Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 17 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

17 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

17 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

100%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
6
4 stars
10
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
0
1-14 of 14 total reviews
100%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Great Product!!!
5/2/2011

Customer review by Stimpson

5.0 stars 5/2/2011 by Stimpson
by Stimpson

Instructions were perfect, parts came in separate bags for each step. Assembly was a breeze and I even had my 5 year old helping..... Would buy it again anytime!!!!

Was this review helpful? (21) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Stimpson
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
If Ikea made basketball goals...
7/3/2012

Customer review by Oclayhoma

4.0 stars 7/3/2012 by Oclayhoma
by Oclayhoma

If you can assemble an Ikea kitchen, bedroom set, and dining room without going crazy, this basketball goal should be a snap for you. Don't get me wrong, this is a nice goal. The only reason I deducted a star was the difficulty with construction. Even though it's not on the picture the pole pad was included.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Oclayhoma
Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Very good portalbe hoop for young children.
1/29/2013

Customer review by PokerNews

4.0 stars 1/29/2013 by PokerNews
by PokerNews

Very good portalbe basketball hoop for young children and early teens. My kids greatly enjoyed it with their friends. We got it for 2 weeks now. It's not that hard to assemble, but it will take at about 2-3 hours to put everything together. For the most part, it can be done by just one person, but when putting the back board together with the post you will need help. One advice: have at least 6 bags of sands ready before standing up the hoop. It may be a bit heavy for one person to move it around. I think the back board should have some pre-drilled holes for the plastic guards. This should be done at the manufacturer. One of the reason I bought this unit because it's made in USA. It should be well made compared to those produced oversea.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PokerNews
Westminster, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good but missing part
4/8/2013

Customer review by KCGA

4.0 stars 4/8/2013 by KCGA
by KCGA

The gas spring was missing from the box. Lifetime sent us a new one without problem but it took another week to receive it. I was a bite disappointed with the backboard as I expected it to be thicker but it has a 5 years warranty so we will see. The adjustable height system works really smoothly. Putting it together was OK. The directions are clear but we had to force some of the bolts. Overall, it seems to be a good basketball system for its price.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KCGA
Marietta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
This is a good portable system at a fair price.
5/24/2014

Customer review by AnotherWiseGuy

4.0 stars 5/24/2014 by AnotherWiseGuy
by AnotherWiseGuy

I read several of the other reviews before ordering this system. I was dubious about the assembly time that others were reporting. I read that it was taking 4 hours and 2 people to assemble this system. I have above average mechanical ability (I can change vehicle timing chains/belts, ball joints, brakes, alternators, water pumps, etc.) Guess what? It takes 4 hours to assemble this unit and there are steps that require two people. Some reviewers complained of "difficult to follow" instructions. I do not agree with that criticism: the instructions were well organized and concise. The parts packaging was excellent: parts are segregated in separate bags so that each step utilizes parts from a single parts bag. If one is organized and has a methodical approach, the assemble is very straight-forward. I did find one exception to this statement, though. The backboard bumpers for the sides are mislabeled: the bumper for the right side is actually labeled "L" and the one for the left is labeled "R". The mistake is obvious, though. That was all I found wrong with the instructions. My son (high school student) loves the adjustable height feature. Also, we're glad we chose the 54" backboard. The larger backboard compliments the 10' height of the system.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AnotherWiseGuy
Prince Frederick, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
warped inward in center square area!
3/12/2013

Customer review by LightofAbraham

3.0 stars 3/12/2013 by LightofAbraham
by LightofAbraham

After putting this together yesterday, I was happy with the sturdiness and look. I did notice one major issue today when I decided to measure the black center box for dimensions. I noticed the so called , Shatterproof backboard warps inward so the center square is concave and not flat. (((NOT GOOD))). I tried pushing it forward from the back and it pops a bit to bulged outward. with one ball shot or light press of the hand it pops back concave inward. I now have to contact Lifetime to see whats next... (((Boooooo that))).. I haven't even shot around one day and find the back board isn't even flat? I will update with what happens!

