Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 338 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

338 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

338 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

96%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
257
4 stars
62
3 stars
8
2 stars
4
1 stars
7
1-20 of 329 total reviews
96%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 329 total reviews
1-20 of 329 reviews
Having a great time.
8/13/2011

Customer review by EMT001

5.0 stars 8/13/2011 by EMT001
by EMT001

I had rented a walker similar to the 780 for a month many years ago for my right foot, but needed it for 2 more weeks and had to pay for another month. This time for my left foot for which I had surgery, I bought the 780 and found it difficult to maneuver in the house and on straight runs it tended to steer left. So I bought the 790 and returned the 780. What a difference especially in the house. It folds nicely to fit on the rear seat of our car and light enough for my wife to handle. For our basement stairs from the ground level to our living area, I sit down and pull or push it up or down the stairs, by the handle and rear wheels. With the handles folded, a basket on the front gets it the way, but I put one on the rear of the handles which works well. The cost is worth the purchase, and when I finish, in about 2 months, I will donate it to our Fire Company Ladies Auxiliary loan closet. What a great replacement for crutches, and everyone comments about how great it works.

Was this review helpful? (95) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
EMT001
Hudson Valley, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A must to have for foot injury
8/19/2012

Customer review by Lacritica

5.0 stars 8/19/2012 by Lacritica
by Lacritica

If you are recovering of foot injury or surgery, get rid off immediately of your crutches and purchase the most helpful equipment that you could ever have. I used crutches for a week, it was the worst week I ever lived. Until I purchased this scooter. The same scooter in other sites cost more than double that I paid in Walmart. I use the scooter in the house, in the office, etc. It is very versatil (foldable, turnable and ergonomically cushion) I installed a wicker basket on the handle bar so I don't have to carry a purse. People stop me in the stores and comment how cute it looks!

Was this review helpful? (30) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lacritica
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Knee Walker
2/23/2011

Customer review by CndnHockeyGuy

5.0 stars 2/23/2011 by CndnHockeyGuy
by CndnHockeyGuy

Fantastic alternative for crutches as I just broke my ankle. I live in a one level home and can get around quicker than my kids! Just travelled to Jamaica and brought it along ..great for getting through the airport and the main part of the resort. (Had to take crutches for the beach and pool area). Everyone thinks it is cool and wants to try it.

Was this review helpful? (64) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CndnHockeyGuy
Sarnia, ON
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
This knee walker has become my new best friend.
3/26/2014

Customer review by lms1234

5.0 stars 3/26/2014 by lms1234
by lms1234
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The knee walker is by far easier than crutches or a walker. I had ankle surgery and ended up with a cast up to my knee. No pressure on my right foot was allowed. The scooter glides easily and is small enough to maneuver around doorways and other obstacles. I can easily sit on the cushioned knee rest when the need arises. The price is very reasonable compared to others on the internet. I would highly recommend this to anyone with the use of only one leg.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lms1234
Pittsburgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Just what I needed after ankle surgery
4/27/2014

Customer review by Hopalong90

5.0 stars 4/27/2014 by Hopalong90
by Hopalong90
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Price was right and was able to pick up at store when promised.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hopalong90
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Knee Scooter
2/1/2016

Customer review by Gimp

5.0 stars 2/1/2016 by Gimp
by Gimp

I had an amputation of the toes on the Rt. foot and was unable to place any weight for a long period of time on the foot. During that time I began to rent a knee scooter and when I saw that I could purchase this one for less than it was going to cost me to rent, time wise, I figured, why not! I was quite surprised when I found this Drive DV8 Aluminum Scooter for under $200. The scooter I had rented retailed for close to $400. The Drive DV8 was built just as sturdy, same gauge metal, same size rubber tires, dual brakes adjustable thick padded leg cushion that can also be used as a seat, adjustable handlebars, and easy turning. Very comfortable. I opted for the 2 day delivery, ordered it on a Wed. morning and it was on my doorstep Friday Morning, for $10. Assembly was very simple and the allen wrench tool necessary for tightening some of the items was included.(for the most part it comes assembled except for the seat and handlebars.)

