Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 512 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

512 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

512 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

74%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
233
4 stars
117
3 stars
40
2 stars
35
1 stars
87
1-20 of 473 total reviews
74%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 473 total reviews
1-20 of 473 reviews
Great Humidifier but leaves residue every night...
12/30/2016

Customer review by Naveen

4.0 stars 12/30/2016 by Naveen
by Naveen
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is a very good steam humidifier which is 100 times better than normal Walgreens humidifier. It is also doing its job as described and not finding any major issues. After each night, we notice brown / black residue at the bottom of the bowl which forces us to change water everyday. Still don't know where and how the residue is forming :(

Was this review helpful? (27) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Naveen
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Didn't work at first, but now it works perfectly
1/23/2017

Customer review by UncleWalt56

5.0 stars 1/23/2017 by UncleWalt56
by UncleWalt56
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The first day of owning this unit, I couldn't get it to produce steam, even after adding a couple pinches of table salt. Left it on all night and by morning it started producing more steam. By late morning it was producing gobs of steam and hasn't stopped yet. I add about a gallon of water every 2 to 3 hours and rinse the black residue out every couple days. Happy with unit!

Was this review helpful? (6) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
UncleWalt56
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for cleaning your sinuses.
5/11/2017

Customer review by jbsocal

5.0 stars 5/11/2017 by jbsocal
by jbsocal

This works great and it vaporizes FAST. I get sinus infections more often than I like but, I believe if I use this early in the pollen season, I just may avoid sinus problems. And this is a very good prices compared to many other vaporizers I've seen. My doctor recommended that I get my shower area very steamy and breath it in. That was way too much trouble and I could get burned too easily. This vaporizer works better for me and it's sooo much easier. It's so convenient that I leave it on my bathroom sink so I can use it several times a day. This is GREAT for me.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jbsocal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Wonderfull for better air quality and baby's cold.
12/31/2011

Customer review by countessbraley

5.0 stars 12/31/2011 by countessbraley
by countessbraley

I had seen many vaporizors in the past, but never had to have one myself until my 8 month old grandson came down with nasty cold. His pediatrician recomended a warm vaporizor to run to help his stuffy nose. This type will moisten the air through the house if you run gas heaters, thuslty robbing the air of any moisture and making it hard on sinuses. Once I started usung this model paired with Vicks vapor solution and a couple of pinches of salt, I immediately noticed a better quality in the air through my house by the second day. I placed this in the living room and had one in the bedroom where my grandson slept. Keep in mind that ou have to regualry monitor the water lever as to not run the unit dry and burn up the vapor unit (the center part the steam comes out of). I used reular tap water instead of distilled water. We also used it during the begining of spring to keep the pollen and dust down for my daughters allergies.

Was this review helpful? (97) (36)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
countessbraley
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:A few times per year
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Age:35 - 44
Handy for those bad colds
7/30/2013

Customer review by dandedaisy

5.0 stars 7/30/2013 by dandedaisy
by dandedaisy

When I get sick, I get in a knockdown-drag out fight with my sinuses (me being the one knocked down), which causes a lot of breathing complications after the cold is gone. I will have a cough for months. This handy-dandy vaporizer, however, makes the cough pass much faster. I find that if I can spend enough time around it, it works better at relieving my chest congestion than Mucinex (and if you look at the price of the two, it becomes clear what is the better value). We've had this thing for quite a while (years now) and it has consistently provided more relief of cold and flu symptoms than any cold medicine. Other things you may want to know: it's quiet (sounds like rain outside or a quiet coffee maker without the hissing), I don't find the light to be that bright but I'd probably sleep through a nuclear explosion (you could probably put a piece of tape over the light if it bothers you), you don't have to fill it that often, and if you want more steam, add more salt! Very simple to operate, great value, best cold and flu relief for me. Highly recommend it :)

Was this review helpful? (143) (40)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dandedaisy
Sacramento, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:A few times per year
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Age:18 - 24
Good item. works.
1/10/2017

Customer review by Ron2000

4.0 stars 1/10/2017 by Ron2000
by Ron2000
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Simple and it works. Just filled it to say upto 2/3 of the container. Set the lid back and within minutes it started generating steam. The manual says if the steam does not get generated, then add small amount of salt to water in the container for it to generate steam. I did not have to add salt so far. My daughter has nose blockages and some time when the air gets too dry, she starts bleeding, with this the next morning she woke up without problems. I've had it for a week now and so far so good. Also this product is quite inexpensive. Glad I read the positive reviews and Thank you to all who posted their honest feed back. It mattered when I was looking for buying this product.

