Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 19 reviews | 3 out of 5

3.0 stars

19 reviews | 3 out of 5

5 stars
3
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 stars
5
58%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Not worth it by a long shot
9/18/2011

Customer review by themadrideffect

2.0 stars by themadrideffect

If you’re like me and love new gadgets the Boxee Box is probably something that catches your eye. At the same time, if you’re like me you know quite a bit about tech stuff and have certain expectations, wants or needs. At first, glance this seems like something that is really going to deliver on that premise, but it pains me to admit that I’m not all that impressed. I BOUGHT THE BOXEE BOX BECAUSE: I’m not a big fan of having a million cables running across my lounge. The appeal for me was knowing that it had a browser with flash, could stream local files from my PC and network and provide access to my most frequently used services without needing additional hardware to make it possible. Based on description and appearance, the Boxee seems like a dream-machine but during the first twenty-four hours of using it, I quickly realized that it may not be all that it’s cracked up to be. Pros: User installation guide is easy to understand and basic initial setup is a breeze Very stylish UI Sleek remote with handy keyboard Nice selection of applications to be used Offers both premium services and free content HTML5 web browser with Flash Social network integration via sharing option Access to many services and personal data such as YouTube and Flickr Streaming content via LAN or Wireless connection Supports 1080p resolution and graphics are smooth and polished Supports popular streaming services such as Netflix and Vudu Capable of playing podcasts and fetching RSS feeds The HD content looks great Cons: Configuring Boxee to scan for local media is a painfully long process File sharing feature setup requires many tweaks on both PC and Boxee Box hardware Frequently times-out/goes idle while scanning media files, resulting in incomplete library Disconnects media sources after rebooting PC, Boxee or both RSS feed app not up to par, difficult to find/add feeds that aren’t suggested by Boxee Web browser navigation is strange and unintuitive, requires precision and patience Opens a large portion of apps in it’s native web browser, no real tailored user experience for most applications Free movie content is lacking, mostly knock-offs of classics, questionable quality that resembles high-school film projects TV show selection looks promising, but number of episodes actually available free of charge is meager Conclusion: APPLICATIONS: The Pandora, Flickr and YouTube apps provide an amazing experience that is fun, unique and far superior than using the sites on a computer. Premium (paid services) include MLB, NHL, Netflix, Grooveshark music and Vudu. They offer excellent content and excellent HD quality. BROWSER: Best for doing the bare minimum such as signing up for any premium services you want to use on your Boxee. REMOTE: Pretty cool remote, but because there’s no track-pad it can be frustrating to navigate through the browser. For this, you need to be extremely accurate and patient. Scrolling down a page is fairly unpleasant and blowing up a video to be full screen is tedious. RSS FEEDS: You can add services and RSS feeds using both the Boxee itself or your standard computer and the Boxee website, via your account. It does a good job of quickly making new items accessible in my “watch later” queue and feeds list. You can only add feeds in a specific URL format. I tried adding Abduzeedo to my feeds list using the original Abduzeedo feeds URL and was unsuccessful. I have all my feeds organized using Feedly, but unfortunately Boxee can’t access Feedly in any way, even via the browser. The RSS feeds application is basically useless to me because of this. SHARING LOCAL MEDIA: Horrible process. It took 4 hours to scan all my media and when it finally scanned it all, I was missing over 1,000 songs, yet all my photos and videos were in place. Inevitably it goes idle, even after setting idle time to 60 minutes. Disconnects media sources shortly after scanning. You can read more about this issue by doing a Google search for “Boxee Box disconnect issues.” It seems a lot of Boxee owners are having the same issues. AVAILABLE CONTENT: Not what it claims. The TV show listings and capability was lacking. I knew I wouldn’t be able to find every episode of every show ever made, but using my computer and my HD cable box I’m able to find far more shows and episodes and that I can’t get using the Boxee Box. Overall, I just find it ridiculous to keep such an expensive device if it doesn’t do what I want it to do. It really does not even do what it claims it can do so that’s why I am returning it. It’s attractive and undoubtedly a very cool idea, it just isn’t what I had thought it was going to be at all. After an entire day was spent fussing with various features and settings, I packaged it right back up to be returned. I wanted to avoid going PC to TV, but I am now using an HDMI cable to hook my computer up to my HDTV instead and I am far more pleased with this set up than using the Boxee Box. I believe that it will improve over time since it’s still a very new product and in general I think streaming devices will get better, but for right now my preference is to have access to anything and everything I want with great quality rather than being offered a thousand features that only get the job half-way done. If you’re looking for something basic that does the bare minimum, you might enjoy using this product. It’s got a lot of character and potential, but it’s not ready to replace any of my devices as of yet, not even a cable box. That’s just my opinion.

