Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.6out of 5 stars
4.6 out of 5 | 430 reviews
5 stars
321
4 stars
79
3 stars
14
2 stars
7
1 stars
9
Sort by: 
1-20 of 421 reviews
1-20 of 421 reviews
Having a great time.
8/13/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I had rented a walker similar to the 780 for a month many years ago for my right foot, but needed it for 2 more weeks and had to pay for another month. This time for my left foot for which I had surgery, I bought the 780 and found it difficult to maneuver in the house and on straight runs it tended to steer left. So I bought the 790 and returned the 780. What a difference especially in the house. It folds nicely to fit on the rear seat of our car and light enough for my wife to handle. For our basement stairs from the ground level to our living area, I sit down and pull or push it up or down the stairs, by the handle and rear wheels. With the handles folded, a basket on the front gets it the way, but I put one on the rear of the handles which works well. The cost is worth the purchase, and when I finish, in about 2 months, I will donate it to our Fire Company Ladies Auxiliary loan closet. What a great replacement for crutches, and everyone comments about how great it works.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (133)No (27)
Report
Was this review helpful?
A must to have for foot injury
8/19/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
If you are recovering of foot injury or surgery, get rid off immediately of your crutches and purchase the most helpful equipment that you could ever have. I used crutches for a week, it was the worst week I ever lived. Until I purchased this scooter. The same scooter in other sites cost more than double that I paid in Walmart. I use the scooter in the house, in the office, etc. It is very versatil (foldable, turnable and ergonomically cushion) I installed a wicker basket on the handle bar so I don't have to carry a purse. People stop me in the stores and comment how cute it looks!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (56)No (8)
Report
Was this review helpful?
This knee walker has become my new best friend.
3/26/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
The knee walker is by far easier than crutches or a walker. I had ankle surgery and ended up with a cast up to my knee. No pressure on my right foot was allowed. The scooter glides easily and is small enough to maneuver around doorways and other obstacles. I can easily sit on the cushioned knee rest when the need arises. The price is very reasonable compared to others on the internet. I would highly recommend this to anyone with the use of only one leg.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (35)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Works great!
12/29/2016
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I had foot surgery. I used crutches the first day after the surgery and then this knee stroller came in. It's a lifesaver; ten times better than crutches. It makes life much easier. It was simple to assemble. It moves around great inside. It doesn't tip easy, but I did tip it once backing up with the front wheels turned all the way in one direction. It will also tip easier at high speeds. It's made for indoor. If you use it outdoor, be very careful and try to stay on hard, flat surfaces that are free of debris. I bought a separate all terrain knee scooter for outdoors, but that one isn't as maneuverable indoors, costs quite a bit more and is heavier.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (9)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Knee Walker
2/23/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Fantastic alternative for crutches as I just broke my ankle. I live in a one level home and can get around quicker than my kids! Just travelled to Jamaica and brought it along ..great for getting through the airport and the main part of the resort. (Had to take crutches for the beach and pool area). Everyone thinks it is cool and wants to try it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (80)No (27)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Just what I needed after ankle surgery
4/27/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Price was right and was able to pick up at store when promised.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (18)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Excellent Steerable Knee Walker
3/11/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Did some research on this walker prior to my foot surgery and after the reviews I read I had to have one once I had my surgery. I ordered this from Walmart and it arrived just in time, the day before the surgery. Picked it up and it was nearly 90% assembled and the rest was very easy to assemble. I had my surgery a week ago and have been using it now for 8 days. It maneuvers very well at home and at stores getting around, but may be a little inconvenient it you are by yourself in a store, trying to carry things and drive the walker. (Recommend have someone go with you, as I did.) The handle drops down so the entire assembly can be put in the back seat of a car. Take it out and the handle snaps right back into place. Crutches may be cheaper but using this is a lot easier and faster getting around. Saves a lot of pain under the arms from crutches. Will be needing it again later, in another year, for surgery on my other foot. Money I consider, very well spent.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (12)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great little "bike"
11/3/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I had foot surgery and am no weight bearing for about a month. The scooter came early and was on my doorstep when I got home from surgery. What a great little machine! The handlebars fold flat with two easy steps and is easy to pop into the car. It weighs about 20 lbs so is easy to control. I have been shopping and to many businesses with no issues. The wheels are fairly large and move smoothly. If you are on rustic looking surfaces (i.e. uneven/larger spaced areas between tiles/concrete/etc you will have to go slower because even these wheels get pulled away if you aren't paying attention (think a motorcyle or bike on a gravel road). I looked at the "off road" scooter but could not justify the price difference. This scooter was a good compromise. It has made the difference between freedom and being stuck on crutches. Besides, you can really be zippy and have some fun, even though you're stuck with only one leg :)