Was this review helpful? (21) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ron2000
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for the price
12/16/2010

Customer review by JeffnHeather

4.0 stars 12/16/2010 by JeffnHeather
by JeffnHeather

Noticed there aren't alot of people that are giving this positive reviews. We happen to think this vaporizer *it is not a humidifier* works awesome for it's cost. For less then $20 bucks, it's extremely simple to operate. Put water into tank up to the fill mark *make sure not to overfill, it "spits" water* and plug into the wall. If you look closely at the steam guard, you can see the steam this unit is making. After a few hours, glance again and the water level is dropping. If there isn't enough steam for your liking, add a pinch or two of salt. This will make the water hotter, therefor creating more steam. Only problem I've found, is if you put in too much salt, the unit tends to die quickly. We learned this the hard way, first unit lasted 6 months, but the replacement we purchased is working awesome *bought the same unit again, just using less salt* Very easy to clean as well, once every few weeks let it soak in pure vinegar for 20 minutes, rinse throughly, and continue with your regular use. Maybe you can purchase other vaporizers / humidifiers for $100, but compare prices, for $20, you can't go wrong!!

Was this review helpful? (493) (73)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JeffnHeather
Presque Isle, ME
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Age:25 - 34
Best accessory by Vicks!
3/23/2016

Customer review by RareGem4eva

5.0 stars 3/23/2016 by RareGem4eva
by RareGem4eva

I got this from Walmart store in Atlanta in 2012 after I had my twins. I left it lying around not sure it will be much use. I decided to try it out once when my daughter was coughing. Best response to cold ever! She slept all through the night without any coughing. I always put the vapor rub in it and (sometimes a pinch of salt in the water) to get the steam out very well. I love how it naturally clears the cold and cough without my having to use a lot of cough syrup or any other drugs. I had another baby last year and when she was about 3 months and obviously too young for medication she caught a cold her siblings brought back from school. We slept through the night with this together and she slept all through the night without wheezing or a runny nose. New mums, get this. It has helped me too with sore throats and the like. I think this item should be in every household the same way we stock up on soap!

Was this review helpful? (99) (36)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RareGem4eva
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Less steam but noiseless
4/8/2017

Customer review by WalmartBuyer

3.0 stars 4/8/2017 by WalmartBuyer
by WalmartBuyer

Vicks vaporizer emits less steam as compared to Sunbeam one but runs all night long. Whereas Sunbeam used to stop after 5-6hrs and also it used to make clear boiling sound of water. This product is almost silent. But if you want to quickly humidify your room, Sunbeam humidifier can do that.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WalmartBuyer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
got 2...GREAT
1/22/2017

Customer review by Bebbie

5.0 stars 1/22/2017 by Bebbie
by Bebbie
Top 250 contributor

I love these Vicks steam Vaporizers/humidifiers! I placed one in our bedrm and one in our den. My hubby has a lot of mucus in his throat and I thought this would help. It's been 3 days now and I've noticed less 'clearing of his throat' lately...wonderful! Easy to use. Just fill with hot water, I put about a T of vicks vaporub in water, screw on top til it locks and plug in. works great! we have hard water and never thought we'd be blessed with it, but hey, with using this it's an advantage! can't figure out why someone would complain about the light...it is very subtle and small. barely able to see. I love it that way. It is not glaring like others had reviewed. started steaming within the 10 mins. My hubby sits about 3 -4 ft from the vapors and it makes me feel great to know he is being soothed. worth the moola. Shipped and here within 3 days!!! just couldn't believe it was here so quickley! buy it, you'll love it. Remember: it is almost 2 rulers in circumfrence and holds 1 1/2 Gal water. Med sized.. extra coupons and 2 vicks pad in each unit I bought...I tried the pads and they are too strong for us...I'll stick to a T of vicks vaporub in water:)

