Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 222 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

222 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

222 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
160
4 stars
32
3 stars
9
2 stars
11
1 stars
10
1-20 of 189 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 189 total reviews
1-20 of 189 reviews
Impressive, More than a eReader
12/27/2010

Customer review by Kaiteino

4.0 stars 12/27/2010 by Kaiteino
by Kaiteino

The NookColor is my second reader. I upgraded from my Amazon Kindle. What an upgrade. This thing is remarkable, really. I find myself checking e-mail, and quick web searching more and more often with this thing. The built in browser works surprisingly good. I can get decent free Wi-fi signal around town, and even with just a single bar it still works well. Found my home network in an instant, all by itself. I just put in my password, it did the rest. Battery life : Not bad, even for a color display. I get about 12 hours with combo web, music, reading. Takes about 3 hours to recharge on average. I just plug it in at night and forget, ready in the morning. File Types : MSWORD DOC support. I was leaning towards the Sony reader until the Nook supported the word docs. MP3's - works great, plus you can have Pandora open and running while reading books or web surfing. Decent sound quality. GLARE : Yes, but never a problem for me. Don't know what people are complaining about there. Increasing the backlight makes it go away. MicroSD memory card up to 32gb. Holds a ton of music, pictures, books, docs, etc. I have a 4gb in it now loaded with MP3's. THE BAD : fingerprint magnet. Touch-screen also takes some getting used to, not to mention the menu system. Took me a day to pretty much figure it all out without the manual. One tip though... GO TO B&N and set up your account from a computer first. No, you can do so without giving them a Credit Card. I use gift cards to make purchases online. Summing it up: I did a lot of research before purchase, even handled all the others. The NookColor just looked the best overall. It's not a computer, but has a lot of real world usefulness. I don't use my cell phone for e-mail or web surfing, so this reader fills in a nice gap. P.S.> It won't recharge while plugged into your computer. It's a voltage thing. However, the USB wall charger also charges my cell phone, MP3 Player. So you get a 20dollar usb charger out of the deal in exchange.

Was this review helpful? (865) (47)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kaiteino
Aliso Viejo, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 250 contributor
Awesome Ereader
12/15/2010

Customer review by kat641

5.0 stars 12/15/2010 by kat641
by kat641

This the the best ereader and I have reviewed just about all of them. You will not make a mistake when you purchse this ereader. It is a alittle more in cost but worth every cent.

Was this review helpful? (285) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kat641
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nook Color
12/27/2010

Customer review by Zumbaholic

5.0 stars 12/27/2010 by Zumbaholic
by Zumbaholic

I received this for Christmas. I am not the sharpest when it comes to electronic devices, but I love to read. In a matter of minutes, I had this product registered, and had books downloaded and was reading by Christmas afternoon. Great item. Easy to use. I recommend this!

Was this review helpful? (243) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Zumbaholic
Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
great purchase
3/26/2011

Customer review by littlemanwms

5.0 stars 3/26/2011 by littlemanwms
by littlemanwms

I received this item from WalMart.com and in the afternoon of the same day I purchased from WalMart a hardwire/WiFi router. My husband hooked it up for me the same day and by the evening I was reading from my NookColor. It is very easy to maneuver, the backlight is great, no glare. I can read in bed at night and not disturb my husband or read in the daylight while camping because the screen is not washed out by the sun. I can carry this small device and read numerous books and magazines without lugging around anything bigger than a tablet. Absolutely great!!!!

Was this review helpful? (200) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
littlemanwms
Baton Rouge, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Wow
1/5/2011

Customer review by marace

5.0 stars 1/5/2011 by marace
by marace

My husb got me the regular nook and right after christmas, the higher priced one went on sale. I immediately traded it in, since i had not used the other yet. I have the kindle and it is a dinosaur compared to this product. A friend at work told me about this so I was immediately intrigued. I am still learing it but WOW, what an amazing product.

Was this review helpful? (128) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
marace
Greendale
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nook Color
3/5/2011

Customer review by YChristineG

5.0 stars 3/5/2011 by YChristineG
by YChristineG

I ordered this product for sight to store after researching for months all of the e-readers out there. Though it's more expensive, it definately has way more options than the rest of them, and I use them all. There was something wrong with the power cord connector of the nook; Walmart replaced the Nook for me no questions asked. No problems since. My husband's been able to download music and hundred's of free books already. We did have to buy a mini SD card to expand the memory. I have yet to actually pay for a Nook Book; there are so many free ones out there. I also love that there are so many font and back-light options so I don't have to strain when I read. I found that I actually read a lot faster with this too; nearly twice as many pages a day as I do with a reg. book. I recommend that you buy a book style cover for it immediately and put a protective screen on it. My kids showed me how fast if can get smudgy and dirty. I love it, glad I waited to get the best.

Was this review helpful? (64) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
YChristineG
Kansas City, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Hours of enjoyment
2/25/2011

Customer review by GrandmaLuvs2Read

5.0 stars 2/25/2011 by GrandmaLuvs2Read
by GrandmaLuvs2Read

The Nook Color has been one of the best investments I have made. With its full touch screen it is easy to use. The wifi connection makes it ready to use anytime. One of the best benefits is being able to read in a dark room, with the screen being able to dim or brighten to your comfort level to avoid eye strain. And the internet radio can make reading a relaxing pleasure!!

