Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 589 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

589 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

5 stars
381
4 stars
75
3 stars
24
2 stars
18
1 stars
91
81%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 396 total reviews
Good price for Verizon network phone
2/14/2011

Customer review by CCC101

5.0 stars by CCC101

Excellent network coverage, have not had to call customer service in over one year of use. No re-activation fee if you let time run out for a few days. Be careful when renewing early, use the "reserve" system to avoid losing the remaining days of previous month.

Was this review helpful? (443) (42)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
CCC101
San Jose, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
Just make sure they dont short your days...
1/13/2011

Customer review by Nymom845

3.0 stars by Nymom845

This is the 3rd time they have shorted me 3 or 4 days. I called to verify my service end date, which was the 16th, and on the 13th my daughter was cut off trying to call me from school! Then after an hr of trying to talk to someone who barely speaks English, they tell me they cannot fix the problem without having the physical phone.... grrrrr. It's good when it works, but had I known it would be unreliable I would have made another choice for my kid.

Was this review helpful? (245) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Nymom845
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Poor customer service
2/24/2011

Customer review by patty250

1.0 stars by patty250

I switch to Straight Talk about 6 months ago and eveything was going well until I had an issue with my phone. After I loaded new minutes my texting fuction quit working. I contacted customer sevice, to make a long story short it took 3 weeks and about 7 hours on the phone with them. When I ask for some compensation for 3 weeks of phone problems, they told me there was nothing they could do. You may want to consider this when searching for a new phone plan.

Was this review helpful? (277) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
patty250
Minneapolis, MN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
GOOD RIDDANCE to "contract" phone service!!
4/10/2011

Customer review by squeesh80

5.0 stars by squeesh80

I love my straight talk phone (r355c) except the picture quality is low, and can't zoom in on pics. Besides the not- so -good camera, I love everything about my phone!! I used to live in northern Idaho, & recently moved to Southern Idaho, and I make the trip back "home" frequently. My straight talk phone works in both my old home city, & new city, which are 400 miles apart. (And most of the way of the trip between the two) My old "contract" phone worked when I got to my "home town" but didn't work in most of the small towns/areas in between. When I cancelled my old service they told me I owed an $85 cancellation fee, and had $40 in overages. I said "that's why Im cancelling this phone service, I pay $50+/month for only 250 texts and 450 mins, and high overage costs!" Customer service person said I could double my mins for another $20/month... ummm no, thank you! compare: Contract phone= 900 mins and 250 texts (didnt say if texts would double) for $70/month! ANYWAY, I love that, now I get 1000 mins AND 1000 texts ANNND 30 mb web, all for $30/month. For me that is pretty much "unlimited" (but $15 dollars cheaper than the "unlimited" plan=) to sum it up: no overages, hidden fees and more mins and texts PLUS web for $40 less per month! LOOOVE it=)

Was this review helpful? (216) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
squeesh80
Southern, Idaho
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Big Money Saver
11/22/2013

Customer review by kmulaux

5.0 stars by kmulaux

I always find it helpful to read reviews from people that have had the service for longer periods of time so that is what this is. I believe that my husband & I have had these phones & service for about 18 months. We had been using T-mobile pay as you go and the customer service there was horrible. After reading reviews on Straight Talk we figured it was worth a shot and that it couldn't be worse. We had our numbers ported from T-mobile and it took a few days. We made sure to do one at a time so that we always had one phone. I recall there was a bit of a problem with mine porting but it was resolved relatively quickly. We purchased refurbished phones from Straight Talk's website and made sure to get phones (ones that say CDMA on it) that used the Verizon network since we had such problems with our T-mobile phones and coverage. I think we paid $40 total for our two phones which came to us looking like they were brand new. Originally, we were going to just buy cards to refill because I had read reviews on here that there were problems with the auto pay. We did the cards for the first 2 or 3 months and decided to just do the auto pay. We haven't had a problem with the auto pay at all. Yes, customer service is outsourced (so is the T-mobile pay as you go) and it can be bad. I've only had one instance and it wasn't terrible like the T-mobile experience was. However, you have to remember you get what you pay for. We are saving at least $30 a month over our contract cell phones we had with Verizon but are getting much more for our money. My suggestion is to buy a refurbished phone to try it out. If you find that you end up being happy with the service, you can spend more money to get the phone you really want. I'm happy with the service and have recommended it to quite a few of my friends and family.

