Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 86 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

86 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

86 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

98%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
73
4 stars
10
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 stars
1
1-20 of 73 total reviews
98%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 73 total reviews
1-20 of 73 reviews
you have to get this knife
2/14/2011

Customer review by darksideninja

5.0 stars 2/14/2011 by darksideninja
by darksideninja

im a big camper and i love bear grylls show man vs wild. and i think this is the greatest survival knife i have ever owned. it has everything u could ever need in a survival knife, and its tough as nails i mean u cant hurt this thing. ive used it for every thing from skinning animals to cutting down 6-10 inch trees. it has a fire striker(that actually works), a hammer itergrated in to the pommel, a really nice dimond sharpener, a safety whistle, and survival tips and surface to air rescue signals. all built in to the sheath which in itself is great nylon with balistic shell. overall its just a great adition to any camper or hunters gear list...............

Was this review helpful? (129) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
darksideninja
tompkinsville ,Ky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
good deal...
3/23/2011

Customer review by YellowBeard

5.0 stars 3/23/2011 by YellowBeard
by YellowBeard

when i ordered this knife i was kind of expecting it to be a gimmick, but it is made by gerber so i thought i would try it out. it actually is a pretty solid piece of gear to have! the knife itself is basically the same as the gerber LMF II but you also get the fire steel with the sheath. the sharpening tool on the backside is not as good as an actual stone (IMO) but if you are in the bush and need to sharpen your blade it will do the job. the fire steel works exceptionally well and is very conviently integrated into the design of the sheath. the only knock i have is the ugly orange color!! as that is only an aesthetic downer about the knife it didn't affect my five star review.

Was this review helpful? (115) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
YellowBeard
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Best survival Knife
4/21/2011

Customer review by ip90

5.0 stars 4/21/2011 by ip90
by ip90

This is a great knife to have. All the featured are good quality and work better than I expected. High quality sheath. Great price. I cant wait to get the machete to go with it!

Was this review helpful? (60) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ip90
Medford oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Extremely cool knife!
7/8/2011

Customer review by aladyinpink

5.0 stars 7/8/2011 by aladyinpink
by aladyinpink

I gave this knife to my husband and dad for Father's Day. Then our 12 year old son earned his own mowing lawns. They all love them. This great knife is $10 cheaper if you order it on line (or order it on line to pick up in the store the same day). You will only pay $39.99 instead of $49.99. The flint may come out if you don't make sure you hear the "clicking" sound when you push it into the bottom of the sheath. If you would like to purchase extra flints for the future as my husband and son would like to do, Gerber indicated that they will be available for purchase soon. Watch the product video at Walmart.com.

Was this review helpful? (48) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
aladyinpink
Sedro-Woolley, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Best $50 knife you will find
4/4/2011

Customer review by BOW2ROB

5.0 stars 4/4/2011 by BOW2ROB
by BOW2ROB

Out of box the knife was a little dull. The knife quality is excellent and is made to be a very durable tool that you can rely on. The fire starter works better than most fire steel systems. It throws some serious sparks. The handles pummel is very beefy and would have no problems functioning as a small hammer. There are better knifes out there, but no where close to $50. After I take this knife out on a couple of trips, I will post a long term review of how well this knife can hold up to real world conditions and how well it can hold up to different environments.

Was this review helpful? (19) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BOW2ROB
Midland, Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Walmart associate
Good solid knife
4/13/2011

Customer review by inoculus

5.0 stars 4/13/2011 by inoculus
by inoculus

Okay, so the name on it is a little cheesy but the knife itself is not. It is a solidly built knife that really holds nothing back. The stock is really solid. The blade is built to handle pretty much whatever life throws at you. The only draw back in my opinion is the hip-sheath. The firestarter works and the whistle is loud (not sure exactly where to fasten that though). The sheath doesn't have a way to tie down the bottom around your leg and honestly it'd be nice if the whole thing could be worn lower than it's designed to be. It would make sitting more comfortable but hey, it's still a great knife that is built to last. I carry this with me whenever I go out camping or on extended hikes.

Was this review helpful? (19) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
inoculus
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
Does the job!
4/17/2011

Customer review by Anglerchach

5.0 stars 4/17/2011 by Anglerchach
by Anglerchach

Sharp, tough and complete! It has everything and more that I would even expect from a knife. I fish, camp and hike and use the knife for everything and it hasn't failed. Buy it and use it!

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Anglerchach
Des Moines, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great knife for the price
7/29/2011

Customer review by Nukewarrior

5.0 stars 7/29/2011 by Nukewarrior
by Nukewarrior

I own knives made by TOPS, SOG, and other makers that cost $100+. This knife is not one of those, but for the price, I don't think you can find a better knife. I would compare this to many K-Bars which are good knifes. I like this better. It feels lighter but yet it is substantial. The metal piece on the end of the pommel is great for hammering. It is "grippy", you're not going to drop it. The sheath is great with the built in sharpener and fire rod. The orange highlights aren't for covert ops but will make it easier to find if you drop it. For camping or an emergency situation this is a great knife. I also own both the scout knifes from this series. The small one I carry every day in my pocket. It is light weight but incredibly versatile and very non-threatening. The other is a bit large for EDC for me, but a good solid knife. You can buy all three of these for under $100 at Wal-Mart. I thought they may be a gimmick, but Gerber and Bear turned out a nice set of knives that could save your life in an emergency situation. For the money these knives are outstanding!

