Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 337 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

337 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

337 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

75%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
151
4 stars
85
3 stars
26
2 stars
27
1 stars
48
1-20 of 300 total reviews
75%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 300 total reviews
1-20 of 300 reviews
Great for the price
12/16/2010

Customer review by JeffnHeather

4.0 stars 12/16/2010 by JeffnHeather
by JeffnHeather

Noticed there aren't alot of people that are giving this positive reviews. We happen to think this vaporizer *it is not a humidifier* works awesome for it's cost. For less then $20 bucks, it's extremely simple to operate. Put water into tank up to the fill mark *make sure not to overfill, it "spits" water* and plug into the wall. If you look closely at the steam guard, you can see the steam this unit is making. After a few hours, glance again and the water level is dropping. If there isn't enough steam for your liking, add a pinch or two of salt. This will make the water hotter, therefor creating more steam. Only problem I've found, is if you put in too much salt, the unit tends to die quickly. We learned this the hard way, first unit lasted 6 months, but the replacement we purchased is working awesome *bought the same unit again, just using less salt* Very easy to clean as well, once every few weeks let it soak in pure vinegar for 20 minutes, rinse throughly, and continue with your regular use. Maybe you can purchase other vaporizers / humidifiers for $100, but compare prices, for $20, you can't go wrong!!

Was this review helpful? (261) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JeffnHeather
Presque Isle, ME
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Mine works great
2/6/2011

Customer review by WIResident

5.0 stars 2/6/2011 by WIResident
by WIResident

I was hesitant to buy this product because of all the negative reviews. When I went to my local Walmart, it was on special for $10 so I figured I couldn't go wrong for that price. I've had it for almost a year and it's been fantastic. I use it when the sparks start flying in the house or during a sinus episode so the unit gets used regularly in the winter. I've never had to use salt to get more steam and clean up is very easy. The grey scaling effect is kind of gross in the tank but a little soak with vinegar takes care of everything about once every 2 weeks. A full tank goes 16-18 hours before needing a refill. Easy to use, easy to clean and a great price. What's not to like?

Was this review helpful? (206) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WIResident
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Great value
1/18/2011

Customer review by MarshaW62

4.0 stars 1/18/2011 by MarshaW62
by MarshaW62

This unit works great, releasing steam all through the night, helping to soothe my irritated throat and sinuses. I use filtered water + 4 pinches of salt. So far I have used it 4 nights without having to add any more water. I suppost the night light is great for children who need a light, but it is very bright; I'd rather have one w/out it. Unit is fairly quiet; makes light noise similar to outside rain.

Was this review helpful? (90) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MarshaW62
Deland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Works if you add salt!
12/18/2010

Customer review by MtnTopMama

5.0 stars 12/18/2010 by MtnTopMama
by MtnTopMama

We've tried cool mist humidifiers but they were impossible to keep clean inside, and ended up with mold/mildew (gross!). We bought two of these, several years ago (needed one in each bedroom). No, they don't work well, unless you add salt to the water in the tank. Then they work great! At least they have for us. If yours has stopped working or doesn't seem to work great, try adding a little salt to the tank. Hopefully that will help.

Was this review helpful? (157) (29)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MtnTopMama
TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Not Bad
1/7/2012