Was this review helpful? (105) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
kmulaux
North Dakota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Be Careful Tracking Minutes Used
6/28/2011

Customer review by dudemom63

4.0 stars by dudemom63

We recently transferred our Verizon phone numbers (two of them) to a couple of new Samsung phones and purchased the $30 phone cards. The phones were delivered in two days, were easy to activate and the reception is great where we live. The only issue is that there is a discrepency between the amount of airtime remaining and the total call time used. One of the phones ran out of minutes, however when we added up the amount of incoming and outgoing calls, there should have been over 160 minutes left. We phoned Straight Talk and they added 200 minutes to the phone with no explanation. We checked the other phone the following day and realized it had been shorted, as well. This time, we emailed Straight Talk and they responded within 48 hours with a phone call explaining that they were experiencing a glitch in their system and they added 200 minutes to the other line. I wonder how many other consumers are being shorted minutes without realizing it?

Was this review helpful? (161) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
dudemom63
Sequim, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Beware of Straight talk
5/28/2011

Customer review by easternc

1.0 stars by easternc

I have had straight talk service for about a year now. I recently bought a new straight talk phone and called customer service to have my cell # transferred to my new phone. The agent assures me it is all taken care of and should take place with in the next two days. The next day my new phone is activated with a new auto generated phone number. I call customer service and after one hour on the phone with them all they have to say is "I'm sorry for the inconvience there is nothing we can do to resolve this problem". I have had my old number for about ten years. Thats some great customer service for you.

Was this review helpful? (124) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
easternc
Morehead City, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
If your not 24/7 on your cell phone?
10/31/2013

Customer review by chillinvillin

5.0 stars by chillinvillin

I've been with straight Talk just about 4yrs. now and I've never had not one problem. I used to purchase the $45 unlimited card and that was fine...but then decided to try the $30 1000 minutes and found that is was perfect for me. I do use my cell phone...only once in 31/2 yrs. did I use all my minutes. I love Straight talk and thinking now to up grade to a newer phone. So yeah, I'll be sticking with Straight Talk Thanks Wal-Mart.

Was this review helpful? (96) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
chillinvillin
Somerton, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Who needs a contract
2/23/2011

Customer review by MammyMac

5.0 stars by MammyMac

I got so fed up with a certain cell phone company that never has a good solution to any problem, but I thought I was locked in because nothing else had coverage where I live. Someone told me about Straight Talk and I decided to give it a try. I got the phone and the $30 card a month before my contract with "them" ran out. This was the best move I ever made. I have just as much coverage, and a better package for about half the price of the other cell company. So far, that $30 a month plan is more than I need. If you have a contract.............drop em and get smart with Straight Talk.

Was this review helpful? (76) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
MammyMac
South Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
cell phone
1/13/2011

Customer review by opli

5.0 stars by opli

expect to wait about 3 hours to receive your e-mail with your pin for the phone card.

Was this review helpful? (64) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
opli
fullerton, ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
A real hassle to reactivate my auto-renew.
10/17/2013

Customer review by xuincoglaferous

3.0 stars by xuincoglaferous

I have enjoyed Straight Talk for several years with no problems whatsoever. Recently for no particular reason my auto-renew just stopped. Then they turned off my phone. Trying to go through the system to restart my auto-renew or just keep it going was a frustrating experience. I spoke to a lady who obviously had no clue as to what happened. I went to Walmart and bought a renewal card. As I scratched off the material covering the pin number, the numbers scratched off along with the covering. Had to drive back to Walmart and get money back. Finally, went on line, renewed with ease and everything was back to normal, except my auto pay is gone. Several others have mentioned having administrative problems with Straight Talk. Maybe it's time for Straight Talk to upgrade training of their reps, or at least make it less complicated to get something done. I'm an old man and don't have enough time left to sit listening to music and "I don't knows."

Was this review helpful? (61) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
xuincoglaferous
Hemet, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
DO NOT BUY ONLINE!!!
8/8/2011

Customer review by DanKy10

1.0 stars by DanKy10

If you can make it to the store to buy this card you probably should do that instead of buying it online. I thought that email delivery of the code would be faster but it took over 2 days to get the code and I only got it after someone from Paypal called me on my home phone and asked me to verify my purchase.

