Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 3.7out of 5 stars
3.7 out of 5 | 528 reviews
5 stars
237
4 stars
120
3 stars
45
2 stars
35
1 stars
91
Sort by: 
1-20 of 489 reviews
1-20 of 489 reviews
Great Humidifier but leaves residue every night...
12/30/2016
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This is a very good steam humidifier which is 100 times better than normal Walgreens humidifier. It is also doing its job as described and not finding any major issues. After each night, we notice brown / black residue at the bottom of the bowl which forces us to change water everyday. Still don't know where and how the residue is forming :(
Was this review helpful?
Yes (33)No (13)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Didn't work at first, but now it works perfectly
1/23/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
The first day of owning this unit, I couldn't get it to produce steam, even after adding a couple pinches of table salt. Left it on all night and by morning it started producing more steam. By late morning it was producing gobs of steam and hasn't stopped yet. I add about a gallon of water every 2 to 3 hours and rinse the black residue out every couple days. Happy with unit!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (14)No (9)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great for the price
12/16/2010
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Noticed there aren't alot of people that are giving this positive reviews. We happen to think this vaporizer *it is not a humidifier* works awesome for it's cost. For less then $20 bucks, it's extremely simple to operate. Put water into tank up to the fill mark *make sure not to overfill, it "spits" water* and plug into the wall. If you look closely at the steam guard, you can see the steam this unit is making. After a few hours, glance again and the water level is dropping. If there isn't enough steam for your liking, add a pinch or two of salt. This will make the water hotter, therefor creating more steam. Only problem I've found, is if you put in too much salt, the unit tends to die quickly. We learned this the hard way, first unit lasted 6 months, but the replacement we purchased is working awesome *bought the same unit again, just using less salt* Very easy to clean as well, once every few weeks let it soak in pure vinegar for 20 minutes, rinse throughly, and continue with your regular use. Maybe you can purchase other vaporizers / humidifiers for $100, but compare prices, for $20, you can't go wrong!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (510)No (75)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Handy for those bad colds
7/30/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
When I get sick, I get in a knockdown-drag out fight with my sinuses (me being the one knocked down), which causes a lot of breathing complications after the cold is gone. I will have a cough for months. This handy-dandy vaporizer, however, makes the cough pass much faster. I find that if I can spend enough time around it, it works better at relieving my chest congestion than Mucinex (and if you look at the price of the two, it becomes clear what is the better value). We've had this thing for quite a while (years now) and it has consistently provided more relief of cold and flu symptoms than any cold medicine. Other things you may want to know: it's quiet (sounds like rain outside or a quiet coffee maker without the hissing), I don't find the light to be that bright but I'd probably sleep through a nuclear explosion (you could probably put a piece of tape over the light if it bothers you), you don't have to fill it that often, and if you want more steam, add more salt! Very simple to operate, great value, best cold and flu relief for me. Highly recommend it :)
Was this review helpful?
Yes (154)No (47)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Wonderfull for better air quality and baby's cold.
12/31/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I had seen many vaporizors in the past, but never had to have one myself until my 8 month old grandson came down with nasty cold. His pediatrician recomended a warm vaporizor to run to help his stuffy nose. This type will moisten the air through the house if you run gas heaters, thuslty robbing the air of any moisture and making it hard on sinuses. Once I started usung this model paired with Vicks vapor solution and a couple of pinches of salt, I immediately noticed a better quality in the air through my house by the second day. I placed this in the living room and had one in the bedroom where my grandson slept. Keep in mind that ou have to regualry monitor the water lever as to not run the unit dry and burn up the vapor unit (the center part the steam comes out of). I used reular tap water instead of distilled water. We also used it during the begining of spring to keep the pollen and dust down for my daughters allergies.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (105)No (38)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Best accessory by Vicks!
3/23/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I got this from Walmart store in Atlanta in 2012 after I had my twins. I left it lying around not sure it will be much use. I decided to try it out once when my daughter was coughing. Best response to cold ever! She slept all through the night without any coughing. I always put the vapor rub in it and (sometimes a pinch of salt in the water) to get the steam out very well. I love how it naturally clears the cold and cough without my having to use a lot of cough syrup or any other drugs. I had another baby last year and when she was about 3 months and obviously too young for medication she caught a cold her siblings brought back from school. We slept through the night with this together and she slept all through the night without wheezing or a runny nose. New mums, get this. It has helped me too with sore throats and the like. I think this item should be in every household the same way we stock up on soap!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (108)No (36)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Best $15 I ever spent!
1/4/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I had major surgery 10 days ago and am slowly recovering at home. With the dry heated air from our furnace, my nose and throat would get dried up while sleeping. With all the discomforts/pain from surgery that only time will heal, I decided to buy this Vicks vaporizer to fix at least this one problem now. No more dried out nose and throat. No more waking myself with a snort/snore or coughing. This vaporizer puts out just the right amount of steam in my 12x12 open living room where I am sleeping/recovering from my surgery. No excess condensation, just wonderful feeling of normal. I even run it through the day and I noticed less static and I don't feel like a prune drying in the dessert Sun any more. Highly recommend especially for the price. Might go buy a second one for the master bedroom once I am back to sleeping in bed, but keep one in living room for use during the day.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (163)No (39)
Report
Was this review helpful?
