Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 371 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

371 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

371 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

96%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
281
4 stars
67
3 stars
10
2 stars
5
1 stars
8
1-20 of 362 total reviews
96%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 362 total reviews
1-20 of 362 reviews
Having a great time.
8/13/2011

Customer review by EMT001

5.0 stars 8/13/2011 by EMT001
by EMT001

I had rented a walker similar to the 780 for a month many years ago for my right foot, but needed it for 2 more weeks and had to pay for another month. This time for my left foot for which I had surgery, I bought the 780 and found it difficult to maneuver in the house and on straight runs it tended to steer left. So I bought the 790 and returned the 780. What a difference especially in the house. It folds nicely to fit on the rear seat of our car and light enough for my wife to handle. For our basement stairs from the ground level to our living area, I sit down and pull or push it up or down the stairs, by the handle and rear wheels. With the handles folded, a basket on the front gets it the way, but I put one on the rear of the handles which works well. The cost is worth the purchase, and when I finish, in about 2 months, I will donate it to our Fire Company Ladies Auxiliary loan closet. What a great replacement for crutches, and everyone comments about how great it works.

Was this review helpful? (102) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
EMT001
Hudson Valley, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A must to have for foot injury
8/19/2012

Customer review by Lacritica

5.0 stars 8/19/2012 by Lacritica
by Lacritica

If you are recovering of foot injury or surgery, get rid off immediately of your crutches and purchase the most helpful equipment that you could ever have. I used crutches for a week, it was the worst week I ever lived. Until I purchased this scooter. The same scooter in other sites cost more than double that I paid in Walmart. I use the scooter in the house, in the office, etc. It is very versatil (foldable, turnable and ergonomically cushion) I installed a wicker basket on the handle bar so I don't have to carry a purse. People stop me in the stores and comment how cute it looks!

Was this review helpful? (42) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lacritica
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
This knee walker has become my new best friend.
3/26/2014

Customer review by lms1234

5.0 stars 3/26/2014 by lms1234
by lms1234
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The knee walker is by far easier than crutches or a walker. I had ankle surgery and ended up with a cast up to my knee. No pressure on my right foot was allowed. The scooter glides easily and is small enough to maneuver around doorways and other obstacles. I can easily sit on the cushioned knee rest when the need arises. The price is very reasonable compared to others on the internet. I would highly recommend this to anyone with the use of only one leg.

Was this review helpful? (17) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lms1234
Pittsburgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Just what I needed after ankle surgery
4/27/2014

Customer review by Hopalong90

5.0 stars 4/27/2014 by Hopalong90
by Hopalong90
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Price was right and was able to pick up at store when promised.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hopalong90
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Knee Walker
2/23/2011

Customer review by CndnHockeyGuy

5.0 stars 2/23/2011 by CndnHockeyGuy
by CndnHockeyGuy

Fantastic alternative for crutches as I just broke my ankle. I live in a one level home and can get around quicker than my kids! Just travelled to Jamaica and brought it along ..great for getting through the airport and the main part of the resort. (Had to take crutches for the beach and pool area). Everyone thinks it is cool and wants to try it.

Was this review helpful? (76) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CndnHockeyGuy
Sarnia, ON
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent Steerable Knee Walker
3/11/2016

Customer review by Calvin

5.0 stars 3/11/2016 by Calvin
by Calvin

Did some research on this walker prior to my foot surgery and after the reviews I read I had to have one once I had my surgery. I ordered this from Walmart and it arrived just in time, the day before the surgery. Picked it up and it was nearly 90% assembled and the rest was very easy to assemble. I had my surgery a week ago and have been using it now for 8 days. It maneuvers very well at home and at stores getting around, but may be a little inconvenient it you are by yourself in a store, trying to carry things and drive the walker. (Recommend have someone go with you, as I did.) The handle drops down so the entire assembly can be put in the back seat of a car. Take it out and the handle snaps right back into place. Crutches may be cheaper but using this is a lot easier and faster getting around. Saves a lot of pain under the arms from crutches. Will be needing it again later, in another year, for surgery on my other foot. Money I consider, very well spent.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Calvin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Choice
5/4/2016

Customer review by Lace

5.0 stars 5/4/2016 by Lace
by Lace

I started out on crutches and quickly decided a roller would be a great choice if I was going to be non-weight bearing for a full month. I looked first at renting/leasing a knee roller; for the money it made more sense for me to purchase one. After reading a lot of reviews I chose this one and I am glad I did. It was easy to assemble, it is very sturdy, adjusts easily, rolls smoothly and the brakes are great to keep it where you want it or when standing at the counter cooking. I have even discovered that I can take it around the neighborhood as long as I am careful to look for uneven surfaces. It folds down easily to take in the car. I am glad I did not choose one with a basket because I think it would be in the way most of the time. I have put a fabric bag over the handle bars to carry items and that works just fine. It was definitely a great choice. I have already heard many comments from others that they plan to borrow it should the need arise. I would highly recommend this item. I do not see how spending additional money would give you a better product.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lace
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Beats crutches
6/8/2016

