Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 427 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

427 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

427 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

75%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
195
4 stars
99
3 stars
36
2 stars
34
1 stars
63
1-20 of 390 total reviews
75%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 390 total reviews
1-20 of 390 reviews
Best accessory by Vicks!
3/23/2016

Customer review by RareGem4eva

5.0 stars 3/23/2016 by RareGem4eva
by RareGem4eva

I got this from Walmart store in Atlanta in 2012 after I had my twins. I left it lying around not sure it will be much use. I decided to try it out once when my daughter was coughing. Best response to cold ever! She slept all through the night without any coughing. I always put the vapor rub in it and (sometimes a pinch of salt in the water) to get the steam out very well. I love how it naturally clears the cold and cough without my having to use a lot of cough syrup or any other drugs. I had another baby last year and when she was about 3 months and obviously too young for medication she caught a cold her siblings brought back from school. We slept through the night with this together and she slept all through the night without wheezing or a runny nose. New mums, get this. It has helped me too with sore throats and the like. I think this item should be in every household the same way we stock up on soap!

Was this review helpful? (23) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RareGem4eva
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best $15 I ever spent!
1/4/2016

Customer review by Anniekay80

5.0 stars 1/4/2016 by Anniekay80
by Anniekay80

I had major surgery 10 days ago and am slowly recovering at home. With the dry heated air from our furnace, my nose and throat would get dried up while sleeping. With all the discomforts/pain from surgery that only time will heal, I decided to buy this Vicks vaporizer to fix at least this one problem now. No more dried out nose and throat. No more waking myself with a snort/snore or coughing. This vaporizer puts out just the right amount of steam in my 12x12 open living room where I am sleeping/recovering from my surgery. No excess condensation, just wonderful feeling of normal. I even run it through the day and I noticed less static and I don't feel like a prune drying in the dessert Sun any more. Highly recommend especially for the price. Might go buy a second one for the master bedroom once I am back to sleeping in bed, but keep one in living room for use during the day.

Was this review helpful? (102) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Anniekay80
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Wonderfull for better air quality and baby's cold.
12/31/2011

Customer review by countessbraley

5.0 stars 12/31/2011 by countessbraley
by countessbraley

I had seen many vaporizors in the past, but never had to have one myself until my 8 month old grandson came down with nasty cold. His pediatrician recomended a warm vaporizor to run to help his stuffy nose. This type will moisten the air through the house if you run gas heaters, thuslty robbing the air of any moisture and making it hard on sinuses. Once I started usung this model paired with Vicks vapor solution and a couple of pinches of salt, I immediately noticed a better quality in the air through my house by the second day. I placed this in the living room and had one in the bedroom where my grandson slept. Keep in mind that ou have to regualry monitor the water lever as to not run the unit dry and burn up the vapor unit (the center part the steam comes out of). I used reular tap water instead of distilled water. We also used it during the begining of spring to keep the pollen and dust down for my daughters allergies.

Was this review helpful? (69) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
countessbraley
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Great for the price
12/16/2010

Customer review by JeffnHeather

4.0 stars 12/16/2010 by JeffnHeather
by JeffnHeather

Noticed there aren't alot of people that are giving this positive reviews. We happen to think this vaporizer *it is not a humidifier* works awesome for it's cost. For less then $20 bucks, it's extremely simple to operate. Put water into tank up to the fill mark *make sure not to overfill, it "spits" water* and plug into the wall. If you look closely at the steam guard, you can see the steam this unit is making. After a few hours, glance again and the water level is dropping. If there isn't enough steam for your liking, add a pinch or two of salt. This will make the water hotter, therefor creating more steam. Only problem I've found, is if you put in too much salt, the unit tends to die quickly. We learned this the hard way, first unit lasted 6 months, but the replacement we purchased is working awesome *bought the same unit again, just using less salt* Very easy to clean as well, once every few weeks let it soak in pure vinegar for 20 minutes, rinse throughly, and continue with your regular use. Maybe you can purchase other vaporizers / humidifiers for $100, but compare prices, for $20, you can't go wrong!!

Was this review helpful? (419) (52)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JeffnHeather
Presque Isle, ME
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Handy for those bad colds
7/30/2013

Customer review by dandedaisy

5.0 stars 7/30/2013 by dandedaisy
by dandedaisy

When I get sick, I get in a knockdown-drag out fight with my sinuses (me being the one knocked down), which causes a lot of breathing complications after the cold is gone. I will have a cough for months. This handy-dandy vaporizer, however, makes the cough pass much faster. I find that if I can spend enough time around it, it works better at relieving my chest congestion than Mucinex (and if you look at the price of the two, it becomes clear what is the better value). We've had this thing for quite a while (years now) and it has consistently provided more relief of cold and flu symptoms than any cold medicine. Other things you may want to know: it's quiet (sounds like rain outside or a quiet coffee maker without the hissing), I don't find the light to be that bright but I'd probably sleep through a nuclear explosion (you could probably put a piece of tape over the light if it bothers you), you don't have to fill it that often, and if you want more steam, add more salt! Very simple to operate, great value, best cold and flu relief for me. Highly recommend it :)

Was this review helpful? (102) (29)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dandedaisy
Sacramento, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Improved design, works great
2/12/2016

Customer review by LynnC

5.0 stars 2/12/2016 by LynnC
by LynnC

We bought this one because our old vaporizer had seen better days. I loved that the base fit nicely in the bathroom sink, and the fill line allowed it to be removed without spilling any water. Much more convenient than filling the old one in the bathtub! The vaporizer works great, my only recommendation is to read the instruction booklet, because our water has a low mineral content, and the booklet informed us to add a little salt to the water if it doesn't work within a few minutes. If we hadn't read that, we would have thought it didn't work, but adding the salt did the trick. Overall a great product, very satisfied with the purchase.