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Drive Knee Scooter
8/25/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The perfect solution for someone who is too clumsy to use crutches! It was easy to assemble and easy to adjust to the the right height. It is very sturdy and the locking breaks are helpful when transitioning from sitting/standing. It's a little tricky outside, however....even the tiniest pebble on the sidewalk will wedge the wheels to a dead stop, so you really have to stick to smooth surfaces. Perhaps it needs knobby, "off-road" tires for when you go outside.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
New best friend
2/26/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I was in Hawaii where I saw many tourists using knee wheelers. When I broke my ankle there, I searched everywhere for the device. I couldn't find one but was able to order from Walmart. By the time I got home, the knee walker was waiting for me. It was easy to assemble and learn to ride. My only problems came from a sharp edge (near the brake handle)that cut my finger. I have also had my loose pant legs (needed for getting over my cast) get caught up in the rear wheel. I learned to wear cropped pants and move my leg away from the wheel. The freedom of movement with this device is outstanding. It is well-balanced and the brakes are more useful than I ever imagined. The turning radius is very small. I have been able to easily move the wheeler when I needed to. I am able to carry a cup of coffee and steer at the same time. An excellent product. I does need a bag or basket for carrying items.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (17)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Choice
5/4/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I started out on crutches and quickly decided a roller would be a great choice if I was going to be non-weight bearing for a full month. I looked first at renting/leasing a knee roller; for the money it made more sense for me to purchase one. After reading a lot of reviews I chose this one and I am glad I did. It was easy to assemble, it is very sturdy, adjusts easily, rolls smoothly and the brakes are great to keep it where you want it or when standing at the counter cooking. I have even discovered that I can take it around the neighborhood as long as I am careful to look for uneven surfaces. It folds down easily to take in the car. I am glad I did not choose one with a basket because I think it would be in the way most of the time. I have put a fabric bag over the handle bars to carry items and that works just fine. It was definitely a great choice. I have already heard many comments from others that they plan to borrow it should the need arise. I would highly recommend this item. I do not see how spending additional money would give you a better product.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Best thing for my ankle!
9/28/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I rented a similar but heavier model when I broke my ankle last year and was very happy with the product. I needed major surgery on the ankle to repair tendons 11 months later, and I decided to buy this model instead of renting. This model is lighter and easier for me to handle than the one I rented. I'm not real tall or heavy, and also not very strong. This knee scooter was so helpful getting around in the hospital. I cannot manage hopping about in a walker. While there are cheaper models, I appreciate the dual brakes and brake locks and the stability of this scooter. I would recommend a larger, heavier model for a much larger person, but this is the best for me. Walmart delivered in only 2 days, just in time for me to take it to the hospital. Their price was the same as others I looked at. The scooter only needed the handle and the seat slipped into the frame. The brakes and wheels were pre-assembled. The directions were clear and easy. I only needed to tightened one screw on the handle with the tool supplied. i
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
excellent tool
1/13/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Super fast delivery, excellent quality. has given me back my mobility even during my injury. crutches are cumbersome, unsteady and gawky, while the rive 790 is sleek and smooth, creating the illusion of full mobility during rehab from my ankle fracture/surgery. I work as an RN and while I could not return to trauma nursing with this aid, I was allowed to mentor students and conduct clinical rotations with the walker aid. The brakes are strong and confident, the large wheel provide stability and assurance in locomotion, the padded knee rest doubles as a seat during long clinical hours and the handlebars serve a second purpose as a backpack holder, allowing me to transport files, and even coffee, from place to place. The knee scooter has given me back 70-80% of my pre-injury mobility and allowed me to get back to at least most of my life, even though I will not be allowed to bear weight for another 2-3 mo. Only draw back is a caution to beware of debris in the path of the front wheels, even small parking lot pebbles can cause a strong twist in the steering, use caution when in areas with ground debris and stairs are next to impossible, make use of wheelchair access ramps and use keep a cautious speed and all will be well.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (18)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Best Option for Mobility
3/10/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