Customer review by SpendtotheEnd

4.0 stars 1/7/2012 by SpendtotheEnd
by SpendtotheEnd

In my opinion, this vaporizer is under-rated. It's basically a cheap, no-frills humidifier. This unit is a big plastic pot that heats water and produces mist. It also has a medicine cup area where you can add a Vicks inhaler, or slots where you can add Vicks inhaler pads. This vaporizer is bigger than I expected, so make sure you have some table-top space reserved for it. The instruction booklet advises to add a few pinches of salt if your water doesn't have enough minerals in it, as salt will help to heat the water faster and make it hotter to produce more steam. I have hard water, but still found that I had to add about 5 pinches of salt to get the steam going. This method worked out fine. Once you plug the unit in, it takes about 10 minutes for it to heat up and emit steam. I haven't cleaned it yet, but it appears easy to clean. Once you pull the top off, it's a big plastic receptacle with a large opening...you can easily clean the interior of it, or soak it with vinegar when necessary. One thing to note is that the water level goes down more quickly than expected; it doesn't run on one pot of water as long as the manufacturer indicates. Basically, you need to monitor the water levels and add more water when necessary. Needless to say, if you add a lot of salt, the water will boil out more quickly. I think this vaporizer is good to have on hand for cold and flu season, and also good for childrens' rooms. No humidifier lasts forever, so this is a reasonably-priced stop gap for those who don't want to spend a lot, but still have the benefit of a warm mist. If you are on a budget, I would suggest trying this one first to see if it meets your needs. It might be cheap, but it does what it's supposed to do.

Was this review helpful? (53) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SpendtotheEnd
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 50 contributor
Works SO well! I love it!
11/19/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 11/19/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I have had my Vicks Warm Steam Vaporizer for 3 years now (same unit) and have NEVER had any issues, it still works like new. I have never added salt (I actually didn't know you could do that until I read some reviews below) and never used the spot for the vapor rub, I just use it to add moisture to my room when I sleep. It is so simple to use. I used to have a humidifier that cost me $100 and it worked horrible and leaked water when trying to get it going compared to this unit. *P.S. there will be some black floaties at the bottom of the machine when you go to refill the water. It is normal and is part of the filtering. If you read the manual it explains it well.

Was this review helpful? (69) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Faithful
7/17/2011

Customer review by WalmartGroupE

5.0 stars 7/17/2011 by WalmartGroupE
by WalmartGroupE

I own four of these trusty dusty little things. I know the packaging reads vapoizer, but it works as a humidifier all the same. I break these out every winter for mine and my children's bedrooms. This product has soothed my children's congestion and coughs during the grueling winter months. Since we have hard water, I have to add salt to get the steam going. The directions for use clearly indicate this may be the case in areas of hard water. I love these humidifiers and could not be happier. I am glad I didn't shell out loads of money for a "nicer looking" product; these get the job done.

Was this review helpful? (121) (41)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WalmartGroupE
Frisco, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Handy for those bad colds
7/30/2013

Customer review by dandedaisy

5.0 stars 7/30/2013 by dandedaisy
by dandedaisy

When I get sick, I get in a knockdown-drag out fight with my sinuses (me being the one knocked down), which causes a lot of breathing complications after the cold is gone. I will have a cough for months. This handy-dandy vaporizer, however, makes the cough pass much faster. I find that if I can spend enough time around it, it works better at relieving my chest congestion than Mucinex (and if you look at the price of the two, it becomes clear what is the better value). We've had this thing for quite a while (years now) and it has consistently provided more relief of cold and flu symptoms than any cold medicine. Other things you may want to know: it's quiet (sounds like rain outside or a quiet coffee maker without the hissing), I don't find the light to be that bright but I'd probably sleep through a nuclear explosion (you could probably put a piece of tape over the light if it bothers you), you don't have to fill it that often, and if you want more steam, add more salt! Very simple to operate, great value, best cold and flu relief for me. Highly recommend it :)

Was this review helpful? (53) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dandedaisy
Sacramento, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Great unit and easy to set up and use
10/25/2013

Customer review by jgo1247

5.0 stars 10/25/2013 by jgo1247
by jgo1247

Got this item home and immediately put it into action. My only criticism is the instructions seem a little too conservative concerning the amount of VapoSteam to get a decent amount of medication in the steam and the amount of salt to get the steam going at all. I know the salt amount depends on water hardness but i have a Culligan water softener and I still had to almost triple the amount of salt that the instructions call for to get a good steam flow. But your own experience will be your best guide just don't be afraid to go beyong the instructions a bit...but always a small amount at a time. Otherwise it kept our bedroom well humidified and helped us get to sleep easier even with our respiratory infections. And you can't beat the price!