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gimp
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
New best friend
2/26/2013

Customer review by Tzonw

4.0 stars 2/26/2013 by Tzonw
by Tzonw
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was in Hawaii where I saw many tourists using knee wheelers. When I broke my ankle there, I searched everywhere for the device. I couldn't find one but was able to order from Walmart. By the time I got home, the knee walker was waiting for me. It was easy to assemble and learn to ride. My only problems came from a sharp edge (near the brake handle)that cut my finger. I have also had my loose pant legs (needed for getting over my cast) get caught up in the rear wheel. I learned to wear cropped pants and move my leg away from the wheel. The freedom of movement with this device is outstanding. It is well-balanced and the brakes are more useful than I ever imagined. The turning radius is very small. I have been able to easily move the wheeler when I needed to. I am able to carry a cup of coffee and steer at the same time. An excellent product. I does need a bag or basket for carrying items.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tzonw
Columbus, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A god send!
2/9/2016

Customer review by mikinsue

5.0 stars 2/9/2016 by mikinsue
by mikinsue

I broke my foot. I was casted almost up to my knee. I am a mom of 2 on crutches. The big problem....you can't carry anything when you are trying to walk with crutches. This walker changed everything and made this time in my life more bearable. Trust me, it's worth every penny.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mikinsue
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best Option for Mobility
3/10/2014

Customer review by njoyqd

5.0 stars 3/10/2014 by njoyqd
by njoyqd
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

After researching renting vs buying, this Knee Walker was an excellent purchase. The first few days after my non-weight bearing foot surgery I used a walker for stability due to the affects from anesthesia and pain medications. When I switched to the knee walker I was extremely impressed with the sense of freedom and ease of use. We took it to a local bike shop and purchased a basket. Going from room to room, I am able to carry most everything I need without asking for help. So far I have traveled over tile, carpet, sidewalks, pavers, and gravel. It is very stable and my husband says it is very easy to fold up and put in the car. After sitting, I can lock the brakes and use it to prop up my foot. Renting a knee walker locally would have cost about the same and the walker would not of had the options of turning and braking. Walmart had this delivered several days earlier than expected which gave me time to practice.

Was this review helpful? (21) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
njoyqd
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
excellent tool
1/13/2013

Customer review by joyofyoga

5.0 stars 1/13/2013 by joyofyoga
by joyofyoga
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Super fast delivery, excellent quality. has given me back my mobility even during my injury. crutches are cumbersome, unsteady and gawky, while the rive 790 is sleek and smooth, creating the illusion of full mobility during rehab from my ankle fracture/surgery. I work as an RN and while I could not return to trauma nursing with this aid, I was allowed to mentor students and conduct clinical rotations with the walker aid. The brakes are strong and confident, the large wheel provide stability and assurance in locomotion, the padded knee rest doubles as a seat during long clinical hours and the handlebars serve a second purpose as a backpack holder, allowing me to transport files, and even coffee, from place to place. The knee scooter has given me back 70-80% of my pre-injury mobility and allowed me to get back to at least most of my life, even though I will not be allowed to bear weight for another 2-3 mo. Only draw back is a caution to beware of debris in the path of the front wheels, even small parking lot pebbles can cause a strong twist in the steering, use caution when in areas with ground debris and stairs are next to impossible, make use of wheelchair access ramps and use keep a cautious speed and all will be well.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
joyofyoga
TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Knee Walker
2/1/2016

Customer review by Daveylou

5.0 stars 2/1/2016 by Daveylou
by Daveylou

I bought this knee walker for my wife who is having foot surgery. The walker is well made and very easy to assemble. There are only 3 hex nuts to tighten. The walker folds with ease to place in the truck of your car. The 2 hand brakes lock and hold the walker steady. The same knee walker at a medical supply store was $300. Thank you Walmart for saving me money.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Daveylou
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Drive medical knee walker/crutch scooter
1/29/2016

Customer review by Reymet

5.0 stars 1/29/2016 by Reymet
by Reymet

Very pleased. Great quality & price. Description was accurate Sure made my life better when returning from hospital after foot surgery.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Reymet
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Foot Surgery
3/10/2015

Customer review by Sandi

4.0 stars 3/10/2015 by Sandi
by Sandi

Overall, I am quite pleased with the Drive Medical 790. I was very apprehensive of having soot surgery as I am a very independent woman and was told I would be non-weight bearing for 6+ weeks. The walker arrived in a timely manner, undamaged, and my spouse had no problem with the assembly. The steering is smooth and I do not have any issues maneuvering around our home and patio. During the first week it was quite an adjustment and kneeling on the hard cushion seat took a full week to get used to. The steering and breaks work very well. However, one must use extreme caution maneuvering any surface. I have read some reviews where individuals had "falls". I too almost took a spill and it scared me. However, it was not the walker at fault it was user error. Many folks are under the influence of pain medication and as with any medical device one must use the most extreme caution. We also purchased the basket and cup holder and I strongly recommend those items as well. If the product is put together and used correctly I would recommend this device to anyone who must be non-weight bearing.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sandi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great, if you fracture you ankle
8/31/2014