After researching renting vs buying, this Knee Walker was an excellent purchase. The first few days after my non-weight bearing foot surgery I used a walker for stability due to the affects from anesthesia and pain medications. When I switched to the knee walker I was extremely impressed with the sense of freedom and ease of use. We took it to a local bike shop and purchased a basket. Going from room to room, I am able to carry most everything I need without asking for help. So far I have traveled over tile, carpet, sidewalks, pavers, and gravel. It is very stable and my husband says it is very easy to fold up and put in the car. After sitting, I can lock the brakes and use it to prop up my foot. Renting a knee walker locally would have cost about the same and the walker would not of had the options of turning and braking. Walmart had this delivered several days earlier than expected which gave me time to practice.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (23)No (12)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great advance in scooter technology
9/9/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The package arrived early and in reasonable shape. The scooter was well packaged and easy to assemble if you read the directions first. The scooter is better made than the one I used in PT at a university hospital. The knee pad is comfortable even with a cast. My former scooter had caster wheels on the front and that took more strength and body energy to use. Steering kids the answer. If this scooter had softer rubber wheels in the front it would be perfect. As is it is absolutely great. There is no longer much of a need for lower leg injuries.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Knee Scooter
2/1/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I had an amputation of the toes on the Rt. foot and was unable to place any weight for a long period of time on the foot. During that time I began to rent a knee scooter and when I saw that I could purchase this one for less than it was going to cost me to rent, time wise, I figured, why not! I was quite surprised when I found this Drive DV8 Aluminum Scooter for under $200. The scooter I had rented retailed for close to $400. The Drive DV8 was built just as sturdy, same gauge metal, same size rubber tires, dual brakes adjustable thick padded leg cushion that can also be used as a seat, adjustable handlebars, and easy turning. Very comfortable. I opted for the 2 day delivery, ordered it on a Wed. morning and it was on my doorstep Friday Morning, for $10. Assembly was very simple and the allen wrench tool necessary for tightening some of the items was included.(for the most part it comes assembled except for the seat and handlebars.)
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Walker crutch
9/9/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
It is a very sturdy walker and my husband had no issues putting it together. We like how the handle can be put down so it fits easily in our trunk. Good brakes and I would recommend buying a soft cover for the knee seat for more comfort on the knee.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Very happy with my knee walker!
8/31/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Wow! This knee walker/scooter works great! I broke my ankle and crutches were very difficult for me to use. I got a walker, which was better, but I couldn't go very far due to my bad knee on my good leg. The scooter was very easy to assemble (just a couple of steps, really). It's helped me to get around my home and from the car to the inside of doctor's offices. I look forward to using it after I have my surgery. It easily turns, the brakes work well, and I don't think you can beat the price!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great, if you fracture you ankle
8/31/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This is so much better than crutches, which I tried to manage before this came 'rush' delivery. The price at Walmart is good, compared to other websites, and it only took 2 days to get here.The price here in town would have been $350. It was a bit of a hassle for my husband to put it together, as the directions are quite minimal and they don't tell you that one crucial wrench is packed in with the seat. One has to tighten the handle (for which one needs the wrench) and adjust and tighten the seat (relatively straightforward). It moves really easily indoors, especially on tile or linoleum. It takes a bit more to move along rugs. It does OK on sidewalks, too, but it's not so good on asphalt parking lots. The wheels do not have tires, so there is no "cushion". It does go very fast downhill, and I haven't mastered the brakes yet (despite having had this knee-walker for about 10 days now). The brakes seem to be either all on (when you squeeze them) or all off. I found the best way to go down even a gentle slope was to put on the brakes, move my good foot forward, take off the brakes (so my good foot would do the braking), let it go the couple of feet, put on the brakes and repeat the cycle.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (11)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this device!!!
6/24/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
After I fell and fractured by ankle and fibula, I was told I couldn't put any weight on the leg for 12 weeks. I tried a standard walker, but it only took 2 days for the muscles in my upper body to rebel. I am 62 years old and no longer have upper body strength. It got to the point where the only reason I kept taking my pain meds was to ease the muscle pain in my chest and upper back. (Not for the leg). I spoke to my doctor and he recommended a rolling knee walker. After researching on line I found that Wal-Mart had the best price and shipping to my home was only $3.00. It arrived in 2 days. I think that the assembly instructions could have been clearer, but we got it together. I also agree with someone else who reported that the brakes are touchy. So, I also use my good foot to slow me down. Over all I couldn't be happier and I can get around much easier. Thank you Drive Medical.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184643937, DC-prod-dal4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-