Was this review helpful? (42) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jgo1247
Webster, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Bang for your Buck
1/2/2014

Customer review by YoungAndFree

5.0 stars 1/2/2014 by YoungAndFree
by YoungAndFree

I bought this last night because i couldn't take my extremely dry nose and sore throat. It did take me a while to get the right amount of salt that it needed but after that it is a dream. Maybe i put too much salt(i got inpatient with the two pinches at a time) because mine pumps out quiet a bit of steam(but water doesn't spew out) so it runs out of water fast. But for a better feeling nose i don't mind refilling it at night.(i'm up anyways) I think i might clean it out and add less salt so it can keep going longer. Overall i love this thing. it's cheap and a great product. If you're thinking of getting this one or a more expensive one, get this one. it's so simple to use and has great results. I don't know how long it will last but as long as it gets me through this winter. i'm happy. i can't really expect it to last me forever because the price is so cheap but it doesn't bother me.

Was this review helpful? (38) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
YoungAndFree
fallbrook, ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
The Vicks Steam Vaporizer Still Works Great!
12/7/2013

Customer review by TheRealDeal471

5.0 stars 12/7/2013 by TheRealDeal471
by TheRealDeal471

Just wanted to post an update to my review from last October 2012 - when we were on our 2nd winter with the same vaporizer. Guess what, we pulled out the trusty Vicks Steam Vaporizer again for our 3rd year in a row - and it fired right up. This will be our 3rd winter with the same one. In addition, we are going to buy another one this year just for our bedroom. The current one is for the main floor. I highly recommend this product especially if you have a cold (get the pads too: they work!) Thanks Vicks. *Suggestion: Every time we run our Vicks Vaporizer right out of storage we place a few good shakes of salt into the tub - to jump start it. If any of you have trouble getting steam right away - try a few good shakes of salt and it should start right up for you.

Was this review helpful? (45) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TheRealDeal471
Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
1/5/2011

Customer review by Abjohnson

5.0 stars 1/5/2011 by Abjohnson
by Abjohnson

This product is an exceptional,durable, simple to operate, convenient vaporizor that helped several members of my family. I would highly recommend it to anyone!!

Was this review helpful? (23) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Abjohnson
Historic Jonesborough, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great for babies
11/29/2011

Customer review by chanw

5.0 stars 11/29/2011 by chanw
by chanw

This product worked well for my 5 month old who would wake up several times a night because of a stuffy nose. When we receive the vaporizer we used it and he slep threw out the night. Now we used it every night and he is a better baby in the morning. Be sure to read the directions to get successful results.

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
chanw
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Wonderfull for better air quality and baby's cold.
12/31/2011

Customer review by countessbraley

5.0 stars 12/31/2011 by countessbraley
by countessbraley

I had seen many vaporizors in the past, but never had to have one myself until my 8 month old grandson came down with nasty cold. His pediatrician recomended a warm vaporizor to run to help his stuffy nose. This type will moisten the air through the house if you run gas heaters, thuslty robbing the air of any moisture and making it hard on sinuses. Once I started usung this model paired with Vicks vapor solution and a couple of pinches of salt, I immediately noticed a better quality in the air through my house by the second day. I placed this in the living room and had one in the bedroom where my grandson slept. Keep in mind that ou have to regualry monitor the water lever as to not run the unit dry and burn up the vapor unit (the center part the steam comes out of). I used reular tap water instead of distilled water. We also used it during the begining of spring to keep the pollen and dust down for my daughters allergies.

Was this review helpful? (20) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
countessbraley
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
only moderately humidifying
11/26/2013

Customer review by Gingermarie

3.0 stars 11/26/2013 by Gingermarie
by Gingermarie

After frustration with expensive humidifiers with fancy filters, I went back to this simple type, buying two for my small home. I have one in my bedroom and one in the living room, but on cold days when the central air runs a lot, there is still static electricity in the air. This unit seems to work best when it's full, waning as the water level goes down. There's quite a lot of weekly maintenance, yet I do like these little workers better than the big models that cost 10x as much. If they keep chugging for the whole winter, I'll be satisfied.

