Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 244 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

244 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

244 reviews | 4 out of 5

79%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
139
4 stars
43
3 stars
15
2 stars
16
1 stars
31
1-20 of 213 total reviews
79%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 213 total reviews
1-20 of 213 reviews
Big. Heavy. Still like.
5/21/2016

Customer review by Spardicka

4.0 stars 5/21/2016 by Spardicka
by Spardicka

OMG it's so heavy! Didn't come in the packaging as displayed here either...just came in a clear bag and put in a Walmart box. The pillow is very big and very heavy. I have one from years ago (12-14 yrs old) less than half this size so this may take some getting use to. I did sleep fairly well on it though the first night. I have bought 4 "my pillows" recently which are great for lounging in bed and pillows that will actually refluff for a nice looking made up bed but for sleeping the buckwheat pillow is what feels most comfortable to me. I really think this pillow for half the size and half the cost would make for a more manageable sized pillow made of this content. Never thought I'd say bigger is not better but yeah a little too big. Nonetheless a good sleep pillow. Glad I got it.

Was this review helpful? (17) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Spardicka
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good pillow
6/15/2016

Customer review by dmplaura

5.0 stars 6/15/2016 by dmplaura
by dmplaura
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I buy this pillow from time to time as a gift for my sister who has asthma & allergies & can't use other types of pillows Personally, I find this to be rather hard & uncomfortable, but my sister swears by it. If she likes it, it's good enough for me. The only other issue I have with the Sobakawa is it can be hard to find...especially in the larger size (it comes in 2 sizes & my sister prefers the larger size) The fact that Wal-Mart carries it is a huge help. They ship quickly & shopping charges are always reasonable.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dmplaura
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great pillow
6/20/2016

Customer review by Buddy

5.0 stars 6/20/2016 by Buddy
by Buddy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

So glad to have finally found a real buckwheat hull pillow. This is a VERY heavy pillow and if you have not used one before you will think you are putting your head on shifting granules, BUT, once you adapt to it you will realize how well this supports the head and neck, lets you shift and punch it around for a perfect fit, and is much cooler than any other microbead, or poly-pillow I have tried. Again, a very heavy pillow but gives much better custom support and stays much cooler than any other pillow.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Buddy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome!
2/25/2016

Customer review by Tanrenhow

5.0 stars 2/25/2016 by Tanrenhow
by Tanrenhow
Walmart associate

I am sooooo glad to have another one of these. I had one for years when they first became popular. One of my children begged to take it on a week long field trip and accidentally left it in the motel room. I was so upset. I loved that pillow. This one is exactly the same. I was afraid it wouldn't be. If you are looking for a soft squishy pillow, this is not for you. This is a firm, stay in place pillow. Much like a feather pillow, only better. And without the allergens. When you first lay down you can hear the beans rattle or move. But once you get comfortable and still, you won't hear it anymore. I do like to use a slightly thicker pillow case or double them up because sometimes you can feel the sharp edges. If you love a firm pillow, this is for you!

Was this review helpful? (31) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tanrenhow
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Walmart associate
Sobakawa buckwheat pillow
3/3/2016

Customer review by Sobakawauser

5.0 stars 3/3/2016 by Sobakawauser
by Sobakawauser

Have been using the standard size version of this pillow for 20 years. An excellent product that truly prevents neck strain from sleeping in bad positions and the associated neck pain.

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sobakawauser
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Der
6/28/2016

Customer review by Der1

5.0 stars 6/28/2016 by Der1
by Der1
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The only pillow that stays cool and has excellent support.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Der1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great product
2/14/2016

Customer review by Karen

5.0 stars 2/14/2016 by Karen
by Karen

This is the only pillow my husband will use. He loves it! He suffered from chronic neck pain for years and this sobakawa pillow has helped greatly. He no longer wakes up with a stiff, sore neck and hasn't for years. They don't need to be replaced as often as other type pillows either. We recommend using a pillow protector under the pillow case.

Was this review helpful? (26) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Karen
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Too Big
2/26/2016

Customer review by sally

2.0 stars 2/26/2016 by sally
by sally

I had gotten a small Sobakawa pillow years ago and loved it. This one weighs about 8 pounds and it's hard to handle, and even harder to get comfortable. Maybe I'll pour out half of the contents and have a smaller, more manageable pillow. Sorry.

