Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 205 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

205 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

205 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

77%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
110
4 stars
39
3 stars
13
2 stars
13
1 stars
30
1-20 of 174 total reviews
77%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 174 total reviews
1-20 of 174 reviews
Best Pillow Made
7/11/2012

Customer review by Allen24

5.0 stars 7/11/2012 by Allen24
by Allen24

The Sobakawa Buckwheat Pillow is the best pillow design available. It is one of only a few products that deliver everything that is advertised. A few more things you should know: 1. If you have not been sleeping on a hard pillow, this one will take a few nights to get used to. The first night you might not sleep well. The second night will be a little better. By the fourth or fifth night you will never want another pillow. 2. Buckwheat pillows are not washable. I recommend you get and use a good quality pillow protector - to keep dust, allergens, perspiration and body oil out of the pillow. 3. Be sure to use a large pillow protector and a large pillow case. If one or both are too tight, you will not be able to shape the pillow for the wonderful support it is capable of providing for your head and neck. 4. The queen size pillow is thicker and heavier than the regular pillow. For complete comfort, you only need the thickness of the regular pillow, but it looks small and out of place on a queen size bed. 5. I have been using the regular Sobakawa buckwheat pillow for years. When I decided to replace it with a queen size pillow, I first tried the newer Sobakawa Cloud Pillow. The Cloud Pillow is softer and lighter in weight than the buckwheat pillow, but the support is not near as good. The gusset for your head significantly limits how much you can shape it. After you do shape it, it doesn’t stay in position near as well as the buckwheat pillow. Well, I’ve gone on long enough. Good Luck and Good Sleep.

Was this review helpful? (52) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Allen24
Allentown, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Love it!
1/6/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 1/6/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Best pillow I've ever owned. I wasn't so sure about the noise of the buckwheat and the heaviness of the pillow, but after sleeping with it, I will never sleep with anything else.

Was this review helpful? (53) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
san diego
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Love it
2/28/2011

Customer review by jlmart

5.0 stars 2/28/2011 by jlmart
by jlmart

Didn't know what to expect. Was concerned that it weighs 28 lbs. Took a night to get used to ... very different than a standard pillow, looks and feels unusual - but I am very happy with it. Easy to shape it to where I want support. Stays cool. Never gets lumpy.

Was this review helpful? (34) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jlmart
Sea Girt, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A True life saver
2/20/2011

Customer review by steve2644

5.0 stars 2/20/2011 by steve2644
by steve2644

Have used this pillow for over 10 years now and I am looking to buy my 5th pillow. I used to wake up with the three middle fingers from both hands totally dead and it would take 10 min to get the feeling back, before I could get back to sleep. Since using this pillow this has never happened again. At first a new pillow makes a little noise, but it goes away overtime and it not that bad. This pillow has saved from having to have surgery on my neck. Give it a chance, it may take a week or two to get used to for the first time user.

Was this review helpful? (39) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
steve2644
El Cerrito, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
Now I can sleep
5/22/2011

Customer review by Mahwah

5.0 stars 5/22/2011 by Mahwah
by Mahwah

I wasn't sure about these pillows , but thought I'd give them a try. Wow, am I glad I did. My husband thinks they are the best too. No more stiff necks or sore shoulders!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mahwah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Extremely happy with these pillows.
6/3/2014

Customer review by NYCHappySleeper

5.0 stars 6/3/2014 by NYCHappySleeper
by NYCHappySleeper

I have been using the Sobakawa Buckwheat Hull Pillows for over a decade. They are the most comfortable pillows I've ever had. They are long-lasting. If you're skeptical, trust that they are wonderful and take a chance.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NYCHappySleeper
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I only get rest at night on a Sobakawa pillow.
3/18/2014

Customer review by BuckwheatFan

5.0 stars 3/18/2014 by BuckwheatFan
by BuckwheatFan

I have been using Sobakawa pillows for many years. Since I traveled for work, I slept on many other kinds of pillows in hotel rooms. Absolutely none compared to the rest I received with my Sobakawa pillows. Now that I'm retired, this set of pillows is for our RV so I don't have to keep taking lugging the ones from our bedroom back and forth. Once you try Sobakawa pillows, you will never want to use any other kind.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BuckwheatFan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best Pillow in my 65 years
5/4/2014

Customer review by MarkTexas

5.0 stars 5/4/2014 by MarkTexas
by MarkTexas

Do you want a thick pillow or a thin one? Only the Sobakawa can be both. In the middle of the night, I can subconsciously give the pillow a push to bulk it up. I get it EXACTLY how I need it to support my head and neck. Whether on my side or on my back. This is the best pillow I've ever had. We have them at home and at my mother-in-law's. If we take a road trip, the pillows go with us. We use an additional zipper cover that we can remove and wash to keep everything fresh.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MarkTexas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Wonderful pillow
11/27/2011