Customer review by gkharris

5.0 stars 6/8/2016 by gkharris
by gkharris
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

As an older woman with a broken ankle, after two days I was desperate for an alternative to crutches. I ordered this from Walmart. It's very maneuverable: with only a few inches in front and back, I could turn around in some rather tight spaces. Because it has brakes, I can go over thresholds and even manage shallow steps up to about 3". It's fairly easy to go up ramps, but tricky coming down as you tend to build speed and need judicious use of both your good foot and the brakes. The handle folds easily and my driver can fit it in the backseat or trunk. I did buy the sheepskin cover, it makes the pad more comfortable. I did not buy a basket but used a small lunch cooler, looping the handles of the bag over the handles of the scooter. After a week's use the seat squeaks a bit as weight is applied and removed from it. Provides more independence as I can cover more ground easily and carry limited items. Because the pad is curved to accommodate the bad leg, it's not comfortable for long periods of sitting but will do in a pinch if you need to stop, get off the knee and rest.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gkharris
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Poor quality
4/21/2016

Customer review by Sore

1.0 stars 4/21/2016 by Sore
by Sore

I have had my DV8 knee scooter for 6 weeks now. At 4 weeks the seat covering cracked all the way around it. I had to fix it with duct tape. There is no way it will last much longer. Worst of all the front wheels assembly just broke off dumping me on the floor! There were two small spot welds holding it on and they broke. There is no reason that it should not have been welded all the way around that area. This is not only a problem of having to be without it until I can get it fixed but is downright dangerous. I would NEVER buy this unit again.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sore
Would recommend to a friend? No
500% better than using crutches
4/7/2016

Customer review by DasBoot

5.0 stars 4/7/2016 by DasBoot
by DasBoot

I have been using this for about 3 weeks now after surgery and taking it to work. I found it was invaluable. My only slightly negative comment is that it says it's aluminum so I thought it would be more lightweight than it is. But it's very, very sturdy which is also important. I am on non-weight-bearing for the one leg so that makes it impossible for me to lift it into the car by myself at this point, but when I have weight bearing I should be able to lift it into the car. Also I have a large walking cast on my foot and I had no problem at all feeling comfortable with that on the surface of the knee seat. The insurance company was going to charge me $100 a month to rent this so it was much less expensive for me just to purchase and then had the option if I needed in the future. Great quality for the price.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DasBoot
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
New best friend
2/26/2013

Customer review by Tzonw

4.0 stars 2/26/2013 by Tzonw
by Tzonw
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was in Hawaii where I saw many tourists using knee wheelers. When I broke my ankle there, I searched everywhere for the device. I couldn't find one but was able to order from Walmart. By the time I got home, the knee walker was waiting for me. It was easy to assemble and learn to ride. My only problems came from a sharp edge (near the brake handle)that cut my finger. I have also had my loose pant legs (needed for getting over my cast) get caught up in the rear wheel. I learned to wear cropped pants and move my leg away from the wheel. The freedom of movement with this device is outstanding. It is well-balanced and the brakes are more useful than I ever imagined. The turning radius is very small. I have been able to easily move the wheeler when I needed to. I am able to carry a cup of coffee and steer at the same time. An excellent product. I does need a bag or basket for carrying items.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tzonw
Columbus, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice knee scooter
7/28/2016

Customer review by perl

5.0 stars 7/28/2016 by perl
by perl
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It is light weight and the mechanism to fold the handlebars is so easy to use. Brakes are a bit noisy and sometimes hard to use both sides equally. Most scooters I have rented had one brake control that activated both pads in back. But you just need to get used to them.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
perl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Knee Scooter
2/1/2016

Customer review by Gimp

5.0 stars 2/1/2016 by Gimp
by Gimp

I had an amputation of the toes on the Rt. foot and was unable to place any weight for a long period of time on the foot. During that time I began to rent a knee scooter and when I saw that I could purchase this one for less than it was going to cost me to rent, time wise, I figured, why not! I was quite surprised when I found this Drive DV8 Aluminum Scooter for under $200. The scooter I had rented retailed for close to $400. The Drive DV8 was built just as sturdy, same gauge metal, same size rubber tires, dual brakes adjustable thick padded leg cushion that can also be used as a seat, adjustable handlebars, and easy turning. Very comfortable. I opted for the 2 day delivery, ordered it on a Wed. morning and it was on my doorstep Friday Morning, for $10. Assembly was very simple and the allen wrench tool necessary for tightening some of the items was included.(for the most part it comes assembled except for the seat and handlebars.)

