Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 55 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

55 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

55 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

76%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
30
4 stars
10
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 stars
8
1-20 of 50 total reviews
76%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 50 total reviews
1-20 of 50 reviews
Not what it is sold as.
1/26/2016

Customer review by Dennbro61

1.0 stars 1/26/2016 by Dennbro61
by Dennbro61
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This thermal decanter is supposed to be a direct brew but I have not been able to successfully brew a full 8 cups because the decanter lid either doesn't allow the coffer to pass fast enough or the entire unit shuts off after about 4 cups of brewing. This only happens with the thermal decanter not the glass decanter. The only problem I have with the glass decanter is I can't brew on the 'strong' setting because the unit will shut off before the brewing is complete. Therefore, aside from a great tasting cup of coffee, the until and the thermal decanter was a waste of money. Up until now I have always been a Mr. Coffee fan, not so much anymore. Well there ya have it, you aks for a review and I gave it to you.

Dennbro61
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good replacement coffee pot
8/30/2013

Customer review by MJK22

5.0 stars 8/30/2013 by MJK22
by MJK22
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased this after breaking my glass pot on the granite counters. I wasn't necessarily looking for a thermal decanter, but it definitely keeps the coffee warmer longer than glass (1.5-2 hours). For those saying that you need to take the top off to pour, a quarter twist until the arrow point to the spout will do the trick. Overall it is what I wanted and won't shatter.

Was this review helpful? (31) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MJK22
Meffa, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
We use it a lot!!!
9/13/2015

Customer review by EmJayDee

5.0 stars 9/13/2015 by EmJayDee
by EmJayDee

I actually purchased this for my husband for his birthday last year. He makes coffee every morning between 0530-0630. However, we normally eat out for breakfast 3X/week with various friends [one of the luxuries of being retired]; leaving the house around 0715.There are some mornings when over a 1/2 a pot of coffee remains in the glass carafe when we are ready to leave. My suggestion to him was to make an 8-cup pot [in the thermal carafe] on the mornings we eat out. However, he makes the full 12 cups in the glass carafe and then before we leave the house, he will pour the remaining coffee from the glass carafe into the thermal carafe. Later in the morning, the coffee is still fairly hot...for me at least... Hubby will "nuke it" for about 30 seconds. This was a great purchase... price and performance. One question... I can't find the manual for the coffee pot or the carafe. Since we have never actually brewed coffee in the thermal carafe, I would really appreciate info regarding the placement of the top. I couldn't find any directions on the Mr. Coffee website.

EmJayDee
Belleville, MI, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
4/4/2013

Customer review by liloldy

5.0 stars 4/4/2013 by liloldy
by liloldy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I had read some not so favorable reviews but decided to try it anyway and I am very glad I did. I brewed the coffee in the glass pot first, I just preferred it that way, while soaking the decanter in hot water from faucet then filled decanter when coffee was done and put decanter on heat for the remaining two hours. The coffee stayed hot for almost 7 hours.

Was this review helpful? (23) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
liloldy
Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not so great!
12/29/2015

Customer review by Khelgen

1.0 stars 12/29/2015 by Khelgen
by Khelgen

We purchased the thermal carafe because I do not like the taste of old coffee and hated that I through so much out. This carafe does not keep the coffee warm at all. Also the coffee leaks out of the lid when pouring it. Very disappointed in this purchase. By the way I do heat up the carafe prior to making the coffee in it and that still doesn't help to keep the coffee warm.

Khelgen
Texas, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
completes the coffe maker!
3/4/2011

Customer review by hillcountry2

5.0 stars 3/4/2011 by hillcountry2
by hillcountry2

This makes the Mr. Coffee complete. It turns off the hot plate and the coffee is amazing since it isn't hovering above a heat source. Worth the extra money.

Was this review helpful? (20) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hillcountry2
Marble Falls, Texas(near Austin)
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great thermal
12/15/2015

Customer review by Gpa54

5.0 stars 12/15/2015 by Gpa54
by Gpa54
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Worth it. Easy to clean, coffee stays hot for a long time.

Gpa54
Chicago, IL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Holds 36 oz
12/26/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 12/26/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

They say 8 cup but it actually holds only about 4-1/2 cups if you use 8 oz as a cup. Sturdy, well made. I bought it more as a carafe for camping - not to go with a Mr. Coffee set. Wanted to be able to set a coffee filter holder on top and pour water through it to make the coffee directly in this carafe. The top was a little too narrow but we were able to cut the fins on the plastic filter holder to make it fit.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Wecome addition.
12/11/2015

Customer review by Richard

4.0 stars 12/11/2015 by Richard
by Richard

We love the coffee that the Mr. Coffee makes that goes directly into this Decanter. It Stays warm for a considerable time and does not become bitter from being warmed over by the usual hot plate. Indeed, this Decanter was purchased to add to the one that came with our Mr.Coffee coffee maker to be used when we need to prepare both regular and decaffeinated beverage.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Richard
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great thermal decanter
11/23/2015

Customer review by howiell

5.0 stars 11/23/2015 by howiell
by howiell

It does everything the description said it would. I like the color and the design of the decanter.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
howiell
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Attractive, but could hold heat longer
1/5/2012

Customer review by TexasRed

4.0 stars 1/5/2012 by TexasRed
by TexasRed

Appears very durable and easy to clean; but coffee only remains hot for about an hour/warm for two. Any saving of electricity from not using the glass carafe and hot plate, is lost from the use and bother of using very hot water to warm the insulated carafe. But is is attractive and, of course, not as easily broken as glass.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TexasRed
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Nice Feature
9/19/2015

Customer review by Floridagirl 0952

4.0 stars 9/19/2015 by Floridagirl 0952
by Floridagirl 0952
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Happy with the carafe. The coffee actually tastes better in the Carafe than the glass pot. However, I am finding that all the water doesn't dispense every time and the coffeemaker shuts off before it is all dispensed. I have to manually turn the coffeemaker back on for it to finish dispensing. However this doesn't happen every time. The glass pot this never happened. So I don't know what's going on with it. All in all the coffee does taste better and I am happy with that.