Was this review helpful? (61) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
DanKy10
Morehead, Ky
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
beware of issues with porting over your old number
8/28/2011

Customer review by Denver27

1.0 stars by Denver27

When you port your old phone number over to StraightTalk, and they goof up, entering the phone number as the old carrier's account number, you are screwed. I had 2 new phones to activate. In one case, a week has passed and they still haven't ported the service. On the second line ported over, they found a problem, telephoned me, fixed the problem, and the number ported in 1 hour. Make ABSOLUTELY certain there are NO typo's in your online activation form, or elsewhere. If porting doesn't work out, first contact the old carrier's port department to find out specifically which piece of information was incorrectly submitted in the port request. Then it will only take about a week and 3-4 phone calls to convey the exact problem to StraightTalk Tech Support. Good luck with this. Language barriers exist.

Was this review helpful? (51) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Denver27
Denver, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
a convenient product
5/17/2011

Customer review by ThinkingShopper

4.0 stars by ThinkingShopper

Buying the straight talk service card with delivery on-line is convenient. Purchase was seamless. It also reduces the overhead of the manufacturer and the distributor. My only complaint is that it took four hours to process and enable my phone. All in all I would purchase it again (and have as of this review). But the system for recognition and implementaion needs to be ramped up.

Was this review helpful? (37) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
ThinkingShopper
Denver
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Terrible web interface
2/7/2011

Customer review by V2squared

2.0 stars by V2squared

I purchased this product and opened an online account. I had planned on using a recurring payment however the site enrolled me in an unlimited plan and there was no way to change the plan even though the site said it could be changed. I had to cancel the credit card I used to cut off the auto billing. Value seems good but heavy handed upgrades were too much for me. I would not recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (40) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
V2squared
Would recommend to a friend? No
All the minutes you need card
12/5/2011

Customer review by JustMeGrannyD

5.0 stars by JustMeGrannyD

I had always bought the $45 straight talk phone card for my phone which has unlimited minutes, text and internet. This month I was short on money and purchased the $30 straight talk phone card. It comes with 1000 talk minutes and 1000 text and internet time. I have a week left on it before my 30 days is up and I need to purchase a new card - I still have minutes and texts and internet time left on it. It will last me all this week - definitely saved $15 and still had plenty of talk and text time on my phone for the month. Would suggest this to anyone to try and see if it has enough minutes for them each month also!

Was this review helpful? (30) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
JustMeGrannyD
Bloomfield, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
OK for the price
11/10/2013

Customer review by Dailyo

2.0 stars by Dailyo

Probably a good buy, but not particularly pleased with the activation process. Poor directions and had to call Straight Talk which was a disaster, at best. Could not understand the personnel. Came extremely close to giving up.

Was this review helpful? (33) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Dailyo
Vinton, Ia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
8/7/2011

Customer review by Itchard

5.0 stars by Itchard

411 is a pain not very useful but the rest of the services are great ibought the samsung r355 with this and works great plenty of time for 1 month customer service is great!

Was this review helpful? (44) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Itchard
Torrance, CA.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
NOT COMPATIBLE WITH SMART PHONE / ANDROID
9/22/2013

Customer review by WATCHOUT21

1.0 stars by WATCHOUT21

I just wanted to let everyone know that the 30 min phone card is not compatible with a smart phone or android phone serviced through straight talk. Just a heads up. I could not find anything on this card or web site that state that.

Was this review helpful? (27) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
WATCHOUT21
RI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent Service, Excellent Price
1/19/2011

Customer review by TECHound

5.0 stars by TECHound

I just ditched Verizon Wireless for StraightTalk. I had never done pre-paid before, but I'm hooked. The plans are really reasonable, the phones are just as good as feature phones at the other guys. I've been using my ST phone for a few weeks now, and the reception and features are great. I got my LG phone (290C) from ST's web site for free, with $30 card. And it gets better reception than my old LG phone (enV 2)! Don't believe the negative reviews about the customer support. Just go to StraightTalk's facebook page to get help. They're excellent, they get back to you right away and even follow up to make sure your problem is resolved. That never happened with Verizon.

Was this review helpful? (30) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
TECHound
Connecticut
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 396 total reviews