Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 45 reviews | 2.2 out of 5

2.0 stars

45 reviews | 2.2 out of 5

2.0 stars

45 reviews | 2.2 out of 5

31%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
7
4 stars
4
3 stars
5
2 stars
5
1 stars
24
1-20 of 42 total reviews
31%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 42 total reviews
1-20 of 42 reviews
disappointed
3/24/2011

Customer review by sillyUser

2.0 stars 3/24/2011 by sillyUser
by sillyUser

I was really excited to try this product out. When I got it home I was immediately discouraged due to the quality of the materials. There is no actual manual that shows you an image of the parts and its label (like "part a", "part b"). There is information on the box that instructs you on how to put the device together, but it was not as helpful as it could of been. I mostly feel the instructions are vague and I was better off piecing things together myself using common sense. (check out the side of the box, those are the only instructions you're going to find on how to put it together. So you can verify this for yourself) Overall I'm not saying its rocket science to connect a few pieces together, simply saying instructions were vague. :) After I got it together and tried it out, I found that I could not get the blade to score the bottle successfully. Perhaps I had a defective blade. Instructions indicate one should apply no more than 3lbs of pressure to the bottle in order to score it. If you have a chance to actually view this product in the store I recommend peering inside the box. You'll see what I mean by low quality materials. I would not pay more than ten bucks for this item. Any more than that and I'd feel cheated.

Was this review helpful? (80) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sillyUser
tx
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Great for beginners & intermediate
6/16/2011

Customer review by CustomGiftsByJCHale

5.0 stars 6/16/2011 by CustomGiftsByJCHale
by CustomGiftsByJCHale

I bought mine in 2000, it is definitely a tool to practice on until you get it right! The cutting wheel tends to lose its sharpness after about 50 thick glass bottles but it is definitely a good tool. The plastic form is not the sturdiest but still does the job- Plus the company stands behind their product- I contacted them about replacement cutting wheel and holder and was greatful for the excellent support I received. It is a little more expensive than it should be but overall it does what is expected. I use it to make my own drinkware which I sell. VERY GOOD PRODUCT & COMPANY

Was this review helpful? (41) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CustomGiftsByJCHale
Ravensdale, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Very nice
3/20/2011

Customer review by KraftyGrandma

4.0 stars 3/20/2011 by KraftyGrandma
by KraftyGrandma

While hesitant to purchase from reading reviews, I read and went with a womans review stating "read the material, and practice, it works" Not to boost, but my first 3 (beer) bottles had a clean line cut. Wine bottles are 'lil thicker glass and take longer, but most are cutting fine. See that the cutting wheel is wearing away fast however. Also, would like to cut bottles lower than unit lets me, so I put a solid item under bottle to raise the cut line. Not the best but it works. For a first time cutter, I have done better than expected. Would purchase for beginner like me.

Was this review helpful? (33) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KraftyGrandma
Mpls, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Plan to practice using any bottle cutter
3/21/2012

Customer review by Betsy6430

5.0 stars 3/21/2012 by Betsy6430
by Betsy6430

I had hoped bottle cutting would be easier and cleaner. Plan to use some sort of drill type tool with a sanding attachment because it's not easy to get a clean break and sanding is required to make a smooth edge for handling. I watched Youtube videos about getting a clean break and was sure I could do it properly. However, I learned it will take a lot of practice to develop the skill of making the best score possible to achieve the cleanest break. This is not a hobby to be entered into lightly and expect to become accomplished quickly. Also, I was terrified handling glass bottles. One shattered into four pieces. Use protective equipment such as heavy gloves and goggles. I also suggest taking the trash can out instead of removing the bag from your trash can to carry it out after it contains all the broken glass from gaining experience. Since I was fearful handling the glass and didn't get any better at it quickly, I decided to give up the hobby. At least now I know it's not for me. I think the bottle cutter did perform as advertised.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Betsy6430
Independence, MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
2/20/2011

Customer review by NunjaBiz

2.0 stars 2/20/2011 by NunjaBiz
by NunjaBiz

Too Flimsy to actually work well. Would be more efficient if it was sturdier or made with better engineering.

Was this review helpful? (15) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NunjaBiz
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Didn't do what it was suppose to
12/3/2013

Customer review by Crafter99

1.0 stars 12/3/2013 by Crafter99
by Crafter99

All the videos made it look easy with this bottle cutter. The blade didn't even make a mark on the wine bottle. Don't waste your money buying this product. I returned it for a refund.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Crafter99
Attleboro, Ma
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
terrible product.. does not work
12/5/2013

Customer review by allboyzandme

1.0 stars 12/5/2013 by allboyzandme
by allboyzandme

Do not waste your money on this.. its already packed up in its box in the garage.. a piece of garbage.. I was looking forward to doing a couple of beer bottles and was very very dissappionted.. didn't even score the bottle..

