Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 66 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

66 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

66 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

73%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
21
4 stars
25
3 stars
5
2 stars
7
1 stars
8
1-20 of 63 total reviews
73%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 63 total reviews
1-20 of 63 reviews
Pretty good TV stand for the price
1/6/2013

Customer review by mamakback

4.0 stars 1/6/2013 by mamakback
by mamakback

After purchasing a new 51" TV we needed a new stand and wanted one that mounted the TV so our young kids couldn't pull it down on themselves and also one with doors to keep the little fingers out of the satellite box, DVD player and gaming systems... finding this on a tighter budget was tough so we took a gamble and tried it. It states 50" TV's and smaller will fit but our 51" fits just fine and looks just fine on the stand - I think it's more based on weigh. We thought such a big TV on a smaller stand would look goofy but I think a bigger stand would have made the TV/stand look goofy and bulky. Our big TV fits in our smaller living room perfectly! The particle board did have a couple chips but the touch up pen that is included covered them perfectly and you can only notice if you look closely. As many reviewers have stated, putting the doors on is a total pain in the behind! The "tips" that are included for getting the doors on right don't make much sense. Trial and error with loosening and tightening the hinge screws is your best bet. If you're looking for a mounting stand with doors on a budget this is the stand for you, just know there will be some blemishes and it will not be perfect but you're only paying $200 vs thousands for a high quality stand. There are a lot of screws, cam locks, wooden dowels, etc to put this together so have about 3 hours to get it all together... and send small kids to Grandma and Grandpa's house or you'll be dealing with missing pieces!

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mamakback
Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good to hold TV
3/27/2012

Customer review by NeriLP

3.0 stars 3/27/2012 by NeriLP
by NeriLP

Its good enough to hold a 47in but a smaller tv would look way better. Took my husband and I around 3 hours to put together. No matter how much we adjust the doors we cant get them to look even. Color is nice. Thats about it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NeriLP
Jersey City, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Best choice for my LED TV with 2 kids around!!!
12/3/2011

Customer review by Kecks

5.0 stars 12/3/2011 by Kecks
by Kecks

I was debating whether to buy tv stand with mount or not. Reading some reviews I found that mount is a MUST if there are kids around (<4yrs). Second concern was should the entertainment system be in closed cabinet or open. We decided with closed shelf and am I glad that we made that choice! Everything is neat and clean now, no clutter anywhere. All cable are concealed in the vertical spine. For assembly it definitely took time (2-3hrs incl. tv mount part). One error in the instruction manual is that it says to use spacers for tv with flat back too, which is wrong. I called the 1-800 number and the lady confirm it's an error. Other then that follow instruction and you won't go wrong. I see couple of reviews mentioning issues with door alignment or hinge problem. When I put the doors they were not aligned; but using the bolt#2, did the trick. Try all the bolts to see what happens with each and adjust them to right alignment. All in all, very satisfied with this stand and totally worth the $ spent.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kecks
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nice Stand
2/15/2011

Customer review by Stampy74

5.0 stars 2/15/2011 by Stampy74
by Stampy74

Stand has a very elegant look and meets or exceeds all expectations. It is a nice fit for our bedroom. Finish is darker than it appears in the picture with a dark stained Zebrawood appearance. My one knock on this product is that it is a daunting task to put this thing together. The screws and fasteners needed are all clearly packaged. Instruction manual leaves some ambiguities, which could lead to some problems due to the fact that much of the construction requires gluing wooden dowels to connect the pieces. It is very solid construction but you better be sure of what you are doing or it will be impossible to go back if you wait too long. Most of the necessary tools are included. You will need a lot of space, a phillips screw driver, a rubber mallet to pound in the dowels without damaging the finish, and a wet rag to clean up the glue that gets onto noticeable areas. It will probably take about 3 hours to assemble for someone that is good at assembly

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Stampy74
OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not as Expected
6/15/2013

Customer review by Ssss27678

2.0 stars 6/15/2013 by Ssss27678
by Ssss27678
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

First thing I opted this stand coz it looked safe for kids. It has a closed door and a mount. We had been searching for this kind of stand for a while and found this in Walmart.com. This was our first purchase of furniture online. And it was worst. We received the stand with in couple of days after ordering. The packaging was bad. It was torn. when fixing the stand found many scratches. And to our disappointment all were in the front and visible. Adding to this we missed an important part for mounting the swiveling bracket. It took around 3 hours for one person to fix it.we called the manufacturers for the part ..they sent it by FedEx. We received it in two days which was good ..Hmm. And now the part is not suitable for this model. Omg The manufacturers says this model is discontinued and they are going to send a similar part...now the wait begins again... After 3 hours of hardship and two weeks of wait we are not yet ready to un assemble the stand to return it to the store...

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 10/8/2014

Thank you very much for bringing this to our attention and we will pass this information to our quality engineering team immediately. We try to cover everyone’s needs and expectation. Customer’s feedback is very important for the company. We appreciate your time to write to us and at the same time thank you for purchasing Whalen furniture. Our goal is that every customer is a satisfied customer. We are sorry to hear about your experience with our product. We appreciate the time you took to provide feedback.

