Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 64 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

64 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

64 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

73%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
21
4 stars
24
3 stars
4
2 stars
7
1 stars
8
1-20 of 61 total reviews
73%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 61 total reviews
1-20 of 61 reviews
Nice TV stand
2/14/2011

Customer review by vdiaz529

4.0 stars 2/14/2011 by vdiaz529
by vdiaz529

I love this tv stand. It looks very classy. Did not take much for me to assemble (I'm a girl with NO KNOWLEDGE of how to put things together unless it has DETAILED directions and I was able to easily assemble this unit). The best part of the tv stand is that now my 47" flat screen LCD tv now swivels (it didn't swivel before on its own--but once hung up on this unit, the tv swivels which makes it NICE).

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
vdiaz529
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Just what we needed
2/20/2011

Customer review by foolofaguy32

5.0 stars 2/20/2011 by foolofaguy32
by foolofaguy32

After looking around in stores and online, this was the only tv stand we could find that was a good size, had space for our boxes, and a rear tv mount. It is a little darker than the picture, but still a good fit for our color scheme... takes a few hours to put together, but instructions are easy to follow. It comes will the hardware to mount any tv up to 50", the cabinets are 18"(Length) 8.5"(Height) 17.5"(Depth). The stand itself comes to 18" high. Great product, highly recommend!

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
foolofaguy32
Charleston, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Nice Stand
2/15/2011

Customer review by Stampy74

5.0 stars 2/15/2011 by Stampy74
by Stampy74

Stand has a very elegant look and meets or exceeds all expectations. It is a nice fit for our bedroom. Finish is darker than it appears in the picture with a dark stained Zebrawood appearance. My one knock on this product is that it is a daunting task to put this thing together. The screws and fasteners needed are all clearly packaged. Instruction manual leaves some ambiguities, which could lead to some problems due to the fact that much of the construction requires gluing wooden dowels to connect the pieces. It is very solid construction but you better be sure of what you are doing or it will be impossible to go back if you wait too long. Most of the necessary tools are included. You will need a lot of space, a phillips screw driver, a rubber mallet to pound in the dowels without damaging the finish, and a wet rag to clean up the glue that gets onto noticeable areas. It will probably take about 3 hours to assemble for someone that is good at assembly

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Stampy74
OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Best choice for my LED TV with 2 kids around!!!
12/3/2011

Customer review by Kecks

5.0 stars 12/3/2011 by Kecks
by Kecks

I was debating whether to buy tv stand with mount or not. Reading some reviews I found that mount is a MUST if there are kids around (<4yrs). Second concern was should the entertainment system be in closed cabinet or open. We decided with closed shelf and am I glad that we made that choice! Everything is neat and clean now, no clutter anywhere. All cable are concealed in the vertical spine. For assembly it definitely took time (2-3hrs incl. tv mount part). One error in the instruction manual is that it says to use spacers for tv with flat back too, which is wrong. I called the 1-800 number and the lady confirm it's an error. Other then that follow instruction and you won't go wrong. I see couple of reviews mentioning issues with door alignment or hinge problem. When I put the doors they were not aligned; but using the bolt#2, did the trick. Try all the bolts to see what happens with each and adjust them to right alignment. All in all, very satisfied with this stand and totally worth the $ spent.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kecks
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Pretty good TV stand for the price
1/6/2013

Customer review by mamakback

4.0 stars 1/6/2013 by mamakback
by mamakback

After purchasing a new 51" TV we needed a new stand and wanted one that mounted the TV so our young kids couldn't pull it down on themselves and also one with doors to keep the little fingers out of the satellite box, DVD player and gaming systems... finding this on a tighter budget was tough so we took a gamble and tried it. It states 50" TV's and smaller will fit but our 51" fits just fine and looks just fine on the stand - I think it's more based on weigh. We thought such a big TV on a smaller stand would look goofy but I think a bigger stand would have made the TV/stand look goofy and bulky. Our big TV fits in our smaller living room perfectly! The particle board did have a couple chips but the touch up pen that is included covered them perfectly and you can only notice if you look closely. As many reviewers have stated, putting the doors on is a total pain in the behind! The "tips" that are included for getting the doors on right don't make much sense. Trial and error with loosening and tightening the hinge screws is your best bet. If you're looking for a mounting stand with doors on a budget this is the stand for you, just know there will be some blemishes and it will not be perfect but you're only paying $200 vs thousands for a high quality stand. There are a lot of screws, cam locks, wooden dowels, etc to put this together so have about 3 hours to get it all together... and send small kids to Grandma and Grandpa's house or you'll be dealing with missing pieces!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mamakback
Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
have some time on your hands
1/24/2011

Customer review by ambie1098

4.0 stars 1/24/2011 by ambie1098
by ambie1098

I really loved the value of this stand. But it took my husband and I 3 hours to put it together. and then there was a problem with the hinges on the doors which would not have fit right anyway, so i just removed them. But overall, we are quite pleased with the stand. There is a reason it's under $200.00 though, so keep that in mind

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ambie1098
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Would highly recommend
2/17/2011

Customer review by Dobermans

5.0 stars 2/17/2011 by Dobermans
by Dobermans

This product for the price was a great value. When I started pricing others with the same features, the prices were double even triple what this cost. It was easy to set up, and it has a nice rich color to it, and it doesn't look cheap. The under cabinette is great to hide all your game systems, VCR, etc. I would recommend this to you, it would be a great choice and I am sure you'd be happy with it. I see no cons at all with this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dobermans
Louisville, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Better then expected
1/22/2011