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gingermarie
VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Vaporizer & Great Price
12/1/2013

Customer review by calicohead

5.0 stars 12/1/2013 by calicohead
by calicohead

We bought this because our son had a croupy cough. Having this vaporizer on at night while he slept helped clear up his cough in just a few days. We also used it again when he had a little cold and it cleared it up in a couple of days. We highly recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
calicohead
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
12/14/2011

Customer review by Gianna52

4.0 stars 12/14/2011 by Gianna52
by Gianna52

This is my second winter season of using this inexpensive way to keep moisture in my very dry forced hot air bedroom I love it............rich thick steam........only drawback is that it only runs about 4 hours................. but I guess once the steam has entered my room it pretty much stays there. My cats get dry noses and skin and noticed less of it since using this. I'm going to buy another for my living room during the day................... you will not be disappointed

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gianna52
Hampstead, NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Good and reasonable vaporizer
1/16/2012

Customer review by Nopickup

4.0 stars 1/16/2012 by Nopickup
by Nopickup

I read some negative reviews but tried this product to avoid the very dried air during the coldest winter. My opinion is somewhat higher than other people. I like it gives a lot of vapor and big tank doesn't need to refill often. Just add some salt before turn on isn't make me busy. Some reviews said, without salt didn't work. But manual says to add salt if doesn't work so I just followed. So far I don't catch cold this season so it might help the air to get humid enough and kills bacteria. If the size is smaller, I don't need to find the space to put on. Overall, I like this product and recommend.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Nopickup
New York, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Works just fine
10/24/2012

Customer review by BfromCT

5.0 stars 10/24/2012 by BfromCT
by BfromCT

Fill it with hot tap water, throw in a pinch of table salt, plug it in and let it go. I've had it for two weeks and it has been running almost constantly. I have NOT tried filling it with cool/cold tap water. I've always filled it with hot tap water and it takes, approximately, 10 hours to vaporize enough water to shut off automatically(good feature). I guess it would take the stated 18-24 hours if I filled it with cold water as directed but, never having filled it with cold water, I don't know for sure. I do know that it pumps out the hot water fast. It keeps an 11'x16' room very comfortable and an unexpected plus is that it heats the room a little(relatively expensively I'm sure) due to the steam. No, you won't heat a room with it but it seems to add a degree of two. The first time I used it it wouldn't work until I put in the pinch of salt. After using it for a week I dumped the unused water because of a build up of some kind of black particles in the water reservoir. I guess in doing that I also dumped out any remaining salt that I'd added the first time I used it. It wouldn't work again until I added a little more table salt. Long-winded story short? Add one-quarter(1/4) of a TEASPOON of table salt to start and it'll start pumping out steam, vapor, or whatever they call it, in less the two minutes. Again, this is with hot tap water. Your experience may differ if you use cold water. If you use cold water you should, probably, dissolve the salt in a cup of hot water and THEN add it to the cold water in the reservoir. With two weeks of constant use and a cost of fifteen I have to give it 5 stars.

Was this review helpful? (11) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BfromCT
Nowhere special
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
10/31/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 10/31/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I have owned this model for almost 2 years. Right out of the box it spit and sputtered water out of it leading me to have to put towels under it and in front of it. Sometimes it will work fine for a while, and then start spitting and sputtering without any notice. Ive tried everything I could think of, but nothing has altered the spitting. I stopped using it for my son and went with a cool mist for him. I have still tried to use it for myself and get some worth out of it, but I am about to trash it as soon as I find a good replacement for it. It gets loud and spits water. It steams very good sometimes, and then a few minutes later hardly any steam at all. Maybe I bought a lemon from the get go, but I think it goes back to "you get what you pay for"

Was this review helpful? (13) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Comment from ManufacturerTechSupport - 11/14/2013

I'm sorry to hear that you are having issues with our product. However, this unit l is backed with a limited warranty. Please contact one of our customer support agents and let them know about the issue you're having. You can reach us by calling 1-800-477-0457 (M-F, 8-7PM EST) or by e-mailing ConsumerRelations@kaz.com. Hope this helped!

An anonymous customer
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
1-20 of 300 total reviews
1-20 of 300 reviews