Ssss27678
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Whalen Tv Stand w/Swivel Mount --WONDERFUL!!
3/21/2011

Customer review by Bassmellow

5.0 stars 3/21/2011 by Bassmellow
by Bassmellow

FIRST - Wal-Mart.com is the best to deal with. I ordered this stand on sale, it got damaged in shipping, then went out of stock. When it became available again, I reordered and Wal-Mart refunded the difference in the full price and the sale price at which I had originally ordered. The stand is fabulous for the price. Looks nice and is VERY sturdy, especially the mount. It took a little while to assemble by myself, but with the help of my five-year-old holding it for me a few times, went together easily and nicely. Everyone who sees it loves it. The only 'problem' I have is the doors. I have not managed to get them straight yet. Hopefully will be able to find someone to help on that. All in all this is everything I thought it would be. My main reason for purchasing was the swivel mount, which is awesome, and if I ever find a NICE piece of furniture to serve as a TV stand, I will take the mount off and attach it to the new piece. These mounts are quite expensive if you can even find them.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bassmellow
Nashville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Just what we needed
2/20/2011

Customer review by foolofaguy32

5.0 stars 2/20/2011 by foolofaguy32
by foolofaguy32

After looking around in stores and online, this was the only tv stand we could find that was a good size, had space for our boxes, and a rear tv mount. It is a little darker than the picture, but still a good fit for our color scheme... takes a few hours to put together, but instructions are easy to follow. It comes will the hardware to mount any tv up to 50", the cabinets are 18"(Length) 8.5"(Height) 17.5"(Depth). The stand itself comes to 18" high. Great product, highly recommend!

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
foolofaguy32
Charleston, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Nice but broken
12/15/2015

Customer review by Tango

3.0 stars 12/15/2015 by Tango
by Tango

I like this TV stand it was just what I was looking for. It looks ok BUT you need to know that it came with all of the corners chipped and broken. The box looked like it had been dropped not once but a few times. The article is also very difficult to put together. Following the instructions one step at a time it took 3 hours. It was not worth the Aggravation to try to return it. We glued and fixed all that was cracked and broken and color matched. I don't think I would buy on line and have it shipped again. I'm not sure if all of this is damage is from the shipping company or the manufacturer. Overall after we fixed it it is ok and looks ok.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tango
Would recommend to a friend? No
Nice TV stand
2/14/2011

Customer review by vdiaz529

4.0 stars 2/14/2011 by vdiaz529
by vdiaz529

I love this tv stand. It looks very classy. Did not take much for me to assemble (I'm a girl with NO KNOWLEDGE of how to put things together unless it has DETAILED directions and I was able to easily assemble this unit). The best part of the tv stand is that now my 47" flat screen LCD tv now swivels (it didn't swivel before on its own--but once hung up on this unit, the tv swivels which makes it NICE).

Was this review helpful? (20) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
vdiaz529
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Fit perfectly!
6/28/2015

Customer review by MMTwinMommy

4.0 stars 6/28/2015 by MMTwinMommy
by MMTwinMommy

I was able to put this together with little help. It took me about 45 mins to get it all together. As others stated the doors don't line up on the first try. It is small so it's perfect for small apartments or studios. I needed something small for the area that I wanted to have my tv situated at so it fits perfectly. The low base allows me to put my radio with speakers and other devices on the base without blocking the swivel feature. The color as others have stated is more on the black side which is what I was hoping for because all of my living room furniture is black. I chose this because of the size, hopeful color, and it was one of the few Tv stands that didn't have glass shelves. I have twin toddlers and as all children do they love to climb so glass was out of the question from the beginning so this tv stand fit the bill perfectly.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MMTwinMommy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
horrible product
6/12/2013

Customer review by ChristianLady13

1.0 stars 6/12/2013 by ChristianLady13
by ChristianLady13
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We purchased this product as a temporary solution for displaying our new flat screen TV. With small.children I'm the house, the closed cabinetry for electronics combined with the swivel mount seemed like a perfect fit...we had plans to.purchase something a bit more our taste later when the children were older. When we received the stand, the box itself was nearly destroyed, so we immediately had concerns. The finish was bubbling or chipped in multiple places and, like some of the other reviews state, it was less of an espresso and more of a brown with black wood grain, almost zebra like. To make matters worse, the front corners were completely destroyed and bashed in. When we called the manufacturer to get a replacement, they said it was going to take 6-8 weeks...unacceptable. We returned it to the Walmart store the next day for.a full rwfund. To.walmart's credit, this was completely the fault of the manufacturer, not Walmart, and Walmart was extremely helpful.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ChristianLady13
Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Simple and stylish
1/5/2016

Customer review by Khkh

4.0 stars 1/5/2016 by Khkh
by Khkh

This tv stand holds a large tv without the bulky size of a typical one!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Khkh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
very durable
1/30/2011

