. As I had already had two new sim cards and it hadn't solved the problem, I wasn't interested in waiting again. Additionally, I had only received this card a few hours earlier and no one could explain why it just deactivated when it was brand new. I asked to speak to a supervisor and after being on hold for several minutes was told they had all gone home. The representative said she would add a note to my account that would allow me to call back this morning and speak to a supervisor. When I called this morning, the representative refused to connect me with a supervisor, saying she needed to go through the whole process. I repeated the details for the third or fourth time and she finally said the only thing they could do was send a sim card. Again, I asked to speak to a supervisor. After several minutes of telling me that I couldn't, she finally agreed to place me on hold until she could get someone. After several minutes on hold she said there were no supervisors available she had been told they wouldn't be able to do anything anyway. Then she began repeating the part about sending a new sim card. When I asked if they could send out another iphone compatible SIM card via overnight shipping I was told this was not possible. No one could explain why a brand new SIM card that I'd had for less than eight hours deactivated and the only thing they could do was credit me for some missed days and send out a new one via regular mail hoping this would fix the problem.

Was this review helpful? (470) (47)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WhyDoIHaveToGiveName
Mobile, AL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1 STAR IS TOO MANY!!!!
9/18/2012

Customer review by FOUO

1.0 stars 9/18/2012 by FOUO
by FOUO

ok so i have been using straight talk for several months now and now its time to reload some minutes and my sim card is blocked. so i call their tech support, which really isn't that helpfully, and they tell me that there unlimited everything plan as limits. Basically they can shut you down due to their "Fair Use Policy" that is nowhere on their website and printed in like 2 font on the paperwork they send you with the sim card. To sum this policy up for yall, straight talk doesnt want you on youtube, facebook, pandora, google, they even monitor the lengths of your calls to determine whether or not you talk to much. So i was like ok whatever just reactivate my phone and ill watch how much of my unlimited data ill use and they told me they couldn't that but i could just buy another sim card and start over. Neeless to say I'll be finding another provider with better customer service and one that doesn't rope you in with the fine print. I would not recommend this to anyone stay as far away from them as possible.

Was this review helpful? (521) (53)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FOUO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great value save money
1/23/2014

Customer review by Twolinks

4.0 stars 1/23/2014 by Twolinks
by Twolinks

I have been with them for a few months now and my mother has been with them for over a year. It is a good service and works well for both of us. When you change over to it you just have to remember to get the right phone for your area and do not go with a cheap phone you will regret it. My mom uses a zeta it runs about $150 and works really well I use a I phone 4 and it works really well. If you fellow this two things you should not have any problems, I would give it a 5 stars but I do have to say the customer service is good just hard to understand them the one or two times I have called but all in all it was a good choice for me. I was paying $77 a month now I pay $48, a nice saving and just to clear it up it does say in the terms that it is 3g for the first 2.5GB and they slow it for the rest of the month but I have had a smart phone for over 3yrs and never used more then 1.5gb a month so if you are a heavy user than this is not for you but if you are an average user than you can save some money.

Was this review helpful? (404) (42)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Twolinks
Statesville North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Truely Unlimited Data and more
10/11/2013

Customer review by Traceguy

4.0 stars 10/11/2013 by Traceguy
by Traceguy

I have been using Straight Talk since February 2013. I have seen hundreds of people cry that they dont get unlimited data. Some even go as far to lie and exaggerate that its actually 2GB a month. The problem is that these people blaming StraightTalk are actually the problem. StraightTalk has ToS (Terms of Service), if you break the rules, they break you. I have followed the ToS as best as I can understand them. There are really only two big rules. 1. No Tethering. (No turning your phone into a mobile hotspot) 2. No uses live streams. (No live radio stations, news stations, tv stations, web shows, etc) The problem is, most dont know what tethering is, and they do it anyways. I would bet more than 50% or the people complaining have used some kind of live content. My last billing cycle, I have used almost 4GBs and I am still going strong

Was this review helpful? (258) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Traceguy
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Dont buy this online!!!!!!!!!!
5/15/2011

Customer review by tinkerbellqt6905

1.0 stars 5/15/2011 by tinkerbellqt6905
by tinkerbellqt6905

I bought this online yesterday instead of going to the store thinking itd be easier and not wasting gas $. dont waste ur time , and what i mean is ive been waiting to get my phone reactivated for 2 days now...i believe either its bc the phone company wont accept my payment for the phone card till its no longer pending in my bank acct. or theres something wrong with the company itself and their system at the moment.......buy ur card in store! not online!