Customer review by stgeorgemonkey

5.0 stars 1/22/2011 by stgeorgemonkey
by stgeorgemonkey

Well first purchase site to store. Was better then i expected the product was easy to assemple and instructions were very clear would get this brand again

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
stgeorgemonkey
st george utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent Product
2/17/2011

Customer review by psdjstig

5.0 stars 2/17/2011 by psdjstig
by psdjstig

The pieces went together beautifully. All the materials and the instructions were in excellent order. I love it, especially the height of the TV mount and how it can swivel.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
psdjstig
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
difficult to assemble
2/10/2014

Customer review by eeniemeanie

2.0 stars 2/10/2014 by eeniemeanie
by eeniemeanie

I was really excited to get this stand because even though the color is way darker than anything else I have, it had all the features I was looking for. However several of the "pre-drilled" holes didn't exist and the door bracket holes on one side were completely stripped and now won't even hold the door, much less make it straight. Very disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Comment from Whalen Product Expert - 9/23/2014

Thank you for purchasing Whalen Furniture and please accept an apology for any inconvenience we may have caused you.We have recently implemented new processes to quickly read and respond to online comments – our goal is that every customer is a satisfied customer, We are sorry to hear about your experience with our product. We appreciate the feedback and if this is still an issue we would like to rectify the situation at your earliest convenience, please contact our customer service dept. at 1-866-942-5362 M-F 8:30am to 4:30 pm PST

eeniemeanie
TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Really Nice TV Stand for NOT a lot of $$$!!
2/7/2011

Customer review by StrongsvilleMom

4.0 stars 2/7/2011 by StrongsvilleMom
by StrongsvilleMom

I had this tv stand shipped to my house which made things really easy for me. Packaged Well! It took my husband & I about 2 hrs to put this together (mind you we have 2 young boys we had to keep stopping to help or do stuff for them). It's a really great addition to my furniture. Matches well & I love the storage on the bottom. I would definitely recommend this especially if you have young kids...just putting a flat screen on top of stand isn't good idea! Trust me! That's why we had to buy new tv & this stand!

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
StrongsvilleMom
Strongsville, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very nice stand
3/9/2011

Customer review by dennisstough50

5.0 stars 3/9/2011 by dennisstough50
by dennisstough50

This is a nice stand when put together. It looks nice with the big TV on it and has storage space on the bottom is what I used it for. Very easy to put together and I would recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dennisstough50
McCalla, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
2/16/2011

Customer review by JSarmiento

5.0 stars 2/16/2011 by JSarmiento
by JSarmiento

This is the best entertainment center I've purchased. This TV Stand is nicer than anything in the store. I totally love it and I recommend it to anyone. Site to Store is awesome!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JSarmiento
Kemah, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Exactly What we Needed
11/18/2011

Customer review by JayandK

5.0 stars 11/18/2011 by JayandK
by JayandK

We ordered the TV stand online and was given a reasonable amount of time to receive it. It came much sooner than expected. We must admit, it is definitely a time consuming task and the screws for the mount may not fit, depending on the size of the TV. But, overall, it was a great buy and it looks very good in our living room. We are happy with the purchase and would buy it again.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JayandK
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
LOVE IT!
2/20/2011

Customer review by Excitedforbaby

5.0 stars 2/20/2011 by Excitedforbaby
by Excitedforbaby

Took a couple hours to put together but it is PERFECT!!! Great dark wood heavy duty and holds our 50 inch TV and we are able to put our sound bar right under the tv!!!! Great value!! Would purchase again!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Excitedforbaby
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great look for your buy!
2/4/2011

Customer review by NG83

4.0 stars 2/4/2011 by NG83
by NG83

Really like this TV stand!!!! It looks exactly as pictured and it's a great addition to the living room if you're trying to find something more modern. It did take about 2 hours to assemble but really easy to follow instructions and didn't have any problems. I have a 37" HDTV and with the mounted stand it makes the tv look even larger! Also, the dark wood looks exactly as pictured and matched my other pieces perfectly even though I bought them at other stores. Beautiful piece of furniture, definitely recommend!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NG83
Austin, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
The corners of the table came chipped
1/23/2014

Customer review by Retirada09

4.0 stars 1/23/2014 by Retirada09
by Retirada09

Stand is good looking. Even that I took care of remove The sticker from the top of the table, part of the paint or whatever is came off, even that I took care because I readed about it in the reviews,

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Retirada09
Hialeah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
2/11/2011

Customer review by Stylesetter

4.0 stars 2/11/2011 by Stylesetter
by Stylesetter

This TV stand is very high quality and looks and works great. I love it. I would highly recommend it but be prepared to spend a few hours putting it together. The Instructions are very clear and helpful. There are just a lot of parts.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Stylesetter
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Stand for cheap price
2/12/2011

Customer review by MightyAj

4.0 stars 2/12/2011 by MightyAj
by MightyAj

We have been looking for a TV stand with Mount and a Closed cabinet for our 46" LED. This one is a perfect fit for us within our Budget, we got it for 150 during which most of the TV Mounts are for 300. The assembling is little tricky, but not tough. U need to spend couple of hours. The reason I won't give 5 starts is trickiness in assembling the doors, its hard to align them, took some time to get the logic behind it. I think its worth for the money Savings.. We love the final appeal verymuch.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MightyAj
Scarborough, ME
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Looks and works perfectly like the picture of it.
5/24/2014

Customer review by c17910

4.0 stars 5/24/2014 by c17910
by c17910

It took a little while to set up. Some of the instructions were a little vague. Once it was together it didn't take much time to mount the TV and it looks great and does what it is supposed to. I love the extra storage area and the glass doors to help keep out the dust.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
c17910
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 61 total reviews
1-20 of 61 reviews