Customer review by cfb2005

4.0 stars 1/30/2011 by cfb2005
by cfb2005

When my son & I opened the box (which was very difficult to do-we had to use a box cutter & flat head screwdriver.The cardboard was so thick and so heavily glued & stapled shut that the box was destroyed) we were pleased by the quality of the wood. However we were alarmed by the hundreds of parts.Even though the instructions seemed easy to follow, it took both of us 4 hours to assemble.In the future I will buy furniture already assembled.However, we were both pleased that it was so durable and looked nice.My son liked the quality of the mount & feels it is better than most of the mounts he has seen.My only complaints are that it still has a musty smell,probably from being in the warehouse storage and I would prefer it to be a little larger height wise to have more storage room.Our living room is small so the length and width are ideal.Overall we are pleased with this product.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cfb2005
Naugatuck, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Would highly recommend
2/17/2011

Customer review by Dobermans

5.0 stars 2/17/2011 by Dobermans
by Dobermans

This product for the price was a great value. When I started pricing others with the same features, the prices were double even triple what this cost. It was easy to set up, and it has a nice rich color to it, and it doesn't look cheap. The under cabinette is great to hide all your game systems, VCR, etc. I would recommend this to you, it would be a great choice and I am sure you'd be happy with it. I see no cons at all with this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dobermans
Louisville, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Like this stand a lot
7/2/2015

Customer review by Lindseykoppenhagen

4.0 stars 7/2/2015 by Lindseykoppenhagen
by Lindseykoppenhagen

I like the swivel stand. It's good for my baby who is almost pulling up to stand when he does. I like the cabinet so everything is hidden. The only downside was that the top of it had some cosmetic damage that we have to mark over.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lindseykoppenhagen
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
difficult to assemble
2/10/2014

Customer review by eeniemeanie

2.0 stars 2/10/2014 by eeniemeanie
by eeniemeanie
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was really excited to get this stand because even though the color is way darker than anything else I have, it had all the features I was looking for. However several of the "pre-drilled" holes didn't exist and the door bracket holes on one side were completely stripped and now won't even hold the door, much less make it straight. Very disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 9/23/2014

Thank you for purchasing Whalen Furniture and please accept an apology for any inconvenience we may have caused you.We have recently implemented new processes to quickly read and respond to online comments – our goal is that every customer is a satisfied customer, We are sorry to hear about your experience with our product. We appreciate the feedback and if this is still an issue we would like to rectify the situation at your earliest convenience, please contact our customer service dept. at 1-866-942-5362 M-F 8:30am to 4:30 pm PST

eeniemeanie
TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Looks Great! But challenging to assemble.
1/29/2011

Customer review by Tulsatownmommy

4.0 stars 1/29/2011 by Tulsatownmommy
by Tulsatownmommy

This product looks absolutely amazing in our living room, especially for the price! The only drawback, it took me FOREVER to put together. I will give it to them, the parts are very well labeled and instructions aren't too hard to understand. There's just A LOT of pieces and A LOT of steps! It would have been better if I wasn't doing it by myself. It was quite a process and just like another review said previously, one of my biggest issues was with the door hinges. I still haven't quite got them perfect, but luckily we don't need to open the doors often. Overall, it is a great looking, contemporary piece that is perfect for the money.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tulsatownmommy
Tulsa, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Looking Stand, Quality Not So Much
7/15/2015

Customer review by Nolan

2.0 stars 7/15/2015 by Nolan
by Nolan

We received our TV stand and it is very nice, however; when putting it together we found the top had 2 large chips on the corner, then when we were putting the front doors on, we discovered that the bracket that holds the door on fell right off. We returned it to Walmart, and we have ordered another. Hopefully the new one will be without flaws.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 7/16/2015

Hello, We thank you for bringing this to our attention, customer feedback is very appreciated. Our goal is that every customer is a satisfied customer. We are very sorry to hear about your experience with our product. We are working with our quality management team on these issues. We apologize for the inconvenience. Thank you for purchasing Whalen Furniture!

Nolan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Stand for cheap price
2/12/2011

Customer review by MightyAj

4.0 stars 2/12/2011 by MightyAj
by MightyAj

We have been looking for a TV stand with Mount and a Closed cabinet for our 46" LED. This one is a perfect fit for us within our Budget, we got it for 150 during which most of the TV Mounts are for 300. The assembling is little tricky, but not tough. U need to spend couple of hours. The reason I won't give 5 starts is trickiness in assembling the doors, its hard to align them, took some time to get the logic behind it. I think its worth for the money Savings.. We love the final appeal verymuch.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MightyAj
Scarborough, ME
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
have some time on your hands
1/24/2011

Customer review by ambie1098

4.0 stars 1/24/2011 by ambie1098
by ambie1098

I really loved the value of this stand. But it took my husband and I 3 hours to put it together. and then there was a problem with the hinges on the doors which would not have fit right anyway, so i just removed them. But overall, we are quite pleased with the stand. There is a reason it's under $200.00 though, so keep that in mind

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ambie1098
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 63 total reviews
1-20 of 63 reviews