Was this review helpful? (34) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LynnC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
LIFESAVER
11/10/2015

Customer review by Kwarr

5.0 stars 11/10/2015 by Kwarr
by Kwarr

my baby has a cold (stuffy nose and cough) and has been waking up 3-4 times a night when she used to sleep through the night. something had to change so we decided to get this and try it. it is seriously a lifesaver! i told my husband this morning, there are lots of good things about it. 1. it makes the room humid, so its easier to breath, and when you stick in a vicks vapopad, it smells great and clears the nose right up. 2. it has a tiny green light on it. i've been wanting a night light! haha. 3. it seriously warms the room. its so nice. i don't have to turn the heater on in my baby room, and its great for winter. maybe not so much summer. 4. the water kind of bubbles, so it makes a little noise. i like to call this makeshift white noise :) i seriously love it. oh, and she slept through the night the first time setting it up. i would definitely buy over and over.

Was this review helpful? (95) (36)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kwarr
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
You get what you pay for
7/25/2016

Customer review by Mamabear

3.0 stars 7/25/2016 by Mamabear
by Mamabear

I returned this product for several reasons. I kept having to stir salt into the water to get it to start. Also, it doesn't have an on/off switch so you always have to unplug it if you want to turn it off. Lastly, not a deal breaker but it takes extra time to pour out the water and to clean it due to its shape. I still gave it 3 stars though because if you don't mind the cons it does work and at a great price.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mamabear
Would recommend to a friend? No
Bang for your Buck
1/2/2014

Customer review by YoungAndFree

5.0 stars 1/2/2014 by YoungAndFree
by YoungAndFree

I bought this last night because i couldn't take my extremely dry nose and sore throat. It did take me a while to get the right amount of salt that it needed but after that it is a dream. Maybe i put too much salt(i got inpatient with the two pinches at a time) because mine pumps out quiet a bit of steam(but water doesn't spew out) so it runs out of water fast. But for a better feeling nose i don't mind refilling it at night.(i'm up anyways) I think i might clean it out and add less salt so it can keep going longer. Overall i love this thing. it's cheap and a great product. If you're thinking of getting this one or a more expensive one, get this one. it's so simple to use and has great results. I don't know how long it will last but as long as it gets me through this winter. i'm happy. i can't really expect it to last me forever because the price is so cheap but it doesn't bother me.

Was this review helpful? (72) (29)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
YoungAndFree
fallbrook, ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Disappointed
3/18/2013

Customer review by MommyofTwoInOregon

2.0 stars 3/18/2013 by MommyofTwoInOregon
by MommyofTwoInOregon

I have used this unit for the last couple of years considering the cost of under $20..however I had to buy between 2 or 3 units a year because the vaporizers only last for 3-6months at a time. I have two young children that can and will get sick easily especially during the winter months. The heat elements would clog up very easily and quickly. I would need to put quite a bit of salt into the unit to get it to start..if I added to much I would have to start over. I would have to fill the vaporizer twice a night to get maxium usuage out of it...with two children needing the same steam we would go through the water a lot. I am planning on buying something else needing the durablity to last longer, and its not dependable. I am also disappointed that Walmart only sells one vaporizer in the whole store..since my children's doctor has said that vaporizers work better than humidifers..but overall for the cost you are getting what you are paying for.

Was this review helpful? (21) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 11/14/2013

I'm sorry to hear that you are having issues with our product. However, this unit l is backed with a limited warranty. Please contact one of our customer support agents and let them know about the issue you're having. You can reach us by calling 1-800-477-0457 (M-F, 8-7PM EST) or by e-mailing ConsumerRelations@kaz.com. Hope this helped!

MommyofTwoInOregon
Grants Pass, OR
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Mine works great
2/6/2011

Customer review by WIResident

5.0 stars 2/6/2011 by WIResident
by WIResident

I was hesitant to buy this product because of all the negative reviews. When I went to my local Walmart, it was on special for $10 so I figured I couldn't go wrong for that price. I've had it for almost a year and it's been fantastic. I use it when the sparks start flying in the house or during a sinus episode so the unit gets used regularly in the winter. I've never had to use salt to get more steam and clean up is very easy. The grey scaling effect is kind of gross in the tank but a little soak with vinegar takes care of everything about once every 2 weeks. A full tank goes 16-18 hours before needing a refill. Easy to use, easy to clean and a great price. What's not to like?