Was this review helpful? (13) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bebbie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Top 250 contributor
Best $15 I ever spent!
1/4/2016

Customer review by Anniekay80

5.0 stars 1/4/2016 by Anniekay80
by Anniekay80

I had major surgery 10 days ago and am slowly recovering at home. With the dry heated air from our furnace, my nose and throat would get dried up while sleeping. With all the discomforts/pain from surgery that only time will heal, I decided to buy this Vicks vaporizer to fix at least this one problem now. No more dried out nose and throat. No more waking myself with a snort/snore or coughing. This vaporizer puts out just the right amount of steam in my 12x12 open living room where I am sleeping/recovering from my surgery. No excess condensation, just wonderful feeling of normal. I even run it through the day and I noticed less static and I don't feel like a prune drying in the dessert Sun any more. Highly recommend especially for the price. Might go buy a second one for the master bedroom once I am back to sleeping in bed, but keep one in living room for use during the day.

Was this review helpful? (155) (39)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Anniekay80
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Disappointed
3/18/2013

Customer review by MommyofTwoInOregon

2.0 stars 3/18/2013 by MommyofTwoInOregon
by MommyofTwoInOregon

I have used this unit for the last couple of years considering the cost of under $20..however I had to buy between 2 or 3 units a year because the vaporizers only last for 3-6months at a time. I have two young children that can and will get sick easily especially during the winter months. The heat elements would clog up very easily and quickly. I would need to put quite a bit of salt into the unit to get it to start..if I added to much I would have to start over. I would have to fill the vaporizer twice a night to get maxium usuage out of it...with two children needing the same steam we would go through the water a lot. I am planning on buying something else needing the durablity to last longer, and its not dependable. I am also disappointed that Walmart only sells one vaporizer in the whole store..since my children's doctor has said that vaporizers work better than humidifers..but overall for the cost you are getting what you are paying for.

Was this review helpful? (35) (27)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 11/14/2013

I'm sorry to hear that you are having issues with our product. However, this unit l is backed with a limited warranty. Please contact one of our customer support agents and let them know about the issue you're having. You can reach us by calling 1-800-477-0457 (M-F, 8-7PM EST) or by e-mailing ConsumerRelations@kaz.com. Hope this helped!

MommyofTwoInOregon
Grants Pass, OR
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
Bang for your Buck
1/2/2014

Customer review by YoungAndFree

5.0 stars 1/2/2014 by YoungAndFree
by YoungAndFree

I bought this last night because i couldn't take my extremely dry nose and sore throat. It did take me a while to get the right amount of salt that it needed but after that it is a dream. Maybe i put too much salt(i got inpatient with the two pinches at a time) because mine pumps out quiet a bit of steam(but water doesn't spew out) so it runs out of water fast. But for a better feeling nose i don't mind refilling it at night.(i'm up anyways) I think i might clean it out and add less salt so it can keep going longer. Overall i love this thing. it's cheap and a great product. If you're thinking of getting this one or a more expensive one, get this one. it's so simple to use and has great results. I don't know how long it will last but as long as it gets me through this winter. i'm happy. i can't really expect it to last me forever because the price is so cheap but it doesn't bother me.

Was this review helpful? (80) (30)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
YoungAndFree
fallbrook, ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:18 - 24
LIFESAVER
11/10/2015

Customer review by Kwarr

5.0 stars 11/10/2015 by Kwarr
by Kwarr

my baby has a cold (stuffy nose and cough) and has been waking up 3-4 times a night when she used to sleep through the night. something had to change so we decided to get this and try it. it is seriously a lifesaver! i told my husband this morning, there are lots of good things about it. 1. it makes the room humid, so its easier to breath, and when you stick in a vicks vapopad, it smells great and clears the nose right up. 2. it has a tiny green light on it. i've been wanting a night light! haha. 3. it seriously warms the room. its so nice. i don't have to turn the heater on in my baby room, and its great for winter. maybe not so much summer. 4. the water kind of bubbles, so it makes a little noise. i like to call this makeshift white noise :) i seriously love it. oh, and she slept through the night the first time setting it up. i would definitely buy over and over.