Was this review helpful? (17) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sally
Would recommend to a friend? No
Best Pillow Made
7/11/2012

Customer review by Allen24

5.0 stars 7/11/2012 by Allen24
by Allen24

The Sobakawa Buckwheat Pillow is the best pillow design available. It is one of only a few products that deliver everything that is advertised. A few more things you should know: 1. If you have not been sleeping on a hard pillow, this one will take a few nights to get used to. The first night you might not sleep well. The second night will be a little better. By the fourth or fifth night you will never want another pillow. 2. Buckwheat pillows are not washable. I recommend you get and use a good quality pillow protector - to keep dust, allergens, perspiration and body oil out of the pillow. 3. Be sure to use a large pillow protector and a large pillow case. If one or both are too tight, you will not be able to shape the pillow for the wonderful support it is capable of providing for your head and neck. 4. The queen size pillow is thicker and heavier than the regular pillow. For complete comfort, you only need the thickness of the regular pillow, but it looks small and out of place on a queen size bed. 5. I have been using the regular Sobakawa buckwheat pillow for years. When I decided to replace it with a queen size pillow, I first tried the newer Sobakawa Cloud Pillow. The Cloud Pillow is softer and lighter in weight than the buckwheat pillow, but the support is not near as good. The gusset for your head significantly limits how much you can shape it. After you do shape it, it doesn’t stay in position near as well as the buckwheat pillow. Well, I’ve gone on long enough. Good Luck and Good Sleep.

Was this review helpful? (135) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Allen24
Allentown, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Loving my buckwheat pillow
7/23/2016

Customer review by Connie

5.0 stars 7/23/2016 by Connie
by Connie
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have screw's in my neck that cause me to have pain and wake with headaches. Up until now I haven't been able to find a pillow that allows me the comfort to get a good nights sleep and lessen the plain. My buckwheat pillow supports my neck and had made a huge difference in the pain and headaches. I highly recommend it to anyone who suffers with neck pain.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Connie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great pillow!
7/13/2016

Customer review by ronnuke

5.0 stars 7/13/2016 by ronnuke
by ronnuke
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Sobakawa buckwheat husk pillows are the only pillow I have found that helps support my neck so I wake without a sore neck. The queen size is a bonus.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ronnuke
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Pillow
7/10/2016

Customer review by EagleConstruction

5.0 stars 7/10/2016 by EagleConstruction
by EagleConstruction
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great nights sleep

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
EagleConstruction
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Sleeping on granules
3/21/2016

Customer review by mnmom21

1.0 stars 3/21/2016 by mnmom21
by mnmom21

Very heavy and have to shape pillow due to feeling like large granules in pillow

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mnmom21
Would recommend to a friend? No
VERY COMFORTABLE BUT STINKS (SMELLS)
12/4/2012

Customer review by IM4HONESTY

2.0 stars 12/4/2012 by IM4HONESTY
by IM4HONESTY

OK as far as the comfort of pillow, after years of buying firm pillows and throwing them out because not firm enough. I had an old pillow that I had to fold up to make it work for me for so many years. Now finally this pillow is the RIGHT ONE for me. As for as comfort, could not ask for better. Could use some more hulls in it, but a trick I use is tie the end of pillow case with string to make it more firm. NOW THE NEGATIVE. Maybe it was just this one pillow I purchased. But it had the most HORRIFIC SMELL TO IT I could not take it. Smelled like BODY ODOR. Could they have sold me a USED PILLOW ? Or is this what these HULLS SMELL LIKE ? I do not like returning items, I just take the lost on it. I did leave it airing out for 4 months, and now smell is gone finally. Do I dare lay my head on this ? We will see.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
IM4HONESTY
Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Love it!
1/6/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 1/6/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Best pillow I've ever owned. I wasn't so sure about the noise of the buckwheat and the heaviness of the pillow, but after sleeping with it, I will never sleep with anything else.

Was this review helpful? (80) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
san diego
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great pillows
1/20/2016

Customer review by Linda

5.0 stars 1/20/2016 by Linda
by Linda

These pillows are a very good sleep

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Linda
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love this pillow
3/1/2016

Customer review by TacoMom

5.0 stars 3/1/2016 by TacoMom
by TacoMom

Best support ever.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TacoMom
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Now I can sleep
5/22/2011

Customer review by Mahwah

5.0 stars 5/22/2011 by Mahwah
by Mahwah

I wasn't sure about these pillows , but thought I'd give them a try. Wow, am I glad I did. My husband thinks they are the best too. No more stiff necks or sore shoulders!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (35) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mahwah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Only way to sleep
10/27/2011

Customer review by SilentSurface

4.0 stars 10/27/2011 by SilentSurface
by SilentSurface

Had been trying to find a buckwheat husk pillow locally for a while with no luck. Had really enjoyed one I owned in the past. I tried the micro-bead pillows, but they just are not the same. I have slept much better with fewer neck and back aches since I got this pillow. The case was a little lower quality than I expected, but since it was going in a pillow protector anyway, was not an issue. This pillow fits nicely in a queen pillow protector and pillow case. Would definitely buy again.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SilentSurface
North East PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
LOVE THE PILLOWS
1/18/2016

Customer review by FRANK

5.0 stars 1/18/2016 by FRANK
by FRANK

THEY ARE WHAT I HAVE BEEN LOOKING FOR A LONG TIME.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FRANK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 213 total reviews
1-20 of 213 reviews