Was this review helpful? (290) (42)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WIResident
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Great unit and easy to set up and use
10/25/2013

Customer review by jgo1247

5.0 stars 10/25/2013 by jgo1247
by jgo1247
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Got this item home and immediately put it into action. My only criticism is the instructions seem a little too conservative concerning the amount of VapoSteam to get a decent amount of medication in the steam and the amount of salt to get the steam going at all. I know the salt amount depends on water hardness but i have a Culligan water softener and I still had to almost triple the amount of salt that the instructions call for to get a good steam flow. But your own experience will be your best guide just don't be afraid to go beyong the instructions a bit...but always a small amount at a time. Otherwise it kept our bedroom well humidified and helped us get to sleep easier even with our respiratory infections. And you can't beat the price!

Was this review helpful? (58) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jgo1247
Webster, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Miracle!
7/15/2016

Customer review by karri

5.0 stars 7/15/2016 by karri
by karri

I bought this after being hopeless following MULTIPLE doctor visits due to my son's MONTHS old cough was still going. I figured it couldn't hurt and after two back to back years of a cough lasting through the winter this got rid of the cough! I use this for myself as well but I don't get a cough as often as my six year old son. LOVE LOVE LOVE this product and my life wouldn't be the same without it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
karri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
economical buy
1/9/2016

Customer review by Coloradotech

5.0 stars 1/9/2016 by Coloradotech
by Coloradotech

This vaporizer runs very quiet. A reminder if you have hard water in your area, add a pinch of salt to the water when you turn it on. I bought the vaporizer because we were having bad sinus problem caused by low humidity here in Colorado.

Was this review helpful? (41) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Coloradotech
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A great find overall!
6/20/2016

Customer review by ChaoticFayth

5.0 stars 6/20/2016 by ChaoticFayth
by ChaoticFayth

Originally, I got this during a particularly bad bout of laryngitis. After I was back to healthy, I realized that I'd been sleeping better with it on at night. For someone that's used to snoring all night and waking up with a dry mouth, this has really turned that around completely. Not to mention the diffusing chamber at the front is perfect for essential oils!

ChaoticFayth
Springfield, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Works SO well! I love it!
11/19/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 11/19/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I have had my Vicks Warm Steam Vaporizer for 3 years now (same unit) and have NEVER had any issues, it still works like new. I have never added salt (I actually didn't know you could do that until I read some reviews below) and never used the spot for the vapor rub, I just use it to add moisture to my room when I sleep. It is so simple to use. I used to have a humidifier that cost me $100 and it worked horrible and leaked water when trying to get it going compared to this unit. *P.S. there will be some black floaties at the bottom of the machine when you go to refill the water. It is normal and is part of the filtering. If you read the manual it explains it well.

Was this review helpful? (99) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
only moderately humidifying
11/26/2013

Customer review by Gingermarie

3.0 stars 11/26/2013 by Gingermarie
by Gingermarie
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

After frustration with expensive humidifiers with fancy filters, I went back to this simple type, buying two for my small home. I have one in my bedroom and one in the living room, but on cold days when the central air runs a lot, there is still static electricity in the air. This unit seems to work best when it's full, waning as the water level goes down. There's quite a lot of weekly maintenance, yet I do like these little workers better than the big models that cost 10x as much. If they keep chugging for the whole winter, I'll be satisfied.

Was this review helpful? (19) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gingermarie
VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Wasted Money
7/3/2016

Customer review by VeryDisappointed

2.0 stars 7/3/2016 by VeryDisappointed
by VeryDisappointed

What a disappointment. Even after adding salt this thing didnt do much. Both me and my baby are sick and I really thought this was the product I needed. I felt heat if I put my hand directly over it. I wish I could find my receipt. They need to stop selling this product.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
VeryDisappointed
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great value
1/18/2011

Customer review by MarshaW62

4.0 stars 1/18/2011 by MarshaW62
by MarshaW62

This unit works great, releasing steam all through the night, helping to soothe my irritated throat and sinuses. I use filtered water + 4 pinches of salt. So far I have used it 4 nights without having to add any more water. I suppost the night light is great for children who need a light, but it is very bright; I'd rather have one w/out it. Unit is fairly quiet; makes light noise similar to outside rain.

Was this review helpful? (136) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MarshaW62
Deland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Got the job done
4/15/2016

Customer review by MeanWanda

5.0 stars 4/15/2016 by MeanWanda
by MeanWanda

I purchased this for my bedroom when I had pneumonia in March. I had a hard time breathing room air and this humidifier helped me immensely by breaking up some of the congestion. It was easy to use and put together. I liked that it came with some Vicks pads to try with it. I needed to add salt to the water in my area but that wasn't a problem. My only complaint is that I wish it had an on/off switch so I wouldn't need to unplug it whenever I'm finished using it because sometimes I need to sleep with it on. But, it does have a safety shut off when the water gets about 3/4 of the way down so there's no worry about an electrical problem, the running light on it is just a little bright to me. All in all, I'm happy with my purchase. I would recommend it to a friend.

Was this review helpful? (4) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MeanWanda
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 390 total reviews
1-20 of 390 reviews