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Nukewarrior
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
BG Knife
3/11/2011

Customer review by zwebwolf

5.0 stars 3/11/2011 by zwebwolf
by zwebwolf

Nice knife, good for camping, hiking or if you get stuck in a situation im sure it would meet its expectations. Nice grip, good features. Serration very sharp out of the box, front part of blade needed a little sharpening before i'd use it, a little dull. other than that its worth a try.

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
zwebwolf
Los Angeles
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
A must for your B.O.B. (Bug Out Bag)!
8/14/2011

Customer review by Survivalist79

5.0 stars 8/14/2011 by Survivalist79
by Survivalist79

I have spent hours finding this knife at the best price and this is the place. I purchased on-line through Wal-Mart instead in store and saved $10.00. E-Bay sells for $60-$80 all day long and I only paid $39.00. Meets and exceeds my expectations. Very durable and well built. I was unsure about the bright orange colors but have grown to like it. It's color not naturally found in the wild and makes it easily visible if misplaced. The only thing I might improve is adding cowhide leather to back top half of the sheath. I prefer to leave my shirt untucked covering most of the blade and sheath. The nylon is irritable to my skin even with tucking in my undershirt. You Tube this knife to find several reviews, good pros and cons can be found here.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Survivalist79
Bethlehem, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good Knife
5/5/2011

Customer review by MTank

5.0 stars 5/5/2011 by MTank
by MTank

I saw alot of good reviews on this knife and only a couple of bad reviews. I decided to purchase it anyways. After getting the knife I want to know what those people who did not like the knife did to it. This is a well built knife. The blade is factory sharp. No knife come out of the box ready to shave. It is Survival knife. Not a Straight razor. GOOD PRODUCT.

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MTank
Weatherford, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
5/1/2011

Customer review by sharps45120

5.0 stars 5/1/2011 by sharps45120
by sharps45120

Nice knife for the money,It's not a hammer,saw or hatchet its a knife! use it as such and you will be satisfied! Seems well made and thought out,like the fire starter! Sure it's not a $300 dollar knife,not made out to be.But I'm very happy with the product!!

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sharps45120
wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
great knife
4/28/2011

Customer review by tightcabouse

5.0 stars 4/28/2011 by tightcabouse
by tightcabouse

i got this knife i didnt really think it was going to be to good but the minute i held it i knew it was going to be good the knife came sharp the pumel doesnt break the handle has a really good grip also the sheath is good

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tightcabouse
wa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Innovative design...
7/5/2011

Customer review by swknight

5.0 stars 7/5/2011 by swknight
by swknight

I bought this knife as part of my home emergency hurricane/flood survival package...For the price paid, this Gerber Bear Grylls knife is very well made...

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
swknight
Sugar Land, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
You cant beat it for the price!!!
8/1/2011

Customer review by triggersnipe

4.0 stars 8/1/2011 by triggersnipe
by triggersnipe

I would expect this knife to cost alittle more than 40 bucks. It has multiple features that are very usable, not like some other knives that you pay for the gadgetry. Good buy.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
triggersnipe
columbus, ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great Job!!
5/30/2011

Customer review by 13thHour

5.0 stars 5/30/2011 by 13thHour
by 13thHour

As an outdoor photographer, I found myself way out in the woods at times where spending the night out there is ecential.. I've had many knifes through the years and all have been replaced one by one! First off who doesnt love watching this man run around in the jungle using nothing but a butter knife some gum and urine to survive LOL..After purchasing the knife I like others tested in ways to see the durability, and strength... I was blown away from lay before me :) The best knife ever!! Thanks Bear for making an all around knife and landing an affordable price so we all can fall in love one more time with a knife!!

Was this review helpful? (8) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
13thHour
Blountville, Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Saved my life
12/27/2011

Customer review by countryboy4life

5.0 stars 12/27/2011 by countryboy4life
by countryboy4life

K i'm a 16 year old kid and i work out on a ranch so i thought i need a good knife so i saw the Gerber Brand and thought i'll get that knife well it ended up saving my life i went to check cows in the middle of no where and i wrecked my four wheeler and got knocked out didn't wake up until night time my phone broke in the wreck and all i had was the knife a coat and a flashlight and being a big fan of Man vs Wild i kind of knew what i was doing used the fire starter thing and started a fire and made a little make shift shelter using the actual knife to cut branches needless to say i made it throw the night and was found that next morning by my boss this knife saved my like and now i carry it every where i go

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
countryboy4life
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
12/18/2011

Customer review by radicalgran

4.0 stars 12/18/2011 by radicalgran
by radicalgran

I bought this for my grandson. He is a boyscout and loves the knife. It is just what he wanted. Good quality. Happy with purchase. Would recommend.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
radicalgran
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
7/24/2011

Customer review by csdawt

5.0 stars 7/24/2011 by csdawt
by csdawt

Excellent knife for the price, Many options as a wilderness knife.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
csdawt
rosamond,ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Really Good Knife for the Money
8/11/2011

Customer review by TX15

5.0 stars 8/11/2011 by TX15
by TX15

Let me start with repeating: for the money, this is a lot of knife - no question. Is it a $100+ stake-your-life-on-it knife...probably not. The good news is: Gerber will stand behind it. Feature rich, solid look and feel, very pleased. Anxious to really put it to the test.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TX15
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 73 total reviews
1-20 of 73 reviews