Was this review helpful? (44) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
themadrideffect
Philly, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
I am impressed!!
11/22/2010

Customer review by tink4u

5.0 stars by tink4u

Pros: A neat QWERTY remote and a full web browser which plays flash. You can literally watch any content that you can watch using your PC. A promising device with a lot of potential. Cons: No Hulu Plus or NetFlix or Vudu support yet. I usually watch most of my TV online from various websites including but not limited to Hulu, Netflix, Youtube etc. So I was looking for a device that could replace my laptop and the bulky keyboard and mouse setup that comes with it. Looked into devices like Roku, Slingbox, WDTV etc which were pretty good and could let me watch most of the content available online. But I wasn't satisfied with most but wanted to watch all/any available content online that I could watch using my PC or laptop. Furthermore research revealed two capable devices; the Google TV and the Boxee Box (I never tried the Boxee pc application itself though) The Google TV was much more expensive than the Boxee Box, the keyboard still bulky.So looked into Boxee Box specs and was amazed to see that it supports almost all video codecs available to date plus adobe flash. So went ahead and picked up my Boxee Box from a Fry's store last Friday, came home and plugged it into my Vizio HDTV and the setup was fairly simple, it was up and running in no time. Played with it over the weekend. So far its has delivered everything as promised, I can watch all content that I can watch online using my laptop with the exception of Hulu/Netflix, but I can wait. The built in web browser and the QWERTY remote is pretty neat. I just love the remote, anywhere on the home screen or in any app can just start typing and a search box pops up. Also looks like the web browser can be invoked from within in any app. The only downside was that I couldn't get it to work with the shared content on my PC, but again that just me I guess. So far I am impressed with the Boxee Box and especially the QWERTY remote controller. I would definitely recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (17) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
tink4u
Austin, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Product
7/11/2011

Customer review by Pinealdoorway

5.0 stars by Pinealdoorway

For those of you out there like me who love movies, This is it. This box has almost everything all in one. I bought this box at WalMart.com and have had it now for about two-three weeks. This box Blows the Roku player box away. If you are a Netflix Subscriber and are streaming movies instantly and miss the Subtitles-Captioning,you can now get the Captioning with the Boxee-Box by D-link. You can also log onto to your PC and stream your E-mail, Walmart.com all a whole bunch of other apps right onto your big screen TV set. it's totally awesome to get your e-mail account or your WalMart Account on your TV screen. Now the down side is, You can turn the Boxee Box on with the remote, however you cannot turn it off with the remote,There is a button on the top of the boxee Box that you have to push. The keyboard on the flip side of the remote does not have back lighting,so it's hard to see in the dark. There are two pause buttons, one if you are doing online streaming from your PC, you have to use the top button to pause, If you are streaming from Vudu, you have have to use the the right side button to pause the film. When you first get the Boxee, you may or may not see the Netflix App,So you will have to go to settings and do an upgrade and then you will see the Netflix app. If you can live with the down sides which for myself are no big deal. this is a must have box. I would recommend the Boxee Box by D-Link and also to let you all know..."If you got it today, You don't need it tomorrow, because sometimes,Tomorrow never comes. I ordered my Boxee Box from walmart.com I had ordered it first thing in the morning and chose one day shipping and I received it the very next day and may I tell you walmart professionally boxed my Boxee box in a professional shipping box and I received it in perfect condition. Buy the Boxee Box and see how smooth the streaming is. It does not have the Hulu app yet, but from what I've read it's coming with the next upgrade. It's totally awesome to watch You-Tube and other apps streamed to my 60' LG TV from the web. Also the Netflix Subtitles are in Big Yellow letters and are easy to read and this is a big plus for my parents who are both Handicapped and cannot hear too well. So Happy Boxee-Boxing.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Pinealdoorway
GoodYear AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Boxee has the best streaming media option.
2/27/2011