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LightofAbraham
Cali
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great but difficult to assemble
8/14/2012

Customer review by MomShopperFL

4.0 stars 8/14/2012 by MomShopperFL
by MomShopperFL

Shopped around and this was the best price we found. Paid extra to have Fed Ex deliver to the house but they really trashed the box, probably would have been better to have it shipped to the store. With the directions they say it will take 2 adults to assemble and you really need two strong people. It took quite a while to assemble and the directions were not the best, but once we got through it, it was worth it. Great system and seems very sturdy.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MomShopperFL
Sarasota, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
The base came cracked
4/28/2014

Customer review by Tdjb

4.0 stars 4/28/2014 by Tdjb
by Tdjb

It was very hard to put together an when we filled with water, the base has a leak. Very upset. Plus can not get anyone to call me or contact me back.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tdjb
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great value for a portable basketball hoop
10/5/2014

Customer review by AverageJoeNearStLouisMo

5.0 stars 10/5/2014 by AverageJoeNearStLouisMo
by AverageJoeNearStLouisMo

Just finished assembling and using the system today, so I can't comment on how well this will hold up over time - but so far, I am very pleased! I worried about the assembly after reading other reviews. But, since it would have cost $170 to have it delivered and installed by a local sporting goods store, and the item itself would have cost $200 or so more from that store than from Walmart, I decided to take my chances and order through Walmart (with free shipping). It arrived in less than a week. Assembly wasn't easy, but also wasn't the nightmare I feared from other reviews. I was able to complete it by myself, intentionally working very slowly and carefully, in 7-8 hours from opening the package to ready-to-play (one evening, and a Saturday afternoon). It helped having an empty garage available to spread everything out and work in a well-lit comfortable place. A second adult would have been helpful for some steps but not required. The directions were reasonably easy to follow. There are separarate parts bags for each step - be sure to keep them separated, and check everything carefully before starting and recheck at the beginning of each step. The "self-threading screws" are the only thing I would rate as 1-star and recommend should be improved. I had to drill my own holes to use these, which was time-consuming and annoying. As some others have noted, the left and right backboard guards were labeled incorrectly, but that was pretty obvious when assembling. The assembled product is pretty heavy and awkward for one person. At first, I couldn't stand it up on my own (5' 8", 145 pound male). BUT, once the base was filled with water (as recommended in the instructions), the balance was greatly improved and I was able to easily stand it up. Be sure to have it close to where you want it before filling the base with water and sand - while in theory portable, it's not going to be trivial to move around. The height adjustment mechanism works great so far -- very easy to raise up and down. While the backboard seems fairly thin, it is working well -- not overly noisy as some have stated, and good "bounce". The rim also has good action (and this can be adjusted, although with some effort). Net is high quality. Mine came with a pole pad which was an unexpected nice plus. In the hundred or so shots I've taken so far, I couldn't be happier. I expect to have years of fun and exercise with this --and hope I can tear my kids away from their video games long enough to join in!

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AverageJoeNearStLouisMo
Dardenne Prairie, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Best choice for $
7/19/2014

Customer review by RighteousIndignation

5.0 stars 7/19/2014 by RighteousIndignation
by RighteousIndignation

Worth the pump in price from cheaper models.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RighteousIndignation
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Exactly what we wanted
9/8/2014

Customer review by GowithGod

5.0 stars 9/8/2014 by GowithGod
by GowithGod

Overall sturdy and great quality basketball net! When put together-- it's nice to have the ability to adjust the height of the net.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GowithGod
Buffalo, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Shatterproof Portable System
5/28/2015

Customer review by Jo41

5.0 stars 5/28/2015 by Jo41
by Jo41

This is a very good basketball portable system . Real sturdy and easy to set up. It takes two people.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jo41
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Hard to assemble
5/16/2014

Customer review by kay3333

4.0 stars 5/16/2014 by kay3333
by kay3333

After we FINALLY got the system together (5 hours) , the actual product is good. Directions in putting system together were horrible. Parts are labeled with letters and numbers in the instruction manual but not on the actual product or the parts in bags. Bag numbers/letters did not match up at all! Says needs 2 adults to assemble.....At one point there were 6 adults trying to discern the instructions and locate parts!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kay3333
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Lifetime 71524 54" Shatterproof Portable System
9/20/2014

Customer review by Archibald007

4.0 stars 9/20/2014 by Archibald007
by Archibald007

It is solid and good quality basketball system. However, the assemble instruction is only 1 or 2 stars. I hope Lifetime company will change approach to how to write assemble instruction for this model. It took about 4 1/2-5 hours for 2 people to complete the job. In general it is solid and well made basketball system.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Archibald007
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.