easy and cheap
10/6/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
gives the extra needed moisture for the dry winter months1
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Not all that great of vaporizer
9/24/2017
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
If you have hard water you will need to add salt,and that's ok. The steam (or water) does not last as long as they say. If had to do over again I would spend more money for a better long lasting steamer. Good for small room for several hours. We needed a vaporizer fast to help with sick grandson,so bought one that day.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Better Than Expected
10/17/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This vaporizer replaced a super old one that died & I wasn't hopeful that I could find one that worked as well as my old one. This Vicks Vaporizer works just as well & even runs longer than my old one on one fill. Very pleased with this unit. I read other comments & I too will say you need to add a bit of salt to the water BUT, the unit states this in the directions as well as a label on the unit so no one should have a problem. I would definitely buy again.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Bang for your Buck
1/2/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this last night because i couldn't take my extremely dry nose and sore throat. It did take me a while to get the right amount of salt that it needed but after that it is a dream. Maybe i put too much salt(i got inpatient with the two pinches at a time) because mine pumps out quiet a bit of steam(but water doesn't spew out) so it runs out of water fast. But for a better feeling nose i don't mind refilling it at night.(i'm up anyways) I think i might clean it out and add less salt so it can keep going longer. Overall i love this thing. it's cheap and a great product. If you're thinking of getting this one or a more expensive one, get this one. it's so simple to use and has great results. I don't know how long it will last but as long as it gets me through this winter. i'm happy. i can't really expect it to last me forever because the price is so cheap but it doesn't bother me.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (82)No (30)
Report
Was this review helpful?
LIFESAVER
11/10/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
my baby has a cold (stuffy nose and cough) and has been waking up 3-4 times a night when she used to sleep through the night. something had to change so we decided to get this and try it. it is seriously a lifesaver! i told my husband this morning, there are lots of good things about it. 1. it makes the room humid, so its easier to breath, and when you stick in a vicks vapopad, it smells great and clears the nose right up. 2. it has a tiny green light on it. i've been wanting a night light! haha. 3. it seriously warms the room. its so nice. i don't have to turn the heater on in my baby room, and its great for winter. maybe not so much summer. 4. the water kind of bubbles, so it makes a little noise. i like to call this makeshift white noise :) i seriously love it. oh, and she slept through the night the first time setting it up. i would definitely buy over and over.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (127)No (46)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good item. works.
1/10/2017
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Simple and it works. Just filled it to say upto 2/3 of the container. Set the lid back and within minutes it started generating steam. The manual says if the steam does not get generated, then add small amount of salt to water in the container for it to generate steam. I did not have to add salt so far. My daughter has nose blockages and some time when the air gets too dry, she starts bleeding, with this the next morning she woke up without problems. I've had it for a week now and so far so good. Also this product is quite inexpensive. Glad I read the positive reviews and Thank you to all who posted their honest feed back. It mattered when I was looking for buying this product.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (29)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Disappointed
3/18/2013
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have used this unit for the last couple of years considering the cost of under $20..however I had to buy between 2 or 3 units a year because the vaporizers only last for 3-6months at a time. I have two young children that can and will get sick easily especially during the winter months. The heat elements would clog up very easily and quickly. I would need to put quite a bit of salt into the unit to get it to start..if I added to much I would have to start over. I would have to fill the vaporizer twice a night to get maxium usuage out of it...with two children needing the same steam we would go through the water a lot. I am planning on buying something else needing the durablity to last longer, and its not dependable. I am also disappointed that Walmart only sells one vaporizer in the whole store..since my children's doctor has said that vaporizers work better than humidifers..but overall for the cost you are getting what you are paying for.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (35)No (31)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Vicks warm mist
10/5/2017
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I had to exchange because it was getting too hot and gurgling sounds. I don't like that you can't get all the water out. But I guess one could use a dry towel or paper towels. All and all good for a kiddo with a stuffy nose.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Mine works great
2/6/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I was hesitant to buy this product because of all the negative reviews. When I went to my local Walmart, it was on special for $10 so I figured I couldn't go wrong for that price. I've had it for almost a year and it's been fantastic. I use it when the sparks start flying in the house or during a sinus episode so the unit gets used regularly in the winter. I've never had to use salt to get more steam and clean up is very easy. The grey scaling effect is kind of gross in the tank but a little soak with vinegar takes care of everything about once every 2 weeks. A full tank goes 16-18 hours before needing a refill. Easy to use, easy to clean and a great price. What's not to like?
Was this review helpful?
Yes (314)No (47)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Seems hit or miss
10/10/2017
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
It seems hit or miss on when or if it generates steam. I am not secure enough in its operation I will leave it on over night or day time without being right there. Perhaps I am not patient enough, but I don't have a lot of spare time to fiddle around or wait for the item to produce steam. I prefer an item that does what I bought it to do every time I use it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Vick’s warm steam vaporizer
10/8/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Bought for someone else, I’m sure that it’s fine.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good for the price.
10/9/2017
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
For $13, it’s wonderful. For a humidifier, it’s OK. The lack of on-off switch is annoying, but doable because of the automatic shut off. The stream is not especially powerful and is minutely helped by adding salt per the instructions.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great unit and easy to set up and use
10/25/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Got this item home and immediately put it into action. My only criticism is the instructions seem a little too conservative concerning the amount of VapoSteam to get a decent amount of medication in the steam and the amount of salt to get the steam going at all. I know the salt amount depends on water hardness but i have a Culligan water softener and I still had to almost triple the amount of salt that the instructions call for to get a good steam flow. But your own experience will be your best guide just don't be afraid to go beyong the instructions a bit...but always a small amount at a time. Otherwise it kept our bedroom well humidified and helped us get to sleep easier even with our respiratory infections. And you can't beat the price!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (67)No (13)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184643955, DC-prod-dal4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-