Was this review helpful? (274) (28)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tinkerbellqt6905
michigan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
Beware!
8/30/2013

Customer review by Shep007

1.0 stars 8/30/2013 by Shep007
by Shep007

I called to make sure I could bring my on phone and it would work on their network(s). Straight Talk said, sure, no problem! So, I go through the process of activating the phone with Straight Talk and porting the number. I find out I cannot program the phone with Straight Talk, so I call customer service. They did not correct the problem. So I asked for a refund, only to get the answer from the customer service rep and his supervisor that it is policy that they do not issue refunds. So, I am stuck with no service and out the $15 fee for activation and the $45 + tax charge for a month's airtime. And, as an added benefit, my long-time phone number is now ported to Straight Talk and I don't have use of it! I wish I could give it the same amount of stars as the amount of use I got out of the service -- zero.

Was this review helpful? (185) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Shep007
Pearl, MS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Poor customer service
2/24/2011

Customer review by patty250

1.0 stars 2/24/2011 by patty250
by patty250

I switch to Straight Talk about 6 months ago and eveything was going well until I had an issue with my phone. After I loaded new minutes my texting fuction quit working. I contacted customer sevice, to make a long story short it took 3 weeks and about 7 hours on the phone with them. When I ask for some compensation for 3 weeks of phone problems, they told me there was nothing they could do. You may want to consider this when searching for a new phone plan.

Was this review helpful? (283) (29)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
patty250
Minneapolis, MN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
They turned off my internet!
11/13/2011

Customer review by Beautyfromashes

1.0 stars 11/13/2011 by Beautyfromashes
by Beautyfromashes

They turned off my data usage (internet and picture texting) without any notice. I was told it was because I had such high data usage even though I pay for unlimited mobile data usage. I've had to call twice and they say it may take up to twenty-four hours to restore this part of my service.

Was this review helpful? (209) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Beautyfromashes
Would recommend to a friend? No
i love it
2/27/2011

Customer review by dmalkan

5.0 stars 2/27/2011 by dmalkan
by dmalkan

straight talk is the best! i was paying $75 a month for ATT with no data plan, just limited phone and limited text. now for 40% less i get unlimited everything. what could be better? also, the service works just fine. you use the ATT towers just like having ATT. and my phone number transfered over no problems. i recommend it!

Was this review helpful? (842) (145)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dmalkan
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 500 contributor
Oh yes!
3/1/2011

Customer review by Mannybluees

5.0 stars 3/1/2011 by Mannybluees
by Mannybluees

By far, the best prepaid cellphone plan out in the market today. It uses both Verizone and at&t to give you the best service possible. Best of all, there are no hidden fees, no monthly bills, and no contracts to fill.

Was this review helpful? (803) (132)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mannybluees
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Top 500 contributor
NOT UNLIMITED 1.5GB ONLY READ FINE PRINT
8/5/2013

Customer review by jilybeandreams

1.0 stars 8/5/2013 by jilybeandreams
by jilybeandreams

We bought new IPHONE 5 phones for our kids. In the very first month my son exceeded 1.5 GB and had his data disabled by Straight Talk with no warnings or explanations. We called for support and the Straight Talk tech would offer no explanations other than we had "violated the terms and conditions". When I looked up terms and conditions on the website under paragraph 6&7 it says that they can turn off your data at their discretion. It states their service isn't for downloading video and excessive usage. I personally do not think 1.5 GB is excessive. I can get 2GB with Verizon for a $30 dollar data plan. Also once you have "violated" you will never be restored to the fast internet speed, you are marked for life and you may has well get rid of it. So if you are looking for truly unlimited this is not it!

Was this review helpful? (143) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jilybeandreams
New York
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
DO NOT ORDER ONLINE!!!
10/28/2013

Customer review by Lambchop1230

3.0 stars 10/28/2013 by Lambchop1230
by Lambchop1230

I placed an order online and 65 hours later, I still had NOT received the email with the code needed!!! Ended up canceling the online order and just went to the store to purchase it.

Was this review helpful? (98) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lambchop1230
SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Not truly unlimited...
7/5/2012

Customer review by Tempeste

1.0 stars 7/5/2012 by Tempeste
by Tempeste

I am disabled and use my phone a great deal as it is my only connection to the world most days. Six days after purchasing an 'unlimited' $45 card my phone was permanently shut off.. I was told by straight talk customer service it was because I called my family too much. Straight talk told me my only recourse is to purchase another phone and another $45 plan from them. Why would I do this if they are going to shut it off after six days? Anyone looking for a truly unlimited talking plan, this is NOT it. If you think it is and use it you will end up paying for 24 days of time you never get to use, just as I have

Was this review helpful? (154) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tempeste
Omaha, NE
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Poor Customer Service !
11/25/2013