Floridagirl 0952
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
GOOD PRODUCT
11/2/2015

Customer review by WalMartShopperBG

4.0 stars 11/2/2015 by WalMartShopperBG
by WalMartShopperBG

Works well, keeps coffe hot for quite a while. Would have given 5 stars, but I can only get about 5 (8 ounce cups) in the decanter - doesn't hold 8 (8 ounce cups).

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WalMartShopperBG
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
have to warm first
5/29/2014

Customer review by hotrod351

1.0 stars 5/29/2014 by hotrod351
by hotrod351

thought this would save me money on elect. forget it. you have to run hot water in it for five minutes or your wasting your time. i had no idea you had to warm the pot up before using, it will be going back today.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hotrod351
mohave valley, arizona
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Poor lid
9/4/2015

Customer review by Phxcoffeedrinker

3.0 stars 9/4/2015 by Phxcoffeedrinker
by Phxcoffeedrinker

I've had this Carafe for about a year. the lid ofted gets blocked and I find my coffee all over the counter. We've been spending extra time cleaning the lid but it will still collect grinds inside it and then those grinds clog the little opening that allows the coffe to pour in. Other than the lid it's an excellent carafe. A new lid is 90% the cost of replacing the entire carafe

Phxcoffeedrinker
Phoenix
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
I Love Coffee
10/12/2015

Customer review by MelliVeahMike

5.0 stars 10/12/2015 by MelliVeahMike
by MelliVeahMike

Awesome Accessory for Coffee Lovers :)!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MelliVeahMike
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I like it
7/20/2015

Customer review by JosephN

5.0 stars 7/20/2015 by JosephN
by JosephN
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Bought about a month ago, didn't come with an instruction sheet / manual. Took me a day or to figure the right way to set it up for delay brew. Other than that I am very pleased.

JosephN
Plymouth, MA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Turns Coffee Maker Off
5/28/2014

Customer review by Sequana2002

1.0 stars 5/28/2014 by Sequana2002
by Sequana2002

I've had the basic coffee maker for some time and decided to get the thermal carafe. I made sure the items were compatible. I first tried the thermal carafe on delay brew. I woke up to nothing. So I pressed "brew now". The coffee maker beeped and turned itself off. I thought I may have had a tiny bit too much water in the reservoir so I just brewed with the glass carafe. I went through this whole process again the next day with less water with the same results. The coffee maker recognizes that the thermal carafe is in place, but will not brew the coffee.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sequana2002
Would recommend to a friend? No
Invincible pot
2/13/2015

Customer review by Woods

5.0 stars 2/13/2015 by Woods
by Woods

I'm a truck driver and having a glass coffee pot has proved tragic twice. Got this baby and it doesn't matter how often it gets knocked off the shelf by a pothole, I just pick it up and brush it off. Being thermal is just an added bonus.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Woods
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Actually replaces carafe of several models.
7/4/2011

Customer review by gsnoorky

5.0 stars 7/4/2011 by gsnoorky
by gsnoorky
Top 500 contributor

Mr. Coffee is owned by Sunbeam now. My Sunbeam glass carafe (for the familiar model 6171-115--available previously at Walmart) hit the floor. Other Mr. Coffee models appeared to have the identically shaped and sized carafe (with"Mr. Coffee" painted on instead of "Sunbeam," of course). Many makers did fit this correctly at the store. So, I obtained this very economically--considering pointless replacement with glass--only a few dollars less. A good value. It works fine with this Sunbeam model but is limited to 8-cups vs. 12. It doesn't turn off the hot plate on the Sunbeam--yet, for what it's worth, the coffee won't heat up much via the hot plate, if at all--the decanter certainly is well insulated. Also, the lid of this decanter screws on tightly and won't leak--thus, it may prove unnecessary. to transfer coffee to a thermos or a coffee "pump" for transporting (glass is a better insulator than stainless steel, nonetheless),To brew coffee, the lid must be screwed on fully (don't force)--to pour freely, open the lid a half turn. Generally, I like to use a Hamilton Beach Brewmaster--that won't last forever but does have a timer. Using this with my traditional coffeemaker makes choosing which maker to use a tossup--really, not having to worry so much about dropping a very hot and fragile glass carafe is quite welcome. When my Brewmaster starts leaking--I won't replace it-- I'll use this! If it proves necessary, I'll purchase another appropriate coffee maker with a timer--or even use a crude "vacation" timer. I recommend highly this quality product--if it fits your capacity needs and coffee maker!

Was this review helpful? (6) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gsnoorky
Edmond, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Top 500 contributor
1-20 of 50 total reviews
1-20 of 50 reviews