Was this review helpful? (51) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GrandmaLuvs2Read
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not your mother's e-reader
4/27/2011

Customer review by VaGentry

5.0 stars 4/27/2011 by VaGentry
by VaGentry

I bought my NOOKColor yesterday and immediately upgraded the software to V1.2. The Gmail, Google Calendar and Contacts work flawlessly in their respective applications. You can attach files from an optional SDHC card to Gmail using the web browser. YouTube videos look great without studder issues. You can play videos (ripped to 752X416 at 2500 bit rate with an AAC sounder encoder with Handbrake). The videos look great. The book/newspaper reader is very good as is webrowsing. I'll probably move to electronic newspapers now. Unlike the iPad, the NOOKColor does not have any cameras. This will allow me to take it to places where cameras aren't permitted. For me it is the perfect entertainment solution for business and personal trips. My brief case just dropped 3-4 pounds. The NOOKColor is Android-based. I hope B&N will unlock the full potential of this great device in future software upgrades.

Was this review helpful? (50) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
VaGentry
Waynesboro, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
LOVE MY NOOK COLOR
3/28/2011

Customer review by nanahoney56

5.0 stars 3/28/2011 by nanahoney56
by nanahoney56

Bought this last month as a retirement gift to myself and I LOVE it. The reviewer who was unable to change the background color may have had a defective Nook... there are five background settings, including night read. You can choose from several fonts, six font sizes, three line spacings and three margin settings. It's so nice to read in the dark without a light or reading glasses. Have also enjoyed reading outside and in the car during the daytime. I have not found the internet to be slow, but it may be depending on your wi-fi signal. Paper vs. electronic is a personal choice; I'm with the reviewer who said you can get through a book much more quickly on the Nook. Now I just need to get a library card so I can borrow books! If you are looking at e-readers, I highly recommend saving up for the Nook Color.. also recommend a case and screen protector! Hope you find this helpful.

Was this review helpful? (36) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nanahoney56
Ithaca, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Color Nook is Off the Hook!
4/29/2011

Customer review by OVIsMom

5.0 stars 4/29/2011 by OVIsMom
by OVIsMom

This product is fantastic! The color quality is amazing, I feel like my magazines and books are in HD. You will not be disappointed and you will want to read, read, read when you get this. I am now a reading egghead because I can't put my Nook down.

Was this review helpful? (37) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OVIsMom
SF Bay Area
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
I LOVE MY NOOK COLOR!!!!
1/14/2011

Customer review by Sunshyne1

5.0 stars 1/14/2011 by Sunshyne1
by Sunshyne1

This is by far a great product. I love the fact that you can read, listen to music, either from your mp3's that you download or from the Pandora internet radio, surf the web, and shop for books right from your Nook! The web browser is pretty fast and as long as you have wi-fi, you are good to go. It was easy to register and set up and I had mine up and running in about 15-20 minutes. Believe me, you can't go wrong here. And what's really not to love?? It's durable, not flimsy at all, and it's in color. The battery life is decent and you can download all the books you want including magazines and newspapers. And I hear that B & N are bringing more apps to download by the end of January, so you will have even more for bang for your buck and you don't have to spend $600.00 to have it. It's not the Ipad of course, but it's second best in my opinion. I'm happy with my purchase!

Was this review helpful? (33) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sunshyne1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
FINALLY!!!!
1/25/2011

Customer review by JenniEqualsAwesome

5.0 stars 1/25/2011 by JenniEqualsAwesome
by JenniEqualsAwesome

I tried two other color readers before I broke down and spent the extra money for the NOOK. The only complaint I have is that I didn't buy this sooner! Within 5 minutes of getting it out of the box I had both magazines and books downloaded. The two other color readers I returned were not capable of viewing magazines on. It connects quickly to wi-fi, and has a ton of extras! I am a crossword addict, and it comes loaded with crossword puzzles, chess, and sudoku. The color is very sharp and clear! The B&N website is very easy to navigate and buy from. I am in love!!! I would recommend this to anyone!!!

Was this review helpful? (24) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JenniEqualsAwesome
Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Great!!
3/11/2011

Customer review by Rick1971

5.0 stars 3/11/2011 by Rick1971
by Rick1971

it is well worth the money I have a Sony Pocket reader PRS350 and a Cruz reader and now a NOOKcolor and thw NOOKcolor is far better than the other two, although the Sony with it's eink is pretty great in it's own way but Rooted it is much better, much more like a I-pad and far less espensive as a matter of fact the only plus or minus the I-pad has over the NOOKcolor now that I rooted it, is it's size (screen) or is that the minus? it is biger but that is a draw back because it not as compact to tug along on the road or ro put in the office heck I even cary the NOOKcolor in my pocket at work sometimes, I usually wear Dockers at work, but I can download games, apps ans do most anything I want, so I see no advantage to the I-pad 1 now the 2 will have cameras and Bluetooth other than that I will stick with my rooted NOOKcolor, PS it still get books just like the stock software intended- I read alot

Was this review helpful? (28) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rick1971
San Antonio, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
So Glad I Got This
1/3/2011

Customer review by ELM143

5.0 stars 1/3/2011 by ELM143
by ELM143

About 2 weeks ago I got my first Nook/3G and I was really happy with it. Then on a recent trip I stopped into a Barnes and Nobel store and I saw the color and oh my goodness. I Returned the Nook/3G went for the Nook Color and I am so happy that I did. The one thing that sold me right away was that the screen is Back Lit and for somone that loves to read in the dark with out distrubing people, this is the right e-reader for you. The Complete touch screen responds great and I love how you can truley keep all your book organized and completely customize your front pages. I would recomment this to all who you love to have the great E-Reader..