Customer review by u1234k12345

1.0 stars 11/25/2013 by u1234k12345
by u1234k12345

We have had Straight Talk for just over one month..... My wife has had to call customer service three times in less than one month !!! The first problem is that one can not understand the customer service rep !!!!! Straight talk was suppose to fix her phone three times, The phone was NEVER fixed !!! Finally after the last time my wife was on the phone with straight talk, my wife reset her own phone and now seems to work.... Oh, one of the times talking to straight talk,I ask to speak to a supervisor, I was on hold for 15 minutes and then the rep said that her supervisor now was in a meeting....... SO I ask that the supervisor call me..... as of now it's 2 days later and still NO call !!! We had left Verizon to go to this 3 rate company...... I am thinking that we maybe we will be going back to Verizon !!! I would NEVER recommend this company to anybody !! The sad part of this is that I had great hopes for this company !!!

Was this review helpful? (190) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
u1234k12345
Warren,Pa.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
I Was Nervous, But Walmart Came Through!
12/25/2013

Customer review by Askance

5.0 stars 12/25/2013 by Askance
by Askance

I noticed that I could purchase a straight-talk card on walmart.com rather than trying to hike up to the store for a last minute gift or purchasing on the straight-talk site and getting hit with additional charges. I browsed through and noticed some people complained about not getting their code-sometimes for DAYS. I needed the code for my brother's christmas gift, since his account expires tomorrow. So, I went against my vibe from other reviewers and did it anyway thinking it might just be customer error. Especially, with the filters on spam folders lately. I was pleasantly surprised, although, definitely had my nerves going. I placed my order at 12:19am and received my pin number around 12:34am. So 15 minutes was all it took for me. I use gmail, so my walmart order form went to my regular inbox and the pin number went to my "promotions" box. I can tell you, it felt like the longest 15 minutes of my life and I really didn't want to regret the purchase, but I am glad I did it!

Was this review helpful? (184) (26)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Askance
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Same product you would buy in the store - save tax
12/18/2013

Customer review by donottreadonme

3.0 stars 12/18/2013 by donottreadonme
by donottreadonme

This is the same Straight Talk refill card people would buy at their local Walmart store. Its advantages are that it comes electronically, thereby saving you the expense of spending gas to get there, which would be especially useful if you live at a great distance from one. It also will save you the sales tax, if your state has one. Its disadvantages are that, although I saw advertising that this product would arrive as an email anywhere from minutes to hours, both purchases unfortunately arrived from about 24 to 36 hours instead!! There is a place, however, where it mentions that it 'could' take up to 48 hours. Perhaps this won't bother the more patient folks, but it sure had me antsy with the extended waiting time. My suggestion for walmart.com would be to eliminate any areas of advertising which might lead a person to believe that it could actually arrive in minutes or hours. For all I know, it might for some, but thus far it never has for me.

Was this review helpful? (106) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
donottreadonme
Northeast U.S.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Poor
6/26/2011

Customer review by hill630

1.0 stars 6/26/2011 by hill630
by hill630

In June, online, I called in to activate a new phone, using the email delivery card pin number. While on the phone I approved having the 30-day service come out of my debit card automatically each month. The message said payment will come out in July. Good it worked I thought. BUT, money came out of my checking account that day! I called and was told they didn't use the email delivery pin number I entered, they charged my bank account and I would have to cancel the automatic withdrawal and use the email delivery pin number in July...then sign up for the automatic withdrawal again! I hadn't planned on spending that additional $50 - I live on a fixed income - and that created financial problems for me.

Was this review helpful? (124) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hill630
Lake Helen, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Don't order your card here if your in a hurry!
12/12/2013

Customer review by AlphaSpiritWolf

1.0 stars 12/12/2013 by AlphaSpiritWolf
by AlphaSpiritWolf

I have been a customer of Straight Talk for awhile now, and really had no issues. I at first purchased my refills at Walmart but then found out how handy it was to be able to order it directly from the site. The first few times I had no problems at all, usually within an hour or so I would get my pin. This time due to the holidays I had to push back the purchase of more time till the day it was due. I had put in my order for the card at the beginning of the day and waited...and waited...and waited. I kept checking back and all it would say was processing. Eventually as the day wore on into evening feeling a bit of the crunch I cancelled my order and reordered with another card thinking perhaps it was an issue with the card. I continued to wait and wait and wait. Finally I had no choice but to yet again cancel the order and this time ended up going directly to Straight Talk's site in order to purchase the time. My advice is to if you can avoid it go directly to the store to get your card and if no other choice go to straight talk's web site. Yes you will pay a few cents more there for tax, but at least you will get it right away and it will be put right onto your account.

Was this review helpful? (81) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AlphaSpiritWolf
Pa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
1-20 of 1911 total reviews
1-20 of 1911 reviews