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
allboyzandme
california
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
8/29/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 8/29/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Very disappointed. The design could be better. Not easy to use and I have done stained glass for many years. So, I know how to score and break glass...

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
sorry item
11/24/2013

Customer review by tinkler1941

1.0 stars 11/24/2013 by tinkler1941
by tinkler1941

the worst thing i ever bought had no intention of ever working blade would not even touch bottle tried several ways to cut---- plastic hit bottle and no matter what we did it was the worst thing i ever bought !!!!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tinkler1941
ga.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Worthless
4/23/2012

Customer review by crittlerluver

1.0 stars 4/23/2012 by crittlerluver
by crittlerluver

It has absolutely nothing to do with HOW you do it. The cutting wheel in this mechanism does not score the glass and is not replaceable with one that is. You can only purchase the same one from the same company. Even if you watch their video, they show you rubbing back and forth and back and forth all around the bottle. That's not how you cut glass. And the video also shows a horrible cut that would take hours to smooth and would never be straight. I took the just cutting wheel part and tried to cut a flat piece of glass and couldn't even get it to score. I compared that with a $6.98 cheap glass cutter that scored the glass in one pass. Even though this just product is just cheap plastic, it would be worthwhile with a decent cutting wheel or the ability to replace it with a better one. I will be returning it for a refund.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
crittlerluver
Tacoma, WA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Great for projects
1/19/2014

Customer review by snews

5.0 stars 1/19/2014 by snews
by snews

We bought the Glass bottle cutter to do center pieces for my son's wedding, best buy we have made so far.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
snews
Davenport,IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
11/29/2011

Customer review by newRexRiver

3.0 stars 11/29/2011 by newRexRiver
by newRexRiver

I would only recommend this after a disclaimer. *Maybe, or leaving a blank, was not an option this review allowed me to use. You need patients and also experience to get close to the results you hoped for. The instructions do tell you to get practice on thinner bottles, such as beer bottles, before attempting wine bottles. Also watch a lot of videos on this subject, ie: Youtube. There are a few different methods to get the bottle to break cleanly after you make a GOOD score on it. I don't think the hammer from the inside of the bottle (which is included with this) is the best method. It may be for you. There is enough sand paper included, to get you started. If you decide to stick with it, you will need more supplies or and additional method to sand/grind the rough edges.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
newRexRiver
SW Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Jar Cutter Kit poor
4/23/2014

Customer review by yogyLady

2.0 stars 4/23/2014 by yogyLady
by yogyLady

i brought this product to cut some wine bottles i have, but it did not work. It did not even left a mark at all. This does not work to cut bottles.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
yogyLady
Brea, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
10/26/2012

Customer review by mscros

1.0 stars 10/26/2012 by mscros
by mscros

Very difficult to use. They say practice practice practice, but no amount of practice can improve the quality of the item. Very cheaply made. I was very disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mscros
Tucson, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Would never recommend this to a friend!
12/8/2013

Customer review by JocelynNPR

1.0 stars 12/8/2013 by JocelynNPR
by JocelynNPR

I had this item shipped site-to-store and picked it up on a Tuesday. I didn't get to open and try it out until Saturday, 4 days after pickig it up. It is made of plastic, which at the price I should have expected. It barely scored the bottles I was trying to cut and of the 3 bottles I did, they all shattered unevenly and jagged. Plan on returning it to store for a refund on Monday.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JocelynNPR
New Port Richey, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Difficult to keep a cut line straight
11/10/2011

Customer review by Frank49

3.0 stars 11/10/2011 by Frank49
by Frank49

Difficult to keep a cut line straight. Was supposed to come with one extra cutting wheel, it was not in the box.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Frank49
Cumming, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
ok for a beginner
4/20/2014

Customer review by Peanuts13

3.0 stars 4/20/2014 by Peanuts13
by Peanuts13

ok for a beginner

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Peanuts13
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
not working very well
10/7/2011

Customer review by rkatuin

2.0 stars 10/7/2011 by rkatuin
by rkatuin

I rember my mother getting this when i was young, So i got it thinking ov making some unique glass wear but i cant seem to get a line scribed.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rkatuin
Owatonna
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Didn't work
11/7/2012

Customer review by AKraus

1.0 stars 11/7/2012 by AKraus
by AKraus

This product didnt even score the bottle let alone cut it. Not 1 but 3 people tried to use it and it didnt even leave a mark of any kind. One of the people to try it has used glass cutters in the passed and owns one but told me to get one specifically for bottles so we could cut it straight. Will be returning and taking my chances on the centerpieces for my cousins wedding not being completely straight - but at least the bottles will be cut.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AKraus
Monticello , MN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
bottle cutter
6/30/2014

Customer review by cutterless

1.0 stars 6/30/2014 by cutterless
by cutterless

This item was really bad I am now in the process of returning it. after carefully reading the instructions and being patient it still would not even score the bottle.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cutterless
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 42 total reviews
1-20 of 42 reviews