Was this review helpful? (20) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ELM143
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Best E-Reader out there
1/9/2011

Customer review by Phalcon87

5.0 stars 1/9/2011 by Phalcon87
by Phalcon87

I've been using the Nook Color since Christmas & it has been great. I like using all of the different functions, like surfing the web & checking up on face book. Could not believe how fast the books download into the Nook. Just about done reading my second book & will start on my third shortly. I take it to work & read during my break & lunch periods, a big plus is that the building has wi-fi so I can read my local newspaper for free during break & saved money from not buying the paper anymore. A great product overall. I've check different readers for about one year this is the best one out there.

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Phalcon87
Vineland, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
superior book reader
2/10/2011

Customer review by wottanerd

5.0 stars 2/10/2011 by wottanerd
by wottanerd

Perfect for magazines, yet easy to carry around. You can still read in direct sunlight and also download your music to it. Right now it can be hacked and turned into an android tablet. The only strike against it is the 8 hour battery life, if you go with a regular Nook it can last a week on a charge. If you do not need the web surfing or the color screen get the Nook. If you want a magazine reader or a web surfing device with plenty of power then get a Nookcolor

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wottanerd
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Walmart associate
Too Limited
6/24/2011

Customer review by Diva247

2.0 stars 6/24/2011 by Diva247
by Diva247

This device has so much potential. It is a nice, comfortable size and the screen is surprisingly pleasant for reading. The major shortcoming is that it is neutered. It supposedly has Android 2.2, but there's no way to get to the real Android, rendering this device pretty useless for anything beyond ereading, since few of the 100 or so BN apps are free and all seem to be more expensive than they are everywhere else, including the Android Market and Amazon's Appstore. I planned to download the Kindle app, as well as several other mainly functional apps, but I can't even download Gmail or Youtube or even a free calculator. It is really ridiculous, and I plan to return this over-priced, money grubbing brick asap. If all you want is an ereader, I see no reason for this purchase, especially for nearly $300, including tax. A regular nook or kindle will suffice. If you think you're purchasing an ereader with Android as a bonus, look elsewhere. Now, I'm researching the regular tablets, and I will just install the Kindle and Nook apps because I want a multi-functional device. Not simply ebooks with color, pictures, etc.

Was this review helpful? (33) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Diva247
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Nook Color
6/10/2011

Customer review by astroboy76

5.0 stars 6/10/2011 by astroboy76
by astroboy76

I've had this item for about a month now and I'm very happy with it. Before I got the Nook Color, I was seriously thinking about getting the iPad but I've saved so much money by just getting this instead. Now that it has been updated, it functions just like a tablet and when I think about it, this is really the only tablet/e-reader I'll ever need with just the right enough features and apps. Keep in mind, this is first and foremost an e-reader so for it to do all the additional things it does is really cool. If I get tired of reading I just browse the web, Facebook, the news,check my email,watch videos on Youtube, or play a game or listen to music. How cool is that? All of this and more for an affordable price. You can't beat the Nook Color. This is the one to get.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
astroboy76
Statesboro, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
NookColor is here...
12/26/2010

Customer review by ThisIsIt

5.0 stars 12/26/2010 by ThisIsIt
by ThisIsIt

After reviewing many tablets, including the Ipad, finally chose the NookColor. Was it ever the right choice for Me! For reading and surfing the net, it's wonderfully versatile. While apps are not a priority, "they" say lotsa apps for the NC will be coming out in first quarter 2011. By the way, this review was typed on my trusty NookColor.

Was this review helpful? (11) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ThisIsIt
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
USELESS
8/7/2011

Customer review by kiki1106

1.0 stars 8/7/2011 by kiki1106
by kiki1106

I noticed online the etextbooks were almost 50% cheaper than regular books, so I went into bn bookstore and asked about the nookcolor and they made it sound wonderful. They told me I could carry all my textbooks and anything else on my nookcolor, so I bought one. WRONG. I feel cheated. After I bought it, I started having trouble opening the textbooks I bought, so I took it in. NOW they tell me no etextbook in anyform can be opened on the nook color. SO now I'm stuck with this usuelss nook and i can't get my money back for my etext books and I still have to go buy my $500 textbooks on top of that. I can not be more dissapointed and if you are a student - DO NOT BUY THIS.

Was this review helpful? (39) (33)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kiki1106
Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
1-20 of 189 total reviews
1-20 of 189 reviews