Customer review by DesertOwl

5.0 stars 8/31/2014 by DesertOwl
by DesertOwl
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is so much better than crutches, which I tried to manage before this came 'rush' delivery. The price at Walmart is good, compared to other websites, and it only took 2 days to get here.The price here in town would have been $350. It was a bit of a hassle for my husband to put it together, as the directions are quite minimal and they don't tell you that one crucial wrench is packed in with the seat. One has to tighten the handle (for which one needs the wrench) and adjust and tighten the seat (relatively straightforward). It moves really easily indoors, especially on tile or linoleum. It takes a bit more to move along rugs. It does OK on sidewalks, too, but it's not so good on asphalt parking lots. The wheels do not have tires, so there is no "cushion". It does go very fast downhill, and I haven't mastered the brakes yet (despite having had this knee-walker for about 10 days now). The brakes seem to be either all on (when you squeeze them) or all off. I found the best way to go down even a gentle slope was to put on the brakes, move my good foot forward, take off the brakes (so my good foot would do the braking), let it go the couple of feet, put on the brakes and repeat the cycle.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DesertOwl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Poor quality brake handles
1/22/2016

Customer review by HGSS

2.0 stars 1/22/2016 by HGSS
by HGSS

The item works well for getting around inside of buildings. The brake handles are made of very poor quality material. One of them broke in half the second day after assembly. Item arrived promptly and was easy to assemble.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HGSS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Drive Medical DV8
1/22/2016

Customer review by meow

3.0 stars 1/22/2016 by meow
by meow

the price was $10.00 more than you listed above. Are you going to refund my money? it is fair product, after falling several times you'll get the hang of it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
meow
Would recommend to a friend? No
Safety and Security
1/21/2016

Customer review by VirginianJohn

4.0 stars 1/21/2016 by VirginianJohn
by VirginianJohn

First off, my sister broke her ankle and leg on a mole hole in the yard. She was so clumys with the crutches that go under the arm that we felt she would fall and break somethng else. She remembered a product she saw someone using at a Fall festival. The knee scooter / walker. What a blessing this item is. She could could get around everywhere except stairs, gravel, and sand. She was much more mobile and we felt comfortable that she was not going to fall again. She was zipping around faster than we could walk. Putting it together was easy and we did it in 5-10 minutes. The Drive Medical tech told us how to adjust the breaks but that was complicated and we never did get it to work right (it was worse after we adjusted them). The walker does not weigh much and we had not problem lifting it into a car trunk or in the back of the van. The handle folded real nice to fit into the car trunk. We have unusually small halls and doorways and this walker fit through them with plenty of room to spare. We bought two of the Drive Medical DV8 Steerable Knee Walkers. The first developed a rip in the knee cushion only after a months use. We even put a cloth on it to cushion her knee and leg and too not let the rubber give her any sores. The second one had two problems: 1st the back wheels were not level on the ground and 2nd the breaks were not proper as it kept rolling away from her when she was sitting on her bed, couch, or chair. Walmart sent both walkers by FED EX to our home and they came in nice shape. We did pay extra for expidited shipping to come the next day or two but they came 3 or 4 days instead. The return was effortless at the store and we got a full refund on the bike and shipping. I wish I had one of these 10 years ago when I broke my leg. I would recommend this item over crutches any day.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
VirginianJohn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great priced knee walker
1/18/2016

Customer review by Jane

5.0 stars 1/18/2016 by Jane
by Jane

My neighbor bought a walker (same brand DRIVE) and paid $500,00 for it at a medical supply store. I was very pleased with the price, quality, shipping (I picked up at store), and time of arrival. It was very easy to put together (3 pieces)!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jane
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good walker
1/18/2016

Customer review by Jammie

4.0 stars 1/18/2016 by Jammie
by Jammie

Works well on smooth surfaces. Larger wheels would help on bumps. Goog value.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jammie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A great help!
12/26/2015

Customer review by Susan

4.0 stars 12/26/2015 by Susan
by Susan

I am a very active 48 year old who had bunion surgery and this knee walker has been great! I got a bicycle basket and a cup holder and my daughters have decorated it for the holidays! It is stable on smooth surfaces, but like other reviewers doesn't take bumps very well so I just slow down. In the grass it's rough to control and I could see that someone with diminished upper body strength would have a tough time maneuvering. It folds fairly easily to fit in the backseat or trunk of a car with no problem (with a helper!) If you have more than 1 step to get into the house or around your house I think you would need to also have crutches because there is only so much hopping you can do! Like several other reviews I think the knee rest is very hard! I often have a blanket, pillow or towel because after the first 3 days my boney knee was killing me! I love having a place to sit (like when I am doing last minute Christmas shopping or trying to reach something on the ground) and I think this will keep me from being tempted to put weight on the foot until it's time. The handbrakes lock the wheels with the push of a button on each side which gives me the perfect place to prop my foot when sitting down. It was easy to assemble (my 11 and 9 year old daughters did it for me!) I am very happy with my purchase, but am ready to get on 2 feet again!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Susan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 329 total reviews
1-20 of 329 reviews