Customer review by HardwareGeek

4.0 stars by HardwareGeek

I purchased this item back in November and must say it was lacking applications and had many "bugs" to be worked out. Since the Valentines Day update the product is robust and stable. We love the Boxee Box and am glad we bought it and waited it out to be a mature usable product. It plays local files, Netflix, Vudu, and hundreds of other applications. Make sure you have enough bandwidth, use a wired connection and you will have no problems streaming on-line offerings. A back-light remote would be awesome. Thanks Team Boxee!

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
HardwareGeek
Sanford, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good Multimedia HD Player
1/12/2011

Customer review by WiseShopperrr

4.0 stars by WiseShopperrr

The D-Link Boxee Box is a very good alternative for those of us who wish to cut out our TV cable/satellite bill. There's tons of TV shows to choose to watch & you can add movies, pictures... from an external hard drive throgh a USB connection. As soon as Netflix, Vudu & other movie Apps are added, then I'll give it 5 Stars.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
WiseShopperrr
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
90% There
2/18/2011

Customer review by Geekdad35

4.0 stars by Geekdad35

I have two young kids and I didn't want to have to pull out DVD's every time they wanted to watch a movie (or worse get their hands on it). So I was looking for a media player to play movies (and maybe some AVI files). I started with the WD Live Plus but it had serious network issues and wouldn't work for what I wanted. Then I tried the Boxee (for only about $20 more). The good is it play's ISO/AVI/etc files very well. I've had very few network or visual problems. The bad is the remote is pretty horrible. No FF or RW (not easily anyway). And no IR so my Harmony remote wont work with it. All in all, I'd recommend it because its a great product and getting updates consistently.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Geekdad35
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Waste of Money
11/3/2012

Customer review by OutatFirst

1.0 stars by OutatFirst

My roommate just got one of these, I also have the first Boxee Box. Simple put, it does not do what is advertised to do. It could not finish recordings, they all failed. Big disappointment when you go to watch a show and it did not record. Maybe they fix it maybe they do not. The boxee box was this way never worked right. They promise to fix it but never do. Wait before you buy this to see if they fix it. Save your money.

Was this review helpful? (20) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
OutatFirst
LA CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
6/6/2011

Customer review by radioman283

4.0 stars by radioman283

Haven't stopped using it since I got it. One of those things you don't know how you ever done without, just love it.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
radioman283
Marlow, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Do not meet expectations
12/11/2010

Customer review by lovemusicitems

3.0 stars by lovemusicitems

This item has no problem finding your network. Can not create a playlist from your music folder. Can only play one album at a time. Item freezes when moving back or forward in folders.

Was this review helpful? (6) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
lovemusicitems
Chicago , Il
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great product
12/22/2010

Customer review by Nickr124

5.0 stars by Nickr124

This is a great product. Meet my expectations. I would recommend.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Nickr124
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Great in theory but is to slow
1/13/2012

Customer review by Shumaman

2.0 stars by Shumaman

If this product would have a quicker processor it would probably be fine. It takes to long to play movies for this day in age. I have many wirless devices that work fine with my internet connection, and I have a fast connection. This product takes to long to do anything. My roku is much better even without being able to search the internet. I returned this product and got a roku 2.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Shumaman
Woodstock, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Beware of Boxee Products
11/3/2012

Customer review by BoxeeDisappointment

1.0 stars by BoxeeDisappointment

I purchased the original Boxee Box and now I wish I hadn't. After only 2 years they have abandoned a buggy product and moved onto this device. If you make the mistake of purchasing this, be prepared for buggy software and a company that doesn't stand behind their products. Check out this site to see what their customers think of Boxee! old-blog.boxee.tv/

Was this review helpful? (15) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
BoxeeDisappointment
Would recommend to a friend? No
NOT READY FOR MARKET
1/13/2012

Customer review by TSDKING

1.0 stars by TSDKING

THIS UNIT REQUIRES A FLASH PLAYER UPDATE. NOT AVAILABLE TO WATCH EPISODES ON FOX.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
TSDKING
MICHIGAN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
This Product Does Not Work
11/4/2012