Customer review by Jetbird

5.0 stars 11/27/2011 by Jetbird
by Jetbird

Best buy every. Now when I wake up no pain in back,shoulder,knees or legs. Before I was hurting all night & every morning. More energy & more productive since I get a GREAT night of sleep.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jetbird
Winston-Salem,N.C.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Pillow
4/7/2011

Customer review by Daunique1

4.0 stars 4/7/2011 by Daunique1
by Daunique1

I had been having problems sleeping for about a year now. I first bought the Cloud pillow it was OK for about a week and after that it back to sleepless nights again. I read about this pillow and decided to get it a try. That turn out to be a great choice, this pillow is a bit heavy but I can finally get a good nights sleep again.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Daunique1
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Best pillow ever
5/28/2012

Customer review by Dulbert

5.0 stars 5/28/2012 by Dulbert
by Dulbert

This was a replacement for my 5 year old Sobakawa buckwheat. The first one relieved my back pain almost instantly and has given me great sleep ever since. It is exceedingly comfortable in that it shapes to fit your head and neck and shoulders with plenty of support. And it stays cool all night. No need for pillow flipping. I have recommended this kind of pillow to at least two others who have loved it as much as I have. Especially nice knowing that it is dust mite resistant, considering that it is contact with my face.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dulbert
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Excellent buckwheat pillows
4/30/2014

Customer review by Joe315

5.0 stars 4/30/2014 by Joe315
by Joe315

Takes getting used to but when it fits, IT FITS!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Joe315
Albany, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not what I Expected
1/10/2011

Customer review by tcoyote

4.0 stars 1/10/2011 by tcoyote
by tcoyote

The original Sobakawa pillow is permanently formed and worked so well my wife wanted the queen size. I read comments on other sites about the problems the customers had with service and the 6-8 week wait for shipping. I have always had excellent service with the Walmart site the few times I have shopped here. I found what I thought was the model pillow I wanted on this site at a great price. The shipping was excellent, but the pillow was NOT the pre-formed original design I expected. This is a standard pillow form, a good pillow if you like this filler but not what I expected. Price was excellent, shipping was great just not the product I thought it was. Better pictures of the products would be very helpful.

Was this review helpful? (6) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tcoyote
KY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Only way to sleep
10/27/2011

Customer review by SilentSurface

4.0 stars 10/27/2011 by SilentSurface
by SilentSurface

Had been trying to find a buckwheat husk pillow locally for a while with no luck. Had really enjoyed one I owned in the past. I tried the micro-bead pillows, but they just are not the same. I have slept much better with fewer neck and back aches since I got this pillow. The case was a little lower quality than I expected, but since it was going in a pillow protector anyway, was not an issue. This pillow fits nicely in a queen pillow protector and pillow case. Would definitely buy again.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SilentSurface
North East PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Try it for yourself...
8/1/2011

Customer review by Lioness8

2.0 stars 8/1/2011 by Lioness8
by Lioness8

Due to the fact that everyone has their own likes & dislikes, people should try things out for themselves. My experience with the pillow is that it's a bit noisy and hard. If you like a very firm pillow and you sleep with a fan, or air conditioner, then maybe you won't hear it as much and might like it. This pillow is similar to a bean bag chair.

Was this review helpful? (6) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lioness8
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Too heavy / bulky
7/31/2011

Customer review by Ronnie411

3.0 stars 7/31/2011 by Ronnie411
by Ronnie411

I should have gotten the smaller one which might have been fine. The large one is like wrestling an alligator when you attempt to move it or turn over in bed.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ronnie411
Ft. Myers, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
6/14/2011

Customer review by samax

2.0 stars 6/14/2011 by samax
by samax

The pillows are ok but should be more fully filled. The need about 1/2 again more fill.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
samax
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Bad purchase
2/4/2014

Customer review by Dontbother12

1.0 stars 2/4/2014 by Dontbother12
by Dontbother12

I ordered it online and when it came in: did not come in original box, looked used,and stained, plastic on it was ripped. Took it straight to the returns and got my money back! Don't Waste your time and money on a re-used item! Funny part was the return lady looked at it and was grossed out too! Very disappointed due to all the Great reviews about it. Guess I will never know if it's a good pillow or not.... Sad!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dontbother12
NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
not happy with product, sending it back
2/4/2014

Customer review by Bearnutt

1.0 stars 2/4/2014 by Bearnutt
by Bearnutt

Product was not as advertised. Did not come in the box shown, material so thin you can see the buckwheat hulls through the material (just a cheep cotton) not ticking. I had the original Sobakawa pillow, it didn't look like this. Very disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bearnutt
Massachusetts
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Everything I had expected.
11/20/2011

Customer review by Bernie221

5.0 stars 11/20/2011 by Bernie221
by Bernie221

After reading the reviews I knew that this was the pillow I wanted to order. It is everything I expected. Great for relieving neck pain. Works better with a queen size pillow case. The regular size does not allow the pillow to spread out fully.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bernie221
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 174 total reviews
1-20 of 174 reviews