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gimp
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
excellent tool
1/13/2013

Customer review by joyofyoga

5.0 stars 1/13/2013 by joyofyoga
by joyofyoga
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Super fast delivery, excellent quality. has given me back my mobility even during my injury. crutches are cumbersome, unsteady and gawky, while the rive 790 is sleek and smooth, creating the illusion of full mobility during rehab from my ankle fracture/surgery. I work as an RN and while I could not return to trauma nursing with this aid, I was allowed to mentor students and conduct clinical rotations with the walker aid. The brakes are strong and confident, the large wheel provide stability and assurance in locomotion, the padded knee rest doubles as a seat during long clinical hours and the handlebars serve a second purpose as a backpack holder, allowing me to transport files, and even coffee, from place to place. The knee scooter has given me back 70-80% of my pre-injury mobility and allowed me to get back to at least most of my life, even though I will not be allowed to bear weight for another 2-3 mo. Only draw back is a caution to beware of debris in the path of the front wheels, even small parking lot pebbles can cause a strong twist in the steering, use caution when in areas with ground debris and stairs are next to impossible, make use of wheelchair access ramps and use keep a cautious speed and all will be well.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
joyofyoga
TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best Option for Mobility
3/10/2014

Customer review by njoyqd

5.0 stars 3/10/2014 by njoyqd
by njoyqd
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

After researching renting vs buying, this Knee Walker was an excellent purchase. The first few days after my non-weight bearing foot surgery I used a walker for stability due to the affects from anesthesia and pain medications. When I switched to the knee walker I was extremely impressed with the sense of freedom and ease of use. We took it to a local bike shop and purchased a basket. Going from room to room, I am able to carry most everything I need without asking for help. So far I have traveled over tile, carpet, sidewalks, pavers, and gravel. It is very stable and my husband says it is very easy to fold up and put in the car. After sitting, I can lock the brakes and use it to prop up my foot. Renting a knee walker locally would have cost about the same and the walker would not of had the options of turning and braking. Walmart had this delivered several days earlier than expected which gave me time to practice.

Was this review helpful? (23) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
njoyqd
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good product; lousy factory assembly
5/16/2016

Customer review by Allen

3.0 stars 5/16/2016 by Allen
by Allen

The design is lovely. It is sturdy, rolls freely, and has effective brakes. The parts are standard for bicycles, so repair is practical. But it arrived with the steering header tightened so tight the bearings had damaged the header they run in, and turning was lumpy. I took it to a bicycle repair shop, where they replaced the bearings and smoothed their socket (which is steel; if it had been aluminum the entire header would have had to be replaced). Now it steers smoothly and effortlessly. The manual is a too terse. For example, where it says to line up the handlebars with the axle at the front, it fails to mention that there are two inconspicuous arrows to guide you in this process. But if you are careful and thoughtful, it is not hard so get it right.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Allen
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great product
7/25/2016

Customer review by jumpingjoy

5.0 stars 7/25/2016 by jumpingjoy
by jumpingjoy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Really helps me get around after bunion surgery.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jumpingjoy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great knee scooter
7/13/2016

Customer review by Grizz1975

5.0 stars 7/13/2016 by Grizz1975
by Grizz1975
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great product fast shipping easy to put together and ready to use

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Grizz1975
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great, if you fracture you ankle
8/31/2014

Customer review by DesertOwl

5.0 stars 8/31/2014 by DesertOwl
by DesertOwl
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is so much better than crutches, which I tried to manage before this came 'rush' delivery. The price at Walmart is good, compared to other websites, and it only took 2 days to get here.The price here in town would have been $350. It was a bit of a hassle for my husband to put it together, as the directions are quite minimal and they don't tell you that one crucial wrench is packed in with the seat. One has to tighten the handle (for which one needs the wrench) and adjust and tighten the seat (relatively straightforward). It moves really easily indoors, especially on tile or linoleum. It takes a bit more to move along rugs. It does OK on sidewalks, too, but it's not so good on asphalt parking lots. The wheels do not have tires, so there is no "cushion". It does go very fast downhill, and I haven't mastered the brakes yet (despite having had this knee-walker for about 10 days now). The brakes seem to be either all on (when you squeeze them) or all off. I found the best way to go down even a gentle slope was to put on the brakes, move my good foot forward, take off the brakes (so my good foot would do the braking), let it go the couple of feet, put on the brakes and repeat the cycle.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DesertOwl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Foot Surgery
3/10/2015

Customer review by Sandi

4.0 stars 3/10/2015 by Sandi
by Sandi

Overall, I am quite pleased with the Drive Medical 790. I was very apprehensive of having soot surgery as I am a very independent woman and was told I would be non-weight bearing for 6+ weeks. The walker arrived in a timely manner, undamaged, and my spouse had no problem with the assembly. The steering is smooth and I do not have any issues maneuvering around our home and patio. During the first week it was quite an adjustment and kneeling on the hard cushion seat took a full week to get used to. The steering and breaks work very well. However, one must use extreme caution maneuvering any surface. I have read some reviews where individuals had "falls". I too almost took a spill and it scared me. However, it was not the walker at fault it was user error. Many folks are under the influence of pain medication and as with any medical device one must use the most extreme caution. We also purchased the basket and cup holder and I strongly recommend those items as well. If the product is put together and used correctly I would recommend this device to anyone who must be non-weight bearing.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sandi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 362 total reviews
1-20 of 362 reviews