Customer review by Murdock23

1.0 stars by Murdock23

Stay away from this product - it only does OTA Signal and ClearQAM so if you don't live in a major metropolis of the US, it will be a waste of your time as it doesn't play local media or web tv like the original Boxee. It also only DVRs for playback to a cloud, you can't record to a local drive. You're better off purchasing a Tivo PVR (http://www.tivo.com/products/home/index.html) because it will at least record locally to a drive & has Hulu Plus and Amazon OD. I have the first Boxee and they were always behind on their software updates. I've lost all access to flash content and they've never gotten around to supporting 3TB drives. It had potential if they fixed their bugs, but they never did. They just released this product instead and told us we're SOL. Do you want mounds of Frustration, Crashing, and Issues? Or do you want a Merry Christmas?

Was this review helpful? (8) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Murdock23
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Beware of Boxee
11/1/2012

Customer review by Russalie

1.0 stars by Russalie

I adopted their first set top box product, the Boxee Box, which promised to be an all in one solution for OTA programming, and internet based content. for 3 months, the product worked in an good, but intermittent way. some days it would be smooth using netflix, and streaming other content... but the next it would not work at all. soon after that, netflix became unusable. the app would crash the network interface taking boxee box offline. On a boxee support forum, I found that hundreds of other users were having the same issues... boxee support was non-existent. moving forward another month, my boxee box became completely unresponsive coincidentally DAYS before the announcement that boxee would no longer provide updates and would begin phasing out the boxee box. you can go to the forum here: http://forums.boxee.tv/ and see posts from all the users who have been left with nothing more than a fancy BRICK for their coffee table. neither D-link (the HW manufacturer) nor boxee has given a response and only RMAs PAID FOR BY THE CUSTOMER will "fix" the issue. I wish it would have been different as I supported this company and even recommended them to all of my friends... I guess the joke is on us, the consumers.

Was this review helpful? (38) (72)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Russalie
Port Saint Lucie, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good Media player, but its not for beginners.
1/29/2013

Customer review by OldFashionedMovieGuy

4.0 stars by OldFashionedMovieGuy

I really like the Boxee Box media player. It goes out on line and finds the information & covers for your favorite movies and music. It works really good except for the fact that if it can't find the info for a movie it will put the movie in an unidentified folder. I don't know how, at this point, to prevent that from happening. I'm still learning so, possibly, there is a solution to this problem. This is why I stated that it isn't for beginners. Another thing is that there isn't enough instructions on how to set the Boxee Box up. Even on line, its hard to find good info. Otherwise, I am happy with my Boxiee Box.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
OldFashionedMovieGuy
Azle, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Boxee is Awesome
3/9/2012

Customer review by MyRatings

4.0 stars by MyRatings

Great product... have had this device for almost a year. Recent software updates have made this a viable alternative to cable or dish depending on your watching habits. Lack of DVR or recording capabilities on device keep this from being perfect... but if you have a large collection digital media you can use this device to interface with your big screen TV and with internet access and additional apps like Netflix and Pandora, hours of entertainment is at your finger tips. Great device. Latest update allows you to purchase a separate dongle and antenne to access Live HD Over the Air TV broadcasts... nice...

MyRatings
TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
needed attachments/wires
10/1/2011

Customer review by AZfam1912

3.0 stars by AZfam1912

We purchsed this to stream the internet onto our TV. We had to spend another $40 to get an adapter and wires to make it work on our TV.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
AZfam1912
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1/19/2012

Customer review by papi2306

3.0 stars by papi2306

This is a good product.I knew what I was purchasing and I found that it was easy to install.Couple with an external hard drive it gives you all that you will need to view your movies and other contents that you have on your drive on your TV for free.The boxeee box offers a limited free access to apps but once you get familiar with it it's a breeze to use.It's a bit slow but I like it .The Pandora apps ,the Free version, is fun to use and you can build up quite a radio station and if you have good external speakers you will enjoy all your favorite songs etc.The remote need's some improvements like the keybord, needs brighter letters so you can see in semie darkness, also the system needs to be able to shots itself off remotly you have to shot it off manualy.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
papi2306
North Myrtle Beach, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days