Was this review helpful? (124) (41)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kwarr
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Works Great
11/27/2016

Customer review by priceless1

5.0 stars 11/27/2016 by priceless1
by priceless1
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is a great machine for the price. I add some essential oils to it, so not only does it help with my breathing, but I get an 'aromatherapy' benefit as well. I add the solid form of Vicks vaporub in the front slot instead of the strips or oil and it works just fine. I sit it on the floor just in front of my computer chair and the steam perfectly rises up to my nose.

Was this review helpful? (31) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
priceless1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Glad I Purchased Two
1/15/2017

Customer review by NDMama

5.0 stars 1/15/2017 by NDMama
by NDMama
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We've had one of these for about a year and a half. We love it so much that we purchased a second one so we can use one in each of our kids' rooms (because they're always sick simultaneously). This vaporizer works really well. It's quiet. It's easy to use (fill each night and plug in). Keeps my kids' rooms humid while they're sick. We've never used any Vicks as part of the device. Pretty sure that's a marketing ploy. The only con is that small, black chunks of something (minerals from the water?) always collect and float around in the water. They're easy enough to dump out, though. We've had humidifiers go moldy on us, though, so this feels like a small issue comparatively. I would absolutely recommend this to a friend, and I'd even purchase a third if I needed to do so.

Was this review helpful? (10) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NDMama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Mine works great
2/6/2011

Customer review by WIResident

5.0 stars 2/6/2011 by WIResident
by WIResident

I was hesitant to buy this product because of all the negative reviews. When I went to my local Walmart, it was on special for $10 so I figured I couldn't go wrong for that price. I've had it for almost a year and it's been fantastic. I use it when the sparks start flying in the house or during a sinus episode so the unit gets used regularly in the winter. I've never had to use salt to get more steam and clean up is very easy. The grey scaling effect is kind of gross in the tank but a little soak with vinegar takes care of everything about once every 2 weeks. A full tank goes 16-18 hours before needing a refill. Easy to use, easy to clean and a great price. What's not to like?

Was this review helpful? (310) (47)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WIResident
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:A few times per month
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Age:35 - 44
Great!
12/22/2016

Customer review by IndependenceMom1

5.0 stars 12/22/2016 by IndependenceMom1
by IndependenceMom1

This is a super huge value for your money! We've tried other more expensive brands and this one is hands down the best! My husband has sinus issues throughout the year and this helps with the congestion. It's also great if you want to add a little moisture back into a room when the air gets a little dry. We had to buy another one after our first one died out but we had it for two years before that happened and it was used very regularly. We also don't use the vapor products along with the vaporizer. Just add water and let it go to work for you. Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? (28) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
IndependenceMom1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Improved design, works great
2/12/2016

Customer review by LynnC

5.0 stars 2/12/2016 by LynnC
by LynnC

We bought this one because our old vaporizer had seen better days. I loved that the base fit nicely in the bathroom sink, and the fill line allowed it to be removed without spilling any water. Much more convenient than filling the old one in the bathtub! The vaporizer works great, my only recommendation is to read the instruction booklet, because our water has a low mineral content, and the booklet informed us to add a little salt to the water if it doesn't work within a few minutes. If we hadn't read that, we would have thought it didn't work, but adding the salt did the trick. Overall a great product, very satisfied with the purchase.

Was this review helpful? (49) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LynnC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great unit and easy to set up and use
10/25/2013

Customer review by jgo1247

5.0 stars 10/25/2013 by jgo1247
by jgo1247
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Got this item home and immediately put it into action. My only criticism is the instructions seem a little too conservative concerning the amount of VapoSteam to get a decent amount of medication in the steam and the amount of salt to get the steam going at all. I know the salt amount depends on water hardness but i have a Culligan water softener and I still had to almost triple the amount of salt that the instructions call for to get a good steam flow. But your own experience will be your best guide just don't be afraid to go beyong the instructions a bit...but always a small amount at a time. Otherwise it kept our bedroom well humidified and helped us get to sleep easier even with our respiratory infections. And you can't beat the price!

Was this review helpful? (66) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jgo1247
Webster, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:A few times per year
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:65 or older
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 473 total reviews
1-20 of 473 reviews